Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Average Customer Rating:
4.424 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(283 Reviews) 247
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
192
4 stars
58
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation93%262 out of 283reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
192
4 stars
58
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

The Straight Talk LG L86C Showtime Is Awesome!

04/17/2013
By ,
Perry, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does use the Verizon Towers. If Verizon has the best coverage in your area then get this phone. If AT&T has the best coverage in your area then get the Samsung Galaxy S2. To me, these two phones are very similar. The biggest difference is that the LG is CDMA-V (Verizon Towers) and the Samsung is GSM (AT&T Towers). Both phones are awesome. Just purchase the one for your area coverage. I bought it today and had it activated in no time. I LOVE it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+243points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
seattle
Posted 05/09/2013
You can get a free $10 rebate on the LG Optimus Showtime http://bestfreeprepaidmobile.com/lg-optimus-showtime-back-in-stock-verizon-straight-talk/
The Samsung galaxy SII is in a totally different leauge and does not even compare with the Optimus Showtime.
The LG Optimus Showtime is an awesome ohone and worth the wait. As if anyone does not know, the market was all of the suddent limited by Walmart to where it was sold, for months. Nice to see it back.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone

04/18/2013
By ,
Man Cave, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 Ghz Processor is fast. Enough RAM. Just dumped the Precedent which was Android 2.whatever. This is 4.1 and with 32 GB micro SD card (Class 10) nice and quick. Was wondering how I would survive the prepaid year. I was getting an oil change and found this gem. Just hope I never get throttled with Straight Talk. Netflix is fine as is XM. This can actually do everything I used my notebook for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+117points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
29642
Processor
Posted 09/09/2013
In the description of the phone on Wal Mart.com it states that this LG Optimus Prepaid Android Phone has an 800MHz processor. Is it a 1 Ghz processor or 800 MHz processor. Someone has to be wrong and I hope it's Walmart. I really would like an answer before I order this phone online. I understand the Galaxy II has a 1.2 Ghz processor which would seem to make it faster. Love some feedback on this.
0points
Customer Avatar
buchanan, mi
need help locating optimus showtime
Posted 07/24/2013
I have spent weeks trying to find this phone..not aval online at walmart...been to stores listed as having in stock n nothing! spent more in gas then cost of phone. even called stores to confirm n got there to find no phone. live in buchanan, mi near south bend, in . any help in locating a phone would be appreciated.
-2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

AWESOME

04/21/2013
By ,
SEVIERVILLE TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GOT THIS PHONE TODAY HAD SEVERAL SMARTPHONE FROM STRAIGHT TALK BUT THIS ONE ALL CAN SAID IS O M G PHONE TAKES LITTLE TIME TO GET USE TO IT BUT ITS THE BEST PHONE STRAIGHT TALK HAS COME OUT WITH BEATS IPHONE LOTS OF MEMORY PLUS IT FAST SCREEN IS GOOD SIZE OVERALL AWESOME PHONE I AM A HAPPY CUSTOMER NOW
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+132points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bangor, maine
Front camera?
Posted 08/16/2013
does this phone have a front camera I m looking to buy this phone but I want to know if it has a front camera, it does not say whether it has one or not, but in the pictures it surely looks like it does have a front camera.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Super phone with a great price.

04/25/2013
By ,
Northern MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have good signal on Verizon towers then grab this phone if you can get it.
I bought the Samsung Galaxy which is on AT&T but at my house had lower signal.
So I returned it and saw this phone 100.00 dollars cheaper and took a chance.
I am so glad now that I bought it. I also noticed that Walmart wont give an extended warranty on phones over 199 dollars but within 30 days you can add a replacement warranty thru straight talk.
Even if you step on it and crush the screen they will replace it. Now more good stuff...it has an led flash,2 gig built in memory,gorilla glass screen,1 gig processor,ice cream sandwich 4.0 android software,super thin and light body, 4.3 inch screen, speaker phone sounds good, front and rear facing camera that is voice operated, there are a couple videos on youtube but somebody needs to make a better one.
Battery life is awesome compared to other phones Ive had like the Droid X ....I like this phone much better and with my droid I was paying Verizon 120 dollars a month for the same service and only 250 texts a month...45dollars a month with straight talk for unlimited everything is a no brainer!!!!
I went from the 99 dollar phone to the 149 dollar phone (still no flash) then to the top of the line 349 dollar phone(still 2.3 software), and back down to 249 for this phone and figured i could save some people some time and tell you buy this one and you should be happy.
There were no reviews when I bought it so here you go...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+467points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
thank you
Posted 09/09/2013
thank you ! i really wanted a samsung, so thanks to you :) i am not buying one of those lol
0points
Customer Avatar
USA
The audio
Posted 07/20/2013
I have heard that the audio is not very loud. Does anyone have a problem with the audio. Because a strong audio is important for me.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

LOOOOOVE IT!

04/30/2013
By ,
South Boston, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very picky person when it comes to a cellphone && this meets everything I've been looking for!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 6 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

The greatest phone I ever had

05/03/2013
By ,
charlottesville,VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a great phone; works on Verizon network, 1 GHz processor is fast enough to manage multiple apps at the same time. The only problem is that is expensive phone, Boost selling it as Venice for 179.99 , but again boost is on Sprint network, which is slow compare to Verizon , so you paying for the phone and great service too. The phone is light, easy to manage, and make a great companion, that introduces you to the world of Android.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 7 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone
05/03/2013
By ,
mount pleasant tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i loved best phone on straight talk..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

This is the best phone ever for straight talk!

05/06/2013
By ,
Mt. Pleasant, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a had a couple of straight talk phones and this one is by far the best! Don't get me wrong, I wanted to keep my $45 plan with straight talk but hated their phones. I wanted a phone like my husband's but didn't want to pay the expensive bill that would follow. This was perfect!! I get a great up to date phone with all the features he has and can choose from hundreds of apps. I can watch netflix anytime I want, download music and it has a great camera and video! I don't have time to put how many great features it has, but I gotta get back on it now!!! I LOVE THIS PHONE!! IT IS WORTH EVERY PENNY!!! Thanks Walmart!! My husand teases me no longer about my phone. I think he wants one!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+70points
Review 9 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone
05/08/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, this is my first straight talk phone and first android. So I can't really comment on whether the 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich is better or not. I'm still learning the ins and outs of an android but as a first one I far from regret it - this phone is great. There are some cons so I'll go through those before I talk about what I do like.
- battery life is okay. For the first few days to nearly week I had to charge it every night but I was playing on it often so apps were running more frequently. With minimal app usage it lasts much longer, but still not as long as I would have liked.
-The camera is GOOD don't get me wrong but I didn't set anything and I've gone through to see if I've clicked "timer"; maybe there's something set and I don't know, my last phone wasn't very good so I'm new to a nice camera with all the settings it has, but for some reason it randomly will snap a a photo before I tap the button - it like focuses on an object I'm facing the camera at and snaps. It only happens sometimes so I don't know if it's the phone or a setting but it seems to happen if I switch back and forth to the front facing.
For now those are the only issues. It's fast, especially on verizon. You can snap shot on this phone. The quality of the photos are great - I wish it was an 8 megapixel for the price but my last was 3 so I don't have room to complain. I've talked on it a few times and no one seems to have issues hearing me, and I hear other people much clearer. The screen is clear and just the right size - not overly large but big enough that you get more on the screen.
Now since this isn't a galaxy 2 where there are easily accessible cases, I had to dig around for one. The case I bought for this phone is technically a LG Venice/Splendor LS730/US730 case but it fits perfectly! I don't know if it's just this case that fits and others won't but this one worked.
So far this phone has been worth the 249 I paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Some changes in my previous review - 3.5 stars
Posted 09/02/2013
It won't let me write another review so after owning this phone for about four months now, I've realized a few other issues I have. Now, the phone was 249 but it dropped to 199 not long after I bought it. It might actually be worth it @ 199 considering the camera is only a 5 mp and some of the other issues I'll address in a moment.
The phone is expandable to 32GB. DO this. You may not need that much GB but please please expand it to something more than the card they give you. It is not enough! This is why the phone lags at times because it needs more space. With taking photos you will quickly notice that the amount of storage is lessening quickly. I have about 173 on my camera, 4 downloaded, 27 instagramed, 1 photogrid (I usually delete them after I post), and 3 pixlromatic (I normally delete as well) and I do have a few vids as well. It shows my storage space has used .96GB in just pictures and video which is A LOT. My apps are only 217 mbs but I don't have a ton on there. I know if I keep taking pictures then eventually I'll use up the 2GB I have left. (remember that the phone's other apps that are preloaded take up on the 4gb card too)
So, as a previous user said, the phone does lag about 2 to 3 seconds at times. I've noticed it only happens when you click on apps, are on the internet. And yes, it does seem to fall to 1x instead of the 3g at random times. But most of the time I have 3g and awesome coverage. I get better coverage than my sister who's on t-mobile. And while at a Reds game I was the only person in my group who could upload to instagram while they all had zero service (on sprint).
But you need to pick a phone that you know you'll get better coverage in your area. For mine verizon and at&t works best and sprint does not. This phone is verizon.
Now, the black screen ~ Yes, this has started happening to me. It happens for like 1 second while someone is calling before it pops up for me to either answer or decline. It always goes away and the most it's up for is maybe 2 seconds. I think it's happened at other times (not just when someone calls) but I can't "remember" a time so I could be wrong.
The battery life is terrible but I said that in my previous review and it's stayed the same. What helps is if I tap into my home's wifi, to have my phone plugged in to stay charging if it's not fully charged. I do have to charge my phone pretty much every night. But my sister does the same with her galaxy 4.
I still feel like the camera should be better. I do get jealous over the mp in the galaxy 3 and 4 but in the right lighting a 5mp isn't so bad. Here's a picture of my cat with some natural sunlight: http://s985.photobucket.com/user/xmariex55/media/0830131727d_zpsbd7f55ba.jpg.html?filters[user]=137310443&filters[recent]=1&filters[publicOnly]=1&sort=1&o=0
My previous review I said "snap shot" I meant "screen shot" I don't use this feature much but I guess a lot of people use it for instagram, facebook, etc.
The video camera isn't so great. Again, better lighting like natural sunlight coming through the windows, helps but otherwise it's not very clear. I tried video taping my cat opening the closet door but because I was in the bathroom, and wasn't near the bulbs above the sink, it came out blurry.
If straight talk comes out with a galaxy s4 or a galaxy s3 that does not use sprint then I'll move onto those because although I do like this phone, the galaxies have much better specs for the price but no way am I using a sprint coverage phone.
Overall I'll have to change my previous five stars to either 3.5 or maybe close to 4. I don't think this phone is bad and it's nice for a first time andriod user or someone who doesn't need all the specs some of the popular big name phones have. But for me what draws this phone back the most is the camera/video.
It's also really hard to remove the back and I'm always afraid I'll snap the plastic! Oh and before I forget, randomly I'll be on the internet and suddenly it'll close the app and I'll have to get back on. It could be the browser with the issue - it comes preloaded with a browser and chrome. I can't remember which one it happens on but the good thing is it takes me back where I had been.
0points
Customer Avatar
It takes pictures before you click
Posted 08/20/2013
the camera has a voice automated click. So when you say certain words the camera goes off :)
+1point
Customer Avatar
Minnesota
Posted 05/08/2013
I just ordered this phone, can't wait to get it. But I went on Amazon.com and found tons of cases for this phone. Really cheap too.
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 10 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Perfect for Rockdale, TX

05/09/2013
By ,
Rockdale, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone goes through Verizon towers and the service is great with an awesome phone! I had the ZTE that went through AT&T towers.... horrible, to say the least.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 11 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

GREAT phone, GREAT battery life, GREAT service

05/11/2013
By ,
Fayetteville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone and LOVE my StraightTalk service. Was with another unlimited 4G service that never worked for 6 years I was with them. Switched to StraightTalk and am amazed daily at how great the service is in areas that I NEVER had service in before!! LOVE LOVE LOVE StraightTalk!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 12 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Best deal out there if you have Verizon towers

05/12/2013
By ,
Fredonia, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I currently have a "dumb phone" through Verizon that I pay $30 a month for.. that's just calling and text. My plans up June 19th and I've been looking into getting a smart phone, CHEAP. Something like $45 a month for UNLIMITED everything; data, calls, text. I live in Western New York and the carrier that dominates here is Verizon. $90 a month for a smart phone with a cap on data = too much. With Verizon, you are paying for customer service. You can call them up and English speaking Americans will help you with any problems you have, they might even take charges off your bill if you make enough fuss. With Straight Talk, there is hardly no customer service. That's why it's cheap. Wal-Mart owns Straight Talk, obviously they're going to make it as cheap as possible by out-sourcing. Some how, while trying to cut every corner, Straight Talk came out with this amazing and new smart phone.
It's got the newest processor (it's fast), a good 5.0 megapixel camera and can use up to a 32 GB micro SD card. Awesome. Youtube and other internet videos stream flawlessly and in supreme HD on the screen that is bigger than that of an iPhone. Netflix works great so if you're sitting alone somewhere killing time, you can catch up on your favorite shows or finish that movie. It's UNLIMITED data!! You can run Pandora in your car all day every day and you don't have to worry about a thing. Get the uTorrent app and download all the stuff you want! Battery life is the only thing you have to worry about so get a car charger.
There's a front camera for video chatting or self portraits although I wouldn't use it because it's only 1.3 megapixels. It can be used for the facial recognition as a way to unlock your phone, but only in good lighting. The speakers are loud and the sound travels. It's got the full size headphone jack too so you don't have to worry about getting special headphones or adapters.
It's tough to find a quality case for these phones but just make sure you search LG Optimus Showtime, LG Venice, the LG Splendor, and the LG Optimus 7. These are all the same phones, just on different carriers. Some cases are advertised as fitting one but not the other, but that's incorrect. The best cases I have found are the Trident Aegis and the Ballistic SG. They're both super good and are comparable to an OtterBox type case. The Ballistic is more heavy duty but is also bigger and bulkier. Don't waste your money on the $5 ones on eBay.. they fall right off.
So for Straight Talk if you're looking to get a smart phone that uses Verizon towers.. the 2 choices are this for $200 or the $650 iPhone 5. Your choice.. I'd say they're just about the same unless you have brand loyalty to Apple. I saw this phone in March, but it was sold out and my store had none. I read reviews online saying it was a new phone for this year and it almost instantly sold out. In April, they showed back up every where for this nice low price. My plan isn't up til June 19th and I figured I had time to pick up the phone down the line. Last night, May 11th, I checked out this phone online and saw it was "SOLD OUT." I did the thing to see if my store in Fredonia, NY had any and luckily they had, "limited quantities." I got there and there was one left on the shelf, while they had many multiples of the other phones. They may have had more in the back, but I wasn't taking a risk. I bought it last night and have been playing with it for the last 18 hours. I haven't activated the service as I am waiting for my contract to be up with Verizon so I can bring my number over. Even without service, this phone works amazing with Wifi and I'm currently using it as if it were an iPod Touch. If you can afford it and your store has some left, I'd buy them up. In March when they were sold out, people were selling them on eBay for over $300.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+93points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Minnesota/Florida
NOT unlimited data.
Posted 05/27/2013
Even though it is advertised as such, the data is capped somewhere between 1.5 and 2 GBs/monthly. If you stream Pandora or YouTube, you will have problems. However, you can use those when you are on WiFi.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone
05/12/2013
By ,
Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone, Large 4.3 inch screen. Fast processor 1Ghz. Android 4.0.2
This is the best bang for the buck as far as straight talk phones go. I just grabbed it for 199.95 on sale.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 14 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Easy to Operate

05/13/2013
By ,
Hopedale, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this phone for nearly a month - and I must say - I Love It!!!! This is my first smartphone and I'm extremely glad I went with the LG Optimus Showtime. Battery life is excellent. I can go a full day with no charge browsing the web/facebook for about two hours off and on, talking, and texting. I almost spent the money and bought the Iphone4, but couldn't talk myself into $200.00 more than this phone. Plus, my last phone was an LG and battery life was great. I do not regret this purchase at all. Plus, where we live Verizon is the best service to have. I even get service where I never had service before even with Verizon. This phone was so easy to learn to navigate!!! Wonderful phone - highly recommend!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+71points
Review 15 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

LOVE it!

05/22/2013
By ,
Minnesota/Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked my Samsung Proclaim, but wanted a bigger screen and newer Android operating system. I love this phone, even if it is too big for the cell pocket in a couple of my purses.
AccuWeather app alerted me to storm warnings the other night. The dictated texting is much more accurate than it was on the Proclaim.
The camera works well. Love that it has a flash. it will not replace a camera for me, but it is with me more. Haven't tried the video yet. The day I went to get it, they were marking it down from $249.99 to $199.88. I had great timing.
I downloaded a free app called Assistant, similar to an Android Siri. My husband thinks it's amazing when I am talking to her. She can give you a daily briefing, which can include what's on your calendar and top headlines. You can opt to receive it or not.
We have a Panasonic landline phone that is compatible with this (and was with the Proclaim, too). I can make long-distance calls with it, using my unlimited minutes on my cell. They are connected to each other via blue-tooth.
The battery lasts longer than the Proclaim, though if I were using it to navigate, I'd probably have to have it on the car charger, as GPS seems to drain the battery fast.
If I think of anything more, I will add to this. I've only had it five days, thus far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Minnesota/Florida
About the extended warranty...
Posted 05/23/2013
I posted somewhere that the extended warranty started after the manufacturer's warranty runs out (which is what the associate told me). The warranty site says it starts the day you buy it. So it does overlap, but covers things like liquid spills, dropping, cracking the screen, etc. Or at least, that's what the paperwork says!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Night and Day difference for $25-50 more!

05/23/2013
By ,
Steubenville, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had both the Samsung Galaxy Proclaim and the LG Optimus Zip, both run on the Verizon network. In the reviews on the LG Optimus Zip, you can read my comparison, titled "LG Zip or Samsung Proclaim?" After spending the extra $50, for the Optimus Showtime, it is worth it. Samsung Galaxy Proclaim was a nice phone, if you don't mind the small screen, I would stand by the 4 stars I gave it. LG Optimus Zip, I would drop it down to 3. It would be a better phone, IF they actually put internal memory in the device. You can install some apps and also move it to the SD card but some apps you can not do that and other don't function well when on external memory.
So what does the $50 pay for with the Optimus Showtime. Actually, A LOT!
- 4.3" Screen with 800x400 resolution, about an inch bigger and double the resolution.
- 5mp & HD720 with auto focus & flash, both Zip and Proclaim had 3mp but neither had a flash and only Zip had auto focus.
- Front facing camera
- 2gb of internal storage vrs 1gb with Proclaim, 150mb with Zip
- Android 4.0 vrs 2.3. Version 4 really takes advantage of the large screen.
The odd part of this phone is the lack of auto brightness sensor, however a small adjustment to the Notification screen, you can add screen settings icon to quickly adjust it. Also one other quarky thing LG is known fpr, no way to change the MicroSD unless you remove the whole back cover. However, the phne can run as a mass storage drive in USB mode and AirDroid with WiFi works well to access the MicroSD card. I really think with everything involved, the LG Optimus Showtime is bang for your buck
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+141points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Man Cave, MI
microSD card
Posted 05/25/2013
Guess I did it wrong. Just flipped open side panel. Pushed to release and inserted 32 class 10. Think you should view a video or read the manual for that.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone

05/26/2013
By ,
Madison, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone a little over two months ago and it's awesome! The 1GHz processor is quick and snappy and the 320Mb of RAM is enough to play games and simple multi-tasking. The 4.3" screen is big and vivid (800x480/217 PPI resolution) it's almost perfect however I've had slight problems with the screen dimming during games or charging. The 5 MP camera is awesome if you take pictures occasionally and it records in HD 1080p! The housing around the phone could be better (it feels a little bit flimsy and could use a better finish) but if you're looking for a upper-midrange smart phone without a contract then this is the phone for you!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 18 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

The LG Optimus Showtime is an awesome device

05/31/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this phone for a couple weeks now. No problems running any apps, compatible with Instagram and Snapchat. Uses Verizon for service. This phone does have a Qualcomm Scorpion 1 GHz processor, 768MB RAM, 4GB SDcard, 1700 mAh Lithium Ion Battery. Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0.4. 4.3" screen. Newer squared corners makes the phone look really up to date. The only Straight Talk logo is on the back cover so when this is in a case, it looks just like a contract phone. You will need to search for the LG US730 Venice cases.
Screen resolution is 480x800 pixels. Phone has the ability to record videos in 720p HD.
There has been debate about the screen being plastic or Corning's Gorilla Glass. I have just confirmed with LG Support that the device is the exact same as the LG Venice. It does have Corning's Gorilla Glass! The major changes has been the Straight Talk software changes to the UI(user interface).
Auto focus on both front and rear facing camera's. You can geo-tag the pictures also. 5 megapixel camera, 4x digital zoom with LED Flash on the rear of the device with a VGA camera on the front.
Phone is extremely lightweight at 4.3 ounces. Without a protective case, phone can be slippery. The black plastic with a silver bezel makes the phone standout.
Not many cons to this phone. The biggest one is the sound quality. In call sound is great. Sound from the speaker is not. When watching Netflix or Youtube videos I have to recommend that you use headphones. Secondly, this phone will not use 4G/LTE.
Overall, I will recommend this device to my friends, family, co-workers. Phone is a little steep at $200 but so worth the cost of buying subsidized for contracted phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 19 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!

05/31/2013
By ,
Pace FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
http://www.gsmarena.com/zte_warp-4313.php so you can compare the specs of each phone
I swapped from Boost Mobile and my not so old ZTE WARP N860 phone over to Straight Talk and the LG Optimus Showtime phone. I have had the LG Optimus Showtime/Verizon for several days now and I LOVE the phone. It runs great!!! The camera takes good pictures and I love the "say cheese" feature/snaps the picture and it takes much better pictures than my old phone did. The phone is faster and smoother than my old phone. I had to download a keyboard with a mic on it from the market (FREE) but other than that it's great!!! I downloaded "perfect keyboard". The phone has not restarted on me once nor has it froze. The browser loads really fast, Chrome seems slower. Goes with the $45 month unlimited plan which is $5 more than I paid with my old service. Some S.T. phones use ATT network and some use Verizon so be sure to read the package on the phone you choose and get what works best in your area. I am one happy lady so far! Love the big screen which is the same size I had with the old phone. Love having the Android 4 OS also. There was one left in my store so they seem to be selling like hot-cakes and I now understand why. The battery life is like any other Android phone out there, you can always go on EBay and buy a stronger battery, that's what I did with my old phone and will do the same with this one. Depends on what you are doing and how much you are using it how fast the battery will drain. Skype and Tango both work great and Video seems to run smoothly. Speaker volume is good. If all LG phones are this good I will probably never buy another brand again! Happy shopping :)!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 20 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone that is worth the money! :D

06/01/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone was definitely worth the money! I don't understand why you would spend $600+ on an Iphone when you can get this one for not even half that. This was my first smartphone and I am very impressed! I love it and totally recommend it to anyone! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 248 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next