Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Farberware FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Farberware FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Let the FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker ease your morning routine. Thanks to its advanced automatic brewing function, you can wake up to a freshly brewed pot without the hassle of your pre-cup haze. This black and stainless steel FARBERWARE coffee maker filters water before brewing for a purer flavor. A convenient keep-warm function allows you to leave some coffee in the pot and come back for more later. This brewed coffee maker has a simple control panel and a dripless pour carafe for easy brewing. Ideal for household use, this FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker can also meet the demands of office use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.094 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(171 Reviews) 158
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
100
4 stars
35
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation82%141 out of 171reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions | 162 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
100
4 stars
35
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Perfect Coffee Pot For On The Go Person

04/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love the design and aesthetics of this coffee pot. It is great just for a single person. I really enjoy that it has a filter to filter out the chlorine and everything. I notice a difference in the coffee. Also love that it has an Auto make feature. I also love the filter. No need to worry about buying any more filters! I did have the same one previously however I broke the pot after trying to clean the inside of it. So only use a washcloth on the carafe not on of those brushes etc.
Love the auto feature on this so my coffee is ready as soon as I wake up. And even if the power goes out your coffee is still ready in the morning! How do I know that? I have a UPS battery backup on my computer and get a notification every time the power goes out. This is a great feature and is probably unknown.
For $20.00 YOU CANNOT GO WRONG HERE!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Not Cuisinart or Kuerig, but not priced like those

02/15/2014
By ,
Rochester, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hard to beat for the price - it looks good, and it makes good coffee fast! It has a MUCH better digital display than other coffee makers in this price range - it actually has TWO brightness levels - (it gets brighter when you program it.) And programming the time and timer is easy with a quality feel to the buttons. Also, it has an audible "beep" when programs are entered and when the coffee is done brewing. NEGATIVES: the supplied re-usable filter tends to let a small amount of very fine particles (powder) slip thru into the coffee. It tends to settle to the bottom of the pot, so I just pour all but a very small amount out of the carafe and then I rinse the rest out. Using the small PAPER cone-style filters (instead) also remedies that. Also, there is condensation that builds up, so to prevent mold, its a good idea to open the lid slightly after brewing to let it dry out. Senior boomers like me may agree that the "beep" should be a lower pitch or louder or both. But BUY it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

I am very Picky and I love this pot

10/22/2013
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will start with- I am very picky about my coffee pots. The price is great, and it is the perfect size for me. It makes 2 large coffee cups. There are a few things I would change.
I like it is easy to fill, pot does not drip water or coffee. The basket is easy to empty. Coffee is good and hot. I like the beep when it is finished. I use paper filters and I can just grab the filter and put it in the trash, no drips. I use paper filters, so the permanent one it comes with will be a nice backup.
There are a few things I would change. I do not care about the water filter- I will not change it. I do wish the program button was a One push to turn on the program. You have to hold the program button for 5 seconds, then hit it again to turn on timer. That is a little weird. The fill lid, does feel a little weak- but I am careful with it.
I plan on buying another one- for a backup. I love it. For one coffee drinker in the house- it is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

sweet little coffee maker

09/17/2013
By ,
grandville, mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I too had the General Electric coffee maker from Walmart, but I broke the glass carafe. I tried two others before purchasing the Farberware 5 cupper. I tried the cusinart 5 cup, stainless steel carafe coffee maker, thinking the carafe would never break again, but the coffee tasted awful. Then I tried the Mr. Coffee 5 cupper. Nice looking, but again awful coffee...probably due to the flat filter. (I believe the cone shape makes better coffee.) So back to Walmart I went to get another GE. None there but this was closest thing. I purchased it and am so pleased. This one is even better than the GE in that it is programable. The coffee brewed to 180 degrees...not bad for a $20. coffee maker and it has a mesh filter basket so there is no need to purchase paper filters. I prefer the paper to the mesh, but it's nice to have for when I run unexpectedly! Also, the carafe pours nicely. I hate it when I have more water on the counter that in the reservoir.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Perfect little coffee maker

08/30/2013
By ,
Worcester, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this coffee maker to replace my old GE one that is very similar (the GE one was just really old and I wanted a new coffee maker). I'm extremely pleased with the Farberware coffee maker. I read the instructions that came with it and it is very easy to operate and maintain. I love the permanent filter basket that comes with it, because it's eco-friendly and I prefer using one. The coffee maker brews really fast and the coffee tastes great. It comes with a replaceable water filter, which I will consider changing down the road. A couple of minor downfalls: I can barely fit my hand inside the carafe when I clean it by hand because the opening is small, and the buttons are low-quality (but what can you expect for the price?). I think this coffee maker will last me a long time by my continuing to take good care of it. It is perfect for making two large cups of coffee, which is the most that I need. I'm glad I purchased this coffee maker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

AWESOME LITTLE POT

05/15/2014
By ,
Philly burbs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My BF got me a Kerug which I love and for the taste it can't be beat...great for when you are at home, but I like to take coffee to work and one cup does not cut it and making multiple cups gets redundant.
I am OCD about having anything WITHOUT an automatic shutoff, which is hard to find in the 5 cup size. THIS IS PERFECT for me...some in a cup to start out with and fill my 16 oz. mug.
The mesh filter it comes with does stain...not a big deal..especially for the price..just use #2 cone shape filters.
The ONLY negative is when you pour it it is hard to NOT spill some, but a quick wipe with a paper towel fixes that....
For something on the low end of coffee makers, I don't think you can beat it.
As for the timer...I just have it set to go and push the brew button while I am getting dressed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Nice Coffee Maker

12/01/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my old 12 cup coffee maker died last night so i went online and read reviews here. i went off to walmart this morning and saw this one sitting out on display. the stainless steel is nice looking, it's compact. the first thing i did was check to see how the lid felt. if it was flimsy feeling i wasn't going to get it. i hate flimsy lids, and assume it's a cheap-made product.
this little maker doesn't look or feel cheap. i can't say about it's durability because i've only had it for about 6 hours, but i can say it makes a great cup of joe. the clock it easy to set, so is the auto feature. one interesting thing to note when setting it to brew later......the time you set it for, say 7:15am, it will be ready at that time, not start brewing at that time. i've never had a programmable coffee maker so i don't know if that normal or not. i just assumed it would start at the time i set, not be ready. not that it matters, in fact i love it!
i usually drink two cups of coffee within an hour to hour and a half. the warming plate kept the coffee nice and hot. i will keep the wire screen filter as a back up. i have some #2 cone filters i want to use up and they work nicely with this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Almost great, but...

05/08/2014
By ,
Sarasota, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This unit has two basic problems. Mainly, the spout on the pot is so tightly pinched that you have to pour very, very slowly or some of the coffee will run over the edge and end up on the counter. In addition, the opening where you pour water into the tank is so small that it's difficult to fill it. And the skinny spout makes the situation worse: you have pour the water very slowly and accurately. Makes great coffee, but it's a pain to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Impressive for the $$$

07/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for something simple, inexpensive and stylish. This fit all my requirements. I like the reusable filter, however, I did buy #2 cone paper filters. I found that they are a little too long and I had to trim the top a bit each time I used one. Not too problematic, but after a while I just ditched that and put the grounds directly into the filter cup provided. The machine beeps when coffee is done, love that, and is also programmable. When you use the programmable feature, the coffee finishes the the brew cycle at the time you set it, rather than begins. I love the stainless steel look as well. It is small which is good for me, because I have very limited counter space. Overall I am extremely pleased with my choice. It's exactly what I was looking for. If you want something straightforward with an updated look, this is the one to buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

This Coffee Maker Is Great...

01/22/2014
By ,
NorCal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
for my needs!!! I had a GE product that was almost the same, but the lid cracked almost 2 years ago, I went into McGyver mode and fixed that crack by wrapping it in foil and it worked for 2 years - lol at my ingenuity!!! Well about 3 weeks ago, the darn thing cracked into pieces. I got online and ordered this one, went to my local WM and picked it up. The only problem I've had with this coffee maker is at first I couldn't figure out how to set the auto button, but before I actually needed to use it, I finally got it right.
I like that the carafe has smaller openings, I find this necessary to keep the coffee warmer until I am ready to fill my to-go cup for work. The more open the carafe, it seems the cooler the coffee gets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

For anyone who lives alone, this coffee is for you

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This maker replaces a G.E. unit also purchased at Walmart. Unfortunately, the carafe broke and Walmart no longer has parts. There is very little difference between them. Gladly, they make a good cup of coffee. Five cups is a bit misleading. How big is your cup? Here, five cups means two large mugfuls and maybe a bit left over. So don't expect to serve more than two cups. If that works for you, this maker will be just fine because it makes a great cup of coffee, assuming you buy good coffee to begin with. It has to be mentioned that with good beans and this maker, you get good coffee. So, why would an intelligent person pay more than $19.95 for a 5 cup coffee maker? Give up? Me too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Great Coffee Maker for anyone

01/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Quiet, programmable with a reusable mesh filter. Perfect size for a single person or couple.
This product was not on the shelves on numerous trips. (Friends had same experience months earlier.) Many other brands and models were stacked everywhere. We ordered on-line and the process was easy. Product came earlier than the expected delivery time (along with a shipment of others to stock the shelves).
This is becoming a very popular coffee maker so stores may want to consider keeping them in stock : )
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Hey, works for me!

12/29/2013
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was happy to find this little coffeemaker. It makes five cups and is easy to use. I use purified water, but it has a clever little wand with a filter receptacle if you use tap water. It's no problem to fill with water, and it makes a good brew. I don't use the permanent filter provided, but one could. I just insert a cone filter, #2, into the basket, and that works fine.
I paid nineteen bucks for this Farberware gem, so I consider it a bargain. It also has an auto shutoff feature and a programmable clock, rare on a "cheap" coffeemaker.
Bottom line: I consider this a bargain and it works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Great coffee maker

07/19/2014
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This coffee maker is perfect for my husband to have his 2 cups of coffee in the morning without wasting any coffee.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Brews an excellent coffee.

11/13/2013
By ,
new york
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use., comes with a permanent c offee filter and a disposable water filter to give your coffee tha professionally brewed flavor. It signals when brewing is complete and shuts off automatically after 2 hours. Great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Great coffee maker for just one person

07/10/2014
By ,
Cincinnati, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the quality of the coffee maker and that it doesn't take up too much space on the counter. It brews quickly and notifies you with a beep when it has finished brewing. I wanted a quality coffee maker without a huge price tag and this fit the bill. It was the reason I chose the 5 cup instead of a larger maker. I was willing to sacrifice how much I could make at one time for quality and I am very happy that I did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Great coffemaker for 2 people

07/13/2014
By ,
Gastonia, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes full pot of hot coffee within minutes. Great way to have fresh coffee quickly without the expense of a k-cup maker. Easy and quick clean up. Also, great space saver!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Perfect so far!

08/01/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this 5 cup coffee maker and am so far pleased with it. It is just the right size for one person who drinks a few cups of coffee in the morning. After reading all of the reviews, I have come to the conclusion that like anything in life, we sometimes do get a 'lemon'. Walmart has a great return policy, so if a lemon does come along, just return it. Peace!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Was almost perfect

06/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was perfect and worked great until one day this week, it just quit making coffee. The light comes on but it won't brew. Lasted a whopping 10 months.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FARBERWARE 5-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker, Black & Stainless

Makes Good Coffee

04/09/2014
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used Mr. Coffee coffeemakers for years. But my 4-cup Mr. Coffee that I'd only had for five months went out on me. This was the first time I'd ever had a Mr. Coffee coffeemaker to quit working that soon. The older models used to last for a long time. I didn't want to take a chance on any more of the new Mr. Coffee machines, so after doing some research and reading different reviews I bought this Farberware 5-cup coffeemaker. I needed a small coffeemaker, since I'm the only one in my home that drinks coffee, and I also wanted one with a programmable timer and light. So far the Farberware makes good coffee. I miss my Mr. Coffee, but I'm getting used to the Farberware. The only complaint I have is that I can't see the water level in it. I would give it 5 stars if the water level were visible.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 159 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next