Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung S738C Prepaid Smartphone runs on the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS. With a talk time up to 7.22 hours, this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Smartphone can keep you connected throughout the day without constantly recharging. Capture pictures and videos with the 3MPl camera and video recorder when you insert your own microSD card, up to 32GB. Prepaid Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phones are WiFi and 3G connected, so you can enjoy your favorite websites, videos, games and music on the go with this 3.5" touchscreen.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(598 Reviews) 575
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
133
3 stars
48
2 stars
77
1 star
184
Customer Recommendation54%324 out of 598reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
503 Questions | 996 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
133
3 stars
48
2 stars
77
1 star
184
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Horrible battery life.

12/13/2013
By ,
Gaylord, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I hate this phone! It has the worst battery life ever! Most days the phone dies before I go to lunch at school. It is not just my phone either. My mom has the same phone and she is having the same problems as I am. There are other flaws to the phone. Our phones like to do a total reset and I have lost all of my pictures and music. Also, the time likes to reset itself. There has been countless times where I have been late to school because my phone has reset the time. The phone never tells me when I have a text message and it never rings when someone calls me. Also, my music app opens and starts playing at random times. I have deleted all of my apps to see if that would help with the battery life, it did not phase it. The battery still drained within three hours. I close all of my apps before I lock my phone and that also does nothing for the battery life. Overall I am very disappointed with this straight talk phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Terrible Battery
Posted 12/17/2013
Agreed on the terrible battery life. Had 1 month of good battery. Downhill from there. Don't buy this phone.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 22 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

junk

12/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst phone Ive ever owned, Since the first day I got it it would freeze 6 to 8 times a day and I would have to take the battery out and reset phone, also when I would try to make a phone call it would lag, when i dialed the number and pressed call it would go back to my main screen then it would take 5 to 10 minutes for the call to actually go through and the same with texting, I would go to type my message and when the keyboard popped up it wouldn't work half the time,I would have to exit out of everything and go back in the main screen then try to get in messaging again,when the keyboard pops up and doesn't have capital letters you no the keyboard wont let you type,then when it finally works it will take the 5 to 10 minutes to send, and the internet only works when it feel like to,I have full bars 3g and will be connected to my home wifi and it still says no connection or web page not available, I would not recommend this phone to anyone, your better off not even owning a cell phone then wasting money on this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for $99.88

12/24/2013
By ,
Lagrange, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone!! I wanted a proclaim but Walmart was out of them and I needed a phone ASAP..because my Verizon phone screen froze :( and I was just tired of their high prices!! I was skeptical about buying this one because I read a lot of bad reviews and a few good ones..plus the rating was kind of low at only three stars. But so far its doing excellent. It works on the Verizon network. A lot of memory space. Great battery life. Takes clear pictures. Alot of apps on google play. And it DOES tell when you get a text or call..unless you're deaf. Voice quality is clear.When I play music it sounds like a radio. The screen is not too huge or too small. Which I like because I hate Huge phone screens..I have a tablet already!! Great WiFi connection. No drop calls and great internet connection. The only thing I don't like is that it doesn't have a keyboard like my other phone..I was so used to it. Everything is touch screen..but the virtual keyboard works the same way, so its fine. Plus easy to use. So yeah, I guess sometimes you just have to take a chance when you see a few bad reviews. This phone works great for me :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Shocked

09/13/2013
By ,
Myrtle Beach
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I Purchased this Galaxy Centura 3 days ago. It drops calls, internet connection is iffy at best. But, WORST OF ALL, this phone does not disconnect when you end the call. The other party can hear everything that is being said on your end, even though you have no idea the line is still connected! Not to mention the fact, this phone automatically dials the last person you spoke with, even after you cleared the screen, it is face up on the table and supposedly locked! AGAIN, the other party is privy to anything being said! What? I'm sure that I am no different than any other consumer, my cell is used for business as well as for my own personal use, well this particular model takes OUR PERSONAL PRIVACY, to a whole new level!!! This smartphone (questionable at best) is going back to Walmart for a full refund! If you have one of these, you need to be fully aware of the GLITCHES in this particular model. I would Never recommend purchasing this phone to anyone! Damage control is Unbelievable!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Picayune, MS
Samsung Galaxy Proclaim is better
Posted 11/20/2013
Drop the phone and get the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. This phone, even with gingerbread 2.3.6 is so much better.
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 25 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

If you like frustration you will love this phone

06/20/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have owned this phone for about a yr now. At first it worked ok. If you scroll it down to see your messages or facebook, etc... it would not show you anything for a minute or so. Well I actually went back to walmart and asked them about the phone because sometimes it would take me 12 MINUTES to make 1 simple phone call or I would be texting someone and I would have to get in and out 3 times for it to work. The suggested the I delete some pics, the call history and my text messages which I have done and it still sometimes takes 5-8 minutes for the phone to work properly but I have to say it is running better most of the time since doing those things. I am looking to upgrade to a better phone ASAP. It's not worth all the frustration. This is my first smart phone and I have told my wife many times I should of just kept my flip phone atleast it could do the basics like calling someone without any issues!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Good phone until you start to really use it

04/08/2014
By ,
Huron, SD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I initially thought this was a very good phone. I knew I wasn't getting an iPhone but figured for $100 it would at least be decent. Phone worked great for about 6 months. The last couple months have been annoying. Phone will freeze almost daily. My keyboard doesn't work half the time. I just got off the phone with Straight Talk and they basically told me this is a limited phone and I can't expect much from it. I should only download the "essential" apps. That's all I had. I had maybe 2 games on my phone. The rest were apps such as kindle reader, wonderlist, pandora, map my run and a couple radio stations. The GPS takes 5-10 minutes to locate my signal. When turning wifi on and off sometimes it would freeze the phone. If you're going to the VERY basic functions of a "smart phone" this might be ok for you. If you want somewhat normal functions then this won't work for long.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great Value for $99

06/01/2013
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone when it had only been on the market a few days and there were no reviews. I was worried but so far have been very pleased. I had a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim prior to this phone and I liked it but this one is just as good if not better for less money. I've downloaded several apps and they all run smoothly. I did like the camera on the Proclaim better but this one is supposed to be better and I may just need to get used to it. I have had the phone a few weeks now and have never had a problem with reception. Verizon coverage is best where I live and ATT is terrible. Those having reception issues may be in an area where Verizon doesn't have the best coverage like it does here in Missouri. I have had some issues with being cutoff during calls which I believe has to do with apps running in the background. I've been unable to locate a task manager on it if it has one. As far as someone's complaint about not being able to personalize ringtones, there are tons of ringtone apps like Zedge where you can download free ringtones. All in all for the money I don't think you can beat it. And for $9 more you can purchase protection for accidental damage.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Good Value for Less
Posted 09/30/2013
Being a long time Verizon customer, I thought it best to researching all the No-Contract Plans and their phones before leaving them. My decision to go with Straight Talk and their Galaxy Centura has been a good one. I've had the phone for two weeks now. At first I thought this was a bad decision because the phone locked on me twice. I had to call Straight Talk to help me unlock it. Thank God I didn't have much saved in it. The Rep explained this phone has several ways of locking and it will lock on the Emergency call screen in order for a person to get help. This upset me because it is small and very slippery which makes it hard to hold. Assuming, I had made a mistake, when I went to return the phone, thinking I should try another, the Walmart Rep at the Service Desk happened to have the same phone. I told her my dilemma and she said the same thing happened to her only once so she bought a case for the phone and it had been working great for her ever since. She reassured me the phone was a good buy. I found a case on line, which I should have been able to purchase at Walmart, but regardless of that, the phone works great now, my coverage is good, people say I am clear and easy to hear, no drop calls as of yet, and it hasn't locked up on me. When I get to a remote area I will let you know how that goes. I never had a smartphone before so this is a good experience and I am happy to take this experience with Straight Talk instead of Verizon. Again this phone is a good value for the service.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 28 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Low processing power; apps crash a lot.

02/26/2015
By ,
North Carolina
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The price is good, but there are plenty of other phones out there for either a similar price or just a little bit more that would be a better choice.
The apps crash. A LOT. Very frequently. And, when that happens, the phone freezes and the only way to fix that is to literally pop the back off and take the battery out. Which, when you're using a GPS app and you're going 70 mph on a freeway, the last thing you wanna be doing is fumbling with your phone trying to fix it.
I suppose if you're using this phone for only calls, texts, and taking pictures it'd be okay-ish, though that kind of defeats the purpose of having a smartphone if you're not going to use any apps.
My recommendation for an alternative would be the LG Optimus Fuel (which you can find here on this website.) It has a similar price, a better battery, a better processor, better memory, and it's an upgrade to Android 4.4 (KitKat) as opposed to the Centura which is just a Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich.)
In the end, I believe there are much better all around phones out there. Not only in processing, but even in price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Don't waste your money

11/13/2013
By ,
Springfield, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone as a replacement for the LG I had through Straight Talk. The only thing it has going for it is it's on the Verizon towers in my area, which means I actually get signal strength. That is about it. It constantly freezes up on me where I have to remove the battery to restart it. I actually have to do this several times a day. I even removed all the apps I downloaded (all 4 of them) to see if that was the problem, and it wasn't. I have had several issues with the clock being several hours off. I have to set 2 alarms now. One morning my phone said 1:05am, and it was 6:05am. The memory is nice, better then my old LG. I think i'm going to look at the Christmas ads and see if I can't find something else. I'm just very unhappy with the phone. My old phone gave me fits for so long, and then when we actually had the money to replace it, I got this, and now I wish I had my old one back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Fort Stewart, GA
Posted 11/29/2013
Is it possible that you just got a defective phone? I believe Samsung gives a one year standard warranty. (One of my friends had a defective Galaxy Proclaim, he sent it into Samsung and they sent him a new one)
-1point
Customer Avatar
Picayune, MS
Samsung Galaxy Proclaim is better
Posted 11/20/2013
Return the phone and get the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. This phone, even with gingerbread 2.3.6 is so much better.
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 30 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

junk

12/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I started off using an android phone, it was easy to use and I loved it, but about a year ago I switched to an I phone but I hated it! I complained about so much that one of my employees bought this for me. I feel bad even saying this because it was a gift, but I'm going to anyways. This phone is so slow. When I use the key pad to text some one, sometimes it takes a full 30 seconds to load, then as I'm texting the phone cant keep up and misses part of what I'm saying and the auto correct is not very smart! I don't have any big apps downloaded. The camera is terrible. I tried to scan a bar code but the camera was too fuzzy. Also I downloaded 1 ring tone and I cant seem to use it. Oh yeah and the options for texting notifications are minimal! I am used to making the text notification go off several times so that I don't miss a text but that is not an option here. I am just very disappointed. Even more so because I feel like my employee was trying to do this really awesome thing but the phone is just junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Feature-packed but many bugs

08/24/2013
By ,
Omaha, NE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I would have rated this phone in the first week, it would have been 5 stars, because there are so many great features on this phone for a good value. Our StraightTalk service (via Verizon) has been pretty solid. However, after using it for a few weeks, there are so many bugs on this phone I am almost fed up and considering a return. I've had three issues that are all unacceptable. (1) The clock randomly sets itself backwards by 6 hours. I can't trust the time on this phone enough to use the alarm clock. One morning it didn't go off because of the crazy time-change bug. (2) When I turn on my Wi-Fi, it freezes on me roughly 20% of the time. It totally locks up, and I have to reboot the phone to get it to work again. (3) I can't seem to send or receive MMS messages reliably. Occasionally I can receive them, but haven't been able to send any yet.
The more I research these issues, it seems that I'm not the only one experiencing them. But I guess I'm the lucky guy who has ALL THREE of these issues on the same phone.
This is the first smartphone I have ever owned, so maybe these bugs are par for the course. I don't know, but I don't expect this kind of quality, especially when I shelled out 100 bucks for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

WORST PHONE I EVER OWNED.

03/30/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is by far the worst phone i have ever had. It freezes after every application i open, it can be the alarm clock app, and itll freeze. When the phone freezes, you have about a 12% of it un-freezing, if it doesnt, you have to take the battery out, and put it back in, wait about 5 minutes for it to reboot, just for it to freeze again. On a good day, the phone will only freeze about 5-10 times. Not even kidding. There is no back camera, and the back camera is so terrible, it cant even read bar codes. Only good thing i can say, is its very durable. I've slammed this phone on the floor, door, walls, everything, many times. And not one scratch. This, and the data usage. With 90MB of data, i can sit and play online games, facebook, pandora, all that for a few hours. But, don't bother trying, because the phone will FREEZE! I hate this phone so much. I should've just spent an extra 20 and got the ZTE Valet.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Works ok but!

06/08/2013
By ,
Seattle, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Certainly works ok as basic smartphone capabilities. Not high end by any means. The big problem is it is wildly inaccurate on the date/time. Once or twice daily the time will jump from on time to completely off 4-8 hour swings. I thought maybe it was a signal issue with the automatic time and date settings from the network, so I set it manually and turned off the auto feature figuring it would solve the issue. That seemed ok for about 6-7 hours before I looked again and there was an 8 hour swing in the phone saying it was earlier than it was. I set it again with a phone call which corrected the time. I turned the auto time and date feature from the network back on. Less than 24 hours later the time is off by another 8 hours. Signal was always at least 2/4 bars. Makes the phone totally unreliable if you want to schedule something, use alarms to notify you, or even if you want to know the time. I have to give it a thumbs down waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/18/2014
check the phones calendar app and make sure your home setting is in the correct time zone that helped me!
0points
Customer Avatar
Ohio
never
Posted 08/08/2013
I've had this phone since mid May and I've never had any problem with the time on it.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 34 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone

05/27/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I may have to update later, but this phone replaces the LG phone I had for one month (and was the worse phone ever in the history of phones). I totally love, love, love this phone.
The LG, after about a week, wouldn't even let me text pictures. It was awful and had practicallly no memory. Lot of things I couldn't do because of the memory and I didn't even have many apps or contacts. I was constantly deleting stuff just to be able to send a text and still couldn't even sent a pic cause of the lack of memory.
This phone has been a total turnaround for me. It has memory and more. I have put apps on it and it just gets better and better. I can deal with the not so high quality pics, they're still good enough, but the phone is just awesome!!!! I just can't say enough good things about the phone. One thing I discovered is that the deleting of the call log. You go onto the call log, tap the button on the bottom left and it will let you delete all the call log, or just go to one call and tap that button.
Phone is awesome!!!! Hope you love it as much as I do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for a $100

05/24/2013
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My previous phone was a Motorola DroidX. It was time to get something new and get away from the contractual nightmare of big V.
Overall, this entry level Android is really nice. Light, powerful with 4.0 ICS, good battery life, good functionality. Uses a micro USB for charging and connectivity, bright color display and visibility.
Pros: Good features for $100, light, good signal, good sound, no unwanted proprietary apps,
Cons: Slippery, small screen, no photo flash, no front face cam, no missed call/txt indicator light.
Overall, I'm really impressed with what I got for $100. Getting the number ported and the account set up with ST was really easy.
Buuuut, I might go get the LG Optimus Showtime since it is bigger, a little more power, and still runs 4.0 ICS. The Centura will probably get used as a hot spare.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C

11/05/2013
By ,
Yorkville TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Since this is the first time to try an android phone I was anxious to see what it would do. If you have never had one like this, just give it time to learn how to use it. Getting use to the touch screen takes time. Has voice activation for calling and text. After I found out what it could do with this phone I loved it.
There was only one thing wrong with it. The camera did not take good pictures. There is no auto focus on it. If taking pictures is not an issue with you then you will like it. I would give this phone a 5 if not for that. The Google app store has many good apps to download. I even downloaded Candy Crush Saga and it was FREE! It played great! Texting and the phone features worked good. The internet was great on this phone! I took it back two days later after restoring it to the original factory setting (which took off my downloads and contact list). I ordered a more advanced phone with a better camera. I am pleased with the straight talk service! Have been with straight talk for several years and service is great! Love the prepaid cards!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone IF ONLY IT COULD KEEP TIME

07/18/2013
By ,
Jefferson City, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I first saw this phone I thought it was a great value at $99.99 with a newer version of android and a nice size touch screen. Also Samsung usually makes good phones. I checked the reviews and did notice a few that mentioned the time resetting on them, well I thought that was just a bad batch, was I wrong. It seems like many people when you search on the internet have this same problem and it did it to me. After about a day the time would reset 6 hours back, I tried resetting it, turning off the sync with network, removing the battery, but nothing fixed this issue. If you plan on using this phone as an ALARM or as a WATCH to know what the current TIME is, I would not suggest it. A feature this simple should work problem-free. There are several other nice choices such as the LG L40G phone which has been problem-free for me!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
IL
Posted 11/06/2013
My clock never stays set either.. I have to make sure I have a back up alarm set..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 38 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Phone won't keep correct time

10/26/2013
By ,
Wi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No matter what I do the phone won't keep the correct time. Sometimes will change 2-3 times a day sometimes will go 2 weeks without changing. Tried everything to fix it. disabling auto time. clearing cache and removing battery. Nothing works. Very annoying when you can't rely on a phone to even keep the correct time.
Can't use the alarm and it makes texting a real pain since if the time is incorrect it will show texts in different spots as if they were received hours before. Also if the time change is great enough it will move the date around also. Once it changed the date back to 2006. Only way I found online to fix this issue was to root the phone and install a new launcher.
Also quite slow on loading even weatherbug. But that was to be expected with the single core 800mhz cpu. I could deal with all of that if it would just keep the correct time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cherryvale, KS
Posted 12/11/2013
Try this ... open the Calendar app ... go to Settings ... set the Time Zone where you live, not Australia. This has corrected the time reset issue for many people.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 39 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Much Better Than Expected

05/31/2013
By ,
Chelsea, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this phone for 7 days now. It was easy to learn how to use and has all the popular features. The voice to text was hard to figure out but works great...! The battery life is the best I could find from any of the other phones offered in the Straight Talk program. I'm getting a solid two days of heavy usage. One of the concerns in a review posted above was the software didn't display photos properly in some phone positions. All you need to do is expand the picture in the screen with your finger and thumb like in the iPhone commercials. It works great...! The download speeds are a little slow but seems better with WiFi connection. I think its a great value...! I'd recommend this phone and plan to most everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+87points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I hate this phone.

11/22/2013
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have not had it very long and at this point I want to throw it against a wall. I replaced a Precedent that had the on/off button sticking and wouldn't turn on. Bad phone as well. This phone, the Centura, is the worst phone I have ever had. It at times displays a random time, not the correct time, not a different time zone even...just a random wrong time. The wifi will only stay connected for a short time, when it drops you have to turn wifi off and back on and quickly get into whatever app you are using before it drops again. The most recent annoyance is not ringing or just going directly to voicemail. Seriously...I totally wasted $100, a lot of time and a great deal of nerves dealing with this phone. Straight talk service has been fine...it's the phone that is a piece of you know what.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 576 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  29 Next