Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung S738C Prepaid Smartphone runs on the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS. With a talk time up to 7.22 hours, this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Smartphone can keep you connected throughout the day without constantly recharging. Capture pictures and videos with the 3MPl camera and video recorder when you insert your own microSD card, up to 32GB. Prepaid Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phones are WiFi and 3G connected, so you can enjoy your favorite websites, videos, games and music on the go with this 3.5" touchscreen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.071 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(434 Reviews) 411
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
117
4 stars
99
3 stars
38
2 stars
58
1 star
122
Customer Recommendation56%241 out of 434reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
434 Questions | 867 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
117
4 stars
99
3 stars
38
2 stars
58
1 star
122
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I love straightralk BUT not this phone!

08/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the galaxy proclaim (with straight talk) and was very happy, but decided I wanted to upgrade. BIG MISTAKE! I have had this phone about a year and it locks up constantly. Plus I had to get the first one replaced because the "programing" messed up and it changed time zones every time I charged it. Cannot wait to get a new phone with straight talk, but I am waiting for them to get a BETTER phone that is NOT $400!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Feature-packed but many bugs

08/24/2013
By ,
Omaha, NE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I would have rated this phone in the first week, it would have been 5 stars, because there are so many great features on this phone for a good value. Our StraightTalk service (via Verizon) has been pretty solid. However, after using it for a few weeks, there are so many bugs on this phone I am almost fed up and considering a return. I've had three issues that are all unacceptable. (1) The clock randomly sets itself backwards by 6 hours. I can't trust the time on this phone enough to use the alarm clock. One morning it didn't go off because of the crazy time-change bug. (2) When I turn on my Wi-Fi, it freezes on me roughly 20% of the time. It totally locks up, and I have to reboot the phone to get it to work again. (3) I can't seem to send or receive MMS messages reliably. Occasionally I can receive them, but haven't been able to send any yet.
The more I research these issues, it seems that I'm not the only one experiencing them. But I guess I'm the lucky guy who has ALL THREE of these issues on the same phone.
This is the first smartphone I have ever owned, so maybe these bugs are par for the course. I don't know, but I don't expect this kind of quality, especially when I shelled out 100 bucks for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

This phone is not worth the money!

08/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Before we bought this phone we had been researching several & this one was given high reviews, so we took a chance. I haven't had this phone a year yet & it constantly shuts off, locks up, won't download random pictures but hours later they come through. Now when I read reviews on other phones I have read several about people having the same experience with this one hence why they were looking to replace too. Not worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Horrible Phone

08/31/2014
By ,
montana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After trying 5 yes 5 different phones we gave up! Some of them having issues with-in hours of connection
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

WORST S.T Phone EVER.

07/15/2014
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ruined my last android phone with Straight Talk by accidentally leaving it where my dog could find it and this is the phone I chose as a replacement. Worst idea ever. Had I had time, I should have come on here to check reviews but I was without, and bought it because I figured it had to be an upgrade since it was almost $100. Nope. I do not have a vast amount of apps, just the typical ones like Pintrest, Facebook and ONE game. It is super slow, and lags during games. Takes FOREVER for anything to load and crashes AT LEAST twice a day..and don't get me started on it freezing. I have to take it apart and pull the battery daily. It also changes time zones without any reason in the middle of the night, so good luck using the alarm feature. I have been late to work 4 times before I learned my lesson and bought a clock radio.
Needless to say, this thing is now sitting in my night stand drawer and I have resulted back to my pre-smartphone cell until I find a new one. If I hadn't just given up until the next couple of days when I can go pick out a better one...it would be in pieces under my car tire..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

netdummy

09/20/2014
By ,
williston N.D.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have no problems with this phone does everything I want to.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

not as bad as originally expected

09/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my sons first phone. I didnt expect much, but was pleasantly surprised how it handled itself. If you are an adult, look elsewhere because you may be looking for a more powerful phone. Either your looking for a budget smart phone or use this for the kids while they are away. That being said, it great for the price and if it breaks later, its only 30.00!!! how can you argue with that!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great product

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I needed...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Good Price for a Bad Phone

09/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this phone 3 weeks ago. It worked fine. Up until now. These past few days my phone freezes out of nowhere. The only way I can get it to work again is by removing and putting back the battery which I'm sure isn't good for the phone. It will go back on but takes forever to start up. I deleted all my music off, and a lot of my apps that aren't basic (games like Candy Crush, Facebook app, Twitter app, etc.) I only use this for basic use only. And I only really have the basic apps now
Go google about this phone. Many people have the same problem with this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Works ok but!

06/08/2013
By ,
Seattle, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Certainly works ok as basic smartphone capabilities. Not high end by any means. The big problem is it is wildly inaccurate on the date/time. Once or twice daily the time will jump from on time to completely off 4-8 hour swings. I thought maybe it was a signal issue with the automatic time and date settings from the network, so I set it manually and turned off the auto feature figuring it would solve the issue. That seemed ok for about 6-7 hours before I looked again and there was an 8 hour swing in the phone saying it was earlier than it was. I set it again with a phone call which corrected the time. I turned the auto time and date feature from the network back on. Less than 24 hours later the time is off by another 8 hours. Signal was always at least 2/4 bars. Makes the phone totally unreliable if you want to schedule something, use alarms to notify you, or even if you want to know the time. I have to give it a thumbs down waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/18/2014
check the phones calendar app and make sure your home setting is in the correct time zone that helped me!
0points
Customer Avatar
Ohio
never
Posted 08/08/2013
I've had this phone since mid May and I've never had any problem with the time on it.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 51 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

This phone is TERRIBLE.

08/20/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had TWO of these phones because I was convinced the first one was just faulty but NOPE I WAS WRONG. Both of these phones have the SAME issues. Constantly freezing. Can't ever find GPS and when it DOES it drops you at the last minute then you are lost. People send you pics and it freezes and says downloading for hours then says it can't download. UGH. I have to take the battery out mutlitple times a day to unfreeze it. It it super slow sometimes whether I have any apps running or not. If the battery is low the time will revert to hours prior and then your alarm won't go off the next morning....this happened to me several times. Both of these phones were the same and had the same exact issues. Won't ever buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Was good at first.

09/17/2014
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first turned 18, I bought this phone. It was a good price, until I had the phone for awhile. This phone lags and apps freeze the phone entirely. I have to take the battery out at least 5 times a day. It doesn't notify me of text messages half the time. Most apps force close upon opening. Doesn't call when you press the button, then when you press it a couple times, it has a bunch of calls lined up or merged. It has HORRIBLE storage space, especially for people who like to take pictures and have songs. I can't even have games on my phone or any extra apps that I don't use on a daily basis because it slows down the phone and takes up way too much space. Overall, this phone isn't a phone I would recommend to ANYONE unless it was my grandmother who's 80.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Don't rely on it too much....

09/13/2014
By ,
Kansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this phone last June for $99 and its abit of a nightmare.
Yes it is android and it will work with most apps, but I wouldn't recommend using this as an alarm or an authenticator.
This phone model has serious issues with keeping the correct time and after doing alot of research while searching for a way to fix it, i've found that it seems to be a defect with the Centura model itself. It doesn't matter if you manually set time, if you disable the auto-correct option, etc. It will randomly jump back 5-6hrs.
And if you need to use it as an authenticator for games such as WoW, FFXIV, etc. Don't since the time issues will cause your authentication keys to be expired upon being generated.
This phone also tends to overheat while using games or the music player for extended times.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

freezes all the time

09/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is horrible, it freezes all the time. I constantly have to keep removing the battery in after it freezes up just so it can work.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Phone shuts itself off ... disappointing

09/29/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is the first Samsung phone I've been disappointed in. I've been having trouble almost since Day 1 with this Centura model. 1) The telephone keypad dims itself when I'm trying to pick up voice mails; I can't put in my password because the screen goes black on-and-off throughout the process. I've had try and get voice mails again-and-again. 2) Even when I'm not using it, it will shut itself off; I can feel a strong vibration and I know it's stopped working. 3) Sometimes the phone freezes up and I have to remove the protective cover I put on it and open it up and pull the battery out.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Poor excuse for a Samsung Galaxy

09/21/2014
By ,
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my second smartphone, my first being the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. I received this phone in December after my Proclaim's keyboard stopped functioning after ownership of 10 months, and I was hoping it would be an upgrade. I was wrong.
This phone has very little internal storage. That could easily be solved by purchasing a large external micro SD card, though.
The phone is very slow and laggy; sometimes it takes ten minutes or longer for apps to load. The camera quality is poor and most of my pictures come out extremely grainy or blurry, no matter how still I hold it.
The battery life is horrible. I'll start my day at 5:30am with my phone at 100% battery, and I don't use my phone at school at all but sometimes it won't even be past 2:00pm and my phone will be dead or nearly dead, even if I haven't used it all day aside from checking the time every few hours.
If the phone dies, when you turn it back on the time will usually be wrong. This annoyance has made me late for school several times because my alarm didn't go off at the correct time. (Seriously, I refuse to turn off my phone because I'm scared the time will become wrong again.)
The 3G sometimes doesn't work. Like if I'm not connected to wifi I can't get on facebook or use any apps that need the internet even though my service plan is still activated. But this is only sometimes; this can be fixed occasionally by restarting the phone but that doesn't work every time, and it also leaves you at risk for the time becoming wrong.
Sometimes when sending a picture message, it will send the photo I'm sending, but also send a random photo from my gallery. I have no idea why or how.
The only reason I gave the "meets expectations" value a "fair" instead of "poor" is because after my Proclaim, (which experienced several of the same problems I see with the Centura) I wasn't expecting it to be much better. It did meet my expectations, my expectations of it being not worth the 100$ my dad spent on it. I will continue to use my Centura until it either breaks, or I decide to throw several hundred dollars on a better phone. I want the Galaxy S5 but I'm not prepared to throw 600$+ at a phone, so I'll live with my Centura for now.
The only good thing I can think about it, is that it's durable. I've dropped, thrown, and hit this phone several times over the 9 months I've had it, and it hasn't broken yet. I see all these horror stories about people dropping their iPhones 6 inches off the floor and it shattering, but these awful Galaxies seem to hold up pretty well. My Proclaim fell about 9 feet from the top row of bleachers at my school's gym, and it just had a dent in the side after that, but that didn't affect anything.
It makes calls and sends texts just fine, so if you're looking for a pretty cheap smartphone to do nothing but make calls and send texts, and you don't care about if the time is wrong, then this phone would be alright, I suppose.
All in all, I would not tell a friend to buy this phone. I wouldn't even tell someone I hate to buy this phone. No one should have this phone. It's an awful phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for a $100

05/24/2013
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My previous phone was a Motorola DroidX. It was time to get something new and get away from the contractual nightmare of big V.
Overall, this entry level Android is really nice. Light, powerful with 4.0 ICS, good battery life, good functionality. Uses a micro USB for charging and connectivity, bright color display and visibility.
Pros: Good features for $100, light, good signal, good sound, no unwanted proprietary apps,
Cons: Slippery, small screen, no photo flash, no front face cam, no missed call/txt indicator light.
Overall, I'm really impressed with what I got for $100. Getting the number ported and the account set up with ST was really easy.
Buuuut, I might go get the LG Optimus Showtime since it is bigger, a little more power, and still runs 4.0 ICS. The Centura will probably get used as a hot spare.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great product for the price

09/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I dont recomend the extended waranty plan enless you get a expensive phone. They only give you what you payed for the phone so if on sale 29.88 thats all you get back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Not worth it

09/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had my phone for 2 weeks because my old phone wasn't working right had it for over 2 years, anyways this was an upgrade so I thought. It stops working like it freezes up you can touch the home button but nothing happens. I have to take the battery out and put it back in in order for it to work again. Other than it freezing up on me its ok I guess. If you like speed dials this is also different it has a direct dial which you can put on your main screen but your more prone to butt dial. Hope this helps
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I hate this phone.

11/22/2013
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have not had it very long and at this point I want to throw it against a wall. I replaced a Precedent that had the on/off button sticking and wouldn't turn on. Bad phone as well. This phone, the Centura, is the worst phone I have ever had. It at times displays a random time, not the correct time, not a different time zone even...just a random wrong time. The wifi will only stay connected for a short time, when it drops you have to turn wifi off and back on and quickly get into whatever app you are using before it drops again. The most recent annoyance is not ringing or just going directly to voicemail. Seriously...I totally wasted $100, a lot of time and a great deal of nerves dealing with this phone. Straight talk service has been fine...it's the phone that is a piece of you know what.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 412 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next