Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Generic Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

This no-installation, 23,000 BTU Kerosene Heater is powerful enough to heat an area up to 1,000 sq ft for a full 12 hours on just one filling. That makes it ideal to heat large living rooms or other semi-open spaces that require a lot of air to be warmed. It is an economical way to heat that's ideal for everyday use. And it is also especially handy in emergencies, particularly in areas that are prone power outages due to snow storms. This kerosene space heater has a built-in wire grate around it to prevent pets, blankets or children from getting too near to open flame. The grate, however, still allows the heat to radiate evenly. The heater also has a safety switch included in the design.
Average Customer Rating:
4.204 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation86%42 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Tired of being cold on a winters night

01/06/2008
By ,
Winter Haven Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Even with the price of Kerosene soaring I wouldn't give up this little baby for nothing. To be honest I ordered a second one. (I have a big house). 23Kbtu almost 2 tons of heating from a stove that burns around 2 gallons every 14 hours. It is a good heat one that cuts the cold right out of your body. I trust mine never had a problem other than running out of Fuel and if you top off before you go to bed that shouldn't be a problem.
Dog knocked mine over one night and it shut off just as it is supposed to and never leaked a drop on anything. If you don't have a fire place this is as good as it gets in the world of heat. I don't work for the company but I respect there heaters. The first one I ordered last year through Home Depo this year through Walmart. Exact same units...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 2 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Exceeded my expectations!!

02/24/2008
By ,
Elkins, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this item looking for a way to heat our home during the day so we save money on our electric bill. Our bill is cut in half because of this heater! We have 2 small kids (ages 2 and 3) and this is safe to use around them. It has an emergency shut off in case it gets knocked over or you need to shut it off quickly, and the kerosene tank is no-spill as well. The heat it generates is nice and hot and heats up our entire home within an hour. It gets so hot that we have to shut it off for a few hours, and the heat remains in the house for hours before we have to turn it back on again.
I would recommend clear kerosene ONLY, the red dye kerosene ruined our wick and we had to replace the wick. But the clear kerosene is a clean and more efficient burn.
I would recommend product again and again!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 3 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Great Product

02/22/2008
By ,
Aberdeen WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to keep my family warm when the powere is out. We have a small 2 bedroom house. The heater warms the whole house. We turned it off at night & back on in the morning & the house stayed warm all night. It took a couple of days to get used to the slight oder of the kerosene but all in all, it worked out very well. Would buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+38points
Review 4 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

very useful

01/03/2008
By ,
hamlet, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product to heat up a room during the day time. It heats very well and it does save on electricity. If you follow the directions, it works very well. Now we use it everyday to take the chill out. I would recommend it to anyone who is thinking about purchasing it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 5 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Read the instructions

02/26/2008
By ,
Canajoharie, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WE have had NO problems with this unit and two families we know who have them, (who didn't get them through Wal-Mart either) have had no problems. We also use red K-1 in it and have no problems. The only smoke we get is if we turn it up past efficient burning, which is too high. Other than that it lasts us approx. 12 hours per tank and keeps the first floor (4 rooms) warm. in upstate NY.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 6 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

works great

01/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heated my home up to 75 degrees, its great
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 7 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

The HEAT is ON!

01/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe and effectively heats and keeps warm one portion of my home (800 SQ Ft) that gets very chilly – Keep it on low and a full tank of K-1 Kerosene (Probably One Gallon) will last you 12 hours. Low level on the wick is the key! Happy Heating!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 8 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

best heater ever

11/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great, I get very little odor if any. Simple to light and shut down. Heats my 2000 square foot nicely , even at 18 degrees. I couldn't be happier with the purchase. Would definitely recommend trying this heater.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 9 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

23,000 btu kero heater

01/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kero heater is my backup heating source and works very well as long you use the proper K-1 crystal clear kerosene and follow the directions on dry burning the wick every few tanks,excellent heater and will buy again,Thanks.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 10 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Magnifico

01/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick Delivery (1 week) my son but together less then 30 min, works great warms the house quite well, I would recommend for sure LOVE the auto lighting .
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 11 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

a very helpful product

12/06/2007
By ,
butler pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I run this heater 24 hours a day it has cut my gas from 200.00 plus dollers to 98.00. I ran it all last winter and did not get cold
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 12 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Sweet heater

02/09/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love our new kerosene heater. We bought it to take the chill off in our house. Although we keep our thermostat at 70 degrees F, it tends to feel cold. As we have electric heat, we do not want to increase that temperature and decided to purchase this heater. It feels wonderful. It will also come in handy when my husband wants to work out in the garage in cold weather. It is quiet and takes the chill off within minutes of turning it on.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 13 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

***PROMISED BIG, DELIVERED LITTLE

02/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i followed each step of the instructions. but nothing i could do would get the flame high enough, and so, hot enough...plus the smell of fumes...returning it
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 14 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Heater

12/07/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this heater is pretty cool. I did everything it says and this works great. I would definately recommend this product to anyone who needs instant heat. I bought this to take out the chill in my downstairs area and it has done that and then some. I also bought with this product, the stuff for the smell, and that also works great. You can hardly smell the kerosene in my house at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 15 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

The fuel is too expensive to buy on a fixed income

01/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We like everything about our kerosene heater. It puts out plenty of heat the couple of times we have used it. But, we can't use it as much as we want to because we can't afford to buy the kerosene to put in it. Kerosene is currently selling for between $4.29 & $4.79 per gallon and we have to drive 7 miles to find a station that sells kerosene. So, now we have this nice heater yet we are still having to wrap up in blankets to stay warm because we can't afford the fuel to burn and we can't afford to get the heating/air unit in our home replaced on our current income level.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu
11/04/2007
By ,
central square
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 17 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Great heater

12/03/2007
By ,
SW Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little beast heats right up and is very very easy to initially set up. The only draw back is having to pay the current price for kerosene. If you're looking for a heater...this baby will do the job !
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Review 18 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Exactly what I wanted!

01/19/2015
By ,
Luttrell, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After shopping IN a Walmart and not being able to find any reviews on the only kerosene heater they had in stock, I shopped online and found this one. Great reviews and sounded like it met my needs. First of all, my FREE SHIPPING got this baby to me 49 hours after I ordered it. AMAZING! It's larger than the one in the store and the one I'm replacing (SCORE!) and very easy to assemble AND use. I have over 1200 sq ft, and it keeps the 80% of open spaces toasty and comfy. Thanks!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

Too much upkeep

01/27/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This heater comes with too much upkeep. It smells when you turn it on and off. The smell went away at first but then it started to smell all the time. I did not like the fueling method, the fuel is too strong and I it burns up to quickly. It might be suitable for a mechanics garage but not a home.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 20 for Kerosene Heater, 23,000 btu

try again

02/01/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The flame on this heater flickers and sputters. Can't be burning efficiently. Therefore can't be safe for use indoors. I returned it.
Recommends this product? No
0points
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1 2 3 Next