Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Average Customer Rating:
4.424 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(283 Reviews) 247
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
192
4 stars
58
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation93%262 out of 283reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
192
4 stars
58
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone, price and service

08/17/2013
By ,
Arizona Mountains
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are wanting to cut loose from Verizon, this phone does it! It is specifically made to work with the Verizon network (the V in CDMA-V signifies Verizon). Straight Talk is the way to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

great reception everywhere i have been.

12/02/2013
By ,
East Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is just great. The screen is just the right size. I really like it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Excellent phone

12/09/2013
By ,
Ayden, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this phone 4 months. Performance has been flawless. Excellent reception and pictures. I admit I was skeptical about switching to the Straight Talk phone service but have had no regrets. Service and phone have exceeded my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Easy to Operate

05/13/2013
By ,
Hopedale, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for nearly a month - and I must say - I Love It!!!! This is my first smartphone and I'm extremely glad I went with the LG Optimus Showtime. Battery life is excellent. I can go a full day with no charge browsing the web/facebook for about two hours off and on, talking, and texting. I almost spent the money and bought the Iphone4, but couldn't talk myself into $200.00 more than this phone. Plus, my last phone was an LG and battery life was great. I do not regret this purchase at all. Plus, where we live Verizon is the best service to have. I even get service where I never had service before even with Verizon. This phone was so easy to learn to navigate!!! Wonderful phone - highly recommend!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+71points
Review 5 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone

05/26/2013
By ,
Madison, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone a little over two months ago and it's awesome! The 1GHz processor is quick and snappy and the 320Mb of RAM is enough to play games and simple multi-tasking. The 4.3" screen is big and vivid (800x480/217 PPI resolution) it's almost perfect however I've had slight problems with the screen dimming during games or charging. The 5 MP camera is awesome if you take pictures occasionally and it records in HD 1080p! The housing around the phone could be better (it feels a little bit flimsy and could use a better finish) but if you're looking for a upper-midrange smart phone without a contract then this is the phone for you!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 6 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Step Up

06/08/2013
By ,
west st paul, mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second smartphone, with my first being the Straight Talk Samsung Proclaim. I was ready to move on from the "beginner" phone but I wanted to stick with one that used Verizon towers. After searching for a month, Straight Talk finally came up with this, the LG Optimus Showtime L86C. I have had it for 3 days and so far I have not been sorry. The only complaint, if you want to call it that, is that after downloading a few of the apps that I had used with my old phone, it seemed as if I could not sign into them through Facebook. I'm assuming that there must have been some time lag in between the phones ability to sync with my info and that may have caused a delay in allowing my apps to work the way they did with the old phone.
I love my camera, both front facing and standard. It seems to auto-focus and even includes a FLASH! This is a definite step up for me. I also like the control I feel I have when using the touch screen. This phone doesn't seem as sensitive to swipe or choose apps. I am happy with my choice and so far, there is no regret on this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

switch from iphone to android

09/26/2013
By ,
nixa mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am new to android phones, just switched from an iphone 4 and it may take some time to adjust but the phone is fast and I think the facial recognition screen lock is a great option! The phone is lightweight and it was easy to find a case and screen protector for it. Downloads seem fast, texting is OK with the phone in the horizontal position.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

This phone is THE BEST phone for straight talk!

10/29/2013
By ,
Binghamton, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone exceeds my expectations and I purchased the refurbished one that has been on and off the website because of its high demand. I actually had my order delayed two days waiting for this phone to be available. Well worth the wait. Faster and bigger than my verizon LG Lucid phone. I have watched this phone since it was released and finally was able to escape verizons contract.
Advice is use wifi when possible and do not do illegal downloading or pirating because you will be flagged from straight talk and have problems. Other than that my showtime has better service in my house than my Lucid did. 4 bars as oppose to 1.5-2 if i'm lucky even though they both are CDMA verizon phones. Get this phone new or refurbished while you can. Also get a good silicone/hard hybrid case. These are the best for shock absorption. A screen protector as well as this does not have gorilla glass like my lucid does. we will see how it holds up to a car mechanics demands and accidents. If you do have problems be patient with straight talk service. It always pays off for me in the end.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Cedar City, Utah
I love this phone!!
Posted 11/13/2013
I have owned the LG Optimus Showtime for about 6 months now and I couldn't love it more! So happy I purchased it. The battery keeps it's charge well and I seem to have even better signal than I did on my previous smart phone. The cameras take great-looking photos and video and internet browsing is fast and easy. I will be using this phone for a very long time!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Omaha, NE
Great Phone-Great Plan-Reasonably Priced
Posted 11/12/2013
I previously had a Samsung Stratosphere and a Verizon Plan. That phone had so many bugs and glitches it almost drove me insane. That was my first smart phone and I was very leery about purchasing another. But I did my research and decided to give the Optimus Showtime a go. I have been using it now for three months and I love it! Not one problem at all. I use it for playing a few games, texting, talking, email, facebook and internet. No troubles whatsoever. I connect to WiFi as often as possible to get closer to 4G. I highly recommend this phone. :-)
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Best smartphone

11/27/2013
By ,
Louisville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best smart phone with straight talk. I love this phone Make sure you buy the warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

The greatest phone I ever had

05/03/2013
By ,
charlottesville,VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a great phone; works on Verizon network, 1 GHz processor is fast enough to manage multiple apps at the same time. The only problem is that is expensive phone, Boost selling it as Venice for 179.99 , but again boost is on Sprint network, which is slow compare to Verizon , so you paying for the phone and great service too. The phone is light, easy to manage, and make a great companion, that introduces you to the world of Android.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 11 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone
05/08/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, this is my first straight talk phone and first android. So I can't really comment on whether the 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich is better or not. I'm still learning the ins and outs of an android but as a first one I far from regret it - this phone is great. There are some cons so I'll go through those before I talk about what I do like.
- battery life is okay. For the first few days to nearly week I had to charge it every night but I was playing on it often so apps were running more frequently. With minimal app usage it lasts much longer, but still not as long as I would have liked.
-The camera is GOOD don't get me wrong but I didn't set anything and I've gone through to see if I've clicked "timer"; maybe there's something set and I don't know, my last phone wasn't very good so I'm new to a nice camera with all the settings it has, but for some reason it randomly will snap a a photo before I tap the button - it like focuses on an object I'm facing the camera at and snaps. It only happens sometimes so I don't know if it's the phone or a setting but it seems to happen if I switch back and forth to the front facing.
For now those are the only issues. It's fast, especially on verizon. You can snap shot on this phone. The quality of the photos are great - I wish it was an 8 megapixel for the price but my last was 3 so I don't have room to complain. I've talked on it a few times and no one seems to have issues hearing me, and I hear other people much clearer. The screen is clear and just the right size - not overly large but big enough that you get more on the screen.
Now since this isn't a galaxy 2 where there are easily accessible cases, I had to dig around for one. The case I bought for this phone is technically a LG Venice/Splendor LS730/US730 case but it fits perfectly! I don't know if it's just this case that fits and others won't but this one worked.
So far this phone has been worth the 249 I paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Some changes in my previous review - 3.5 stars
Posted 09/02/2013
It won't let me write another review so after owning this phone for about four months now, I've realized a few other issues I have. Now, the phone was 249 but it dropped to 199 not long after I bought it. It might actually be worth it @ 199 considering the camera is only a 5 mp and some of the other issues I'll address in a moment.
The phone is expandable to 32GB. DO this. You may not need that much GB but please please expand it to something more than the card they give you. It is not enough! This is why the phone lags at times because it needs more space. With taking photos you will quickly notice that the amount of storage is lessening quickly. I have about 173 on my camera, 4 downloaded, 27 instagramed, 1 photogrid (I usually delete them after I post), and 3 pixlromatic (I normally delete as well) and I do have a few vids as well. It shows my storage space has used .96GB in just pictures and video which is A LOT. My apps are only 217 mbs but I don't have a ton on there. I know if I keep taking pictures then eventually I'll use up the 2GB I have left. (remember that the phone's other apps that are preloaded take up on the 4gb card too)
So, as a previous user said, the phone does lag about 2 to 3 seconds at times. I've noticed it only happens when you click on apps, are on the internet. And yes, it does seem to fall to 1x instead of the 3g at random times. But most of the time I have 3g and awesome coverage. I get better coverage than my sister who's on t-mobile. And while at a Reds game I was the only person in my group who could upload to instagram while they all had zero service (on sprint).
But you need to pick a phone that you know you'll get better coverage in your area. For mine verizon and at&t works best and sprint does not. This phone is verizon.
Now, the black screen ~ Yes, this has started happening to me. It happens for like 1 second while someone is calling before it pops up for me to either answer or decline. It always goes away and the most it's up for is maybe 2 seconds. I think it's happened at other times (not just when someone calls) but I can't "remember" a time so I could be wrong.
The battery life is terrible but I said that in my previous review and it's stayed the same. What helps is if I tap into my home's wifi, to have my phone plugged in to stay charging if it's not fully charged. I do have to charge my phone pretty much every night. But my sister does the same with her galaxy 4.
I still feel like the camera should be better. I do get jealous over the mp in the galaxy 3 and 4 but in the right lighting a 5mp isn't so bad. Here's a picture of my cat with some natural sunlight: http://s985.photobucket.com/user/xmariex55/media/0830131727d_zpsbd7f55ba.jpg.html?filters[user]=137310443&filters[recent]=1&filters[publicOnly]=1&sort=1&o=0
My previous review I said "snap shot" I meant "screen shot" I don't use this feature much but I guess a lot of people use it for instagram, facebook, etc.
The video camera isn't so great. Again, better lighting like natural sunlight coming through the windows, helps but otherwise it's not very clear. I tried video taping my cat opening the closet door but because I was in the bathroom, and wasn't near the bulbs above the sink, it came out blurry.
If straight talk comes out with a galaxy s4 or a galaxy s3 that does not use sprint then I'll move onto those because although I do like this phone, the galaxies have much better specs for the price but no way am I using a sprint coverage phone.
Overall I'll have to change my previous five stars to either 3.5 or maybe close to 4. I don't think this phone is bad and it's nice for a first time andriod user or someone who doesn't need all the specs some of the popular big name phones have. But for me what draws this phone back the most is the camera/video.
It's also really hard to remove the back and I'm always afraid I'll snap the plastic! Oh and before I forget, randomly I'll be on the internet and suddenly it'll close the app and I'll have to get back on. It could be the browser with the issue - it comes preloaded with a browser and chrome. I can't remember which one it happens on but the good thing is it takes me back where I had been.
0points
Customer Avatar
It takes pictures before you click
Posted 08/20/2013
the camera has a voice automated click. So when you say certain words the camera goes off :)
+1point
Customer Avatar
Minnesota
Posted 05/08/2013
I just ordered this phone, can't wait to get it. But I went on Amazon.com and found tons of cases for this phone. Really cheap too.
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 12 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Great android phone

06/27/2013
By ,
Ogema, Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently upgraded from the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim, and I absolutely love this phone. There are so many features on this phone that exceed those of any other droids on the Straight Talk market. The main thing I really like about this phone is the front facing camera which allows video chat such as SKYPE. I also really love the clarity of the photos that are taken with this phone. The volume is exceptional on both the ringer and call volumes. The reception with this phone is also great as it runs off the Verizon towers, which is also a huge plus for this phone. Overall, this phone is very speedy, with adequate storage space on the internal memory and is an all around great purchase for any cellphone user.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 13 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

A Lot Of Phone For The Money

07/10/2013
By ,
Sherwood, Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read a lot of the reviews both positive and negative, and chose to give this phone a try.. I have yet to find any of the negative reviewers problems..
I am over 60yrs old and not a "techy" type.. I am still finding new things that this phone will do and it has a lot of items that are advertised on much more costly phones such as hands free dialing, the Bluetooth works flawlessly with the system in my car, and the phone will run for two days on a charge if you turn off the options not being used. The camera takes great pictures and are very easy to attach to emails or text messages..
I know there are better phones out there, but this one does the job for me and it met and actually exceeded all of my expectations.
Also, it was easy to get a belt clip holder, protective case and car charger on E-Bay for about $25.00.. another feature I really liked.
At $200.00, you are getting a LOT of Phone..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 14 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone

08/30/2013
By ,
burlington, ia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great phone...still learning things on it, but so far has been good...gets a good signal, needs charged every day, but have always done this with all my phones, so no big deal for me
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone

12/06/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good phone; easy to use--my 1st LG--don't think it will be my last!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Great First Android

12/08/2013
By ,
Roxboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first experience with an Android phone. So far it has been a good experience. I am still learning how to navigate it. The only negative that I have found is the battery. I have to charge the phone every day, but that is not a reason not to buy the phone. Overall, I love this phone so far. I haven't had it but two weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone
06/02/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!! I received this phone as a graduation gift because my other straighttalk phone was garbage ( Galaxy Precedent ) and I have had it for about two weeks now. I love that it uses Verizon towers without having to pay for the Verizon bills. The camera is great, front camera doesn't use flash.. picture quality doesn't seem as great. The memory is good but, if your going to download music you might as well get a bigger memory card while making this purchase, 4GB wasn't enough for my 600 songs and apps such as instagram and candy crush, and downloading the apps was quick and easy! I will say this is by far the best phone I have ever owned but, I do feel like some things should be mentioned: the phone does get warm BUT, I have found that this has caused no issues with battery life or functioning of the phone, second off it doesn't have swipe or at least I haven't found it yet, third if you leave your house/wifi connection the phone doesn't automatically switch over to using it's own internet, you have to shut off the wifi and then it will -this just takes a second but worried me @ first, so I figured it was nice to mention, lastly, the backgrounds aren't the greatest and when you add a picture of your own it zooms it and makes it look all funny.. Again I want to say this is a great phone and I don't want to discourage anyone from getting it, I've actually recommended the phone to several of my close friends and I am even buying it as a gift BUT I just wanted to add to the other reviews so that you could make a completely informed decision :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Review 18 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone
07/07/2013
By ,
Oldsmar, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased. Works like a dream. No dropped calls or bad reception. Only issue is with the battery. Must be charged every 6-8 hrs.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone
07/08/2013
By ,
Aberdeen, Wa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great device! Easy to use, great value...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone
07/08/2013
By ,
ellijay, ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best phone ive ever had.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 248 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next