Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player

Average Customer Rating:
4.223 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(458 Reviews) 447
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
272
4 stars
108
3 stars
22
2 stars
20
1 star
36
Customer Recommendation88%142 out of 162reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
272
4 stars
108
3 stars
22
2 stars
20
1 star
36
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player

Excellent blu-ray player for the price!

01/01/2014
By ,
Auburn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like to buy Sony products as a rule, and my 16 year old Sony DVD player just finally started to skip and play erratically and needed to be replaced. I researched blu-ray players, and based on other reviews decided to try this one. I am extremely happy with it! It is the way to go if you are not into complicated electronics. I found it simple to set up, understand the menus, and get it going so my kids could enjoy it instantly. I LOVE that it has the built in wifi with wireless hookup- all I had to do was plug it in, hook it to my HDTV with an HDMI jack (not included, but inexpensive,) follow the prompts, and it was ready to go online! We are using our Pandora account on it, as well as Amazon Instant video which we have free with our Amazon Prime membership. My kids love that they can go on YouTube and Facebook, too. All in all, this is an excellent player at a very low price, and I would recommend it to anyone! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 2 for Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player

Great product. It will do more than you think.

12/15/2013
By ,
Portsmouth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The wireless feature is the best. I have 2 Sony Bravia TV's that are a perfect match for the Sony BDP-S3100. Besides being able to stream endless content thru my TV"s, thanks to Sony's Entertainment Network feature, I can use my smart phone for a remote control, and best of all I can stream content from my network, my laptop, & iPhone directly to the TV's thru Windows Media Player or Itune's Windows 7 both are DLNA compliant.
Great playback of DVDs, Blu Ray Discs. Picture is awesome. Netflix looks 100% better streaming thru this unit. Well worth the money for this Sony device. Don't get caught buying a WiFi BDP that needs a wired connection to a router. Make sure you buy the "wireless" BDP.
I've yet to explore all the features this BDP is loaded with but I'll get to soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 3 for Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player

Sony BDPS3100 Blu-Ray - Best non-3D player

12/13/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I usually don't write reviews but I'm finding it more of a good service for future shoppers as I am one of the many that do painstaking research before buying any mid-high priced electronics. That said, I did a lot of looking around. I've been in the market for a Blu-Ray since last year. A lot of the heavy research I did came in over the Black Friday and Cyber Monday week sales. Bottom line - this is the best, high quality Blu-Ray player with built in wi-fi. It does not have all the bells and whistles but for people like me that want an excellent, long lasting, high quality, Blu-Ray player that works well, this is it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+30points
Review 4 for Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player

Good value and DVD player for the money!

11/05/2013
By ,
Billings, Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DVD player allows you to play music or videos from a flash drive or a regular disc DVD. You can also connect to the internet and watch movies thru Netflix if you are subscribed. There are no cables that come with this purchase. I had to purchase a HDMI splitter to run from my TV to this DVD player and one to my DISH network box. Also, the audio is a digital audio output and my stereo receiver is an analog input, so I had to buy a converter for that. So if you purchase this and run into those issues like I did, I was able to find most of the converters and cables I needed at Walmart too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Review 5 for Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player

Excellent player if you have the right cable!

02/05/2014
By ,
Soap Lake, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big heads - up here: if you do like I did and buy this assuming it has the parts you need for it to work.... think again. I was excited to test it out the night I bought it only to spend over an hour trying to figure out how to make it work. Summary to that issue is you cannot use it truly until you purchase another totally separate cord. (NO, it is not included with your purchase and it is not in large print on the box... that you NEED this cord.) I just assumed that buying a unit such as this would actually include all the basic parts to make it work for your needs. I had to go back to Walmart the next day and spend an additional $25.00+ for the cord required to actually utilize the unit. I was floored by this. I can understand products NOT including normal things such as batteries... but a critical cord to even really view anything substantial? I like it now that I have the parts needed to use it, but beware that you know this when you buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player

A great blu-ray, player with wifi!

12/11/2013
By ,
Spring, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched every single blu-ray player with wifi on the market. Walmart had it during it's black friday deals for $54.99. At that price I couldn't pass it up. It has exceeded all my expectations. It doesn't come with an HDMI cable, but I already had one. The picture, and sound quality is great. Easy installation, and wifi was a snap.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Review 7 for Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player

You cant go wrong....

04/12/2013
By ,
Cincinnati, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to return 2 Sony BDP-S390 players due to their inability to stream Netflix with my Internet Service. I was hesitant, but took a chance on the BDP-S3100 when it came out. It works and streams all included internet apps.---GREAT!! I don't know what Sony did to improve this model but I'm glad they did. It doesn't upscale regular DVD's as well as my old Sony DVP-SR500H does but it's worth the 5 Stars anyway. You cant go wrong at this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+41points
Review 8 for Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player

1st choice; 2nd purchase

11/28/2013
By ,
Clayton, GA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose BDPS1100 1+ yrs. ago & has performed excellent. excellent picture/sound. I enjoy internet choices. Now I got another for upstairs bedroom to replace old Panasonic VHS/DVD that still works excellent after at least 15+ yrs.! But, I want internet access up there. It takes just a minute for setup, it is very compact size & light, compared to several other brands, & the price was excellent, after doing much comparison shopping. U can get my 1st model for like $69 @walmart currently. Same thing but not WiFI, just must use Ethernet wire to connect from router to player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 9 for Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player

this is one good puppy

08/06/2013
By ,
tampa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am in the over 60 club , needed blue ray , internet ready and netflex ready
pluged it in,pluged to tv and kept clicking yes!
simple 10 min and off , I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 10 for Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player

Looks like it will be a good Blu ray Player

02/08/2014
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The top shape is somewhat odd, but the manual control buttons are easy to find and use, even if they're small; my previous Blu ray player had long buttons, and the Open/Close button broke almost one year to the day after I got it. I can also easily see the power on light from a low vantage point; my Blu ray is nearly five feet off the ground on a shelf.
The menu has a fast load feature, (I have no idea why there's a slow load feature, unless you enjoy wasting time waiting for everything), and you get to the menu almost immediately. After selecting a function, it seems to load and start playing quite quickly.
The remote is the pretty much standard Sony remote (RMT-B126A), which works from some pretty sharp angles and from over 25 feet away. My only complaint is with the remote; it's difficult to know by feel which way is forward. It would be nice to have an ergonomic groove that holds the thumb naturally at the round OK button with it facing forward.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player

great for streaming netflix ..

06/26/2013
By ,
Redmond OR,
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I constantly stream movies , so i wanted another blue-ray with built in wi-fi.
so far its great it was my 2nd choice, do to i all ready have another Sony player and wanted something different...the best feature is that when your streaming a series it will continue to the next episode. It all so has a on demand netflix button on the remote ..
So far im enjoying this player so much..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 12 for Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player
08/31/2013
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is wonderful. It is easy to use. It allow you to do a lot more with your TV such as watch movies, access you computer, netflix, amazon, and many more viewing options. I really love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jacksonville
Access Computer?
Posted 09/04/2013
Could you explain how you can access your computer using a Blu-ray player? I've never heard of that before.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player

great,love it

04/15/2013
By ,
Memphis,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
try it and it was just great with my new lg TV and will try 3d soon from Netflix and try Blu-ray dvd better than regular dvd clor and sound with extra features when you use the wi fi part of the Blu-ray surprise me awesome!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Review 14 for Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player

Awsome Dvd Player.

04/06/2013
By ,
fargo, nd.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Blue ray player out preforms my older players, the load time is instant super fast. The apps are awesome and has many of them. This player even has a web browser.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 15 for Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player
05/14/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it. It performs like it suppose to. I use it for Netflix and DVD movies and it shows crystal clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Review 16 for Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player

great component

11/19/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really like this dvd player. plays all dvd's looks great on big screen. easy interface to learn and maneuver! syncing with HULU, AMAZON INSTANT VIDEO, youtube etc. was a breeze! usb is helpful and easy to access videos and pics on usb drive, though i have not tried syncing to a pc or smartphone through the usb. still think it needs sd card slot.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 17 for Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player

Sony brand is broken in my opinion

05/14/2013
By ,
Las Vegas NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased one of these to make use of the Wifi facility. At first it operated beautifully. Then, after 10 days it mysteriously stopped working - the wifi connection dropped out at least once every day whilst it was being used. After another 2 days the unit stopped working altogether - I could not turn it on, turn it off, open the disk tray - nada. So, I thought it must be a duff unit> I took it back to the store and exchanged it for another of the same model, being a lifelong Sony user and fan. This second unit lasted about 10 minutes before it froze up on me. I took this one straight back to the store and am now enjoying using my brand new Panasonic wifi blu-ray player which, so far, has behaved beautifully. So it's goodbye Sony, hello Panasonic from now on.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Round Rock, TX
Posted 09/06/2013
What model Panasonic wifi blu ray?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player

Great product, great functionality

12/14/2013
By ,
Northeast Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought it on cyber Monday for a third of the normal price. This thing is awesome, Netflix, Hulu etc. the app for the phone works very well to control it, would recommend to anyone looking for a way to watch Netflix and others on their tv. Haven't tried the blur-ray on it, I'm sure it's fine but I didn't buy it to actually use the blu-ray player...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 19 for Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player

Extremely easy set up and no problems at all.

07/18/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The movie sites are listed and easy to use. It has quite a few online TV and movie links, some I had never heard of. It guided me thru the set-up so nothing to figure out. Super easy and convenient, also picture quality is excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 20 for Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray Player

Love the wi-fi

12/18/2013
By ,
Nebraska
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a blu-ray player with wi-fi and this one was perfect! It works GREAT!
Merry CHRISTmas!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 148 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next