Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung S738C Prepaid Smartphone runs on the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS. With a talk time up to 7.22 hours, this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Smartphone can keep you connected throughout the day without constantly recharging. Capture pictures and videos with the 3MPl camera and video recorder when you insert your own microSD card, up to 32GB. Prepaid Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phones are WiFi and 3G connected, so you can enjoy your favorite websites, videos, games and music on the go with this 3.5" touchscreen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.088 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(546 Reviews) 523
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
150
4 stars
126
3 stars
47
2 stars
68
1 star
155
Customer Recommendation57%310 out of 546reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
464 Questions | 954 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
150
4 stars
126
3 stars
47
2 stars
68
1 star
155
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Good phone until you start to really use it

04/08/2014
By ,
Huron, SD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I initially thought this was a very good phone. I knew I wasn't getting an iPhone but figured for $100 it would at least be decent. Phone worked great for about 6 months. The last couple months have been annoying. Phone will freeze almost daily. My keyboard doesn't work half the time. I just got off the phone with Straight Talk and they basically told me this is a limited phone and I can't expect much from it. I should only download the "essential" apps. That's all I had. I had maybe 2 games on my phone. The rest were apps such as kindle reader, wonderlist, pandora, map my run and a couple radio stations. The GPS takes 5-10 minutes to locate my signal. When turning wifi on and off sometimes it would freeze the phone. If you're going to the VERY basic functions of a "smart phone" this might be ok for you. If you want somewhat normal functions then this won't work for long.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Horrible battery life.

12/13/2013
By ,
Gaylord, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I hate this phone! It has the worst battery life ever! Most days the phone dies before I go to lunch at school. It is not just my phone either. My mom has the same phone and she is having the same problems as I am. There are other flaws to the phone. Our phones like to do a total reset and I have lost all of my pictures and music. Also, the time likes to reset itself. There has been countless times where I have been late to school because my phone has reset the time. The phone never tells me when I have a text message and it never rings when someone calls me. Also, my music app opens and starts playing at random times. I have deleted all of my apps to see if that would help with the battery life, it did not phase it. The battery still drained within three hours. I close all of my apps before I lock my phone and that also does nothing for the battery life. Overall I am very disappointed with this straight talk phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Terrible Battery
Posted 12/17/2013
Agreed on the terrible battery life. Had 1 month of good battery. Downhill from there. Don't buy this phone.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 23 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

A major piece of garbage, politely speaking

11/17/2014
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchasing this phone was by far one of the worst things I ever did. The clock constantly changes to be 6 hours off, so you especially can't use it for an alarm clock. The apps take forever to load and they frequently crash. The camera produces poor quality photos; it also doesn't have autofocus. I tried to use this phone to scan QR and bar codes--the phone can't read many of them, despite my trying several highly rated apps for this. I also wanted to try a new feature with my bank where I take a picture of a check for deposit, but the camera just couldn't handle the check being so close to the lens (very blurry). This phone also has no resale value. Everywhere I've looked, I cannot get any credit for the phone so I can upgrade. As I said, it's a major piece of garbage--especially because that's likely the only place you can put it when your done with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for $99.88

12/24/2013
By ,
Lagrange, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone!! I wanted a proclaim but Walmart was out of them and I needed a phone ASAP..because my Verizon phone screen froze :( and I was just tired of their high prices!! I was skeptical about buying this one because I read a lot of bad reviews and a few good ones..plus the rating was kind of low at only three stars. But so far its doing excellent. It works on the Verizon network. A lot of memory space. Great battery life. Takes clear pictures. Alot of apps on google play. And it DOES tell when you get a text or call..unless you're deaf. Voice quality is clear.When I play music it sounds like a radio. The screen is not too huge or too small. Which I like because I hate Huge phone screens..I have a tablet already!! Great WiFi connection. No drop calls and great internet connection. The only thing I don't like is that it doesn't have a keyboard like my other phone..I was so used to it. Everything is touch screen..but the virtual keyboard works the same way, so its fine. Plus easy to use. So yeah, I guess sometimes you just have to take a chance when you see a few bad reviews. This phone works great for me :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Nice entry level smartphone with Android 4.0

05/20/2013
By ,
Palmer, ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picked this one up for my in-laws. Was planning on getting the Galaxy Proclaim, but they were out, and this was the new Galaxy in the lineup.
Definitely a step up from the Proclaim, and it includes Android 4.0. This phone is nice and light, and is pretty quick for a 800MHz phone running the Ice Cream Sandwich flavor of Android.
Verizon towers, so no issue there, good connectivity and speed thus far. Two quirks that have popped up, and both are related to the stock messaging app - first, I haven't found an "enter" key on the stock messaging keyboard (even Shift doesn't change the emoticon to an enter key), and 2nd, if you take a portrait photo, and attempt to send it via text, it often times compresses the photo, but also rotates it, stretching the photo from it's native portrait layout to a landscape - very weird.
Other than that, it's a really nice Android phone for $100!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+263points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone

05/27/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I may have to update later, but this phone replaces the LG phone I had for one month (and was the worse phone ever in the history of phones). I totally love, love, love this phone.
The LG, after about a week, wouldn't even let me text pictures. It was awful and had practicallly no memory. Lot of things I couldn't do because of the memory and I didn't even have many apps or contacts. I was constantly deleting stuff just to be able to send a text and still couldn't even sent a pic cause of the lack of memory.
This phone has been a total turnaround for me. It has memory and more. I have put apps on it and it just gets better and better. I can deal with the not so high quality pics, they're still good enough, but the phone is just awesome!!!! I just can't say enough good things about the phone. One thing I discovered is that the deleting of the call log. You go onto the call log, tap the button on the bottom left and it will let you delete all the call log, or just go to one call and tap that button.
Phone is awesome!!!! Hope you love it as much as I do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Shocked

09/13/2013
By ,
Myrtle Beach
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I Purchased this Galaxy Centura 3 days ago. It drops calls, internet connection is iffy at best. But, WORST OF ALL, this phone does not disconnect when you end the call. The other party can hear everything that is being said on your end, even though you have no idea the line is still connected! Not to mention the fact, this phone automatically dials the last person you spoke with, even after you cleared the screen, it is face up on the table and supposedly locked! AGAIN, the other party is privy to anything being said! What? I'm sure that I am no different than any other consumer, my cell is used for business as well as for my own personal use, well this particular model takes OUR PERSONAL PRIVACY, to a whole new level!!! This smartphone (questionable at best) is going back to Walmart for a full refund! If you have one of these, you need to be fully aware of the GLITCHES in this particular model. I would Never recommend purchasing this phone to anyone! Damage control is Unbelievable!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Picayune, MS
Samsung Galaxy Proclaim is better
Posted 11/20/2013
Drop the phone and get the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. This phone, even with gingerbread 2.3.6 is so much better.
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 28 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

WORST PHONE EVER!!!

09/10/2014
By ,
Newburgh, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this phone for less than a week, and I am already regretting my decision to purchase this piece of bologna! My apps freeze and then kick me out. The time changes by itself, and on top of that, the screen goes blank for NO reason at all. I wish I had never bought this piece of bologna. Will NOT recommend this junk to ANYONE! No wonder it was on sale. What a waste of money. The ONLY positive thing about this phone is the nearly 3gb of internal memory.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great little smartphone

09/30/2014
By ,
Montreal, Quebec
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Can't expect more for the price. It works fine so far. Bought 4 more to give to my relatives. We just use them off the Wi-Fi signal at home with MagicApp for free phone calls. Since I already have my mobile hot-spot device that goes with me when I go out, my Samsung doesn't cost me anything more.
The seasons, I didn't rate it 5 stars is that it seems to have the time issue and it's a bit slow (but what can we expect for $30?). One of them kept switching back 4 hours. But it's fine now, I reset it to factory default and started over when I got home (we live in Canada - so I think it has somthing to do with Straight Talk's signal and the daylight savings time option). If you are looking for a inexpensive phone but a little faster, try the LG Realm at BestBuy; it only costs $10 more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Don't Bother!

09/02/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
While Samsung is usually the top choice for me for phones, we got one of these to upgrade from my wife's 2.3.6 Galaxy Proclaim and it was a DISASTER!
First off, this has 4.0 on it, which has HUGE issues with MMS and group texting (i.e. it does neither of these well). Second, it has freezing issues as noted in other reviews. As in once per day. I doubt this is really ST's issue and more the manufacturer, but ST isn't going to help you with that problem. Third, it is constantly dropping cellular, wifi, and GPS connections (again, likely a hardware issue).
This phone was so bad that we switched her BACK to the 2.3.6 phone and then she went over to Verizon!
HEED MY WARNING! GO WITH SOMETHING ELSE! (the LG L34c, perhaps?)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Save yourself the disappointment.

08/09/2014
By ,
Northwest Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned this phone for a bit over a year now. The $100 price and Samsung name lured me to get it. I personally know 3 people who also owns this phone and they also hate it. Rather than dump all my issues here on this review, I will list the worst ones.
-Phone usually (more than 50% of time) freeze up when trying to connect to WiFi or running most games or apps. This requires removing and reinstalling battery.
-Often when talking to someone on the phone for more than a few minutes, this phone will randomly reset itself during the phone call. Then will take a couple minutes to finish it's reset and I have to call back whoever I was talking to. This only ever happens once per call however. I.E. it might reset after talking for 8 minutes, then will work fine indefinately afterwards.
-Occasionally the clock will revert to a random time when connecting the charger. Very frustrating when using it as an alarm clock. Been late a few times because of it.
-Charger cord will barely stay in it's socket for charging, so if the dog walks by the phone while it's charging and his tail brushes the cord, it will disconnect and not charge.
-Most of the time pictures will not download from text messages. I've tried several suggestions from online forums and nothing improves this.
-Very slow overall. Not suprising from only 800 mhz, but still frustrating.
And finally I need to reset the phone via pulling the battery at least once every-other day.
I am sorry for being so negative, but this is 100% honesty with NO exageration.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Don't waste your money

11/13/2013
By ,
Springfield, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone as a replacement for the LG I had through Straight Talk. The only thing it has going for it is it's on the Verizon towers in my area, which means I actually get signal strength. That is about it. It constantly freezes up on me where I have to remove the battery to restart it. I actually have to do this several times a day. I even removed all the apps I downloaded (all 4 of them) to see if that was the problem, and it wasn't. I have had several issues with the clock being several hours off. I have to set 2 alarms now. One morning my phone said 1:05am, and it was 6:05am. The memory is nice, better then my old LG. I think i'm going to look at the Christmas ads and see if I can't find something else. I'm just very unhappy with the phone. My old phone gave me fits for so long, and then when we actually had the money to replace it, I got this, and now I wish I had my old one back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Fort Stewart, GA
Posted 11/29/2013
Is it possible that you just got a defective phone? I believe Samsung gives a one year standard warranty. (One of my friends had a defective Galaxy Proclaim, he sent it into Samsung and they sent him a new one)
-1point
Customer Avatar
Picayune, MS
Samsung Galaxy Proclaim is better
Posted 11/20/2013
Return the phone and get the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. This phone, even with gingerbread 2.3.6 is so much better.
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 33 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

frustrating problems with phone

10/03/2014
By ,
Marion NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have been using this phone for over a year and will be replacing it very soon withe the LG fuel.This was my first venture into the smartphone market and I have never liked this phone.It does not give you a readable message to inform you you have a voice mail,text message or missed call.The phone will throw out a crazy update every other time you turn it off and power it back up.Sometimes I have to remove the battery to get back to my icon screen.The camera and video are decent but it has no flash feature.The phone does not come with a Micro SD card and you will fill up the internal memory fast.I like the straight talk network which is owned by Trakphone and have had no major issues with the service that uses verizon towers.Trust me after my 1 year experience with this phone avoid it because isn't even worth the new 29.95 price tag.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great Value for $99

06/01/2013
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone when it had only been on the market a few days and there were no reviews. I was worried but so far have been very pleased. I had a Samsung Galaxy Proclaim prior to this phone and I liked it but this one is just as good if not better for less money. I've downloaded several apps and they all run smoothly. I did like the camera on the Proclaim better but this one is supposed to be better and I may just need to get used to it. I have had the phone a few weeks now and have never had a problem with reception. Verizon coverage is best where I live and ATT is terrible. Those having reception issues may be in an area where Verizon doesn't have the best coverage like it does here in Missouri. I have had some issues with being cutoff during calls which I believe has to do with apps running in the background. I've been unable to locate a task manager on it if it has one. As far as someone's complaint about not being able to personalize ringtones, there are tons of ringtone apps like Zedge where you can download free ringtones. All in all for the money I don't think you can beat it. And for $9 more you can purchase protection for accidental damage.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Good Value for Less
Posted 09/30/2013
Being a long time Verizon customer, I thought it best to researching all the No-Contract Plans and their phones before leaving them. My decision to go with Straight Talk and their Galaxy Centura has been a good one. I've had the phone for two weeks now. At first I thought this was a bad decision because the phone locked on me twice. I had to call Straight Talk to help me unlock it. Thank God I didn't have much saved in it. The Rep explained this phone has several ways of locking and it will lock on the Emergency call screen in order for a person to get help. This upset me because it is small and very slippery which makes it hard to hold. Assuming, I had made a mistake, when I went to return the phone, thinking I should try another, the Walmart Rep at the Service Desk happened to have the same phone. I told her my dilemma and she said the same thing happened to her only once so she bought a case for the phone and it had been working great for her ever since. She reassured me the phone was a good buy. I found a case on line, which I should have been able to purchase at Walmart, but regardless of that, the phone works great now, my coverage is good, people say I am clear and easy to hear, no drop calls as of yet, and it hasn't locked up on me. When I get to a remote area I will let you know how that goes. I never had a smartphone before so this is a good experience and I am happy to take this experience with Straight Talk instead of Verizon. Again this phone is a good value for the service.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 35 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!!!!

06/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The is my second straight talk samsung phone. The first one I had was pretty much just the earlier version of this one and it worked just as it should for a year and a half but I had to get a new one because the battery would not stay charged even after it was replaced. So, I was not concerned about this phone when I purchased it but it STINKS. Photos sent via text will not downloan, the clock will freeze and then be hours behind. It freezes when I am using different apps and it is INCREDIBLY slow in general....I can wait for 10 second for a screen to slide. It is not worth even a fraction of the price and instead of saving me money, it will end up costing me more because there is no way I'm going to try and exchange this for the same thing as most of the other reviews indicate that this isn't a fluke but just a bad product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Excellent phone for the price

10/30/2014
By ,
Byron, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Galaxy Centura is performing quite well. Last smart phone I had was a Galaxy S-II, on the ATT network. Had constant loss of signal with it, and was never satisfied with performance or service. I am able to use the Centura in areas where the ATT phone had virtually no signal, and so far have had no problems with its function or signal level. I feel that it outperforms the other Galaxy and for a fraction of the price. I have since bought one for my wife to replace her Samsung Impression, and she is quite satisfied with it as well. Would recommend the Centura to anyone wanting a quality phone at a very reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Feature-packed but many bugs

08/24/2013
By ,
Omaha, NE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If I would have rated this phone in the first week, it would have been 5 stars, because there are so many great features on this phone for a good value. Our StraightTalk service (via Verizon) has been pretty solid. However, after using it for a few weeks, there are so many bugs on this phone I am almost fed up and considering a return. I've had three issues that are all unacceptable. (1) The clock randomly sets itself backwards by 6 hours. I can't trust the time on this phone enough to use the alarm clock. One morning it didn't go off because of the crazy time-change bug. (2) When I turn on my Wi-Fi, it freezes on me roughly 20% of the time. It totally locks up, and I have to reboot the phone to get it to work again. (3) I can't seem to send or receive MMS messages reliably. Occasionally I can receive them, but haven't been able to send any yet.
The more I research these issues, it seems that I'm not the only one experiencing them. But I guess I'm the lucky guy who has ALL THREE of these issues on the same phone.
This is the first smartphone I have ever owned, so maybe these bugs are par for the course. I don't know, but I don't expect this kind of quality, especially when I shelled out 100 bucks for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C

11/05/2013
By ,
Yorkville TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Since this is the first time to try an android phone I was anxious to see what it would do. If you have never had one like this, just give it time to learn how to use it. Getting use to the touch screen takes time. Has voice activation for calling and text. After I found out what it could do with this phone I loved it.
There was only one thing wrong with it. The camera did not take good pictures. There is no auto focus on it. If taking pictures is not an issue with you then you will like it. I would give this phone a 5 if not for that. The Google app store has many good apps to download. I even downloaded Candy Crush Saga and it was FREE! It played great! Texting and the phone features worked good. The internet was great on this phone! I took it back two days later after restoring it to the original factory setting (which took off my downloads and contact list). I ordered a more advanced phone with a better camera. I am pleased with the straight talk service! Have been with straight talk for several years and service is great! Love the prepaid cards!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Has it's flaws

04/22/2014
By ,
Staten Island NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first android phone and being a bit older I find it a bit confusing but with the help of my grandchildren I am getting there. The 3G is fine for me. The phone could be a bit louder but that could be do to age (mine). I am having fun with apps and enjoy the phone and all in all I am happy with the purchase BUT. There are a few things that kind of bug me and I or anyone else cannot figure out a solution. First you can not delete the frequently called#s at the front of the contact list. When the phone rings and I take it out of my pouch if I touch the screen I lose the call and when I get a text message In order to read it I have to enter my lock code which I do not have to do when I get a call. I do really like the phone but I am being a little stingy about expectations as the frequently called list really bothers me and I have tried many apps that supposedly can do it and none work
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SE, United States
Contact List
Posted 05/24/2014
When you open your contact list, by clicking on the "People" icon, there are 3 icons at the top of the page. Tap the one in the center with the smiley person on it. After that when you open your contacts it will show your list of contacts. You can unlock your screen by going into System settings. Open this by tapping the icon on the bottom left, right below phone icon. Click on "System settings" then scroll down and click on "Security." Click on "Power button instantly locks" to uncheck this setting and unlock your phone.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 40 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Works ok but!

06/08/2013
By ,
Seattle, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Certainly works ok as basic smartphone capabilities. Not high end by any means. The big problem is it is wildly inaccurate on the date/time. Once or twice daily the time will jump from on time to completely off 4-8 hour swings. I thought maybe it was a signal issue with the automatic time and date settings from the network, so I set it manually and turned off the auto feature figuring it would solve the issue. That seemed ok for about 6-7 hours before I looked again and there was an 8 hour swing in the phone saying it was earlier than it was. I set it again with a phone call which corrected the time. I turned the auto time and date feature from the network back on. Less than 24 hours later the time is off by another 8 hours. Signal was always at least 2/4 bars. Makes the phone totally unreliable if you want to schedule something, use alarms to notify you, or even if you want to know the time. I have to give it a thumbs down waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/18/2014
check the phones calendar app and make sure your home setting is in the correct time zone that helped me!
0points
Customer Avatar
Ohio
never
Posted 08/08/2013
I've had this phone since mid May and I've never had any problem with the time on it.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
21-40 of 524 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next