Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Farberware FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

Farberware FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

The FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle is a great way to enjoy a quick cup of tea. This kettle can hold up to 1.7-liters of water and features an automatic shut-off once your water has boiled to prevent dry boiling. Its button-control lid is easy and quick for lid opening. Strix thermostat provides you the high-quality safety protection. It has a 360-degree rotational and concealed steam pipe design. Its backed by the Good Housekeeping Seal. The limited warranty reflected by the Good Housekeeping Seal means that if a product bearing the Seal is defective within the first two years of purchase, Good Housekeeping will replace the product or refund the purchase price.
Average Customer Rating:
3.632 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation71%27 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 35 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

Seems ok

11/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first kettle. Curious so i tested it and filled it to the max 1.7. Took 8 mins 50 secs to heat water from cold 55 degrees to boiling. Switch turns off when done. You could probably put any liquid like soup or tea in it since it's stainless steel. Make sure the base is dry before placing on heating unit. Gave it 4 star because i don't know how fast other kettles heat up.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

great product

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item works great, my wife really loves it. It shuts off by itself, amazing product. I would recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

Great Fast Kettle

06/10/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this to replace a previous GE electric kettle and it looks exactly like that model, so I think Farberware replaced GE. The only issue I had with the previous one, was that it began leaking after about 2 years of heavy usage up to 10x per day. I think it may have gotten a leak because I often turned it on without sufficient water and even though it turns itself off almost immediately, I believe it added to the wear and tear of the seams. I intend to keep this one full and see how long it lasts. I love the size, shape and auto shut-off features. It makes boiling water so quickly, I am often impatient when using a traditional kettle on the stove as it seems to take forever! I wish it was entirely stainless steel (the lid is hard plastic), but when I priced out other brands, the price was about 2 1/2 times this model. Overall, great kettle!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

good service

11/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
good I like it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

Dependable

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had my previous hotpot for more than a year of multiple uses daily. Heats up quickly. Would probably still have it but the lid snapped off when accidentally dropped. This pot seems to work just as well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

Great kettle, but leaks

09/23/2013
By ,
Englewood, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a great kettle, but this is my third kettle this year. Fortunately it has a great warranty. After 3 or 4 months it starts leaking at the bottom. You will notice within a month that there is rust at the bottom seam and rust on the inside. Around the 4th month it will start leaking at the bottom. It has a two year warranty, and this is my third kettle this year. All are covered under the two year warranty.
I like that it heats water quickly, saves energy and has an automatic shut off. If it lasted longer, it would be a really great kettle.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

Utter garbage

09/28/2014
By ,
Arlington, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Echoing other reviews this kettle leaks water the moment you fill it up beyond the minimum mark. It appears to leak at the fixing point for the outer visible scale.
Yes it boils water and looks good but unless you constantly want to dry off your counter and other appliances next to the kettle spend your money on a different version.
I would have returned it but I've lost the receipt.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

was good...

04/13/2014
By ,
GA.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is our second E kettle. The first one was under GE (exactly the same kettle like Farberware!). The top just broke of after 1 1/2 years. Now the new one I just purchased end of Jan 2014 has developed a big rust spot on the bottom and the side wall (it suppose to be stainless steel, right?).
They work excellent, boil the water fast. But after reading the reviews where people said that theirs start to leak, I guess mine will do too soon, because of the rust spot.
I liked this kettle because of the big capacity, auto shut off and the base. The 1 liter kettles are to small for me. But this time I will look at a different brand (I am getting the extended warranty), hoping that another brand will last longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

Top Broke

09/24/2014
By ,
new jersey
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
within 18 months of purchase, the top broke.
It is the same kettle as this one, but has GE's name on it.
I wish replacement parts were available, or it had 2-year warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

Leaked all over!

12/05/2013
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this kettle a couple of months ago, and though I wasn't happy with how hot the outside got, it performed adequately (though was rather LOUD). Recently we have found the counter flooded several times and couldn't figure out where it was coming from ... it was the seam between the metal and the plastic and it leaked like a sieve! NOT happy and overpriced for such bad workmanship. Also, the lid bound and would not open easily and finally broke off. We still used it and just filled through the spout until the leak started. Enough already!!!! Overpriced and not worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

Exact copy of Walmart/GE Electric Kettle

11/29/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have used our Walmart/GE branded model for years and years. It went on the fritz. So I ordered this Farberware model. It looks exactly like the GE model and functions the same way.
While waiting for the Farberware to arrive I took the GE compltetly apart to find the pot was functioning perfectly. The problem was the base and its connection with the pot. One of the contacts had gotten bent and pushed out of place [I am guessing from spinning the pot around on the base]. In any case I pushed it back into position and then lubricated the contacts both on the base and on the pot with electrical anti oxidation grease. I works perfectly again. So I refused delivery of the Farberware pot.
As I say the Farberware looks to be a carbon copy of the GE Electric kettle. I recommend this style pot any day! Good solid components, well thought out, and functions beautifully.
Some people may be wary of or upset by the fact that it is not insulated an insulated pot and that the exterior of the pot is as hot at the boiling liquid on the inside; but common sense here, so is a pot of boiling water on the stove top! This is a tool not a toy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

GREAT WHILE IT LASTED

08/28/2014
By ,
OCALA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MINE DIED ON ME, IN JUST UNDER 7 MONTH'S... BUT I HAD NO PROBLEM EXCHANGING IT AT THE LOCAL WALMART.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

Try it - you'll like it!

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First used this style of kettle while traveling in Europe. We love our kettle, and have bought more as gifts once our friends saw and used ours.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

Auto shut-off doesn't work

08/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried to clean the kettle buy boiling the water. First time, auto shut-off didn't work. 2nd time, the auto shut off worked only more 5 minutes after the water started to boil. This is an important safety feature for my daughter's dorm.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

Looks great, works well

05/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 is that the automatic shut-off happens very quickly after the water begins to boil -- I use a neti pot that requires water to be boiled for at least a full minute before use, and that is one of the reasons I own an electric kettle at all. I wish the kettle had an option to use the shut-off or not to use it.
Otherwise, it looks great and is metal inside and out, which is nice. My last kettle was plastic inside and began to chip away and break apart after awhile this seems much more sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

Top broke

09/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Whatever keeps the top closed broke and it can't be used without setting something on top if it. Other than that no problem, no leaks, no rust, shuts off when it is suppose to ( as long as the top is weighted down). It is under the warranty but I didn't keep any of the paperwork so I'm out of luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

Only as good as the filter

07/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've been using this kettle for about a year or so now. Everything has been good--except for being very loud. However, the filter has torn and fallen apart and I can't find a replacement ANYWHERE. I've called all the numbers related to this company/product, but no one seems to know where to get one. I guess I can just use it without the filter, but what's the use in having a "built-in" filter if you can replace it?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

Not reccomended if you want quick boiling water

06/24/2013
By ,
Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife bought this in WM cause that was the only model available. Plugged in, it took well over 5 min to boil water. I checked the base for wattage, it red 420 W . The wattage is not listed in specs or owners manual. 420 Watts for 1,7 L kettle is a joke.
The kettle was immediately returned.
Do not buy 1,7 L kettle rated less than 1500W or 1 L/quart rated below 1000W.
You'll be better off boiling water on the stove or in microwave.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Los Angeles
same thing
Posted 02/08/2014
I think I will return it. I really hate to return things, but waiting for a kettle to boil some water for longer time than if you just put the pot on the stove, is unacceptable.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

Best kettle we have ever owned!

03/01/2014
By ,
Ontario, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very convenient kettle, plug it in, turn it on and walk away without having to run to a whistling kettle. Able to make the amount of water that you want with the handy measuring strip on the kettle.
Overall excellent purchase, the handle is placed perfectly and light weight enough to grab easily and make your cup of coffee.
We couldn't be happier with this kettle!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FARBERWARE 1.7 Electric Kettle

Great for a quick and easy way to heat water.

01/02/2014
By ,
SanAntonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great way to heat water for tea, soups, hot chocolate or whatever when you need it quickly.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next