Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Average Customer Rating:
4.424 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(283 Reviews) 247
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
192
4 stars
58
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation93%262 out of 283reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
192
4 stars
58
3 stars
12
2 stars
3
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Phone had no signal (no bars) at my location

06/11/2013
By ,
Dolores,CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While the phone arrived in fine condition, because of my remote location I had no bars for signal strength.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Posted 06/12/2013
You should use the phone while you have signal and then rate on that performance. Because of your remote location and that you give a middle of the line review is really not an honest review of this product.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 22 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone !!

10/31/2013
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this phone on October 25th and I recieved my phone that Monday, fast shipping most definitely. I recently had LG Optimus Zip and I was having a lot of problems with it so I decided to upgrade. Although I ordered the refurbished version of this phone, it works just like brand new; not to mention it came with a $45 airtime card.. GOOD DEAL!!! I love my phone so far, the only problem I had in the beginning was that it took a very long time to download my apps but now my phone is up and running and I highly recommend this phone to anyone who's looking for a serious upgrade.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Wonderful 4.0 android for price

07/23/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros:
-Only $200!
-Uses Verizon towers, amazing service
-4.0 android
-great big screen
-front facing camera
-voice-to-text has become amazing since my android jelly bean
Cons:
-Absolutely unacceptable battery life!!!
(10% decrease streaming music for about an hr and sometimes won't charge to 100%)
-no indicator light for missed texts or calls
-no option to create reminder beep or vibrations for missed calls or texts
-no swype installed (can upload an app)
-if volume is too high while you can hear your voice rattle the ear piece (distracting)
-alarm does not have progressive low to loud sound (jelly bean android did)
Overall:
Pretty great phone with fancy new features like face recognition for unlocking your screen, much much better updated voice-to-text recognition, and front facing camera for skyping, etc. My biggest issue with this phone is battery life. Just horrible. It won't even charge to 100% on the wall charger other than the first day I received it. Unacceptable for daily use and browsing the web on occasion. For the price, I guess they had to skim somewhere. The battery is only 1700maH. I am currently waiting for a new battery that is 2080maH to come in the mail. (ordered online for about $25) If this resolves battery issue, I will update. It's biggest saving grace is that it uses Verizon towers!
Either way, love the service and the new features with the great big screen. I'll be keeping it for at least a year if the battery issue doesn't become worse than it currently is. Longer than that hopefully if the new battery corrects the issue!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
littleton, co
new battery?
Posted 07/24/2013
where did you get the new battery?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 24 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone
06/06/2013
By ,
Breaux Bridge,La.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice phone but the signal in not good and the 3g cuts in and out alot.When hooked up to wifi it works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 25 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

I thought for sure it would have talk to text

11/07/2013
By ,
Clayton GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So far, it's pretty good. I've had it a week and it's been working fine. I will let you know later if it's a survivor.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Posted 11/07/2013
This phone does have talk to text. Mic button should be right next to the space bar.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 26 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

NOT BAD

09/29/2013
By ,
FRESNO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I BOUGHT 2 OF THESE PHONES, RETURNED THE FIRST BECAUSE PHONE HEATS UP IN CAMERA AREAS OCCASIONALY, THIS MAY BE WERE PROCESSOR IS LOCATED. SECOND PHONE DOES THE SAME THING. PROCESSOR MAY NOT BE AS POWERFUL AS THEY CLAIM. OTHER THAN THAT IT WORKS GOOD AND HAS NICE FEATURES YOU CAN USE AND CAMERA TAKES GOOD PICS. IF YOU DOWNLOAD TO MANY APPS YOU MAY HAVE TO POWER OFF AND RESTART PHONE FOR THEM TO WORK PROPERLY. I NEEDED TO POWER OFF AND REBOOT EVERY FEW DAYS OR ELSE SOME APPS MAY BE STUCK. I LIKE THE PHONE AND PRICE IS O.K.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone
06/08/2013
By ,
texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Love the size of the phone!!!!.. however it doesn't seem to be as fast as my Samsung Galaxy Proclaim.. but the proclaim has an itty bitty screen!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 28 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Phone works good but many apps don't work

05/07/2013
By ,
Abilene,Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have used this for a few months now. I finally figured out to press the button at the top to shut the screen off so it won't pocket dial. The screen is very touchy and if you are not careful, it will call back the party you just hung up from. Touching the side button kills the mic so you can't tell if it is dialing. Sometimes you have to redial as it seems to stall but some other cell phones do the same. Finding out how to upgrade the operating system is a problem. In fact, any real useful documentation seems to be sparse to nonexistent. I finally found the pit2shop that you can snap a pic of a barcode with. The Walmart app doesn't work with this phone and many apps do not recognize it. May be a defective phone...not sure. So, for calling, it is okay but medium powered in buildings. Other people can talk on their phones at my office but I can't. I got this on a special but at $249 I would just look farther...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 29 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Solid B "smart"

11/07/2013
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this phone connects on Verizon 3G which is very good, but the device itself is exactly what you pay for - in the smartphone world it's a "B student". The battery life is not satisfactory and the camera sounds great by specs (flash, 5MP, etc) but the pictures look very ordinary really. The LG "touch" is pretty strange too: like no speed dial capability, unable to personalize contacts with unique ringtones - only one ringtone allowed for every call period, very basic equalizer for music playback which is only functional with the headphones in - really?? Which brings up the next disappointment - the speaker is out right horrible. This was close to a deal breaker for me because I like to play songs from my phone. However, the OS, Android 4.0 is very smooth, though not a quickster really, and the internal memory of 2Gb is by far the most available at this price range. In the end I had to return my device because it was shipped with a defective battery. Clearly this is not a frequent occurrence but not rare either, as many users on straighttalk forum had the same problem - battery stuck at 98% after infinite charging. I decided to upgrade to the Samsung Galaxy S3 onstrighttalk, which cost twice = $400! because I preferred the Samsung "touches" on my Samsung Galaxy proclaim which had a lousy OS called Aandroid 2.3, a.k.a "Mr. Freeze!" In the end though, this LG is a good value and most people would not be bugged by my disappointments, except those who are into pictures - that one is too obvious.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Posted 11/08/2013
Phone does have speed dial. It is different to set up on ICS. Click the dialer, then press menu. Or you can place contact shortcuts on a home screen.
Secondly, this phone does have unique ringtones for a contact. You must edit these in the contact info. It is near the bottom.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 30 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Optimus Showtime pros and cons

09/10/2013
By ,
Cabot, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice phone with crisp clear screen. Easy to learn to navigate through. Love to be able to verbally tell it what you want and it understands and does it, loaded with options. HOWEVER, two big cons for me is that there is no setting to separate notification tones between emails and messages. Also, when using Bluetooth I would have to turn my car speakers way up just to be able to hear what was being said. I exchanged the phone for a new one and it was the same way. If these two things are minor and don't bother you than it is a fantastic phone that you will love.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Posted 09/11/2013
Here is an idea for your bluetooth. Make sure the phone volume is turned up. Phone volume does affect the level when you have this phone hooked to your car audio system. I had this happen to me also when I have my phone paired with the Uconnect in my Jeep Liberty.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 31 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Overpriced adequate phone

09/02/2013
By ,
Queensbury, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Slow, cheaply made
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-7points
Review 32 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Just an Average Phone.

10/03/2013
By ,
Carrollton, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had the phone three weeks. This is my first smart phone and having a bit of a learning curve. Only down side it the battery life. I have to charge it at least twice a day and I'm not on it that much. My Grandchildren can run the battery down in an hour just playing games. Battery life is a biggie to me!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 33 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Great performing phone

09/15/2013
By ,
Tremont, Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My contract with Verizon ran out this year. Both of my daughters have Straight Talk, so I decided to give it a try. After a lot of research, it came down to this phone or a Windows phone. I found lot's of positive feedback in regards to this phone, not much feedback positive or negative in regards to the Windows phone. Setting up service was a breeze, it took less than five minutes. Setting it up so that I can have the service fee taken from my bank account was difficult. The customer service person was very hard to understand and very impatient. I have had this phone about 2 months now and performance wise, it is great. The phone description says 800MHz, the phone I have is 1GHz, so as far as that is concerned, I don't know what to tell you. It's a Verizon tower, so I get great service anywhere I go. The biggest negative I have about this phone is the battery time. I consider myself to be a somewhat below average user and I have to charge the phone every night. Sometimes twice a day. the other negative is that once in a while, the screen will go dark and I can't even shut off the phone to restart it. Kind of freaky when it happens because you are not sure if it is going to come back on, but it always has and usually comes back on in less than a minute. The touch screen is very sensitive, but easy to work with when texting. It can be frustrating though when you are trying to make the subject on your screen bigger and you end up touching something that sends you someplace you do not want to go. The 4" screen is very easy t see and work with when cruising the internet or texting. The sound is good. Great for using the speaker phone. I would advise getting a cover for it, the back seems very flimsy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 34 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Amazing for the price!

05/08/2013
By ,
Athens,PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been looking for a good phone for awhile, and I've found it in this phone. The only complaints I have is is doesn't have the automatic dictoinary built in (or at least I cant find it) when you text and it'll come up with an option on whether you were trying to spell that word, it doesn't come with alot of wall papers and some that I've tried to put on didnt look right, but other than that, its fast, esay to use, has really cool features, and ultimatly is the best phone I've ever had
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 35 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone
07/27/2013
By ,
Pensacola, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have had several Straighttalk phones, including the Samsung Proclaim. The LG Showtime (CDMA-V) "smoked all of them"!!
Large screen, fast and ample memory and RAM.
When you factor in the $45/month, it's a NO-Brainer.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 36 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Overall I Like It, but....

08/16/2013
By ,
Richmond, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I first got this phone about 2 months ago I was very happy with it. Nice to have all the features at a fraction of the price. The 2 main issues with the phone itself are 1. battery life and 2. speaker. At first battery life was great. Now it doesn't make it through the day and I am a light user. Also sometimes doesn't charge. This issue is all over the forums and I'm currently waiting for Straight Talk to IM me back to resolve the issue. Related to the speaker, it is scratchy sounding. Not quite the quality of my previous phone. But the MAJOR issue with the phone is resolving anything through Straight Talk. As long as everything is working, it is great. But, if you have any issue at all that needs to be addressed by Straight Talk, expect that it will take a minimum of 6 hours and 3 phone calls. My husband has a LG Optimus L40G since April and started having issues with it freezing, etc. After being unable to troubleshoot it via the phone (2.5 hours) they agreed to send him a replacement. The replacement would not charge out of the box. We used the battery from the first phone and it would charge, but then the SIM card wouldn't work. They sent two additional SIM card replacements (another 8 days without service) and neither of the "new" cards would work. So an extra 4 phone calls, to all different levels of management and their solution is.... wait for it... let's try sending you another phone. Which is what we asked for the first time when the battery wouldn't charge, nearly 2 weeks ago. It will be another week or so before the new phone arrives. We are looking at a month of service that we paid for and aren't using. Two other side notes here.... since my husband and I both have Straight Talk, after one of our calls they cut off my phone service because they got the phones mixed up. So I spent 3 hours on the phone with them proving that my phone was not my husband's phone and that we both purchased the one year plan. I lost a day's worth of business calls over this mistake. Then, they sent me a courtesy email "noticed that you had multiple calls and wanted to follow up to see if the issue was resolved." The number given in the email to contact them was disconnected! (They must use straight talk). And, each time we called them, the initial diagnosis was that our "service had expired." Luckily I saved a copy of our purchase order so I could prove to them that I purchased a years worth of service in April. Only after I gave them the purchase order number would they believe us. Apparently, they had no record of our service. On a positive note, the Walmart Replacement/Warrant Plan is the BEST. One call to them last night explaining the issues with Straight Talk and they agreed to refund our money immediately via email so that we could purchase whatever phone we wanted to. I HIGHLY recommend the Walmart Replacement Plan, we have used it with other portable devices and they have always had excellent service without issue. No I know why Walmart started the new "Walmart Family Plan" - this is what we will be switching to when our year pre-paid with Straight Talk expires. Yeah, I know.... shouldn't have bought the year plan, but at first it just worked so well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 37 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone

07/28/2013
By ,
Oil City, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you have good Verizon coverage and install a lot of apps/games this is the phone for you. Plenty of built-in memory for apps that cannot be moved to SD card.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 38 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Straight Talk LG L86C is a Great phone

08/21/2013
By ,
Aiken, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had to give it a 4 star because of the short battery life, other than that it a really great phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Millinocket, Maine
Does it work in my area?
Posted 08/21/2013
I want this phone really bad, but I'm not completely sure if it will work in my area. I have checked it at the top where I type in the zip code but I'm still not 100% I don't want to waste my money on something that doesn't even work. Also, do you know if the 6-month unlimited card works for it?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 39 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Good, slow.

08/29/2013
By ,
Otis Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The phone is a good phone. Great coverage here in nowhere western Kansas. The 1ghz single core processor really shows in Facebook, web browsing, and in typing. Other than that great. Well the battery isnt all that great. For the price and coverage it's so worth it tho
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for Straight Talk LG L86C Optimus Showtime Prepaid Smartphone

Skype, You Tube, and Comcast player works great.

06/02/2013
By ,
GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LG L86c allows me to Skype and download apps fast. It is easy to use. The Google GPS and navigation helps me get around GA. Walmart sales car charges for the phone. However, I had to buy my phone case from Amazon.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
21-40 of 248 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next