Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Average Customer Rating:
4.424 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(283 Reviews) 247
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
192
4 stars
58
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation93%262 out of 283reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
192
4 stars
58
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Wonderful 4.0 android for price

07/23/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros:
-Only $200!
-Uses Verizon towers, amazing service
-4.0 android
-great big screen
-front facing camera
-voice-to-text has become amazing since my android jelly bean
Cons:
-Absolutely unacceptable battery life!!!
(10% decrease streaming music for about an hr and sometimes won't charge to 100%)
-no indicator light for missed texts or calls
-no option to create reminder beep or vibrations for missed calls or texts
-no swype installed (can upload an app)
-if volume is too high while you can hear your voice rattle the ear piece (distracting)
-alarm does not have progressive low to loud sound (jelly bean android did)
Overall:
Pretty great phone with fancy new features like face recognition for unlocking your screen, much much better updated voice-to-text recognition, and front facing camera for skyping, etc. My biggest issue with this phone is battery life. Just horrible. It won't even charge to 100% on the wall charger other than the first day I received it. Unacceptable for daily use and browsing the web on occasion. For the price, I guess they had to skim somewhere. The battery is only 1700maH. I am currently waiting for a new battery that is 2080maH to come in the mail. (ordered online for about $25) If this resolves battery issue, I will update. It's biggest saving grace is that it uses Verizon towers!
Either way, love the service and the new features with the great big screen. I'll be keeping it for at least a year if the battery issue doesn't become worse than it currently is. Longer than that hopefully if the new battery corrects the issue!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
littleton, co
new battery?
Posted 07/24/2013
where did you get the new battery?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 62 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone
06/12/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My first smartphone. I like it. Uses the battery up fast unless you put it in Power Saver mode and still have to charge it every night, not like my old dumb-cell-phone that lasted for days. Good connectivity with WIFI and 3G. I would purchase this phone again based on what I know so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 63 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

love it!

09/25/2013
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had simple flip cell phones but this is my first 'smart phone'. I love it! It's so much easier to use. StraightTalk is a good description of WallMarts cell phone sales. The salesman 'Joe' at Wall Mart was a delightful gentleman. MP3 music downloaded through the USB cable sounds great, (one less gadget to manage). I can now leave my camera home as well (one more less gadget). I'm excitedly looking forward to the new world of mobile internet. BTW I am a real customer.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 64 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone

02/26/2014
By ,
Berryville, Ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had my phone since July 3rd, 2013. This phone has lasted for over 8 months for me. And it's still in great shape, and works like it has since I first bought it. I am very pleased to find a phone that has met my expectations.
The sleek 4.3 in. Screen is just the perfect size for me as well as it not being bulky in size, so it fits easily in my pocket. Even with a case on.
I love the front facing camera, and the 5 MP camera, I can take great pictures to capture those precious memories with friends and family.
With my horrible directions, the GPS has saved me in the most drastic situations. Downtown Tulsa is the worst!
I get signal anywhere.
I'm able to have all my music on my phone plus more. So enough storage is on this phone for me.
I know not all phones are the greatest, but this phone has been my right-hand-man!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 65 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

LOVE IT.

06/24/2013
By ,
Miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is everything, has a nice size screen excellent 3g speeds, lots of memory. Everyone seems to have problems with the battery life, I did also on my first day getting it phone drained 25% for no reason I wasn't even using it, so I found a solution, restrict background data and that will help the battery life 100%, & use power save mode a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 66 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

The greatest phone I ever had

05/03/2013
By ,
charlottesville,VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a great phone; works on Verizon network, 1 GHz processor is fast enough to manage multiple apps at the same time. The only problem is that is expensive phone, Boost selling it as Venice for 179.99 , but again boost is on Sprint network, which is slow compare to Verizon , so you paying for the phone and great service too. The phone is light, easy to manage, and make a great companion, that introduces you to the world of Android.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 67 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Good with reservations

08/30/2013
By ,
Danbury, CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading lots of online reviews for Straight Talk phones and in need of a new one, I decided to go with the LG Optimus Showtime. Here is my overall opinion:
Physical product: compared to other smartphones like iPhone and Samsungs the phone is fairly lightweight but still has a solid feel. I'd say my only complaint is - where the case wraps around to the front of the phone, the edges are sharp and should have been smoothed over more.
Battery: the battery life seems to be fairly good, with and without apps running. I've gotten into the habit of shutting down apps when not in use and this helps, but I still don't have the balance down yet. I like the energy saver feature that you can automatically switch on when the battery gets to 30%.
Look/Feel/Usage: the new Android OS (4) has some lovely changes that make use more intuitive. The screen unlock is easier and faster to use, the display has good colors, and the screen rolls left/right instead of up/down to view apps. The keyboard for text messages is larger and easier to touch; text display is easier to read with the sent/recvd messages displaying to the left and right in different colors. Audio control from the front screen is great - so I can just press it and say 'text john' or 'call mom'. The interface to Google and Gmail is greatly improved.
Overall, I find that I use the smart phone features much more on this phone than my old smart phone and have been pleased with the overall quality. Now I just need to get a protector so I don't drop it and break that nice big screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 68 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Amazing for the price!

05/08/2013
By ,
Athens,PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been looking for a good phone for awhile, and I've found it in this phone. The only complaints I have is is doesn't have the automatic dictoinary built in (or at least I cant find it) when you text and it'll come up with an option on whether you were trying to spell that word, it doesn't come with alot of wall papers and some that I've tried to put on didnt look right, but other than that, its fast, esay to use, has really cool features, and ultimatly is the best phone I've ever had
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 69 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone
08/16/2013
By ,
Longview, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great first time smart phone. Love the fact that it is on the Verizon towers. Easy to navigate especially with the large 4.3 inch screen. Only downside is the battery discharges very quickly. This happens even with the phone sitting (updating apps most likely). The phone battery is easily removed so it is possible to replace with a backup battery. I do believe this is the best phone choice if one wants an Android on Verizon with Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 70 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for the Price

06/06/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone a few days ago, so far it runs great with the 1GHz processer. I belieave it comes with 512Mb of RAM or more but so far it runs every app i have installed. I tried netflix on this phone and it works great, it does use Verizon towers and where i live i have great signal. The case is plastic so if you buy this phone i would recomment getting a cover for it in case you drop it.The battery can hold a charge for the day depending on how much you use it but if you are heavy app user like me i would recomment keeping a charger near by
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 71 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Works great overall

07/23/2013
By ,
Mooresville, MC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just picked this up for my wife. Large screen and easy to use menus. However, I discovered a major issue that could potentially kill your reception. By default it tries to link to cell signal and wifi. Our wifi was setup as WPA / WPA2 auto encryption. This kept forcing the phone to disconnect and reset the wifi. When that happens it locks up the phone.
After playing with the router I discovered it likes WPA Personal. Changed the router setting and everything works like a charm.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 72 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Very good phone for the price

07/21/2013
By ,
MURFREESBORO , NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this phone going on 4 months now and I have to say it is a very good phone for the price !! Does everything as well as phones waaaay more expensive does . Pictures are great , apps are great operating system is better than most . Only problem I seem to have is some apps will fail causing you to delete and reload . Some music I load will work well , then have a corrupted file after a few days , but I don't know if it's the file I loaded or what .. I love the screen to , when you get used to having a larger sized screen like this , you will never be able to go back to those little screen phones anymore .. It get some getting used to , but for the price I think it's worth the short commings ...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 73 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Perfect for Rockdale, TX

05/09/2013
By ,
Rockdale, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone goes through Verizon towers and the service is great with an awesome phone! I had the ZTE that went through AT&T towers.... horrible, to say the least.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 74 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone
10/01/2013
By ,
Mcclure, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone, finally a straight talk phone that actually performs like a smart phone should. Not a new, high end smart phone of course, but still performs well above my expectations
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 75 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone
09/24/2013
By ,
Medora, In
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this phone and would recommend it to others. The screen size is great! Over all it seems to be a great phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 76 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone
09/24/2013
By ,
Amity, ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delighted with phone. It has exceeded my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 77 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone
09/26/2013
By ,
Rockledge, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first "smart" phone and I am very pleased with the quality and ease of use. I love the messaging key board, I'm able to communicate with my siblings with a message rather than a phone call. The features on the LG L86C are amazing considering the low selling price. I have been using a pay as you go phone for ten years and traveled extensively in the US and have never had a problem with reception or dropped calls. This phone will be put to the test in October on an extended road trip up the Eastern Coast of the US from Florida to Maine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 78 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Lots of phone for the money

09/21/2013
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really did a lot of research before purchasing the LG L86C Optimus Showtime...had to purchase the phone online...this model was not carried in Wal-Mart's local stores.
I looked at 5 or 6 different phones on the Straight Talk plan in the $150-250 price range while comparing OS, features, performance, screen size, etc...and this LG has them all beat...hands down...
The Android 4.0 software version runs apps almost flawlessly...The display is bright and large enough for me to see apps and touch buttons even without my glasses...:)
The feel of the phone is good but the finish around the edges of the screen felt edgy...not smooth like the higher priced cell phones. But, I was able to buy a case for the phone and now, it looks and feels great in my hands...just heavy enough to be comfortable and the protective case really compliments the phone.
I'm 54 years old and I have only had basic cell phones in the past. Stepping up to this LG Android cell was a big stride. However, I am fairly tech savvy and now that I've had the phone for several weeks, I wouldn't have anything else.
This is a lot of phone for the money...my only knock is the unsmooth finish around the screen edges, but that can be fixed with a quality case...
Overall, I am very satisfied with the phone and I would recommend it to anyone who has some exposure to smartphones and might be looking for a good cell phone with a lot of features priced below $250...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 79 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone
07/27/2013
By ,
Pensacola, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have had several Straighttalk phones, including the Samsung Proclaim. The LG Showtime (CDMA-V) "smoked all of them"!!
Large screen, fast and ample memory and RAM.
When you factor in the $45/month, it's a NO-Brainer.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 80 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

This phone is awesome! very fast

09/19/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone thinking ok its an LG and not a Samsung but i couldn't afford the Samsung. I am so glad I went with the LG showtime. My brother got the Samsung galaxy that cost more then this phone. It doesn't work as well as the LG showtime. This thing has android 4.0.4 runs nice and fast. supports up to a 32gb microsd card! 2GB system memory for installing apps. you can also move a lot of apps to the sd card! Front and rear facing camera! Nice feeling touch screen! Fairly good battery life. very nice well rounded phone. It may not have the highest megapixal for the camera but personally i can't see a difference after they get so high anyway. its not like i am planning on printing a billboard! lol the camera has a flash! you can turn it on when recording a video and it stays lit the hole time! takes great videos that you can upload to youtube! why do you need a camera when your cell phone does it all! so if you think about it you get a nice 5MP camera and a cell phone all in one. WOW I can't see any difference in this and my canon 8.1 megapixel camera, or my brothers 16 megapixel camera for photo quality. I am sure if i was zooming in, way into the photos you could see a difference but it does great photos even when you print them out as a 8x10. what can i say bad about the phone. nothing that i can think of besides most of the stores are sold out of this great phone! They got them in and the word got around how good they were that they sold out fast!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
61-80 of 248 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  13 Next