Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Moultrie Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Moultrie Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

The I-40 Moultrie Game Spy Camera helps you scout for game and wildlife. You can expertly and confidently scout with its infrared trail camera. It features a very useful 50' flash range for taking images at long distances. This classic infrared game camera also does not produce a white flash, making it virtually undetectable to any game or wildlife. It features a rapid trigger time and a long-lasting 150-day battery life so you can stay out longer in between charges. The Moultrie trail camera also has a high-resolution 5.0 megapixel camera that allows you to consistently take beautiful color pictures and videos both day and night. Go wherever your bird watching or other wildlife viewing adventures may take you with this high-quality device in your repertoire. The I-40 Moultrie Game Spy Camera is a solid addition to your game and wildlife-viewing hobby.
Average Customer Rating:
3.641 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation75%40 out of 53reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 38 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Everyone needs this!

05/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you wonder what's in your backyard you can know with this game cam! This is our 5th game camera. We like to put them in our backyard and in the country at our cabin. We've gotten bear, deer, turkey, raccoon, fox, squirrel, and lots of different birds. It's fun and easy to use.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

On Sale For A Reason

05/02/2014
By ,
North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this outdoor game camera due to the features listed compared to the price and it seemed to be the best value going. The quality of the daytime pictures and video are pretty good. The night pictures and video are almost undetectable unless the object is within about 4-5 feet of the camera. There seems to be a delay between the time the camera detects activity and the shutter snaps. I have lots of 'empty' pictures both day and night. There are not settings for this to adjust. Surprisingly I have found the video feature to be much more useful than the pictures. For the money it's not too bad, just don't set your expectations too high. I paid around $89 for mine.
The menu is easy to navigate. Access to the SD card is a little tight, but with the help of my pocket knife, I was able to push it into place. Fortunately, it comes with a USB cable so you don't have to take the SD card in and out. It also comes with a video cable (RCA connector) to hook up to your TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Excellent model

12/17/2013
By ,
DeRidder LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second i40
Camera I have purchased . It was because of the first camera that I bought that made me want to buy another. I have tried other more expensive cameras but none has been as reliable as this. I have had my first camera 3 years and I just love it. Easy to use. Batteries last a long time. Pictures are clear and videos are great. The only thing I have had to do is replace the view panel because it went out after warranty but the company sent me the part for about $14 bucks and u fixed it myself and was back in business was even able to use the camera when the view screen went bad on it. Reliable and durable ..... I did notice that the one I received was not the same color as in the picture here it is a army green . So I hope it turns out to be just as reliable but this photo on Walmart . Com should reflect the exact product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Only lasts a year!

10/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Everybody rates this thing right out of the box but after a year the display quit sent it back with all the moving parts to Moultrie when they sent it back it was lacking the tree strap and the elevation adjuster. The camera wouldn't video in longer than 5 second videos and today it just died altogether. Will not buy Moultrie again.
Recommends this product? No
From Customer Service10/31/2014
We at Moultrie would like to apologize for the issues that you have experienced with your Game Spy Classic. Please understand that we strive to create exceptional experiences with our products and our service. Because of your unsatisfactory experience, we would like the opportunity to provide a better experience for you, if you should ever see fit to give us another chance. Thank you for being a Moultrie customer, and we hope you will be again.

Please contact our US-Based call center Monday-Friday 8AM - 5PM CST
1-800-653-3334

- Moultrie Product TeamMoultrie
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Faded digital readout

09/13/2014
By ,
Conesus NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Set camera up with batteries and programed it before I took it to the field. 2 days later ready to go out and put it on a tree. I checked program first. Digital readout was faded and 70% missing. Returning camera now. Emailed Moultrie twice to see why this was happening-NO RESPONSE
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
From Customer Service10/28/2014
Righttofreedom, Due to the nature of the season, we have regrettably had a delay in our email response time. Please contact our US-Based call center Monday-Friday 8AM - 5PM CST
1-800-653-3334. Our Customer Service team is ready to provide a better experience for you. Thank you for being a Moultrie Customer.Moultrie
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Good camera for the money

12/24/2013
By ,
East Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have used this model (8 total) for the last 3 yrs. and was pleased with the results. When I saw this one on sale I bought another. Battery life is great and takes great stills--haven't ever used the video function. Had problems with the read out (screen) after two yrs. on one, but was an easy fix.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

It's OKAY

10/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Been using this now for 3 months. Camera is easy to use/setup.
Right out of the box it has not worked right. 95% of the pictures i get are black and white. I have it setup to take 2 pics at a time, one will snap brighter and the next on is dimmer, and it does this over and over again. I do get color pics here and there, but very rare. Thank god I bought the Walmart "no hassle" warranty cause it's going back soon as i get another camera.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Good replacement camera

09/28/2014
By ,
Frisco, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always had this kind of Moultrie camera. It is easy to use and easy to set up. I bought this one to replace an old I-90 camera which is the same design and the only style that fits an aftermarket camera box that I just love. They are a good camera and they are easy to set up and maintain and I hope to get many more years out of this camera just like I have the rest of the rest of the Moultrie cameras designed like this. Just a hint, in the hot Texas summer heat, pull your cameras especially if they are in a protective box to make the cameras last longer and keep the batteries from leaking and damaging the camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Very Dependable

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ive had a few of these cameras and they are rock solid and also have excellent battery life. They aren't pretty like some of the newer models but they take quality pictures for days and months on end. These are also fairly easy to repair yourself, I have changed out the LCD display on a couple, one of them is still in use after 7 years of running 24 hours a day 365 days a year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Great value for a gaming camera

12/10/2013
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this on Black Friday, received on following Tuesday! Gave it to husband right away to use for deer season. He is very happy with the camera
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Great Camera

11/25/2013
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves it! Its takes great pics!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Can't beat the price

05/21/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Had the older i40 and you can tell this one is made cheaper. The on off switch is kinda flimsy hope it holds up. For the price seems decent
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Good battery life about it

08/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is the third one I purchased, one works fine other one's screen shorted out.the one I received from Wal-Mart, out of box the screen was bad
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Save your money

09/18/2014
By ,
Marion, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one of these 4 years ago, for around $200.00, and within 6 months Moultrie replaced it and then within another 6 months they had to replace it again. Third one lasted just over a year, warranty ran out, before it went bad as well. Moultrie customer service was easy to deal with, but the product is not worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
From Customer Service10/28/2014
We at Moultrie would like to apologize for your experience with your Game Spy Classic I-40. Rest assured, we strive to create exceptional experiences with our products and our service. We would welcome the opportunity to provide a better experience for you if you should ever see fit to give us another chance. Thank you for being a Moultrie customer, and we hope you will be again. - Moultrie Product TeamMoultrie
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Received a Broken Game Camera

08/22/2014
By ,
Kentucky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband was so excited to receive this camera, only for it to already be broken. We didn't buy the refurbished either. The little screen under the hood was unreadable. When you pay almost 100 dollars for an item, you expect it to at least work when you receive it. So as far as it being a good game camera, we don't know. As soon as we take it back to Walmart and switch it out, we'll try again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Wish night photos were better

07/29/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I get great pictures during the day, but have nothing at night. The yard I am monitoring has two street lights and I thought I would have gotten better pictures.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Display not readable and not real user friendly.

07/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Function screen is not legiable. Card slot in tight area. I have 2 other kinds of cameras and love them. Hate this so bad I'm not even gonna send it back. Gonna keep it as a reminder to stick with poducts I know. Do us all a favor and take it off the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Will avoid Moultrie products

01/06/2014
By ,
Bend, Or
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Should have paid more attention to the reviews, usually do but the price was too good. Everything worked except night photos, and that was what I needed most, turns out it is a common problem with this camera
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

For the money ($49) this is a good camera.

01/09/2014
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First it's not black like the picture, it's olive green. Not a big deal. It does not take color pics during the day. I thought I read it would take color pics, again no big deal. At first I was having problems with white out on some pics, I called Moultrie and the customer service rep told me to reformat my SD card, I was using a previously used card, and that seemed to take care of the problem. She also said Moultrie cameras seem to do better with Scan Disk brand cards. I've tested the camera with my dogs and it takes clear pics. I haven't tried it at night yet. For the money I would buy a couple more of these cameras. I think they will work fine on my property. Go ahead and get one and see for yourself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-4

01/11/2014
By ,
Drexel Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great camera, Take good quality time stamped pictures both day and night so you know when the game is moving. It is very sensitive, Make sure when you set it up you have a clear lane free of branches or bushes that will move easy in a light breeze or you will end up with several hundred pictures of the surrounding scenery and shrubs,
This is my second trail camera and I run it year round to watch the deer patterns change through out the seasons
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next