Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kaz Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kaz Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

The Honeywell Heat Giant utility heater is a durable, all-metal heater that's great for workshops, garages, basements and homes. It features three settings including a fan-only setting, tip-over protection, child-resistant power control and a pivoting handle for comfortable and easy mobility.
Average Customer Rating:
2.636 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation42%14 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

Will Not Heat Up Large Room

02/28/2008
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this heater for our garage as it says on the box that it's a utility heater. It doesn't put out enough heat for a garage or even a small room! Don't waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 2 for Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

Don't waste your money

01/02/2008
By ,
Hixson Tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just purchased this heater for my office. I agree with the comments above,this unit is not worth the money I paid as its going back.
Honeywell ususaly makes a good product but dropped the ball on this one. I was using a small ceramic heater that this one was to replace. The ceramic does a lot better job.
DON'T waste your money on this heater! Fam too small and very little warmth on HIGH setting.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

Poor performance and not worth the $$

10/02/2008
By ,
Elba, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this same heater about 2 years ago for a smaller work room when I'm in there. It definitely DOES NOT produce enough heat on the highest setting, even after running for a few hours. I paid much more for this than what the cost is now and don't think it is worth even the current price. I would not recommend this particular heater as it does not produce what is stated in the description.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 4 for Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater
01/02/2008
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own a house that is heated by oil but want to switch to gas becuase prices for oil are high and its inconvenient. The furnace is old and not too reliable but we didn't have the money to get a new system right now. So we got a few heaters because my mother has had a few of them for a couple of years and it heats her house pretty well. It's not super quiet so I wouldn't suggest it for light sleepers. It also creates dry air so it may bother some people. It dosen't heat large open floor plans but works best in closed off areas such as bedrooms. However if you put it close to you it works fine we put blankets over the top while making sure not to cover the exhaust vent in the back. It feels so cozy we do this when were watching tv in the living room. the safeguard features are great and if you need to move it to another room it's so light not like those oil filled heaters
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

Well worth the money!

11/07/2007
By ,
Stillwater, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I live with our 3 pets and run very different schedules with him working nights and me working days and the dogs running in and out of the house several times a day. Our utility bill was getting outrageous as we were running the heater 24 hours a day. Finally, we bought the Honeywell heater and use it to heat the rooms we are in. The master bedroom and bath are really the rooms we use the most and this heater warms them right up. Also, the unit is so portable that you can move it to whichever area of the house you are using and stay very comfortable. Our utility bill has dropped considerably without us having to sacrifice our comfort. This is well worth the money, especially in a home that doesn't need to be heated throughout all day long and the doors open and shut making it impossible to keep the warmth in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

DON"T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!

12/07/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this heater for my garage so I could do wood working through the winter. This seemed like it would do the trick since the box indicated it would heat a garage or small workshop. This thing wouldn't heat an indoor closet!! Its 50 degrees outside and running at "TOP" speed and heat for two hours and it didn't change the temp in my garage a single degree!!! All its cautions and warnings - it barely blew any air much less put out any heated air This thing couldn't possibly set anything on fire. After two hours of running, I could still touch the metal exterior without any trouble. The coils weren't even glowing. I've got a much smaller watt unit for inside my house that on low puts out more heat than this thing on high. What a waste of money!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 7 for Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

Junk!

12/31/2008
By ,
VB, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this last week and my husband determined it worked after turning it for about 2 minutes and then threw out the box. Sadly, it does not work. Not only will it not even warm a small room, let alone a large one, but no matter what we put the thermostat or setting on, it throws the same amount of heat (or lack of). We contacted Honeywell/Kaz only to be told that no only would we have to pay to have it shipped to them for repair, but we would also have to include a $10 check to have it shipped back. Are you kidding me? Like spending almost $40 on this piece of junk wasn't bad enough, but I have to shell out another $20 to have it repaired when it is obviously a faulty product? I am NOT happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 8 for Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

Brrrrr - it's cold

11/24/2008
By ,
Rhode Island
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My review would mirror nearly everyone else’s. I’m sorry to say, that, even using the MAX HEAT setting this device just doesn’t produce enough heat.
There are better models that will produce more heat for the same price.
The device functions correctly and worked right out of the box. But, it just does’t produce an enough.
I have the heater on “MAX” right now. I have the heater about 1 ½ feet from me on a desk. I can barely even feel it.
Quite frankly, I’d feel warmer drinking a hot cup of coffee!
I just bought this heater last night…. I am taking it back to Wal-Mart later today!!
This heater wouldn’t keep a single squirrel warm in a New England winter… (LOL)
Good Luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

works great

01/16/2009
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a horse farm and use this heater to heat a 10/20 insulated tack room with 14' ceilings in addition to an ajoining entry room with a office and a bath. We have a hot water heater also in the tack room that does have some hot water pipes exposed. We have just had -10 degrees and this heater maintained a warm environment. I was really surprised how much heat this unit puts out. We leave it on low 24-7 and have not had any problems. Insulation of the area surely helps.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

Not a Giant at all.

12/25/2008
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought it was just me, but when I read the other comments... they're right about it not able to put out much heat. We had to sit directlly in front of it, and put our hands almost on the grill just to get work, in a room that was only about 60 degrees. Definitely doesn't put out enough heat. It takes about 2 hours plus, just to heat up my office of 10x12 in size. I'll be taking it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

I've had it a short time and...

11/14/2007
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The weather here has not gotten very cold yet. There was a few nights I used it and it seems to work good. The knob to chose watts, or fan etc is the one that is child proof - - it is very hard to use at first. The thermostate knob is very easy to move.
Overall, it seems to be a good unit. it is easy to move around, made of metal, and has all the safety features I wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 12 for Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater
12/06/2007
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We wanted something to give a little heat in our garage so our child could play in there in the cold months. We let it run for over a hour and there was still no difference in temperature. We are going back to to the store to find something different. We aren't looking for something to heat it like the house, but something that at least puts out a little heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 13 for Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

Its horrible

11/21/2008
By ,
Tenn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this along with three other heaters for our home, trying to cut costs this winter, bought for my small 9x9 sunroom, i brought it home plugged it up and the thing sounded like metal scraping then the fan stopped!!The coils worked but what good is that, needless to say I took it right back!!!
on the other hand I bought three Laskos and loved them!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 14 for Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

Cheap Heater

12/06/2007
By ,
Pueblo,co
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just bought this heater just like that other person said you can only feel the heat if you stand 1 foot from it ,its a piece of junk it doesnt even heat up the place unless your in a box its not worth the $29 bucks it should be $ 5 bucks dont buy this heater im taking it back my room still cold its been on 1 hour and my rooms small its junk i tell you
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 15 for Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

Helps lower gas costs

04/03/2008
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have purchased several of these heaters for our home (3) and those of family members (6). In NE Ohio, the high cost of gas for home heating and the extremely cold winters have required that we come up with ways to stay warm and lower costs. This little unit has done just what we needed to accomplish that goal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

Heat?

11/06/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
when i was going to purchase a second heater I decided to try this heater even though i was very happy with a different heater i had purchased at walmart and i was very dissapointed. It did not warm my room at all. You can't feel the heat unless you stand a foot away from the fan. I returned it the same night.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 17 for Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

10/26/2008
By ,
Memphis, Tn.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommemend this product to anyone the only problem that i found with this product was that the caution light came on and stayed on. the heater itself will not kick it self back on but for the money i love it. it will definetly keep you warm in the winter and cool in the summer.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

quality

11/14/2008
By ,
Imperial, mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this product for a few years and the thermostat has went out on it and called the # on the bottom. They told me to send it to them and they would replace it, just send the cost of the shipping to them $10. No questions or fees to look at it or anything this suprised me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 19 for Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

HORRIBLE

01/15/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I BOUGHT THIS HEATER TO WARM A LITTLE ROOM.ITS BEEN ON NOW FOR ABOUT 2 HOURS.MY FAN WILL BLOW WARMER AIR ON A HOT AND SUNNY DAY THEN THIS THING.WHAT A WASTE..THE PROMO ON THE BOX SAYS HEAT A GARAGE???LOL...THE GARAGE MUST BE THE SIZE OF THE BOX THE UNIT COMES IN....DO NOT BUY!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 20 for Honeywell Heat Giant Utility Heater

very warm

10/12/2007
By ,
jackson,ms
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought this product last winter 2006. i stay in a very old house not insulated well. my bed room was an add-on and and did not heat well in the winter. my bed room is 17x20 and very drafty. and this heater warms my bedroom in about 10 min. a bit noisy but it is worth it!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next