Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung S738C Prepaid Smartphone runs on the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS. With a talk time up to 7.22 hours, this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Smartphone can keep you connected throughout the day without constantly recharging. Capture pictures and videos with the 3MPl camera and video recorder when you insert your own microSD card, up to 32GB. Prepaid Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phones are WiFi and 3G connected, so you can enjoy your favorite websites, videos, games and music on the go with this 3.5" touchscreen.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(598 Reviews) 575
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
133
3 stars
48
2 stars
77
1 star
184
Customer Recommendation54%324 out of 598reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
503 Questions | 996 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
133
3 stars
48
2 stars
77
1 star
184
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Has it's flaws

04/22/2014
By ,
Staten Island NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first android phone and being a bit older I find it a bit confusing but with the help of my grandchildren I am getting there. The 3G is fine for me. The phone could be a bit louder but that could be do to age (mine). I am having fun with apps and enjoy the phone and all in all I am happy with the purchase BUT. There are a few things that kind of bug me and I or anyone else cannot figure out a solution. First you can not delete the frequently called#s at the front of the contact list. When the phone rings and I take it out of my pouch if I touch the screen I lose the call and when I get a text message In order to read it I have to enter my lock code which I do not have to do when I get a call. I do really like the phone but I am being a little stingy about expectations as the frequently called list really bothers me and I have tried many apps that supposedly can do it and none work
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SE, United States
Contact List
Posted 05/24/2014
When you open your contact list, by clicking on the "People" icon, there are 3 icons at the top of the page. Tap the one in the center with the smiley person on it. After that when you open your contacts it will show your list of contacts. You can unlock your screen by going into System settings. Open this by tapping the icon on the bottom left, right below phone icon. Click on "System settings" then scroll down and click on "Security." Click on "Power button instantly locks" to uncheck this setting and unlock your phone.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 42 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I'm liking it so far

06/25/2013
By ,
Salt Lake City UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for about 2 weeks and so far, it's meeting and exceeding my expectations. I had a bad phone before, HTC My Slide 3G, a touch screen mess that I wanted to smash on a daily basis. So far, I haven't had the urge to destroy this phone at all. Yes, it is taking a while to get used to a touch screen keyboard. I only wish I could have it go landscape everytime I wanted to type. No luck in finding that setting so far.
It runs off of the Verizon towers which is good for my edge-of-civilization location outside of Salt Lake City. Other phones did not workout here. Verizon and my straight talk do.
My only pet peeve so far is that when I type into a webpage, it sets it's own zoom setting and won't let me zoom out so I can see what I have written so far. That was a pain with my HTC as well.
The pictures have been okay for a smaller megapixel camera that this one has. The apps have been fun and I'm glad I can finally listen to podcasts again. My kids are happy to have the drag toilet paper race app again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Shows promise but 2 out of 3 purchased have failed

07/29/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This phone comes on as one of the best bets at the entry level of Android smartphones. Decent processing power, Android 4.xx OS, Verizon Wireless coverage and unusually good battery life as a bonus. Even the camera works well. I've always had high-end Android phones, but when I switched to Straight Talk I could not afford a high-end phone. It does the job well... except for a couple of issues.
First up, there is no LED to indicate a missed call. Oh, they appear to be there - but they are not functional on this model. The music player has unusually poor audio quality when used with decent headphones, which may be a minor issue to many, a major issue to others. But what kills this phone is reliability. Between myself and family, we have purchased 3 of these phones. 2 of them failed. One within 2 days, the other started to go at the 3 week point. These are all phones used by adults who take care of items. Not a good track record.
At this point, while I recommended 2 of the 3 phones purchased (mine is one that is failing now), I would not recommend this to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fort Wayne, IN
Update...
Posted 08/20/2013
Now let's make that 3 out of 4 have failed. Just avoid this phone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 44 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

more 1 star than 5 star reviews

05/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I sure wish there had been more feedback before I purchased this item. I bought it so I am using it ...but everything about it freezing up, being slow, etc. that you read about this phone has happened to me.
Maybe I'll have to get an I-phone as my sisters told me to get in the first place. I guess you get what you pay for..!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Exceeded expectations!

05/21/2013
By ,
St. Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this cell phone yesterday. Love the big numbers for dialing as my eyesight isn't as good as it used to be. Super easy to use for the cell phone challenged like me. WiFi worked right away. I can easily text with my big finger tips. I cannot be more happy with my purchase. Good sound, easy to download & use all the features on this phone. I love it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+327points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KY
HELP!
Posted 10/06/2013
My husband and I just bought this phone 2 days ago. We are both having so much trouble using the keyboard. We have tried barely touching it, touching it hard, tapping, etc. and it still doesn't type the letters we touch.. I'd say 8 out of 10 times. If we turn the phone sideways, it's better. Is this normal. Is there some way to do this differently?
I sure hope we can get used to the sensitivity of this particular phone.
Thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 46 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

8 mos. Freezes up, Locks up, Drops Calls!

05/15/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this phone for eight months. It freezes up, locks up throughout the day. And it drops calls way too often.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Excellent so far

05/23/2013
By ,
Charlotte MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently bought a LG Dynamic, was the cheaps phone they and and that is what it is. The was no internal space on the phone at all. It was also hard to use because the lay out of it was so small, I went back and bought the Samsung Centrura I can not be more happy with the phone. So far there is a lot os space on the phone and it's service is great. I got out of the contracts with the big carriers because of the cost this is about half with the same service. I would beware of the data usage though. From what I have read they will shut your phone off if you use to much. So unlimted is not unlimited.... As for the phone for the price it ROCKS!!!!!! Wish it had a front camera though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NH
Data tracker
Posted 06/26/2013
I use a Galaxy Proclaim and I used to worry about my data useage but had no way of tracking it. I downloaded a free APP called MY Data Manager and it shows total Roaming , Mobile and Wi-Fi data useage. I found much of my useage is via Wi-fi as I log onto more free Wi-Fi networks. It sits at the top of your phone as a drop down menu and you can set it to the start date of your monthly bills.
0points
Customer Avatar
NH
Tracking your data usage
Posted 06/21/2013
There is a free APP called My Data Manager. I downloaded it because the phone does not tell you what the true amount of data is that you use. The APP tells you Mobile , Roaming and Wi-Fi. You set the date your plan starts and it will start over on that date. I wondered what I used and found out that a lot of mine is via free Wi-Fi. It shows as a widget on the top of your phone and you can pull it down to verify usage.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 48 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

awful.

03/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
had this phone for a year now. finally going to buy a new phone today to replace it. Had trouble on day 1 (it wouldn't send text messages at first, after 1 hour on the phone with customer service with them resetting the phone etc...it finally worked) then the very next day it wouldn't send pictures (another long phone call to tech support) it tends to shut down whenever it feels like it, and then will not turn back on unless I take it apart & remove the battery. It does this at least once a week on average. It also likes to freeze up, and I need to restart it. I only have about 5 apps on this phone, because almost every one I download doesn't work on this phone. Including my bank's check deposit feature (where you take a picture of the check) any app I need, I have downloaded on my husband's iphone. finally has enough of this piece of junk.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Very Bad Phone

04/01/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It freezes up all of the time and the clock will be several hours off at random times. The camera does not take very good pictures and the battery does not last that long. You have to restart the phone all of the time. I have a notice once a week for a system update which never gets installed. It starts to and then gives you an error with a big X and continues to shut down and restart. I hate this phone and am going to replace it as soon as possible.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!!!!

06/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The is my second straight talk samsung phone. The first one I had was pretty much just the earlier version of this one and it worked just as it should for a year and a half but I had to get a new one because the battery would not stay charged even after it was replaced. So, I was not concerned about this phone when I purchased it but it STINKS. Photos sent via text will not downloan, the clock will freeze and then be hours behind. It freezes when I am using different apps and it is INCREDIBLY slow in general....I can wait for 10 second for a screen to slide. It is not worth even a fraction of the price and instead of saving me money, it will end up costing me more because there is no way I'm going to try and exchange this for the same thing as most of the other reviews indicate that this isn't a fluke but just a bad product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Slooooooooooooooowww!

03/18/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought 3 of these at a Black Friday sale. My son gave up on his after a month or 2. The battery wouldn't hold a charge. Takes forever to open an app, just to make a phone call takes at least 30 seconds just to dial. Sometimes over a minute, just for the dialer to launch and start dialing. My fiance has this same phone. Hers locks up several times a day. Mine wants to update the OS at least once a week, hers never does. I never see any difference after it updates. If you use the wifi at home when you leave the house the mobile data won't work until you shut wifi off and toggle mobile data off then back on or reboot the phone.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Cannot move apps to SD card

07/28/2013
By ,
Pacific Northwest
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm not sure that I would recommend this phone to a friend or not.
1. I am told that my voice sounds muffled and over-deviated. I bought one for my husband at the same time, and I can hardly understand a word he says too. I even tried bluetoothing to my car's device, and he hung up on me because he could not understand what I was saying.
2. The biggest killer for me was finding out that I could not move any apps, not one, to the SD card. We are given only 3 gig memory for apps and other data in this phone, even though a 32 gig card can be inserted.
3. Another turn off for me was not having speed dial. I have to scroll through my list of contacts in order to make a call each and every time. It's no problem if you have 10 or 20 contacts, but once I synced with my google and hotmail accounts, it plugged in all of my email contacts too, so I have over 300 contacts in there now.
4. The screen is so small to try to read my kindle and web (the web works great).
I would really love to just have a simple cdma-v querty phone and a separate 7" tablet. All the other operations of the Android 4.0 works great. As a phone though, I'm disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Save yourself the disappointment.

08/09/2014
By ,
Northwest Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned this phone for a bit over a year now. The $100 price and Samsung name lured me to get it. I personally know 3 people who also owns this phone and they also hate it. Rather than dump all my issues here on this review, I will list the worst ones.
-Phone usually (more than 50% of time) freeze up when trying to connect to WiFi or running most games or apps. This requires removing and reinstalling battery.
-Often when talking to someone on the phone for more than a few minutes, this phone will randomly reset itself during the phone call. Then will take a couple minutes to finish it's reset and I have to call back whoever I was talking to. This only ever happens once per call however. I.E. it might reset after talking for 8 minutes, then will work fine indefinately afterwards.
-Occasionally the clock will revert to a random time when connecting the charger. Very frustrating when using it as an alarm clock. Been late a few times because of it.
-Charger cord will barely stay in it's socket for charging, so if the dog walks by the phone while it's charging and his tail brushes the cord, it will disconnect and not charge.
-Most of the time pictures will not download from text messages. I've tried several suggestions from online forums and nothing improves this.
-Very slow overall. Not suprising from only 800 mhz, but still frustrating.
And finally I need to reset the phone via pulling the battery at least once every-other day.
I am sorry for being so negative, but this is 100% honesty with NO exageration.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I'm new to "Smart Phones" so...

08/24/2013
By ,
Princeton, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this Samsung Galaxy Centura for about 4 days now and like it very much. While it may not be the smartest of the smart phones it's a big jump up from my old Motorola V171 flip phone.
My wife Janice passed away on Aug, 5th. Seeing as I no longer need a home phone I sprung for this phone, which will be my primary number due to me cancelling my home phone.
Anyway, so far so good with this phone. My only problem/question would be: How many of the built in apps do I really need and which ones can I get rid of? I know, just like a computer, this OS needs things to be running for it to work but there's got to be some of them that can be eliminated to free up memory. It would also be super if apps could be installed onto the micro SD card. But, such is life. Like I said before, it's one heck of a leap up from my old phone and I'm happy with it. I've had to charge the battery every night so far due to my "playing" with it since I picked it up. I suppose after the "new" wears off a bit and I quit "playing" with it the battery will give a sigh of relief and last longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Excellent beginning smartphone

06/15/2013
By ,
Norfolk
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've never used a smartphone before and this is an excellent beginning smartphone. It is a nuisance in some respects, I had difficulty even answering a call...I didn't realize that to answer a call, you have to not only push the green phone signal, you have to swipe it to the left. I would advise you to read the book before beginning to use it. It also "flubs" sometimes, it doesn't always do what you want it to do and sometimes it just goes off to some other app you didn't select or changes screens that you didn't want. It has little "quirks" you have to get used to, but are no big deal. I am deaf with cochlear implants and I can hear excellent on this phone! Texting is okay, you have to get used to this keyboard and you will start off making a lot of mistakes. Overall, this is an excellent beginning smartphone that you can use only with straight talk which is excellent, unlimited minutes, data, and texting nationwide for 45 per month and it beats what I've been paying for a nonsmartphone cell under contract. I enjoy the ease of taking pictures, I enjoy all the apps I've got, I enjoy the clarity of the call, I enjoy how lightweight the phone is, I even enjoy how cute the phone is. I've only had it a couple of days, so i still have some exploring to do with it and I've already recommended it to some of my friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Good phone for the price

06/01/2013
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had a lot of the Straight Talk phones and this one seems to be close to the top. Everything works and it has good battery life. Although it did freeze on me when I turned on the WiFi and I had to take the battery out but thats the only thing that I've seen so far. I hope it continues to work good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

For those with battery life issues, please read

12/17/2013
By ,
Tucson, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading almost all the negative reviews, the majority of them seem to center on poor battery life. Unfortunately, most, if not all, of this is due to user error (please don't take that personally). I've had my phone five days, have made almost three hours of calls, downloaded a number of apps and played with any number of functions and still have 34% battery life without a recharge in that five days.
To preserve battery life, you absolutely must turn off the location/GPS services, Wi-Fi (unless you're using it), set sleep time to one minute but screen lock to thirty minutes, make sure your screen brightness is no greater than 50% and less if it will work for you. Don't leave things like talk to text on in the background and check, using the apps tool, for anything running in the background and turn it off if it is (except for the browser function, obviously).
Google loves for you to have the location services turned on and will try to turn them on with a variety of their apps so read what a new app is going to do before loading it. Either turn them back off after loading the app or find another app that doesn't try and turn them on.
With all that out of the way, I have to praise the straight talk service on this phone. The store employee had it registered and my contacts transferred from my burner phone in minutes (both on the Verizon network if that makes a difference). While it's a somewhat basic smartphone, it has every feature and app that us "older" folks would likely use.
Oddly enough, my wife just got an iPhone 5C which she put onto her existing Verizon account. She's been working a full day to get everything transferred over and the service/phone working properly while I've been enjoying my Android phone for most of that time. In the long run, the Apple will be a much more capable phone but it isn't quite as easy to setup as Apple and Verizon would like you to believe.
We're going to compare ST versus Verizon after about six months and see if I should join her Verizon plan for $40 and have limited data or she should quit Verizon and go ST with unlimited. I'll post an update on these competing phones and planes after that six months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Do not buy this product

11/29/2013
By ,
ND
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought this phone would be a great new addition, but I was sadly mistaken. Though this is a very nice looking phone and has wonderful features, along with a nice big screen and voice to text, the functioning of this phone is not rateable. First and foremost this phone cannot keep time. After using this phone for a week, I had to reset the time over 3 times. It also disconnects itself from the Straight Talk service and declares itself disconnected. This happened at least once a day so it is not dependable for use. I thought it was simply a malfunction in one particular phone, but after reading the reviews it is apparent this phone has had several others with the same complaints. The other issue is it does not work well in cold climates. If it is used outdoors below 40 degrees the numbers and other screen functions do not react to touch. I will be purchasing a phone with an alternative keyboard to avoid this issue as I live in a cold climate. The other issue I have with this phone is the fact that I had to go online for over 20 minutes to find a source that knew the trick to finding the icon for the talk to text feature. It is located on the gear sprocket on the keypad after it is held down and touched twice to reveal the microphone just in case you need to know this. I will not recommend this phone and it is going back to the store tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Good smart phone for Straight Talk!

07/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the Samsung Proclaim before this phone, and I liked it, but for some reason it didn't want to charge anymore. So, I got this phone. And seeing that it was Android 4.0 (better than the Proclaim), I figured it would be much better, and it is! I love using apps, taking pictures (that come out decent. The camera is only 3.0 megapixel. Not 5 megapixel or higher, like other phones, but I still like it!), and using the web/Facebook. I don't like that you can't customize a ringtone for each person in your phonebook, through the tones/music you already have. But, I found some ringtone apps that allow me to customize a ringtone for each contact, and it works beautifully! I do find that the battery life goes fast, but I really do like this phone! It isn't THE best smartphone out there, but it is a great one through Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great Smartphone for an upgrade or a first timer

05/24/2013
By ,
Hampden MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although this is my first smart phone, I do have a Nexus 7 tablet and I have to say, this phone is Almost just like my tablet. My friends and family had older Straight Talk smartphones and this phone is a great improvement to their phones. I thought this was a great price for the phone. Volume and picture quality are very good. Android 4.0 works great and processes very good.
I used to have a Verizon contract so I wanted to stay with Verizon towers for my area, so I went with this phone. Everything has been Great so far.... and I was skeptical about going to Straight Talk, mostly after seeing bad comments on their Facebook page. Do your homework though if you have friends or family in your area that have no issues then give them a try.
The phone comes with ABOUT 3 GB of storage, that is not mentioned in the description, and you can add up to a 32GB micro SD card.
The phone also has the following that is not listed in the description
•Bluetooth wireless technology
•Instant messaging
•Advanced GPS capabilities (GPS has been used in the car already and seems to work very well)
•800 MHz processor
•Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy features five home screens( and they are customizable!)
•Access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play
•Multi-tasking
•MP3 player
•3.5mm headset jack
•Speech to text
•Battery: Li-ion 1500mAh
Extra Notes:
1) If you are looking for the microphone key on your keyboard, you just need to "press and hold" the key to the left of the space bar that looks like a flower until the flower and microphone symbol appears then select the microphone symbol.
2) if you like having special ringtones from songs like me you can download the app Ringtone Maker and create ringtones from songs you have in load on your phone or SD card. and to think every time I got a new phone with Verizon I bought all my ringtones each time. what a waste of money!
I did have to call Straight Talk for setup assistance only because when I activated my phone on line, to transfer my number, my number didn't get transferred and another number came up instead, so I called to get my number transferred and aside from the first person that didn't have a clue on helping me; when I asked Nicely to speak to someone else the 2nd person was very helpful and got my phone up and running quickly. and they even followed up with me.
Over all if you are already paying $80 a month already for phone service, I'd say give this a try. do your homework to select the right phone that uses the towers for the carrier that works best in your area, and in 3 months that $30 you saved on your bill just paid off this phone which will equal what you are already paying now except your phone is paid off now you have a mini tablet to keep!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+218points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mississippi
Great Helpful Answer
Posted 06/27/2013
Thank you for giving such a helpful answer , it has really helped me in my choices
Thanks again
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
41-60 of 576 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next