Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Generic Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

This no-installation, 23,000 BTU Kerosene Heater is powerful enough to heat an area up to 1,000 sq ft for a full 12 hours on just one filling. That makes it ideal to heat large living rooms or other semi-open spaces that require a lot of air to be warmed. It is an economical way to heat that's ideal for everyday use. And it is also especially handy in emergencies, particularly in areas that are prone power outages due to snow storms. This kerosene space heater has a built-in wire grate around it to prevent pets, blankets or children from getting too near to open flame. The grate, however, still allows the heat to radiate evenly. The heater also has a safety switch included in the design.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation89%40 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Exceeded my expectations!!

02/24/2008
By ,
Elkins, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this item looking for a way to heat our home during the day so we save money on our electric bill. Our bill is cut in half because of this heater! We have 2 small kids (ages 2 and 3) and this is safe to use around them. It has an emergency shut off in case it gets knocked over or you need to shut it off quickly, and the kerosene tank is no-spill as well. The heat it generates is nice and hot and heats up our entire home within an hour. It gets so hot that we have to shut it off for a few hours, and the heat remains in the house for hours before we have to turn it back on again.
I would recommend clear kerosene ONLY, the red dye kerosene ruined our wick and we had to replace the wick. But the clear kerosene is a clean and more efficient burn.
I would recommend product again and again!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Tired of being cold on a winters night

01/06/2008
By ,
Winter Haven Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even with the price of Kerosene soaring I wouldn't give up this little baby for nothing. To be honest I ordered a second one. (I have a big house). 23Kbtu almost 2 tons of heating from a stove that burns around 2 gallons every 14 hours. It is a good heat one that cuts the cold right out of your body. I trust mine never had a problem other than running out of Fuel and if you top off before you go to bed that shouldn't be a problem.
Dog knocked mine over one night and it shut off just as it is supposed to and never leaked a drop on anything. If you don't have a fire place this is as good as it gets in the world of heat. I don't work for the company but I respect there heaters. The first one I ordered last year through Home Depo this year through Walmart. Exact same units...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

The HEAT is ON!

01/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe and effectively heats and keeps warm one portion of my home (800 SQ Ft) that gets very chilly – Keep it on low and a full tank of K-1 Kerosene (Probably One Gallon) will last you 12 hours. Low level on the wick is the key! Happy Heating!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

23,000 btu kero heater

01/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kero heater is my backup heating source and works very well as long you use the proper K-1 crystal clear kerosene and follow the directions on dry burning the wick every few tanks,excellent heater and will buy again,Thanks.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

The fuel is too expensive to buy on a fixed income

01/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We like everything about our kerosene heater. It puts out plenty of heat the couple of times we have used it. But, we can't use it as much as we want to because we can't afford to buy the kerosene to put in it. Kerosene is currently selling for between $4.29 & $4.79 per gallon and we have to drive 7 miles to find a station that sells kerosene. So, now we have this nice heater yet we are still having to wrap up in blankets to stay warm because we can't afford the fuel to burn and we can't afford to get the heating/air unit in our home replaced on our current income level.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Too much upkeep

01/27/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This heater comes with too much upkeep. It smells when you turn it on and off. The smell went away at first but then it started to smell all the time. I did not like the fueling method, the fuel is too strong and I it burns up to quickly. It might be suitable for a mechanics garage but not a home.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Great heater!

01/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only reason I am giving this a 4 is because of how expensive it is to run. Now that you can only buy dyed kerosene at the pump this is a little more to keep running efficiently. When you put the dyed kerosene in, it doesn't run as well and the clear kerosine is twice as much to buy at the store.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Exactly what I wanted!

01/19/2015
By ,
Luttrell, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After shopping IN a Walmart and not being able to find any reviews on the only kerosene heater they had in stock, I shopped online and found this one. Great reviews and sounded like it met my needs. First of all, my FREE SHIPPING got this baby to me 49 hours after I ordered it. AMAZING! It's larger than the one in the store and the one I'm replacing (SCORE!) and very easy to assemble AND use. I have over 1200 sq ft, and it keeps the 80% of open spaces toasty and comfy. Thanks!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Just what old man winter didn't want

01/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not what I really wanted, but comes in a solid second. Easy to put togeather, easy to use. Chases old man winter out of the house.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

When it is cold outside!

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is great for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

works great

01/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heated my home up to 75 degrees, its great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Great Product

02/22/2008
By ,
Aberdeen WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to keep my family warm when the powere is out. We have a small 2 bedroom house. The heater warms the whole house. We turned it off at night & back on in the morning & the house stayed warm all night. It took a couple of days to get used to the slight oder of the kerosene but all in all, it worked out very well. Would buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Excellent backup heater

01/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Winter means power outages and this is great for heating a large area.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Magnifico

01/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick Delivery (1 week) my son but together less then 30 min, works great warms the house quite well, I would recommend for sure LOVE the auto lighting .
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Good

01/06/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
works nice for us
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

best heater ever

11/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great, I get very little odor if any. Simple to light and shut down. Heats my 2000 square foot nicely , even at 18 degrees. I couldn't be happier with the purchase. Would definitely recommend trying this heater.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

it is safe to use inside.

12/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than a space heater. Keep the room you are most in warm while turning down the temperature in the rest of the house.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Read the instructions

02/26/2008
By ,
Canajoharie, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WE have had NO problems with this unit and two families we know who have them, (who didn't get them through Wal-Mart either) have had no problems. We also use red K-1 in it and have no problems. The only smoke we get is if we turn it up past efficient burning, which is too high. Other than that it lasts us approx. 12 hours per tank and keeps the first floor (4 rooms) warm. in upstate NY.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Heats good and burns clean - excellent price

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought one of these a week ago for the garage. I considered a "salamander" type heater for quicker heat, but like the fact that I can use this during a power outage as well - plus it is nearly silent and you can hear when the flame is not adjusted correctly.
I have not used pump kerosene yet, but keep in mind that pump kerosene purity and price varies around the country. For me, it's cheaper than in the store bought kerosene. The price and value all depends on your area, the cost of energy and the price of good clean kerosene.
But as for the heater itself, it's a good unit. Just remember to replace the wick every year and allow some ventilation from the outside when in use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

very useful

01/03/2008
By ,
hamlet, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product to heat up a room during the day time. It heats very well and it does save on electricity. If you follow the directions, it works very well. Now we use it everyday to take the chill out. I would recommend it to anyone who is thinking about purchasing it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next