Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung S738C Prepaid Smartphone runs on the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS. With a talk time up to 7.22 hours, this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Smartphone can keep you connected throughout the day without constantly recharging. Capture pictures and videos with the 3MPl camera and video recorder when you insert your own microSD card, up to 32GB. Prepaid Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phones are WiFi and 3G connected, so you can enjoy your favorite websites, videos, games and music on the go with this 3.5" touchscreen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.095 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(503 Reviews) 480
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
138
4 stars
117
3 stars
42
2 stars
67
1 star
139
Customer Recommendation57%285 out of 503reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
454 Questions | 904 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
138
4 stars
117
3 stars
42
2 stars
67
1 star
139
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Poor quality

10/12/2014
By ,
lindstrom
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The other reviews are right on, very slow and not responsive at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Works ok but!

06/08/2013
By ,
Seattle, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Certainly works ok as basic smartphone capabilities. Not high end by any means. The big problem is it is wildly inaccurate on the date/time. Once or twice daily the time will jump from on time to completely off 4-8 hour swings. I thought maybe it was a signal issue with the automatic time and date settings from the network, so I set it manually and turned off the auto feature figuring it would solve the issue. That seemed ok for about 6-7 hours before I looked again and there was an 8 hour swing in the phone saying it was earlier than it was. I set it again with a phone call which corrected the time. I turned the auto time and date feature from the network back on. Less than 24 hours later the time is off by another 8 hours. Signal was always at least 2/4 bars. Makes the phone totally unreliable if you want to schedule something, use alarms to notify you, or even if you want to know the time. I have to give it a thumbs down waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/18/2014
check the phones calendar app and make sure your home setting is in the correct time zone that helped me!
0points
Customer Avatar
Ohio
never
Posted 08/08/2013
I've had this phone since mid May and I've never had any problem with the time on it.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 43 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Good but I'm not sure it's worth the price

06/19/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I don't know I just think if this had been a GSM or contracted phone it would have been way cheaper. This phone is good don't get me wrong but if I'm paying $100 bucks for a phone I'd expect a bigger screen with better resolution. I know it's affiliated with Verizon so the price is going to be a bit on the high side from at least one aspect so it's either; have more expensive phones to make up for the cheaper monthly rate or less expensive phones with a higher monthly rate. I hate to say it but if I had a choice, in the long run, this will be the cheaper way to go especially if you get the insurance. As for battery life I can't judge yet because I just purchased the phone. My last smartphone battery ran two hours asleep or active. So far it's lasted me quite a while but we'll see as time goes along, like I said though, get the insurance, it's worth it if the phone breaks or gliches just once. It's like car insurance without the monthly fee, you pay for the possibility of needing it when something goes wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

no good phone

10/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst phone I have ever bought, it freezes up all the time, restarts by its self then sometimes don't come back on , I have to take the battery out and restart it , im sending it back, you get what u pay for
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Not too great of phone staright talk nightmare

10/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
People on other end can not hear me very well. It won't let you play games, it freezes up and has to have battery removed to restart. Restarts itself on its own. Worst service ever!!!! The coverage map showed great service where I was moving to. There is NO service for around 15-20 mile radius in my area. Data is even a greater distance. I went to get a contract at us cellular since most in my area have great service in my area with us cellular, not us cellular/straight talk. But apparently walmart has a special contract with us cellular and they won't release my phone number to a post paid plan. Ridiculous, I have had my number for 10years, and straight talk for three weeks with minimal service.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I wouldn't tell anyone to buy this phone

09/29/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this phone at a good price so I was very happy. Everything came to the house good in no time. But the phone doesn't hold a charge. I would have to charge it 3 times a day or more to use it. Then the phone would shut off by it's self for no reason. I took it to the store and they said I'd have to send it out to see whats wrong. No phone to use in the mean time. Not worth the trouble.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for a $100

05/24/2013
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My previous phone was a Motorola DroidX. It was time to get something new and get away from the contractual nightmare of big V.
Overall, this entry level Android is really nice. Light, powerful with 4.0 ICS, good battery life, good functionality. Uses a micro USB for charging and connectivity, bright color display and visibility.
Pros: Good features for $100, light, good signal, good sound, no unwanted proprietary apps,
Cons: Slippery, small screen, no photo flash, no front face cam, no missed call/txt indicator light.
Overall, I'm really impressed with what I got for $100. Getting the number ported and the account set up with ST was really easy.
Buuuut, I might go get the LG Optimus Showtime since it is bigger, a little more power, and still runs 4.0 ICS. The Centura will probably get used as a hot spare.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

terrible phone

10/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i dont not suggest getting this phone for one it does not keep time it always changes even after doing the the proper troubleshooting.... it drops calls, and hangs up by itself im very irritated with this phone and the company they said that they will send a replacement phone for free of charge but i have to send my phone in and i would be without a phone for 8- 12 weeks they do not send a loaner phone till you get your new phone.... lol thats impossible being i have a family and currently expecting. so now i have to get a new phone and i will not be going thru this company ever again!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for price

09/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
keep one thing in mind , you get what you paid for,
-fast processor compare to my samsung exhibit.
-good touch response, gps.
-make sure you download file explorer (file manager ) if you want to get full benifit !
-I am using this from more than six months No problems, get 16 or 32 gb sd card and
you are good to go..
If you need to run or have lot applications, games you need to go expensive one.
Good basic phone
--CONS --
--lower quality camara without flash.
-lower battery life.
-poor speaker quality.
still it's good buy for price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

nice phone

10/01/2014
By ,
Deland, Fla
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this cell has the new operating system, its small, light and works well. Bought it for 29.oo bucks so its a good buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I hate this phone.

11/22/2013
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have not had it very long and at this point I want to throw it against a wall. I replaced a Precedent that had the on/off button sticking and wouldn't turn on. Bad phone as well. This phone, the Centura, is the worst phone I have ever had. It at times displays a random time, not the correct time, not a different time zone even...just a random wrong time. The wifi will only stay connected for a short time, when it drops you have to turn wifi off and back on and quickly get into whatever app you are using before it drops again. The most recent annoyance is not ringing or just going directly to voicemail. Seriously...I totally wasted $100, a lot of time and a great deal of nerves dealing with this phone. Straight talk service has been fine...it's the phone that is a piece of you know what.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great price, nice device

10/11/2014
By ,
orlando, fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this not to use as a phone, but a great alternative to an ipod touch for a fraction of the price and not having to be strangled into using itunes. This little device let's me access all my 3000 google play music songs as well as pandora, songza, and amazon prime music. Full access to google play store and the wifi is decent and with even a cheap pair of radio shack headphones the sound is fine. If I need to make a quick call or text, my free text+ app serves the purpose. Web browsing, email, and videos work well too. Having a 32gig microSD card is handy to keep local music on it for when I'm not in a WiFi area. Great device, great price for my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Poor phone!!!

10/13/2014
By ,
Allegany, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone was great the first couple months. But then all its flaws started revealing themselves. This phone loses five hours at least three times a day. I'm constantly resetting the time. That's quite relevant, since texts are displayed according to the time received. I've come across text messages I've never seen because of the problem with the loss of time on the phone! It also freezes up constantly! I am rebooting at least 3 - 4 times a day. I just had to turn it back on prior to writing this because it had shut itself off (and not because the battery was low). I certainly would never buy another Samsung again -- too leery!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

WORST S.T Phone EVER.

07/15/2014
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ruined my last android phone with Straight Talk by accidentally leaving it where my dog could find it and this is the phone I chose as a replacement. Worst idea ever. Had I had time, I should have come on here to check reviews but I was without, and bought it because I figured it had to be an upgrade since it was almost $100. Nope. I do not have a vast amount of apps, just the typical ones like Pintrest, Facebook and ONE game. It is super slow, and lags during games. Takes FOREVER for anything to load and crashes AT LEAST twice a day..and don't get me started on it freezing. I have to take it apart and pull the battery daily. It also changes time zones without any reason in the middle of the night, so good luck using the alarm feature. I have been late to work 4 times before I learned my lesson and bought a clock radio.
Needless to say, this thing is now sitting in my night stand drawer and I have resulted back to my pre-smartphone cell until I find a new one. If I hadn't just given up until the next couple of days when I can go pick out a better one...it would be in pieces under my car tire..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone for the price!!!

10/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone as a temporary replacement until I get a Galaxy S5 and it has exceeded my expectations. The only real issue I'm having with it is that google calendar won't sync with the phone so I have to use a different app for my calendar. Otherwise its great. It's obviously not as fast as the galaxy S models but it more than gets the job done. I'm really happy with this purchase and would most definitely recommend it if you are looking for a good android phone at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I love straightralk BUT not this phone!

08/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the galaxy proclaim (with straight talk) and was very happy, but decided I wanted to upgrade. BIG MISTAKE! I have had this phone about a year and it locks up constantly. Plus I had to get the first one replaced because the "programing" messed up and it changed time zones every time I charged it. Cannot wait to get a new phone with straight talk, but I am waiting for them to get a BETTER phone that is NOT $400!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Much Better Than Expected

05/31/2013
By ,
Chelsea, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this phone for 7 days now. It was easy to learn how to use and has all the popular features. The voice to text was hard to figure out but works great...! The battery life is the best I could find from any of the other phones offered in the Straight Talk program. I'm getting a solid two days of heavy usage. One of the concerns in a review posted above was the software didn't display photos properly in some phone positions. All you need to do is expand the picture in the screen with your finger and thumb like in the iPhone commercials. It works great...! The download speeds are a little slow but seems better with WiFi connection. I think its a great value...! I'd recommend this phone and plan to most everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Phone won't keep correct time

10/26/2013
By ,
Wi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No matter what I do the phone won't keep the correct time. Sometimes will change 2-3 times a day sometimes will go 2 weeks without changing. Tried everything to fix it. disabling auto time. clearing cache and removing battery. Nothing works. Very annoying when you can't rely on a phone to even keep the correct time.
Can't use the alarm and it makes texting a real pain since if the time is incorrect it will show texts in different spots as if they were received hours before. Also if the time change is great enough it will move the date around also. Once it changed the date back to 2006. Only way I found online to fix this issue was to root the phone and install a new launcher.
Also quite slow on loading even weatherbug. But that was to be expected with the single core 800mhz cpu. I could deal with all of that if it would just keep the correct time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cherryvale, KS
Posted 12/11/2013
Try this ... open the Calendar app ... go to Settings ... set the Time Zone where you live, not Australia. This has corrected the time reset issue for many people.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 59 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone IF ONLY IT COULD KEEP TIME

07/18/2013
By ,
Jefferson City, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I first saw this phone I thought it was a great value at $99.99 with a newer version of android and a nice size touch screen. Also Samsung usually makes good phones. I checked the reviews and did notice a few that mentioned the time resetting on them, well I thought that was just a bad batch, was I wrong. It seems like many people when you search on the internet have this same problem and it did it to me. After about a day the time would reset 6 hours back, I tried resetting it, turning off the sync with network, removing the battery, but nothing fixed this issue. If you plan on using this phone as an ALARM or as a WATCH to know what the current TIME is, I would not suggest it. A feature this simple should work problem-free. There are several other nice choices such as the LG L40G phone which has been problem-free for me!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
IL
Posted 11/06/2013
My clock never stays set either.. I have to make sure I have a back up alarm set..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 60 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

This phone is not worth the money!

08/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Before we bought this phone we had been researching several & this one was given high reviews, so we took a chance. I haven't had this phone a year yet & it constantly shuts off, locks up, won't download random pictures but hours later they come through. Now when I read reviews on other phones I have read several about people having the same experience with this one hence why they were looking to replace too. Not worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 481 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  25 Next