Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Are you looking for a way to add some spice to your kitchen? Look no further, because this new Candy Apple Red Hamilton Beach Convection Toaster Oven Broiler will do just that. This toaster oven with the Candy Apple finish not only looks fantastic, but also comes with all the functionality you desire. Convection cooking saves time and money as the fan circulates heated air around the food to cook more evenly than a traditional oven. Reheats food 28 percent faster and uses 71 percent less energy than a traditional oven. This Hamilton Beach Convection Toaster Oven Broiler comes with bake, convection, broil, toast settings, timer and automatic shutoff. In addition, the large capacity interior is large enough to cook a 12-inch pizza. Also the Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Toaster Oven comes with a bake pan, broil rack and slide-out crumb tray for easy cleaning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation92%88 out of 96reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
41 Questions | 136 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
65
4 stars
23
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

IT'S A REAL WINNER!

02/23/2014
By ,
Eastern Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not long ago, we decided to get rid of our Microwave. Experts and studies have clearly shown they are a serious health hazard and are even banned in some countries. Still, needed something to use other than fire up the energy hog oven. So next best thing was a convection toaster oven.
I tried two other brands before ultimately buying this Hamilton Beach; a Black and Decker and an upscale Oster Digital, both of which went back. Actually, this Hamilton Beach was my first choice, but wanted to get something that was already in-store. The Black and Decker was really flimsy and the door didn't close evenly. Also, the temps were way off. The Oster, which was a little bigger and all digital was a nice unit, accurate temps, but the convection fan was way too noisy. So, decided to just buy and have this Hamilton Beach shipped to me. Glad I did!
The fit and finish is excellent for an inexpensive unit and the door closes square and true. The Candy Red color adds a little pizzaz to the counter top too, and the convection fan is very quiet. Although the numbers/letters are a little harder to see than most, it's still passable and not a deal breaker. Don't care about it only having a 30 minute timer as I use the digital timer on the stove anyway. Just turned the timer dial to the left for "Stay On". If you use the timer, it does have an off/done bell that dings. Not too loud, but loud enough so you can hear it.
When I purchased this unit it appears in the Walmart photo as not having an on/off light so wasn't expecting it would have one. Was pleasantly surprised when it arrived to see it actually does have one #see photo#. I have added a couple of photos to show how accurate the temp setting is at 350°F using an oven thermometer. Spot On! I would suggest when setting the temp, to turn the dial past your desired temp and coming back to your desired temp
So far I've used it to bake a small pizza, some chicken hind quarters, some baked potatoes, small pork roast and reheating. Perfect! And, the roasting pan, racks, crumb tray, and interior clean up very easily with just dish soap and dish cloth. Didn't make toast as I have a separate toaster for that. The cord is 2 prong, and as with most convection toaster ovens, is short; about 24" long. You may want to get short, heavy-guage extension cord #emphasis on HEAVY-GUAGE# if you need more length which is what I did.
This Hamilton Beach is 1300W which is quite adequate. Also, as with most counter-top convection toaster ovens, they do get hot on the exterior. Haven't seen one that doesn't unless maybe the high priced ones. The rounded back is different, but not a problem. I suspect it's that way to accommodate small pizzas. Lastly, it arrived at my door in 3 days, in perfect, undamaged condition. I have reviewed based upon how well it achieves results based upon what it states it is, not what it is not. It's a real winner of a budget convection toaster oven and delivers on every aspect as described and promised. Just hope it lasts beyond warranty.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Love it!!!

01/06/2014
By ,
Newton,NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a mother of five and love this item for its efficiency. I am able to toast 6 slices of bread at once. Toast complete sandwiches, cheese melt from the inside and bread toast perfectly on the outside. Best part I did not have to babysit it like the stove.
Using it to warm up left over pizza is quick and comes out perfect, this I did babysit since I was not sure how long it would take but it was nice to have the crust still be soft and the cheese warm enough for the kids.
I have had this item for a week or so and I have used it everyday for different foods (pizza, taquitos, ham and cheese sandwiches, bagel with butter and yes to toast bread).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Not Just a Pretty Face, Works Fantastic!!!

08/04/2013
By ,
Belmar,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So pleased with this toaster oven that I wish I had it for years!! I absolutely love the convection setting which I'm using for the first time, as well using as the bake & broiler settings. Never burns and cooks all foods so nice and evenly in great time. Outperforms my Delonghi that I also liked a lot but not as much as this little beauty. I don't use the toaster setting since I purchased their matching Hamilton Beach candy apple red toaster at the same time. That works great too!!This color is exclusive to Walmart and the price comparison turned out cheaper than other retailers to my extreme pleasure. I must say I use my toaster oven nearly every day and I know a terrific one when I use one!!!!
Do not hesitate to make this purchase and brighten up the kitchen to boot!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

There are better options.

03/22/2014
By ,
Saint Paul, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this toaster oven purely based on the color and the price. It does a fair job, but I might have to scrap it and get a different one. Nothing I toast or bake cooks evenly. The rack only has two height positions and it's either too high or too low so my toast is burned on one side and white on the other.
The other thing that bothers me (maybe not a huge deal for others) is the extremely short plug in cord. I have an older kitchen so I don't have nearly as many outlets that is probably standard these days so I can't plug this thing in where I would like to keep it. The cord is seriously about 12 inches long.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Great Toaster Oven !!!

02/14/2014
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took a while before I first used this unit.. but it works very well. I agree with others that say it is hard to read the dials.. it is but don't let that hold you back... in daylight it is easy to read.. you just need adequate light at night to see the writing around the dials. I took some white appliance paint and put dots at the main points on timer dial and all is good now. People say the timer is loud.. a little louder than my last unit.. but still not a deal breaker. Temps are really accurate... I would highly recommend this unit... works like a dream ... a good medium size too.. !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Looks Awesome on my Counter!

08/14/2013
By ,
Indian Rocks Beach, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this mostly due to the color and size it came in. Totally love the RED- has a sleek modern look on counter. I have it in a corner, which is perfect since the back protudes outward ( to hold a full size pizza). Have used it for about 3 weeks. Very good so far. Convection feature will take some getting used to, but i think you mostly have to try different times/ temps until you get it right. I cook mostly for two, and it holds a small caserole dish perfectly. Only complaint is that i wish it had a 60 minute timer. I knew it didnt when i purchased it, but i miss my 60 minute timer! this one comes with a 30 min. timer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

I love it!

01/22/2014
By ,
Rhode Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only is this toaster oven/broiler a pretty color, it does everything it's supposed to do fantastically! It toasts perfectly (when you figure out the perfect setting for you), broils, bakes, cooks and the convection oven is awesome! I baked some fish, which normally takes 30 minutes and it was done in 10! This oven is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

We love it!

07/22/2014
By ,
Amelia, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace our Black and Decker toaster oven purchased 5 years ago that had slowed down considerably. We really wanted a slightly larger toaster oven as well as one in red.
This oven works marvelously. Toasts quickly and evenly. The color is beautiful. The baking/convection oven works great. I highly recommend it. It's also a plus that the crumb tray sits inside the toaster oven, lifts out easily, and keeps the interior cleaner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Perfect except for 2 things

08/09/2013
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great, accommodates a pizza (not extra-large!) but a couple things trouble me, and I should have considered these two factors when purchasing; easier said than done but then again, you get what you pay for. It works GREAT on the cooking aspect of things. I'm basically happy with it.
1) It gets hot on the outside so it is important to keep other objects and the cord away from it because it's not well insulated.
2) The back of the oven protrudes by an extra 4" so takes up more counter space than I had anticipated. Total depth from rear of counter to front of oven door is 13 1/2".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Love it. Does everything that I need it to.

07/24/2014
By ,
Milford, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does everything that I need it to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

perfect for smaller needs

04/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This 6 slice toaster oven is BEAUTIFUL and I thought it would be perfect in my kitchen , but , I found it to be about 1/2 inch too small for MY current needs ....It did not accommodate a 9 x 13 inch baking pan...it fit perfectly on my counter and was very pleasing to the eye ....I am so sorry to have to return it ....
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Very Attractive Pleasant Red and Stainless Steel.

08/30/2013
By ,
Honolulu, Hi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Candy Apple Red Toaster/Broiler Oven seemed to be perfect. It is small, but spacious inside for a large pizza and it looks very classy on my limited counter space. HOWEVER, there is so much writing around he three knobs giving instructions that you can hardly see or understand the writing. The reason is the Hamilton Beach company printed the instructions directly on the oven around the knobs in English and in SPANISH! So that is a lot of lettering and in my opinion unnecessary! The entire area around the knobs looks so confusing that it does confuse you! I had to get a flashlight out to read the white tiny letters and a magnifying glass to read the English instructions around the Spanish lettering. I tried to toast one piece of bread but it burnt because I was unable to read the instructions around the timer knobthat you have to pass from the @10 and then return back to the beginning for the toaster feature to begin. I later noticed I had turned it to dark but couldn't see that direction nor read it on the knob already cluttered with English and Spanish instructions! Also, on the glass door of the oven there is more writing. This time it is a lage black lettering at the bottom of the glass door warning you to unplug the oven if it has caught fire! If you have excellent eyesight and do not mind all that lettering on the oven, even the unpleasant, obvious, warning, it is a nice looking addition to your kitchen. I decided to return the oven, so I did not check to see if the black warning lettering on the glass could wash off. The lettering on the knobs is engraved and cannot be removed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Height is NOT 10 inches

10/02/2013
By ,
anniston, al
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my oven height measured 9 inches exactly. The othe dimensions were correct. The biggest complaint(that others have had) is the lack of visibility of the dials. I, too, had to get a flashlight in order to see the writings on the dials. The wordings need to be in bright white(not gray) in order to be seen. This is a major design flaw that needs to be corrected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Looks nice and easy to use.

07/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use, great functionality, very roomy inside, easy to clean, versatile. Great for small items you wouldn't want to heat a huge oven for, like just a couple of baked potatoes. Love the convection oven. Couldn't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Really Handy Addition To My Kitchen

02/01/2014
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never bought a microwave because they always seemed suspect as far as electromagnetic emissions and thought a toaster oven was frivolous! But this is just terrific. I have used it almost daily for grilled sandwiches and it works perfectly. The dials are easy to manipulate and the timing seems accurate. Haven't used the convection oven yet. The size is perfect especially with the extended backside so lots of smaller baking dishes can be accommodated if the grill/tray that come with it aren't suitable. I especially love the candy apple red which brightens the kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Good job of cooking

06/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have cooked hot dogs, frozen fish and toast. Oven did a good job on each. I do agree that dial is hard to read. You need to place it where you have good light. Would have been nice if rack came out when door opened as with many ovens, but for the price it does a great job of cooking. I'm glad I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

The best I have ever had!

07/09/2014
By ,
Milan Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this toaster oven! It is the best I have ever had and I have had 4 or 5 before this.
Love the crumb tray that slides out. Easy to keep clean. I do flip my bread over when toasting but that is a minor thing.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Looks like a toy, but don't be fooled.

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This device is so cute it looks like it belongs in a dorm room!
Actually it takes up less space than its replacement toaster oven and separate toaster, and handles both jobs fine in our medium-sized and fairly modern home
ONE CAVEAT: it's quiet, deceptively so, so don't forget that it's on!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Great Oven

04/07/2014
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Five months and has worked flawless.....Has a lot of room in it, Great deal. Convection does cook faster too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Overall, good convection/toaster oven.

07/06/2014
By ,
Prescott
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does everything it said it would...toasts, bakes, convection oven, too. For the price, it's a nice oven, nice design, and the right size to take on daily cooking tasks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 93 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next