Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Moultrie Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Moultrie Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

The I-40 Moultrie Game Spy Camera helps you scout for game and wildlife. You can expertly and confidently scout with its infrared trail camera. It features a very useful 50' flash range for taking images at long distances. This classic infrared game camera also does not produce a white flash, making it virtually undetectable to any game or wildlife. It features a rapid trigger time and a long-lasting 150-day battery life so you can stay out longer in between charges. The Moultrie trail camera also has a high-resolution 5.0 megapixel camera that allows you to consistently take beautiful color pictures and videos both day and night. Go wherever your bird watching or other wildlife viewing adventures may take you with this high-quality device in your repertoire. The I-40 Moultrie Game Spy Camera is a solid addition to your game and wildlife-viewing hobby.
Average Customer Rating:
4.023 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation89%39 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 31 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Everyone needs this!

05/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you wonder what's in your backyard you can know with this game cam! This is our 5th game camera. We like to put them in our backyard and in the country at our cabin. We've gotten bear, deer, turkey, raccoon, fox, squirrel, and lots of different birds. It's fun and easy to use.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

On Sale For A Reason

05/02/2014
By ,
North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this outdoor game camera due to the features listed compared to the price and it seemed to be the best value going. The quality of the daytime pictures and video are pretty good. The night pictures and video are almost undetectable unless the object is within about 4-5 feet of the camera. There seems to be a delay between the time the camera detects activity and the shutter snaps. I have lots of 'empty' pictures both day and night. There are not settings for this to adjust. Surprisingly I have found the video feature to be much more useful than the pictures. For the money it's not too bad, just don't set your expectations too high. I paid around $89 for mine.
The menu is easy to navigate. Access to the SD card is a little tight, but with the help of my pocket knife, I was able to push it into place. Fortunately, it comes with a USB cable so you don't have to take the SD card in and out. It also comes with a video cable (RCA connector) to hook up to your TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Excellent model

12/17/2013
By ,
DeRidder LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second i40
Camera I have purchased . It was because of the first camera that I bought that made me want to buy another. I have tried other more expensive cameras but none has been as reliable as this. I have had my first camera 3 years and I just love it. Easy to use. Batteries last a long time. Pictures are clear and videos are great. The only thing I have had to do is replace the view panel because it went out after warranty but the company sent me the part for about $14 bucks and u fixed it myself and was back in business was even able to use the camera when the view screen went bad on it. Reliable and durable ..... I did notice that the one I received was not the same color as in the picture here it is a army green . So I hope it turns out to be just as reliable but this photo on Walmart . Com should reflect the exact product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Wish night photos were better

07/29/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I get great pictures during the day, but have nothing at night. The yard I am monitoring has two street lights and I thought I would have gotten better pictures.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Display not readable and not real user friendly.

07/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Function screen is not legiable. Card slot in tight area. I have 2 other kinds of cameras and love them. Hate this so bad I'm not even gonna send it back. Gonna keep it as a reminder to stick with poducts I know. Do us all a favor and take it off the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

takes great pics

07/19/2014
By ,
castroville texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the battery door is awkward to open and the SD card is very difficult to remove..small tongs are required if you have adult size fingers. the door is real difficult to replace and the closure never feels secure.
i would buy another but i would chose the location carefully to allow battery door access.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Can't beat the price

05/21/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Had the older i40 and you can tell this one is made cheaper. The on off switch is kinda flimsy hope it holds up. For the price seems decent
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Good camera for the money

12/24/2013
By ,
East Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have used this model (8 total) for the last 3 yrs. and was pleased with the results. When I saw this one on sale I bought another. Battery life is great and takes great stills--haven't ever used the video function. Had problems with the read out (screen) after two yrs. on one, but was an easy fix.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Very Dependable

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ive had a few of these cameras and they are rock solid and also have excellent battery life. They aren't pretty like some of the newer models but they take quality pictures for days and months on end. These are also fairly easy to repair yourself, I have changed out the LCD display on a couple, one of them is still in use after 7 years of running 24 hours a day 365 days a year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Works as expected.

07/13/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price I'm satisfied. Still experimenting with the different settings but so far OK with default settings.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail

05/26/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Still trying to get it set up, not the easiest to set up, I have others that are easier to set up. But in all fairness I paid more for them. This camera is ready to use out of the box but I like a little more than the default settings. Default setting did take pictures. Maybe after it is used for awhile I will give another review ( I do have other Moultrie's and I am happy with them.) I can't give this a good score yet because I haven't got to test it yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Great value for a gaming camera

12/10/2013
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this on Black Friday, received on following Tuesday! Gave it to husband right away to use for deer season. He is very happy with the camera
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Great Camera

11/25/2013
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband loves it! Its takes great pics!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

For the money ($49) this is a good camera.

01/09/2014
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First it's not black like the picture, it's olive green. Not a big deal. It does not take color pics during the day. I thought I read it would take color pics, again no big deal. At first I was having problems with white out on some pics, I called Moultrie and the customer service rep told me to reformat my SD card, I was using a previously used card, and that seemed to take care of the problem. She also said Moultrie cameras seem to do better with Scan Disk brand cards. I've tested the camera with my dogs and it takes clear pics. I haven't tried it at night yet. For the money I would buy a couple more of these cameras. I think they will work fine on my property. Go ahead and get one and see for yourself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Will avoid Moultrie products

01/06/2014
By ,
Bend, Or
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Should have paid more attention to the reviews, usually do but the price was too good. Everything worked except night photos, and that was what I needed most, turns out it is a common problem with this camera
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Good price, Simple Camera

03/09/2014
By ,
AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The camera was bigger than I expected, but takes good pictures day and night.
Having to take the battery compartment lid off to access the flash card is bothersome, but trying to retrieve it from that small slot is aggravating.
Only been in operation for a week, so no knowledge of battery life and how it stands up to the weather.
The camera does display a red light at the time of photo capture.
Get flash cards yourself, it does not come with any. Buy a couple so you can swap and not miss anything. Get 4G or better, any smaller than and the High resolution will not work with under 1G.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-4

01/11/2014
By ,
Drexel Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great camera, Take good quality time stamped pictures both day and night so you know when the game is moving. It is very sensitive, Make sure when you set it up you have a clear lane free of branches or bushes that will move easy in a light breeze or you will end up with several hundred pictures of the surrounding scenery and shrubs,
This is my second trail camera and I run it year round to watch the deer patterns change through out the seasons
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Cant beat it for the money

01/20/2014
By ,
LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only thing I can even say is a slight complaint is the memory card slot location, it is tricky to remove if you have large fingers. If it had a separate door for the on/ off switch and memory card slot, it would be perfect. I will be buying another one of this model shortly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Works Great..

01/08/2014
By ,
Greenville, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works very good and is very sensitive to picking up and videoing. It is so sensitive it picks up a flag flying in the wind. I only wish at night it would video more than 5 seconds at a time and the infrared light would pick up farther out distance wise. The size of it was a lot bigger than I expected, other than that, I LOVE IT...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Moultrie Game Spy Classic I-40 5.0MP IR Game/Trail Camera

Decent for the price

01/04/2014
By ,
Gillsville, Ga.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a dinosaur of a camera. Big, bulky and not very user friendly as far as what's involved in getting to the SD card and batteries. The price was low and it performs well as far what I need out of a game cam. If you want a good cheap camera that does the job and you don't mind going through all the motions then this is the camera for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1 2 3 Next