Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox MDR533H/F7 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, Refurbished

Magnavox Magnavox MDR533H/F7 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, Refurbished

The MDR533H/F7 Magnavox 320GB HDD DVD Recorder makes it easier to watch your favorite shows on your schedule. If you have two shows that are on at the same time, you can watch one show while recording another. With a 320 gigabyte hard drive, the refurbished Magnavox DVD recorder has room for up to 371 hours of content. You can also record content to DVDs to watch later. With 1080p upconversion, this device records shows in sharp definition.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation90%18 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 51 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox MDR533H/F7 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, Refurbished

Your TV viewing experience will be transformed

07/16/2013
By ,
NYC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Distinguishing Features:
* Tuner
* Editing is simple and versitile
* Titling is simple for chapter or disc
* HDMI out up-conversion to 1080p
* DVD+R/RW fast transfer from HDD in SLP mode
* Full-featured for the enthusiast
Cons:
* no component input (RGB)
* negative reviews likely from technically challenged reviewers EXCEPT for defects (read on)
* no HDMI input
I/O:
There are NO COMPONENT INPUTS - Rear: only composite (VIDEO/L/R) FrontL DVI and another Composite
The Rear output is HDMI or Composite or Component (R/G/B)
Overall Rating: 5 stars - outstanding product
Aw Shucks: Get this unit while you can, last of its kind, you will be forced to go to computer-based PVR if you do not get one - read on to find out my theory as to why
Recommendations:
1. get the 3 year extended warranty, as the peace of mind is well worth it because you will likely use this every day.
2. I recommend +RW discs - no finalization required, no coasters ever, Memorex discs WILL NOT WORK (!). Check manual for compatible discs.
I am reviewing the refurbished 350 GB model of this HDD/DVD recorder/player/editor. The unit is made by Funai and customer service from the manufacturer is fairly easy to deal with. I know, because this was my third unit - each of the first two had different problems, so if you want the "deal" that is the refurbished model, brace yourself, as the QA may not be the best. I am going to guess that this is because most of the units are returned because consumers cannot deal with the complexity of operating a product such as this - as a result of receiving one defective out of every hundred returned, Funai likely grew very tired of throughly testing the returns. As the likely result of this hypothesis, these recorders will be discontinued (fact) next year, sending all non-TiVo consumers to the computer-based PVR [personal video recorder] solution. Great for TiVo, I guess, but what most people do not realize is that the editing capabilities of this machine make it very unique.
You can edit scenes - start and end delete
You can title chapters
You can title discs
You can select the thumbnail displayed for each chapter
You can also roll-back the streaming video (it runs all the time) and retroactively begin a recording. How cool is that?
The unit well suited for home video enthusiasts who do not want to deal with computer interfaces or software or those who believe in dedicated devices vs mutlifunction.
The device is guaranteed to transform the way you will watch TV, particularly with the programmable interval skip forward - say goodbye to AFLAK!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Magnavox MDR533H/F7 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, Refurbished

Excellent, We Love It!!!

08/27/2013
By ,
Quakertown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We can't say enough good things about this. With the hard drive, this is truly a 'set it and forget it' kind of thing. You can program it up to a month ahead of time, and forget it---you never need to remember to put a dvd in, it just records it! And you can record on it while you're watching a dvd, and vice versa! No more stopping what you're watching because you have it set to record.......We don't have cable, and we record a lot so we always have things to watch, and this works great! It's very easy to use too. The menu's walk you right through it. I know some people who record on it all the time, and they never could figure out how to use a vcr--that's how simple this is! It's also great for when you'll be away because you can record hundreds of hours with no tapes or dvd's to change!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
1 month limit is only for single futureprogram ...
Posted 08/28/2013
You can set all kinds of way-in-the-future recordings by using the Every Sun, Every Mon, etc. or Daily M-F, etc. options, which have no time limit. The only limit for repetitive programs is HDD capacity... the Mag will stop recording if the HDD fills up.
The 1-month time limit is only for a specific-dated program, like Sep 21, 2013.
Info and help files are here with lots more detail... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/0_10#post_12244086
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Magnavox MDR533H/F7 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, Refurbished

Works Well but Has Limitations

09/12/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What I like about the product:
*Has a huge hard drive that can record hundreds of shows on the lowest quality setting. (and the lowest quality setting still provides a clear picture)
*In depth directions that are easy to understand. There were at least four different directions for every set-up including connections to a vcr, dvd player, antenna, and cable box. I initially hooked it up to a cable box and after our cable expired, hooked it to an antenna.
*Program setting is very simple and nearly idiot proof. It will tell you during programming if there is a scheduling conflict. It has several options for daily, weekly, Monday through Thursday (etc.) and other programs. The channels are automatically loaded into the tuner during set up, so it's easy to select the correct digital channel.
*Very easy to make compatible recordings on DVDs. We taped several shows onto a DVD that played in our minivan.
What I do not like:
*DVR recordings are difficult to organize and identify. I bought the product a month ago and have read the manual from front to back. It's not possible to place your programs in folders. So if you are accustomed to cable company DVRs, this one will be disappointing.
*Menu interface is not intuitive; however, there are shortcuts on the remote that make it easier to get to the program menu or the recordings listed on the hard drive.
*Renaming the programs is possible, but requires using the numeric key pad on the remote in a similar fashion to texting on an old cell phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Some helpful tips ...
Posted 09/12/2013
On naming, you can set a timer program, then re-enter the timer menu for that program by selecting the 3rd option: Add Title Name.
Enter a title name with the keypad, as you described, and every recorded instance of that program on the Title Menu will not have the show title at the top, in addition to the other info and index pic.
Maneuvering a long Title List with many recorded titles is easy: use the arrow keys on one page of six title, then go fwd or back to other pages using the NEXT and PREV keys >>| and <<| (those keys are also used for Chapter moves when playing).
Info and help files here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/0_10#post_12244086
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Magnavox MDR533H/F7 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, Refurbished

Save monthly charge

07/08/2013
By ,
parma, oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dont have to pay the cable comp. a monthly charge to rent thier DVD player. It pays for itself
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Magnavox MDR533H/F7 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, Refurbished

Simple Pleasure

09/17/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My second Magnavox MDR. My wife loves them. Tossed all the other VHS/DVD recorders. First was so reliable and convenient we bought one for a second TV. We record on the HDD and transfer anything we want to keep or watch on another screen to the DVDs. Have had great luck with Radius DVD+RW discs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Magnavox MDR533H/F7 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, Refurbished
08/18/2013
By ,
Missouri Ozarks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We finally are free of Directv!!!!!! Have to do a little more than push one button to set up recordings, but the savings are worth it. We had gotten spoiled. We are not it the city, so we were told antennas wouldn't work for years here. Antennas have come a long way. We get 19 channels, that includes all the major networks. So this recorder was all we needed to be free. We can record one show while watching another. It takes no time to set it up. If you ever used a VCR with your TV years ago, all you need is a refresher course, which the enclosed instruction book provides.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Magnavox MDR533H/F7 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, Refurbished

Didn't work straight out of the box.

11/21/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product is defective and was missing a cord that was supposed to be included, according to the manual, so we had to use a spare we had on hand. Refurbishers and packers obviously not on the ball. Was iffy from the very beginning, but tonight we decided it is not our ignorance, that we understand and are following the instructions, that it is truly a faulty product and has to go back. It will not read a disk, although it did attempt to briefly once or twice in the beginning but then didn't respond at all. It records to the hard drive just fine but will not record to a DVD, neither something that was already recorded to the hard drive nor straight from the TV to a disk because it doesn't recognize that one has been inserted. The Toshiba DVD recorder online was rated very poorly, so I bought this one. No other brand choices except for a TiVo which doesn't record to DVDs and some brand I've never heard of, which evidently is the place who refurbishes the Magnavoxes because it's name is all over the shipping box and instruction manual. Very disappointed in the lack of choices available anywhere, not just at Walmart, although still a lot of choice in DVD players out there. Doesn't anybody make homemade DVDs of TV shows anymore?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Magnavox MDR533H/F7 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, Refurbished

Fits our needs

06/10/2013
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is really hard to find a player/recorder that also has a tuner. This machine is a good solution.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Magnavox MDR533H/F7 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, Refurbished

So easy to use!

10/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am soooo please with this new digital video recorder. I have never seen one so easy to use. And best of all, you can set it to record the same show every week PLUS when you take a bit of extra time to enter the program title--it picks up that title for all future recordings. Very glad I bought this!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Magnavox MDR533H/F7 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, Refurbished

Good product for the price.

11/09/2013
By ,
Bangor ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Because I bought a refurb, I still have concerns about product's longevity. Out of the box, it meets all manufacturer's standards. Also, on Standard Play the HDD seems not to have as good fidelity as a DVD recorded at the same level. HQ play is satisfactory.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Magnavox MDR533H/F7 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, Refurbished

Great for its versitility.

11/20/2013
By ,
Fraser, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being able to split with the pass-through and watch and record simultaneously is a pay once dvr.
Have not tried the HDMI yet but the s-video is dvd quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Magnavox MDR533H/F7 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, Refurbished

Better than expected.

08/24/2013
By ,
Helen Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The recorder performs better than I anticipated, it is easy to operate and less confusing than most recorders.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Magnavox MDR533H/F7 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, Refurbished
08/01/2013
By ,
23509
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a bit confusing but I have learned how it operates and am happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Magnavox MDR533H/F7 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, Refurbished

Working well

07/20/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recorded Wimbledon from digital broadcast TV, looks as good as live.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Magnavox MDR533H/F7 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, Refurbished
07/15/2013
By ,
Lenoir
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Magnavox MDR533H/F7 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, Refurbished

DVD Recorder/wDitial tuner

06/14/2013
By ,
NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have no Idea why your company would put a product like this on the the market for sale.
I spent three days trying to get the timer program to work,following the owners manual to the the letter and it would not record a single TV Program. I did get a refund,but can't understand why I should pay for shipping charges,for I product that doesn't work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
San Jose, CA.
I had same timer problem
Posted 11/11/2013
I had same problem to set up timer. Once I turn unit off(stand by mode) all the timer, program are gone. Called service department at Hunan, The guy with heavy breath over the microphone is rude, he told me just leave the set on all the time so it can keep the time. I told him this is my 2nd set, I know it should not leave on all the time that not only wear out the hard disc but also waste energy, then, he hang up on me. I returned to WalMart without problem. Hunan know this problem at least 5 years ago and never try to correct them( see web side for this product). Lucky my first set did not have this problem, but have problem to finalize the DVD. The service department told me to empty all timer program in order to finalize the recorded DVD, yes, it works, but I have to reprogram again. I learned from web side to finalize your recorded DVD, Just go to L3 (DV in) to finalize your disc. Other than these 2 problem, I will say it is a good recorder to replace your old VHS recorder.
0points
Customer Avatar
NYC
Puzzled
Posted 07/16/2013
Perhaps there was something wrong with your unit? Out of hundreds of reviews online, yours is the only one I have seen with this complaint. I have never had a problem with programming this unit. It is very straightforward and pretty much uses the same roadmap as all other VCR interfaces. Had you requested a replacement, you would have paid nothing - I know because I had a defective unit. Walmart was fantastic in every aspect dealing with this issue, including hot-shipping a replacement unit on promise of payment. Who could ask for more?
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for Magnavox MDR533H/F7 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, Refurbished

Great recorder

11/15/2013
By ,
Ocean County, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have it connected to the cable outlet, and it records the over the air channels. PS this is the third unit in the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Magnavox MDR533H/F7 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, Refurbished
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5