Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Roku Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

Roku Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

Enjoy over 1,000 entertainment channels with the Roku 3 Streaming Media Player. This new, fully loaded Roku streaming player is the fastest, most powerful streaming experience Roku has ever produced. With all new features including 1-stop search and an amazing remote with a built-in headphone jack for private viewing, the Roku HD streaming player puts a world of entertainment at your fingertips. Included is a free app for iOS and Android devices that lets you browse and add channels or play phone content on your HDTV. Centralize all your streaming subscriptions on this device that supports Netflix, Hulu Plus, HBO GO, VUDU, Pandora and much more. Compatible with virtually any HDTV and with a motion control remote for games, you can turn your living room into a complete entertainment hub with this Roku 3 Streaming Media Player.
Average Customer Rating:
4.454 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21530 Reviews) 21496
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13,871
4 stars
5,277
3 stars
1,242
2 stars
559
1 star
581
Customer Recommendation92%19,490 out of 21,093reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
179 Questions | 663 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13,871
4 stars
5,277
3 stars
1,242
2 stars
559
1 star
581
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

This was a well spent $99.00+taxes

06/20/2013
By ,
St Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sister and I decided to finally let go of traditional cable television to save money. I research this device and decided to try it. Delivery was on time, packaging was simple and nice. Set up was so easy I was tickled pink. It took me all of 10 mins.
If you already have netflix or hulu etc. Have your passwords at hand and that makes setup faster. Now let's talk the device. It is wonderfully small and compact. The remote control is simple and easy to use. It comes with a pre-loaded game and it's been fun playing it. The "channels" are easy to find. Some do require you to sign up online with a credit card. The "channel" is free but not all the contents. There is always new content to access. You also have a selection of screen savers as well. I use the clock one.
I decided to pack up the Roku box and take it on my trip to see my children. I hate the television options in the hotel and I like to fall asleep with the TV on. It was a breeze to connect the box to the tv in the room and Viola!! I was watching movies. Oh Don't forget your HDMI cable. When my grandson came over I connected the headphones to the remote and he was happily watching Thomas and friends while we visited with everyone. After that my sister had to have one of her own.
The good--- easy to use, easy to set up, easy to maintain. Love the headphone connection in the remote.
The bad--- Not Roku's fault unable to connect to hbo2go via Direct TV ( I use a friend's password); Sometimes you experience sound distortion but I experienced the same via my laptop so I believe it's my internet provider.
The Okay--- It never turns off but the specs say that it doesn't use much electricity.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+272points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

Best Investment So Far

07/29/2014
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad to get this device and cut my cable bill. I just had to get a few more things to make it compatible with my sound bar and HDTV. But as far as watching most of the things I usually watch is very good. I also have my computer hook to my TV too!. This Roku 3 box was so easy to setup and download some free stations. I plan on purchasing Playon, so I can not spend anymore money on Netflix or Hulu Plus. I think this will definitely save me alot of money from comcast cable. My average bill was from $100 to $160 over the last 10 years, so I think they have gotten enough of my hard earned money for now. And even if you don't find all the channels that you usually watch on Roku, spend some time exercising or reading, or nurturing your online biz or something....Just make sure you understand that the Roku box does not turn off and can get pretty warm on the bottom. I have yet to see how long it will last, overrall a very good investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

streaming player

09/12/2014
By ,
Des Moines, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ROKU player really fine-tunes Netflix over either our smart TV or Blue Ray streaming player on another TV. On TV programs it plays episodes in sequence until you stop it on HULU. I did not have HULU before but since two months is free if you subscribe through the ROKU interface I thought why not. But one of the wonderful things is many channels that can be installed on it that currently are free. We love it since we are no longer stuck with the monthly satellite TV bill when generally we only watched a couple of channels in addition to news on the local channels. If you buy an antenna and just subscribe to what you like on the ROKU 3 it may save significant money. Of course if you rent movies every day and the like it may not be a money saving device but for us it certainly is.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

Roku 3 rocks!!!!

03/22/2013
By ,
Viera, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I had the Roku 2 HD, I had to invest in the Roku 3. With the Roku 2, I had to search individual channels for a specific program to watch, but with the Roku 3, you can search the Roku screen, which in turn, will list all the channels that are showing the specific show you are interested in watching. In addition, I have a 7.1 surround system and with the Roku 3, I can know listen to the 7.1 sound if the show is available in 7.1 sound. The download time is faster and the Roku 3 has not froze like the Roku 2. There are other cool features too like the screen savers, games, etc., but I do not care too much for those features; although, the fish tank screen saver is nice, especially when you run it on your flat screen; my grandchildren thought I replaced my tv with a fish tank. There is also the ability to plug in a USB device and a memory card so you can watch your own movies, pictures, etc.; which is also an awesome feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+229points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Albemarle, NC
Search migrated
Posted 08/10/2013
The same search function is now on all Roku's, it was updated in May 2013 as Roku rolled out an update for all existing players. They all use the same firmware now as the Roku 3.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

Get rid of Dish and Direct!

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third Roku player. I have one that is in a bedroom and used every day and another that is used 24 hours a day in a sitting room. We are a home for disabled children and adults and when the children are in bed the nurses watch it all night. The first one is still in use after 4 years and the one we replaced, was used 24/7 for 3 years before we wore it out. This is reasonable tv. We have hundreds of channels avaialable to us and pay only for the few that we want to watch that have a small fee like Hulu Plus, Amazon, Netflix. Dump your Dish or Direct TV and buy a Roku!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

Definite savings without compromise

11/05/2013
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a fantastic item. The choices and quality is better than cable. There is NO monthly charge. You do have the option of buying on demand or buying paid subscriptions for example hulu plus, netflix and so many more. I love this model with the optional headphone slot in the remote which mutes to all except the headphone listener,
My only wish is that the remote could also control the tv to power on and off. (It controls volume). If they could add this you could operate with one remote.
The only other thing which would be good is if you chose to purchase an additional remote to be able to have two viewers with headphones. (I called and they said that woould not work)
Another great feature is the ability to use your smartphone to browse, pause etc., no volume control.
I am very happy with this purchase and wish I had cancelled cable sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
US
headphone jack splitter
Posted 01/24/2014
you could try that for the remote and use 2 headsets, cheap and easie , hope this helps
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

Happy "Cord Cutter"

04/11/2013
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like my Roku. I'm a month in. The delivery to my local Walmart was days ahead of schedule and the product arrived in mint condition. If you had a major "cable-type" system, it pays for itself in a month.
What I miss from DirectTV: Watching NBA and Golf channels; DVRing shows. TV network shows. Some of these things can be watched jumping through the correct hoops. I am computer savvy enough that I'll likely do this later. For now, I am more than content to watch the series shows from Walking Dead to Breaking Bad, that I never watched. I love not paying $90 a month for cable. My average spend on the Roku, even if I watch every pay-per-view movie I wanted, still averages out to less than about a third of what I would have spent with Direct. From nearly $1,200 to less than $300 a year. And my TV watching is more deliberate now, since you CHOOSE a show.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

Works great overall

09/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We recently dropped satellite and went with Roku. All the channels on it made the switch easy. Most network shows are available within a day or so, and the 2 shows we watch off network that isn't available on a roku channel or online, IS available through Amazon VoD service. So we pay 6$/week instead of 160/mo and still watch all of our shows.
We have had a roku for a while as a way to watch netflix/prime on the tv but we have zero regrets with dropped our 160/mo satellite with this. Occasionally we have some buffering issues, which I don't get because we have 100mbps speeds. I do like that this roku has the ethernet port so we can hardwire instead of wifi being a must. The headphone on the remote is mostly a novelty, but it has been used a couple times already, and probably will be used again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

Great amazing choices

09/17/2014
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not hardly believe how great this Roku is. I can watch episodes in order, when I can watch them, without having to DVR them to watch later, Great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

HDMI cable Warning

04/14/2013
By ,
san diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd Roku box and I like the product and have had no problems.... that I couldn't solve.
After installatiuon,Roku 3 would not work properly, wouldn't stream movies and kept generating HDCP errors. Anyhow it turns out that all HDMI cables are not the same ! The HDMI cable I used with older Roku box wouldn't work with the Roku 3. Solution: Insure you use an HDMI cable labelled as "HIGH SPEED"
I bought one at Walmart for $10 and this solved my problem; it was not presented as a solution by the Roku website help desk.
The radio wave feature means u dont have to point controller directly at the box (as with infra red)...this is nice and so is the earphone capability for listening to TV without bothering others.
I am now quite pleased with the Roku 3 box and have beautiful HD reception on my TV
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+129points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Ankeny, IA
Probably just a bad cable
Posted 06/08/2013
You probably just had a bad HDMI cable the first time or two around. There are versions on the cables, as well. Like v1.3 or v1.4. Most of what you can buy now will be 1.4, most likely. The v1.3 cables should work just fine. The only big difference between 1.3 and 1.4 is the ability to play 3D content through it.
0points
Customer Avatar
South Bend, Indiana
HDMI cable Warning
Posted 05/13/2013
I have existing HDMI cables for PC, Direct TV, etc. routed to my TV. How is one to know if these cables are rated "high-speed" ?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

Nice concept if you understand what you're getting

09/23/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The ROKU concept is a good one. The device does what it's supposed to do. The ROKU device itself is great. The user interface is very easy to use and looks beautiful on my TV screen. However, you need to know/understand that it is no way a replacement for cable/satellite TV. This is purely a streaming device that allows you to download and play internet-based programming on your television--IF you have existing subscriptions to the providers of the programming. The providers of the programming (e.g. HBOGO, Netflix, Hulu) and the owners of specific programs have restrictions and limitations. For example, I was chagrined to learn that--even though I am a Hulu subscriber--I cannot download my favorite Food Network show "Chopped" to ROKU and watch it on TV. That particular show is only playable on a computer. Another example is that though I am an HBO subscriber, I cannot play HBOGO programming through my ROKU because my subscription is through DirecTV (apparently, if I got HBO-and HBOGO- through Time Warner Cable, I would be able to). So, you need to understand that you must be equipped with existing subscriptions to premium programming (through "the right" providers) in order to fully exploit what ROKU is.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+103points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Albemarle, NC
YES IT IS AND YES IT DOES
Posted 11/17/2013
Hi, Nice review. Mostly accurate because Roku is NOT a way to get free cable channels. HOWEVER there are lots of Roku channels I like that are not on cable either. I'd never heard before of what are now some of my favorite channels! If you want to turn OFF your cable or trim it to the cheapest package you'll not miss the premium cable channels at all with a Netflix subscription and/or an Amazon Prime membership.
The other commenter about Canada your answer is YES. The Roku 3 works so long as it has a good fast Wi-Fi or Ethernet connection and gets 110-120v AC. Some content providers restrict connections to their channels to North America, such like Netflix. So while the Roku will work in Europe or South America with the correct power, the content providers who have distribution rights exclusively licensed to North America block their channels. Far more will work than won't though and mostly the ones that won't work overseas would be the premium subscription channels.
0points
Customer Avatar
Mesa
Roku 3 Streaming Player
Posted 11/10/2013
Does this product work on both sides of the USA/Canadian border??
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

Still can't get a lot of the free cable channels

08/03/2014
By ,
Crown Point, LA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read online that I could get Fox News Channel with the Roku so I bought it but it does NOT get Fox News Channel, only video clips that I can already get online through FNC's website or Facebook feed. One good thing is that "SOME" of the content from HuluPlus can now be watched on my TV while I'm using my computer for computer stuff. Only some though. There is still a LOT of Hulu and HuluPlus content that can only be watched over the web on a computer's browser. The rest of the content doesn't work on my iPad or Roku. I got the Roku 3 with two HDMI cables for a $99 deal so it's an OK deal as I do have some stuff that Roku does since I don't get cable where I'm living... but I sure wish it would get the REAL Fox News Channel and other channels like A&E, History Channel, SyFy Channel, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

Roku

09/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roku player is good . You can add channels from the web site to the player, it has the same as cable has but you have to watch sometimes you have to subscribe then I don't download them. a lot of channels to choose from works well..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

Works great with a wireless router

09/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my Roku 3. It has no trouble picking up a signal, despite an intervening stone wall and the distance from my wireless router.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

Best for.....

04/15/2013
By ,
Fredericksburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my opinion the Roku is best for people who do not want the limited access the Apple TV allows you to have. You can do view the same things on both but the Roku allows you to install more apps. This 1080p is amazing and if you have the bandwidth it will blow your mind. Not turning off the unit gets some use to but it uses less power than a low watt bulb. The radio controller is awesome sine you don't have to point it at the unit but I did wish it had a backlight to show you what buttons you're pushing, but like most remotes you get use to it and it does matter anymore. The Roku is perfect for those who want a different choice, the radio stations is a great feature. Adding I heart radio, spotify and pandora is a great bonus for parties or for people living where the radio signal is poor to none existant. Buy one and you'll see why this device has been given so many awards.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

I Can't Leave The House!!! :)

06/01/2013
By ,
Cleveland OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I figured that I could buy it and always return it if it didn't suit my needs. I had heard that short of streaming pay subscription services (Netflix/HuluPlus) that it was a pretty useless device. Well, it would appear the people telling me that didn't have or hadn't ever seen a Roku 3. I am so hooked on some of the strangest channels which are completely free. You will need to buy an HDMI cable and make sure your television accepts HDMI, which I have. Not only can you pull the channels from the Roku once it is connected but there seems to be more channels available online through Roku's website (or at least things that I hadn't noticed) and you can find private channels that you can load in from external internet sources. Now, granted you do not have access to your local channels but those are available through your cable or digital antenna. I signed up for a huluplus account because we are more into tv than movies (Netflix). I just loaded a channel from MIT with actual classroom style lectures from the university. I loaded Crackle, a free movie channel, and several food and recipe channels not on our cable provider's roster of channels. I am very pleased with this $100 purchase (one time - no fees until you sign up for services like Epix, Netflix, HuluPlus, etc. Go for it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

No Vudu Channel, No HBOGO Channel - No Good!

08/22/2013
By ,
Parsippany, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this device specifically to stream VUDU and HBOGO, as I currently use a BluRay player and a Laptop to do both and figured this would make my life easier. I'm one day in and still do not have either channel offered in the Channel Menu. Its as if they don't exist. I've looked for support online and have found others with similar situations, but no resolution. My firmware is up to date! I decided to restore the system to its factory settings and start all over, hoping these channels might appear. To my surprise, the Roku box fired up and now the remote control doesn't work, so I cannot get past the language selection option. My BluRay and Laptop system were far superior. For whatever reason, my box does not come with the 2 channels I most desired and there are no instructions on how to make them available. Too much frustration. I am a video professional and use this kind of equipment all the time. I can't imagine what a lay person would go through with this!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Albemarle, NC
Both are in the Roku Channel Store!
Posted 10/31/2013
When you add a channel it won't show up immediately. It takes a bit for your account to update your device.
Once the channels appear, usually within 24 hours you are good to go.
I should point out that not all HBO local providers (meaning your personal cable or satellite carrier) will authorize HBO GO for Roku on web viewing on laptop. Most do, some don't.
Sometimes if you RE-ENTER the channel store section and re-exit back to your channels they will update. Sometimes not. I have Vudu on my Roku and it works GREAT! I don't subscribe to HBO but even if I did I probably could not get it online because my carrier is said to be one of the carries who decline participation.
Your remote issue is a sync issue with the Bluetooth technology. It lost connectivity. Try Roku online chat support as the fix for this is easy. Good luck!
0points
Customer Avatar
OK
add them
Posted 09/26/2013
you can add them channels easily from the channel store for free
0points
Customer Avatar
S.Cal
HBOGO is there ...
Posted 09/01/2013
I did not check for Vudu (Vudu-plus yes?) , but HBOGO is there ; you must ADD it as a channel l!!!!
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 18 for Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

Streaming problems

09/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Since day one I was having problems with the wifi, called customer service several times, changed wifi settings on the router to their specifications reseted the roku several times, and nothing worked, they even wanted me to try my neighbors wifi, (like if i know their password) they were blaming the cable company, and saying that i needed a faster internet and that they were the cause of the wifi problem. i called time warner they helped me I even boosted my internet speed, (10 dollars extra a month), but no issues were found all of my other devises worked except roku 3, I do not recommend this product to anyone with wifi unless you hook it up to line,
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

Great way to monitor television

09/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We haven't had cable in about 5 years and with this device we can easily monitor the movies and shows that are watched in our house and I love the fact I can now watch services from my own church on the Roku anytime I want and still be able to use my laptop at the same time. I can also carry my Roku when I travel to places that have WiFi!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Roku 3 Streaming Player with 2 months FREE of Hulu Plus

Go with XBOX - you will probably be happier

06/06/2014
By ,
Midwest
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have just packaged up my Roku to take back to the store in the morning. I am VERY VERY disappointed to say the least. This was not all like the ads, website and reviews were suggesting.
I will preface by giving you our TV habits - son watches Walking Dead, husband watches mainly MLB, NFL, college basketball/football and some pro basketball, daughter accesses PBS Kids, Sprout and Nick Jr. & I watch Duck Dynasty, some things on the OWN network and cooking shows. Our tv's are not on 24/7. Majority of TV time on is on Netflix or XBox 360 & One and even that is mainly done by my older boys.
With that said, here are the top 10 reasons why I am returning my Roku and things that you should know if you are considering Roku but wouldn't necessarily find out if you haven't talked to someone who actually owns one.
1. You need to link a credit card to the account in order to set up. You can remove it later, but then can't subscribe/purchase any channels that require subscribing/purchasing.
2. They do reserve the right to share all your info. The terms and conditions was quite lengthy but the jist was yes we reap info from you both anonymous and not via cookies and our own monitoring of our software and equipment and other 3rd party vendors do the same. We see what you are watching/downloading/subscribing to as well as look at your online activity to see what your interests are. (that was a turn off for me right away but I did want to give Roku a fair shake so I continued)
3. Setup was very easy, self explanatory. I have a wireless connection and it found my router no problem. Hookup was also easy with just plugging in the power cord and an HDMI cable (which it does NOT come with). Batteries for the Roku remote do come with it.
4. If a channel says "free" it may not be free. There were channels that you were able to pick from in the online setup that stated they were free but when you go into your channels later you find out that some have a free trial period before a subscription begins. It does not tell you that when you click "add channel". I was leery about the trial ending and them automatically billing me without me realizing it. It is a bit fuzzy on if you remove a channel does the trial period give way to the regular subscription anyway. It does say that removing a channel does not mean you have cancelled the subscription, you have to go directly to that channel provider for that (not sure what that means). You have the option in setup to use a pin in one of 3 ways - 1. for channel purchase/subscriptions, 2. for channel purchase/subscriptions and anytime you add a channel, 3. for adding a channel (I believe but I could be wrong on this one). We chose #2 but it just asks for your email and password and does not state if you are just adding a channel or if there are costs involved. Sneaky if you ask me.
5. If you subscribe to a channel for say a yearly subscription and then a few months in realize you don't like it you can cancel it but your subscription and it's fees stay in place until the subscription time period is up. So if you are in 2 months of a 12 month sub you still have to pay for it for the next 10 months even if you don't access it. Not something I was happy with.
6. Some free channels still want you to give them your personal info/email before you can access their channel. I tried accessing the free PBS Kids but unless I gave them my email they would not continue to the channel. Some channels need you to go online to a given website and "register" before you can use it, like Pandora. Again, stating "free" but not really being free or free but you have to give them all your personal data. No thanks.
7. Some channels with movies have commercials in the movies. We added the popcorn movie channel and it wasn't into a kids movie 5 minutes and a commercial came up - no warning, just popped right up. I am not happy with that since the one that popped up had a police car with sirens blazing and startled my 7 year old daughter. I backed it out as quickly as I could so I have no idea what the commercial was for. Not. Cool.
8. Not a lot of channels I am familiar with and those that I did (A&E, History, ESPN, etc...) required you to have a tv subscription before you could access it. Like, duh, that is why I bought Roku so I would NOT have to subscribe to cable! Seems like the majority of channels were religious (409), Indie films, horror or more adult than anything. That's not my preferences so that was a big letdown.
9. Website was hard to find all the information on. As I referenced before, it was hard to tell what channels were really free and what ones were free trials with subscriptions to follow. Also had to access the Search to find answers to things like "how to remove a channel" when IMHO that should be already on there.
10. There is pretty much no free live TV or streaming. The majority, if not all, of the things on the free channels was archived videos, even the news. My XBox already has my son's subscription to Netflix and I can access live ESPN coverage through it at no extra cost (he has an xbox live account). It is also easier to find things and is very clear on if something costs money or not right up front.
So, bottom line is that I am very sad this did not work out but I am going to regain my $100 (Roku 3) and use my XBox and antennae to watch what I need to and STILL ditch cable :-D
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 504 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  26 Next