Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung S738C Prepaid Smartphone runs on the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS. With a talk time up to 7.22 hours, this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Smartphone can keep you connected throughout the day without constantly recharging. Capture pictures and videos with the 3MPl camera and video recorder when you insert your own microSD card, up to 32GB. Prepaid Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phones are WiFi and 3G connected, so you can enjoy your favorite websites, videos, games and music on the go with this 3.5" touchscreen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.046 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(409 Reviews) 386
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
107
4 stars
95
3 stars
35
2 stars
54
1 star
118
Customer Recommendation55%224 out of 409reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
418 Questions | 835 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
107
4 stars
95
3 stars
35
2 stars
54
1 star
118
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Feature-packed but many bugs

08/24/2013
By ,
Omaha, NE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I would have rated this phone in the first week, it would have been 5 stars, because there are so many great features on this phone for a good value. Our StraightTalk service (via Verizon) has been pretty solid. However, after using it for a few weeks, there are so many bugs on this phone I am almost fed up and considering a return. I've had three issues that are all unacceptable. (1) The clock randomly sets itself backwards by 6 hours. I can't trust the time on this phone enough to use the alarm clock. One morning it didn't go off because of the crazy time-change bug. (2) When I turn on my Wi-Fi, it freezes on me roughly 20% of the time. It totally locks up, and I have to reboot the phone to get it to work again. (3) I can't seem to send or receive MMS messages reliably. Occasionally I can receive them, but haven't been able to send any yet.
The more I research these issues, it seems that I'm not the only one experiencing them. But I guess I'm the lucky guy who has ALL THREE of these issues on the same phone.
This is the first smartphone I have ever owned, so maybe these bugs are par for the course. I don't know, but I don't expect this kind of quality, especially when I shelled out 100 bucks for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Works ok but!

06/08/2013
By ,
Seattle, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Certainly works ok as basic smartphone capabilities. Not high end by any means. The big problem is it is wildly inaccurate on the date/time. Once or twice daily the time will jump from on time to completely off 4-8 hour swings. I thought maybe it was a signal issue with the automatic time and date settings from the network, so I set it manually and turned off the auto feature figuring it would solve the issue. That seemed ok for about 6-7 hours before I looked again and there was an 8 hour swing in the phone saying it was earlier than it was. I set it again with a phone call which corrected the time. I turned the auto time and date feature from the network back on. Less than 24 hours later the time is off by another 8 hours. Signal was always at least 2/4 bars. Makes the phone totally unreliable if you want to schedule something, use alarms to notify you, or even if you want to know the time. I have to give it a thumbs down waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/18/2014
check the phones calendar app and make sure your home setting is in the correct time zone that helped me!
0points
Customer Avatar
Ohio
never
Posted 08/08/2013
I've had this phone since mid May and I've never had any problem with the time on it.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 43 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Horrible

07/20/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this phone had it for 7months and I had problems starting it freezes and when I take it off the charger it keeps beeping and keeps going in between charging and not charging have to take the batterie out and put it back in and my phone will go black and say os reboot or take batterie out
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for a $100

05/24/2013
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My previous phone was a Motorola DroidX. It was time to get something new and get away from the contractual nightmare of big V.
Overall, this entry level Android is really nice. Light, powerful with 4.0 ICS, good battery life, good functionality. Uses a micro USB for charging and connectivity, bright color display and visibility.
Pros: Good features for $100, light, good signal, good sound, no unwanted proprietary apps,
Cons: Slippery, small screen, no photo flash, no front face cam, no missed call/txt indicator light.
Overall, I'm really impressed with what I got for $100. Getting the number ported and the account set up with ST was really easy.
Buuuut, I might go get the LG Optimus Showtime since it is bigger, a little more power, and still runs 4.0 ICS. The Centura will probably get used as a hot spare.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Run from this phone

09/12/2014
By ,
Carbondale, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had Samsung phones before and thought would be a good entry smart phone for me, WAS I WRONG!! Do not waste your money on this garbage. Worked for about the first month, after that nothing but problems. Time resets itself about 3 times a day on average then I have to set it back to my time zone. Freezes all the time have to reboot by removing the battery and starting over. Down ringtones and set some for family, i never know what ringtone will go off.
All in all this is the WORST phone I have ever seen Samsung should be ashamed to call this a Galaxy phone, why do you think Wal-Mart dropped the price down $70.00. Don't waste your time or money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I hate this phone.

11/22/2013
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have not had it very long and at this point I want to throw it against a wall. I replaced a Precedent that had the on/off button sticking and wouldn't turn on. Bad phone as well. This phone, the Centura, is the worst phone I have ever had. It at times displays a random time, not the correct time, not a different time zone even...just a random wrong time. The wifi will only stay connected for a short time, when it drops you have to turn wifi off and back on and quickly get into whatever app you are using before it drops again. The most recent annoyance is not ringing or just going directly to voicemail. Seriously...I totally wasted $100, a lot of time and a great deal of nerves dealing with this phone. Straight talk service has been fine...it's the phone that is a piece of you know what.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Stay away from this cell.

07/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesn't keep track of time. It will randomly change time on you so don't count on setting an alarm on it. Even after doing the android update (which is another problem) which says it fixes it. You have to factory reset the device each time there's an update for it. Has a hard time staying connected to any network, even if you're standing right next to your wireless router, it'll drop the signal. Debugging mode doesn't work so good luck trying to connect it to your PC besides to charge it. Don't bother calling either StraightTalk or Samsung about it cause one will tell you to call the other to fix it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Much Better Than Expected

05/31/2013
By ,
Chelsea, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this phone for 7 days now. It was easy to learn how to use and has all the popular features. The voice to text was hard to figure out but works great...! The battery life is the best I could find from any of the other phones offered in the Straight Talk program. I'm getting a solid two days of heavy usage. One of the concerns in a review posted above was the software didn't display photos properly in some phone positions. All you need to do is expand the picture in the screen with your finger and thumb like in the iPhone commercials. It works great...! The download speeds are a little slow but seems better with WiFi connection. I think its a great value...! I'd recommend this phone and plan to most everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Phone won't keep correct time

10/26/2013
By ,
Wi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No matter what I do the phone won't keep the correct time. Sometimes will change 2-3 times a day sometimes will go 2 weeks without changing. Tried everything to fix it. disabling auto time. clearing cache and removing battery. Nothing works. Very annoying when you can't rely on a phone to even keep the correct time.
Can't use the alarm and it makes texting a real pain since if the time is incorrect it will show texts in different spots as if they were received hours before. Also if the time change is great enough it will move the date around also. Once it changed the date back to 2006. Only way I found online to fix this issue was to root the phone and install a new launcher.
Also quite slow on loading even weatherbug. But that was to be expected with the single core 800mhz cpu. I could deal with all of that if it would just keep the correct time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cherryvale, KS
Posted 12/11/2013
Try this ... open the Calendar app ... go to Settings ... set the Time Zone where you live, not Australia. This has corrected the time reset issue for many people.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 50 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone IF ONLY IT COULD KEEP TIME

07/18/2013
By ,
Jefferson City, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I first saw this phone I thought it was a great value at $99.99 with a newer version of android and a nice size touch screen. Also Samsung usually makes good phones. I checked the reviews and did notice a few that mentioned the time resetting on them, well I thought that was just a bad batch, was I wrong. It seems like many people when you search on the internet have this same problem and it did it to me. After about a day the time would reset 6 hours back, I tried resetting it, turning off the sync with network, removing the battery, but nothing fixed this issue. If you plan on using this phone as an ALARM or as a WATCH to know what the current TIME is, I would not suggest it. A feature this simple should work problem-free. There are several other nice choices such as the LG L40G phone which has been problem-free for me!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
IL
Posted 11/06/2013
My clock never stays set either.. I have to make sure I have a back up alarm set..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 51 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Junky Phone - Don't buy, Striaght Talk has better

09/12/2014
By ,
Kingston, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad phone. VERY SLOW, drops calls
I would buy the LG FUEL now - That phone is 100x better
that phone is EXCELLENT. That one is a Wal Mart Straight Talk phone.
If you want Samsung, Buy the Samsung Galaxy ACE STYLE. That is a much better one than the Centura. Centura is really really BAD!!! Ace Style in the store runs 149.00. I noticed that they have deals on it though and promotions from time to time...
This Phone crashes, drops calls, doesn't work well at all
Avoid at all costs - Nothing but trouble. Outdated Android and Super Slow processor and calls always dropping.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

slow and locks up

09/15/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Slow to bring up menus, and tends to lock up when you try to switch to other programs. If you just want it for a phone only it still has a delay when you try to end a phone call. when you hit the end call button it does not respond some times until you hit it a second time, and for some reason it hits a contact in your list and calls them, but you don't see that until you press the back button, now you need to get back in to end the call before they answer. fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Good phone for the Price

09/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This phone is really a nice phone I get good connection mostly everywhere, I'm very pleased thus far with the phone. The reason I gave it 4 out of 5 stars is because the phone tends to lag a bit. But other than that its a pretty good phone for the price.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I'm liking it so far

06/25/2013
By ,
Salt Lake City UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for about 2 weeks and so far, it's meeting and exceeding my expectations. I had a bad phone before, HTC My Slide 3G, a touch screen mess that I wanted to smash on a daily basis. So far, I haven't had the urge to destroy this phone at all. Yes, it is taking a while to get used to a touch screen keyboard. I only wish I could have it go landscape everytime I wanted to type. No luck in finding that setting so far.
It runs off of the Verizon towers which is good for my edge-of-civilization location outside of Salt Lake City. Other phones did not workout here. Verizon and my straight talk do.
My only pet peeve so far is that when I type into a webpage, it sets it's own zoom setting and won't let me zoom out so I can see what I have written so far. That was a pain with my HTC as well.
The pictures have been okay for a smaller megapixel camera that this one has. The apps have been fun and I'm glad I can finally listen to podcasts again. My kids are happy to have the drag toilet paper race app again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Do not buy this phone!

05/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is by far the worst phone and service I've ever had. I would take my old Razr phone over this piece of junk! You want data? Forget about it! Data does not work unless you have wifi. Have wifi? The phone freezes and you have to turn it off and back on again. System overload!!!!! I thought it would be nice to check email and have Google Maps. Nope. Maps will only open if you have wifi and then it still struggles to find your location. Camera is horrible. I am taking this back and getting a flip phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
naperville il
You are so correct!
Posted 06/19/2014
Phone doesn't connect to internet without Wifi. Extremely sensitive to any touch. I couldn't handle it and don't start sync'n facebook, your emails, alerts, and any type of communication to the phone. The alerts never end, 24 hours a day. The phone does stuff by itself. Possessed
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 56 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

great phone for an expert

09/17/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i am a novice at cell phones - this phone is difficult to get voice mail activated i'll probably need some help. probably the same with g-mail. straight talk instructions are complicated.gordo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Shows promise but 2 out of 3 purchased have failed

07/29/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This phone comes on as one of the best bets at the entry level of Android smartphones. Decent processing power, Android 4.xx OS, Verizon Wireless coverage and unusually good battery life as a bonus. Even the camera works well. I've always had high-end Android phones, but when I switched to Straight Talk I could not afford a high-end phone. It does the job well... except for a couple of issues.
First up, there is no LED to indicate a missed call. Oh, they appear to be there - but they are not functional on this model. The music player has unusually poor audio quality when used with decent headphones, which may be a minor issue to many, a major issue to others. But what kills this phone is reliability. Between myself and family, we have purchased 3 of these phones. 2 of them failed. One within 2 days, the other started to go at the 3 week point. These are all phones used by adults who take care of items. Not a good track record.
At this point, while I recommended 2 of the 3 phones purchased (mine is one that is failing now), I would not recommend this to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fort Wayne, IN
Update...
Posted 08/20/2013
Now let's make that 3 out of 4 have failed. Just avoid this phone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 58 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

not good

09/15/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this phone looks good for those who don't like big phones other than that the is not good the screen has frozen on me and now I can't even open the screen lock. if want to turn it off I have to take out the battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

For those with battery life issues, please read

12/17/2013
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading almost all the negative reviews, the majority of them seem to center on poor battery life. Unfortunately, most, if not all, of this is due to user error (please don't take that personally). I've had my phone five days, have made almost three hours of calls, downloaded a number of apps and played with any number of functions and still have 34% battery life without a recharge in that five days.
To preserve battery life, you absolutely must turn off the location/GPS services, Wi-Fi (unless you're using it), set sleep time to one minute but screen lock to thirty minutes, make sure your screen brightness is no greater than 50% and less if it will work for you. Don't leave things like talk to text on in the background and check, using the apps tool, for anything running in the background and turn it off if it is (except for the browser function, obviously).
Google loves for you to have the location services turned on and will try to turn them on with a variety of their apps so read what a new app is going to do before loading it. Either turn them back off after loading the app or find another app that doesn't try and turn them on.
With all that out of the way, I have to praise the straight talk service on this phone. The store employee had it registered and my contacts transferred from my burner phone in minutes (both on the Verizon network if that makes a difference). While it's a somewhat basic smartphone, it has every feature and app that us "older" folks would likely use.
Oddly enough, my wife just got an iPhone 5C which she put onto her existing Verizon account. She's been working a full day to get everything transferred over and the service/phone working properly while I've been enjoying my Android phone for most of that time. In the long run, the Apple will be a much more capable phone but it isn't quite as easy to setup as Apple and Verizon would like you to believe.
We're going to compare ST versus Verizon after about six months and see if I should join her Verizon plan for $40 and have limited data or she should quit Verizon and go ST with unlimited. I'll post an update on these competing phones and planes after that six months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The WORST EVER!!!!

04/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my first "smart phone". It does what it wants, when it wants! Sometimes you can connect to wi-fi, SOMETIMES! It will lock itself, meaning you can not do anything! You can't shut it off, return to the home screen, NOTHING!! It will NOT perform system update. The poor little droid falls over on his back & gets a red exclamation mark in a yellow triangle. This phone has issues!! The only reason I gave the value 3 stars is because I got the Black Friday price!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 387 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  20 Next