Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner

Shark Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner

The Shark Sonic Duo KD450WM promises a quick, powerful and easy way to remove stuck-on dirt from carpets, area rugs and hard floors. It is a total floor care system that cares for, cleans and finishes all hard floor surfaces and carpets. It provides a better clean with less effort every time. To get your carpets truly clean, the Sonic Duo first removes the visible dirt on the surface of the carpet. Then the carpet solution with Trap & Remove Technology penetrates deep and attaches to the stuck-on dirt down deeper into the fibers. As the solution dries, it dehydrates the dirt, unlocking it from the fibers, so it is easily vacuumed away later. Carpets are left cleaner and fresher. Hard floors are deep cleaned and are left with a beautiful non-streak finish with no dulling residue. To get your hard floors truly clean, the sonic action and specially formulated cleaning solution work together with the pad to get rid of the dirt — even down into the cracks.
Average Customer Rating:
4.056 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(142 Reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
79
4 stars
34
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation82%116 out of 142reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
65 Questions | 138 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
79
4 stars
34
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner

Replaces Swifer WetJet nicely

05/11/2014
By ,
Portland, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After breaking the handle of our 4th Swifer wetjet, I decided we need a more serious hard floor cleaner. I read many reviews on this product, and must admit until I got it out of the box and running, I wasn't sure what I was getting. Shark & Dyson have so many different models that vary slightly - read descriptions carefully. I thought this unit would replace my old vacuum & my Swifer wet jets - it just replaces the wetjet in my house. You MUST vacuum (with a separate machine) BEFORE using this product. Once your hard floors have been vacuumed, this product works really well. My floors are well cleaned, the fluid did not smell for long or take too long to dry. The swivel feature and shape of the pads gets into corners & cleans edges nicely. One review mentioned the floors came out shiny - not true - they are only shiny when wet, which as I said, doesn't take long to dry. I only have carpet on the stairs and though I haven't tried yet, using this upright style product on the stairs would be pretty awkward. So I still need a new vacuum/carpet cleaner, preferably in a design that can easily do stairs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner
05/27/2013
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really impressed with this machine. It does everything as advertised. The only issue I have found is that the cleaning solutions are not available in any stores yet, and i had to order them directly from Shark. I assume that will only be a temporary problem, since it is a new product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+115points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
california
you can find the solutions at walmart :)
Posted 08/02/2013
all solutions and extras are at walmart hope that helps
+2points
Customer Avatar
BLACKSBURG,SC 29702
help
Posted 06/20/2013
what are you to do if you can't find the cleaning solution. if you buy it from the company how much does it cost
0points
Customer Avatar
Wa
solutions for this product
Posted 06/17/2013
Depending on where you live, if you have a Bed, Bath, and Beyond store they carry the solutions.
+4points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 23 for Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner

Great rug shampoo for young and older people.

08/30/2013
By ,
Oak Lawn, Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 70, and it was getting a little rough trying to use my big Bissell rug cleaner, due to hip and knee problems, than I saw an advertisement of the Shark Sonic Duo Floor & Carpet cleaner. Our family room rug gets a lot of traffic, plus our old dog has accidents now and then. I bought the Sonic Duo and used it on my carpet, and my rug looks great, all spots were removed with the spot remover, and rug shampoo, now it looks clean and the color is bright again.
I am very happy that I decided to invest in this product. It is easy to maneuver, and not heavy at all. Took half the time it did when I used the Bissell. When done, remove the pads, wash and presto you are done. I would definitely recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner

Perfect Hard Floor & Carpet Stain Removal Cleaner

06/09/2013
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own or have owned all the major brands of carpet and hard floor cleaners and I have become adept with all of them. My Go To machine for heavily soiled floors is the Hoover MaxExtract 700 and my Go To machine for carpets will always be the Rug Doctor (middle size). But this Sonic Duo is a revelation. I will no longer wait for my floors to become noticeably dirty (beyond what daily sweeping can handle), with the Sonic Duo I can quickly and easily keep all my hard floors (wood, ceramic, tile) clean, shiny and in top shape and any time a stain appears on my carpets I can whip out the Sonic and blast it away. A big part of the success of this product is some pretty incredible cleaning formulas. And the stain treatment spray is unreal. Ground in stains, grease stains, pet stains, it doesn't matter it blasts them all like nothing I've used before (and I've used them all). Then the cleaning cloths on the Duo suck up the stains so you can throw them into your washing machine and be permanently rid of them. But while this is now my Go To machine for hard floors I would still stick with my Rug Doctor with the Bissell ProCare carpet formula to keep large carpeted areas in tip top shape with the Duo to maintain the good looks between major cleanings. Just to note I had one 2 year old stain that the DUO could not remove completely (but neither did the Doctor) but I went over it with the Sonic Duo cleaners and machine and then the Doctor and the stain was completely gone. If I were an apartment dweller or only had a small amount of carpet or just some area rugs on a hard floor then the Sonic Duo is the perfect tool. Don't hesitate to buy this product. Even the mechanically challenged should find this great product fairly easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+180points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner

love this product!

02/08/2014
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not sure about how well this would work, but it does what it says. There were a few stains on my carpet I just couldn't get out with my steam carpet cleaner and this did! Before the stains would ALWAYS come back...very frustrating pet stain(if you have a pet you know how hard these food stains can be to get out). But it's been several weeks since I treated the stains with the S-Duo and there are 0 signs of them returning--finally! I was also surprised when my carpets continued to brighten after drying. This worked great on my high traffic areas and hard floors too, but I was after those pesky stains. I also like how light and easy this is compared to a heavy steam cleaner. I think it is well worth the $ because it is so easy to use and does a fantastic job...I will use this more frequently.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner

Quit working the 2nd time I used it.

06/02/2013
By ,
Gulfport MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was mid-way through cleaning my laminate wood floor and it just quit. Checked troubleshooting guide which said let it sit for 45 min to cool off. Did, still does not work. I will now need to call the 1800 number. I think I will go back to the old fashioned scrub brush and mop. No mechanical parts, just me and my muscles that need work anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
Posted 08/04/2013
I'm sorry to hear it...I'm sure it's just rare occurrence. If you get an exchange I'm sure you'll love the machine!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 27 for Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner

Not impressed!

11/18/2013
By ,
Chambersburg, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was very disappointed with this product. After seeing all the info-mercials, I was eager to get one and try it. It definitely does not clean carpets the way it shows on TV. I tried this in my home first and while it did lessen some stains, it did not make my carpets look like new either. Next I tried it in some of our rental properties and it did absolutely nothing for the stains that tenants have left behind. I couldn't even tell that I had used it at all. I am much happier with my steam cleaner and will be buying another steamer instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner

works better than expected.

08/10/2013
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this floor cleaner works perfectly. it feels like it's gliding on air and does not leave streaks or residue on the floor. I was raised to scrub the floor on your hands and knees for the best results, this product is the next best thing to that.. I would recommend to anyone who hates mopping or scrubbing the floor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner

Woah! Wait a minute. Hold on.

10/11/2013
By ,
Cheverly, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What are all these reviews about "this product doesn't do what it says it will do?" Really? I think the problem might be with the operator, not the machine. I just got mine this week and I put it to use on some very old and set in doggy stains on the carpet in my bedroom. What can I say. They are gone. I have an upright carpet shampooer that I have had for years that I used on these stains multiple times and it did nothing to remove them. The Sonic Duo got them out almost completely the first time I used it. The second time I used the Sonic Duo on the stains, they were gone completely. I'll be trying it on the hardwood floors this weekend. So if you are thinking of buying a Sonic Duo, I have just one question. What are you waiting on?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner

Meh

06/16/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I can't say it cleans any better than a swiffer does with cleaning solution. It does not scrub surface dirt off very well-I often have to use my fingers to rub off spots that this cleaner cannot.I also cannot say it's any faster than using a swiffer. I am conflicted on whether I should have bought it or not.
It's fun to use, but it should be amazing for this price...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner

Great machine

05/15/2013
By ,
Chicago, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really makes a difference with carpet. Cleans them fast and easily removes stains. I love that it can go from floor to carpet with minimal time to change pads and solution. So far very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+97points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner

Great for carpets!

05/25/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is easy to assemble and use. It really restored my carpets to looking like new. Although it was unable to remove a stain on my high gloss black porcelain tile floor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner

Better than expected

07/17/2013
By ,
Nanaimo BC Canada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Did a great job on slate tile floor. Didn't leave watermarks like regular mop and cleanser and gave floor a nice sheen. Carpet had doggie paw prints from wet mud. At first I thought it looked worse but it was still 'wet'. After a couple of hours it looked great. I used the pre-treater on some spots and left others without. The pre-treatment definitely made a difference. Get extra carpet solution because it uses a lot.
Very pleased with results and I love this machine!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner

Made wood floor worse

08/17/2013
By ,
Massachusetts
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was extremely disappointed with this product. It just lightly scrubs by vibrating back and forth on the surface if the floor or carpet. Don't feel like it actually clean the carpet. And the wood floor seemed dirtier after use, almost as though the "cleaning" solution was more if a polish and trapped dirt. So not worth the money. I wish I could've returned it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner

Little Machine, Big Results

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received my Shark Duo in the mail, and could not wait to see if this was the one, I have ceramic tile and hardwood floors in 80% of my home, and it's been a struggle to maintain and keep them looking good, my problem mainly was my ceramic tile, no matter what mop system I used or high-end cleaning product the floors continued to look dull and hazy and picked up every foot print. I can tell you I have in my garage at least 4 mopping systems that I have tried and cast aside, but NOW I have found the machine that replaces all of them, I can't tell you how PLEASED I am, I my floor cleaning to a minimum. The cleaning solutions that came with the machine are excellent, I found the less product you use the better the cleaning results, my tile floors have a low luster finish, that I have not seen since they were new. when anyone asks me how I keep my floors so clean I almost sound like a commercial, but the machine is that good...I give it the highest rating and recommend it to anyone who want an easy way to clean tile and hardwood floors. The carpet attachment did fairly well on the area rugs but the carpeted areas in my home are too large for this small machine
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner

Did not clean carpet or stains.

07/04/2013
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the Sonic Duo 450 to clean rugs and carpets. I did not see a difference on either. Before making a decision to return it to the store, I asked my daughter to try it on her light carpet to be sure I was correct. . . maybe it would clean hers. There was absolutely no difference. I am returning it to the store today. I liked the size etc.
I guess "If it looks to good to be true, it is!".
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RADCLIFF KY 40160
sonic duo for carpets
Posted 09/21/2013
I DON 'T KNOW IF YOU DID FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS OF WHAT, BUT OUR CARPETS WHERE BASICALLY GROSS (HONESTLY) AFTER KIDS GRANDKIDS DOGS SPILLS AND MUD AND A PAVED DRIVEWAY THE SONIC DUO CLEANED IT ALL NOTHING HAS CLEANED IT THAT WELL EVEN PROFESSIONAL CARPET CLEANERS U HAVE TO CHANGE THE PADS OFTEN IF THE ROOM IS BIG WE CHANGED IT 20 TIMES JUST AND PRE SPRAY BIG MAJOR STAINS. WE QUICK RINSED THEM IN KITCHEN SINK THEN THAT NIGHT WASHED THEM FULLY IN THE WASHING MACHINE AND IN THE COMMERCIAL THEY SHOW IT WORKING ALOT FASTER THAN THEY SHOULD. ITS THE BEST MONEY MY HUSBAND HAS EVER SPENT. WE WHERE GONNA REPLACE IT INSTEAD, I AM GLAD WE DIDN'T UNTIL WE CAN AFFORD TO REPLACE THE CARPET WITH THE BEST HARDWOOD WE WANTED INSTEAD OF THE CHEAP STUFF NOW WE CAN, BY BUYING A $200 CLEANER THAN CAN CLEAN IT ALSO
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 37 for Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner

sonic duo beats steam

01/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a floor steamer that sort of cleans the tile floors in my house, thought they looked good until I saw what the sonic duo could do to tile, WOW what a difference. Haven't yet used it on carpet.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner
06/01/2013
By ,
York, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything met my expectations so far. Since I only had the product for 2 weeks I cannot rate the durability. It does appear to be sturdy and should last.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner

Only ok

08/27/2013
By ,
York, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I wanted to be fair when reviewing the sonic duo so I waited until I used it for a while on both carpets and floors. Right out of the package I used it on some areas of carpet that continually get dirty from heavy foot traffic and a coffee stain that was set in. It took forever going over the same spot for a long time until the carpet was saturated. Then it took forever to dry. A few days later I ran the deep steam cleaner over the same areas and the water was very dirty. So I don't think it did an adequate job on carpets at all. I then used the mop on my laminate and vinyl floors with the solution that came with the mop. I didn't like the solution as it left a haze on my floors and it also ate a little of the coating of the vinyl off the floor. It also failed to get the hairspray off the bathroom floor. However, when I used my regular cleaner with the mop it was fantastic! It did a fabulous job. At first I just wanted to try out my own floor cleaner solution and didn't want to void the warranty so I used a spray bottle but today I just emptied the solution from the company and used my solution into the bottle that feeds into the machine. It did a great job of cleaning the floors and made them so shiny. So my advice is buy the cheaper version that only scrubs floors and use the cleaner solution that you like the best for cleaning your floors.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Shark Sonic Duo Carpet and Hard Floor Cleaner

Glorified swifter

08/18/2013
By ,
Sandown, nh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product used it it two rooms and returned it. It's light weight and easy to maneuver, however it only cleans on the surface at best. It does a better job on hard surfaces than on carpet. I have a short tightly wound carpet and it barely removed even light stains that I pretreated. I was not even slightly impressed by this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 136 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next