Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for SOFIA THE FIRST Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

SOFIA THE FIRST Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

When Sofia becomes Sofia the First, a princess of Enchancia, she must adapt to an extraordinary life of royalty and learn how to be a princess — inside and out! Thanks to her magical amulet from the King, Sofia has the power to speak with animals, and this doll celebrates that gift in grand scale. Beautiful large-scale Sofia doll interacts with the included animal friends: Clover the Rabbit, Mia the Bluebird and Robin the Robin. To activate, girls simply bring one of the sculpted animal figures close to Sofia's amulet. Her amulet will glow, and the two will "talk" with one another. All together, Sofia and her three animal friends unlock more than 30 phrases! Sofia is princess-perfect in her signature purple dress, and her matching purple amulet looks magnificent with her glittery tiara and loose wavy curls. Girls will love reliving moments from the film and series with the added fun of sound to really bring the characters to life!
Average Customer Rating:
4.173 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
30
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation92%94 out of 102reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
30
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

Grandgirls love it.

02/01/2014
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 5 year old received it last Wed. for her birthday, she & her 3 year old sister love it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

Pretty! Hmmm!

02/12/2014
By ,
Carrollton, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought two of these dolls, one for my 5 year old granddaughter and one for my 3 year old great granddaughter. The doll is cute but I could never get it to say all the phrases that it was supposed to say. I think it said only 7 out of the 30 phrases that was claimed (which included the sounds of the animals). One doll was returned but the younger child kept hers, simply because she liked the doll. My 5 year old had turtles and frogs and would often put them on their playmat pretending to talk and sing to them. I thought she would love Sophia and use her imagination in the same way but she didn't have any interest in the doll. I later discovered that the 7 phrases that the doll did say was too expected; she said the doll says the same thing over and over. The doll did not recognize which animal was being presented and would say phrases meant for the bird instead of the rabbit or vice versa. This might have been different had the doll spoke all the phrases as it claimed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

Purchase online for cheaper price!

07/28/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think my daughter is going to love this doll for Christmas. I have been eyeing it for a few weeks now, but I would never pay the $40(with tax) for it. Purchase online for a more reasonable price. The stores won't price match so just do the site to store for the next time you plan on going in. It's worth it to save that huge percentage from the shelf price.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

It's just adorable doll!

10/28/2013
By ,
Chatsworth, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soft and love words in gentle way to say a child.
Sophia's movie DVD and the doll makes a great gift for a little girl.
Overall it's great Christmas gift!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set
  • Staff Sparks

Just OK !!

09/26/2013
By ,
Santa Clara, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My daughter is five years old and she has fallen in love with Sofia the First. she was excited to see Sofia’s necklace lighten up and that Sofia could talk with the animals.
PRO: Interactive, Cute
CON: Sofia's head will pop off on and off (but it goes back on easily)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

Sofie the first

11/02/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got it for my granddaughters birthday and she loves it the doll talks and the animals talks when put up to the anulet
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

Disney Sofia the talking doll

12/15/2013
By ,
Indiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this gift for my 4 year old granddaughter for Christmas ~ I'm only hearing 3-4 phases that Sofia's saying,states on the box she says 30 different phases. Not sure if I'm going to give it to her or take it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

Doesn't Work

11/11/2013
By ,
Stroudsburg, Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this for my daughter's birthday and we were both disappointed that the doll was unable to talk to the animals. I read the instructions and made sure the doll was switched on to the correct setting. I also replaced the batteries. It was a defect.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hermitage tn
Disappointed
Posted 12/27/2013
I also bought this doll for my 3 year old daughter for Christmas and she loves it but she is upset that all Sophia says is ready for tea party Mia. We can not get Sophia to talk to Clover or say anything else.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

Dirty

12/10/2013
By ,
Alabama
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After giving this to my child for her birthday, I opened it to find the head on the doll to be very nasty. The amount of hair looked like something you would find on a knock off Barbie doll and it was dirty. The hair was stiff and dirty feeling even after trying to comb it out. It also doesn't say as many phrases as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

Doll only talks to Mia!

12/25/2013
By ,
Sterling, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We got this for my 5yo for Christmas and she's very upset. This doll only talks to Mia and apparently her friend's doll has the exact same issue. (I wish she had told me this before we bought it! :-)
Looking at other reviews, this is not an isolated issue. So if your kids would not be happy if the doll only talks to one animal, steer clear. Looks like it's luck of the draw....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

My Daughter loves it.

12/05/2013
By ,
Bay Area, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works like it should and a good gift. My 6 year old loves it. Not a " Big Deal " gift so if you are giving a ton of things to a child all at the same time it may get lost in the shuffle. The skirt covers the microphone etc. so other clothing for Sofia may not fit well. Still the talking to a specific animal is pretty cool.
Bought it with the Sofia DVD that came with the paper doll set inside. The paper doll and DVD are great for travel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

Excellent Buy! Great for any Sofia fans!

08/28/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my daughters 3rd birthday. It was on sale here online for only $26 which was a great savings! Was $40 at the Walmart store where I live so I was very excited to get such a great deal. My daughter absolutely loves this doll! The little animals really talk with Sofia when close to her necklace. This is overall a great toy for all Sofia fans! And who doesn't love a good deal? :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

Great for Sofia fans

10/03/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my daughters 3rd.birthday and she loves it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

nice Doll

12/02/2013
By ,
delaware
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The doll is very pretty for my God Child. She is going to love it. They only thing I did not like was, I placed an order of 4 items and had to go to the store 3 different times to get all of my order.
I think Walmart sets you up to come in to buy more things in the store by having you to come to the store for your order they split up. Walmart needs to plan a better way for site to store orders. Site to store is a convenience.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

Great doll

03/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter absolutely loves this doll. Would recommend for anyone that has a girl into Sofia the First.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

Really nice, but too pricy for the quality doll.

12/25/2013
By ,
Midway, Georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Love the doll. She is fun and interactive! My daughter played with her a bit but then kind of put her down after 20 minutes. She can't play with her in a loud environment due to how quiet she speaks. This can be good or bad depending on where you are and what you are doing. Once we got to a more quiet environment she played w her a bit more. Everything works as it should from the interactive pets to Sofia speaking. I will note some things to watch for though. One, she doesn't have legs. She has a molded skirt with ankles and feet. So all she can do is sit and stand. She is not a fully jointed doll. Two, she has that new (totally gross) hair do the toy manufacturing plants have for some reason chosen to do. It is not soft and pretty and you can't brush or fix it. It is pretty much like a glue do, soaked in glue and styled and dried that way. Creepy to the touch and not child friendly. Three, Love the necklace feature but the other figures have to nearly touch her amulet to work. That and her volume level being too soft it may be a battery issues though. I would recommend her for imaginative play, but not for action play. Honestly if it weren't for my daughter wanting this specific doll, I would pass on this one. Good doll but more of a half robot half doll. At nearly 40 bucks not such a great deal. Around 20 is more suited for this toy. I paid 31. A little high but at least it was on sale when I got her.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

Did not work CANNOT GIVE IT A RATING (X-Mas Gift)

11/11/2013
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When pressing the necklace the Doll did not talk. I ordered it online so the batteries should not have been worn out. I will return and purchase another one that works!! Disappointing. Hassel to have to return!!!
I cannot Rate this doll at this time because it will be a Christmas present.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

Great Doll Set!

02/08/2014
By ,
North Richland Hills, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for my granddaughter for Christmas! She was thrilled the way Sofia and the animals could talk to each other. The first week she took them all to bed with her and spent an hour playing in the dark before falling asleep.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

It's an okay tool

02/03/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My daughter only plays with it a little bit only to play with her hair. She can't play dress up with this doll because there is a speaker or something between the legs. It's a cute toy and she loves Sophia the First, but not the most played with doll at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sofia the First Talking Sofia Doll and Animal Friends Play Set

Nice size doll to play with.

11/25/2013
By ,
Covina, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivery was fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 89 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next