Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung S738C Prepaid Smartphone runs on the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS. With a talk time up to 7.22 hours, this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Smartphone can keep you connected throughout the day without constantly recharging. Capture pictures and videos with the 3MPl camera and video recorder when you insert your own microSD card, up to 32GB. Prepaid Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phones are WiFi and 3G connected, so you can enjoy your favorite websites, videos, games and music on the go with this 3.5" touchscreen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.012 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(594 Reviews) 571
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
133
3 stars
48
2 stars
76
1 star
181
Customer Recommendation55%324 out of 594reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
491 Questions | 992 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
133
3 stars
48
2 stars
76
1 star
181
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Wish I'd never bought this

02/25/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This worked great for about 3 months and I've been fighting with it ever since. It turns off at random times, it doesn't keep time (therefore the alarm doesn't go off when its supposed to# it freezes so often sometimes I'm forced to hard reboot dozens of times, camera isn't fantastic #and it doesn't have a forward facing cam for those who dig selfies,) and it goes through a ridiculous amount of battery power. I do NOT recommend this phone, but there's no way I'm buying a $300-700 iPhone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Much Better Than Expected

05/31/2013
By ,
Chelsea, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this phone for 7 days now. It was easy to learn how to use and has all the popular features. The voice to text was hard to figure out but works great...! The battery life is the best I could find from any of the other phones offered in the Straight Talk program. I'm getting a solid two days of heavy usage. One of the concerns in a review posted above was the software didn't display photos properly in some phone positions. All you need to do is expand the picture in the screen with your finger and thumb like in the iPhone commercials. It works great...! The download speeds are a little slow but seems better with WiFi connection. I think its a great value...! I'd recommend this phone and plan to most everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Phone won't keep correct time

10/26/2013
By ,
Wi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No matter what I do the phone won't keep the correct time. Sometimes will change 2-3 times a day sometimes will go 2 weeks without changing. Tried everything to fix it. disabling auto time. clearing cache and removing battery. Nothing works. Very annoying when you can't rely on a phone to even keep the correct time.
Can't use the alarm and it makes texting a real pain since if the time is incorrect it will show texts in different spots as if they were received hours before. Also if the time change is great enough it will move the date around also. Once it changed the date back to 2006. Only way I found online to fix this issue was to root the phone and install a new launcher.
Also quite slow on loading even weatherbug. But that was to be expected with the single core 800mhz cpu. I could deal with all of that if it would just keep the correct time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cherryvale, KS
Posted 12/11/2013
Try this ... open the Calendar app ... go to Settings ... set the Time Zone where you live, not Australia. This has corrected the time reset issue for many people.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 44 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone IF ONLY IT COULD KEEP TIME

07/18/2013
By ,
Jefferson City, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I first saw this phone I thought it was a great value at $99.99 with a newer version of android and a nice size touch screen. Also Samsung usually makes good phones. I checked the reviews and did notice a few that mentioned the time resetting on them, well I thought that was just a bad batch, was I wrong. It seems like many people when you search on the internet have this same problem and it did it to me. After about a day the time would reset 6 hours back, I tried resetting it, turning off the sync with network, removing the battery, but nothing fixed this issue. If you plan on using this phone as an ALARM or as a WATCH to know what the current TIME is, I would not suggest it. A feature this simple should work problem-free. There are several other nice choices such as the LG L40G phone which has been problem-free for me!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
IL
Posted 11/06/2013
My clock never stays set either.. I have to make sure I have a back up alarm set..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 45 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I hate this phone.

11/22/2013
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have not had it very long and at this point I want to throw it against a wall. I replaced a Precedent that had the on/off button sticking and wouldn't turn on. Bad phone as well. This phone, the Centura, is the worst phone I have ever had. It at times displays a random time, not the correct time, not a different time zone even...just a random wrong time. The wifi will only stay connected for a short time, when it drops you have to turn wifi off and back on and quickly get into whatever app you are using before it drops again. The most recent annoyance is not ringing or just going directly to voicemail. Seriously...I totally wasted $100, a lot of time and a great deal of nerves dealing with this phone. Straight talk service has been fine...it's the phone that is a piece of you know what.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Has it's flaws

04/22/2014
By ,
Staten Island NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first android phone and being a bit older I find it a bit confusing but with the help of my grandchildren I am getting there. The 3G is fine for me. The phone could be a bit louder but that could be do to age (mine). I am having fun with apps and enjoy the phone and all in all I am happy with the purchase BUT. There are a few things that kind of bug me and I or anyone else cannot figure out a solution. First you can not delete the frequently called#s at the front of the contact list. When the phone rings and I take it out of my pouch if I touch the screen I lose the call and when I get a text message In order to read it I have to enter my lock code which I do not have to do when I get a call. I do really like the phone but I am being a little stingy about expectations as the frequently called list really bothers me and I have tried many apps that supposedly can do it and none work
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SE, United States
Contact List
Posted 05/24/2014
When you open your contact list, by clicking on the "People" icon, there are 3 icons at the top of the page. Tap the one in the center with the smiley person on it. After that when you open your contacts it will show your list of contacts. You can unlock your screen by going into System settings. Open this by tapping the icon on the bottom left, right below phone icon. Click on "System settings" then scroll down and click on "Security." Click on "Power button instantly locks" to uncheck this setting and unlock your phone.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 47 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Dont Bother

01/30/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've only had this phone since Sept,2014 and it like everything was not right, it started freezing up on me and the phone would get really hot, and in the middle of a game it would just quit on me sorry to say not happy with it
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Okay at first then Bad

03/28/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked great for awhile, speed and service were fast. Several months later phone would shut off by its self, lock up, battery suddenly go dead when full charged.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I'm liking it so far

06/25/2013
By ,
Salt Lake City UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for about 2 weeks and so far, it's meeting and exceeding my expectations. I had a bad phone before, HTC My Slide 3G, a touch screen mess that I wanted to smash on a daily basis. So far, I haven't had the urge to destroy this phone at all. Yes, it is taking a while to get used to a touch screen keyboard. I only wish I could have it go landscape everytime I wanted to type. No luck in finding that setting so far.
It runs off of the Verizon towers which is good for my edge-of-civilization location outside of Salt Lake City. Other phones did not workout here. Verizon and my straight talk do.
My only pet peeve so far is that when I type into a webpage, it sets it's own zoom setting and won't let me zoom out so I can see what I have written so far. That was a pain with my HTC as well.
The pictures have been okay for a smaller megapixel camera that this one has. The apps have been fun and I'm glad I can finally listen to podcasts again. My kids are happy to have the drag toilet paper race app again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

This is no smartphone

02/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has messed up since day 1. It kept on saying "do not turn off, initializing" for over a whole day. I finally had to turn it off and restart it. It frequently freezes. Apps frequently crash. I've tried factory resets and removing the battery and everything under the sun.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!!!!

06/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The is my second straight talk samsung phone. The first one I had was pretty much just the earlier version of this one and it worked just as it should for a year and a half but I had to get a new one because the battery would not stay charged even after it was replaced. So, I was not concerned about this phone when I purchased it but it STINKS. Photos sent via text will not downloan, the clock will freeze and then be hours behind. It freezes when I am using different apps and it is INCREDIBLY slow in general....I can wait for 10 second for a screen to slide. It is not worth even a fraction of the price and instead of saving me money, it will end up costing me more because there is no way I'm going to try and exchange this for the same thing as most of the other reviews indicate that this isn't a fluke but just a bad product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Keeps shutting down

11/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I keep having problems with it shutting down or something. The screen will be black so you think it's just sleeping but when you push the power button to light it up, nothing happens. So I'll think it just shut off and hold the power button longer to turn it back on, but nothing happens. At that point I have to pull off the back and pull the battery out, put the battery back in and the back on again, then it will turn on. But then when it boots up it says something about OS and push the volume up to continue or push the volume down to cancel. I have no clue what they're talking about so I push the volume down to cancel and then it reboots. I miss a lot of calls and text messages for this issue because you never notice it did this until you check how much battery you have or go to use the phone for something. I'm very disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

JUNK

02/21/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Freezes up all the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Shows promise but 2 out of 3 purchased have failed

07/29/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This phone comes on as one of the best bets at the entry level of Android smartphones. Decent processing power, Android 4.xx OS, Verizon Wireless coverage and unusually good battery life as a bonus. Even the camera works well. I've always had high-end Android phones, but when I switched to Straight Talk I could not afford a high-end phone. It does the job well... except for a couple of issues.
First up, there is no LED to indicate a missed call. Oh, they appear to be there - but they are not functional on this model. The music player has unusually poor audio quality when used with decent headphones, which may be a minor issue to many, a major issue to others. But what kills this phone is reliability. Between myself and family, we have purchased 3 of these phones. 2 of them failed. One within 2 days, the other started to go at the 3 week point. These are all phones used by adults who take care of items. Not a good track record.
At this point, while I recommended 2 of the 3 phones purchased (mine is one that is failing now), I would not recommend this to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fort Wayne, IN
Update...
Posted 08/20/2013
Now let's make that 3 out of 4 have failed. Just avoid this phone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 55 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Exceeded expectations!

05/21/2013
By ,
St. Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this cell phone yesterday. Love the big numbers for dialing as my eyesight isn't as good as it used to be. Super easy to use for the cell phone challenged like me. WiFi worked right away. I can easily text with my big finger tips. I cannot be more happy with my purchase. Good sound, easy to download & use all the features on this phone. I love it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+320points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KY
HELP!
Posted 10/06/2013
My husband and I just bought this phone 2 days ago. We are both having so much trouble using the keyboard. We have tried barely touching it, touching it hard, tapping, etc. and it still doesn't type the letters we touch.. I'd say 8 out of 10 times. If we turn the phone sideways, it's better. Is this normal. Is there some way to do this differently?
I sure hope we can get used to the sensitivity of this particular phone.
Thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 56 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Excellent so far

05/23/2013
By ,
Charlotte MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently bought a LG Dynamic, was the cheaps phone they and and that is what it is. The was no internal space on the phone at all. It was also hard to use because the lay out of it was so small, I went back and bought the Samsung Centrura I can not be more happy with the phone. So far there is a lot os space on the phone and it's service is great. I got out of the contracts with the big carriers because of the cost this is about half with the same service. I would beware of the data usage though. From what I have read they will shut your phone off if you use to much. So unlimted is not unlimited.... As for the phone for the price it ROCKS!!!!!! Wish it had a front camera though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NH
Data tracker
Posted 06/26/2013
I use a Galaxy Proclaim and I used to worry about my data useage but had no way of tracking it. I downloaded a free APP called MY Data Manager and it shows total Roaming , Mobile and Wi-Fi data useage. I found much of my useage is via Wi-fi as I log onto more free Wi-Fi networks. It sits at the top of your phone as a drop down menu and you can set it to the start date of your monthly bills.
0points
Customer Avatar
NH
Tracking your data usage
Posted 06/21/2013
There is a free APP called My Data Manager. I downloaded it because the phone does not tell you what the true amount of data is that you use. The APP tells you Mobile , Roaming and Wi-Fi. You set the date your plan starts and it will start over on that date. I wondered what I used and found out that a lot of mine is via free Wi-Fi. It shows as a widget on the top of your phone and you can pull it down to verify usage.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 57 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Save yourself the disappointment.

08/09/2014
By ,
Northwest Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned this phone for a bit over a year now. The $100 price and Samsung name lured me to get it. I personally know 3 people who also owns this phone and they also hate it. Rather than dump all my issues here on this review, I will list the worst ones.
-Phone usually (more than 50% of time) freeze up when trying to connect to WiFi or running most games or apps. This requires removing and reinstalling battery.
-Often when talking to someone on the phone for more than a few minutes, this phone will randomly reset itself during the phone call. Then will take a couple minutes to finish it's reset and I have to call back whoever I was talking to. This only ever happens once per call however. I.E. it might reset after talking for 8 minutes, then will work fine indefinately afterwards.
-Occasionally the clock will revert to a random time when connecting the charger. Very frustrating when using it as an alarm clock. Been late a few times because of it.
-Charger cord will barely stay in it's socket for charging, so if the dog walks by the phone while it's charging and his tail brushes the cord, it will disconnect and not charge.
-Most of the time pictures will not download from text messages. I've tried several suggestions from online forums and nothing improves this.
-Very slow overall. Not suprising from only 800 mhz, but still frustrating.
And finally I need to reset the phone via pulling the battery at least once every-other day.
I am sorry for being so negative, but this is 100% honesty with NO exageration.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Cannot move apps to SD card

07/28/2013
By ,
Pacific Northwest
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm not sure that I would recommend this phone to a friend or not.
1. I am told that my voice sounds muffled and over-deviated. I bought one for my husband at the same time, and I can hardly understand a word he says too. I even tried bluetoothing to my car's device, and he hung up on me because he could not understand what I was saying.
2. The biggest killer for me was finding out that I could not move any apps, not one, to the SD card. We are given only 3 gig memory for apps and other data in this phone, even though a 32 gig card can be inserted.
3. Another turn off for me was not having speed dial. I have to scroll through my list of contacts in order to make a call each and every time. It's no problem if you have 10 or 20 contacts, but once I synced with my google and hotmail accounts, it plugged in all of my email contacts too, so I have over 300 contacts in there now.
4. The screen is so small to try to read my kindle and web (the web works great).
I would really love to just have a simple cdma-v querty phone and a separate 7" tablet. All the other operations of the Android 4.0 works great. As a phone though, I'm disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Don't buy this phone!

01/28/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am currently shopping for a new phone. I have only had this phone for less than a year and it is constantly freezing up on me to the point where I have to take the battery out and reload it!!! This happens to me at least 90% of the time. It is so frustrating. The time changes on it all by itself, I have woken up late because of this because I use my phone as an alarm clock. It "crashes" all the time and I am rarely on the internet with it. There are better phones out there, don't waist your money on this one!!! I am very disappointed it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I'm new to "Smart Phones" so...

08/24/2013
By ,
Princeton, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this Samsung Galaxy Centura for about 4 days now and like it very much. While it may not be the smartest of the smart phones it's a big jump up from my old Motorola V171 flip phone.
My wife Janice passed away on Aug, 5th. Seeing as I no longer need a home phone I sprung for this phone, which will be my primary number due to me cancelling my home phone.
Anyway, so far so good with this phone. My only problem/question would be: How many of the built in apps do I really need and which ones can I get rid of? I know, just like a computer, this OS needs things to be running for it to work but there's got to be some of them that can be eliminated to free up memory. It would also be super if apps could be installed onto the micro SD card. But, such is life. Like I said before, it's one heck of a leap up from my old phone and I'm happy with it. I've had to charge the battery every night so far due to my "playing" with it since I picked it up. I suppose after the "new" wears off a bit and I quit "playing" with it the battery will give a sigh of relief and last longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 572 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next