Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Neato Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Neato Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Robotic vacuums are not to be used as a primary vacuum. They're meant as supplemental cleaning between regular cleaning. The future of vacuuming. The Neato XV-12 will keep your floors clean with just the push of a button. Featuring the most powerful suction in a robot vacuum, the Neato will easily pick up dirt, debris and even pet hair. Its laser navigation system ensures that it never misses a spot.
Average Customer Rating:
4.066 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation83%63 out of 76reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

vacuum is fine

06/27/2014
By ,
WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the fact that this cleans in a pattern vs driving all over the place, but it takes prep work to get it to do that. I do not think I could just set the timer and let this run when I was not home. I need to go around and move anything that may mess with the program (dining room chairs, ottoman, lamp, long curtains ect...) It cleans much better when only allowing it to clean one room at a time. It falls down one set of stairs and will avoids another set so I have to block them. I have pets and it leaves a line of hair around the edge of the room. The one I have will not keep a charged battery when it sits unused, so the first room it cleans it only last 10 min before needing to recharge, but after that first room it seems to work fine. The most important tip I have is to be sure to start it three feet from a corner or it will get confused and not clean in a nice pattern. Over all it works fine on carpet and hardwood floors. I'm not sure that this is a must have product, but I'll keep it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Never can find its way.

06/30/2014
By ,
St. Louis, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The good: It's powerful, picks up animal hair well, and easy to setup and use.
The bad: It's too loud to run while in the room, out of 6 attempts of letting it clean our main room it only made it back to its charging base once. The machine wastes too much time getting small tight spaces before it begins to work on making long sweeps across the main area of floor, which caused it to get stuck almost every time against my two recliners. Instead of backing up and moving on, it would barely turn and run at the chairs legs repeatedly. And it wasn't just the recliners, it managed to back itself up the ottoman to my couch! All I could do is laugh at how it got itself in the position when I found it after coming home from work. I know it wasn't the configuration of my area, as I ran it and sat on the couch watching its every move, and it cleaned the whole house successfully, and on one charge! So why it managed to get itself stuck when it would run by itself on schedule, I don't know, but I'm taking this back for a Roomba.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Awesome little helper!

05/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I hate cleaning. I did not inherit my mother's natural affinity for a clean, dust free and per hair free home. I just don't have it in me. So I bought this on clearance. This little guy is much better than I expected! It picks up very well... and with two cats that shed their weight in hair daily, that is really saying something! I only have two negatives. 1st - The sensors keep this poor guy confused. Because the rooms have furniture and beds and chairs, he doesn't cover a specific path, but instead tries to follow along the furniture. This leads to some areas being vacuumed twice while others are left untouched. 2nd - the motor is quite loud. When this thing wakes up, it sounds like a jet plane getting ready for take off. No kidding! Otherwise I'm pleasantly surprised by the attributes and like how clean my floors are staying. It even makes me want to keep up on my dusting! Also, I think the little beeps he makes as he communicates is kinda cute. When he is done, or something is in his way, the messages that appear on the screen are quite polite. I think I'll call him Forrest.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Forrest
Posted 07/22/2014
Lol. I think that's a great name.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Exceeds Expectations

04/19/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Initial charge takes a while, settings for the vacuum are easy. As the instructions suggested, I moved any items that may create a problem for the Neato, and then placed the magnetic strips where I wanted them before the first run. Neato did everything it was supposed to do. Cleaned hard floors and carpeted areas with ease, even cleaned behind a couch. When the charge ran out (about 45 minutes), it returned to the base to recharge. When charged, it continued where it left off and finished the job. Area rugs, throw rugs, hard floors, Neato cleaned all with no problems. I have an inside dog, but I don't like dog hair in the house. I bought this one to help with dog hair in the open family, dining, and kitchen areas. Now, instead of a big vacuum twice a week these areas are vacuumed once a week, and Neato runs every other day. Thinking of buying a second Neato just for the bedrooms and hallways. Very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Love This Neato!

03/31/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had 3 Roombas previously and this Neato beats Roomba all to pieces as far as I'm concerned. The Roomba was completely worthless for vacuuming my carpet in the living room but did do a good job on bare floors or very low pile carpet but it took much longer than the Neato does. My living room carpet is a medium pile, not super plush, but Roomba couldn't handle it. Neato is faster and MUCH better at vacuuming a room or even my entire house which is pretty small. I have only had Neato (Nelda I call "her") for about 3 or 4 weeks but I am very pleased with "her". I would definitely recommend a Neato for anyone wanting to try a Robotic Vac for the first time. However, don't expect absolute perfection, she has failed to dock a few times and got stuck under my bed once saying to remove the obstacle when there wasn't one. My bed does sit very low though and apparently that confused her. This is the closest thing I can afford to a maid and I have COPD so I can't tell you how much help it is to me. I hope to have a very long, happy relationship with "Nelda".
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

So helpful. Easy to use. LOUD.

06/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm very happy with my purchase. I had debated justifying this purchase for myself for quite a while. After getting a heavy-shedding dog and having hard wood floors, I decided it was time. It's gratifying seeing all the hair it picks up after almost every day use. My one complaint is the volume. It's quite loud. I have a small house and it takes about 45 mins to an hour to do the whole thing (minus my 4yo's messy bedroom). Maybe it's loud because it is hard wood floors? There's carpet in the bedroom and it doesn't seem quite as loud. I just let it run when I leave in the morning, etc. I would recommend this to anyone that has indoor pets that shed. Especially if you are a clean freak like myself :)
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

great product and great price.

06/03/2014
By ,
arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart has this priced below Amazon sale price which is why I purchased from Walmart. I had some initial problem with the robot not recognizing the docking station. This was remedied by moving my loveseat just a little to allow a more open path. The Neato gets around chair and table legs; under furniture...it even got under my couch where I thought it would get stuck and managed to get out from under there. Neato also goes from my hardwood floors to the area rugs with no problem...vacuums both with ease. So far, this has exceeded my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Nice vacuum

06/17/2014
By ,
East Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this vacuum because I have a dog that sheds a lot and because I am handicapped and unable to vacuum like I would like to. I ran it for a short time when I first got it and it picked up dirt and dog hair that I wasn't even aware of being on the floor. It did a really good job but seemed to only stay in one area. I will try it again and see if it covers a larger area. It is also a bit noisy on hardwood floors but is quieter on carpet. I think when the dogs and I get accustomed to it it will be a big help in cleaning my floors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Happiness in a gadget!

04/21/2014
By ,
United States
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After doing lots of research I decided to buy this little guy. Boy am I happy! My other half was very skeptic that it would actually work but now he loves it as well. With the customizable daily schedule we have it run every day while we are gone so we come home to a clean house. Not only does it easily go from hardwood to carpet but it cleans up all the animal hair from our cat and border collie. I would highly recommend this little guy to everyone. The price is cheaper than some of the others and it does better than expected!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

This makes two I own now. Excellent machine

06/30/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these, but a step up a year ago. I had the XV-21 and it was great for about ten months, then the battery life started to go. I finally spent the money for new batteries and all seemed well again. Unfortunately I was wrong. When I came in one day it was locked up and I could not reset it. Since they were on sale, I bought a second one.
I ended up calling the factory about the first one and since it had locked up a few days before, they covered it under warranty. This happened about five days after the warranty expired and they sent me a refurbished one for the cost of shipping.
AWESOME company
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

works well, time saver par excellence

04/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We'd seen one in operation (our daughter lent us hers, the pet model). We bought the base one. Does good job on carpets, gets reasonably close to walls. Loud, but can program for when away at work. We take up or turn edges of oriental rugs with large frills, move plugs and blind cords out of the way. It gets stuck sometimes on the base of one particular chair, and we need to touch up the 1/4" along walls and other objects. So when we need a thorough cleaning we need to move some things, but of course we have to do that if we do a regular vaccuming. But profile low enough to get under our bed and china chests, which otherwise don't get vaccumed as hard to reach. Picks up as much dirt as our regular vaccums, more if we run a couple days in a row. Light enough to move between our lower and upper floor. Except the first couple times we used it the dustbin holds one cleaning.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Making my life easier!

07/24/2014
By ,
Southeast Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 4 toy breed dogs, just as loving as they can be, however, my floors were constantly covered with their hair. That required daily vacuuming and sometimes twice a day to keep the floors very clean. I wanted to spend my time outside enjoying the summer, not doing vacuuming every day. The NEATO resolved my issue! This little robot is simply amazing. We named her Rosie, after the maid in the Jetsons, if you remember the cartoon series.
I start the day by turning her on, exit to the garden, have fun, return to the comfort of the house and the floors are clean. It has added time to my day for just enjoyment. I'm thrilled with my "Rosie the robot".
As far as value is concerned, I feel that every cent spent for it was well worth it.
I highly recommend this appliance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Exceeds expectations.

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It automatically cleans the house once a day with it's scheduler. It can navigate over an 8" wide X 1" high threshold between my kitchen and living room (people have tripped over it). The main reason we grabbed it was to keep up with the pet hair, which it does nicely (one long-hair dog, one long-hair cat, one short-hair dog), but we still need to give our berber rug a deeper cleaning once per week. It cleans our 500-sq. ft. house in 41 minutes and returns to it's charging station. It cleverly works around objects, obstacles and pets. We are surprised that the small dirt bin can hold so much. We thought that we would have to empty it during the cleaning process, but we only empty it when it's done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Great product and I would buy again.

03/08/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well, got the Neato in today and it was an easy setup to get it going. Turn on, set charger against the wall with some clearance in front, set it down and watch it turn around and dock to charge, set the time, 12 or 24 hour clock and pick a language, decided to watch it for where it has problems but to leave everything in the house as is to see what might have to be moved or adjusted. It is funny watching it. It goes into a room and spins around like it is looking for where to start,( I know the feeling,) then just goes at it. There does seem to be a rhyme and reason to doing its job. Chair and table legs do make it do a lot of back and forward movement to get around each one and I can see putting up chairs to save a bunch of that.
It is really funny watching it stop and run back to the charger for a refill but after the charge, it runs right back where it left off and starts again. It did get caught up on the piece of carpet in front of the front door to catch dogs wet feet because of the frayed strings around the edges. Stopped and played it's little song and displayed a message, "My brush is stuck, please clear me." Pulled the threads out from under it and away it went. One problem, it should say Thank You for your help. ;>) Or Sorry to bother you! But so far no major problems.
It is not as loud as I was led to believe and had trouble locating it a couple of times, maybe a flashing strobe on top would be a good mod. :>)
I cracked up, it vacuums mostly in a straight line but every now and then it leaves a little crop circle. I guess it gets confused where to go next and it leaves one where it turns around and makes it's run back to the charger. I have already figured a couple of mods that would make it better and more fun.
The dog did go over and look at it and sniff it but didn't see anything dangerous. He did look like he was a little miffed when he had to get up and move so it could vacuume where he was laying. Neato is not real fast and moves slow and methodically around the room so I don't think pets will be scared of it.
So far it seems to be doing a good job and I have had to clean basket at each recharging but to be fair, I didn't do any pre-cleaning before turning it lose.
Well found one real pain in the butt problem, women's long hair. I had to take it down and clean out a bunch of Wife's long hair. Not hard to clean from the brush but some got down on the gear motor drive shaft and was hard to get at. Used a pair of forceps but a small needle nose would work just as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Great for households with dogs

03/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is able to sense stairs, and vacuums the perimeter of the rooms, goes behind furniture and reaches places my handheld vacuum cannot. It finds its way back to the charger. I wish it would let me know when to empty it. It does a good job vacuuming and saves me a ton of time with a shedding German Shepherd, it has been a Godsend. I don't know why I didn't get one sooner. Only had it for 3 weeks, so far so good. Climbs from hardwood to carpets with no problem. Just need to check on it so it doesn't get hung up with cables or under kitchen chairs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Neato XV-n base, same as any other, such as 21

07/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a beato xv 21 several months before this. I bought a this new one to move out of my patents house with me. Vacuums wonderfully, is very smart, but a Little loud.
This robot is the same as the xv 12 with a different paint job, different Brush and filter. The upgrade pack plus this was much leas than an xv 21.
Good value. (My total was 256 when I bought it.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Wonderful idea

06/28/2014
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With all I have going on just keeping up with the normal life stuff seems difficult at times. Trying to make time for other things is hard when you are running a home and a business. I purchased this for the office so I didn't have to spend time on my day off coming in to vacuum. It works good and is interesting to watch. It is very persistent when it sees something it really wants to pick up. Had to rescue it from the shop area once as it climbed over the 1.5" tall threshold, and once from the base of my torch lamp as it saw a piece of paper on it and really wanted to get it. Goes around legs and under tables and desks if they are not obstructed. Had been looking at them for awhile but just couldn't make the plunge then I caught a 1 hours sale and I was in. The reviews I found were good. So happy with the purchase. Would like to get one for my house but not so sure how that will work as it is a 4 level home with an extra drop area, would have to always be moving it to the next level or have to figure out a way to get it to go from floor to floor. Moving it from floor to floor seems like a better option then the alternative however so may get one for there as well here in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

AWESOME!!!!

06/25/2014
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely love this little machine! My sister came for a visit and she just ordered one. I have a new home with laminate flooring throughout and vinyl in the bathrooms. I use a dust mop almost daily and I could not believe how much this thing picked up the first time. It is quite noisy so I usually start it when I am going out. Sometimes I do the bedrooms when home and just shut the door then move it to the next one. If I do the entire house while I'm gone (2000 square feet) It works til it needs charging, goes back to the charger and continues once recharged. I wouldn't advise a whole house cleaning while away the first few times, as the dirt bin will probably need emptying between charges. I live alone and have grandkids a few hours a day, no pets so not a lot of dirt, but the first time I did it, wow!!!!! lots of dirt and dust. It's great that it goes under the beds and tables. Doesn't fit under the couch so I move the couch sometimes - push it forward one day and then push it back the next time I run it. Very easy to run. Oh, and it does go over my small area rugs with no problem. I recently bought a mopping one and that is the bomb!!!! If only they made one to do windows, I would be set!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Great for those who don't vacuum regularly!

08/13/2013
By ,
FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Because I certainly don't keep up with my vacuuming...
Does a much better job than my ancient real vacuum. Sucks up pet fur, cat litter, and kibble nicely (the main reason I purchased this when it went on sale)
Sounds like a combination of a vacuum (not quite as loud) and an RC Car. You will need to turn the TV up if its in the same room.
Programable, decent at getting around furniture etc...
You can see from the picture it isnt the prettiest little robot on the market, but its not terrible :) Gets the job done and that's all that mattered.
Review on Walmart: Package arrived delightfully early, thanks guys!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Neato XV-12 Robotics Automatic Bagless Vacuum

Neato on laminate

07/27/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The vacuum works well but is extremely loud on laminate floors. Not sure if that is something we can get used too.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next