Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Samsung Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

Stream movies on Netflix, listen to music on Pandora and watch your favorite videos on YouTube with the Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player. Expand your entertainment collection — watch Blu-ray, stream, or up-convert your favorite DVD to near Blu-ray quality.
Average Customer Rating:
4.255 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation86%77 out of 90reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

great value

07/30/2013
By ,
centreville, Va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was easy to set it up, No issues, great value for the money, I'm very happy with my buy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 2 for Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

Great Blu-ray player - above expectations

05/09/2013
By ,
Redondo Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The size of a hard cover book the Blu-ray player works great with any CDs, DVDs an TV applications. Connection and set up was a breeze, just plug into the TV and it's done.
Happy to finally own a Blu-ray player
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Review 3 for Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

Great

07/29/2013
By ,
Naples fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this blue ray because the wifi and it works perfectly fast , easy . Loved it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Atl
Posted 08/23/2013
Does this unit have a USB port?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

Great Product

01/08/2014
By ,
San Francisco, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The set up is quick and easy, blu ray player works as expected and WIFI is teriffic! Thank you Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NC
Wifi
Posted 01/17/2014
Someone else posted they returned it because it didn't have wifi. But you stated it does... Have you had any problems with the wifi?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

Back to the Store It Goes

08/09/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all, I made the mistake of purchasing the wrong model of the Samsung Blu-ray players on the Walmart website.
Apparently some only connect to the internet via an Ethernet cord, which is this specific model.
So I will be returning this item for a wireless model from Samsung or whatever other brand is selling wireless Blu-ray players.
But on a side note, the remote control's buttons are horrendous, making it very difficult to click once and that's it. Sometimes you have to click a button twice because they are so soft to the touch that they don't register as quickly.
Also, I did try connecting to the internet using an Ethernet cord but the apps were sooo slowww. (Only 3 apps included: Netflix, Pandora, Youtube)
So back to the Store It Goes
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 6 for Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

GREAT PLAYER AND PRICE!

08/25/2013
By ,
Carlsbad, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This player is small, compact and a great value. It has a lot of features including the ability to connect with Netflix.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

not wireless

08/19/2013
By ,
houma
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
item states it is wireless, it is not
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Review 8 for Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

No wifi

09/01/2013
By ,
Plano, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this unit because it said it was a smart player but it does not have wifi which is what I was looking for. Will be returning unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 9 for Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

Not Made for " older " Home Theater Systems

01/18/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Do not buy it if you intend to connect it to your home theater Surround Sound receiver that uses RCA audio connections. This player does NOT have the L/R audio output like many other DVD players/upconverters.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 10 for Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

Walmart Ad Not to Be Trusted

08/20/2013
By ,
St Pete, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought I had received a very good deal from Walmart. I checked the ad four(4) times to make sure I wasn't missing anything. It states this unit is either WIFI or ethernet. WELL, it's not WIFI at all so once I got it, needless to say very disappointed. At least I learned one lesson, ALWAYS go to the Manufacturer's Website and check on what you're buying and don't trust the Walmart site. As for the unit itself, don't know, I'm not into adding more wires(ethernet) to my setup, I just know never to buy anything Vizio related.(This is why I'm looking to buy a new Blu-Ray player)
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 11 for Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

Perfect picture and sound

02/01/2014
By ,
Henderson,NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really easy to set up. There is no left/right audio output so if it is going to be used for playing CD's then it has to be connected to a home theater receiver and not a traditional stereo receiver. It also cannot be connected to headphones for the same reason.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 12 for Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

Great blueray

02/07/2014
By ,
Mt Vernon il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought it for my fitness room works great. Bought another for my main tv in living room
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

did not work

10/16/2013
By ,
orlando
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought online ship to store, box was beat up and looked like it was thrown around and cowered with labels, no wonder it did not work when it arrived
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 14 for Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

was not what I was looking for did not have wifi

12/30/2013
By ,
Snellville Ga
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
returned and purchased one with wifi
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 15 for Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

Plays Blue Rays & DVD's fine but...

10/09/2013
By ,
Saint Albans, WV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While the Blue Ray and DVD's work very well, the remote control is advertised as being able to be used to switch your TV HDMI to the player. The list of TV brand names for the remote is amazingly small. It does not include my Visio and many other popular brands. Only 100 possible codes exist. That isn't many at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 16 for Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

Great Product!!!!

08/26/2013
By ,
Bronx, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an old Sharp TV with components in the front, and its only cable ready. With this product I was able to connect the wires to my V/A components and successfully stream Netflix. It is exactly what I was looking for. Great Seller!!!!! And the price is a bargain. I would definitely recommend this product. So don't miss out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

Love this player

10/12/2013
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy eo setup and use Great Quality of picture and sound.Wish I had gottenrid of my old player years ago.
Be sure not to fotget the HDMI Cables
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

Perfect for a bedroom

08/31/2013
By ,
Rochester NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter's room and it is perfect. Price was good...it is small and takes up little room...easy to hook up. I am thinking about a 2nd one for my son,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 19 for Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player

Nice

08/16/2013
By ,
Stafford
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this for it's ability to play Divx codec and wasn't disappointed. Good things come in small packages.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 20 for Samsung BD-F5100 Smart Blu-ray Player
08/25/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't know if all of them are like this, but when I got the player home and connected it, it did not work. Took it back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next