Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Effortless entertainment is packed into this Sony Blu-ray Player, model BDPS1100. An easy set-up process starts you quickly on your way to enjoying your favorite Blu-rays. The Sony DVD Blu-ray Player features full HD playback with 1080p resolution and even upscales your regular DVDs to near-HD quality. The enclosed optical drive keeps out dust particles for optimal picture enhancement. The BDPS1100 Sony Blu-ray Player features Dolby TrueHD and DTS-Master Audio codecs, giving you 7.1 channels of high-quality audio. The Sony Entertainment Network provides quick access to 100+ live streaming features, including Netflix, YouTube, Hulu Plus, Pandora, Amazon Instant Video, Facebook, Twitter, fitness and wellness applications.
Average Customer Rating:
4.107 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(187 Reviews) 181
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
107
4 stars
43
3 stars
6
2 stars
12
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation87%81 out of 93reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
107
4 stars
43
3 stars
6
2 stars
12
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

reliable quality, excellent value; but NOT wi-fi

04/22/2013
By ,
Clayton, GA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a senior & never had reliability issues with Sony products I've had thru the decades. This is very easy setup, compact in size compared to some others, but has the same features important to me. I didn't want Wi-Fi, because I am Ethernet wired & no need to change & feel there is more reliability wired, although I do have wifi in the house pcs' use. U plug in unit, answer the setup prompts & that's it. Online apps that I wanted, younger that want a bunch more available apps & other stuff, I'm not hip enough to answer, but assume there are other model choices that offer more. My choice because of reliability, price#bcz already outdated#, & has what I want, 1080p, DVD upconversion, netflix, Pandora
.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Review 2 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Sony never disappoints

04/04/2014
By ,
Parkersburg, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Blu-ray player is a wonderful buy at a great price. It has the ability to download a full line of apps from Sony, plays Netflix, Hulu Plus and Amazon as well as other video and audio apps. Games and social networking (facebook, twitter...) are also available for download but I have not tried any yet. This device does not come with Wifi but by connecting an Ethernet cable (not included) to you router you will be online in no time. I have another Sony Blu-ray player and when I went to the Sony store and logged in, it automatically downloaded the apps I had installed on my older player. It plays and streams in full 1080 HD with great sound quality. I would and have recommended this to my friends and family and recommend it to you as well. Just keep in mind, in order to use the internet on this device you must have it connected to your router, their is no WiFi on this player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Great Player

03/20/2014
By ,
Twinsburg, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a combination DVD/VHS player for years. The VHS started eating my tapes, and the DVD started rejecting movies (i.e. disk error, freezing, skipping, etc.). I finally decided to buy a Blu-ray. I couldn't be more happy. Since buying this player, I have not had any problems at all playing DVDs. I haven't played a Blu-ray disk on it yet, but I can't wait to do so. Also, I don't have to use my TV remote. The Blu-ray remote turns on the TV and adjusts the volume. It will even turn everything off if it is left on pause to too long. I absolutely love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 4 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

easy to use and to hook up

02/14/2014
By ,
Bluffton,In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
simple to use and to hook up,the only negative no wires included in box,and required hdmi cable cost over $30.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 5 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Very Happy

04/20/2013
By ,
Escondido Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had A samsung bluray player very very slow, for the last 6 years. This Sony is unreal fast and I can't belive the picture is that much better on my Vizio. Very Cool and Happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 6 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Good Blu-Ray not wifi

02/13/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter for Christmas along with a Netflix subscription. I decided on this player fully believing it would work thru wifi. I have since reread the description and while it doesn't say it is, to us behind the times in lingo, it sure sounds like it is.
It's a great player and does the job however I wish they would state NOT WIFI specifically.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 7 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

"Lots Better" Then a Simple DVD player...

04/18/2014
By ,
Wisconsin, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this player after looking at the simple DVD players ... much better value
To say the least. After hooking it up to the TV, (HDMI cord not included) went to put in a DVD, pressed open on the remote ... I dropped the Disk in the tray, and closed it, with the remote ... the player turned on my TV and started to play the DVD .... How cool was that? The other Cool thing about this player is you can hook it up to your router with a LAN wire (not WIFI) and it is internet ready... with all the places and apps to watch TV on line. Just a bit more then a simple DVD player but worth the little extra cost. Very good Blu-Ray DVD unit. I love it .... Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 8 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Not Compatible with Vizio TV

11/14/2013
By ,
Tempe, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was unable to use this blu-ray player with my Vizio TV. Tried using both the HDMI ports and the user manual's troubleshooting techniques to establish a connection, but the TV continued to display "No Signal." Finally I went to the Sony website and worked with the online-support representative. After doing the troubleshooting techniques he suggested, we came to the conclusion that the blu-ray player isn't compatible with my Vizio TV.
I wanted to make sure my TV was the issue, so I took the blu-ray player and hooked it up to her TV with my HDMI cable and it worked perfectly. So, I'm going to have to return this and find one that's compatible with my Vizio.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+31points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NY
Just found this out
Posted 12/28/2013
I just found this out last night trying to hookup my old Emerson DVD player to my new Vizio tv you have to turn off both together and turn them on together to get them to work it was in the manual for the tv it was driving me crazy till I found that little comment but everything seems to work now. Good luck!!!
+2points
Customer Avatar
Northwest, Ohio
It IS compatible with Vizio TV.
Posted 12/07/2013
I have this blu ray player and it is hooked to a Vizio tv. No issues whatsoever.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Just what I wanted

11/08/2013
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only watched a couple of movies so far. Be sure and buy your HDMI cord online also. They are much more expensive in the store. So easy to setup and I am usually intimidated by this kind of stuff. Beautiful clean picture. So far it's great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Review 10 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Just what I needed for the best possible price !!!

05/11/2013
By ,
Cppell, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My original $200 Panasonic Blu-Ray player died a few weeks ago. I sent back three Netflix movies thinking it was a disc problem. I do not use any of the internet services available. Just needed a BR player with an ethernet connection to download updates. This inexpensive Sony works flawlessly and has a perfect HD picture, although the sound volume is less than my older player... not sure why. Tried changing audio settings, but it made no difference. I'll just raise the TV volume level when playing BR discs. Just what I needed for less than half of what I paid originally.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 11 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Blue ray player

01/12/2014
By ,
Midlothian, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first purchase of a blu ray player. I find it very easy to use, easy to set up, great picture quality and I look forward to using it for all my at home movie needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 12 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

nice for normal use

11/03/2013
By ,
buffalo, ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
not bad, but I thought it would be Wi-Fi- ready and it is not
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Review 13 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Excellent Product!!!

05/02/2013
By ,
Southern Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first BluRay Player and it does all I expected and more . . . it was easy to install and very easy to use, I would highly recommend it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 14 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Exceptional High Definition Quality Picture!!!

11/28/2013
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm at home watching Movie Theater Quality DVD's, Amazing. I Love it. I can't wait to play my 1st Blu Ray disc. I know I'll be amazed at the picture quality. I gave this a 4 star rating instead of a 5 because the HDMI connector cable was not included in the purchase (I think for ease of connection, that should have been included) I had to order the HDMI cable separately, took a few days to get that. Happy Holidays All.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 15 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Great product for a Great Price.

10/25/2013
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A name brand product for a great price like this is amazing! I didn't need the the extra WiFi with the apps because I already have a Smart TV (60" Vizio that I bought from here also, LOVE IT!) so I was looking for just a great blu-ray system for a reasonable price, and I've found it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 16 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player
07/29/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the product is great and awesome for its price. i still can't believe i was able to get a BLUERAY DVD player with this price. it plays all sorts of things including CDs. fairly easy to hook up. all u really need is a HDMI cord and u can have both sound and image on the TV! highly recommended
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 17 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

AWESOME BD Player, Good Price!

07/15/2013
By ,
Cary, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works beautifully. So what if it's not Wi-Fi enabled? for $78 for a Sony made Blu-Ray disc player, you get a well built machine with good firmware inside. It does have an ethernet port if you want to connect it to the internet for any reason.
This machine has a small box which is nice, doesn't take up a lot of space. Remote control has a far reach.
Just a really good buy all the way around.
I previously had a Panasonic BD player and had nothing but trouble with it. Every Sony product I have owned has been well built and reliable.
5 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 18 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Great for the price

06/04/2013
By ,
Willits, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a basic player, one without bells and whistles. This unit is the ticket! It is simple to operate and very compact. Bought it to upgrade my existing DVD player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 19 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Great for getting on line with NETFLIX

08/30/2013
By ,
Lenoir, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this item so I could utilize the NETFLIX system. Not only is it perfect for this but the quality of DVD watching is very impressive as well. Great buy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 20 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Great Price for A great products.

01/02/2014
By ,
Severn Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I initially ordered online and when I went to the store to pick up they were busy so I walked to the electronics section and it was $10 cheaper and no waiting so I cancelled the online order and walked out with it cheaper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
1-20 of 82 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next