Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dyna-Glo Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

Dyna-Glo Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

The Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq Offset Charcoal Smoker offers 1,176-square inches of total smoking area. The offset charcoal box design allows for much greater heat control, in addition to channeling the smoked flavor across the foods for a tasty barbecue-smoked flavor. There are six adjustable cooking grates on this vertical charcoal smoker, so you can smoke up to 150 lbs of food at one time. This black Dyna-Glo smoker has a heavy-gauge, porcelain-enameled steel charcoal/wood tray and a heavy-duty steel body construction.
Average Customer Rating:
4.347 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
17
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation90%44 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
17
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

looks good works bad

05/30/2013
By ,
Wall, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My first try using this smoker was very disappointing. The firebox leaks on top where it meets the smoker area. Paint burnt off on first use and is now rusting. Charcoal area cannot handle more than 1 chimney of coal and the wood / coal tray does not allow proper air circulation. I had a really hard time keeping it at 225 degrees due to the poor air flow on the unit.
I called Dyna-Glo and asked what they would recommend, their representative told me to return it to Walmart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
quincy,il
what a piece of junk
Posted 09/29/2014
This is the worst smoker ive ever had,cant get it up to temp. Theres more smoke coming out of the doors than there is out of the smoke stack
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

Great Smoker

06/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smoker and I found it to work really well, I did pretty good on my first try at some ribs. The smoker maintained a steady 225-250 temperature for 3 hours before I added more charcoal. The included temperature gauge seemed accurate enough (using boiling water test to check for 212 fahrenheit. If you really must have temp readings accurate to within one degree, you will need to replace it or by a digital thermometer. However to me as long as I'm within 220-250 I'm happy.
You'll want to seal this smoker as soon as you buy it, as it can be leaky, and you want a nice tightly sealed smoker in order to maintain target temperatures.
When you buy this, go ahead and get some Permatex 81160 High-Temp Red RTV Silicone Gasket (available via major online retailers for $5), and when you are assembling put a nice thick bead between the coal box and the smoke chamber. Then when you attach the coal box you get a nice tight seal with no leakage between the coal box and smoke chamber.
Also, there is some leakage around the doors. You can make a seal with the silicone by putting a bead of the high-temp silocone around the door and then shutting the door with some cellophane while it cures. Or you can order a 1/8" thick Nomex gasket available at online retailer (this option is more expensive).
Put a water pan (disposable aluminum cake pan) on the bottom grate to help distribute the heat while cooking.
After making these adjustments you will be very happy with your purchase. I look forward to many happy hours of smoking with this smoker.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

I wouldn't recommend this purchase

06/04/2013
By ,
Indian Trail, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I found that the metal is too thin and it doesn't contol heat very well. The smoker box is directly adjacent to the heat box so the meat in closest proximity to the heat cooks 3x faster than the top racks. The only way to keep the meat from burning or drying out is to rotate frequently. The frequent opening of the cook box depletes the heat and further increases your smoke time. I've used a horizontal smoker with an offset fire box for years so I thought this was an upgrade instead it was a waste of money. Unfortunately, now that it's used it can't be returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

mediocre smoker

06/02/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I question the quality of the smoker when it arrived in a medium sized box that weighed about 70 pounds. the contents were tightly packed but assembly was super easy that my 6 and 8 year old played a major roll in it. OK time to fire up the smoker. Cons- thin gauge steel, used a 20lb bag of hickory chunks and a half bag of charcoal to smoke 4 slabs of ribs, cook time was about 7hrs to where a direct heat smoker takes 3hrs and uses half the wood and charcoal . My first experience was not so good with this smoker but after some modification I think it will be a good addition to my smoker collection.
Recommends this product? No
From GHP Group Inc. Support06/03/2015
Hey there,

We definitely stand behind our product and can assist you if you have any questions. Feel free to call us anytime at 877-447-4768. Thank you.

- GHP Group Customer Service Team ghpgroupinc
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

my 1st

05/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my 1st smoker. I did a little research, for what I wanted this one for the price was perfect. My younger brother bought a different smoker and after a weekend visit, he wishes that he had bought one of these also.
6 racks, large capacity, easy access to firebox. I believe I got the best value for my money, and will enjoy this for years to come.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

silver tape

06/11/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it worked pretty good my only thing that I did not like is that the smoke comes out at the joints or where put together
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

GOT SMOKE

06/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IT WORKS GREAT I DID A PORK ROAST IT CAME OUT DELICIOUSN LIKE IF IT WAS DONE!!!! PROFESSIONALLY
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

My Dyna-Glo

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the Dyna-Glo was easy to put together and easy to use it. the first day I did chicken, pork steaks and beef steaks and did them at the same time. I have to say they taste very good and it makes me glad I got the Dyna-Glo. I will be using it a lot.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

Good Smoker

06/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works fine had to buy and install door gaskets
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

A True Griller

06/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just love it. Its smokes meats like nothing else we've had
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

This is a Bargain

05/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent smoker and ver easy to assemble and use. I think it has more space than the picture shows I cooked 6 racks of ribs and hung about 10 sausages and it cooked great!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

Grill preformed just I wished and as I expected!

07/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have smoked a three five pound pork loin tips so far. One with mesquite chips on charcoal the other two with hickory chips on charcoal. All three receive rave reviews, moist inside, nice service texture outside and great flavor!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

good smoker

10/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good smoker for the money not heavy guage steel ,but for occasional use its great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

awesome Smoker

05/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first day getting this was awesome. I was recommend this to anyone that loves smoking meats.. Just make sure you preseason it before using it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

dyna-glo vertical smoker

09/29/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst smoker ive ever had.smoke leaks out around the doors and were the fire box meats with the main box of the smoker. Also cant get the heat up to 225
Recommends this product? No
From GHP Group Inc. Support05/15/2015
Hey there,

We are sorry to hear about your experience with your smoker. If we can assist you in resolving any of these issues, feel free to give us a call at 877-447-4768. Thank you.

- GHP Group Customer Service Team ghpgroupinc
From GHP Group Inc. Support05/15/2015
Hey there,

We are sorry to hear about your experience with your smoker. If we can assist you in resolving any of these issues, feel free to give us a call at 877-447-4768. Thank you.

- GHP Group Customer Service Team ghpgroupinc
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

SMOKING HOT!!!!!!!!

11/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lots of room with multiple shelves, you can smoke different things at same time.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

Good smoker for moderate use

07/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Smoker was delivered fairly quickly, set up wasn't too hard. Keeps temperature well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

The only to smoke food

12/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had our Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker for a few months now and have used it at least 6 times, especially at Thanksgiving,, the turkey was to die for. If you have any doubts about purchasing this item, I really think you will not be disappointed. We will be smoking a butt this weekend, going to have a couple of families over for some pulled pork sandwiches. Thanks Walmart for another great buy,,,,, Happy70
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

Greatest Christmas Gift

12/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If your husband likes grilling this is the best smoker, grill and everything to get him. Christmas isn't here and he is still messing with it. Great gift!!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dyna-Glo 1,176 sq in Vertical Offset Charcoal Smoker, DGO1176BDC-D

first time smoker

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first time I ever had a smoker. The reason I chose this one was because of the name and because you can use charcoal and wood. Temperature gauge seems very accurate even though we did buy electronic thermometer which we put through the smokestack to keep on the me the whole time its smoking. Very easy to assemble very easy to use quality is very good sturdy. Would recommend to my friends.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next