Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Generic Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

This no-installation, 23,000 BTU Kerosene Heater is powerful enough to heat an area up to 1,000 sq ft for a full 12 hours on just one filling. That makes it ideal to heat large living rooms or other semi-open spaces that require a lot of air to be warmed. It is an economical way to heat that's ideal for everyday use. And it is also especially handy in emergencies, particularly in areas that are prone power outages due to snow storms. This kerosene space heater has a built-in wire grate around it to prevent pets, blankets or children from getting too near to open flame. The grate, however, still allows the heat to radiate evenly. The heater also has a safety switch included in the design.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation85%23 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Heats good and burns clean - excellent price

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought one of these a week ago for the garage. I considered a "salamander" type heater for quicker heat, but like the fact that I can use this during a power outage as well - plus it is nearly silent and you can hear when the flame is not adjusted correctly.
I have not used pump kerosene yet, but keep in mind that pump kerosene purity and price varies around the country. For me, it's cheaper than in the store bought kerosene. The price and value all depends on your area, the cost of energy and the price of good clean kerosene.
But as for the heater itself, it's a good unit. Just remember to replace the wick every year and allow some ventilation from the outside when in use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Exceeded my expectations!!

02/24/2008
By ,
Elkins, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this item looking for a way to heat our home during the day so we save money on our electric bill. Our bill is cut in half because of this heater! We have 2 small kids (ages 2 and 3) and this is safe to use around them. It has an emergency shut off in case it gets knocked over or you need to shut it off quickly, and the kerosene tank is no-spill as well. The heat it generates is nice and hot and heats up our entire home within an hour. It gets so hot that we have to shut it off for a few hours, and the heat remains in the house for hours before we have to turn it back on again.
I would recommend clear kerosene ONLY, the red dye kerosene ruined our wick and we had to replace the wick. But the clear kerosene is a clean and more efficient burn.
I would recommend product again and again!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Strong Kerosene fumes

11/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got the Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu yesterday I have owned one in the past and had no problems with it. I expected to smell Kerosene a little at first but it smells so bad we had to turn it off. The wick will not adjust right so it burns too high even when adjusted to the lowest setting. I used white kerosene and even added the pine smell stuff recommended for Kerosene heaters.I would not recommend this product.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Kerosene heater

11/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought it for when the electric is shut down due to weather conditions and have not used yet but everything looks like it will work fine. I am very pleased with the heater
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Happy Customer

11/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a Great heater, heats my 5 room home very fast,,,,,,,,,, I hate that kerosene cost 5.00 per Gal.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Tired of being cold on a winters night

01/06/2008
By ,
Winter Haven Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even with the price of Kerosene soaring I wouldn't give up this little baby for nothing. To be honest I ordered a second one. (I have a big house). 23Kbtu almost 2 tons of heating from a stove that burns around 2 gallons every 14 hours. It is a good heat one that cuts the cold right out of your body. I trust mine never had a problem other than running out of Fuel and if you top off before you go to bed that shouldn't be a problem.
Dog knocked mine over one night and it shut off just as it is supposed to and never leaked a drop on anything. If you don't have a fire place this is as good as it gets in the world of heat. I don't work for the company but I respect there heaters. The first one I ordered last year through Home Depo this year through Walmart. Exact same units...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Great Product

02/22/2008
By ,
Aberdeen WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to keep my family warm when the powere is out. We have a small 2 bedroom house. The heater warms the whole house. We turned it off at night & back on in the morning & the house stayed warm all night. It took a couple of days to get used to the slight oder of the kerosene but all in all, it worked out very well. Would buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

good heater

11/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lucky
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Read the instructions

02/26/2008
By ,
Canajoharie, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WE have had NO problems with this unit and two families we know who have them, (who didn't get them through Wal-Mart either) have had no problems. We also use red K-1 in it and have no problems. The only smoke we get is if we turn it up past efficient burning, which is too high. Other than that it lasts us approx. 12 hours per tank and keeps the first floor (4 rooms) warm. in upstate NY.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Great heater

12/03/2007
By ,
SW Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little beast heats right up and is very very easy to initially set up. The only draw back is having to pay the current price for kerosene. If you're looking for a heater...this baby will do the job !
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

very useful

01/03/2008
By ,
hamlet, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product to heat up a room during the day time. It heats very well and it does save on electricity. If you follow the directions, it works very well. Now we use it everyday to take the chill out. I would recommend it to anyone who is thinking about purchasing it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu
11/04/2007
By ,
central square
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Keeps U Warm

01/09/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works when the power is out and ther is no heat; just follow instructions for indoor use. Ikept my windows shut and my carbon moniter did not go off. 1 tank lasted about 5-6 hrs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

a very helpful product

12/06/2007
By ,
butler pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I run this heater 24 hours a day it has cut my gas from 200.00 plus dollers to 98.00. I ran it all last winter and did not get cold
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Excellent product

01/06/2008
By ,
King George, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first kerosene heater. I am very pleased with it's design, function, and ease of operation.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Heater

12/07/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this heater is pretty cool. I did everything it says and this works great. I would definately recommend this product to anyone who needs instant heat. I bought this to take out the chill in my downstairs area and it has done that and then some. I also bought with this product, the stuff for the smell, and that also works great. You can hardly smell the kerosene in my house at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

little difficult to put together

01/20/2014
By ,
northeastern pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a little difficult to put together, don't know why they cant ship it already to go, love this heater, the value was great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

warm

03/14/2008
By ,
georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This heater performed better than I expected. I have a 1700 sq ft 2 story house, and this heater burned all night long and heated up the house nicely. My central heat never came on all night, which is good because it would run all night if it came on, because my home was equipped new with a system too small for it, therefore my electric bill is usually high.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

very useful

02/28/2008
By ,
Seymour, Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great heat source that I use in my garage, tents, and often in my home for back-up heat. I've used many like this and they work great as long as you use them correctly and follow instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

heater

12/25/2007
By ,
Pearisburg, Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent, burns clean, came well packaged,good instructions, very pleased
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next