Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung S738C Prepaid Smartphone runs on the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS. With a talk time up to 7.22 hours, this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Smartphone can keep you connected throughout the day without constantly recharging. Capture pictures and videos with the 3MPl camera and video recorder when you insert your own microSD card, up to 32GB. Prepaid Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phones are WiFi and 3G connected, so you can enjoy your favorite websites, videos, games and music on the go with this 3.5" touchscreen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.092 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(544 Reviews) 521
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
150
4 stars
126
3 stars
46
2 stars
68
1 star
154
Customer Recommendation57%309 out of 544reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
463 Questions | 954 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
150
4 stars
126
3 stars
46
2 stars
68
1 star
154
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Works ok but!

06/08/2013
By ,
Seattle, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Certainly works ok as basic smartphone capabilities. Not high end by any means. The big problem is it is wildly inaccurate on the date/time. Once or twice daily the time will jump from on time to completely off 4-8 hour swings. I thought maybe it was a signal issue with the automatic time and date settings from the network, so I set it manually and turned off the auto feature figuring it would solve the issue. That seemed ok for about 6-7 hours before I looked again and there was an 8 hour swing in the phone saying it was earlier than it was. I set it again with a phone call which corrected the time. I turned the auto time and date feature from the network back on. Less than 24 hours later the time is off by another 8 hours. Signal was always at least 2/4 bars. Makes the phone totally unreliable if you want to schedule something, use alarms to notify you, or even if you want to know the time. I have to give it a thumbs down waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/18/2014
check the phones calendar app and make sure your home setting is in the correct time zone that helped me!
0points
Customer Avatar
Ohio
never
Posted 08/08/2013
I've had this phone since mid May and I've never had any problem with the time on it.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 42 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

poor phone

11/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wish i had saved my money.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone, great price

11/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used verizon and had no problems. My old flip phone finally
Died. I wanted to try a smartphone, but wanted verizon towers.
I got the Samsung galaxy centura. I've had it less than a month.
It's great so far. Easy to learn. I've not learned everything yet. The straight talk works great as does the phone. I was able to keep my old phone number as long as your old phone service is still active. I only paid like $31 for the phone and the 2 year accident
plan. The straight talk monthly comes to $48 with the 911 fee. You have to transfer all your numbers from your old phone manually and lose stuff on your old phone. I do miss my old ringtone, but so far so good. I've given it a 4 since I didnt have it long enough.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great cellphone for the value

11/03/2014
By ,
Kinston, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this as a gift (along with 2 yr. warranty) online ... delivery at local store was as estimated ... employee at Wireless dept. activated phone when we purchased $45 calling card ... employee was very kind and knowledgeable even though she was extremely busy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

DO NOT GET THIS PHONE !

11/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This phone is just good for HELLO and GOODBYE. I bought me and my grandmother this phone for Valentines days last year and she has already been through her 3rd phone. They freeeeeze up so bad and need to be rebooted. Can't hold a lot of apps because it will begin to slow up and freeze up even more than it already does. Very disappointed in this phone. Seeking to find another one, I just can't take it anymore with this phone. You get what you pay for, and I guess this is what happened in my case even though the phones were $100 , Still Not worth that much money.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Not the best phone, i don't recommend it.

11/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had two Galaxy Centura's so far, and they have both had the same problem starting about a month and a half after purchasing it. It freezes up on most apps at the most random times, and the only way to fix that is to take the the battery out and put it back in and turn it on, that takes A LOT of battery. The calls randomly drop, or don't send at all. It randomly shuts off, the charging port is terrible, the charger barely stays in most of the time, meaning I can't use it while it's charging. The battery life is not great. During that first month and a half, it was a great phone, worked wonderfully, but now it is a junk phone. I will be getting a new one within a week. (I've had this phone for over a year and a half how FYI).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for a $100

05/24/2013
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My previous phone was a Motorola DroidX. It was time to get something new and get away from the contractual nightmare of big V.
Overall, this entry level Android is really nice. Light, powerful with 4.0 ICS, good battery life, good functionality. Uses a micro USB for charging and connectivity, bright color display and visibility.
Pros: Good features for $100, light, good signal, good sound, no unwanted proprietary apps,
Cons: Slippery, small screen, no photo flash, no front face cam, no missed call/txt indicator light.
Overall, I'm really impressed with what I got for $100. Getting the number ported and the account set up with ST was really easy.
Buuuut, I might go get the LG Optimus Showtime since it is bigger, a little more power, and still runs 4.0 ICS. The Centura will probably get used as a hot spare.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

cheap trainer for newbies

09/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did my homework on this one and saw all the issues people were having with it. Let me state that I am a complete newbie in the world of smartphones, apps, and the rest. I got it, used it for a week or so, then started fooling around with the settings, etc in order to learn the whole "smartphone" thing. For my purposes it is perfect. Is it a perfect phone? no. I've managed to mess it up a few times..... Some of the things:
"app launcher failed" has happened to me. This is after installing third party apps. I eventually had to do a full reset to fix it.
I set the alarm one night and the next morning the battery was completely dead...needless to say, the alarm didn't go off. Weird.
The time on the phone changed once, no biggie, it fixed itself.
--Pretty minor stuff in my opinion, especially when you factor the $29.88 price. I bought the insurance, and I'm thinking of buying another one of these phones as a spare. It makes wonderful phone calls, email/internet works, the android stuff all works as well as it should (I think). Overall it is a great phone for the smartphone newbie.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Phone won't keep correct time

10/26/2013
By ,
Wi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No matter what I do the phone won't keep the correct time. Sometimes will change 2-3 times a day sometimes will go 2 weeks without changing. Tried everything to fix it. disabling auto time. clearing cache and removing battery. Nothing works. Very annoying when you can't rely on a phone to even keep the correct time.
Can't use the alarm and it makes texting a real pain since if the time is incorrect it will show texts in different spots as if they were received hours before. Also if the time change is great enough it will move the date around also. Once it changed the date back to 2006. Only way I found online to fix this issue was to root the phone and install a new launcher.
Also quite slow on loading even weatherbug. But that was to be expected with the single core 800mhz cpu. I could deal with all of that if it would just keep the correct time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cherryvale, KS
Posted 12/11/2013
Try this ... open the Calendar app ... go to Settings ... set the Time Zone where you live, not Australia. This has corrected the time reset issue for many people.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 50 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I hate this phone.

11/22/2013
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have not had it very long and at this point I want to throw it against a wall. I replaced a Precedent that had the on/off button sticking and wouldn't turn on. Bad phone as well. This phone, the Centura, is the worst phone I have ever had. It at times displays a random time, not the correct time, not a different time zone even...just a random wrong time. The wifi will only stay connected for a short time, when it drops you have to turn wifi off and back on and quickly get into whatever app you are using before it drops again. The most recent annoyance is not ringing or just going directly to voicemail. Seriously...I totally wasted $100, a lot of time and a great deal of nerves dealing with this phone. Straight talk service has been fine...it's the phone that is a piece of you know what.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Much Better Than Expected

05/31/2013
By ,
Chelsea, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this phone for 7 days now. It was easy to learn how to use and has all the popular features. The voice to text was hard to figure out but works great...! The battery life is the best I could find from any of the other phones offered in the Straight Talk program. I'm getting a solid two days of heavy usage. One of the concerns in a review posted above was the software didn't display photos properly in some phone positions. All you need to do is expand the picture in the screen with your finger and thumb like in the iPhone commercials. It works great...! The download speeds are a little slow but seems better with WiFi connection. I think its a great value...! I'd recommend this phone and plan to most everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone IF ONLY IT COULD KEEP TIME

07/18/2013
By ,
Jefferson City, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I first saw this phone I thought it was a great value at $99.99 with a newer version of android and a nice size touch screen. Also Samsung usually makes good phones. I checked the reviews and did notice a few that mentioned the time resetting on them, well I thought that was just a bad batch, was I wrong. It seems like many people when you search on the internet have this same problem and it did it to me. After about a day the time would reset 6 hours back, I tried resetting it, turning off the sync with network, removing the battery, but nothing fixed this issue. If you plan on using this phone as an ALARM or as a WATCH to know what the current TIME is, I would not suggest it. A feature this simple should work problem-free. There are several other nice choices such as the LG L40G phone which has been problem-free for me!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
IL
Posted 11/06/2013
My clock never stays set either.. I have to make sure I have a back up alarm set..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 53 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Good Basic Android

10/27/2014
By ,
Evans, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Basic Android for the price. Does just about everything for the price of 30.00. Problems with my bluetooth staying connected with my car. Other than that it's a decent phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Bad phone.

11/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Both me and my sons father had the same problem the phone would time travel, 6 hours ahead or behind... Lets just say I've never been so angry at anything but that. Just recently my battery had started swelling, the screen would start flickering and the battery would die it didn't matter if it was on a charger or not. I had no water damage to it at all not the battery nor the phone its self.. Bad bad phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Good but I'm not sure it's worth the price

06/19/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I don't know I just think if this had been a GSM or contracted phone it would have been way cheaper. This phone is good don't get me wrong but if I'm paying $100 bucks for a phone I'd expect a bigger screen with better resolution. I know it's affiliated with Verizon so the price is going to be a bit on the high side from at least one aspect so it's either; have more expensive phones to make up for the cheaper monthly rate or less expensive phones with a higher monthly rate. I hate to say it but if I had a choice, in the long run, this will be the cheaper way to go especially if you get the insurance. As for battery life I can't judge yet because I just purchased the phone. My last smartphone battery ran two hours asleep or active. So far it's lasted me quite a while but we'll see as time goes along, like I said though, get the insurance, it's worth it if the phone breaks or gliches just once. It's like car insurance without the monthly fee, you pay for the possibility of needing it when something goes wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great for a beginner

11/23/2014
By ,
Clinton, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good phone for the price. I would recommend this for a beginner or teen also. The only minus is the screen is not big just average size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

It's a good phone for the money

10/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this phone because I wanted something better than a flip phone and it certainly filled that role. I understand that it's not one of the S1-5 line of Galaxy phones and don't expect it to perform like one. The other reviewers that are giving this phone 1 star reviews are expecting this phone to act like a $600.00 S line or iPhone. None of these phones are put together 1 at a time with perfect parts to exacting standards. They're ALL mass produced by the 1000's daily with the cheapest parts. My phone works well but there will be phones in the batch that will perform very poorly due to mass production. Get over it, take it back, and get a replacement. The bulk of the reviews on these phones are generally good, obviously the bulk of the phones are good too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

great phone for a great price

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
$30 for this phone. It does everything you need it to and minutes are only $45 for unlimited domestic monthly.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I'm liking it so far

06/25/2013
By ,
Salt Lake City UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for about 2 weeks and so far, it's meeting and exceeding my expectations. I had a bad phone before, HTC My Slide 3G, a touch screen mess that I wanted to smash on a daily basis. So far, I haven't had the urge to destroy this phone at all. Yes, it is taking a while to get used to a touch screen keyboard. I only wish I could have it go landscape everytime I wanted to type. No luck in finding that setting so far.
It runs off of the Verizon towers which is good for my edge-of-civilization location outside of Salt Lake City. Other phones did not workout here. Verizon and my straight talk do.
My only pet peeve so far is that when I type into a webpage, it sets it's own zoom setting and won't let me zoom out so I can see what I have written so far. That was a pain with my HTC as well.
The pictures have been okay for a smaller megapixel camera that this one has. The apps have been fun and I'm glad I can finally listen to podcasts again. My kids are happy to have the drag toilet paper race app again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

nice beginner phone

11/19/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This phone is great for begginers that want to learn how to operate a touch screen phone. However, this phone is not for an avid user that likes to download music or use high tech feature. Its not up to date with the latest features or software. Its still a great phone for the price .
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 522 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next