Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Sony Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Effortless entertainment is packed into this Sony Blu-ray Player, model BDPS1100. An easy set-up process starts you quickly on your way to enjoying your favorite Blu-rays. The Sony DVD Blu-ray Player features full HD playback with 1080p resolution and even upscales your regular DVDs to near-HD quality. The enclosed optical drive keeps out dust particles for optimal picture enhancement. The BDPS1100 Sony Blu-ray Player features Dolby TrueHD and DTS-Master Audio codecs, giving you 7.1 channels of high-quality audio. The Sony Entertainment Network provides quick access to 100+ live streaming features, including Netflix, YouTube, Hulu Plus, Pandora, Amazon Instant Video, Facebook, Twitter, fitness and wellness applications.
Average Customer Rating:
4.236 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(89 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
23
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation87%75 out of 86reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 80 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
52
4 stars
23
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Sony never disappoints

04/04/2014
By ,
Parkersburg, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Blu-ray player is a wonderful buy at a great price. It has the ability to download a full line of apps from Sony, plays Netflix, Hulu Plus and Amazon as well as other video and audio apps. Games and social networking (facebook, twitter...) are also available for download but I have not tried any yet. This device does not come with Wifi but by connecting an Ethernet cable (not included) to you router you will be online in no time. I have another Sony Blu-ray player and when I went to the Sony store and logged in, it automatically downloaded the apps I had installed on my older player. It plays and streams in full 1080 HD with great sound quality. I would and have recommended this to my friends and family and recommend it to you as well. Just keep in mind, in order to use the internet on this device you must have it connected to your router, their is no WiFi on this player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Great Player

03/20/2014
By ,
Twinsburg, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a combination DVD/VHS player for years. The VHS started eating my tapes, and the DVD started rejecting movies (i.e. disk error, freezing, skipping, etc.). I finally decided to buy a Blu-ray. I couldn't be more happy. Since buying this player, I have not had any problems at all playing DVDs. I haven't played a Blu-ray disk on it yet, but I can't wait to do so. Also, I don't have to use my TV remote. The Blu-ray remote turns on the TV and adjusts the volume. It will even turn everything off if it is left on pause to too long. I absolutely love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

easy to use and to hook up

02/14/2014
By ,
Bluffton,In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
simple to use and to hook up,the only negative no wires included in box,and required hdmi cable cost over $30.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Good Blu-Ray not wifi

02/13/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter for Christmas along with a Netflix subscription. I decided on this player fully believing it would work thru wifi. I have since reread the description and while it doesn't say it is, to us behind the times in lingo, it sure sounds like it is.
It's a great player and does the job however I wish they would state NOT WIFI specifically.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

reliable quality, excellent value; but NOT wi-fi

04/22/2013
By ,
Clayton, GA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a senior & never had reliability issues with Sony products I've had thru the decades. This is very easy setup, compact in size compared to some others, but has the same features important to me. I didn't want Wi-Fi, because I am Ethernet wired & no need to change & feel there is more reliability wired, although I do have wifi in the house pcs' use. U plug in unit, answer the setup prompts & that's it. Online apps that I wanted, younger that want a bunch more available apps & other stuff, I'm not hip enough to answer, but assume there are other model choices that offer more. My choice because of reliability, price#bcz already outdated#, & has what I want, 1080p, DVD upconversion, netflix, Pandora
.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Not Compatible with Vizio TV

11/14/2013
By ,
Tempe, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was unable to use this blu-ray player with my Vizio TV. Tried using both the HDMI ports and the user manual's troubleshooting techniques to establish a connection, but the TV continued to display "No Signal." Finally I went to the Sony website and worked with the online-support representative. After doing the troubleshooting techniques he suggested, we came to the conclusion that the blu-ray player isn't compatible with my Vizio TV.
I wanted to make sure my TV was the issue, so I took the blu-ray player and hooked it up to her TV with my HDMI cable and it worked perfectly. So, I'm going to have to return this and find one that's compatible with my Vizio.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NY
Just found this out
Posted 12/28/2013
I just found this out last night trying to hookup my old Emerson DVD player to my new Vizio tv you have to turn off both together and turn them on together to get them to work it was in the manual for the tv it was driving me crazy till I found that little comment but everything seems to work now. Good luck!!!
+2points
Customer Avatar
Northwest, Ohio
It IS compatible with Vizio TV.
Posted 12/07/2013
I have this blu ray player and it is hooked to a Vizio tv. No issues whatsoever.
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Blue ray player

01/12/2014
By ,
Midlothian, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first purchase of a blu ray player. I find it very easy to use, easy to set up, great picture quality and I look forward to using it for all my at home movie needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Very good player

04/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Player works well and has great picture quality. Directions that come with unit are AWFUL does not tell you how to set up clearly, and all I can do with the remote is turn the unit on/off. Would have given 5 stars across the board if directions had any use at all to set up and make remote function properly
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

A very good product

04/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Small foot print,big performance, aluminum chassis,just what I was looking to buy. Setup was straight forward. Buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

marginal

04/16/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
no wifi connection, universal remote code not functional. picture quality good. Check to see if your purchase has WIFI if you nee it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Just what I wanted

11/08/2013
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only watched a couple of movies so far. Be sure and buy your HDMI cord online also. They are much more expensive in the store. So easy to setup and I am usually intimidated by this kind of stuff. Beautiful clean picture. So far it's great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Great Value

04/14/2014
By ,
Katy Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am pleased with my Sony DVD Blue Ray, Color clear and sharp, great features Size right
Color black, Its light in weight, Price is delightful.
I would definitely recommend this to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Excellent quality and excellent price

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality and excellent price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

great bluray at a very affordable price.

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
affordable, very easy to use-very pleased so far!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Wifi not built in.

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DVD Player would have been better if Wifi was built into the player.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

great quality

04/10/2014
By ,
Naples fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful picture. Easy to use. Sleek design. Couldn't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Great product to be able to stream Netflix, etc.

04/09/2014
By ,
Palm Springs Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sony is a excellent product with good support. You can't go wrong with this!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Wow

04/08/2014
By ,
Largo, md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up, $$ was a steal and Wifi ready, can't beat it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

It's a Sony

04/05/2014
By ,
Sarasota, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sony is and has been the leader in Blue Ray players. Now add it being a Smart. Why buy a smart TV? If you purchase this on line, fifty bucks! Unheard of. Say what about Walmart? Best deal out there! Grab this while you can, or grab two.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony BDPS1100 Blu-ray Player

Sony Blu-ray Player BDPS1100

04/08/2014
By ,
salem sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up, great sound and picture. Needed to buy an HDMI cable tho.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next