Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Roku Roku 3 Streaming Player

Roku Roku 3 Streaming Player

Enjoy over 1,000 entertainment channels with the Roku 3 Streaming Media Player. This new, fully loaded Roku streaming player is the fastest, most powerful streaming experience Roku has ever produced. With all new features including 1-stop search and an amazing remote with a built-in headphone jack for private viewing, the Roku HD streaming player puts a world of entertainment at your fingertips. Included is a free app for iOS and Android devices that lets you browse and add channels or play phone content on your HDTV. Centralize all your streaming subscriptions on this device that supports Netflix, Hulu Plus, HBO GO, VUDU, Pandora and much more. Compatible with virtually any HDTV and with a motion control remote for games, you can turn your living room into a complete entertainment hub with this Roku 3 Streaming Media Player.
Average Customer Rating:
4.452 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22749 Reviews) 22715
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14,676
4 stars
5,528
3 stars
1,322
2 stars
596
1 star
627
Customer Recommendation92%20,579 out of 22,290reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
194 Questions | 686 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14,676
4 stars
5,528
3 stars
1,322
2 stars
596
1 star
627
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Roku 3 Streaming Player

This was a well spent $99.00+taxes

06/20/2013
By ,
St Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sister and I decided to finally let go of traditional cable television to save money. I research this device and decided to try it. Delivery was on time, packaging was simple and nice. Set up was so easy I was tickled pink. It took me all of 10 mins.
If you already have netflix or hulu etc. Have your passwords at hand and that makes setup faster. Now let's talk the device. It is wonderfully small and compact. The remote control is simple and easy to use. It comes with a pre-loaded game and it's been fun playing it. The "channels" are easy to find. Some do require you to sign up online with a credit card. The "channel" is free but not all the contents. There is always new content to access. You also have a selection of screen savers as well. I use the clock one.
I decided to pack up the Roku box and take it on my trip to see my children. I hate the television options in the hotel and I like to fall asleep with the TV on. It was a breeze to connect the box to the tv in the room and Viola!! I was watching movies. Oh Don't forget your HDMI cable. When my grandson came over I connected the headphones to the remote and he was happily watching Thomas and friends while we visited with everyone. After that my sister had to have one of her own.
The good--- easy to use, easy to set up, easy to maintain. Love the headphone connection in the remote.
The bad--- Not Roku's fault unable to connect to hbo2go via Direct TV ( I use a friend's password); Sometimes you experience sound distortion but I experienced the same via my laptop so I believe it's my internet provider.
The Okay--- It never turns off but the specs say that it doesn't use much electricity.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+345points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Roku 3 Streaming Player

Row row rowing down the Roku stream...

11/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our household did away with cable this past summer and went with an antenna (2 channels). My teenage daughter decided to get Netflix through our Wii and kept it in her room. I was using my laptop for the living room but that was very inconvenient due to using the laptop for my work. Soooooo.... with a little research I decided to go with the Roku 3. It was easy to set up. (The only bump in the set up was my daughter couldn't think of her Netflix info). There is so much to explore with this little box, I haven't had the time to just sit and go through all of the channels. I LOVE the setting that you MUST have a PIN # to add more channels. My 9 year old son is Autistic and has messed around with settings on many electronics in the past. So far he has not added or tried charging any channel. Also. there's a headphone jack on the remote which we both really like.
I like this product so much I'm looking into getting the streaming stick for my bedroom.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Roku 3 Streaming Player

Best Investment So Far

07/29/2014
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad to get this device and cut my cable bill. I just had to get a few more things to make it compatible with my sound bar and HDTV. But as far as watching most of the things I usually watch is very good. I also have my computer hook to my TV too!. This Roku 3 box was so easy to setup and download some free stations. I plan on purchasing Playon, so I can not spend anymore money on Netflix or Hulu Plus. I think this will definitely save me alot of money from comcast cable. My average bill was from $100 to $160 over the last 10 years, so I think they have gotten enough of my hard earned money for now. And even if you don't find all the channels that you usually watch on Roku, spend some time exercising or reading, or nurturing your online biz or something....Just make sure you understand that the Roku box does not turn off and can get pretty warm on the bottom. I have yet to see how long it will last, overrall a very good investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Roku 3 Streaming Player

Roku 3 rocks!!!!

03/22/2013
By ,
Viera, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I had the Roku 2 HD, I had to invest in the Roku 3. With the Roku 2, I had to search individual channels for a specific program to watch, but with the Roku 3, you can search the Roku screen, which in turn, will list all the channels that are showing the specific show you are interested in watching. In addition, I have a 7.1 surround system and with the Roku 3, I can know listen to the 7.1 sound if the show is available in 7.1 sound. The download time is faster and the Roku 3 has not froze like the Roku 2. There are other cool features too like the screen savers, games, etc., but I do not care too much for those features; although, the fish tank screen saver is nice, especially when you run it on your flat screen; my grandchildren thought I replaced my tv with a fish tank. There is also the ability to plug in a USB device and a memory card so you can watch your own movies, pictures, etc.; which is also an awesome feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+255points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Albemarle, NC
Search migrated
Posted 08/10/2013
The same search function is now on all Roku's, it was updated in May 2013 as Roku rolled out an update for all existing players. They all use the same firmware now as the Roku 3.
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Roku 3 Streaming Player

streaming player

09/12/2014
By ,
Des Moines, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ROKU player really fine-tunes Netflix over either our smart TV or Blue Ray streaming player on another TV. On TV programs it plays episodes in sequence until you stop it on HULU. I did not have HULU before but since two months is free if you subscribe through the ROKU interface I thought why not. But one of the wonderful things is many channels that can be installed on it that currently are free. We love it since we are no longer stuck with the monthly satellite TV bill when generally we only watched a couple of channels in addition to news on the local channels. If you buy an antenna and just subscribe to what you like on the ROKU 3 it may save significant money. Of course if you rent movies every day and the like it may not be a money saving device but for us it certainly is.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Roku 3 Streaming Player

Happy "Cord Cutter"

04/11/2013
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like my Roku. I'm a month in. The delivery to my local Walmart was days ahead of schedule and the product arrived in mint condition. If you had a major "cable-type" system, it pays for itself in a month.
What I miss from DirectTV: Watching NBA and Golf channels; DVRing shows. TV network shows. Some of these things can be watched jumping through the correct hoops. I am computer savvy enough that I'll likely do this later. For now, I am more than content to watch the series shows from Walking Dead to Breaking Bad, that I never watched. I love not paying $90 a month for cable. My average spend on the Roku, even if I watch every pay-per-view movie I wanted, still averages out to less than about a third of what I would have spent with Direct. From nearly $1,200 to less than $300 a year. And my TV watching is more deliberate now, since you CHOOSE a show.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+97points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Roku 3 Streaming Player

Definite savings without compromise

11/05/2013
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a fantastic item. The choices and quality is better than cable. There is NO monthly charge. You do have the option of buying on demand or buying paid subscriptions for example hulu plus, netflix and so many more. I love this model with the optional headphone slot in the remote which mutes to all except the headphone listener,
My only wish is that the remote could also control the tv to power on and off. (It controls volume). If they could add this you could operate with one remote.
The only other thing which would be good is if you chose to purchase an additional remote to be able to have two viewers with headphones. (I called and they said that woould not work)
Another great feature is the ability to use your smartphone to browse, pause etc., no volume control.
I am very happy with this purchase and wish I had cancelled cable sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
US
headphone jack splitter
Posted 01/24/2014
you could try that for the remote and use 2 headsets, cheap and easie , hope this helps
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Roku 3 Streaming Player

Really not much in the way of "free" programming

10/29/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Although my husband and I were able to get it set up and working quickly, we were very disappointed. There are lots of so-called "free" channels, but many require you to buy episodes and programming once you are actually trying to find something to watch. There is no overall program guide from which to make viewing choices. As far as we could see, it was not possible to watch current events or news in real time. We did not find it possible to view current TV programs without signing up for paid service. Just was not what we expected.
Far too complicated to find something free worth watching.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Roku 3 Streaming Player

Get rid of Dish and Direct!

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third Roku player. I have one that is in a bedroom and used every day and another that is used 24 hours a day in a sitting room. We are a home for disabled children and adults and when the children are in bed the nurses watch it all night. The first one is still in use after 4 years and the one we replaced, was used 24/7 for 3 years before we wore it out. This is reasonable tv. We have hundreds of channels avaialable to us and pay only for the few that we want to watch that have a small fee like Hulu Plus, Amazon, Netflix. Dump your Dish or Direct TV and buy a Roku!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Roku 3 Streaming Player

Nice concept if you understand what you're getting

09/23/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The ROKU concept is a good one. The device does what it's supposed to do. The ROKU device itself is great. The user interface is very easy to use and looks beautiful on my TV screen. However, you need to know/understand that it is no way a replacement for cable/satellite TV. This is purely a streaming device that allows you to download and play internet-based programming on your television--IF you have existing subscriptions to the providers of the programming. The providers of the programming (e.g. HBOGO, Netflix, Hulu) and the owners of specific programs have restrictions and limitations. For example, I was chagrined to learn that--even though I am a Hulu subscriber--I cannot download my favorite Food Network show "Chopped" to ROKU and watch it on TV. That particular show is only playable on a computer. Another example is that though I am an HBO subscriber, I cannot play HBOGO programming through my ROKU because my subscription is through DirecTV (apparently, if I got HBO-and HBOGO- through Time Warner Cable, I would be able to). So, you need to understand that you must be equipped with existing subscriptions to premium programming (through "the right" providers) in order to fully exploit what ROKU is.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+135points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Albemarle, NC
YES IT IS AND YES IT DOES
Posted 11/17/2013
Hi, Nice review. Mostly accurate because Roku is NOT a way to get free cable channels. HOWEVER there are lots of Roku channels I like that are not on cable either. I'd never heard before of what are now some of my favorite channels! If you want to turn OFF your cable or trim it to the cheapest package you'll not miss the premium cable channels at all with a Netflix subscription and/or an Amazon Prime membership.
The other commenter about Canada your answer is YES. The Roku 3 works so long as it has a good fast Wi-Fi or Ethernet connection and gets 110-120v AC. Some content providers restrict connections to their channels to North America, such like Netflix. So while the Roku will work in Europe or South America with the correct power, the content providers who have distribution rights exclusively licensed to North America block their channels. Far more will work than won't though and mostly the ones that won't work overseas would be the premium subscription channels.
0points
Customer Avatar
Mesa
Roku 3 Streaming Player
Posted 11/10/2013
Does this product work on both sides of the USA/Canadian border??
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Roku 3 Streaming Player

Excellent value

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The unit is very small and light weight. You don't have to be a "techie" type to install it. No special tools required and instructions are easy to follow. The Roku 3 makes "streaming" enjoyable and affordable. It has many features such as accessing a number of cable channels including HBO and Showtime (if you subscribe to those premium channels). The Roku 3 main menu is easy to navigate. One of the best features of this product is the fact that the remote is the infrared type so you don't have to have a direct line of sight to use it. It also comes with ear buds that plug into the remote so you can watch something without distrubing anyone else.
This is an excellent value for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Roku 3 Streaming Player

HDMI cable Warning

04/14/2013
By ,
san diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd Roku box and I like the product and have had no problems.... that I couldn't solve.
After installatiuon,Roku 3 would not work properly, wouldn't stream movies and kept generating HDCP errors. Anyhow it turns out that all HDMI cables are not the same ! The HDMI cable I used with older Roku box wouldn't work with the Roku 3. Solution: Insure you use an HDMI cable labelled as "HIGH SPEED"
I bought one at Walmart for $10 and this solved my problem; it was not presented as a solution by the Roku website help desk.
The radio wave feature means u dont have to point controller directly at the box (as with infra red)...this is nice and so is the earphone capability for listening to TV without bothering others.
I am now quite pleased with the Roku 3 box and have beautiful HD reception on my TV
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+149points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Ankeny, IA
Probably just a bad cable
Posted 06/08/2013
You probably just had a bad HDMI cable the first time or two around. There are versions on the cables, as well. Like v1.3 or v1.4. Most of what you can buy now will be 1.4, most likely. The v1.3 cables should work just fine. The only big difference between 1.3 and 1.4 is the ability to play 3D content through it.
0points
Customer Avatar
South Bend, Indiana
HDMI cable Warning
Posted 05/13/2013
I have existing HDMI cables for PC, Direct TV, etc. routed to my TV. How is one to know if these cables are rated "high-speed" ?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Roku 3 Streaming Player

No Vudu Channel, No HBOGO Channel - No Good!

08/22/2013
By ,
Parsippany, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this device specifically to stream VUDU and HBOGO, as I currently use a BluRay player and a Laptop to do both and figured this would make my life easier. I'm one day in and still do not have either channel offered in the Channel Menu. Its as if they don't exist. I've looked for support online and have found others with similar situations, but no resolution. My firmware is up to date! I decided to restore the system to its factory settings and start all over, hoping these channels might appear. To my surprise, the Roku box fired up and now the remote control doesn't work, so I cannot get past the language selection option. My BluRay and Laptop system were far superior. For whatever reason, my box does not come with the 2 channels I most desired and there are no instructions on how to make them available. Too much frustration. I am a video professional and use this kind of equipment all the time. I can't imagine what a lay person would go through with this!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Albemarle, NC
Both are in the Roku Channel Store!
Posted 10/31/2013
When you add a channel it won't show up immediately. It takes a bit for your account to update your device.
Once the channels appear, usually within 24 hours you are good to go.
I should point out that not all HBO local providers (meaning your personal cable or satellite carrier) will authorize HBO GO for Roku on web viewing on laptop. Most do, some don't.
Sometimes if you RE-ENTER the channel store section and re-exit back to your channels they will update. Sometimes not. I have Vudu on my Roku and it works GREAT! I don't subscribe to HBO but even if I did I probably could not get it online because my carrier is said to be one of the carries who decline participation.
Your remote issue is a sync issue with the Bluetooth technology. It lost connectivity. Try Roku online chat support as the fix for this is easy. Good luck!
0points
Customer Avatar
OK
add them
Posted 09/26/2013
you can add them channels easily from the channel store for free
0points
Customer Avatar
S.Cal
HBOGO is there ...
Posted 09/01/2013
I did not check for Vudu (Vudu-plus yes?) , but HBOGO is there ; you must ADD it as a channel l!!!!
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 14 for Roku 3 Streaming Player

Roku 3 Streaming Player

11/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Roku 3 as well as the Streaming Stick and the Roku 1 on the same order. The Streaming Stick did not work well and I later learned that many people have had the same problems with the Stick. I returned the Streaming Stick for a second Roku 3 to use in its place on that TV.
Both the Roku 3 and Roku 1 works great making a a lot of free movies and TV programs available from the internet. Even more is available by subscription for less than $ 10.00 per month per subscription. Streaming TV will take the place of the cable service for me.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Roku 3 Streaming Player

my second one

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a Roku HD and decided to purchase another one for another room. The Roku 3 is great it has a better WIFI range a noticeable faster processor and headphones that attach to the remote for private listening. It also allows you to use screen mirroring with an android phone to the tv. So what ever you see on your phone can be seen on the TV as well. Great product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Roku 3 Streaming Player

Beau coup Roku

10/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little device. The NHL games on NHL GameCenter are amazing. The Roku 3 is currently the best streaming device in my opinion. I also have the Amazon Fire TV which is good but the Roku 3 has more apps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Roku 3 Streaming Player

I Can't Leave The House!!! :)

06/01/2013
By ,
Cleveland OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I figured that I could buy it and always return it if it didn't suit my needs. I had heard that short of streaming pay subscription services (Netflix/HuluPlus) that it was a pretty useless device. Well, it would appear the people telling me that didn't have or hadn't ever seen a Roku 3. I am so hooked on some of the strangest channels which are completely free. You will need to buy an HDMI cable and make sure your television accepts HDMI, which I have. Not only can you pull the channels from the Roku once it is connected but there seems to be more channels available online through Roku's website (or at least things that I hadn't noticed) and you can find private channels that you can load in from external internet sources. Now, granted you do not have access to your local channels but those are available through your cable or digital antenna. I signed up for a huluplus account because we are more into tv than movies (Netflix). I just loaded a channel from MIT with actual classroom style lectures from the university. I loaded Crackle, a free movie channel, and several food and recipe channels not on our cable provider's roster of channels. I am very pleased with this $100 purchase (one time - no fees until you sign up for services like Epix, Netflix, HuluPlus, etc. Go for it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Roku 3 Streaming Player

Perfect device that combines everything!

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am in love with my Roku. Everything is in one convenient place, so to speak. We can watch directly from Netflix, stream Pandora or even watch from our Amazon videos. Just wished I had known about this sooner!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Roku 3 Streaming Player

Best for.....

04/15/2013
By ,
Fredericksburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my opinion the Roku is best for people who do not want the limited access the Apple TV allows you to have. You can do view the same things on both but the Roku allows you to install more apps. This 1080p is amazing and if you have the bandwidth it will blow your mind. Not turning off the unit gets some use to but it uses less power than a low watt bulb. The radio controller is awesome sine you don't have to point it at the unit but I did wish it had a backlight to show you what buttons you're pushing, but like most remotes you get use to it and it does matter anymore. The Roku is perfect for those who want a different choice, the radio stations is a great feature. Adding I heart radio, spotify and pandora is a great bonus for parties or for people living where the radio signal is poor to none existant. Buy one and you'll see why this device has been given so many awards.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Roku 3 Streaming Player

Fast as fast can be...

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Much faster than my previous 2xxxx version. I've had Roku for several years and consider it and Netflix, Amazon Prime, and free to air digital to be the best combo for watching the big black box.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 554 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  28 Next