Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Farberware FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Farberware FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Let the FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker ease your morning routine. Thanks to its advanced automatic brewing function, you can wake up to a freshly brewed pot without the hassle of your pre-cup haze. This black and stainless steel FARBERWARE coffee maker filters water before brewing for a purer flavor. A convenient keep-warm function allows you to leave some coffee in the pot and come back for more later. This brewed coffee maker has a simple control panel and a dripless pour carafe for easy brewing. Ideal for household use, this FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker can also meet the demands of office use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.081 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(148 Reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
85
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation83%123 out of 148reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 133 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
85
4 stars
31
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Not Cuisinart or Kuerig, but not priced like those

02/15/2014
By ,
Rochester, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hard to beat for the price - it looks good, and it makes good coffee fast! It has a MUCH better digital display than other coffee makers in this price range - it actually has TWO brightness levels - (it gets brighter when you program it.) And programming the time and timer is easy with a quality feel to the buttons. Also, it has an audible "beep" when programs are entered and when the coffee is done brewing. NEGATIVES: the supplied re-usable filter tends to let a small amount of very fine particles (powder) slip thru into the coffee. It tends to settle to the bottom of the pot, so I just pour all but a very small amount out of the carafe and then I rinse the rest out. Using the small PAPER cone-style filters (instead) also remedies that. Also, there is condensation that builds up, so to prevent mold, its a good idea to open the lid slightly after brewing to let it dry out. Senior boomers like me may agree that the "beep" should be a lower pitch or louder or both. But BUY it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

I am very Picky and I love this pot

10/22/2013
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will start with- I am very picky about my coffee pots. The price is great, and it is the perfect size for me. It makes 2 large coffee cups. There are a few things I would change.
I like it is easy to fill, pot does not drip water or coffee. The basket is easy to empty. Coffee is good and hot. I like the beep when it is finished. I use paper filters and I can just grab the filter and put it in the trash, no drips. I use paper filters, so the permanent one it comes with will be a nice backup.
There are a few things I would change. I do not care about the water filter- I will not change it. I do wish the program button was a One push to turn on the program. You have to hold the program button for 5 seconds, then hit it again to turn on timer. That is a little weird. The fill lid, does feel a little weak- but I am careful with it.
I plan on buying another one- for a backup. I love it. For one coffee drinker in the house- it is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

sweet little coffee maker

09/17/2013
By ,
grandville, mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I too had the General Electric coffee maker from Walmart, but I broke the glass carafe. I tried two others before purchasing the Farberware 5 cupper. I tried the cusinart 5 cup, stainless steel carafe coffee maker, thinking the carafe would never break again, but the coffee tasted awful. Then I tried the Mr. Coffee 5 cupper. Nice looking, but again awful coffee...probably due to the flat filter. (I believe the cone shape makes better coffee.) So back to Walmart I went to get another GE. None there but this was closest thing. I purchased it and am so pleased. This one is even better than the GE in that it is programable. The coffee brewed to 180 degrees...not bad for a $20. coffee maker and it has a mesh filter basket so there is no need to purchase paper filters. I prefer the paper to the mesh, but it's nice to have for when I run unexpectedly! Also, the carafe pours nicely. I hate it when I have more water on the counter that in the reservoir.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Perfect little coffee maker

08/30/2013
By ,
Worcester, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this coffee maker to replace my old GE one that is very similar (the GE one was just really old and I wanted a new coffee maker). I'm extremely pleased with the Farberware coffee maker. I read the instructions that came with it and it is very easy to operate and maintain. I love the permanent filter basket that comes with it, because it's eco-friendly and I prefer using one. The coffee maker brews really fast and the coffee tastes great. It comes with a replaceable water filter, which I will consider changing down the road. A couple of minor downfalls: I can barely fit my hand inside the carafe when I clean it by hand because the opening is small, and the buttons are low-quality (but what can you expect for the price?). I think this coffee maker will last me a long time by my continuing to take good care of it. It is perfect for making two large cups of coffee, which is the most that I need. I'm glad I purchased this coffee maker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Nice Coffee Maker

12/01/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my old 12 cup coffee maker died last night so i went online and read reviews here. i went off to walmart this morning and saw this one sitting out on display. the stainless steel is nice looking, it's compact. the first thing i did was check to see how the lid felt. if it was flimsy feeling i wasn't going to get it. i hate flimsy lids, and assume it's a cheap-made product.
this little maker doesn't look or feel cheap. i can't say about it's durability because i've only had it for about 6 hours, but i can say it makes a great cup of joe. the clock it easy to set, so is the auto feature. one interesting thing to note when setting it to brew later......the time you set it for, say 7:15am, it will be ready at that time, not start brewing at that time. i've never had a programmable coffee maker so i don't know if that normal or not. i just assumed it would start at the time i set, not be ready. not that it matters, in fact i love it!
i usually drink two cups of coffee within an hour to hour and a half. the warming plate kept the coffee nice and hot. i will keep the wire screen filter as a back up. i have some #2 cone filters i want to use up and they work nicely with this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

This Coffee Maker Is Great...

01/22/2014
By ,
NorCal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
for my needs!!! I had a GE product that was almost the same, but the lid cracked almost 2 years ago, I went into McGyver mode and fixed that crack by wrapping it in foil and it worked for 2 years - lol at my ingenuity!!! Well about 3 weeks ago, the darn thing cracked into pieces. I got online and ordered this one, went to my local WM and picked it up. The only problem I've had with this coffee maker is at first I couldn't figure out how to set the auto button, but before I actually needed to use it, I finally got it right.
I like that the carafe has smaller openings, I find this necessary to keep the coffee warmer until I am ready to fill my to-go cup for work. The more open the carafe, it seems the cooler the coffee gets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Great Coffee Maker for anyone

01/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Quiet, programmable with a reusable mesh filter. Perfect size for a single person or couple.
This product was not on the shelves on numerous trips. (Friends had same experience months earlier.) Many other brands and models were stacked everywhere. We ordered on-line and the process was easy. Product came earlier than the expected delivery time (along with a shipment of others to stock the shelves).
This is becoming a very popular coffee maker so stores may want to consider keeping them in stock : )
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Hey, works for me!

12/29/2013
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was happy to find this little coffeemaker. It makes five cups and is easy to use. I use purified water, but it has a clever little wand with a filter receptacle if you use tap water. It's no problem to fill with water, and it makes a good brew. I don't use the permanent filter provided, but one could. I just insert a cone filter, #2, into the basket, and that works fine.
I paid nineteen bucks for this Farberware gem, so I consider it a bargain. It also has an auto shutoff feature and a programmable clock, rare on a "cheap" coffeemaker.
Bottom line: I consider this a bargain and it works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Makes Good Coffee

04/09/2014
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used Mr. Coffee coffeemakers for years. But my 4-cup Mr. Coffee that I'd only had for five months went out on me. This was the first time I'd ever had a Mr. Coffee coffeemaker to quit working that soon. The older models used to last for a long time. I didn't want to take a chance on any more of the new Mr. Coffee machines, so after doing some research and reading different reviews I bought this Farberware 5-cup coffeemaker. I needed a small coffeemaker, since I'm the only one in my home that drinks coffee, and I also wanted one with a programmable timer and light. So far the Farberware makes good coffee. I miss my Mr. Coffee, but I'm getting used to the Farberware. The only complaint I have is that I can't see the water level in it. I would give it 5 stars if the water level were visible.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

For anyone who lives alone, this coffee is for you

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This maker replaces a G.E. unit also purchased at Walmart. Unfortunately, the carafe broke and Walmart no longer has parts. There is very little difference between them. Gladly, they make a good cup of coffee. Five cups is a bit misleading. How big is your cup? Here, five cups means two large mugfuls and maybe a bit left over. So don't expect to serve more than two cups. If that works for you, this maker will be just fine because it makes a great cup of coffee, assuming you buy good coffee to begin with. It has to be mentioned that with good beans and this maker, you get good coffee. So, why would an intelligent person pay more than $19.95 for a 5 cup coffee maker? Give up? Me too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Brews an excellent coffee.

11/13/2013
By ,
new york
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use., comes with a permanent c offee filter and a disposable water filter to give your coffee tha professionally brewed flavor. It signals when brewing is complete and shuts off automatically after 2 hours. Great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Great If You Don't Need Extreme Temperature

03/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read all the reviews before purchasing. The majority of reviews are spot on. Excellent little machine if you don't need your coffee too hot. Personally, I like to drink it right away and use cream. My old coffee maker's temperature was still a tad hot even after adding cream. This one is just a tad too cool after adding cream, for my taste. I work around that by adding less cream. It is still a little iffy on temperature even then. Someone who needs their coffee scalding hot, should pick another brand. I read reviews about silt in the bottom but haven't had the problem yet. It brews a smooth cup of coffee. Some reviews said the 5 cup status is misleading. I think all of them are. I make one tall mug by adding a 16.9oz bottle of water. That comes out to just over 3 cups on the pot. I would recommend this product with the noted caveats.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Perfect so far!

08/01/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this 5 cup coffee maker and am so far pleased with it. It is just the right size for one person who drinks a few cups of coffee in the morning. After reading all of the reviews, I have come to the conclusion that like anything in life, we sometimes do get a 'lemon'. Walmart has a great return policy, so if a lemon does come along, just return it. Peace!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

great little coffeemaker

04/10/2014
By ,
motown michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i actually sold my one cup at a time keurig and got this. who wants to have to make 1 cup at a time? not me. plus i dont have grounds all over the place.....it has a small footprint and fits nicely on the countertop. it makes great coffee. i make 4 cups at a time which ends up being like 2 cups of strong coffee which is what i drink daily. the warmer is great!
all in all, for the price and features it is a wonderful c-maker!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Great

04/12/2014
By ,
SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This coffee pot meets all my needs. It is made well. Easy to clean.makes a mug and a half of coffee. timer is great. It has a beep when you can take a cup of coffee before it is finished brewing. It shuts off after 2hours, so no worries if you go out and forget to shut it off.i have it now for several weeks and would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Not Hot ..... Only Warm

04/06/2014
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was surprised not to see many people complain about the warm coffee. Most people complain about other problems, but that was probably because they didn't get a chance to get that far. It does take paper filters because that's the only way i had used it for about 6 months.
so this is a review over a good period of time, not just short term. i think the people that used the metal filter and had it overflow, probably would not overflow with the paper filter, because i think the paper filters flow better.
i also think both the overflow problem and the problem of the coffee not being hot enough stems from the same problem. This model has 650 Watts and i just got a single brewer at Walgreens for the same price with 50 less wattss (600w) and it seems almost twice as hot.
i think the problem is that the water flows through too fast. coffee makers that have lower wattage needs the water to flow slower in order for it to heat the water up to the recommended brewing temperature. The other brands that have 1400 watts can brew the coffee a lot faster because it heats the water a lot faster.
So, the ones that spill over is probably brewing too fast and the ones that doesn't have hardly any coming out is having the opposite problem. Probably something that deals with the mechanism that controls the correct amount of water flow. i think that mechanism is the primary flaw in this coffee maker, which cause multiple problems. if it wasn't for that, i would like this coffee maker for the small size, clock, & timer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Too bad

03/12/2014
By ,
Dearborn, Mi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased one of these as I am the sole coffee drinker in the family. I like the coffee already brewed when I get up. This device seems sturdy and well made. I used it without the permanent filter or water filter. I use filtered water to brew the coffee anyway. I have to say, it made real good coffee. It may be because of the cone shaped filter. Unfortunately, it would not keep the correct time. It would lose 3-5 minutes a day. I got tired of setting the time every day, so I took it back and exchanged it for a new one. Guess what? The new one gained 3-5 minutes a day. Two strikes and they are out. I took it back and bought a competitor's coffee maker which keeps better time but does not make as good coffee. The value rating I assigned is for if the clock worked as designed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Yes - it will also accept a PAPER coffee filter

01/13/2014
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has a permanent coffee filter and indicates that it can't accept a paper filter - even if you prefer using one. But this is not true.
I placed a #2 Cone (small 4-cup, flat style) paper "Pure Brew" coffee filter inside the permanent filter and it works just fine! This improves the coffee taste, keeps any ground from getting into the coffee and makes for a fast and easy clean up. This make me like this coffee maker much more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Easy to use

04/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Use it at the office-works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

You get what you pay for

03/28/2014
By ,
Mississippi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This morning I awoke--without my programmed coffee being already made. After manually starting the machine, I discovered two things: the two cups of water I added yielded a 1/2 cup of concentrated lukewarm coffee. This coffee pot is beautifully designed and was a great price--but neither really matter if it doesn't do what it was designed to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 136 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next