Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura Prepaid Smartphone features the Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) OS.
Average Customer Rating:
2.993 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(608 Reviews) 585
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
158
4 stars
134
3 stars
50
2 stars
78
1 star
188
Customer Recommendation54%328 out of 608reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
509 Questions | 1,004 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
158
4 stars
134
3 stars
50
2 stars
78
1 star
188
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone

07/27/2013
By ,
Panama City FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my phone for 2 weeks now. 2nd smart phone I have ever had that is worth anything. I shopped around and found things on other phones that just wasn't right for me for the price. This phone is amazing! If it doesn't have it on it you can find an app for it. Believe me there is an app for "everything". Google play is amazing for apps. My signal has yet to drop. Even in Walmart I still have a signal. The Wifi signal is also great on this phone. Camera is small in pixles but I didn't buy phone for the camera. Buy a sd card for it and your set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone

My First Smartphone

07/30/2013
By ,
Yuma, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this phone a week ago and I love it! I had an older non smartphone and really need a new phone. I did my research and this one was the best, without having to spend $300-$700, phone I found. I just wish Wal-Mart would sell covers for these phones. For a Smartphone it is doing everything I need it to do. I can take pictures and post them right to Facebook. I also wish it had a front facing camera but it doesn't. Other then that I think this phone is worth the money for a first smartphone for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone

samsung galaxy centura

08/06/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this phone a week ago and it was awesome! Everything met my expectations and it was faster than my brothers other 100.00 phone. Buy This Phone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone

First smart phone

08/06/2013
By ,
Upstate NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's easy to learn and easy to use. Quite a bigger screen than my old ravine flip phone. The best part for me is I get great phone service with it. With straight talk this phone pays for itself in three months savings from my old Verizon bills, and I still use Verizon towers and voice mail.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone

This is my first Android and I love it.

08/09/2013
By ,
oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to navigate, have barely needed the manual. My only "complaint" is that the battery life is not great. Great value for the price, we have already bought a second one for my husband.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone
08/12/2013
By ,
Middletown, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my Samsung Galaxy Centura, it is a great starting out smart phone. I am new to the touch screen but I enjoy it very much. It is hard to take a picture of yourself unless you look in the mirror, that is the only thing that I wish I could do easier. I do plan on upgrading when I get good at using my new technology but it wont be for a long while, I am happy with my phone, I learn something new about it everyday.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for anyone

08/14/2013
By ,
Charleston SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am definitely not an entry-level user. I've had cell phones going back to when they were as big as a purse. I bought this because I absolutely hate contracts, and I didn't want to spend $400 plus on a "high end" smartphone. I have owned iPhone, Blackberrys, and many other brands and operating systems. This one is my favorite.
What else could you want? $99 for the phone and $45 a month for unlimited everything, and this phone runs on the Verizon network, which in my area has the best coverage by far. Features: For starters, its a Samsung product. Quality is next to none. Android 4.0 is awesome! It has Bluetooth and Wifi. Download the iSync app and wirelessly transfer your iTunes to this phone. Video is stunning quality, and I just played Pink's new YouTube video with no hesitation. Sound quality is great. Call quality is great and so far no dropped calls.
If you like to Skype it does not have a front facing camera. That is the only downside I can see to what I think is the best deal on a full-featured smartphone available on the market today. Thanks Samsung and Straight Talk!
mnstar
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+89points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone
08/17/2013
By ,
Farmington, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is very nice for talk text and web in my location. I like that it has voice calling and voice activation. The internet quality is good as well as the touch screen. I did not expect mine to come in blue. I purchased this at my local wal mart and it exceeded my expectations of a prepaid phone. I would definately reccomend this to anyone who likes to surf the web and not want to pay a fortune. I will be a customer of Straight Talk until I find a better deal, which is unlikely.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone

cell phone

08/18/2013
By ,
neoedsha ks.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love having a straight talk prepaid smartphone it is so much more then those cell phone companys are. they r so much more money u will end up spending and there r headen fees nd other fees
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone

Good Phone for the Money

08/22/2013
By ,
Manteo, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money, you can't beat this phone. It does everything I need it to do. I haven't had any service issues with it, even when traveling to another state. It's fast, the battery stays charged for 2-3 days depending on how much I use it, and it's really lightweight. Overall, very satisfied with this phone and Straight-talk in general.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone

I'm new to "Smart Phones" so...

08/24/2013
By ,
Princeton, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this Samsung Galaxy Centura for about 4 days now and like it very much. While it may not be the smartest of the smart phones it's a big jump up from my old Motorola V171 flip phone.
My wife Janice passed away on Aug, 5th. Seeing as I no longer need a home phone I sprung for this phone, which will be my primary number due to me cancelling my home phone.
Anyway, so far so good with this phone. My only problem/question would be: How many of the built in apps do I really need and which ones can I get rid of? I know, just like a computer, this OS needs things to be running for it to work but there's got to be some of them that can be eliminated to free up memory. It would also be super if apps could be installed onto the micro SD card. But, such is life. Like I said before, it's one heck of a leap up from my old phone and I'm happy with it. I've had to charge the battery every night so far due to my "playing" with it since I picked it up. I suppose after the "new" wears off a bit and I quit "playing" with it the battery will give a sigh of relief and last longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone for a beginner Smart Phone

08/24/2013
By ,
Supply, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought my wife her first smartphone and she loves it...
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone

Best buy for an entry level smart phone

08/31/2013
By ,
waynesboro, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone does so much for $100, I have 30 aps on my phone and been using it without any problems whatsoever for 2 months. I do wish you could move aps to SD but with all the memory the phone has it isn't a problem for me, yet! By far the best phone Straight talk offers around $100 or less, Great buy, totally recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone

Outstanding

09/04/2013
By ,
Spotsylvania, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone as a gift for a friend. I got it set up and going before giving it to him, and it is an outstanding phone. I was able to do everything with it that my Apple IPhone 4 does.The response time is fantastic and apps load quickly. I talk to him daily on this phone and he thinks it is absolutely wonderful. Screen resolution, voice clarity and altogether ease of use make this phone and outstanding deal to be had. 1 thought for caution ** is to always make sure to check on the local provider in your area as not all phones work in all places.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone

Happy So Far

09/05/2013
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smart phone. I've had it for 2 months and so far, so good. It seems to be a great value and works well. I've got several apps on it and it has not seemed to slow it down. I especially like that I am able to automatically back up all photos and videos to google +. As a parent, losing pictures is devastating. My husband has the phone as well, and we are going to soon buy it for my soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone

awesome phone

09/05/2013
By ,
Murrieta CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my 13 yr old son. Its pretty fast and I bought it because it has the 4.0 ice cream sandwhich. He's a techie kid and he's very pleased with the phone. I found plenty of phone covers on Amazon for this phone as well, for $6.99. You cant go wrong with the 2 year warranty for $9 either! Much better than being locked into a contract for 2 years and no one offers $45 a month unlimited. I will probably ditch Sprint once my contract is up and switch to this plan myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone
09/06/2013
By ,
Hurricane, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Straight Talk Samsung S738C Galaxy Centura because I thought I'd give smartphones a try one last time. I had purchased two other smartphones previously and was not happy with them. They were confusing at best and at worst, had little or no battery life and dropped too many calls. This was my last try.
To my surprise, this phone has been great! It has all the features that the more expensive phones have and the price was less than my last non-smart cell phone. I have always liked Samsung phones and other Samsung products, and I have been with Straight Talk for several years now. I got the other two smartphones with a different carrier and cancelled them almost immediately because of the poor quality, dropped calls and poor reception, as well as the difficulty trying to figure them out. I always kept my Straight Talk account active with my non-smart phone just in case and I am glad I did.
I am happy with Straight Talk - their prices and the call quality in my area are great - and the new phone is wonderful. I will not be switching from Straight Talk, and I recommend them to all my friends. Several of my friends have switched over to Straight Talk and are also very happy with the monthly price and the features, especially true unlimited talk and text.
If you are looking for a smartphone that won't cost you an arm and a leg, but delivers the features, speed and call quality of a more expensive phone, I highly recommend the Straight Talk S738C Samsung Galaxy Centura or one of the other Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy products. Also, the camera and speakerphone work very well for such a reasonably priced phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone

great phone for getting into a smart phone.

09/10/2013
By ,
kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone was easy to learn. I haven't had any problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone

Great First-time Smartphone

09/23/2013
By ,
KCMO Metro Area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a computer geek--but not the kind that works with Microsoft or Apple. I work in the world of automotive computers that make your vehicle run.
I've never needed a smartphone, just simple talk/text capabilities. However, a couple of recent events forced me to make some changes--Sprint changed some cell towers making my cellphone unusable at home, and my ISP changed ownership making my email service deplorable. The final straw was loaning my Sprint phone to a stranded motorist, who accidentally dropped it--down a storm drain.
Tried to negotiate with Sprint, but everything they showed me was going to cost me $150-$200/month, and at least $300 out-of-pocket at the store for two phones. Plus activation. Plus $15.74/mo in "Sprint Surcharges". Plus $7.18/mo in "Government Fees & Taxes". Decided to investigate Straight Talk at Walmart.
WOW!! Left Walmart with two of these phones, plus 30-days Unlimited Everything for each. Total cost $290, plus sales tax. No activation fee. No contract. Plan cost for the two phones will now be $90/mo plus sales tax for Unlimited Everything.
SET-UP: A piece of cake--if you have all the required info, especially your current provider account number, phone number, and PIN. I provided all the info at the Straight Talk website, and despite indications that it could take 1-2 days to "port" my existing numbers, I had everything transferred in less than two hours. Everything was working.
CONTACTS TRANSFER: Get it over with. Set up a Google G-mail accounts, and sync them with the phones. You can then import Outlook Express, Outlook, your old phone, etc. into G-Mail Contacts. Use G-Mail to edit everything, and eliminate and combine entries. In three hours I had everything in G-Mail as I wanted it--email addresses, phone numbers, street addresses, etc.--and they magically appeared in the phones. This is way cool.
USAGE: Okay, this is my first venture into smartphones, and probably the biggest learning curve. Stongly suggest downloading the complete manual from the website. The provided "Quick Start" guide is woefully inadequate. Lots of new stuff to learn. I didn't even know how to answer an incoming call!
AFTER THE FIRST WEEK: Why did I put this off so long? My home computers are now linked to my phones! Love G-mail. Love getting email on the phones. Love the Verizon service. Everything works. Far more capability (stuff I thought I didn't need), and I'm hooked. And, I'm actually saving $40-50/month over my old Sprint talk/text only service.
IN RETROSPECT: This phone rocks, does everything it's billed to do, and makes a great first smartphone. However, now that I'm irreversibly hooked, I wish I'd blown more money for a Galaxy S4 and 4G service. But, I can certainly live with it until it's time for a replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Centura S738C Prepaid Smartphone

learning curve for me

09/26/2013
By ,
Monica's back door
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First smart phone for me so I'm still getting used to it. The features are overwhelming. I'll never use the all(make that most of them). You need the manual to learn a lot of the features. You find it online. It's only 325 pages so you'll read that in one sitting I'm sure. I got a case for it which is quite sturdy. I'll like it and plan to keep it quite a while. Would I watch a movie or send email from it? No the display is too small for that. I think you need a tablet for that or something bigger.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 586 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  30 Next