Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

Sony Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

With the Sony 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System (model BDVE2100) you can watch sports events or your favorite movies in vivid high-definition or in 3D, and enjoy powerful, immersive sound. Using built-in wifi, you can also stream music and movies from media websites. If you want to play the music collection of your smartphone or other device through the system's speakers, Bluetooth technology allows a wireless streaming connection. USB devices can be connected to access their media as well. Just about any wireless device on your home network can be accessed using the 3D Blu-ray Disc Home Theater System so you can show a photo slide show or home videos on your TV screen. If your favorite songs don't sound as good as they used to, Digital Music Enhancer can help restore their quality. A remote control is included to access the system's many functions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.03 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
23
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation80%65 out of 81reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
101 Questions | 165 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
23
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

Very Nice Blu-ray Home Theater System!

04/21/2013
By ,
Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this product after upgrading to a LED TV and seeking a better sound than the stock TV speakers. After setting it up, which was very simple, I found that this product has so many options for customizing the sound, steam video and/or music.
The UI is basically the same as the Sony PlayStation 3.
Some feature are the digital FM tuner that allows 20 presets. Which allows this unit to double as a home stereo too. Speaker setup variations. Whether you want all front facing or side mounted speakers . And the ability to set the speaker depth range for an increased listening pleasure. You get the internet browser when hooked up on a WIFI network. Front facing USB port. It has different sound and EQ settings. These are just some of the many features this system has.
Overall, this is a very great sounding system. It is definitely worth the $248 I paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+106points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

Great Value level system.

01/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This system really was a steal for the 200 dollars I spent on it. Some people complained that the sound is not loud enough. That is a simple solution. You just need to turn up the volume for each speaker in the audio settings tab. I am not sure why they set the default at 0 on them but you can turn each individual speaker up to 5dB. Good luck and buy with confidence as this is a quality product from sony.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

Excellent Value!

10/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read the instructions carefully, do not call tech support. I made that mistake after a half hour with the 1st tech who barely spoke english and who I seriously doubt he has ever seen nor used a surround sound system. I asked if I speak to someone who knew what he was doing he hung up on me. I called back and got a guy from USA and he tried walking me through the instructions that he seemed to be reading for the 1st time, at every opportunity he could imagine, he would say "there you go!" acting as if all was working well. I have a Sony Bravia TV which should be a match for the system. We couldn't get the sound to come out of the surround system. Every time he heard sound from the TV he would say "OK we got it!" no we didn't. When his shift was ending, he asked for my email and said he would research this and get back to me. It's been 2 weeks and I have not heard a word. I figured out it was a less than high quality HDMI cable that didn't communicate both ways. It is needed for the "ARC" setup of the Sony system. I switched out cable and the system works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

Incredible system for the money

03/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this system just before Christmas 2014 for $198 in my local Walmart store. I did a lot of homework reading reviews of comparable systems and studying the specs. I finally made the decision to go with this Sony system for a number of reasons- Sony brand name, good reviews, 1000 watts and the fact that it has an FM tuner. Unboxing and setting up was easy- just follow the directions. I did have to purchase separately an optical cable (TOS link- for sound from the TV) and an HDMI cable to connect it to my TV (both were about $10 at a local computer store or can be found online). I just use an antenna for a TV signal and have a 46" Toshiba LCD TV. I did have a old surround system in the house so I just cut the wires for the rear speakers and spliced them into the wires I had in the ceiling. The system connected to my wireless home network easily and took a few minutes to update the software. The sound quality out of such a small system is amazing! The highs are crystal clear for the most part and the bass is strong enough to rattle the windows. My first movie was Top Gun on Blu-ray and the sound and picture quality were way beyond my expectations- incredible! You can adjust the sound to your liking with "music EQ" and "sound mode" buttons on the remote that cycle through various preset sound settings. It's not a real EQ and you can't fine tune individual frequencies but with all the preset settings, you can find one that works. The head unit is low profile, sleek and expensive looking with a blue mirror front/top section, small alphanumeric display and al small LED downlight, lighting up the floor area in front of the unit. The satellite speakers are small with cloth fronts and the sub is particle board with a cloth grille. It's hard to believe but the little speakers do produce amazing, room filing sound (my room is 20x20 feet) and the sub is floor shaking as well. That said, this is not a $3000 audiophile system and may not please purists, but for the price, it is an amazing system that will satisfy most people. I've rented movies from Amazon on it, watched videos from Youtube, listened to my local FM radio stations and even watched movies from my phone via the Bluetooth connection. I've just touched the tip of the ice burg as it has so many more built in features on the internet side and even a front facing USB port. I'd highly recommend!
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens03/17/2015
Hi T680, Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our product. We are so happy that the Blu-ray Home Theater System met or even exceeds your expectations. - Jerome Sonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

Great system! well worth the money!

12/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great system for the money. I got it today and got it for the price that was listed on the internet. Today is cyber Monday so I got it for 198.00 and Walmart matched the price on the internet. Easy to hook up! The only thing I don't like is that the wires are not long enough for a big room! They are made into the back of the speakers and they have a plug that hooks up into the back of the unit. You could cut the wire and splice some more wire in but, who wants to cut the wire on a new system!
It has Bluetooth so you can hook up your phone or any wireless device to hear music on this unit! It also has Wi-Fi to hook up wired or wireless to your internet. The sound is great! love this System and would recommend it!
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens12/02/2014
Hello caseman2274, thank you for your feedback and chossing SONY *Emily*Sonystyle
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

Excellent sound

08/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for our bedroom, easy to setup and the sound is superb. Although i read some reviews that the system is not loud enough, i felt the same way at first but i was able to increase the level of the speakers in settings and boom it goes. Connecting to the internet via wifi is incredible and it comes with lots of media streaming apps, thumbs up sony.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

Good, but could be much better with a few tweaks

08/26/2013
By ,
Lititz, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit is very easy to set up and configure. The sound is great and it plays DVDs and Blu-Rays great. Only negatives are that the speaker wires are a bit short for setting up in a larger room. Our family room is 16X24. I made it work, but would have had to cut the speaker wires and splice in extensions to get the speaker to where the old speakers were located. I believe the length of the front speaker wires were about 10 feet and the rear speaker wires were about 25 feet. The other feature I thought was there but was not, was an HDMI input. Would really have liked this but I guess you have to spend more to get that. BTW. great for playing all your media streaming including Netflix, Hulu, Pandora, etc. Included built in WiFi which was easy to configure. Great overall unit for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hdmi spec mistake?
Posted 02/06/2014
so this unit does NOT have an hdmi input? because the specs claim it does...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

Shuts off randomly and not fully .MOV compatible

09/21/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When watching a Blu-Ray or DVD, the player randomly shuts off, even with brand new discs. The item has a warranty, but it does NOT cover shipping the unit back to Sony for repair. I personally feel I should not have to pay $50 to return something that should have worked the first time.
Also, the user guide and specification sheet says the player can play .MOV files through a USB connection, but the player is not fully MOV compatible. Several of my .MOV home movies will show the video, but the player says the audio format is not fully supported, so there is no sound to any of my home movies with a .MOV extension.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

SKIPS AND DOESN'T REMEMBER NETFLIX LOG IN

02/16/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We purchased this and are quite disappointed in it. The speakers have good sound but we have tried to play several dvd disks in it that have minor scratches. We tried the same disk in some lower end blu ray players and it played just fine. This one it just freezes up and doesn't even try to skip past the scratch like other players I've used it just freezes and eventually shuts off the program...so you have to start the whole movie over.
Also half the time it doesn't remember my log in info for Netflix...I have to re type my e-mail and password half the time...which is a long process with a blu ray remote.
Don't want to hassle with return but I may need to
Recommends this product? No
From SonyListens02/16/2015
Hi rebec,
Well, that’s not what we like to hear. Let’s see how we can improve your experience. Please, contact us at socialsupport@am.sony.com so that we could assist you. Thanks. >Joffrey Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

Should've Bought this one FIRST

03/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 3rd theater system I've purchased. Unbelievable picture quality and sound, I STRONGLY recommend this product for anyone who wants top of the line Blu-Ray player
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens03/11/2015
Hi RobG, we are glad to hear that you're pleased with your purchase. Thanks for choosing and recommending Sony! Enjoy. - Ella Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

low power

08/09/2014
By ,
Warren,Oh
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this Sony 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System to replace my old Sony DVD Surround Sound System (which I still have). It plays Blu-Ray's great! But it doesn't have the volume (Loudness) my old system had. Plus the wires weren't long enough to stretch out speakers to where the old ones were. Overall I am very disappointed with this system. Next time I'll just buy a sound bar, as they (The Geek Squad) ended up having to hook it up as a Stereo system because the speakers wouldn't spread out to the same place as the old speakers were. I was told I could splice the speaker wires to stretch them out,but the speakers are so weak now I'm afraid of the power lost I would have at the splices. I can play this system at full power. It's about 25% weaker!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

Sony

12/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The receiver is great......but the speakers are not enough to handle the 1,000 watts.
The speaker wires are to short.....need to be longer.
Recommends this product? No
From SonyListens12/24/2014
Hello barr99!,Thank you for your feedback, we will forward this information to the proper department for review ~ JeannetteSonystyle
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

Will not play load enough to hear

12/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have always been a Sony guy. In fact, I just bought a 60" Sony smart tv a month ago and love it. I had a Sony sound system (DAV DZ175) for the past 3 years then the dvd player stopped working which is why I purchased this system. The volume must be on 22 to even hear it and when you turn it up loader than that it shuts off with an error ("push-power-protect"). I read where other people have had the same problem so I boxed it back up and purchased a Samsung HT-HM55 and it has worked well so far. Pretty much sounds like the Sony DZ175. I see where most people have given this item a 5 star review so maybe this problem doesn't affect all but it turned into a huge hassle for me. I'm done with Sony products!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

EXCELLENT SYSTEM

02/05/2014
By ,
Burlington Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this system for my new Vizio LED TV. I felt the standard speakers were just a little lacking. The system comes very well packed. It is fairly simple to hook up. It has a quick installation guide. There are many different options for synchronizing this system. The Blue Ray DVD Player is great. The speakers may look small but they are mighty. The reference manual is clear and concise. My only complaint is the rear speaker wire's could have been longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

No sound from TV

01/05/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried everything possible to get the TV to play through this system and still nothing. I have a Samsung smart TV that works fine with everything, except this system. The system sounds great and the picture on the TV is great when playing a bluray DVD, but there is no way to get the TV shows to come through this sound system. I set all of the controls to the recommended settings and still nothing. I guess I have to bring it back and find another system. There is supposed to be a "easy initial settings" when you first hook everything up and start the system up, but I got no screen to follow so I followed the instructions in the booklet, and still got no sound from the TV. I saw some folks used a better HDMI cable and it worked, but I brought a Monster HDMI cable so it is a good one. I guess I got a defective unit.
Recommends this product? No
From SonyListens01/09/2015
Hello Mike, thank you for your message. In regards to your concerns, I recommend you to make sure that the TV's speakers are set to OFF. Also to hook up with another HDMI cable even if you already have a new one as well verify that the HDMI cable is not defective. Another recommendation is that you can also hook it up with a different type of connections through Optical or Audio IN. These are available ports on the unit itself. I kindly share with you the following link to troubleshoot your unit: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/30274. Best regards, Oscar.Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

I'm very pleased with this purchase!

05/18/2013
By ,
Antioch, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this to replace a failing Samsung home theater system and to get Blu-Ray and Wi-Fi together in one package. The set up was easy, it sounds wonderful and I am enjoying the Blu-ray movies. It has everything more expensive systems have, and is very reasonably priced. I couldn't be happier with my purchase and would absolutely recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

Excellent Blue Ray player/Theater Sound System

08/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace an earlier DVD player/Sound system. This one works great. Not the best quality (Like a Bose), but at this price, you can't beat it.
Works great in my medium-size living room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

Can't Beat It for the Price

01/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A little over four years ago, I bought a Samsung system that was great at the time. And it was over twice the price of this Sony today.
Unfortunately the Samsung system stopped playing blu-rays so it was time to replace it since so much of my library is blu-ray. For $200.00, this is a great little system. It has plenty of sound, plenty of features, and is easy to work with.
I don't have a 3D television so don't know how well it does with 3D. But if it's as good with that as it is with DVDs and blu-rays, then I look forward to the day when I can add that.
All in all, I recommend this system especially for people who are on a budget like I was.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

Great System

02/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this system it's easy to set up. Plus it also detects if you have wi-fi in your home too. That way you can search movies on the actual unit. Sound is really good and would recommend this to all of my friends
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens02/06/2015
Hi avguru1, Thanks for the feedback. I'm glad you enjoy the sound quality. I also appreciate that you will recommend this product to your friends. -Jen Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony BDVE2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

Fantastic System

09/12/2013
By ,
E.Hartford, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Setting up was a breeze, first and foremost. But the more important thing is the value you get out of this system, first it is a smart blu ray/sound system so you can use it for all your streaming pleasure, next the max out put is a 1,ooo watts which makes it extremely loud and clear. The design and look of it is very modern and very stylized which will make it stand out, with Bluetooth support and NFC this is packed with feature with more importantly a very reasonable price, feature you see in higher end models with a low price, in my eyes a steal and a must buy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next