Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung S738C Prepaid Smartphone runs on the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS. With a talk time up to 7.22 hours, this Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Smartphone can keep you connected throughout the day without constantly recharging. Capture pictures and videos with the 3MPl camera and video recorder when you insert your own microSD card, up to 32GB. Prepaid Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Phones are WiFi and 3G connected, so you can enjoy your favorite websites, videos, games and music on the go with this 3.5" touchscreen.
Average Customer Rating:
3.356 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(320 Reviews) 297
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
100
4 stars
86
3 stars
32
2 stars
32
1 star
70
Customer Recommendation65%207 out of 320reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
364 Questions | 695 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
100
4 stars
86
3 stars
32
2 stars
32
1 star
70
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Can't beat this Great phone!

05/31/2013
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After too long of a time, Straight Talk has finally moved out of the dark ages and has begun to offer Android phones with the more current Android OS: 4.0 vs. 2.3 on most of their other phones. That being said this phone is an excellent phone. First, it works on the Verizon network and works well. Reception is excellent, call quality/clarity is crisp and clear. 3G is pretty decent on Verizon but don't expect anything near 4G LTE speeds. For having an 800mhz processor this phone responds very well-it's snappy and responsive with no lags. The screen is bright and gorgeous. If you're wondering how much memory it has to store apps the answer is 2.75GB which is a lot. It also has the capacity for up to 32GB external SD CARD storage (for photos and music, etc). Battery life is much better than expected. The rear facing 3MP camera is decent but is missing a flash. There is no front facing camera. It utilizes the Google Play App Store FYI. Setup was a breeze. Other features include picture caller ID and the ability to respond to an incoming call with a text message much like the iPhone 5. Voice commands work well on this phone too. All in all, coming from a smartphone geek, I rate this phone an A! Simply the best Android 4.0 phone Straight Talk has to offer. You can't go wrong especially for $99!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+336points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Deerfield, Ohio
JUNK!! DO NOT BUY WITHOUT A WALMART WARRANTY
Posted 02/08/2014
My family purchased 3 of these phones in December of 2013 as gifts and 1 of them the speaker will not work and the phone will not ring and the other 2 the time jumps around so you cannot trust using your alarm clock for fear the time will change repeatedly throughout the night. When I just called Straight talk today to replace the phone, they stated that i have to send back the phone to get a new one but during this time i will not be able to move the number to an old phone until i get the new one. I will have no phone until i send back the old phone and wait for them to ship the new phone. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!!! IF YOU DO....GET A WALMART WARRANTY SO IT CAN BE TAKEN BACK TO THE STORE. JUNK!!!
0points
Customer Avatar
elkhart in
Don't buy
Posted 12/25/2013
I AM ON MY FOURTH PHONE since September. I purchased this phone so I could check email, have GPS etc but it echoes really bad, it freezes so I have to take the battery out and put back in then restart the phone, suddenly with my latest phone--the speaker blew! I lost my alerts to calls and texts along with my alarms and could no longer use speaker phone which I use all the time. I had to transfer my number to another phone in order not to lose my number while waiting for my new phone. They will not allow me to change phones even to another Galaxy without losing the initial investment in this phone. I am soooo disillusioned with Straighttalk now than ever. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE.
0points
Customer Avatar
Fall River
sweet
Posted 06/02/2013
thanks for posting pictures! i really wanted to see how it looks in person. The screen looks great!
+2points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Frustrating phone

04/02/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is my second Centura from Walmart and through StraightTalk. I am switching after about 10 months of use. The first phone was returned to the store within 2 weeks as it would not keep time and would shut off at random times. This phone seemed to work much better and has had no problem keeping time, but has its own glitches that I have now grown tired of. Various apps cause the phone to freeze entirely, while receiving group texts from iPhones is a nightmare. More often than not, when receiving a text from an iPhone I get a "Download" option, then a subsequent "Download failed" message. The download continues to attempt itself for hours afterwards, producing even more "download failed" messages. They have all attempted to change the settings on their phone but to no avail. My iPhone friends have adjusted and now no longer text me, but rather just call. I am giving it 2 stars because there have not been any problems with calling people, but problems with just about every other aspect.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Honest Opinion after a week

12/25/2013
By ,
Western, Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this phone for 7 days now and am getting more familiar with it. I must say that this is a very functional and easy to use cell phone. This is my first smart phone and I was worried about using it. I have had no issues whatsoever. My kids text me all the time and because of some other reviews I was worried about that. Texting is easy with a good sized screen which respond lightning fast and is easy to see and type. The search button is also very easy to use and it responds quickly. Pictures are easy to take and come out clean and crisp. I'm also back in school and downloaded a chemistry app as well as a statistics app. So far they have worked perfectly. I have had no issues with this phone.
On cyber Monday I bought it for $29 on walmart.com and I hope it will be offered at that price again after Xmas. I would without a doubt recommend this phone. It is easy to use, easy to set up, text, take pictures, dial, etc... Great Phone for the price. Even at the current $99 I would buy another if I lost this one. For whatever it is worth to you, that's my two cents...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Very Satisfied

07/15/2013
By ,
Enterprise, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first smart phone. So please take into consideration that I am "smartphone challenged". At first I was ready to return it and go back to my old flip phone. After a little tutoring from daughter in law and 2 weeks of using it I like it much better. I am amazed at all the capabilities of this phone. The ST Samsung phones use Verizon towers. So that was a big consideration in the purchase of this brand since Verizon is very strong in my area. So before purchasing any phone read the reviews. Do your research to find out which brand of ST phones are serviced by what cellular provider and what service is strongest for your area. (My old flip phone was also a ST
Samsung so I knew the brand I needed). The only reason I gave it a 4 is because some of the apps like the GPS really drain your battery. (not uncommon for all smartphones) I do recommend purchasing a car charger for on the go. I also spent the extra $9 for the damage warranty. Hope this is helpful!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+96points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

My second smart phone first was an LG with Sprint

06/14/2013
By ,
Midland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone has already exceeded expectations for me. I bought in May and just activated today.
However, I have been using the phone off of my Wi-Fi and was impressed with what I was able to do even before activation including sending photos and email plus getting the downloaded apps. I wanted.
A great surprise this morning as the straight talk customer service worked like a charm. Last time I tried to activate a different phone with them it was a night mare. But today it was perfect, the phone was activated and number ported in less than 10 minutes.
My first call was to my daughter and she said the voice quality was excellent I knew I was having no problems hearing her. Must add that st. talk listened and corrected my difficulties with them and managed to keep me as a customer when I had already convinced my self that maybe it was too big of a hassle.
This phone with the updated android is huge step up for those of you wanting to remain on Verizon towers like I did and get a st. talk smart phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+99points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

cheap outdated glitchy phone

12/25/2013
By ,
maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
With practice, you can get this phone to do its job. (1) When you plug it in to charge--check to see if it feels like charging. If it isn't in the mood--reboot by holding down the on/off button and when the menu appears choose to shut it down completely--then re-start. Usually, it will now charge. (2) If the phone is not in the mood to tell the correct time--go to settings, then date and time, and click 'automatic date and time' on and off once. This should correct the problem for the moment. After re-booting to fix the charging problem, the time problem often crops up too--so check. (3) If your phone call does not end when you end the call (this will happen), go to Settings/Accessibility/and check' power-button ends call'. (4) If you cannot get your music onto the SD card--I can't help you--I have not been able to do that either. Straighttalk needs to fix this. Many people with this phone are streaming their music--using up data time--because the SD card is un-accessible. No-one on line knows how to fix this.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

My first Smartphone

05/23/2013
By ,
Newburgh, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I get to my review. I have to make it clear this is my first EVER smartphone.I needed a phone with apps, especially for GPS for my new job. About a year ago, the last cheap prepaid I bought for almost 70 bucks I thought the phone had all the apps I needed/wanted FB/Pandora/Youtube and it clearly said on the box "download apps" but, it was just a regular old cheap phone. So yesterday the 22nd of May I went and bought this phone for 99 bucks. I was nervous I was going to waste my money again, get home set it up and not have the actual apps I wanted. Man was I happy about my choice. Not only did it have everything I wanted, it was the perfect phone for me. This phone is about 5 time the speed of my wifes phone and a lot easier to guide through the phone. I could sit here all morning about all the amazing things about this phone but, I need to get to sleep. If anyone is reading this and is having doubts about this purchase, don't. Go out and buy this right now!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+705points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
Princeton, MN
@IlovetheLORD1
Posted 08/24/2013
I'm not sure if this is the problem or not. When you leave home do you have the phone on Wi-Fi or do you turn that off. I've read that if the Wi-Fi is turned on and you leave home, providing at home you are using your Wi-Fi signal like I do, that it will keep searching for a Wi-Fi signal and not use the cell towers like a "normal" cell phone which causes the calls to be dropped. I've had this for for under a week now so I am a "newbie" to smart phones but mine works great as long as I turn off the Wi-Fi when I leave home.
0points
Customer Avatar
Aliquippa Pa
Do not Buy!!!!
Posted 08/01/2013
Phone is not good, always drops calls, the time on the phone is always wrong, even after adjusting the time zone it awalys switches back to the incorrect time. slow slow slow internet, phone is very sensative to touch. freezes up on youtube videos all the time. this phone runs of verizon towers so please do your reasearch before buying. im so glad walmart posts the codes for service providers now i will be buying some other phone that works off cdma-s sprint towers. save you money it's not worth the buy now i cant return it beacause it been past 15days more money wasted!!!!!!
-4points
Customer Avatar
Dyer
Towers
Posted 07/26/2013
What towers does this run on Verizon or AT&T? It is a blue map or a red map?
0points
Customer Avatar
Easley, SC
Centura Phone
Posted 07/23/2013
Where did you purchase a cover/case for this phone? I bought it and then returned it to Walmart because I could not find a cover/case for the phone. Otherwise, I loved it. Wanted to keep it but couldn't without a cover for protection.
0points
Customer Avatar
Camera on front??
Posted 06/04/2013
Does it have a camera on the front??
+2points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great alternative to the more expensive phones

04/15/2014
By ,
LaGrange, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the Galaxy Centura about a week ago, based off the positive reviews on this site. I had a Galaxy Precedent, which was just as good a phone, but operated off the Sprint network, which gave me really spotty-poor coverage beyond the city limits.
I am extremely pleased with the price, and also with the capabilities of the phone. Although, one thing I might add is that some of the 1 star ratings mentioned that you cannot hear very well on the phone, and unfortunately, they are somewhat right. I think they exaggerated quite a bit with only 1 star, but so far, that has been the only drawback for me.
I would highly reccommend this phone for someone who wants the features of a smart phone, but doesn't want to pay the high price. The I-Phones and galaxies on the straighttalk plan start at around $300, and go up to around $600. Not gonna do it!! And not gonna pay the high monthly prices, along with lengthy contract, that Verizon requires.
Absolutely love my straighttalk plan, and now love my new Galaxy Centura.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for $99.88

12/24/2013
By ,
Lagrange, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone!! I wanted a proclaim but Walmart was out of them and I needed a phone ASAP..because my Verizon phone screen froze :( and I was just tired of their high prices!! I was skeptical about buying this one because I read a lot of bad reviews and a few good ones..plus the rating was kind of low at only three stars. But so far its doing excellent. It works on the Verizon network. A lot of memory space. Great battery life. Takes clear pictures. Alot of apps on google play. And it DOES tell when you get a text or call..unless you're deaf. Voice quality is clear.When I play music it sounds like a radio. The screen is not too huge or too small. Which I like because I hate Huge phone screens..I have a tablet already!! Great WiFi connection. No drop calls and great internet connection. The only thing I don't like is that it doesn't have a keyboard like my other phone..I was so used to it. Everything is touch screen..but the virtual keyboard works the same way, so its fine. Plus easy to use. So yeah, I guess sometimes you just have to take a chance when you see a few bad reviews. This phone works great for me :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great Deal!

05/17/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently bought the Samsung Galaxy Centura, because my previous phone (Samsung Showcase) was having some issues. Overall, this phone is a deal! I won't pay $350-$450 for a smartphone when most of Straight Talk's phones are outdated.
Pros:
- 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich operating system. Next to the SIII (that they just now have), the Centura is the only smart phone with an updated OS. 4.0 runs very smoothly, has awesome apps and of course is more up to date.
- The $99 price tag. I was floored that this was only $99!! I did some research to make sure there wasn't a catch.
- Graphics are really good. My previous phone was more on the "pixely" side. The Centura's is bright and clear!
- This phone is a CDMA-V, which means it runs on the Verizon network! For me, this is a pro!
Con:
- Screen Size. The screen size 3.5". I wish it was a 4", but I can't complain too much!
- No front facing camera. I am still kind of amazed they still make phones without this feature.
Other than that, I love this phone. I haven't had any issues! Definitely worth the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+430points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Brightwood, VA
Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura Prepaid phone
Posted 12/26/2013
I've had this phone about a month.......still learning, as I had an old flip phone from verizon. Was sad that I was unable to keep the same number because Verizon required information that I didn't have available. Although the booklet doesn't answer every question, I'm learning how to work this phone as I go along......nothing worthwhile in life is ever easy, so I'm learning something new about this phone each passing day, which is good.
0points
Customer Avatar
East Central Kansas
Do you think it is comparable to the showcase?
Posted 09/08/2013
I LOVED my showcase, but alas, it has had an abrupt trip to the cell phone graveyard. I am bummed that there are no straight talk phones that work in my area that are in the galaxy s line by Samsung. Wish Straight talk would just use Verizon's towers and not bother with sprint.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Do not buy this phone!

04/13/2014
By ,
Salem, Or
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought my first one Nov 2013 for $99 at Walmart. Since it was my first android phone, I didn't want to pay too much for a phone. In Jan 2014 the phone would not charge. I called Straight Talk and they said to send it back, which I did. They sent me a replacement phone which was a refurbished phone. Not happy with that since I had bought new, I expected a new replacement. Now it is April 2014 and this phone will not charge. I called Straight Talk again and we are in the process of sending mine back and getting another replacement. I ask if I could get a new one this time and she said she didn't have any control over whether I got a new or refurbished replacement phone. The only thing I can say nice about he phone is that it looks nice. Phone coverage in my area is good too, but doesn't do me any good if I can't get the the phone to work. My recommendation is not to waste your money. Spend a little more and get a better product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Horrible battery life.

12/13/2013
By ,
Gaylord, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I hate this phone! It has the worst battery life ever! Most days the phone dies before I go to lunch at school. It is not just my phone either. My mom has the same phone and she is having the same problems as I am. There are other flaws to the phone. Our phones like to do a total reset and I have lost all of my pictures and music. Also, the time likes to reset itself. There has been countless times where I have been late to school because my phone has reset the time. The phone never tells me when I have a text message and it never rings when someone calls me. Also, my music app opens and starts playing at random times. I have deleted all of my apps to see if that would help with the battery life, it did not phase it. The battery still drained within three hours. I close all of my apps before I lock my phone and that also does nothing for the battery life. Overall I am very disappointed with this straight talk phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Terrible Battery
Posted 12/17/2013
Agreed on the terrible battery life. Had 1 month of good battery. Downhill from there. Don't buy this phone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Fantastic Value, Except for the Camera

06/04/2013
By ,
San Diego
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After several years with Sprint I was ready to spend less money on phone service. Last year I switched to Straight Talk. I wasn't impressed with the phone selection (for the prices) so went for an old, cheap model for about 9 months until the Centura came along. I've now used it for 3 weeks.
My last Smartphone was a Galaxy S (Epic, Gen 1), so in some ways the Centura is a step down. What makes it all worth it is Ice Cream Sandwich and the Straight Talk price. Also that it runs on Verizon's network so I can actually get a signal 99% of the time.
I do really love this phone.
Except for the camera. I discovered yesterday that it does not have auto focus. My Galaxy S was able to scan documents and barcodes perfectly. This phone is badly far-sighted. I cannot focus on any text closer than a couple feet away. It makes QR and barcode reading very difficult and document scanning and receipt storage impossible.
I will be upgrading this much sooner than I had originally hoped. I await another Android/Verizon/$99 combo with a better camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Washington DC
Not a great value
Posted 11/12/2013
I have had several generations and brands of Smart phones. This phone does not even have text-to-speech and it runs on android 4.0. Would not recommend. Very limited.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Marion, ohio
Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura
Posted 11/09/2013
Due to work downsizing I went to this prepaid phone. I previously enjoyed Droid X and I phone 4s.
This phone is a PURE disappointment. It is seriously laggy in all its efforts to connect to any internet. It will make you wait to connect a call to anyone. The apps installed are usually slow to start and function. It will drop calls. It will turn off randomly. It is not a good phone.
To place the words 'smart phone' with straight talk service is not a reality. I thought afterwords that I would simply use it as a phone and no internet. OOOOPS! have to buy the $45 card in order to make a call. I regret this phone purchase.
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for anyone

08/14/2013
By ,
Charleston SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am definitely not an entry-level user. I've had cell phones going back to when they were as big as a purse. I bought this because I absolutely hate contracts, and I didn't want to spend $400 plus on a "high end" smartphone. I have owned iPhone, Blackberrys, and many other brands and operating systems. This one is my favorite.
What else could you want? $99 for the phone and $45 a month for unlimited everything, and this phone runs on the Verizon network, which in my area has the best coverage by far. Features: For starters, its a Samsung product. Quality is next to none. Android 4.0 is awesome! It has Bluetooth and Wifi. Download the iSync app and wirelessly transfer your iTunes to this phone. Video is stunning quality, and I just played Pink's new YouTube video with no hesitation. Sound quality is great. Call quality is great and so far no dropped calls.
If you like to Skype it does not have a front facing camera. That is the only downside I can see to what I think is the best deal on a full-featured smartphone available on the market today. Thanks Samsung and Straight Talk!
mnstar
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Great for beginners, minus the glitches.

04/01/2014
By ,
Concord, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm 35 and this is my first smartphone. I've come out of the dark ages! This phone is very easy to use. I thought it would take me a long time to figure everything out, being new to touch screens and auto-correct, but it was really a snap. The screen is beautiful and crisp; the camera takes clear pictures; and everything is user-friendly. I've had it for about a month now and I'm a pro....I think. ;) The only complaint I have about the phone is that for me, at least, it tends to freeze at least once daily. Usually it's when something is being updated, but other times it's when I'm trying to charge it. When this happens, I usually have to shut it off and turn it back on again, to correct the issue. Also, even though I have only half of the phone's memory occupied, my apps tend to run slow. Being a first timer, I'm not sure if this is normal behavior for a smart phone or not. That being said, overall it is a good phone for the price. The freezing and crashing happens just enough to be annoying but not enough that I worry too much. I'd recommend it to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C

11/05/2013
By ,
Yorkville TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Since this is the first time to try an android phone I was anxious to see what it would do. If you have never had one like this, just give it time to learn how to use it. Getting use to the touch screen takes time. Has voice activation for calling and text. After I found out what it could do with this phone I loved it.
There was only one thing wrong with it. The camera did not take good pictures. There is no auto focus on it. If taking pictures is not an issue with you then you will like it. I would give this phone a 5 if not for that. The Google app store has many good apps to download. I even downloaded Candy Crush Saga and it was FREE! It played great! Texting and the phone features worked good. The internet was great on this phone! I took it back two days later after restoring it to the original factory setting (which took off my downloads and contact list). I ordered a more advanced phone with a better camera. I am pleased with the straight talk service! Have been with straight talk for several years and service is great! Love the prepaid cards!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Shocked

09/13/2013
By ,
Myrtle Beach
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I Purchased this Galaxy Centura 3 days ago. It drops calls, internet connection is iffy at best. But, WORST OF ALL, this phone does not disconnect when you end the call. The other party can hear everything that is being said on your end, even though you have no idea the line is still connected! Not to mention the fact, this phone automatically dials the last person you spoke with, even after you cleared the screen, it is face up on the table and supposedly locked! AGAIN, the other party is privy to anything being said! What? I'm sure that I am no different than any other consumer, my cell is used for business as well as for my own personal use, well this particular model takes OUR PERSONAL PRIVACY, to a whole new level!!! This smartphone (questionable at best) is going back to Walmart for a full refund! If you have one of these, you need to be fully aware of the GLITCHES in this particular model. I would Never recommend purchasing this phone to anyone! Damage control is Unbelievable!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Picayune, MS
Samsung Galaxy Proclaim is better
Posted 11/20/2013
Drop the phone and get the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. This phone, even with gingerbread 2.3.6 is so much better.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Nice entry level smartphone with Android 4.0

05/20/2013
By ,
Palmer, ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picked this one up for my in-laws. Was planning on getting the Galaxy Proclaim, but they were out, and this was the new Galaxy in the lineup.
Definitely a step up from the Proclaim, and it includes Android 4.0. This phone is nice and light, and is pretty quick for a 800MHz phone running the Ice Cream Sandwich flavor of Android.
Verizon towers, so no issue there, good connectivity and speed thus far. Two quirks that have popped up, and both are related to the stock messaging app - first, I haven't found an "enter" key on the stock messaging keyboard (even Shift doesn't change the emoticon to an enter key), and 2nd, if you take a portrait photo, and attempt to send it via text, it often times compresses the photo, but also rotates it, stretching the photo from it's native portrait layout to a landscape - very weird.
Other than that, it's a really nice Android phone for $100!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+258points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Don't waste your money

11/13/2013
By ,
Springfield, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone as a replacement for the LG I had through Straight Talk. The only thing it has going for it is it's on the Verizon towers in my area, which means I actually get signal strength. That is about it. It constantly freezes up on me where I have to remove the battery to restart it. I actually have to do this several times a day. I even removed all the apps I downloaded (all 4 of them) to see if that was the problem, and it wasn't. I have had several issues with the clock being several hours off. I have to set 2 alarms now. One morning my phone said 1:05am, and it was 6:05am. The memory is nice, better then my old LG. I think i'm going to look at the Christmas ads and see if I can't find something else. I'm just very unhappy with the phone. My old phone gave me fits for so long, and then when we actually had the money to replace it, I got this, and now I wish I had my old one back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Fort Stewart, GA
Posted 11/29/2013
Is it possible that you just got a defective phone? I believe Samsung gives a one year standard warranty. (One of my friends had a defective Galaxy Proclaim, he sent it into Samsung and they sent him a new one)
0points
Customer Avatar
Picayune, MS
Samsung Galaxy Proclaim is better
Posted 11/20/2013
Return the phone and get the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim. This phone, even with gingerbread 2.3.6 is so much better.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone

Good phone until you start to really use it

04/08/2014
By ,
Huron, SD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I initially thought this was a very good phone. I knew I wasn't getting an iPhone but figured for $100 it would at least be decent. Phone worked great for about 6 months. The last couple months have been annoying. Phone will freeze almost daily. My keyboard doesn't work half the time. I just got off the phone with Straight Talk and they basically told me this is a limited phone and I can't expect much from it. I should only download the "essential" apps. That's all I had. I had maybe 2 games on my phone. The rest were apps such as kindle reader, wonderlist, pandora, map my run and a couple radio stations. The GPS takes 5-10 minutes to locate my signal. When turning wifi on and off sometimes it would freeze the phone. If you're going to the VERY basic functions of a "smart phone" this might be ok for you. If you want somewhat normal functions then this won't work for long.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 298 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next