Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Farberware FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Farberware FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Let the FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker ease your morning routine. Thanks to its advanced automatic brewing function, you can wake up to a freshly brewed pot without the hassle of your pre-cup haze. This black and stainless steel FARBERWARE coffee maker filters water before brewing for a purer flavor. A convenient keep-warm function allows you to leave some coffee in the pot and come back for more later. This brewed coffee maker has a simple control panel and a dripless pour carafe for easy brewing. Ideal for household use, this FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker can also meet the demands of office use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.073 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(206 Reviews) 193
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
117
4 stars
44
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation82%168 out of 206reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
48 Questions | 197 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
117
4 stars
44
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Perfect Coffee Pot For On The Go Person

04/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love the design and aesthetics of this coffee pot. It is great just for a single person. I really enjoy that it has a filter to filter out the chlorine and everything. I notice a difference in the coffee. Also love that it has an Auto make feature. I also love the filter. No need to worry about buying any more filters! I did have the same one previously however I broke the pot after trying to clean the inside of it. So only use a washcloth on the carafe not on of those brushes etc.
Love the auto feature on this so my coffee is ready as soon as I wake up. And even if the power goes out your coffee is still ready in the morning! How do I know that? I have a UPS battery backup on my computer and get a notification every time the power goes out. This is a great feature and is probably unknown.
For $20.00 YOU CANNOT GO WRONG HERE!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Not Cuisinart or Kuerig, but not priced like those

02/15/2014
By ,
Rochester, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hard to beat for the price - it looks good, and it makes good coffee fast! It has a MUCH better digital display than other coffee makers in this price range - it actually has TWO brightness levels - (it gets brighter when you program it.) And programming the time and timer is easy with a quality feel to the buttons. Also, it has an audible "beep" when programs are entered and when the coffee is done brewing. NEGATIVES: the supplied re-usable filter tends to let a small amount of very fine particles (powder) slip thru into the coffee. It tends to settle to the bottom of the pot, so I just pour all but a very small amount out of the carafe and then I rinse the rest out. Using the small PAPER cone-style filters (instead) also remedies that. Also, there is condensation that builds up, so to prevent mold, its a good idea to open the lid slightly after brewing to let it dry out. Senior boomers like me may agree that the "beep" should be a lower pitch or louder or both. But BUY it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Perfect Size for Small Kitchen Great Coffee

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having limited counter space and I am the only coffee drinker in the house this little coffee maker is perfect. Very attractive black and chrome design and makes a cup of coffee in about 3 minutes. I love the glowing blue digital clock and the choice to set a timer for my coffee to be waiting for me in the morning. The only drawback I can find is that I was using an electric percolator for years and the coffee was very hot. This maker is not as hot but hot enough. My daughter owns one of the Keurig coffee machines and her only complaint of that device is that the coffee is just not very hot. So for $20 I have exactly what I need and am quite satisfied with this coffee maker. I had purchased a Mr. Coffee machine the same day I found this one and returned the Mr. Coffee as it was so big as it was a 12 cup machine. I realized I did not need a 12 cup machine and fortunately discovered this Faberware at my local Wal Mart. My advice is to go ahead and purchase this one....for this price you just can't go wrong.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

I am very Picky and I love this pot

10/22/2013
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will start with- I am very picky about my coffee pots. The price is great, and it is the perfect size for me. It makes 2 large coffee cups. There are a few things I would change.
I like it is easy to fill, pot does not drip water or coffee. The basket is easy to empty. Coffee is good and hot. I like the beep when it is finished. I use paper filters and I can just grab the filter and put it in the trash, no drips. I use paper filters, so the permanent one it comes with will be a nice backup.
There are a few things I would change. I do not care about the water filter- I will not change it. I do wish the program button was a One push to turn on the program. You have to hold the program button for 5 seconds, then hit it again to turn on timer. That is a little weird. The fill lid, does feel a little weak- but I am careful with it.
I plan on buying another one- for a backup. I love it. For one coffee drinker in the house- it is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

sweet little coffee maker

09/17/2013
By ,
grandville, mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I too had the General Electric coffee maker from Walmart, but I broke the glass carafe. I tried two others before purchasing the Farberware 5 cupper. I tried the cusinart 5 cup, stainless steel carafe coffee maker, thinking the carafe would never break again, but the coffee tasted awful. Then I tried the Mr. Coffee 5 cupper. Nice looking, but again awful coffee...probably due to the flat filter. (I believe the cone shape makes better coffee.) So back to Walmart I went to get another GE. None there but this was closest thing. I purchased it and am so pleased. This one is even better than the GE in that it is programable. The coffee brewed to 180 degrees...not bad for a $20. coffee maker and it has a mesh filter basket so there is no need to purchase paper filters. I prefer the paper to the mesh, but it's nice to have for when I run unexpectedly! Also, the carafe pours nicely. I hate it when I have more water on the counter that in the reservoir.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Perfect little coffee maker

08/30/2013
By ,
Worcester, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this coffee maker to replace my old GE one that is very similar (the GE one was just really old and I wanted a new coffee maker). I'm extremely pleased with the Farberware coffee maker. I read the instructions that came with it and it is very easy to operate and maintain. I love the permanent filter basket that comes with it, because it's eco-friendly and I prefer using one. The coffee maker brews really fast and the coffee tastes great. It comes with a replaceable water filter, which I will consider changing down the road. A couple of minor downfalls: I can barely fit my hand inside the carafe when I clean it by hand because the opening is small, and the buttons are low-quality (but what can you expect for the price?). I think this coffee maker will last me a long time by my continuing to take good care of it. It is perfect for making two large cups of coffee, which is the most that I need. I'm glad I purchased this coffee maker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Good pot

10/16/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this coffee maker even though the "Keep hot" only keeps it warm. For those that say the pot drips, I'm on my fourth pot and the only time it dripped was on my second cup of coffee when I tried to pour it too fast. Pour it, not slow, but not fast and it will not drip. If it dripd, it is your fault. The 'Insturction Manual' was a little vague but I got through it just skimming and looking at the pictures. The Plastic thing that holds the water filter is shown to open with a twist. Mine didn't I finally figured out that it opens from the top of the "bucket." The filter itself is flat on one end and rounded on the other. I was worried that I wouldn't know which end was up, but it will only go in one way. Those that can't find the filters for sale, try Walmart! I got a pack of several, probably a couple of years worth when I got the coffee maker. They are shown on the same page as the coffee maker. The timer works great and is easy to program, once you figure it out. I like the Coffee maker and, if you are looking for a inexpensive five cup coffee maker, this one is good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Nice Coffee Maker

12/01/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my old 12 cup coffee maker died last night so i went online and read reviews here. i went off to walmart this morning and saw this one sitting out on display. the stainless steel is nice looking, it's compact. the first thing i did was check to see how the lid felt. if it was flimsy feeling i wasn't going to get it. i hate flimsy lids, and assume it's a cheap-made product.
this little maker doesn't look or feel cheap. i can't say about it's durability because i've only had it for about 6 hours, but i can say it makes a great cup of joe. the clock it easy to set, so is the auto feature. one interesting thing to note when setting it to brew later......the time you set it for, say 7:15am, it will be ready at that time, not start brewing at that time. i've never had a programmable coffee maker so i don't know if that normal or not. i just assumed it would start at the time i set, not be ready. not that it matters, in fact i love it!
i usually drink two cups of coffee within an hour to hour and a half. the warming plate kept the coffee nice and hot. i will keep the wire screen filter as a back up. i have some #2 cone filters i want to use up and they work nicely with this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

AWESOME LITTLE POT

05/15/2014
By ,
Philly burbs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My BF got me a Kerug which I love and for the taste it can't be beat...great for when you are at home, but I like to take coffee to work and one cup does not cut it and making multiple cups gets redundant.
I am OCD about having anything WITHOUT an automatic shutoff, which is hard to find in the 5 cup size. THIS IS PERFECT for me...some in a cup to start out with and fill my 16 oz. mug.
The mesh filter it comes with does stain...not a big deal..especially for the price..just use #2 cone shape filters.
The ONLY negative is when you pour it it is hard to NOT spill some, but a quick wipe with a paper towel fixes that....
For something on the low end of coffee makers, I don't think you can beat it.
As for the timer...I just have it set to go and push the brew button while I am getting dressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Perfect Coffee Maker for Two People in the Morning

10/09/2014
By ,
Eugene Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We replaced our Mr. Coffee maker with this one. It is FAR more convenient to use due to the separate water resevoir (the old one sat on top of the pot), and is more green since it employs a reusable filter. It also is able to use regular tap water as it comes with a filter. The price was VERY reasonable even considering it comes from a high quality manufacturer. It makes a GREAT tasting cup of coffee. It's billed as a five cup maker, but really it's actually just two standard sized cups plus a bit more, which is exactly what we wanted!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

This Coffee Maker Is Great...

01/22/2014
By ,
NorCal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
for my needs!!! I had a GE product that was almost the same, but the lid cracked almost 2 years ago, I went into McGyver mode and fixed that crack by wrapping it in foil and it worked for 2 years - lol at my ingenuity!!! Well about 3 weeks ago, the darn thing cracked into pieces. I got online and ordered this one, went to my local WM and picked it up. The only problem I've had with this coffee maker is at first I couldn't figure out how to set the auto button, but before I actually needed to use it, I finally got it right.
I like that the carafe has smaller openings, I find this necessary to keep the coffee warmer until I am ready to fill my to-go cup for work. The more open the carafe, it seems the cooler the coffee gets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Perfect coffee every time.

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's just for me. It makes 2 mugs of coffee quickly. The coffee is perfect every time. If you want or need a coffeemaker that makes 5 cups, try the Farberware. It's a quality product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Grandson's Surprise!

11/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
That's my Grandson! A coffee lover like Nana, Yeaaahhh!
He wanted his own coffee maker so this one is fantastic
for early am(timer), water filter, 5cups, permanent filter.
and, he informed me that it was made by Walmart.
Excellent choice that he enjoys every day!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Ok for price

11/15/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This coffeemaker is okay for the price but would not have purchased if I knew that when you make a full pot of coffee and go to pour the coffee goes all over. So in reality you cannot make the five cups, four is the top amount you can make.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Perfect coffee maker for this stay at home mom!

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually bought this coffee maker last night to replace my old one. I was going to wait a few weeks to review but I'm so happy with the results I decided to review after one use (so I'll be editing this review if anything changes). I love everything about this little coffee maker! I love how fast it brews (i thought I'd be standing there forever waiting for the initial 2 clear water cycles before initial use, but it was really quick and easy). I love the built in coffee filter. I know how awful a morning can be when you have to load the kids in the car and make a big deal about what should be a short trip to go get some paper filters because you forgot to buy some the day before when you ran out. Or just going without coffee at all. bleh. I don't use the programmable feature, but I might in the future so it's good to have. I have an awful memory and I'm known to forget about my brewing coffee altogether, which makes me so so so glad that this coffee maker beeps when it's done AND has auto-shut off feature. The water filtration system is great. If I ever decide to use the programmable feature and leave the tank full of water I won't have to worry about the water getting gross overnight. I love the coffee pot! It pours nice and easy. I love that it has a two year warranty. I love the overall size of the product. I'm the only coffee drinker in the house and it's perfect for my 1-2 cups of coffee a day. The machine is small and doesn't take up much counter space at all.
I'm super pleased with this product. Give it a chance! Don't let the bad reviews steer you away.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Perfect so far!

08/01/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this 5 cup coffee maker and am so far pleased with it. It is just the right size for one person who drinks a few cups of coffee in the morning. After reading all of the reviews, I have come to the conclusion that like anything in life, we sometimes do get a 'lemon'. Walmart has a great return policy, so if a lemon does come along, just return it. Peace!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

look

11/12/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this item is good but have a little issue don't heat good is warm but no hat
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Hey, works for me!

12/29/2013
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was happy to find this little coffeemaker. It makes five cups and is easy to use. I use purified water, but it has a clever little wand with a filter receptacle if you use tap water. It's no problem to fill with water, and it makes a good brew. I don't use the permanent filter provided, but one could. I just insert a cone filter, #2, into the basket, and that works fine.
I paid nineteen bucks for this Farberware gem, so I consider it a bargain. It also has an auto shutoff feature and a programmable clock, rare on a "cheap" coffeemaker.
Bottom line: I consider this a bargain and it works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

For anyone who lives alone, this coffee is for you

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This maker replaces a G.E. unit also purchased at Walmart. Unfortunately, the carafe broke and Walmart no longer has parts. There is very little difference between them. Gladly, they make a good cup of coffee. Five cups is a bit misleading. How big is your cup? Here, five cups means two large mugfuls and maybe a bit left over. So don't expect to serve more than two cups. If that works for you, this maker will be just fine because it makes a great cup of coffee, assuming you buy good coffee to begin with. It has to be mentioned that with good beans and this maker, you get good coffee. So, why would an intelligent person pay more than $19.95 for a 5 cup coffee maker? Give up? Me too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Great Coffee Maker for anyone

01/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Quiet, programmable with a reusable mesh filter. Perfect size for a single person or couple.
This product was not on the shelves on numerous trips. (Friends had same experience months earlier.) Many other brands and models were stacked everywhere. We ordered on-line and the process was easy. Product came earlier than the expected delivery time (along with a shipment of others to stock the shelves).
This is becoming a very popular coffee maker so stores may want to consider keeping them in stock : )
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 194 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next