Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Farberware FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Farberware FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Let the FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker ease your morning routine. Thanks to its advanced automatic brewing function, you can wake up to a freshly brewed pot without the hassle of your pre-cup haze. This black and stainless steel FARBERWARE coffee maker filters water before brewing for a purer flavor. A convenient keep-warm function allows you to leave some coffee in the pot and come back for more later. This brewed coffee maker has a simple control panel and a dripless pour carafe for easy brewing. Ideal for household use, this FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker can also meet the demands of office use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.082 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(279 Reviews) 266
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
62
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation82%228 out of 279reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
69 Questions | 208 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
156
4 stars
62
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Perfect Coffee Pot For On The Go Person

04/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love the design and aesthetics of this coffee pot. It is great just for a single person. I really enjoy that it has a filter to filter out the chlorine and everything. I notice a difference in the coffee. Also love that it has an Auto make feature. I also love the filter. No need to worry about buying any more filters! I did have the same one previously however I broke the pot after trying to clean the inside of it. So only use a washcloth on the carafe not on of those brushes etc.
Love the auto feature on this so my coffee is ready as soon as I wake up. And even if the power goes out your coffee is still ready in the morning! How do I know that? I have a UPS battery backup on my computer and get a notification every time the power goes out. This is a great feature and is probably unknown.
For $20.00 YOU CANNOT GO WRONG HERE!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Not Cuisinart or Kuerig, but not priced like those

02/15/2014
By ,
Rochester, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hard to beat for the price - it looks good, and it makes good coffee fast! It has a MUCH better digital display than other coffee makers in this price range - it actually has TWO brightness levels - (it gets brighter when you program it.) And programming the time and timer is easy with a quality feel to the buttons. Also, it has an audible "beep" when programs are entered and when the coffee is done brewing. NEGATIVES: the supplied re-usable filter tends to let a small amount of very fine particles (powder) slip thru into the coffee. It tends to settle to the bottom of the pot, so I just pour all but a very small amount out of the carafe and then I rinse the rest out. Using the small PAPER cone-style filters (instead) also remedies that. Also, there is condensation that builds up, so to prevent mold, its a good idea to open the lid slightly after brewing to let it dry out. Senior boomers like me may agree that the "beep" should be a lower pitch or louder or both. But BUY it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

I am very Picky and I love this pot

10/22/2013
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will start with- I am very picky about my coffee pots. The price is great, and it is the perfect size for me. It makes 2 large coffee cups. There are a few things I would change.
I like it is easy to fill, pot does not drip water or coffee. The basket is easy to empty. Coffee is good and hot. I like the beep when it is finished. I use paper filters and I can just grab the filter and put it in the trash, no drips. I use paper filters, so the permanent one it comes with will be a nice backup.
There are a few things I would change. I do not care about the water filter- I will not change it. I do wish the program button was a One push to turn on the program. You have to hold the program button for 5 seconds, then hit it again to turn on timer. That is a little weird. The fill lid, does feel a little weak- but I am careful with it.
I plan on buying another one- for a backup. I love it. For one coffee drinker in the house- it is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+155points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

sweet little coffee maker

09/17/2013
By ,
grandville, mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I too had the General Electric coffee maker from Walmart, but I broke the glass carafe. I tried two others before purchasing the Farberware 5 cupper. I tried the cusinart 5 cup, stainless steel carafe coffee maker, thinking the carafe would never break again, but the coffee tasted awful. Then I tried the Mr. Coffee 5 cupper. Nice looking, but again awful coffee...probably due to the flat filter. (I believe the cone shape makes better coffee.) So back to Walmart I went to get another GE. None there but this was closest thing. I purchased it and am so pleased. This one is even better than the GE in that it is programable. The coffee brewed to 180 degrees...not bad for a $20. coffee maker and it has a mesh filter basket so there is no need to purchase paper filters. I prefer the paper to the mesh, but it's nice to have for when I run unexpectedly! Also, the carafe pours nicely. I hate it when I have more water on the counter that in the reservoir.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+117points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Perfect Size for Small Kitchen Great Coffee

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having limited counter space and I am the only coffee drinker in the house this little coffee maker is perfect. Very attractive black and chrome design and makes a cup of coffee in about 3 minutes. I love the glowing blue digital clock and the choice to set a timer for my coffee to be waiting for me in the morning. The only drawback I can find is that I was using an electric percolator for years and the coffee was very hot. This maker is not as hot but hot enough. My daughter owns one of the Keurig coffee machines and her only complaint of that device is that the coffee is just not very hot. So for $20 I have exactly what I need and am quite satisfied with this coffee maker. I had purchased a Mr. Coffee machine the same day I found this one and returned the Mr. Coffee as it was so big as it was a 12 cup machine. I realized I did not need a 12 cup machine and fortunately discovered this Faberware at my local Wal Mart. My advice is to go ahead and purchase this one....for this price you just can't go wrong.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Perfect little coffee maker

08/30/2013
By ,
Worcester, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this coffee maker to replace my old GE one that is very similar (the GE one was just really old and I wanted a new coffee maker). I'm extremely pleased with the Farberware coffee maker. I read the instructions that came with it and it is very easy to operate and maintain. I love the permanent filter basket that comes with it, because it's eco-friendly and I prefer using one. The coffee maker brews really fast and the coffee tastes great. It comes with a replaceable water filter, which I will consider changing down the road. A couple of minor downfalls: I can barely fit my hand inside the carafe when I clean it by hand because the opening is small, and the buttons are low-quality (but what can you expect for the price?). I think this coffee maker will last me a long time by my continuing to take good care of it. It is perfect for making two large cups of coffee, which is the most that I need. I'm glad I purchased this coffee maker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Great Little Machine

05/25/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this little coffee pot in anticipation of some guests we were having about a month ago. I've never owned a coffee pot before - never really been a coffee drinker before - and this has been perfect. Quick, simple, delicious and hot. We are not careful with it. None of the perfectly lining up this and that. We just throw grounds in the filter and dump water in the back. Chunk the pot into the burner and hit power. Been running it almost daily for a full month and it has never given us a hiccup of a problem.
The capacity is a little misleading. 5 cups of water makes realistically about 3 servings of coffee around here. A full pot will give my husband a full travel mug with one cup left for me. If he doesn't have any I will have one hot cup in the morning and chill the remainder for one large tumbler of iced coffee in the afternoon. So it'll work for couples or individuals, but I wouldn't buy this for a family of coffee drinkers.
All in all, great little machine. We are very pleased with it and would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

AWESOME LITTLE POT

05/15/2014
By ,
Philly burbs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My BF got me a Kerug which I love and for the taste it can't be beat...great for when you are at home, but I like to take coffee to work and one cup does not cut it and making multiple cups gets redundant.
I am OCD about having anything WITHOUT an automatic shutoff, which is hard to find in the 5 cup size. THIS IS PERFECT for me...some in a cup to start out with and fill my 16 oz. mug.
The mesh filter it comes with does stain...not a big deal..especially for the price..just use #2 cone shape filters.
The ONLY negative is when you pour it it is hard to NOT spill some, but a quick wipe with a paper towel fixes that....
For something on the low end of coffee makers, I don't think you can beat it.
As for the timer...I just have it set to go and push the brew button while I am getting dressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Great Little Coffee Maker

06/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked and looked for a 4-5 cup coffee maker with a permanent filter and finally found it and I am so pleased. It makes great coffee, I have my permanent filter, water filter and it is programmable too - what more could you ask for in a small coffee maker for the price. I have seen the same thing but it was much more expensive - like starting at $50.00. If you purchase this, you will not be sorry.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Nice Coffee Maker

12/01/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my old 12 cup coffee maker died last night so i went online and read reviews here. i went off to walmart this morning and saw this one sitting out on display. the stainless steel is nice looking, it's compact. the first thing i did was check to see how the lid felt. if it was flimsy feeling i wasn't going to get it. i hate flimsy lids, and assume it's a cheap-made product.
this little maker doesn't look or feel cheap. i can't say about it's durability because i've only had it for about 6 hours, but i can say it makes a great cup of joe. the clock it easy to set, so is the auto feature. one interesting thing to note when setting it to brew later......the time you set it for, say 7:15am, it will be ready at that time, not start brewing at that time. i've never had a programmable coffee maker so i don't know if that normal or not. i just assumed it would start at the time i set, not be ready. not that it matters, in fact i love it!
i usually drink two cups of coffee within an hour to hour and a half. the warming plate kept the coffee nice and hot. i will keep the wire screen filter as a back up. i have some #2 cone filters i want to use up and they work nicely with this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

scotwild1

06/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already have one of these, for over two years now. I bought it for my girlfriend. Inexpensive, easy to use, no problems.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Great for two

06/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our single cup coffee brewer recently went out to garbage. This was a great inexpensive replacement option for just two people. Just as good for about $100 less. Uses #2 cone filters for easy cleaning. There is a optional internal water filter that comes with it. We don't use it because our house water is filtered already. But you might want to check on replacement filters before buying this.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Good coffee

06/21/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this coffee pot does a great job! The coffee is the hottest I have had out of several different pots. It is fast and makes a good cup of coffee. The problem I have is that I can't pour it into the cup!! Maybe there is a trick to that, but I pour carefully and it goes on the counter! grrrrr
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Perfect so far!

08/01/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this 5 cup coffee maker and am so far pleased with it. It is just the right size for one person who drinks a few cups of coffee in the morning. After reading all of the reviews, I have come to the conclusion that like anything in life, we sometimes do get a 'lemon'. Walmart has a great return policy, so if a lemon does come along, just return it. Peace!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Excellent item, very fast delivery

05/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy very much the coffee this little machine makes.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

I LOVE it....

12/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this sweet little coffee maker to replace my aged Braun 12-cup coffee maker after years of using it to make only 4 cups (16 oz) each morning. I rarely use the programmable functions on these coffee makers, being more interested in the auto-off function as I am often in a hurry leaving the house for work and forget to turn things off. I like the permanent filter it came with....I had to buy one for my old Braun. It brews quickly and quietly, giving a single "beep" when its finished. No need to buy paper filters. I won't use the charcoal filter option as I use bottled drinking water, not tap water, because local Florida tap water is too chlorinated and tastes bad to me. If you only need to make up to 4 cups of coffee each morning, this is a very good coffee maker to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Good pot

10/16/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this coffee maker even though the "Keep hot" only keeps it warm. For those that say the pot drips, I'm on my fourth pot and the only time it dripped was on my second cup of coffee when I tried to pour it too fast. Pour it, not slow, but not fast and it will not drip. If it dripd, it is your fault. The 'Insturction Manual' was a little vague but I got through it just skimming and looking at the pictures. The Plastic thing that holds the water filter is shown to open with a twist. Mine didn't I finally figured out that it opens from the top of the "bucket." The filter itself is flat on one end and rounded on the other. I was worried that I wouldn't know which end was up, but it will only go in one way. Those that can't find the filters for sale, try Walmart! I got a pack of several, probably a couple of years worth when I got the coffee maker. They are shown on the same page as the coffee maker. The timer works great and is easy to program, once you figure it out. I like the Coffee maker and, if you are looking for a inexpensive five cup coffee maker, this one is good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Not Ready For Prime Time

04/15/2013
By ,
Midwest
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This appears to be a new product. Hopefully future versions of this will perform better than the one I received. After getting it home, decided to run couple of pots of clear water through it. During first attempt, it moved about three cups of water into pot and then it stopped. Dumped remaining water and tried again. It look around 45 minutes for all five cups to flow. In hopes of the "third times a charm" thing working, tried again and five cups of water took a tick over an hour to completely go through. All three attempts were accompanied by a large amount of steam and popping, gurgling noises. Purchased this for work and don't think co-workers would appreciate the loud gurgling noises and steam across their desks. Boxed it back up and returned it. Hopefully othe customers get one that functions better than the one I received.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ventura, CA
WINNER!
Posted 04/20/2013
Unbelievably thorough owners manual although controls are simple. Coffee brews at 170 degrees; not perfect, but acceptable for ground extraction and a reasonably hot cup of coffee. The Keep Warm plate can be configured up to 3 hours versus a static one-hour-only on some models, and the temperature is consistent throughout. The no-drip tip is a most welcome feature. I ran two pots of filtered water before initial use and have not sensed any plastic odor. After rinsing, I leave the lid open slightly when not in use to air the unit. Have had this for only a day so I can't comment on it's longevity, but right now it's a 5 Star Winner.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Charcoal Water Filters

01/27/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Where can I get Charoal Water Filters for this coffee maker and why don't Walmart sell them in store - You sold me the coffee maker
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

5 c coffee maker

06/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this little coffee maker! Makes coffee quickly and keeps it hot! Programmable to! Highly recommend it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 267 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next