Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV

Samsung Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV

The Samsung Plasma TV F4500 offers you stunning picture quality at a price that doesn't bust your bank. Enjoy a high definition viewing experience that's enhanced by our Real Black Panel, 600Hz Subfield Motion and Wide Color Enhancer. Clear Image Panel delivers striking contrasts between deep black levels and bright whites while 600Hz Subfield Motion captures the crisp detail of high-speed action. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Samsung 51" Plasma HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.433 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(171 Reviews) 161
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
112
4 stars
42
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation91%155 out of 170reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 96 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
112
4 stars
42
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV

GREAT TV "LOVE IT"

12/08/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 STARS ALL AROUND This is the best Plasma TV easy to set up, I LOVE IT.
Not only that Walmart packed it up like they wer're shipping eggs and got it in 48 hours.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV

Best value for the money

11/27/2013
By ,
Des Moines, IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this TV December 2012 as a replacement. I had limited funds so I had to seriously consider what was truly important to me. Size was the most important factor, I was replacing a 50 inch TV and did not want to get a smaller one. That was more important than features such as 3D or a Smart TV, which would have cost significantly more. There are 2 HDMI ports and digital audio output, so it works well with my existing sound system. I was turned off initially by a display at a local Wal Mart, but realized they didn't have the picture set up correctly when I saw the same TV at another reatailer. 720p was a step down in resolution; however, I really cannot complain about the picture I've enjoyed for the past year. Resolution is not as important as you might think, as illustrated here: http://reviews.cnet.com/flat-panel-tvs/samsung-pn51f4500/4505-6482_7-35647505.html Bottom line, if you're looking for a decent basic HDTV around this size, it's hard to beat the value you get on this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV

Very good TV for the money.

12/16/2013
By ,
Lyndonville, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent plasma TV. It's a good TV for rooms or areas that do not have excessive back lighting such as windows during the day that have no covering or bright lamps at night time. We keep our drapes closed to keep light out and our lamps lit on a dim setting so we have no problem with light reflecting on the screen. If you have a brightly lit room I would suggest not getting a plasma TV, instead get a LCD/LED TV, they are better in brightly lit areas. So the bottom line is the plasma has a better overall picture but if it has a lot of light reflecting off the screen the picture quality does not matter because you see too much back lighting to enjoy the quality that a plasma TV offers. Keep in mind, the back lighting is usually from lamps and windows that are behind the people that are watching the TV, not for windows and lamps behind and way away from the side of the TV. Even LCD/LED TV's can have light reflection issues from bright lighting behind the viewers but not nearly as bad as the plasma TV does.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV

Great TV for the price!

12/14/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned several Samsung TVs and have always been impressed with their quality for the price. I purchased a more expensive Samsung LED TV and while the picture quality was okay, the colors shifted from channel to channel and any movie we played suffered from the "soap opera" effect which I can't stand. While this is an older model TV it is a real sleeper in terms of online reviews, but, I did find one review that gave this model extremely high remarks. I purchased the TV on Cyber Monday at half the retail list price, which I now consider a steal. The TV has an excellent picture, extremely dark blacks and does not suffer from being in a well lit room (which is a common complaint for plasma TVs.) The only drawback I see is that it is not a smart TV, but if you hook up to a Roku or Apple TV it works great. I have an Apple TV and can stream movies and images from my iPad and the pictures look great. I would highly recommend this TV, especially if you can purchase it for around $500.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV

Best Bang for your Buck!

10/28/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was in need of another TV and began researching several sites to narrow down not only what options I was interested and not interested in, but also what recommendations were made regarding the size and my price point. In every instances, the Samsung PN51F4500 was given great reviews. For the component heavy user, this TV may not be the way to go as it has two HMDI ports and 1 A/V config. (and a USB port), but for the less component driven user, this TV is a steal. Assembly and set-up were a cinch and the E-menu makes any adjustments or explanations of the various settings a cake walk. Important note: ensure that all viewing for the first 100 hours is at full or stretch screen (there are automatic adjustments to handle this) or the black side bars make be etched into the screen. There is a way to remove this over time but paying attention to the first 100 hours of viewing is a safer bet. Also, remember, plasmas show better in darker rooms but there are adjustments that can be made to accommodate your preference. Overall, great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV

We are so happy with this purchase!

01/09/2014
By ,
Lincoln, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before purchasing this TV sight unseen from Walmart.com. I got it online on black Friday and got a great deal. Our prior TV was a 25 year old relic, and the kids wanted to upgrade it to play the xbox split-screen option with friends, which is exactly what you can do when you enter the HD world. The good: once we upgraded Direct TV and got the HD box, the picture was great. Before we did, the picture was awful but that is because it didn't have the HD support. Crisp, clear, and wow what a picture. The not so good: Sound quality is okay, but you can't turn it up too loud (not a big deal for me), if you are in a bright room it is very reflective (but so was our other TV so I don't care so much. We don't watch a lot of TV during the day anyway). I was super worried about buying a TV online without ever seeing it first, but I am extremely happy with the purchase.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV

Beautiful plasma, easy set up.

11/11/2013
By ,
Peoria, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I preferred the warmer picture of the plasma vs. LCD. And frankly, on the Dynamic setting this 720p, it looks so much like the 1080p, you are not feeling cheated by any means. Skin tones are more natural than the LED/LCD. The 20 watt speaker delivery is more than adequate for us, but you can add digital type external speakers if you want. We are happy with the sound quality. There are different settings to choose from for tv speaker use, but we like the amplify and also the new clear voice technology where voices are not drowned out by loud backgrounds in many movies. We were hard pressed to find a set that was over 42" without spending a thousand. The USB will not only do photos, but you can play movies as well. Some tv's with USB only do the photos. Three HDMI's and auxilliary RCA jacks if you have older DVD player without the HDMI connection or kids, plug and play games.
There is a pixel setting to protect the set from burn in, so the problem that existed years ago with pixel burn in is now solved. The screen is glass, not plastic.
We have only had the set a few days and are totally pleased. You cannot beat the value for the money spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV

Much nicer size to be able to enjoy movies on.

04/03/2014
By ,
Alpena, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this tv for my son and his family and we are all very happy with its performance. Nice to be able to read what they put on the screen easily and the picture being very good quality makes one feel as if they are right there in the picture and also if you are playing xbox which many of us do quite often.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV

Best Bang For The Buck

10/06/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Without a doubt, the best value for an outstanding image. Couple this TV with the extended four year warranty and you have an affordable, quality, new (not refurbished) 51" HDTV for around $560.00.
Never, ever judge the quality of an HDTV image by viewing it in a retail store setting. Buy it, take it home and adjust it's settings to suit YOUR viewing environment. Don't let the 720p resolution of this plasma deter you, it handles 1080i OTA HD signals flawlessly.
If you do not need a SMART TV, give this unit a very close look.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV

No Longer Working After 21 Months

10/19/2013
By ,
Inez, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this TV in December 2011. It was a great price for a TV this size. It had a great picture and great sound quality. September 2013 the TV started making a clicking noise and then all of a sudden it just stopped working all together. I have never, in my life, had a TV tear up this fast. Very disappointed in this purchase. The TV comes with a one year warranty. If you do buy the TV make sure you get an extended warranty. It is going to cost us $45.00 hour to have the TV checked and repaired at a local repair shop.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV

Delighted!

12/12/2013
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first turned this plasma tv on, I was disappointed in the picture quality--a bit dark and dreary. After tinkering with the remote, I discovered the Tools button which showed me three picture modes--the tv had been set to the Standard mode. When I clicked on Dynamic mode--WOW--the difference was like night and day! Wonderfully bright and clear and sharp and absolutely dynamic! You can also play with contrast, brightness, etc. via the Menu button. The sound quality is average, not bad, not great, a bit too much treble. Might have to get a sound bar. You can't adjust it much. Overall, this is a fabulous tv for the value and dynamic picture quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV

Early Birthday Gift !!

05/26/2013
By ,
joliet IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so excited to see my wife come home and surprise me with this amazing tv such a excellent picture quality and sound excellent options. plus the tv size is perfect and it doesn't even really weigh much 39lb' that nothing compared to what a tv this size use to weigh . the only negative thing i have is there's no a/v out-let and there's only 2 hdmi input's but everything else im please with .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV

Don't buy it

07/03/2013
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Seriously. I bought this TV in November 2011. It was a great TV. Then I just now, in July 2013, turned it on and got no picture. Investigation found an internal star-shaped crack in the middle of the screen. At first I thought my teens had broken it, but a quick Internet search revealed that this is a design flaw that's happening to thousands of people. And Samsung won't do anything about it. Unfortunately, since my warranty has expired, I'm stuck. But I think we can safely say that one should expect an expensive TV to last longer than 18 months. I will never buy another Samsung product as long as I live. I suggest another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV

Decent tv for the price.

09/04/2013
By ,
Louisville KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tv looks great when I first turned it within minutes picture started to get a little wavy but has never done it again. The sound factory settings was horrible so I played around til I got some settings that worked for me. I hate turning your tv up to half volume just to hear people's voices. Picture quality is great and very little glare and easily viewable from side angles. Not going find a comparable tv for this cheap. Like the back metal casing seems pretty solid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV

Busted screen

03/30/2014
By ,
Boardman, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought online Mar 14th. Arrived at my house with multiple cracks on screen on Mar 25th. I had to borrow a truck and take it back. Very disappointed because I paid an extra $44.95 for shipping costs that I won't be getting back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV

A-mazing

06/10/2013
By ,
Broken Arrow, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is awesome. Its an early B-day present as well and gotta say its worth the penny spent. The most affordable Plasma TV out there and from a Power house giant of TV's as well. We've had it for a week and love it! our inlaws, whom we live with, now want one too. Cannot wait to play some Halo on the darn thing too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV

Do you watch TV more than 8-10' away?

11/25/2013
By ,
Alpharetta, GA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If not, GRAB THIS DEAL NOW. Your eyes can't tell the difference, only your checkbook. I bought a 450 (one year older) for 14 bucks more and got a higher end streaming BRP and I've never regretted it. Yeah, you won't have a smart TV, but you won't have to worry about it not working and having to write another check to fix it. Seriously, I watch from about 7-8' and the detail is amazing. I bought it primarily for football and baseball. Fast-action movement is second to none due to the 600Hz subfield drive. Keep any light sources from in front of it and you'll be happy...any plasma suffers from this. It's called glare. I use a Bose Cinemate with it, but I guess the speakers are OK. My only beef with it is the lack of RCA outs. Oh, well. Don't miss out on this deal...really!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV
09/25/2013
By ,
Gladwin MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Has very Good picture Quality compared to the Panasonic. These large flat screen panels are very sensitive to impact so I recommend to Velcro strip Plexiglas over glass to protect from flying beanie baby's or any other object kids play with around them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV
07/22/2013
By ,
los angeles, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my first "big" tv for my new house and it has been just perfect so far. Only complaint is i cant have the dvd player and wii connected at the same time. Not enough red/yellow/white plugs in the back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Riverview,Florida
WALMART HAS A FIX FOR YOUR PROBLEM.
Posted 12/01/2013
HELLO MY FRIEND,I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM.WALMART HAS A AUDIO/VIDEO GAMING SWITCH MADE BY GE. YOU CAN CONNECT UP TO 4 DIFFRENT DEVICE'S.YOU JUST SELECT WITCH DEVICE YOU WANT TO PLAY OR WATCH.
IT SURE DID HELP ME OUT.ITS AWESOME.
I HOPE YOU GET TO READ MY COMMENT'S SO IT WILL HELP YOU OUT...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Samsung PN51F4500 51" 720p 600Hz Class Plasma HDTV

What A deal!!!

03/28/2014
By ,
Hendersonville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had a 32'' in our living room and wanted to get a larger one.I am very pleased with this tv quality and price.I never expected to get one like this for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 138 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next