Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Neato Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Neato Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Robotic vacuums are not to be used as a primary vacuum. They're meant as supplemental cleaning between regular cleaning. The future of vacuuming. The Neato XV-12 will keep your floors clean with just the push of a button. Featuring the most powerful suction in a robot vacuum, the Neato will easily pick up dirt, debris and even pet hair. Its laser navigation system ensures that it never misses a spot.
Average Customer Rating:
4.07 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(115 Reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
27
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation83%95 out of 115reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
27
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

This robotic vac is Ok for the money I've paid.

08/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
One of the cons is you've got to keep an eye on it while it's working because it can get stuck or you have to empty the trash compartment (it's small and gets full pretty fast because of dog hair). Other words you cannot let it work while away from home. But.... maybe it's too much to want for $200. Overall it suits my needs.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 2 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

vacuum is fine

06/27/2014
By ,
WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the fact that this cleans in a pattern vs driving all over the place, but it takes prep work to get it to do that. I do not think I could just set the timer and let this run when I was not home. I need to go around and move anything that may mess with the program (dining room chairs, ottoman, lamp, long curtains ect...) It cleans much better when only allowing it to clean one room at a time. It falls down one set of stairs and will avoids another set so I have to block them. I have pets and it leaves a line of hair around the edge of the room. The one I have will not keep a charged battery when it sits unused, so the first room it cleans it only last 10 min before needing to recharge, but after that first room it seems to work fine. The most important tip I have is to be sure to start it three feet from a corner or it will get confused and not clean in a nice pattern. Over all it works fine on carpet and hardwood floors. I'm not sure that this is a must have product, but I'll keep it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+8points
Review 3 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Never can find its way.

06/30/2014
By ,
St. Louis, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The good: It's powerful, picks up animal hair well, and easy to setup and use.
The bad: It's too loud to run while in the room, out of 6 attempts of letting it clean our main room it only made it back to its charging base once. The machine wastes too much time getting small tight spaces before it begins to work on making long sweeps across the main area of floor, which caused it to get stuck almost every time against my two recliners. Instead of backing up and moving on, it would barely turn and run at the chairs legs repeatedly. And it wasn't just the recliners, it managed to back itself up the ottoman to my couch! All I could do is laugh at how it got itself in the position when I found it after coming home from work. I know it wasn't the configuration of my area, as I ran it and sat on the couch watching its every move, and it cleaned the whole house successfully, and on one charge! So why it managed to get itself stuck when it would run by itself on schedule, I don't know, but I'm taking this back for a Roomba.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+9points
Review 4 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Exceeds Expectations

04/19/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Initial charge takes a while, settings for the vacuum are easy. As the instructions suggested, I moved any items that may create a problem for the Neato, and then placed the magnetic strips where I wanted them before the first run. Neato did everything it was supposed to do. Cleaned hard floors and carpeted areas with ease, even cleaned behind a couch. When the charge ran out (about 45 minutes), it returned to the base to recharge. When charged, it continued where it left off and finished the job. Area rugs, throw rugs, hard floors, Neato cleaned all with no problems. I have an inside dog, but I don't like dog hair in the house. I bought this one to help with dog hair in the open family, dining, and kitchen areas. Now, instead of a big vacuum twice a week these areas are vacuumed once a week, and Neato runs every other day. Thinking of buying a second Neato just for the bedrooms and hallways. Very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Review 5 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Awesome little helper!

05/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I hate cleaning. I did not inherit my mother's natural affinity for a clean, dust free and per hair free home. I just don't have it in me. So I bought this on clearance. This little guy is much better than I expected! It picks up very well... and with two cats that shed their weight in hair daily, that is really saying something! I only have two negatives. 1st - The sensors keep this poor guy confused. Because the rooms have furniture and beds and chairs, he doesn't cover a specific path, but instead tries to follow along the furniture. This leads to some areas being vacuumed twice while others are left untouched. 2nd - the motor is quite loud. When this thing wakes up, it sounds like a jet plane getting ready for take off. No kidding! Otherwise I'm pleasantly surprised by the attributes and like how clean my floors are staying. It even makes me want to keep up on my dusting! Also, I think the little beeps he makes as he communicates is kinda cute. When he is done, or something is in his way, the messages that appear on the screen are quite polite. I think I'll call him Forrest.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+20points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Forrest
Posted 07/22/2014
Lol. I think that's a great name.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Love This Neato!

03/31/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had 3 Roombas previously and this Neato beats Roomba all to pieces as far as I'm concerned. The Roomba was completely worthless for vacuuming my carpet in the living room but did do a good job on bare floors or very low pile carpet but it took much longer than the Neato does. My living room carpet is a medium pile, not super plush, but Roomba couldn't handle it. Neato is faster and MUCH better at vacuuming a room or even my entire house which is pretty small. I have only had Neato (Nelda I call "her") for about 3 or 4 weeks but I am very pleased with "her". I would definitely recommend a Neato for anyone wanting to try a Robotic Vac for the first time. However, don't expect absolute perfection, she has failed to dock a few times and got stuck under my bed once saying to remove the obstacle when there wasn't one. My bed does sit very low though and apparently that confused her. This is the closest thing I can afford to a maid and I have COPD so I can't tell you how much help it is to me. I hope to have a very long, happy relationship with "Nelda".
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 7 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Total letdown

08/08/2014
By ,
Alexandria, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Having two long-hair cats and a condo with hardwood floors, I bought this Neato over a Roomba after weeks of research. I had read about some problems, but figured they were things I could live with. Nope I was wrong. Sure the Neato is really loud (like I can't run it at night because you can't sleep with it on, nor can you watch TV if it's anywhere nearby), but the big, big, big issue is the battery. It dies about 15-20 minutes into the cycle. I'm fine with that if it were smart enough to make it back to its base and recharge to finish vacuuming when I'm not around. But it's not. Instead I find it still in the first room completely dead. What's the point of having it if it's too loud to watch TV while it runs? And too bad of a battery to leave to do something else while it's running? Just not worth the $$. I figure I'm gonna just pony up for a Roomba at this point. Neato, you broke my frugal little heart.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

So helpful. Easy to use. LOUD.

06/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm very happy with my purchase. I had debated justifying this purchase for myself for quite a while. After getting a heavy-shedding dog and having hard wood floors, I decided it was time. It's gratifying seeing all the hair it picks up after almost every day use. My one complaint is the volume. It's quite loud. I have a small house and it takes about 45 mins to an hour to do the whole thing (minus my 4yo's messy bedroom). Maybe it's loud because it is hard wood floors? There's carpet in the bedroom and it doesn't seem quite as loud. I just let it run when I leave in the morning, etc. I would recommend this to anyone that has indoor pets that shed. Especially if you are a clean freak like myself :)
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Review 9 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

good so far

11/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had it a month and I have it vacuum my house every other day. I moved some furniture and 1 trash container a bit so it would not get stuck. I have both carpet and hard floors. I mop the hard floors every week so I get the few spots it cant get to then. I edge clean once a month in the carpeted areas and that takes care of the few spots it cannot get to. I have dust and dust mite allergies and I have noticed an improvement since I run this every other day. It is easy to set the schedule to set it to run all or any days you want and you get to choose the time. It you accidentally leave a towel or such on the floor it only sucks it in a little before it turns off and beeps to tell you there is a problem. The only negative is finding a place to leave it plugged in since you need 2 ft on each side for it to dock properly. I was going to have it under my futon but it could never find its way home after cleaning. So I discovered you cannot have it under something even if there is plenty of space. I guess the GPS signal cant get to it. Dirt cup is small but my place is clean so that is not a problem.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 10 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

great product and great price.

06/03/2014
By ,
arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart has this priced below Amazon sale price which is why I purchased from Walmart. I had some initial problem with the robot not recognizing the docking station. This was remedied by moving my loveseat just a little to allow a more open path. The Neato gets around chair and table legs; under furniture...it even got under my couch where I thought it would get stuck and managed to get out from under there. Neato also goes from my hardwood floors to the area rugs with no problem...vacuums both with ease. So far, this has exceeded my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+11points
Review 11 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Exceeded my expectations!

08/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being the unhappy prior owner of a different brand of robotic floor vacuum, I was skeptical. However, as I watched comparison video's, I was impressed with the Neato. I wanted to try it. Had it not met my expectations, I would have immediately returned it. Instead, I was more than pleased with this product and I quickly returned to Walmart to purchase their extended warranty. I needed something that could keep my floors clean without much effort on my part and this little vacuum did the job. After it arrived and prior to setting it up, I called Neato. Although set up was easy, the people at Neato patiently and politely walked me through it. BTW, Neato's customer service is available 24/7. I have not yet tested the life span of this Neato, which is why I chose to purchase Walmart's extended warranty. Their magnetic strip, used to block the Neato, could be improved, but I have other ways of containing the Neato robotic vacuum in a confined area, so I am not worried about that, and I certainly would not pass up the convenience of this item for that one small issue. The people at Neato sounded very proud of their product, so my gut feeling is this little vacuum will last me a number of years. In any case, if Walmart's extended warranty on this item lives up the the hype, then I am all set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 12 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Very poor on battery charge

09/20/2014
By ,
Spring, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this 2 days ago and charged the unit for 3 hours as per instructions. The first cleaning was in my dining room which is a 12 x 12 room and did not complete the cleaning so it had to go back to the docking station to complete the charge in which it did not make it to the dicing station without my help. I let the unit charge, which took another hour or so and it starting cleaning the same room where it left off, but only cleaned for another 15 minutes before it had to go back to the diving station to charge ump again. Afterwards, I called Neato and I was told to take the batteries out of the unit so it would have to re-program the unit as new batteries installed. Well, needless to say the unit still does not clean no more than 20 minutes at a time and my carpet in the living room is a 18x24, so it would not clean this carpet within one full battery charge. Therefore, I think this unit is misleading that it cleans carpets. This unit just continues to charge it's batteries until they go dead again. I am very dissatisfied because I bought this for my wife for her birthday but it's more trouble that what it's worth.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Exceeds expectations.

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It automatically cleans the house once a day with it's scheduler. It can navigate over an 8" wide X 1" high threshold between my kitchen and living room (people have tripped over it). The main reason we grabbed it was to keep up with the pet hair, which it does nicely (one long-hair dog, one long-hair cat, one short-hair dog), but we still need to give our berber rug a deeper cleaning once per week. It cleans our 500-sq. ft. house in 41 minutes and returns to it's charging station. It cleverly works around objects, obstacles and pets. We are surprised that the small dirt bin can hold so much. We thought that we would have to empty it during the cleaning process, but we only empty it when it's done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 14 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Making my life easier!

07/24/2014
By ,
Southeast Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 4 toy breed dogs, just as loving as they can be, however, my floors were constantly covered with their hair. That required daily vacuuming and sometimes twice a day to keep the floors very clean. I wanted to spend my time outside enjoying the summer, not doing vacuuming every day. The NEATO resolved my issue! This little robot is simply amazing. We named her Rosie, after the maid in the Jetsons, if you remember the cartoon series.
I start the day by turning her on, exit to the garden, have fun, return to the comfort of the house and the floors are clean. It has added time to my day for just enjoyment. I'm thrilled with my "Rosie the robot".
As far as value is concerned, I feel that every cent spent for it was well worth it.
I highly recommend this appliance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Happiness in a gadget!

04/21/2014
By ,
United States
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After doing lots of research I decided to buy this little guy. Boy am I happy! My other half was very skeptic that it would actually work but now he loves it as well. With the customizable daily schedule we have it run every day while we are gone so we come home to a clean house. Not only does it easily go from hardwood to carpet but it cleans up all the animal hair from our cat and border collie. I would highly recommend this little guy to everyone. The price is cheaper than some of the others and it does better than expected!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 16 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Good for in between cleanings

11/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This little guy is great for keeping the floors manageable in between normal cleanings. I have a small house dog who sheds a lot of long hair so this has really helped keep the amount of hair on the floors to a minimum. I like that it can be programmed to clean at regular times and it also can be used on demand. I think it's a little pricey but compared to other brands it's a decent value. I do think it should be about $50 cheaper.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 17 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Great for those who don't vacuum regularly!

08/13/2013
By ,
FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Because I certainly don't keep up with my vacuuming...
Does a much better job than my ancient real vacuum. Sucks up pet fur, cat litter, and kibble nicely (the main reason I purchased this when it went on sale)
Sounds like a combination of a vacuum (not quite as loud) and an RC Car. You will need to turn the TV up if its in the same room.
Programable, decent at getting around furniture etc...
You can see from the picture it isnt the prettiest little robot on the market, but its not terrible :) Gets the job done and that's all that mattered.
Review on Walmart: Package arrived delightfully early, thanks guys!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 18 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

This makes two I own now. Excellent machine

06/30/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these, but a step up a year ago. I had the XV-21 and it was great for about ten months, then the battery life started to go. I finally spent the money for new batteries and all seemed well again. Unfortunately I was wrong. When I came in one day it was locked up and I could not reset it. Since they were on sale, I bought a second one.
I ended up calling the factory about the first one and since it had locked up a few days before, they covered it under warranty. This happened about five days after the warranty expired and they sent me a refurbished one for the cost of shipping.
AWESOME company
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+5points
Review 19 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Hit or Miss mostly a miss

07/29/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I really didn't know what to expect with this product having never had a robot vacuum before. Friends highly recommended their Roomba...but I can't afford a $500 vacuum cleaner. This Neato has very strong suction and a fairly long run time, but that's about all I can say great about this product. It has trouble returning to it's docking station and then doesn't always trigger a recharge at the docking station since it doesn't approach it from the optimal angle. When it runs around the house, it acts like a crazy animal. It spends a few seconds here then travels clear across the room bumps into a few walls and furniture then crosses the room again, often vacumming where it already did. It seems to have trouble backing up, and it has gotten stuck quite a few times. I bought it to help my elderly mother, so she wouldn't have to stoop down and under beds and furniture to vacuum so much. It does go under beds and furniture, but so erratically that in essense nothing productive gets done. Luckily, I bought the item on clearance so it wasn't full price, but I still feel that I overpaid. My mom wants to keep it, but I think it's mostly because she feels it would hurt my feelings to return it ( it wouldn't ).
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 20 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Great product and I would buy again.

03/08/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well, got the Neato in today and it was an easy setup to get it going. Turn on, set charger against the wall with some clearance in front, set it down and watch it turn around and dock to charge, set the time, 12 or 24 hour clock and pick a language, decided to watch it for where it has problems but to leave everything in the house as is to see what might have to be moved or adjusted. It is funny watching it. It goes into a room and spins around like it is looking for where to start,( I know the feeling,) then just goes at it. There does seem to be a rhyme and reason to doing its job. Chair and table legs do make it do a lot of back and forward movement to get around each one and I can see putting up chairs to save a bunch of that.
It is really funny watching it stop and run back to the charger for a refill but after the charge, it runs right back where it left off and starts again. It did get caught up on the piece of carpet in front of the front door to catch dogs wet feet because of the frayed strings around the edges. Stopped and played it's little song and displayed a message, "My brush is stuck, please clear me." Pulled the threads out from under it and away it went. One problem, it should say Thank You for your help. ;>) Or Sorry to bother you! But so far no major problems.
It is not as loud as I was led to believe and had trouble locating it a couple of times, maybe a flashing strobe on top would be a good mod. :>)
I cracked up, it vacuums mostly in a straight line but every now and then it leaves a little crop circle. I guess it gets confused where to go next and it leaves one where it turns around and makes it's run back to the charger. I have already figured a couple of mods that would make it better and more fun.
The dog did go over and look at it and sniff it but didn't see anything dangerous. He did look like he was a little miffed when he had to get up and move so it could vacuume where he was laying. Neato is not real fast and moves slow and methodically around the room so I don't think pets will be scared of it.
So far it seems to be doing a good job and I have had to clean basket at each recharging but to be fair, I didn't do any pre-cleaning before turning it lose.
Well found one real pain in the butt problem, women's long hair. I had to take it down and clean out a bunch of Wife's long hair. Not hard to clean from the brush but some got down on the gear motor drive shaft and was hard to get at. Used a pair of forceps but a small needle nose would work just as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
1-20 of 115 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next