Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung S738C Prepaid Smartphone runs on the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS. With a talk time up to 7.22 hours, this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Smartphone can keep you connected throughout the day without constantly recharging. Capture pictures and videos with the 3MPl camera and video recorder when you insert your own microSD card, up to 32GB. Prepaid Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phones are WiFi and 3G connected, so you can enjoy your favorite websites, videos, games and music on the go with this 3.5" touchscreen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.048 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(559 Reviews) 536
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
150
4 stars
127
3 stars
48
2 stars
68
1 star
166
Customer Recommendation56%312 out of 559reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
469 Questions | 967 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
150
4 stars
127
3 stars
48
2 stars
68
1 star
166
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Can't beat this Great phone!

05/31/2013
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After too long of a time, Straight Talk has finally moved out of the dark ages and has begun to offer Android phones with the more current Android OS: 4.0 vs. 2.3 on most of their other phones. That being said this phone is an excellent phone. First, it works on the Verizon network and works well. Reception is excellent, call quality/clarity is crisp and clear. 3G is pretty decent on Verizon but don't expect anything near 4G LTE speeds. For having an 800mhz processor this phone responds very well-it's snappy and responsive with no lags. The screen is bright and gorgeous. If you're wondering how much memory it has to store apps the answer is 2.75GB which is a lot. It also has the capacity for up to 32GB external SD CARD storage (for photos and music, etc). Battery life is much better than expected. The rear facing 3MP camera is decent but is missing a flash. There is no front facing camera. It utilizes the Google Play App Store FYI. Setup was a breeze. Other features include picture caller ID and the ability to respond to an incoming call with a text message much like the iPhone 5. Voice commands work well on this phone too. All in all, coming from a smartphone geek, I rate this phone an A! Simply the best Android 4.0 phone Straight Talk has to offer. You can't go wrong especially for $99!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+569points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
Oregon
Great deal and overall phone with Iphone issue
Posted 08/31/2014
I've used this phone for about 6 months. It was a downgrade from my old galaxy on Sprint. I use it daily plugged in to construction radio for Pandora. The only problem is the non compatibility with Iphone texts. My friends that try sending pictures downloads from Iphones will 90% of the time fail to download. It is very frustrating for them and I. Recently I googled current construction requirements for a project. I tried to download the file. It would not allow me to open the file after downloading. I text the search to a coworker in the office they sent me the picture of the schematic, it wouldn't download either. Frustrating. Great phone for a new smart phone user, specially for the price.
+1point
Customer Avatar
SE, United States
Junk!
Posted 05/24/2014
Very slow, freezes constantly. Forget watching videos. Time jumps around 6 hours off what it should be. If you have a message you want to save you need to get a screen shot because this will delete a message 1, 2, or 3 messages away from the one you choose to delete. No front facing camera. Does not ring half the time, and dials random numbers when you think it's locked. Got the Galaxy S III for $100 more and am very happy with it.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Rocky Mount, NC
Quick Question
Posted 05/02/2014
I'm going to buy this today. It informs me about everything, but there is one thing it fails to mention. Does it have a front face camera? Or just a back camera? Or both?
0points
Customer Avatar
Deerfield, Ohio
JUNK!! DO NOT BUY WITHOUT A WALMART WARRANTY
Posted 02/08/2014
My family purchased 3 of these phones in December of 2013 as gifts and 1 of them the speaker will not work and the phone will not ring and the other 2 the time jumps around so you cannot trust using your alarm clock for fear the time will change repeatedly throughout the night. When I just called Straight talk today to replace the phone, they stated that i have to send back the phone to get a new one but during this time i will not be able to move the number to an old phone until i get the new one. I will have no phone until i send back the old phone and wait for them to ship the new phone. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!! IF YOU DO....GET A WALMART WARRANTY SO IT CAN BE TAKEN BACK TO THE STORE. JUNK!!!
+3points
Customer Avatar
elkhart in
Don't buy
Posted 12/25/2013
I AM ON MY FOURTH PHONE since September. I purchased this phone so I could check email, have GPS etc but it echoes really bad, it freezes so I have to take the battery out and put back in then restart the phone, suddenly with my latest phone--the speaker blew! I lost my alerts to calls and texts along with my alarms and could no longer use speaker phone which I use all the time. I had to transfer my number to another phone in order not to lose my number while waiting for my new phone. They will not allow me to change phones even to another Galaxy without losing the initial investment in this phone. I am soooo disillusioned with Straighttalk now than ever. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE.
+3points
Customer Avatar
Fall River
sweet
Posted 06/02/2013
thanks for posting pictures! i really wanted to see how it looks in person. The screen looks great!
-1point
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Good low price, how to avoid lockups, or just slow

09/25/2014
By ,
PHX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have found that my friend and mine did for a while freeze lots. We narrowed down to the add-on programs we use. removed the ones not needed. Keep in mind each program will need updates, more mean more downloading, possible slow down of phone response too. My friend gets frustrated and says she may go back to flip and give everything up, I decided not to let emotions keep me from getting any new features. You may need to compromise or upgrade to a premium galaxy model.
Then I was able to resolve by backing up phone first, copy entire files in both storage loc, int and ext sd and get a complete backup program at Play Store. When you reset d a factory back/restore it erases everything on sd card. I have found some of the files saved, are not restored on when it done. Besides its just a good idea to do.
My phone works much smoother, I changed upgrades to download only on WiFi. I speculate some programs are not able to restore because other apps installed changed them too. Backup/Restoring is like recompiling your personalized smart phone to optimize its resources.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Frustrating phone

04/02/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is my second Centura from Walmart and through StraightTalk. I am switching after about 10 months of use. The first phone was returned to the store within 2 weeks as it would not keep time and would shut off at random times. This phone seemed to work much better and has had no problem keeping time, but has its own glitches that I have now grown tired of. Various apps cause the phone to freeze entirely, while receiving group texts from iPhones is a nightmare. More often than not, when receiving a text from an iPhone I get a "Download" option, then a subsequent "Download failed" message. The download continues to attempt itself for hours afterwards, producing even more "download failed" messages. They have all attempted to change the settings on their phone but to no avail. My iPhone friends have adjusted and now no longer text me, but rather just call. I am giving it 2 stars because there have not been any problems with calling people, but problems with just about every other aspect.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+106points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Not a good phone

06/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is my first expereience with a smart phone. I ordered it after reading other reviews and testing out a simliar phone. I must say I am very disappointed in this phone. It will go to the home screen automatically without the button being pushed. I constantly have to turn it off and reboot it because it hangs up and freezes. The text screen changes to landscape without turning the phone and will not go back to portrait without closing the message app and reopening it. The buttons are extremely sensitive and it will open apps that I do not select. It is NOT user friendly. You really have to dig to find how to do things and the instruction book that came with it is not helpful. I have spent a lot of time on Google trying to figure out how to work the phone and how to complete basic functions like copying and forwarding texts.
Overall, I am very disappointed in the phone and the purchase. I will be purchasing an Iphone soon as it seems more user friendly than this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

My second smart phone first was an LG with Sprint

06/14/2013
By ,
Midland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone has already exceeded expectations for me. I bought in May and just activated today.
However, I have been using the phone off of my Wi-Fi and was impressed with what I was able to do even before activation including sending photos and email plus getting the downloaded apps. I wanted.
A great surprise this morning as the straight talk customer service worked like a charm. Last time I tried to activate a different phone with them it was a night mare. But today it was perfect, the phone was activated and number ported in less than 10 minutes.
My first call was to my daughter and she said the voice quality was excellent I knew I was having no problems hearing her. Must add that st. talk listened and corrected my difficulties with them and managed to keep me as a customer when I had already convinced my self that maybe it was too big of a hassle.
This phone with the updated android is huge step up for those of you wanting to remain on Verizon towers like I did and get a st. talk smart phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+163points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

junk

12/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I started off using an android phone, it was easy to use and I loved it, but about a year ago I switched to an I phone but I hated it! I complained about so much that one of my employees bought this for me. I feel bad even saying this because it was a gift, but I'm going to anyways. This phone is so slow. When I use the key pad to text some one, sometimes it takes a full 30 seconds to load, then as I'm texting the phone cant keep up and misses part of what I'm saying and the auto correct is not very smart! I don't have any big apps downloaded. The camera is terrible. I tried to scan a bar code but the camera was too fuzzy. Also I downloaded 1 ring tone and I cant seem to use it. Oh yeah and the options for texting notifications are minimal! I am used to making the text notification go off several times so that I don't miss a text but that is not an option here. I am just very disappointed. Even more so because I feel like my employee was trying to do this really awesome thing but the phone is just junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

My first Smartphone

05/23/2013
By ,
Newburgh, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I get to my review. I have to make it clear this is my first EVER smartphone.I needed a phone with apps, especially for GPS for my new job. About a year ago, the last cheap prepaid I bought for almost 70 bucks I thought the phone had all the apps I needed/wanted FB/Pandora/Youtube and it clearly said on the box "download apps" but, it was just a regular old cheap phone. So yesterday the 22nd of May I went and bought this phone for 99 bucks. I was nervous I was going to waste my money again, get home set it up and not have the actual apps I wanted. Man was I happy about my choice. Not only did it have everything I wanted, it was the perfect phone for me. This phone is about 5 time the speed of my wifes phone and a lot easier to guide through the phone. I could sit here all morning about all the amazing things about this phone but, I need to get to sleep. If anyone is reading this and is having doubts about this purchase, don't. Go out and buy this right now!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+820points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
Omaha, NE
The worst phone I have ever owned
Posted 05/30/2014
I purchased this phone in August of 2013 with a Straight Talk plan. I have hated this phone since day one. It shuts off or freezes up at least once but most of the time twice or more per day. When I go to touch the screen and dial a number it either dials the number twice or not at all. When I go to look up a number it will automatically dial and when I go to dial a number it will act like it's dialing and either take a full minute or more to actually dial the number and the rest of the phone freezes or it will dial it two or three times. I am so frustrated with this phone for so many reasons and will never buy another Samsung phone again. I bought my son a ZTE phone and he loves it so I am saving up cash to purchase one of their phones instead. It does what a touch screen phone should do.
The only positive thing I can say about the phone is that a couple of months ago I dropped it in some water. I put it in rice and it worked in a short amount of time. And no, my phone problems did not start after I dropped it in the toilet. They started the day I purchased the phone. Do not waste your money on it.
0points
Customer Avatar
Princeton, MN
@IlovetheLORD1
Posted 08/24/2013
I'm not sure if this is the problem or not. When you leave home do you have the phone on Wi-Fi or do you turn that off. I've read that if the Wi-Fi is turned on and you leave home, providing at home you are using your Wi-Fi signal like I do, that it will keep searching for a Wi-Fi signal and not use the cell towers like a "normal" cell phone which causes the calls to be dropped. I've had this for for under a week now so I am a "newbie" to smart phones but mine works great as long as I turn off the Wi-Fi when I leave home.
0points
Customer Avatar
Aliquippa Pa
Do not Buy!!!!
Posted 08/01/2013
Phone is not good, always drops calls, the time on the phone is always wrong, even after adjusting the time zone it awalys switches back to the incorrect time. slow slow slow internet, phone is very sensative to touch. freezes up on youtube videos all the time. this phone runs of verizon towers so please do your reasearch before buying. im so glad walmart posts the codes for service providers now i will be buying some other phone that works off cdma-s sprint towers. save you money it's not worth the buy now i cant return it beacause it been past 15days more money wasted!!!!!!
-4points
Customer Avatar
Dyer
Towers
Posted 07/26/2013
What towers does this run on Verizon or AT&T? It is a blue map or a red map?
0points
Customer Avatar
Easley, SC
Centura Phone
Posted 07/23/2013
Where did you purchase a cover/case for this phone? I bought it and then returned it to Walmart because I could not find a cover/case for the phone. Otherwise, I loved it. Wanted to keep it but couldn't without a cover for protection.
0points
Customer Avatar
Camera on front??
Posted 06/04/2013
Does it have a camera on the front??
+2points
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Very Satisfied

07/15/2013
By ,
Enterprise, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first smart phone. So please take into consideration that I am "smartphone challenged". At first I was ready to return it and go back to my old flip phone. After a little tutoring from daughter in law and 2 weeks of using it I like it much better. I am amazed at all the capabilities of this phone. The ST Samsung phones use Verizon towers. So that was a big consideration in the purchase of this brand since Verizon is very strong in my area. So before purchasing any phone read the reviews. Do your research to find out which brand of ST phones are serviced by what cellular provider and what service is strongest for your area. (My old flip phone was also a ST
Samsung so I knew the brand I needed). The only reason I gave it a 4 is because some of the apps like the GPS really drain your battery. (not uncommon for all smartphones) I do recommend purchasing a car charger for on the go. I also spent the extra $9 for the damage warranty. Hope this is helpful!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+152points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great alternative to the more expensive phones

04/15/2014
By ,
LaGrange, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the Galaxy Centura about a week ago, based off the positive reviews on this site. I had a Galaxy Precedent, which was just as good a phone, but operated off the Sprint network, which gave me really spotty-poor coverage beyond the city limits.
I am extremely pleased with the price, and also with the capabilities of the phone. Although, one thing I might add is that some of the 1 star ratings mentioned that you cannot hear very well on the phone, and unfortunately, they are somewhat right. I think they exaggerated quite a bit with only 1 star, but so far, that has been the only drawback for me.
I would highly reccommend this phone for someone who wants the features of a smart phone, but doesn't want to pay the high price. The I-Phones and galaxies on the straighttalk plan start at around $300, and go up to around $600. Not gonna do it!! And not gonna pay the high monthly prices, along with lengthy contract, that Verizon requires.
Absolutely love my straighttalk plan, and now love my new Galaxy Centura.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

junk

12/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst phone Ive ever owned, Since the first day I got it it would freeze 6 to 8 times a day and I would have to take the battery out and reset phone, also when I would try to make a phone call it would lag, when i dialed the number and pressed call it would go back to my main screen then it would take 5 to 10 minutes for the call to actually go through and the same with texting, I would go to type my message and when the keyboard popped up it wouldn't work half the time,I would have to exit out of everything and go back in the main screen then try to get in messaging again,when the keyboard pops up and doesn't have capital letters you no the keyboard wont let you type,then when it finally works it will take the 5 to 10 minutes to send, and the internet only works when it feel like to,I have full bars 3g and will be connected to my home wifi and it still says no connection or web page not available, I would not recommend this phone to anyone, your better off not even owning a cell phone then wasting money on this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Do not buy this phone!

04/13/2014
By ,
Salem, Or
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought my first one Nov 2013 for $99 at Walmart. Since it was my first android phone, I didn't want to pay too much for a phone. In Jan 2014 the phone would not charge. I called Straight Talk and they said to send it back, which I did. They sent me a replacement phone which was a refurbished phone. Not happy with that since I had bought new, I expected a new replacement. Now it is April 2014 and this phone will not charge. I called Straight Talk again and we are in the process of sending mine back and getting another replacement. I ask if I could get a new one this time and she said she didn't have any control over whether I got a new or refurbished replacement phone. The only thing I can say nice about he phone is that it looks nice. Phone coverage in my area is good too, but doesn't do me any good if I can't get the the phone to work. My recommendation is not to waste your money. Spend a little more and get a better product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
CA
Ask a teenager
Posted 09/21/2014
I have had a Samsung Smartphone for a few years. I use it to make calls and text, maybe a picture occasionally, though it does a lot of other things. I am 50 and I would rather just use a phone booth to make a call. I still can't always figure out how to turn it off. It looks like it's off but it suddenly springs to life. My teenager can't believe I have such trouble with it as it works fine for her. I think the problem is us.
0points
Customer Avatar
Salem, Or
Update
Posted 05/07/2014
I made a mistake when I said the first phone was bought Nov 2013, it was Sept 2013. Now for 2nd update, I just sent the third phone back to Straight Talk today for the same problem. Phone won't charge when the battery goes completely dead. I ask the customer service rep if this was normal and she said no, it should recharge. Straight Talk has been good about replacing the phone, but if I didn't have a backup flip phone, I would be without a cell phone for the time it takes to replace it. There are a lot of good reviews for the phone on Amazon, so apparently there are some good phones out there. I just was not one of the lucky ones.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great Deal!

05/17/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently bought the Samsung Galaxy Centura, because my previous phone (Samsung Showcase) was having some issues. Overall, this phone is a deal! I won't pay $350-$450 for a smartphone when most of Straight Talk's phones are outdated.
Pros:
- 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich operating system. Next to the SIII (that they just now have), the Centura is the only smart phone with an updated OS. 4.0 runs very smoothly, has awesome apps and of course is more up to date.
- The $99 price tag. I was floored that this was only $99!! I did some research to make sure there wasn't a catch.
- Graphics are really good. My previous phone was more on the "pixely" side. The Centura's is bright and clear!
- This phone is a CDMA-V, which means it runs on the Verizon network! For me, this is a pro!
Con:
- Screen Size. The screen size 3.5". I wish it was a 4", but I can't complain too much!
- No front facing camera. I am still kind of amazed they still make phones without this feature.
Other than that, I love this phone. I haven't had any issues! Definitely worth the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+462points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Brightwood, VA
Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Prepaid phone
Posted 12/26/2013
I've had this phone about a month.......still learning, as I had an old flip phone from verizon. Was sad that I was unable to keep the same number because Verizon required information that I didn't have available. Although the booklet doesn't answer every question, I'm learning how to work this phone as I go along......nothing worthwhile in life is ever easy, so I'm learning something new about this phone each passing day, which is good.
0points
Customer Avatar
East Central Kansas
Do you think it is comparable to the showcase?
Posted 09/08/2013
I LOVED my showcase, but alas, it has had an abrupt trip to the cell phone graveyard. I am bummed that there are no straight talk phones that work in my area that are in the galaxy s line by Samsung. Wish Straight talk would just use Verizon's towers and not bother with sprint.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

cheap outdated glitchy phone

12/25/2013
By ,
maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
With practice, you can get this phone to do its job. (1) When you plug it in to charge--check to see if it feels like charging. If it isn't in the mood--reboot by holding down the on/off button and when the menu appears choose to shut it down completely--then re-start. Usually, it will now charge. (2) If the phone is not in the mood to tell the correct time--go to settings, then date and time, and click 'automatic date and time' on and off once. This should correct the problem for the moment. After re-booting to fix the charging problem, the time problem often crops up too--so check. (3) If your phone call does not end when you end the call (this will happen), go to Settings/Accessibility/and check' power-button ends call'. (4) If you cannot get your music onto the SD card--I can't help you--I have not been able to do that either. Straighttalk needs to fix this. Many people with this phone are streaming their music--using up data time--because the SD card is un-accessible. No-one on line knows how to fix this.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Worst phone purchase I have ever made

07/13/2014
By ,
Watertown, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone 5 months ago after my Samsung Galaxy Illusion (owned 2.5 years) started having trouble recharging at the connection point. I was already aware that I was downgrading a bit on the processor, but I was surprised at just how much slower it was. Still, I'm not too impatient, so I've dealt with slightly longer wait times. However, almost straight from the box, this phone started freezing up all of the time, making me have to do hard resets, or it spontaneously resets on its own for no apparent reason. It has a lot of trouble picking up signal, no matter where I am. The real kiss of death, however, is that this phone DOES NOT RECEIVE GROUP TEXT MESSAGES!!! Please be aware of this before you purchase it, because Straight Talk's Customer Service will only apologize over and over for this but not give you any kind of real help or offer you any kind of credit. It also only sporadically downloads other MMS (picture) texts. The description of this phone on both the Straight Talk and Walmart sites are misleading, as both state they receive MMS messaging.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Fantastic Value, Except for the Camera

06/04/2013
By ,
San Diego
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After several years with Sprint I was ready to spend less money on phone service. Last year I switched to Straight Talk. I wasn't impressed with the phone selection (for the prices) so went for an old, cheap model for about 9 months until the Centura came along. I've now used it for 3 weeks.
My last Smartphone was a Galaxy S (Epic, Gen 1), so in some ways the Centura is a step down. What makes it all worth it is Ice Cream Sandwich and the Straight Talk price. Also that it runs on Verizon's network so I can actually get a signal 99% of the time.
I do really love this phone.
Except for the camera. I discovered yesterday that it does not have auto focus. My Galaxy S was able to scan documents and barcodes perfectly. This phone is badly far-sighted. I cannot focus on any text closer than a couple feet away. It makes QR and barcode reading very difficult and document scanning and receipt storage impossible.
I will be upgrading this much sooner than I had originally hoped. I await another Android/Verizon/$99 combo with a better camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Washington DC
Not a great value
Posted 11/12/2013
I have had several generations and brands of Smart phones. This phone does not even have text-to-speech and it runs on android 4.0. Would not recommend. Very limited.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Marion, ohio
Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura
Posted 11/09/2013
Due to work downsizing I went to this prepaid phone. I previously enjoyed Droid X and I phone 4s.
This phone is a PURE disappointment. It is seriously laggy in all its efforts to connect to any internet. It will make you wait to connect a call to anyone. The apps installed are usually slow to start and function. It will drop calls. It will turn off randomly. It is not a good phone.
To place the words 'smart phone' with straight talk service is not a reality. I thought afterwords that I would simply use it as a phone and no internet. OOOOPS! have to buy the $45 card in order to make a call. I regret this phone purchase.
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Bought two, both are paperweights

07/14/2014
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone to get an entry level smartphone since I was not sure if I would stay with Straight talk when I signed up after coming from a regional carrier (US Cellular). Straight talk as a service I would wholeheartedly recommend, as long as you don't call customer service (they read from scripts and told me to call them when my phone had an issue- it was intermmitment, so that really was not possible). This phone locks up all the time. It took me 8 minutes to make a phone call once because it kept returning to the home screen.
When switching between apps it will often lock up. I do not use any unusual apps on my phone either- twitter, netflix, Hulu plus, and some banking apps. I have tried uninstalling all of the apps and re-installing them and the phone acts the same way.
Customer service will not be helpful nor sympathetic at all. There is no reason this phone should be sold at all. It is broken from the get-go.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Honest Opinion after a week

12/25/2013
By ,
Western, Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this phone for 7 days now and am getting more familiar with it. I must say that this is a very functional and easy to use cell phone. This is my first smart phone and I was worried about using it. I have had no issues whatsoever. My kids text me all the time and because of some other reviews I was worried about that. Texting is easy with a good sized screen which respond lightning fast and is easy to see and type. The search button is also very easy to use and it responds quickly. Pictures are easy to take and come out clean and crisp. I'm also back in school and downloaded a chemistry app as well as a statistics app. So far they have worked perfectly. I have had no issues with this phone.
On cyber Monday I bought it for $29 on walmart.com and I hope it will be offered at that price again after Xmas. I would without a doubt recommend this phone. It is easy to use, easy to set up, text, take pictures, dial, etc... Great Phone for the price. Even at the current $99 I would buy another if I lost this one. For whatever it is worth to you, that's my two cents...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Not worth it at any price.

05/18/2014
By ,
San Jose, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned this phone for almost a year.I don't know why I've put up with it for so long. The sound on speaker, as well as regular mode is awful. Difficult to understand what people are saying,kind of crackly and unclear. I turned it in for a new one after 2 weeks, but the 2nd was just as bad as 1st. I had hoped to play music on it, but gave up on that idea…If spoken word is bad, then music would probably be worse. I have found some improvement with a decent set of earphones. GPS worked at the beginning, but no longer works. The Download feature never worked WiFi originally worked pretty well, but now it's hard to get on-line. Photo quality OK in daylight situations, but poor in anything but perfect lighting (grainy,color off.) Bottom line, pay a little more…it will be worth it to avoid the frustration and poor quality of phone. I doubt I will get a Hybrid model on any brand from here on out…the Galaxy Centura is only for Straight Talk,Ibelieve, so perhaps if you get a regular model of Samsung,like the SIII, it might be better.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Keeps shutting down

11/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I keep having problems with it shutting down or something. The screen will be black so you think it's just sleeping but when you push the power button to light it up, nothing happens. So I'll think it just shut off and hold the power button longer to turn it back on, but nothing happens. At that point I have to pull off the back and pull the battery out, put the battery back in and the back on again, then it will turn on. But then when it boots up it says something about OS and push the volume up to continue or push the volume down to cancel. I have no clue what they're talking about so I push the volume down to cancel and then it reboots. I miss a lot of calls and text messages for this issue because you never notice it did this until you check how much battery you have or go to use the phone for something. I'm very disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

If you like frustration you will love this phone

06/20/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have owned this phone for about a yr now. At first it worked ok. If you scroll it down to see your messages or facebook, etc... it would not show you anything for a minute or so. Well I actually went back to walmart and asked them about the phone because sometimes it would take me 12 MINUTES to make 1 simple phone call or I would be texting someone and I would have to get in and out 3 times for it to work. The suggested the I delete some pics, the call history and my text messages which I have done and it still sometimes takes 5-8 minutes for the phone to work properly but I have to say it is running better most of the time since doing those things. I am looking to upgrade to a better phone ASAP. It's not worth all the frustration. This is my first smart phone and I have told my wife many times I should of just kept my flip phone atleast it could do the basics like calling someone without any issues!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 537 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  27 Next