Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dyna-Gro Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

Dyna-Gro Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

The Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq Offset Charcoal Smoker offers 1,176-square inches of total smoking area. The offset charcoal box design allows for much greater heat control, in addition to channeling the smoked flavor across the foods for a tasty barbecue-smoked flavor. There are six adjustable cooking grates on this vertical charcoal smoker, so you can smoke up to 150 lbs of food at one time. This black Dyna-Glo smoker has a heavy-gauge, porcelain-enameled steel charcoal/wood tray and a heavy-duty steel body construction.
Average Customer Rating:
3.938 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation81%13 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

looks good works bad

05/30/2013
By ,
Wall, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My first try using this smoker was very disappointing. The firebox leaks on top where it meets the smoker area. Paint burnt off on first use and is now rusting. Charcoal area cannot handle more than 1 chimney of coal and the wood / coal tray does not allow proper air circulation. I had a really hard time keeping it at 225 degrees due to the poor air flow on the unit.
I called Dyna-Glo and asked what they would recommend, their representative told me to return it to Walmart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
quincy,il
what a piece of junk
Posted 09/29/2014
This is the worst smoker ive ever had,cant get it up to temp. Theres more smoke coming out of the doors than there is out of the smoke stack
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

The only to smoke food

12/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had our Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker for a few months now and have used it at least 6 times, especially at Thanksgiving,, the turkey was to die for. If you have any doubts about purchasing this item, I really think you will not be disappointed. We will be smoking a butt this weekend, going to have a couple of families over for some pulled pork sandwiches. Thanks Walmart for another great buy,,,,, Happy70
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

I wouldn't recommend this purchase

06/04/2013
By ,
Indian Trail, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I found that the metal is too thin and it doesn't contol heat very well. The smoker box is directly adjacent to the heat box so the meat in closest proximity to the heat cooks 3x faster than the top racks. The only way to keep the meat from burning or drying out is to rotate frequently. The frequent opening of the cook box depletes the heat and further increases your smoke time. I've used a horizontal smoker with an offset fire box for years so I thought this was an upgrade instead it was a waste of money. Unfortunately, now that it's used it can't be returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

first time smoker

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first time I ever had a smoker. The reason I chose this one was because of the name and because you can use charcoal and wood. Temperature gauge seems very accurate even though we did buy electronic thermometer which we put through the smokestack to keep on the me the whole time its smoking. Very easy to assemble very easy to use quality is very good sturdy. Would recommend to my friends.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

good smoker

10/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good smoker for the money not heavy guage steel ,but for occasional use its great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

dyna-glo vertical smoker

09/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst smoker ive ever had.smoke leaks out around the doors and were the fire box meats with the main box of the smoker. Also cant get the heat up to 225
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

SMOKING HOT!!!!!!!!

11/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lots of room with multiple shelves, you can smoke different things at same time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

Grill preformed just I wished and as I expected!

07/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have smoked a three five pound pork loin tips so far. One with mesquite chips on charcoal the other two with hickory chips on charcoal. All three receive rave reviews, moist inside, nice service texture outside and great flavor!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

awesome Smoker

05/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first day getting this was awesome. I was recommend this to anyone that loves smoking meats.. Just make sure you preseason it before using it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

Great smoker

09/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IT is very tight,little leaks and holds the temp. very easy,used it last weekend and was the best B-B-Q I have made Have been using a barrel smoker,but this was much better.The price was great,60 dollars less then home depot and lowes(they both had the same price and no they will not price match Wal-Mart online)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

Perfect

07/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First time used very easy to control heat and smoke perfect for all day smoking
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

Good smoker for moderate use

07/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Smoker was delivered fairly quickly, set up wasn't too hard. Keeps temperature well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5