Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung S738C Prepaid Smartphone runs on the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS. With a talk time up to 7.22 hours, this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Smartphone can keep you connected throughout the day without constantly recharging. Capture pictures and videos with the 3MPl camera and video recorder when you insert your own microSD card, up to 32GB. Prepaid Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phones are WiFi and 3G connected, so you can enjoy your favorite websites, videos, games and music on the go with this 3.5" touchscreen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.074 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(435 Reviews) 412
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
117
4 stars
100
3 stars
38
2 stars
58
1 star
122
Customer Recommendation56%242 out of 435reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
434 Questions | 871 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
117
4 stars
100
3 stars
38
2 stars
58
1 star
122
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great Smartphone for an upgrade or a first timer

05/24/2013
By ,
Hampden MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although this is my first smart phone, I do have a Nexus 7 tablet and I have to say, this phone is Almost just like my tablet. My friends and family had older Straight Talk smartphones and this phone is a great improvement to their phones. I thought this was a great price for the phone. Volume and picture quality are very good. Android 4.0 works great and processes very good.
I used to have a Verizon contract so I wanted to stay with Verizon towers for my area, so I went with this phone. Everything has been Great so far.... and I was skeptical about going to Straight Talk, mostly after seeing bad comments on their Facebook page. Do your homework though if you have friends or family in your area that have no issues then give them a try.
The phone comes with ABOUT 3 GB of storage, that is not mentioned in the description, and you can add up to a 32GB micro SD card.
The phone also has the following that is not listed in the description
•Bluetooth wireless technology
•Instant messaging
•Advanced GPS capabilities (GPS has been used in the car already and seems to work very well)
•800 MHz processor
•Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy features five home screens( and they are customizable!)
•Access to over 450,000 apps on Google Play
•Multi-tasking
•MP3 player
•3.5mm headset jack
•Speech to text
•Battery: Li-ion 1500mAh
Extra Notes:
1) If you are looking for the microphone key on your keyboard, you just need to "press and hold" the key to the left of the space bar that looks like a flower until the flower and microphone symbol appears then select the microphone symbol.
2) if you like having special ringtones from songs like me you can download the app Ringtone Maker and create ringtones from songs you have in load on your phone or SD card. and to think every time I got a new phone with Verizon I bought all my ringtones each time. what a waste of money!
I did have to call Straight Talk for setup assistance only because when I activated my phone on line, to transfer my number, my number didn't get transferred and another number came up instead, so I called to get my number transferred and aside from the first person that didn't have a clue on helping me; when I asked Nicely to speak to someone else the 2nd person was very helpful and got my phone up and running quickly. and they even followed up with me.
Over all if you are already paying $80 a month already for phone service, I'd say give this a try. do your homework to select the right phone that uses the towers for the carrier that works best in your area, and in 3 months that $30 you saved on your bill just paid off this phone which will equal what you are already paying now except your phone is paid off now you have a mini tablet to keep!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+214points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mississippi
Great Helpful Answer
Posted 06/27/2013
Thank you for giving such a helpful answer , it has really helped me in my choices
Thanks again
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 22 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Outstanding value

11/29/2013
By ,
Wilmington,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I upgraded from Samsung Galaxy Proclaim to get newer Android version and this phone is perfect choice. It runs on Verizon network so service is great. Couple of new features that take a few tries to figure out, but super value. When bundled with the Walmart hybrid case you have super look and protection
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Good smart phone for Straight Talk!

07/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the Samsung Proclaim before this phone, and I liked it, but for some reason it didn't want to charge anymore. So, I got this phone. And seeing that it was Android 4.0 (better than the Proclaim), I figured it would be much better, and it is! I love using apps, taking pictures (that come out decent. The camera is only 3.0 megapixel. Not 5 megapixel or higher, like other phones, but I still like it!), and using the web/Facebook. I don't like that you can't customize a ringtone for each person in your phonebook, through the tones/music you already have. But, I found some ringtone apps that allow me to customize a ringtone for each contact, and it works beautifully! I do find that the battery life goes fast, but I really do like this phone! It isn't THE best smartphone out there, but it is a great one through Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

love the phone

07/21/2013
By ,
mount vernon missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it has everything i expect from a prepaid android smart phone its great love the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Outstanding

09/04/2013
By ,
Spotsylvania, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone as a gift for a friend. I got it set up and going before giving it to him, and it is an outstanding phone. I was able to do everything with it that my Apple IPhone 4 does.The response time is fantastic and apps load quickly. I talk to him daily on this phone and he thinks it is absolutely wonderful. Screen resolution, voice clarity and altogether ease of use make this phone and outstanding deal to be had. 1 thought for caution ** is to always make sure to check on the local provider in your area as not all phones work in all places.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Happy So Far

09/05/2013
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smart phone. I've had it for 2 months and so far, so good. It seems to be a great value and works well. I've got several apps on it and it has not seemed to slow it down. I especially like that I am able to automatically back up all photos and videos to google +. As a parent, losing pictures is devastating. My husband has the phone as well, and we are going to soon buy it for my soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

great phone

11/05/2013
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this phone but the only drawback is the camera can't focus so you can't take close up shots but otherwise it is a great phone. The screen is bright and clear. The android 4.0 is easy to use and the fact that it uses Verizon towers is a bonus. One other thing is you cannot move your apps to your SD card but the internal memory is sufficient enough to hold a lot of apps. I have Netflix on it and it runs great. It runs Candy Crush and Angry Birds Star Wars apps. I also installed an app that lets me use my pictures as a live wallpaper and that is really nice...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone
07/05/2013
By ,
Chipley, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent phone. The folks at Walmart were extremely patient and helpful. Some functions are a little tricky to get used to but overall it's a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I'm new to "Smart Phones" so...

08/24/2013
By ,
Princeton, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this Samsung Galaxy Centura for about 4 days now and like it very much. While it may not be the smartest of the smart phones it's a big jump up from my old Motorola V171 flip phone.
My wife Janice passed away on Aug, 5th. Seeing as I no longer need a home phone I sprung for this phone, which will be my primary number due to me cancelling my home phone.
Anyway, so far so good with this phone. My only problem/question would be: How many of the built in apps do I really need and which ones can I get rid of? I know, just like a computer, this OS needs things to be running for it to work but there's got to be some of them that can be eliminated to free up memory. It would also be super if apps could be installed onto the micro SD card. But, such is life. Like I said before, it's one heck of a leap up from my old phone and I'm happy with it. I've had to charge the battery every night so far due to my "playing" with it since I picked it up. I suppose after the "new" wears off a bit and I quit "playing" with it the battery will give a sigh of relief and last longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

great smartphone for beginner

11/12/2013
By ,
Smyrna, Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this phone for about 3 weeks and love it. I am able to play games, download the free apps and surf the web. It has been reliable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone!

12/19/2013
By ,
Johnson City, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really nice phone! I upgraded from Huawei Ascend; and like this one much better. This phone operates on Verizon towers and reception is much better. I would recommend this phone to anyone wanting a smartphone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone

04/04/2014
By ,
Slidell, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone! I have had this phone for a couple of weeks now and have had NO problems. Although I am still learning everything it will do, it far exceeded my expectations. I had read some folks complaints about a clockclock/time problems and I have not had that issue (yet) and I don' t expect to. I would recommend this phone absolutely. Great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone

05/27/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I may have to update later, but this phone replaces the LG phone I had for one month (and was the worse phone ever in the history of phones). I totally love, love, love this phone.
The LG, after about a week, wouldn't even let me text pictures. It was awful and had practicallly no memory. Lot of things I couldn't do because of the memory and I didn't even have many apps or contacts. I was constantly deleting stuff just to be able to send a text and still couldn't even sent a pic cause of the lack of memory.
This phone has been a total turnaround for me. It has memory and more. I have put apps on it and it just gets better and better. I can deal with the not so high quality pics, they're still good enough, but the phone is just awesome!!!! I just can't say enough good things about the phone. One thing I discovered is that the deleting of the call log. You go onto the call log, tap the button on the bottom left and it will let you delete all the call log, or just go to one call and tap that button.
Phone is awesome!!!! Hope you love it as much as I do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Surpasses expectations!!

12/25/2013
By ,
Henrico, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smartphone, and I bought this one because it's on the Verizon network!! I'm tickled pink as a baby rat - thanks Walmart and Straight Talk!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Love this phone!

12/27/2013
By ,
Rockland, Me
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is great, I love all the feature's, ease of use, and speed. I'm amazed that this phone is only $100. I'm quite surprised by some of the negative reviews, I wonder if they have picked up viruses. You can download anti-virus apps from the Play Store, I got a free one that seems to be very good.
If you're looking for a great smartphone, and don't want to spend a great deal of money, look no further.
Based solely on my ownership of an iPod Touch 1st gen. and a 4th gen., I truly believe that I wouldn't be any happier with an iPhone than I am with this but, to be completely honest, my needs are not real great.
Very, very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Snappy little gadget!

07/10/2013
By ,
Grants Pass, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for my mother as a replacement for an old flip phone she had with straight talk.
I have to say, this is a great little phone for the price! With a 1 ghz processor, android ice cream sandwich 4.1 OS and a clear, crisp and bright display, this phone has everything you'd get with a higher end phone! Also, since these operate off Verizon towers the 3g is very good, I've ran several videos on youtube as a tester and they didn't stutter once. Easy enough for a first timer like my mom to operate it but muscular enough for tech geeks to covet it!! If they made this with 4g I'd buy one for myself, I love the small form factor.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

great phone for getting into a smart phone.

09/10/2013
By ,
kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone was easy to learn. I haven't had any problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone and service

12/06/2013
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phone and android apps are great! Even better is the price of Straight Talk! Great phone, great service, great price. Five stars all the way around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Does same job as iPhone3 at a fraction of the cost

12/26/2013
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works on the Verizon tower system and gives same coverage as iPhone3 on Verizon at far lower cost. Capabilities are very similar to the iPhone. Documentation, 226 page manual download, is greatly superior to the classes offered for the iPhone by Verizon. Love the lower weight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

GREAT PHONE

04/01/2014
By ,
GEORGIA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best phone I've ever owned
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 413 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next