Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung S738C Prepaid Smartphone runs on the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS. With a talk time up to 7.22 hours, this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Smartphone can keep you connected throughout the day without constantly recharging. Capture pictures and videos with the 3MPl camera and video recorder when you insert your own microSD card, up to 32GB. Prepaid Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phones are WiFi and 3G connected, so you can enjoy your favorite websites, videos, games and music on the go with this 3.5" touchscreen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.038 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(581 Reviews) 558
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
154
4 stars
133
3 stars
48
2 stars
73
1 star
173
Customer Recommendation55%322 out of 581reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
481 Questions | 984 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
154
4 stars
133
3 stars
48
2 stars
73
1 star
173
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Dislike..

12/30/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this phone for a year now and I do not like it. I do get great service and I have no complaints against straight talk itself. This phone freezes all the time and I have problems with the clock setting itself back like 6 hours. My husband and Dad also have this phone and both have the same problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

centura galaxy , don't buy it

12/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone for 99.00 dollars about 9 months ago. after about 3 months, it began to function poorly. It freezes up at time, won't cut off , had to take battery out to rebut. Also, I had secret code to lock out; at times,found screen unlocked for hours even when set to 2 min screen lock. this phone does what it wants, auto dialed people in middle of night, screen fade out, automatically changes setting so I was constantly readjusting the setting. Also internet became sluggish. Poor, poor quality and this is no exaggeration!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I hate this phone.

11/22/2013
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have not had it very long and at this point I want to throw it against a wall. I replaced a Precedent that had the on/off button sticking and wouldn't turn on. Bad phone as well. This phone, the Centura, is the worst phone I have ever had. It at times displays a random time, not the correct time, not a different time zone even...just a random wrong time. The wifi will only stay connected for a short time, when it drops you have to turn wifi off and back on and quickly get into whatever app you are using before it drops again. The most recent annoyance is not ringing or just going directly to voicemail. Seriously...I totally wasted $100, a lot of time and a great deal of nerves dealing with this phone. Straight talk service has been fine...it's the phone that is a piece of you know what.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone IF ONLY IT COULD KEEP TIME

07/18/2013
By ,
Jefferson City, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I first saw this phone I thought it was a great value at $99.99 with a newer version of android and a nice size touch screen. Also Samsung usually makes good phones. I checked the reviews and did notice a few that mentioned the time resetting on them, well I thought that was just a bad batch, was I wrong. It seems like many people when you search on the internet have this same problem and it did it to me. After about a day the time would reset 6 hours back, I tried resetting it, turning off the sync with network, removing the battery, but nothing fixed this issue. If you plan on using this phone as an ALARM or as a WATCH to know what the current TIME is, I would not suggest it. A feature this simple should work problem-free. There are several other nice choices such as the LG L40G phone which has been problem-free for me!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
IL
Posted 11/06/2013
My clock never stays set either.. I have to make sure I have a back up alarm set..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 45 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Much Better Than Expected

05/31/2013
By ,
Chelsea, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this phone for 7 days now. It was easy to learn how to use and has all the popular features. The voice to text was hard to figure out but works great...! The battery life is the best I could find from any of the other phones offered in the Straight Talk program. I'm getting a solid two days of heavy usage. One of the concerns in a review posted above was the software didn't display photos properly in some phone positions. All you need to do is expand the picture in the screen with your finger and thumb like in the iPhone commercials. It works great...! The download speeds are a little slow but seems better with WiFi connection. I think its a great value...! I'd recommend this phone and plan to most everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

This phone is trash.

12/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is trash. Freezes ALL the time. Time changes on its own in the middle of the night and all day so don't bother using the alarm. Keyboard doesn't work when texting. Takes over a min to call out once you have hit the call button. Phone was cheap but that's because its trash. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Do Not Buy - JUNK

12/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am on my fourth of these phones, each one worse than the previous. There are honestly so many issues I don't know where to begin. If you want a phone you can depend on to call out, forget it. It can't perform this most basic function most of the time and the phone's not even three months old. It simply refuses to dial out and then if you try again, it will place two calls to the same number at the same time. Painfully slow! Apps freeze and the phone locks up and won't turn back on without a battery pull. There is an issue with the clock; it will often show the wrong time making the alarm useless. The camera is very poor. I hate it so bad that I'm not even bothering to have them replace it a fifth time. It is going to meet an untimely death by sledgehammer. Please save yourself a lot of frustration and don't waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Slows Down Very Quickly

01/18/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you're looking to get your first smart phone or consider yourself "smart phone challenged" this phone is probably fine. While I was initially disappointed there was no front camera, I was fine with it because for the first few months the phone was great. As I added more apps the phone began to freeze and I would need to restart it at least once a day. I also discovered that as apps updated, the phone was no longer updated enough to use them. As my first smart phone it was great, but if you want something fast and updated I wouldn't recommend this at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

WORST PHONE EVER!!!

09/10/2014
By ,
Newburgh, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this phone for less than a week, and I am already regretting my decision to purchase this piece of bologna! My apps freeze and then kick me out. The time changes by itself, and on top of that, the screen goes blank for NO reason at all. I wish I had never bought this piece of bologna. Will NOT recommend this junk to ANYONE! No wonder it was on sale. What a waste of money. The ONLY positive thing about this phone is the nearly 3gb of internal memory.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Save yourself the disappointment.

08/09/2014
By ,
Northwest Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned this phone for a bit over a year now. The $100 price and Samsung name lured me to get it. I personally know 3 people who also owns this phone and they also hate it. Rather than dump all my issues here on this review, I will list the worst ones.
-Phone usually (more than 50% of time) freeze up when trying to connect to WiFi or running most games or apps. This requires removing and reinstalling battery.
-Often when talking to someone on the phone for more than a few minutes, this phone will randomly reset itself during the phone call. Then will take a couple minutes to finish it's reset and I have to call back whoever I was talking to. This only ever happens once per call however. I.E. it might reset after talking for 8 minutes, then will work fine indefinately afterwards.
-Occasionally the clock will revert to a random time when connecting the charger. Very frustrating when using it as an alarm clock. Been late a few times because of it.
-Charger cord will barely stay in it's socket for charging, so if the dog walks by the phone while it's charging and his tail brushes the cord, it will disconnect and not charge.
-Most of the time pictures will not download from text messages. I've tried several suggestions from online forums and nothing improves this.
-Very slow overall. Not suprising from only 800 mhz, but still frustrating.
And finally I need to reset the phone via pulling the battery at least once every-other day.
I am sorry for being so negative, but this is 100% honesty with NO exageration.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

phone

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
like the phone just trying to get use to it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I'm liking it so far

06/25/2013
By ,
Salt Lake City UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for about 2 weeks and so far, it's meeting and exceeding my expectations. I had a bad phone before, HTC My Slide 3G, a touch screen mess that I wanted to smash on a daily basis. So far, I haven't had the urge to destroy this phone at all. Yes, it is taking a while to get used to a touch screen keyboard. I only wish I could have it go landscape everytime I wanted to type. No luck in finding that setting so far.
It runs off of the Verizon towers which is good for my edge-of-civilization location outside of Salt Lake City. Other phones did not workout here. Verizon and my straight talk do.
My only pet peeve so far is that when I type into a webpage, it sets it's own zoom setting and won't let me zoom out so I can see what I have written so far. That was a pain with my HTC as well.
The pictures have been okay for a smaller megapixel camera that this one has. The apps have been fun and I'm glad I can finally listen to podcasts again. My kids are happy to have the drag toilet paper race app again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Don't Bother!

09/02/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
While Samsung is usually the top choice for me for phones, we got one of these to upgrade from my wife's 2.3.6 Galaxy Proclaim and it was a DISASTER!
First off, this has 4.0 on it, which has HUGE issues with MMS and group texting (i.e. it does neither of these well). Second, it has freezing issues as noted in other reviews. As in once per day. I doubt this is really ST's issue and more the manufacturer, but ST isn't going to help you with that problem. Third, it is constantly dropping cellular, wifi, and GPS connections (again, likely a hardware issue).
This phone was so bad that we switched her BACK to the 2.3.6 phone and then she went over to Verizon!
HEED MY WARNING! GO WITH SOMETHING ELSE! (the LG L34c, perhaps?)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great little phone

01/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
purchased phone when a friend needed it in a pinch. Works great, easy to use!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great little smartphone

09/30/2014
By ,
Montreal, Quebec
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Can't expect more for the price. It works fine so far. Bought 4 more to give to my relatives. We just use them off the Wi-Fi signal at home with MagicApp for free phone calls. Since I already have my mobile hot-spot device that goes with me when I go out, my Samsung doesn't cost me anything more.
The seasons, I didn't rate it 5 stars is that it seems to have the time issue and it's a bit slow (but what can we expect for $30?). One of them kept switching back 4 hours. But it's fine now, I reset it to factory default and started over when I got home (we live in Canada - so I think it has somthing to do with Straight Talk's signal and the daylight savings time option). If you are looking for a inexpensive phone but a little faster, try the LG Realm at BestBuy; it only costs $10 more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Shows promise but 2 out of 3 purchased have failed

07/29/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This phone comes on as one of the best bets at the entry level of Android smartphones. Decent processing power, Android 4.xx OS, Verizon Wireless coverage and unusually good battery life as a bonus. Even the camera works well. I've always had high-end Android phones, but when I switched to Straight Talk I could not afford a high-end phone. It does the job well... except for a couple of issues.
First up, there is no LED to indicate a missed call. Oh, they appear to be there - but they are not functional on this model. The music player has unusually poor audio quality when used with decent headphones, which may be a minor issue to many, a major issue to others. But what kills this phone is reliability. Between myself and family, we have purchased 3 of these phones. 2 of them failed. One within 2 days, the other started to go at the 3 week point. These are all phones used by adults who take care of items. Not a good track record.
At this point, while I recommended 2 of the 3 phones purchased (mine is one that is failing now), I would not recommend this to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fort Wayne, IN
Update...
Posted 08/20/2013
Now let's make that 3 out of 4 have failed. Just avoid this phone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 57 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Exceeded expectations!

05/21/2013
By ,
St. Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this cell phone yesterday. Love the big numbers for dialing as my eyesight isn't as good as it used to be. Super easy to use for the cell phone challenged like me. WiFi worked right away. I can easily text with my big finger tips. I cannot be more happy with my purchase. Good sound, easy to download & use all the features on this phone. I love it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+320points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KY
HELP!
Posted 10/06/2013
My husband and I just bought this phone 2 days ago. We are both having so much trouble using the keyboard. We have tried barely touching it, touching it hard, tapping, etc. and it still doesn't type the letters we touch.. I'd say 8 out of 10 times. If we turn the phone sideways, it's better. Is this normal. Is there some way to do this differently?
I sure hope we can get used to the sensitivity of this particular phone.
Thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 58 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

useless phone....

01/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone not a good option for anyone wanting a "smart" phone. The operating memory (RAM) is next to nothing and you can not have ANY apps installed because it will just freeze. This phone is only good for calling and texting and even then it over heats (?) and freezes. If this review helps someone from having a horrible experience with this phone, my pain was for not.
Don't tell me you get what you pay for because a competitor has a phone (still straighttalk) for half the cost with a decent operating size (RAM)? that functions nicely for those only needing a smart phone for a few apps.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Excellent so far

05/23/2013
By ,
Charlotte MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently bought a LG Dynamic, was the cheaps phone they and and that is what it is. The was no internal space on the phone at all. It was also hard to use because the lay out of it was so small, I went back and bought the Samsung Centrura I can not be more happy with the phone. So far there is a lot os space on the phone and it's service is great. I got out of the contracts with the big carriers because of the cost this is about half with the same service. I would beware of the data usage though. From what I have read they will shut your phone off if you use to much. So unlimted is not unlimited.... As for the phone for the price it ROCKS!!!!!! Wish it had a front camera though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NH
Data tracker
Posted 06/26/2013
I use a Galaxy Proclaim and I used to worry about my data useage but had no way of tracking it. I downloaded a free APP called MY Data Manager and it shows total Roaming , Mobile and Wi-Fi data useage. I found much of my useage is via Wi-fi as I log onto more free Wi-Fi networks. It sits at the top of your phone as a drop down menu and you can set it to the start date of your monthly bills.
0points
Customer Avatar
NH
Tracking your data usage
Posted 06/21/2013
There is a free APP called My Data Manager. I downloaded it because the phone does not tell you what the true amount of data is that you use. The APP tells you Mobile , Roaming and Wi-Fi. You set the date your plan starts and it will start over on that date. I wondered what I used and found out that a lot of mine is via free Wi-Fi. It shows as a widget on the top of your phone and you can pull it down to verify usage.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 60 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Not Smart !

01/17/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sorry to say but this smart phone did not work for me. The calls kept on dropping so I had to return it to the store. I reactivated my old tracfone that was not "smart" but works fine without calls being dropped. I attributed the bad service to Verizon which carries its air waves.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 559 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  28 Next