Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Are you looking for a way to add some spice to your kitchen? Look no further, because this new Candy Apple Red Hamilton Beach Convection Toaster Oven Broiler will do just that. This toaster oven with the Candy Apple finish not only looks fantastic, but also comes with all the functionality you desire. Convection cooking saves time and money as the fan circulates heated air around the food to cook more evenly than a traditional oven. Reheats food 28 percent faster and uses 71 percent less energy than a traditional oven. This Hamilton Beach Convection Toaster Oven Broiler comes with bake, convection, broil, toast settings, timer and automatic shutoff. In addition, the large capacity interior is large enough to cook a 12-inch pizza. Also the Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Toaster Oven comes with a bake pan, broil rack and slide-out crumb tray for easy cleaning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.456 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(136 Reviews) 132
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
35
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation91%124 out of 136reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
54 Questions | 174 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
35
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

IT'S A REAL WINNER!

02/23/2014
By ,
Eastern Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not long ago, we decided to get rid of our Microwave. Experts and studies have clearly shown they are a serious health hazard and are even banned in some countries. Still, needed something to use other than fire up the energy hog oven. So next best thing was a convection toaster oven.
I tried two other brands before ultimately buying this Hamilton Beach; a Black and Decker and an upscale Oster Digital, both of which went back. Actually, this Hamilton Beach was my first choice, but wanted to get something that was already in-store. The Black and Decker was really flimsy and the door didn't close evenly. Also, the temps were way off. The Oster, which was a little bigger and all digital was a nice unit, accurate temps, but the convection fan was way too noisy. So, decided to just buy and have this Hamilton Beach shipped to me. Glad I did!
The fit and finish is excellent for an inexpensive unit and the door closes square and true. The Candy Red color adds a little pizzaz to the counter top too, and the convection fan is very quiet. Although the numbers/letters are a little harder to see than most, it's still passable and not a deal breaker. Don't care about it only having a 30 minute timer as I use the digital timer on the stove anyway. Just turned the timer dial to the left for "Stay On". If you use the timer, it does have an off/done bell that dings. Not too loud, but loud enough so you can hear it.
When I purchased this unit it appears in the Walmart photo as not having an on/off light so wasn't expecting it would have one. Was pleasantly surprised when it arrived to see it actually does have one #see photo#. I have added a couple of photos to show how accurate the temp setting is at 350°F using an oven thermometer. Spot On! I would suggest when setting the temp, to turn the dial past your desired temp and coming back to your desired temp
So far I've used it to bake a small pizza, some chicken hind quarters, some baked potatoes, small pork roast and reheating. Perfect! And, the roasting pan, racks, crumb tray, and interior clean up very easily with just dish soap and dish cloth. Didn't make toast as I have a separate toaster for that. The cord is 2 prong, and as with most convection toaster ovens, is short; about 24" long. You may want to get short, heavy-guage extension cord #emphasis on HEAVY-GUAGE# if you need more length which is what I did.
This Hamilton Beach is 1300W which is quite adequate. Also, as with most counter-top convection toaster ovens, they do get hot on the exterior. Haven't seen one that doesn't unless maybe the high priced ones. The rounded back is different, but not a problem. I suspect it's that way to accommodate small pizzas. Lastly, it arrived at my door in 3 days, in perfect, undamaged condition. I have reviewed based upon how well it achieves results based upon what it states it is, not what it is not. It's a real winner of a budget convection toaster oven and delivers on every aspect as described and promised. Just hope it lasts beyond warranty.
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Makes great toast

11/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A sharp looking appliance, which is nice because I have a small apartment and the kitchenette is visible. It's mostly easy to use - my only complaint would be the settings for toast. Instead of having a set place, every time you wish to make toast you have to turn the bottom dial, which is the timer. However, the difference between warm bread and burnt toast is a fraction of an inch - literally less than 1/8" of an inch!
That said, if you are willing to have to watch this toaster makes some of the best toast. Perhaps it's because of the space and the coils being further away, it takes longer than a regular toaster but instead of browning it'll get that sought after golden hue evenly.
The oven function works good, although I haven't attempt anything as large as they claim is possible to stuff in it. Having the convection option is great for when cooking, or reheating, small pastries.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

very attractive but HOT

08/31/2014
By ,
Washington State
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a nice looking little oven, and , though we have not cooked anything in it yet it appears to function correctly. i would have gladly paid a little more for some insulation on the sides; though it is no surprise that the unit gets dangerously hot as all these ovens seem to do that. We knew that going it, but now I worry because it will be in an area of our home which we often turn over to guests who may be unfamiliar with this hazard. It is small enough to pack away at such times, which is what I will probably opt to do.
i did say I would recommend this to a friend, but only a very careful friend who was well aware of the safety issues of these little ovens. That said, if you are going to buy a toaster oven, this is a very good value and better looking than most.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

We love it!

07/22/2014
By ,
Amelia, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace our Black and Decker toaster oven purchased 5 years ago that had slowed down considerably. We really wanted a slightly larger toaster oven as well as one in red.
This oven works marvelously. Toasts quickly and evenly. The color is beautiful. The baking/convection oven works great. I highly recommend it. It's also a plus that the crumb tray sits inside the toaster oven, lifts out easily, and keeps the interior cleaner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Not Just a Pretty Face, Works Fantastic!!!

08/04/2013
By ,
Belmar,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So pleased with this toaster oven that I wish I had it for years!! I absolutely love the convection setting which I'm using for the first time, as well using as the bake & broiler settings. Never burns and cooks all foods so nice and evenly in great time. Outperforms my Delonghi that I also liked a lot but not as much as this little beauty. I don't use the toaster setting since I purchased their matching Hamilton Beach candy apple red toaster at the same time. That works great too!!This color is exclusive to Walmart and the price comparison turned out cheaper than other retailers to my extreme pleasure. I must say I use my toaster oven nearly every day and I know a terrific one when I use one!!!!
Do not hesitate to make this purchase and brighten up the kitchen to boot!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Love it!!!

01/06/2014
By ,
Newton,NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a mother of five and love this item for its efficiency. I am able to toast 6 slices of bread at once. Toast complete sandwiches, cheese melt from the inside and bread toast perfectly on the outside. Best part I did not have to babysit it like the stove.
Using it to warm up left over pizza is quick and comes out perfect, this I did babysit since I was not sure how long it would take but it was nice to have the crust still be soft and the cheese warm enough for the kids.
I have had this item for a week or so and I have used it everyday for different foods (pizza, taquitos, ham and cheese sandwiches, bagel with butter and yes to toast bread).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Good while it lasted, now its awful

11/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Feb 2015 will be a year of us having it, it was nice at first. Made a terrible pizza in it...as in it was only cooked where the elements were located under it. Now it burns toast like crazy. We have even had to unplug it because it keeps getting hot after it has "turned off".
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

great toaster oven

08/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After price shopping Walmart by far had the best price. this is a great toaster oven, very pretty, works great, the only thing is the cord is very short, you have to put this oven right in front of the plug. It works great, I am very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Looks Awesome on my Counter!

08/14/2013
By ,
Indian Rocks Beach, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this mostly due to the color and size it came in. Totally love the RED- has a sleek modern look on counter. I have it in a corner, which is perfect since the back protudes outward ( to hold a full size pizza). Have used it for about 3 weeks. Very good so far. Convection feature will take some getting used to, but i think you mostly have to try different times/ temps until you get it right. I cook mostly for two, and it holds a small caserole dish perfectly. Only complaint is that i wish it had a 60 minute timer. I knew it didnt when i purchased it, but i miss my 60 minute timer! this one comes with a 30 min. timer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

worth it

11/09/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The candy apple red is pretty and matches the candy apple red Mr coffee auto coffer pot. This oven gets hot on the outside, I do not recommend leaving it unattended while it is on and for at least an hour when turned off. I have only heated frozen waffles in the oven and it baked good. However, I had to wait awhile before cleaning the crumbs because of it being too hot. In my opinion, it does the job I bought it for.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Perfect except for 2 things

08/09/2013
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great, accommodates a pizza (not extra-large!) but a couple things trouble me, and I should have considered these two factors when purchasing; easier said than done but then again, you get what you pay for. It works GREAT on the cooking aspect of things. I'm basically happy with it.
1) It gets hot on the outside so it is important to keep other objects and the cord away from it because it's not well insulated.
2) The back of the oven protrudes by an extra 4" so takes up more counter space than I had anticipated. Total depth from rear of counter to front of oven door is 13 1/2".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Works Great

12/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This toaster over has many settings along with convection. It cooks good and fast. Can even put a 12 inch pizza in it right on the rack. Much easier than heating up your oven.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

It's red! and it's great :-)

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I have been on the lookout for a red toaster oven ever since we got our red Cuisinart coffee maker. Finally this Hamilton Beach showed up, as did a far more expensive unit on Amazon. The latter, more expensive, off-brand unit had too many bad reviews to justify its price, but this Hamilton Beach is perfect, esp. for the price we paid (under $40). Simple controls, convection enhances warming up, makes perfect toast, and perhaps best of all, the finish is almost an exact match for the Cuisinart. My wife loves it so much she calls it "my toaster oven."
It makes a fine replacement for our excellent, but aging, Oster, which was also more expensive when new.
Given the basic things for which we'll use it, this is the perfect little unit.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Color and convenience

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tho I haven't used the convection operation, the toaster and oven work very well, It is a pretty and practical addition to our kitchen.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Loving the red

12/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One thing i didn't like was that it doesn't have a flat back but other then that great!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Convectlion toaster over

11/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its a little smaller than i thought but it still works well.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Great Toaster Oven !!!

02/14/2014
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took a while before I first used this unit.. but it works very well. I agree with others that say it is hard to read the dials.. it is but don't let that hold you back... in daylight it is easy to read.. you just need adequate light at night to see the writing around the dials. I took some white appliance paint and put dots at the main points on timer dial and all is good now. People say the timer is loud.. a little louder than my last unit.. but still not a deal breaker. Temps are really accurate... I would highly recommend this unit... works like a dream ... a good medium size too.. !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

The perfect decor for your kitchen

08/15/2014
By ,
Brooksville, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this toaster/oven mainly because of the color. I love red appliances. When I saw this red toaster/oven, I ordered it. I read all the reviews on this particular appliance, and one of the complaints was the small numbers and letters on the dials. When rec'd, I found that the numbers and letters are quite small; however, this did not deter me from keeping the appliance not only for the color but for the Hamilton Beach reputation. The results of using this toaster/oven have been wonderful. Not only is the color beautiful but the food cooked in this oven is delicious.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

Very Attractive Pleasant Red and Stainless Steel.

08/30/2013
By ,
Honolulu, Hi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Candy Apple Red Toaster/Broiler Oven seemed to be perfect. It is small, but spacious inside for a large pizza and it looks very classy on my limited counter space. HOWEVER, there is so much writing around he three knobs giving instructions that you can hardly see or understand the writing. The reason is the Hamilton Beach company printed the instructions directly on the oven around the knobs in English and in SPANISH! So that is a lot of lettering and in my opinion unnecessary! The entire area around the knobs looks so confusing that it does confuse you! I had to get a flashlight out to read the white tiny letters and a magnifying glass to read the English instructions around the Spanish lettering. I tried to toast one piece of bread but it burnt because I was unable to read the instructions around the timer knobthat you have to pass from the @10 and then return back to the beginning for the toaster feature to begin. I later noticed I had turned it to dark but couldn't see that direction nor read it on the knob already cluttered with English and Spanish instructions! Also, on the glass door of the oven there is more writing. This time it is a lage black lettering at the bottom of the glass door warning you to unplug the oven if it has caught fire! If you have excellent eyesight and do not mind all that lettering on the oven, even the unpleasant, obvious, warning, it is a nice looking addition to your kitchen. I decided to return the oven, so I did not check to see if the black warning lettering on the glass could wash off. The lettering on the knobs is engraved and cannot be removed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hamilton Beach 6-Slice Convection Toaster/Broiler Oven, Candy Apple Red

There are better options.

03/22/2014
By ,
Saint Paul, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this toaster oven purely based on the color and the price. It does a fair job, but I might have to scrap it and get a different one. Nothing I toast or bake cooks evenly. The rack only has two height positions and it's either too high or too low so my toast is burned on one side and white on the other.
The other thing that bothers me (maybe not a huge deal for others) is the extremely short plug in cord. I have an older kitchen so I don't have nearly as many outlets that is probably standard these days so I can't plug this thing in where I would like to keep it. The cord is seriously about 12 inches long.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 133 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next