Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung S738C Prepaid Smartphone runs on the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS. With a talk time up to 7.22 hours, this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Smartphone can keep you connected throughout the day without constantly recharging. Capture pictures and videos with the 3MPl camera and video recorder when you insert your own microSD card, up to 32GB. Prepaid Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phones are WiFi and 3G connected, so you can enjoy your favorite websites, videos, games and music on the go with this 3.5" touchscreen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.115 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(384 Reviews) 361
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
106
4 stars
92
3 stars
33
2 stars
46
1 star
107
Customer Recommendation57%220 out of 384reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
399 Questions | 792 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
106
4 stars
92
3 stars
33
2 stars
46
1 star
107
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Phone won't keep correct time

10/26/2013
By ,
Wi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No matter what I do the phone won't keep the correct time. Sometimes will change 2-3 times a day sometimes will go 2 weeks without changing. Tried everything to fix it. disabling auto time. clearing cache and removing battery. Nothing works. Very annoying when you can't rely on a phone to even keep the correct time.
Can't use the alarm and it makes texting a real pain since if the time is incorrect it will show texts in different spots as if they were received hours before. Also if the time change is great enough it will move the date around also. Once it changed the date back to 2006. Only way I found online to fix this issue was to root the phone and install a new launcher.
Also quite slow on loading even weatherbug. But that was to be expected with the single core 800mhz cpu. I could deal with all of that if it would just keep the correct time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cherryvale, KS
Posted 12/11/2013
Try this ... open the Calendar app ... go to Settings ... set the Time Zone where you live, not Australia. This has corrected the time reset issue for many people.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 42 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone IF ONLY IT COULD KEEP TIME

07/18/2013
By ,
Jefferson City, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I first saw this phone I thought it was a great value at $99.99 with a newer version of android and a nice size touch screen. Also Samsung usually makes good phones. I checked the reviews and did notice a few that mentioned the time resetting on them, well I thought that was just a bad batch, was I wrong. It seems like many people when you search on the internet have this same problem and it did it to me. After about a day the time would reset 6 hours back, I tried resetting it, turning off the sync with network, removing the battery, but nothing fixed this issue. If you plan on using this phone as an ALARM or as a WATCH to know what the current TIME is, I would not suggest it. A feature this simple should work problem-free. There are several other nice choices such as the LG L40G phone which has been problem-free for me!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
IL
Posted 11/06/2013
My clock never stays set either.. I have to make sure I have a back up alarm set..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 43 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Much Better Than Expected

05/31/2013
By ,
Chelsea, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this phone for 7 days now. It was easy to learn how to use and has all the popular features. The voice to text was hard to figure out but works great...! The battery life is the best I could find from any of the other phones offered in the Straight Talk program. I'm getting a solid two days of heavy usage. One of the concerns in a review posted above was the software didn't display photos properly in some phone positions. All you need to do is expand the picture in the screen with your finger and thumb like in the iPhone commercials. It works great...! The download speeds are a little slow but seems better with WiFi connection. I think its a great value...! I'd recommend this phone and plan to most everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Big Disappointment

07/23/2014
By ,
Boston, MA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The bad: I have had the phone for 2 weeks, and for the first couple of days, the phone would not keep the correct time even with the proper auto settings. The phone freezes at will and needs to be rebooted. My error for not realizing there was no flash for the camera, so now I need to edit every picture. I thought I was stepping up from a Huawei to a Samsung but it appears that the Huawei Premia got a bum rap having the wrong carrier. The Huawei would be a much better phone with Straight Talk as a carrier. Ironically the price was identical for each phone.
The good: I now have cell phone coverage in places I didn't have before with another cell phone carrier. Although the phone is smaller than a Huawei, the advantage of the Samsung is it is easier to carry.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I'm liking it so far

06/25/2013
By ,
Salt Lake City UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for about 2 weeks and so far, it's meeting and exceeding my expectations. I had a bad phone before, HTC My Slide 3G, a touch screen mess that I wanted to smash on a daily basis. So far, I haven't had the urge to destroy this phone at all. Yes, it is taking a while to get used to a touch screen keyboard. I only wish I could have it go landscape everytime I wanted to type. No luck in finding that setting so far.
It runs off of the Verizon towers which is good for my edge-of-civilization location outside of Salt Lake City. Other phones did not workout here. Verizon and my straight talk do.
My only pet peeve so far is that when I type into a webpage, it sets it's own zoom setting and won't let me zoom out so I can see what I have written so far. That was a pain with my HTC as well.
The pictures have been okay for a smaller megapixel camera that this one has. The apps have been fun and I'm glad I can finally listen to podcasts again. My kids are happy to have the drag toilet paper race app again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The WORST EVER!!!!

04/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my first "smart phone". It does what it wants, when it wants! Sometimes you can connect to wi-fi, SOMETIMES! It will lock itself, meaning you can not do anything! You can't shut it off, return to the home screen, NOTHING!! It will NOT perform system update. The poor little droid falls over on his back & gets a red exclamation mark in a yellow triangle. This phone has issues!! The only reason I gave the value 3 stars is because I got the Black Friday price!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

For those with battery life issues, please read

12/17/2013
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading almost all the negative reviews, the majority of them seem to center on poor battery life. Unfortunately, most, if not all, of this is due to user error (please don't take that personally). I've had my phone five days, have made almost three hours of calls, downloaded a number of apps and played with any number of functions and still have 34% battery life without a recharge in that five days.
To preserve battery life, you absolutely must turn off the location/GPS services, Wi-Fi (unless you're using it), set sleep time to one minute but screen lock to thirty minutes, make sure your screen brightness is no greater than 50% and less if it will work for you. Don't leave things like talk to text on in the background and check, using the apps tool, for anything running in the background and turn it off if it is (except for the browser function, obviously).
Google loves for you to have the location services turned on and will try to turn them on with a variety of their apps so read what a new app is going to do before loading it. Either turn them back off after loading the app or find another app that doesn't try and turn them on.
With all that out of the way, I have to praise the straight talk service on this phone. The store employee had it registered and my contacts transferred from my burner phone in minutes (both on the Verizon network if that makes a difference). While it's a somewhat basic smartphone, it has every feature and app that us "older" folks would likely use.
Oddly enough, my wife just got an iPhone 5C which she put onto her existing Verizon account. She's been working a full day to get everything transferred over and the service/phone working properly while I've been enjoying my Android phone for most of that time. In the long run, the Apple will be a much more capable phone but it isn't quite as easy to setup as Apple and Verizon would like you to believe.
We're going to compare ST versus Verizon after about six months and see if I should join her Verizon plan for $40 and have limited data or she should quit Verizon and go ST with unlimited. I'll post an update on these competing phones and planes after that six months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Not pleased

05/31/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this phone as a cheaper smartphone (99.00) upgrade from my cheaper smartphone. Let's just say I had less freezes and glitches with the cheaper smart phone than I had with this device. I don't care what anyone says, 100 bucks is too much to spend on a phone that is unsatisfying, period. It freezes, delays calling, and drives me nuts. Let's just hope that I can pull up a screen to dial 911 in time if anything ever happened to me. Should have the Galaxy S3 in the mail soon, the 100 dollar off value Walmart is offering on it makes up for the 100 bucks spent on this annoying Galaxy Centura device.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

serving it's purpose

05/26/2014
By ,
WB/Scranton, PA area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i've only had this phone about a week now, but to this point i haven't had any problems with it at all. i wasted thousands of dollars over a 2 year contract period with verizon, along with the huge amount i paid initially on the phone, only to find out i could not even use it w/straight talk when the contract was FINALLY up. so i didn't want to spend too much more on a new phone. i got this on a deal where it was $99 with a $25 walmart gift card, so the $75 for the phone was extremely reasonable. it's light and slippery in my hands though...i am awaiting the cover i've ordered and that should take care of that problem. luckily i have not dropped it yet. the screen is clear and though smaller than the verizon phone i had, i'm not having any problems with it. i am not a very tech-savvy person but this phone seems to be pretty straight forward and i haven't had much problem understanding or using it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Exceeded expectations!

05/21/2013
By ,
St. Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this cell phone yesterday. Love the big numbers for dialing as my eyesight isn't as good as it used to be. Super easy to use for the cell phone challenged like me. WiFi worked right away. I can easily text with my big finger tips. I cannot be more happy with my purchase. Good sound, easy to download & use all the features on this phone. I love it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+315points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KY
HELP!
Posted 10/06/2013
My husband and I just bought this phone 2 days ago. We are both having so much trouble using the keyboard. We have tried barely touching it, touching it hard, tapping, etc. and it still doesn't type the letters we touch.. I'd say 8 out of 10 times. If we turn the phone sideways, it's better. Is this normal. Is there some way to do this differently?
I sure hope we can get used to the sensitivity of this particular phone.
Thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 51 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Shows promise but 2 out of 3 purchased have failed

07/29/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This phone comes on as one of the best bets at the entry level of Android smartphones. Decent processing power, Android 4.xx OS, Verizon Wireless coverage and unusually good battery life as a bonus. Even the camera works well. I've always had high-end Android phones, but when I switched to Straight Talk I could not afford a high-end phone. It does the job well... except for a couple of issues.
First up, there is no LED to indicate a missed call. Oh, they appear to be there - but they are not functional on this model. The music player has unusually poor audio quality when used with decent headphones, which may be a minor issue to many, a major issue to others. But what kills this phone is reliability. Between myself and family, we have purchased 3 of these phones. 2 of them failed. One within 2 days, the other started to go at the 3 week point. These are all phones used by adults who take care of items. Not a good track record.
At this point, while I recommended 2 of the 3 phones purchased (mine is one that is failing now), I would not recommend this to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fort Wayne, IN
Update...
Posted 08/20/2013
Now let's make that 3 out of 4 have failed. Just avoid this phone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 52 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Terrible phone & terrible service

07/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activated this phone 2 days ago & have had terrible service. When I call people, they either hear garbling or they here constant echoing. Called Straight Talk. Their customer service was also terrible. The first rep told me phone calls sound different when you use the speaker feature and that is just the way it is. I then spoke to a supervisor who told me to try to get Wal-Mart to replace the phone. The phone couldn't be replaced because I didn't activate it right away & the supervisor said it could not be returned after 15 days. The supervisor then said I just needed to go outside when I needed to make a phone call to get better reception. That is not a solution. A phone should work straight out of the box & it should have a decent warranty. I would not recommend this phone because it lacks quality & dependability and I would not recommend Straight Talk because their customer service is substandard with regard to their problem solving (ie. don't use the speaker; go outside to make a phone call). I'll use this phone to text message this month so as not to waste the $45 phone card, but after that it will be back to a major phone service provider & a phone that has a decent warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I love straightralk BUT not this phone!

08/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the galaxy proclaim (with straight talk) and was very happy, but decided I wanted to upgrade. BIG MISTAKE! I have had this phone about a year and it locks up constantly. Plus I had to get the first one replaced because the "programing" messed up and it changed time zones every time I charged it. Cannot wait to get a new phone with straight talk, but I am waiting for them to get a BETTER phone that is NOT $400!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Excellent so far

05/23/2013
By ,
Charlotte MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently bought a LG Dynamic, was the cheaps phone they and and that is what it is. The was no internal space on the phone at all. It was also hard to use because the lay out of it was so small, I went back and bought the Samsung Centrura I can not be more happy with the phone. So far there is a lot os space on the phone and it's service is great. I got out of the contracts with the big carriers because of the cost this is about half with the same service. I would beware of the data usage though. From what I have read they will shut your phone off if you use to much. So unlimted is not unlimited.... As for the phone for the price it ROCKS!!!!!! Wish it had a front camera though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NH
Data tracker
Posted 06/26/2013
I use a Galaxy Proclaim and I used to worry about my data useage but had no way of tracking it. I downloaded a free APP called MY Data Manager and it shows total Roaming , Mobile and Wi-Fi data useage. I found much of my useage is via Wi-fi as I log onto more free Wi-Fi networks. It sits at the top of your phone as a drop down menu and you can set it to the start date of your monthly bills.
0points
Customer Avatar
NH
Tracking your data usage
Posted 06/21/2013
There is a free APP called My Data Manager. I downloaded it because the phone does not tell you what the true amount of data is that you use. The APP tells you Mobile , Roaming and Wi-Fi. You set the date your plan starts and it will start over on that date. I wondered what I used and found out that a lot of mine is via free Wi-Fi. It shows as a widget on the top of your phone and you can pull it down to verify usage.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 55 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Do not buy this product

11/29/2013
By ,
ND
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this phone would be a great new addition, but I was sadly mistaken. Though this is a very nice looking phone and has wonderful features, along with a nice big screen and voice to text, the functioning of this phone is not rateable. First and foremost this phone cannot keep time. After using this phone for a week, I had to reset the time over 3 times. It also disconnects itself from the Straight Talk service and declares itself disconnected. This happened at least once a day so it is not dependable for use. I thought it was simply a malfunction in one particular phone, but after reading the reviews it is apparent this phone has had several others with the same complaints. The other issue is it does not work well in cold climates. If it is used outdoors below 40 degrees the numbers and other screen functions do not react to touch. I will be purchasing a phone with an alternative keyboard to avoid this issue as I live in a cold climate. The other issue I have with this phone is the fact that I had to go online for over 20 minutes to find a source that knew the trick to finding the icon for the talk to text feature. It is located on the gear sprocket on the keypad after it is held down and touched twice to reveal the microphone just in case you need to know this. I will not recommend this phone and it is going back to the store tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I'm new to "Smart Phones" so...

08/24/2013
By ,
Princeton, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this Samsung Galaxy Centura for about 4 days now and like it very much. While it may not be the smartest of the smart phones it's a big jump up from my old Motorola V171 flip phone.
My wife Janice passed away on Aug, 5th. Seeing as I no longer need a home phone I sprung for this phone, which will be my primary number due to me cancelling my home phone.
Anyway, so far so good with this phone. My only problem/question would be: How many of the built in apps do I really need and which ones can I get rid of? I know, just like a computer, this OS needs things to be running for it to work but there's got to be some of them that can be eliminated to free up memory. It would also be super if apps could be installed onto the micro SD card. But, such is life. Like I said before, it's one heck of a leap up from my old phone and I'm happy with it. I've had to charge the battery every night so far due to my "playing" with it since I picked it up. I suppose after the "new" wears off a bit and I quit "playing" with it the battery will give a sigh of relief and last longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great Smartphone for an upgrade or a first timer

05/24/2013
By ,
Hampden MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although this is my first smart phone, I do have a Nexus 7 tablet and I have to say, this phone is Almost just like my tablet. My friends and family had older Straight Talk smartphones and this phone is a great improvement to their phones. I thought this was a great price for the phone. Volume and picture quality are very good. Android 4.0 works great and processes very good.
I used to have a Verizon contract so I wanted to stay with Verizon towers for my area, so I went with this phone. Everything has been Great so far.... and I was skeptical about going to Straight Talk, mostly after seeing bad comments on their Facebook page. Do your homework though if you have friends or family in your area that have no issues then give them a try.
The phone comes with ABOUT 3 GB of storage, that is not mentioned in the description, and you can add up to a 32GB micro SD card.
The phone also has the following that is not listed in the description
•Bluetooth wireless technology
•Instant messaging
•Advanced GPS capabilities (GPS has been used in the car already and seems to work very well)
•800 MHz processor
•Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy features five home screens( and they are customizable!)
•Access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play
•Multi-tasking
•MP3 player
•3.5mm headset jack
•Speech to text
•Battery: Li-ion 1500mAh
Extra Notes:
1) If you are looking for the microphone key on your keyboard, you just need to "press and hold" the key to the left of the space bar that looks like a flower until the flower and microphone symbol appears then select the microphone symbol.
2) if you like having special ringtones from songs like me you can download the app Ringtone Maker and create ringtones from songs you have in load on your phone or SD card. and to think every time I got a new phone with Verizon I bought all my ringtones each time. what a waste of money!
I did have to call Straight Talk for setup assistance only because when I activated my phone on line, to transfer my number, my number didn't get transferred and another number came up instead, so I called to get my number transferred and aside from the first person that didn't have a clue on helping me; when I asked Nicely to speak to someone else the 2nd person was very helpful and got my phone up and running quickly. and they even followed up with me.
Over all if you are already paying $80 a month already for phone service, I'd say give this a try. do your homework to select the right phone that uses the towers for the carrier that works best in your area, and in 3 months that $30 you saved on your bill just paid off this phone which will equal what you are already paying now except your phone is paid off now you have a mini tablet to keep!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+213points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mississippi
Great Helpful Answer
Posted 06/27/2013
Thank you for giving such a helpful answer , it has really helped me in my choices
Thanks again
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 58 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Excellent beginning smartphone

06/15/2013
By ,
Norfolk
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've never used a smartphone before and this is an excellent beginning smartphone. It is a nuisance in some respects, I had difficulty even answering a call...I didn't realize that to answer a call, you have to not only push the green phone signal, you have to swipe it to the left. I would advise you to read the book before beginning to use it. It also "flubs" sometimes, it doesn't always do what you want it to do and sometimes it just goes off to some other app you didn't select or changes screens that you didn't want. It has little "quirks" you have to get used to, but are no big deal. I am deaf with cochlear implants and I can hear excellent on this phone! Texting is okay, you have to get used to this keyboard and you will start off making a lot of mistakes. Overall, this is an excellent beginning smartphone that you can use only with straight talk which is excellent, unlimited minutes, data, and texting nationwide for 45 per month and it beats what I've been paying for a nonsmartphone cell under contract. I enjoy the ease of taking pictures, I enjoy all the apps I've got, I enjoy the clarity of the call, I enjoy how lightweight the phone is, I even enjoy how cute the phone is. I've only had it a couple of days, so i still have some exploring to do with it and I've already recommended it to some of my friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Unpredictable battery life and freezes during use

01/03/2014
By ,
Colorado
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Some days the battery will last all day and othere it will be dead before lunch. The battery life really doean't seem to be affected by amount of use either. One thing can be almost guranteed, the phone is usually dead before I'm off work (where I don't talk, text much# I wouldn't dream of listening to music or playing games ion this phone, unless it's on a charger.
The phone also freezes, and you have to remove the battery to restart the phone. During texting, it also can't always keep up... I have found that if you just keep typing and hit send, the phone will generally get the whole text included.
Also, do not take any pictures without a memory card, as there is no way #that I can find) to retrieve these photos from the internal memory. I have a phone to warrinty, and can't send it because I'll lose those pictures.
Don't depend on the email function either, I have emails "sending" since December 17th and it's now January 3rd.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Good phone for the price

06/01/2013
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had a lot of the Straight Talk phones and this one seems to be close to the top. Everything works and it has good battery life. Although it did freeze on me when I turned on the WiFi and I had to take the battery out but thats the only thing that I've seen so far. I hope it continues to work good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 362 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next