Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

Shark Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

The Shark Sonic Duo Mop, KD450WM promises consumers a safe and serious clean quickly and easily for all of their floors. This Shark Sonic Duo Mop, KD450WM provides a Total Floor Care System that cares for, cleans and finishes all hard floor surfaces and carpets. The Shark Sonic Duo comes with multiple scrubbing speeds to allow the user to further tailor their cleaning process to their unique floor care needs. The mop's reusable pads and concentrated Category Four cleaning solution mitigate its impact on the environment. The concentrated solution is as safe for the family as baby shampoo and provides users with the ability to clean and polish all of their hard floor surfaces. The Shark Sonic Mop delivers clean, shiny floors with a streak-free finish and a routine maintenance solution for carpets, while being safe for families and pets.
Average Customer Rating:
4.016 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(122 Reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
33
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation80%98 out of 122reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
54 Questions | 126 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
33
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

No better cleaning than damp mop

08/25/2014
By ,
springfield, mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used on kitchen floor and looked no better than when I had mopped it. Will keep because I have back problems and just use it with various cleaners till I find one that works. Cleans light surface dirt but nothing else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

I love it!

10/09/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Because of the price, I was thinking about getting something cheaper but I was afraid of getting something that didn't work. I was also worried because I saw some not so good reviews on this product. I recently moved and where I moved, the bottom of our shoes get BLACK and track on the carpets REALLY bad. So within two days of being here, my carpet in the entryway was BLACk instead of cream like it started out. Well, I used the Shark Sonic Duo on it, and in minutes, the carpet was clean! Looked brand new! I've used it for many recent juice stains, pet stains, food stains, etc, and it gets out all of them besides for a red stain I didn't know was there from juice that dyed my carpet, but I run it over it every now and then and its fading a good bit. I've used it on hard floors and it gets up dirt that I didn't even think was there. I also tried it out on my mattress because it was stained from my daughters spills and accidents (its a pillow-top). I've tried EVERYTHING to try to get it clean, so I gave up, and the stains have sat there for quite a while. Well, I just ran the shark sonic duo over it and most of the stains are out. I couldn't believe it. You can still see hints of the stains but I am very impressed with the overall job. Overall, I think its a great product and would definitely recommend it, and won't go back to a normal shampooer, ever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mesa, AZ
Same problem
Posted 11/17/2013
I'm considering a sonic duo because I have the same problem here in AZ - black dust that gets carried in & blackens my carpet in the family room. It sounds like this will help me keep the carpet clean.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 23 for Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

Skeptics Be Assured

08/03/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Sonic Duo thinking this was a steam cleaning system for carpets. When I first got it home, I started using it and was super unhappy with the concept behind how it was trying to clean. But I stuck it out. The product basically takes the solution and it loosens the dirt in the carpet by shaking back and forth. You must spray the worst spots, run the Sonic with the spray, then the solution MUST DRY.(do not need a lot of solution) Then you take your regular vaccuum and sweep away the dirt. I think there is more to it than shaking back and forth but I can tell you that after running it a couple of times on my carpet(It was filthy), my carpet is revived and feeling/looking significantly cleaner. It's less effort than conventional steam cleaners. Very happy with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

Not impressed!

11/18/2013
By ,
Chambersburg, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was very disappointed with this product. After seeing all the info-mercials, I was eager to get one and try it. It definitely does not clean carpets the way it shows on TV. I tried this in my home first and while it did lessen some stains, it did not make my carpets look like new either. Next I tried it in some of our rental properties and it did absolutely nothing for the stains that tenants have left behind. I couldn't even tell that I had used it at all. I am much happier with my steam cleaner and will be buying another steamer instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

Great rug shampoo for young and older people.

08/30/2013
By ,
Oak Lawn, Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 70, and it was getting a little rough trying to use my big Bissell rug cleaner, due to hip and knee problems, than I saw an advertisement of the Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet cleaner. Our family room rug gets a lot of traffic, plus our old dog has accidents now and then. I bought the Sonic Duo and used it on my carpet, and my rug looks great, all spots were removed with the spot remover, and rug shampoo, now it looks clean and the color is bright again.
I am very happy that I decided to invest in this product. It is easy to maneuver, and not heavy at all. Took half the time it did when I used the Bissell. When done, remove the pads, wash and presto you are done. I would definitely recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

Old Puppy Stains Gone!

06/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 2 yorkies have wreaked havoc on my carpets! I have used Nature's Miracle Pet Stain and Odor remover for spot cleaning and Bissell's Big Green Machine to reduce deep stains. With the Bissell machine, I did see noticeable difference but there were still present stains. Plus, it was a hassle to lug around. Shark's Sonic Duo made my pet-stained carpet look, smell, and feel like new after 2 treatments. I can breath easy with this carpet cleaner in my closet!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM
05/27/2013
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really impressed with this machine. It does everything as advertised. The only issue I have found is that the cleaning solutions are not available in any stores yet, and i had to order them directly from Shark. I assume that will only be a temporary problem, since it is a new product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
california
you can find the solutions at walmart :)
Posted 08/02/2013
all solutions and extras are at walmart hope that helps
+2points
Customer Avatar
BLACKSBURG,SC 29702
help
Posted 06/20/2013
what are you to do if you can't find the cleaning solution. if you buy it from the company how much does it cost
0points
Customer Avatar
Wa
solutions for this product
Posted 06/17/2013
Depending on where you live, if you have a Bed, Bath, and Beyond store they carry the solutions.
+4points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 28 for Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

Perfect Hard Floor & Carpet Stain Removal Cleaner

06/09/2013
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own or have owned all the major brands of carpet and hard floor cleaners and I have become adept with all of them. My Go To machine for heavily soiled floors is the Hoover MaxExtract 700 and my Go To machine for carpets will always be the Rug Doctor (middle size). But this Sonic Duo is a revelation. I will no longer wait for my floors to become noticeably dirty (beyond what daily sweeping can handle), with the Sonic Duo I can quickly and easily keep all my hard floors (wood, ceramic, tile) clean, shiny and in top shape and any time a stain appears on my carpets I can whip out the Sonic and blast it away. A big part of the success of this product is some pretty incredible cleaning formulas. And the stain treatment spray is unreal. Ground in stains, grease stains, pet stains, it doesn't matter it blasts them all like nothing I've used before (and I've used them all). Then the cleaning cloths on the Duo suck up the stains so you can throw them into your washing machine and be permanently rid of them. But while this is now my Go To machine for hard floors I would still stick with my Rug Doctor with the Bissell ProCare carpet formula to keep large carpeted areas in tip top shape with the Duo to maintain the good looks between major cleanings. Just to note I had one 2 year old stain that the DUO could not remove completely (but neither did the Doctor) but I went over it with the Sonic Duo cleaners and machine and then the Doctor and the stain was completely gone. If I were an apartment dweller or only had a small amount of carpet or just some area rugs on a hard floor then the Sonic Duo is the perfect tool. Don't hesitate to buy this product. Even the mechanically challenged should find this great product fairly easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+134points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

Quit working the 2nd time I used it.

06/02/2013
By ,
Gulfport MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was mid-way through cleaning my laminate wood floor and it just quit. Checked troubleshooting guide which said let it sit for 45 min to cool off. Did, still does not work. I will now need to call the 1800 number. I think I will go back to the old fashioned scrub brush and mop. No mechanical parts, just me and my muscles that need work anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
Posted 08/04/2013
I'm sorry to hear it...I'm sure it's just rare occurrence. If you get an exchange I'm sure you'll love the machine!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 30 for Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

Woah! Wait a minute. Hold on.

10/11/2013
By ,
Cheverly, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What are all these reviews about "this product doesn't do what it says it will do?" Really? I think the problem might be with the operator, not the machine. I just got mine this week and I put it to use on some very old and set in doggy stains on the carpet in my bedroom. What can I say. They are gone. I have an upright carpet shampooer that I have had for years that I used on these stains multiple times and it did nothing to remove them. The Sonic Duo got them out almost completely the first time I used it. The second time I used the Sonic Duo on the stains, they were gone completely. I'll be trying it on the hardwood floors this weekend. So if you are thinking of buying a Sonic Duo, I have just one question. What are you waiting on?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

works better than expected.

08/10/2013
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this floor cleaner works perfectly. it feels like it's gliding on air and does not leave streaks or residue on the floor. I was raised to scrub the floor on your hands and knees for the best results, this product is the next best thing to that.. I would recommend to anyone who hates mopping or scrubbing the floor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

great product

08/06/2014
By ,
Sulphur Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this for hardwood floors. I do not have carpet so I can't say how that is.
does a good job
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

Great machine

05/15/2013
By ,
Chicago, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really makes a difference with carpet. Cleans them fast and easily removes stains. I love that it can go from floor to carpet with minimal time to change pads and solution. So far very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

Meh

06/16/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I can't say it cleans any better than a swiffer does with cleaning solution. It does not scrub surface dirt off very well-I often have to use my fingers to rub off spots that this cleaner cannot.I also cannot say it's any faster than using a swiffer. I am conflicted on whether I should have bought it or not.
It's fun to use, but it should be amazing for this price...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

Great for carpets!

05/25/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is easy to assemble and use. It really restored my carpets to looking like new. Although it was unable to remove a stain on my high gloss black porcelain tile floor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

Love, Love, LOVE IT!!!

02/27/2014
By ,
Fallon, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, I didn't buy this for a rug or carpet cleaner. I have a carpet cleaner for that. I have hardwood floors, wood laminate, and tile floors. I also have a St. Bernard and a Mastiff. I had major surgery two weeks ago and my floors desperately needed a good scrubbing and I can't do any real lifting or scrubbing. I have been reading about the Sonic Duo for months and finally just broke down and bought it. OMG! Where has this been all my life?? It cleaned the floors with no problem, including the dog slober! It was amazingly easy and got it done in half the time of mopping and scrubbing. I think it's fantastic on floors. By design, I couldn't imagine it being a great carpet cleaner other than on spots maybe. But it's fantastic on floors!!!!.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

Better than expected

07/17/2013
By ,
Nanaimo BC Canada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Did a great job on slate tile floor. Didn't leave watermarks like regular mop and cleanser and gave floor a nice sheen. Carpet had doggie paw prints from wet mud. At first I thought it looked worse but it was still 'wet'. After a couple of hours it looked great. I used the pre-treater on some spots and left others without. The pre-treatment definitely made a difference. Get extra carpet solution because it uses a lot.
Very pleased with results and I love this machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

Made wood floor worse

08/17/2013
By ,
Massachusetts
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was extremely disappointed with this product. It just lightly scrubs by vibrating back and forth on the surface if the floor or carpet. Don't feel like it actually clean the carpet. And the wood floor seemed dirtier after use, almost as though the "cleaning" solution was more if a polish and trapped dirt. So not worth the money. I wish I could've returned it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

I love it

07/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Floors feel so clean. Have not tried on carpet yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet Cleaner, KD450WM

Did not clean carpet or stains.

07/04/2013
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the Sonic Duo 450 to clean rugs and carpets. I did not see a difference on either. Before making a decision to return it to the store, I asked my daughter to try it on her light carpet to be sure I was correct. . . maybe it would clean hers. There was absolutely no difference. I am returning it to the store today. I liked the size etc.
I guess "If it looks to good to be true, it is!".
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RADCLIFF KY 40160
sonic duo for carpets
Posted 09/21/2013
I DON 'T KNOW IF YOU DID FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS OF WHAT, BUT OUR CARPETS WHERE BASICALLY GROSS (HONESTLY) AFTER KIDS GRANDKIDS DOGS SPILLS AND MUD AND A PAVED DRIVEWAY THE SONIC DUO CLEANED IT ALL NOTHING HAS CLEANED IT THAT WELL EVEN PROFESSIONAL CARPET CLEANERS U HAVE TO CHANGE THE PADS OFTEN IF THE ROOM IS BIG WE CHANGED IT 20 TIMES JUST AND PRE SPRAY BIG MAJOR STAINS. WE QUICK RINSED THEM IN KITCHEN SINK THEN THAT NIGHT WASHED THEM FULLY IN THE WASHING MACHINE AND IN THE COMMERCIAL THEY SHOW IT WORKING ALOT FASTER THAN THEY SHOULD. ITS THE BEST MONEY MY HUSBAND HAS EVER SPENT. WE WHERE GONNA REPLACE IT INSTEAD, I AM GLAD WE DIDN'T UNTIL WE CAN AFFORD TO REPLACE THE CARPET WITH THE BEST HARDWOOD WE WANTED INSTEAD OF THE CHEAP STUFF NOW WE CAN, BY BUYING A $200 CLEANER THAN CAN CLEAN IT ALSO
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
21-40 of 116 total reviews