Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung S738C Prepaid Smartphone runs on the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS. With a talk time up to 7.22 hours, this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Smartphone can keep you connected throughout the day without constantly recharging. Capture pictures and videos with the 3MPl camera and video recorder when you insert your own microSD card, up to 32GB. Prepaid Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phones are WiFi and 3G connected, so you can enjoy your favorite websites, videos, games and music on the go with this 3.5" touchscreen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.144 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(376 Reviews) 353
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
106
4 stars
91
3 stars
33
2 stars
43
1 star
103
Customer Recommendation58%219 out of 376reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
392 Questions | 773 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
106
4 stars
91
3 stars
33
2 stars
43
1 star
103
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Has it's flaws

04/22/2014
By ,
Staten Island NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first android phone and being a bit older I find it a bit confusing but with the help of my grandchildren I am getting there. The 3G is fine for me. The phone could be a bit louder but that could be do to age (mine). I am having fun with apps and enjoy the phone and all in all I am happy with the purchase BUT. There are a few things that kind of bug me and I or anyone else cannot figure out a solution. First you can not delete the frequently called#s at the front of the contact list. When the phone rings and I take it out of my pouch if I touch the screen I lose the call and when I get a text message In order to read it I have to enter my lock code which I do not have to do when I get a call. I do really like the phone but I am being a little stingy about expectations as the frequently called list really bothers me and I have tried many apps that supposedly can do it and none work
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SE, United States
Contact List
Posted 05/24/2014
When you open your contact list, by clicking on the "People" icon, there are 3 icons at the top of the page. Tap the one in the center with the smiley person on it. After that when you open your contacts it will show your list of contacts. You can unlock your screen by going into System settings. Open this by tapping the icon on the bottom left, right below phone icon. Click on "System settings" then scroll down and click on "Security." Click on "Power button instantly locks" to uncheck this setting and unlock your phone.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 22 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!!!!

06/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The is my second straight talk samsung phone. The first one I had was pretty much just the earlier version of this one and it worked just as it should for a year and a half but I had to get a new one because the battery would not stay charged even after it was replaced. So, I was not concerned about this phone when I purchased it but it STINKS. Photos sent via text will not downloan, the clock will freeze and then be hours behind. It freezes when I am using different apps and it is INCREDIBLY slow in general....I can wait for 10 second for a screen to slide. It is not worth even a fraction of the price and instead of saving me money, it will end up costing me more because there is no way I'm going to try and exchange this for the same thing as most of the other reviews indicate that this isn't a fluke but just a bad product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for $99.88

12/24/2013
By ,
Lagrange, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone!! I wanted a proclaim but Walmart was out of them and I needed a phone ASAP..because my Verizon phone screen froze :( and I was just tired of their high prices!! I was skeptical about buying this one because I read a lot of bad reviews and a few good ones..plus the rating was kind of low at only three stars. But so far its doing excellent. It works on the Verizon network. A lot of memory space. Great battery life. Takes clear pictures. Alot of apps on google play. And it DOES tell when you get a text or call..unless you're deaf. Voice quality is clear.When I play music it sounds like a radio. The screen is not too huge or too small. Which I like because I hate Huge phone screens..I have a tablet already!! Great WiFi connection. No drop calls and great internet connection. The only thing I don't like is that it doesn't have a keyboard like my other phone..I was so used to it. Everything is touch screen..but the virtual keyboard works the same way, so its fine. Plus easy to use. So yeah, I guess sometimes you just have to take a chance when you see a few bad reviews. This phone works great for me :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Horrible battery life.

12/13/2013
By ,
Gaylord, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I hate this phone! It has the worst battery life ever! Most days the phone dies before I go to lunch at school. It is not just my phone either. My mom has the same phone and she is having the same problems as I am. There are other flaws to the phone. Our phones like to do a total reset and I have lost all of my pictures and music. Also, the time likes to reset itself. There has been countless times where I have been late to school because my phone has reset the time. The phone never tells me when I have a text message and it never rings when someone calls me. Also, my music app opens and starts playing at random times. I have deleted all of my apps to see if that would help with the battery life, it did not phase it. The battery still drained within three hours. I close all of my apps before I lock my phone and that also does nothing for the battery life. Overall I am very disappointed with this straight talk phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Terrible Battery
Posted 12/17/2013
Agreed on the terrible battery life. Had 1 month of good battery. Downhill from there. Don't buy this phone.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 25 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for anyone

08/14/2013
By ,
Charleston SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am definitely not an entry-level user. I've had cell phones going back to when they were as big as a purse. I bought this because I absolutely hate contracts, and I didn't want to spend $400 plus on a "high end" smartphone. I have owned iPhone, Blackberrys, and many other brands and operating systems. This one is my favorite.
What else could you want? $99 for the phone and $45 a month for unlimited everything, and this phone runs on the Verizon network, which in my area has the best coverage by far. Features: For starters, its a Samsung product. Quality is next to none. Android 4.0 is awesome! It has Bluetooth and Wifi. Download the iSync app and wirelessly transfer your iTunes to this phone. Video is stunning quality, and I just played Pink's new YouTube video with no hesitation. Sound quality is great. Call quality is great and so far no dropped calls.
If you like to Skype it does not have a front facing camera. That is the only downside I can see to what I think is the best deal on a full-featured smartphone available on the market today. Thanks Samsung and Straight Talk!
mnstar
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Shocked

09/13/2013
By ,
Myrtle Beach
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I Purchased this Galaxy Centura 3 days ago. It drops calls, internet connection is iffy at best. But, WORST OF ALL, this phone does not disconnect when you end the call. The other party can hear everything that is being said on your end, even though you have no idea the line is still connected! Not to mention the fact, this phone automatically dials the last person you spoke with, even after you cleared the screen, it is face up on the table and supposedly locked! AGAIN, the other party is privy to anything being said! What? I'm sure that I am no different than any other consumer, my cell is used for business as well as for my own personal use, well this particular model takes OUR PERSONAL PRIVACY, to a whole new level!!! This smartphone (questionable at best) is going back to Walmart for a full refund! If you have one of these, you need to be fully aware of the GLITCHES in this particular model. I would Never recommend purchasing this phone to anyone! Damage control is Unbelievable!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Picayune, MS
Samsung Galaxy Proclaim is better
Posted 11/20/2013
Drop the phone and get the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. This phone, even with gingerbread 2.3.6 is so much better.
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 27 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Nice entry level smartphone with Android 4.0

05/20/2013
By ,
Palmer, ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picked this one up for my in-laws. Was planning on getting the Galaxy Proclaim, but they were out, and this was the new Galaxy in the lineup.
Definitely a step up from the Proclaim, and it includes Android 4.0. This phone is nice and light, and is pretty quick for a 800MHz phone running the Ice Cream Sandwich flavor of Android.
Verizon towers, so no issue there, good connectivity and speed thus far. Two quirks that have popped up, and both are related to the stock messaging app - first, I haven't found an "enter" key on the stock messaging keyboard (even Shift doesn't change the emoticon to an enter key), and 2nd, if you take a portrait photo, and attempt to send it via text, it often times compresses the photo, but also rotates it, stretching the photo from it's native portrait layout to a landscape - very weird.
Other than that, it's a really nice Android phone for $100!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+259points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Stay away from this cell.

07/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesn't keep track of time. It will randomly change time on you so don't count on setting an alarm on it. Even after doing the android update (which is another problem) which says it fixes it. You have to factory reset the device each time there's an update for it. Has a hard time staying connected to any network, even if you're standing right next to your wireless router, it'll drop the signal. Debugging mode doesn't work so good luck trying to connect it to your PC besides to charge it. Don't bother calling either StraightTalk or Samsung about it cause one will tell you to call the other to fix it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Do not buy this phone!

05/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is by far the worst phone and service I've ever had. I would take my old Razr phone over this piece of junk! You want data? Forget about it! Data does not work unless you have wifi. Have wifi? The phone freezes and you have to turn it off and back on again. System overload!!!!! I thought it would be nice to check email and have Google Maps. Nope. Maps will only open if you have wifi and then it still struggles to find your location. Camera is horrible. I am taking this back and getting a flip phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
naperville il
You are so correct!
Posted 06/19/2014
Phone doesn't connect to internet without Wifi. Extremely sensitive to any touch. I couldn't handle it and don't start sync'n facebook, your emails, alerts, and any type of communication to the phone. The alerts never end, 24 hours a day. The phone does stuff by itself. Possessed
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 30 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Don't waste your money

11/13/2013
By ,
Springfield, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone as a replacement for the LG I had through Straight Talk. The only thing it has going for it is it's on the Verizon towers in my area, which means I actually get signal strength. That is about it. It constantly freezes up on me where I have to remove the battery to restart it. I actually have to do this several times a day. I even removed all the apps I downloaded (all 4 of them) to see if that was the problem, and it wasn't. I have had several issues with the clock being several hours off. I have to set 2 alarms now. One morning my phone said 1:05am, and it was 6:05am. The memory is nice, better then my old LG. I think i'm going to look at the Christmas ads and see if I can't find something else. I'm just very unhappy with the phone. My old phone gave me fits for so long, and then when we actually had the money to replace it, I got this, and now I wish I had my old one back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Fort Stewart, GA
Posted 11/29/2013
Is it possible that you just got a defective phone? I believe Samsung gives a one year standard warranty. (One of my friends had a defective Galaxy Proclaim, he sent it into Samsung and they sent him a new one)
-1point
Customer Avatar
Picayune, MS
Samsung Galaxy Proclaim is better
Posted 11/20/2013
Return the phone and get the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. This phone, even with gingerbread 2.3.6 is so much better.
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 31 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great Value for $99

06/01/2013
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone when it had only been on the market a few days and there were no reviews. I was worried but so far have been very pleased. I had a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim prior to this phone and I liked it but this one is just as good if not better for less money. I've downloaded several apps and they all run smoothly. I did like the camera on the Proclaim better but this one is supposed to be better and I may just need to get used to it. I have had the phone a few weeks now and have never had a problem with reception. Verizon coverage is best where I live and ATT is terrible. Those having reception issues may be in an area where Verizon doesn't have the best coverage like it does here in Missouri. I have had some issues with being cutoff during calls which I believe has to do with apps running in the background. I've been unable to locate a task manager on it if it has one. As far as someone's complaint about not being able to personalize ringtones, there are tons of ringtone apps like Zedge where you can download free ringtones. All in all for the money I don't think you can beat it. And for $9 more you can purchase protection for accidental damage.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Good Value for Less
Posted 09/30/2013
Being a long time Verizon customer, I thought it best to researching all the No-Contract Plans and their phones before leaving them. My decision to go with Straight Talk and their Galaxy Centura has been a good one. I've had the phone for two weeks now. At first I thought this was a bad decision because the phone locked on me twice. I had to call Straight Talk to help me unlock it. Thank God I didn't have much saved in it. The Rep explained this phone has several ways of locking and it will lock on the Emergency call screen in order for a person to get help. This upset me because it is small and very slippery which makes it hard to hold. Assuming, I had made a mistake, when I went to return the phone, thinking I should try another, the Walmart Rep at the Service Desk happened to have the same phone. I told her my dilemma and she said the same thing happened to her only once so she bought a case for the phone and it had been working great for her ever since. She reassured me the phone was a good buy. I found a case on line, which I should have been able to purchase at Walmart, but regardless of that, the phone works great now, my coverage is good, people say I am clear and easy to hear, no drop calls as of yet, and it hasn't locked up on me. When I get to a remote area I will let you know how that goes. I never had a smartphone before so this is a good experience and I am happy to take this experience with Straight Talk instead of Verizon. Again this phone is a good value for the service.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 32 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Feature-packed but many bugs

08/24/2013
By ,
Omaha, NE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I would have rated this phone in the first week, it would have been 5 stars, because there are so many great features on this phone for a good value. Our StraightTalk service (via Verizon) has been pretty solid. However, after using it for a few weeks, there are so many bugs on this phone I am almost fed up and considering a return. I've had three issues that are all unacceptable. (1) The clock randomly sets itself backwards by 6 hours. I can't trust the time on this phone enough to use the alarm clock. One morning it didn't go off because of the crazy time-change bug. (2) When I turn on my Wi-Fi, it freezes on me roughly 20% of the time. It totally locks up, and I have to reboot the phone to get it to work again. (3) I can't seem to send or receive MMS messages reliably. Occasionally I can receive them, but haven't been able to send any yet.
The more I research these issues, it seems that I'm not the only one experiencing them. But I guess I'm the lucky guy who has ALL THREE of these issues on the same phone.
This is the first smartphone I have ever owned, so maybe these bugs are par for the course. I don't know, but I don't expect this kind of quality, especially when I shelled out 100 bucks for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C

11/05/2013
By ,
Yorkville TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Since this is the first time to try an android phone I was anxious to see what it would do. If you have never had one like this, just give it time to learn how to use it. Getting use to the touch screen takes time. Has voice activation for calling and text. After I found out what it could do with this phone I loved it.
There was only one thing wrong with it. The camera did not take good pictures. There is no auto focus on it. If taking pictures is not an issue with you then you will like it. I would give this phone a 5 if not for that. The Google app store has many good apps to download. I even downloaded Candy Crush Saga and it was FREE! It played great! Texting and the phone features worked good. The internet was great on this phone! I took it back two days later after restoring it to the original factory setting (which took off my downloads and contact list). I ordered a more advanced phone with a better camera. I am pleased with the straight talk service! Have been with straight talk for several years and service is great! Love the prepaid cards!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Terrible phone & terrible service

07/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Activated this phone 2 days ago & have had terrible service. When I call people, they either hear garbling or they here constant echoing. Called Straight Talk. Their customer service was also terrible. The first rep told me phone calls sound different when you use the speaker feature and that is just the way it is. I then spoke to a supervisor who told me to try to get Wal-Mart to replace the phone. The phone couldn't be replaced because I didn't activate it right away & the supervisor said it could not be returned after 15 days. The supervisor then said I just needed to go outside when I needed to make a phone call to get better reception. That is not a solution. A phone should work straight out of the box & it should have a decent warranty. I would not recommend this phone because it lacks quality & dependability and I would not recommend Straight Talk because their customer service is substandard with regard to their problem solving (ie. don't use the speaker; go outside to make a phone call). I'll use this phone to text message this month so as not to waste the $45 phone card, but after that it will be back to a major phone service provider & a phone that has a decent warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Works ok but!

06/08/2013
By ,
Seattle, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Certainly works ok as basic smartphone capabilities. Not high end by any means. The big problem is it is wildly inaccurate on the date/time. Once or twice daily the time will jump from on time to completely off 4-8 hour swings. I thought maybe it was a signal issue with the automatic time and date settings from the network, so I set it manually and turned off the auto feature figuring it would solve the issue. That seemed ok for about 6-7 hours before I looked again and there was an 8 hour swing in the phone saying it was earlier than it was. I set it again with a phone call which corrected the time. I turned the auto time and date feature from the network back on. Less than 24 hours later the time is off by another 8 hours. Signal was always at least 2/4 bars. Makes the phone totally unreliable if you want to schedule something, use alarms to notify you, or even if you want to know the time. I have to give it a thumbs down waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/18/2014
check the phones calendar app and make sure your home setting is in the correct time zone that helped me!
0points
Customer Avatar
Ohio
never
Posted 08/08/2013
I've had this phone since mid May and I've never had any problem with the time on it.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 36 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Not pleased

05/31/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this phone as a cheaper smartphone (99.00) upgrade from my cheaper smartphone. Let's just say I had less freezes and glitches with the cheaper smart phone than I had with this device. I don't care what anyone says, 100 bucks is too much to spend on a phone that is unsatisfying, period. It freezes, delays calling, and drives me nuts. Let's just hope that I can pull up a screen to dial 911 in time if anything ever happened to me. Should have the Galaxy S3 in the mail soon, the 100 dollar off value Walmart is offering on it makes up for the 100 bucks spent on this annoying Galaxy Centura device.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The WORST EVER!!!!

04/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my first "smart phone". It does what it wants, when it wants! Sometimes you can connect to wi-fi, SOMETIMES! It will lock itself, meaning you can not do anything! You can't shut it off, return to the home screen, NOTHING!! It will NOT perform system update. The poor little droid falls over on his back & gets a red exclamation mark in a yellow triangle. This phone has issues!! The only reason I gave the value 3 stars is because I got the Black Friday price!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

I hate this phone.

11/22/2013
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have not had it very long and at this point I want to throw it against a wall. I replaced a Precedent that had the on/off button sticking and wouldn't turn on. Bad phone as well. This phone, the Centura, is the worst phone I have ever had. It at times displays a random time, not the correct time, not a different time zone even...just a random wrong time. The wifi will only stay connected for a short time, when it drops you have to turn wifi off and back on and quickly get into whatever app you are using before it drops again. The most recent annoyance is not ringing or just going directly to voicemail. Seriously...I totally wasted $100, a lot of time and a great deal of nerves dealing with this phone. Straight talk service has been fine...it's the phone that is a piece of you know what.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

serving it's purpose

05/26/2014
By ,
WB/Scranton, PA area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i've only had this phone about a week now, but to this point i haven't had any problems with it at all. i wasted thousands of dollars over a 2 year contract period with verizon, along with the huge amount i paid initially on the phone, only to find out i could not even use it w/straight talk when the contract was FINALLY up. so i didn't want to spend too much more on a new phone. i got this on a deal where it was $99 with a $25 walmart gift card, so the $75 for the phone was extremely reasonable. it's light and slippery in my hands though...i am awaiting the cover i've ordered and that should take care of that problem. luckily i have not dropped it yet. the screen is clear and though smaller than the verizon phone i had, i'm not having any problems with it. i am not a very tech-savvy person but this phone seems to be pretty straight forward and i haven't had much problem understanding or using it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Phone won't keep correct time

10/26/2013
By ,
Wi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No matter what I do the phone won't keep the correct time. Sometimes will change 2-3 times a day sometimes will go 2 weeks without changing. Tried everything to fix it. disabling auto time. clearing cache and removing battery. Nothing works. Very annoying when you can't rely on a phone to even keep the correct time.
Can't use the alarm and it makes texting a real pain since if the time is incorrect it will show texts in different spots as if they were received hours before. Also if the time change is great enough it will move the date around also. Once it changed the date back to 2006. Only way I found online to fix this issue was to root the phone and install a new launcher.
Also quite slow on loading even weatherbug. But that was to be expected with the single core 800mhz cpu. I could deal with all of that if it would just keep the correct time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cherryvale, KS
Posted 12/11/2013
Try this ... open the Calendar app ... go to Settings ... set the Time Zone where you live, not Australia. This has corrected the time reset issue for many people.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
21-40 of 354 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next