Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nikon Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

Nikon Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

The L28 Nikon Coolpix Digital Camera creates beautiful 20.1 megapixel photos and 720p HD videos with ease. Featuring intuitive buttons, a large, bright QVGA LCD display and remarkably simple menus, the Nikon Red Digital Camera with 20.1 megapixels helps you capture special moments while still enjoying them. This Nikon COOLPIX Camera with 5x Optical Zoom includes two AA lithium batteries for up to 890 shots, a carrying strap, a USB cable to transfer pictures and a NikonView NX 2 CD-ROM. With 27MB of built-in memory with a SD/SDHC/SDXC memory card slot (memory card sold separately), the L28 Nikon Coolpix Digital Camera has a large storage capacity that makes it well-suited to capturing your memorable occasions.
Average Customer Rating:
3.578 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation69%44 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 40 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

Not as good as the CoolPix L26 I had

08/15/2013
By ,
Elkhart
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had the CoolPix L26 and loved it until my son dropped and broke it. I couldn't find that one but figured the L28 would only be an improvement. That wasn't entirely the case. It is delayed in taking pictures, it doesn't focus as easily, and after you have clicked the shutter you would expect to see the picture but sometimes it takes a 5 seconds or so before the image comes up. Also, there have been several times now where I click the shutter and it doesn't take the picture. When you have little ones that are impatient and move fast, it's frustrating when you think you have gotten a good shot and you either didn't get it at all or it took so long to tell because you can't see the image that if you need to retake it the moment is gone. To be fair, I have only attempted to use it a couple different times now. I have considered bringing it back as I am not satisfied but I need to give myself some time to play with it and maybe adjust the settings. I just never had these difficulties with the prior camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

Good general purpose camera

10/21/2013
By ,
Houston, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been buying Nikon point and shoot coolpix L series cameras since 2007. My family uses it for general go around shots. Pictures are clear and in focus. We tried GE and Samsung in middle but Nikon's no effort focusing is champ. Recording time is slow in this camera but I should not expect it to perform like my Nikon D800 or D5100. I will recomend to buy class 10 SD or SDHC cards for faster recording. Night time shots are acceptable, wish it came with 3200 ISO for night shots. This camera feels flimsy, plasticky and lighter compared to previous L26 model, that is why giving 4 points for value. Operation is simple, set in full auto, point and shot. AA battery is a blessing. We do not bother to use rechargeable, alkaline AA batteries serve well and we always keep 2 extra pairs for backup. Over all it is a good camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

OK BUT NOT GREAT QUALITY

03/06/2014
By ,
Rochester NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
bought it yesterday, and checked it out today... Going to take it back where I bought it for a refund... Here is a partial list of why...
> BATTERY OPERATED (All my previous cameras had a built in " rechargeable" battery pack that lasted longer than the batteries ) So you have to waste money on buying batteries ( and keep spares with the camera just in case your batteries drain out, instead of just plugging it in for a quick recharge. )
>Shutter delays when snapping a picture >Pictures are coming out dark and fuzzy & very "grainy" when using flash and auto flash settings , mainly when you zoom in for close ups ( and use close up setting)
>time stamp is in 24 hour setting mode .. can not set it for normal time ( in other words if you take a picture 2:00 pm the stamp will say 14:00 )
>video mode is not good quality at all... ( even my cell phone took better quality video )
and a lot more "cons" .... To me it seems as though Nikon just threw this camera together just to get a cheap low cost model out the door and in the market without care as to quality of the pictures Nikon is known for ....
over all it is a poor camera , I would only recomend buying it if you want a cheap camera and do not care about picture or video quality
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

It was a hit!

05/25/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this camera as a Mothers Day gift to my daughter. She loved it!!!!! She was impressed with the look, the clearness of the LCD display and the amount of megapixels. I added a 16 GB memory card and she's off to the races taking pictures. As the purchaser, I was pleased with the product and the price; Nikon is a top brand and Coolpix a successful model. I would recommend this digital camera to others. Only strange thing was that it doesn't have a viewfinder. But I figured, why bother?? Most folks hold the camera and look at the LCD display when taking pictures anyway
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

Good Little Camera

04/27/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like the camera. Would prefer a view finder. Glad it uses batteries that are easy to find in stores. Photos are sharp.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

Camera

05/28/2013
By ,
Saint Petersburg,FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Camera let you only take five pictures with no memory card but take excellent photos it controls its self with taking pictures and video with you doing nothing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

Love it!

05/15/2014
By ,
Florence, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this camera about 2 weeks ago. I've taken a ton of pictures with it and I absolutely love it! The pictures are so clear and true to the colors. It's easy to use and also very easy to upload the pictures onto my computer. I recommend it to anyone... great camera at a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

To much to do just to take a picture

06/23/2013
By ,
Ledyard, CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I find that if I use the auto landscape that the pictures come out terrible but if I go in and adjust the lighting, the pictures are superb. Also, when you click the take the picture button, there is a long pause before the picture takes so my little ones pictures haven't come out to well! Other than that, very nice pictures and the camera is very compact.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

Oh heck no Nokia

04/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture does not focus . Changing scenes does not help . My iPhone is the qualityI want and it is less MP, Apature....etc etc etc
And the cost was higher than listed..$119 vs $ 74
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

it is really easy to to use

07/28/2013
By ,
adams wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i was very delighted with this camera. it does take good pictures. loading them into my laptop was very easy to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

This camera works great!

06/18/2013
By ,
Jourdanton, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The images and video with this camera are of excellent quality. The 1024x768 images are the best for electonic frames. The camera is easy to use. The settings are easily accessed and easy to understand. Making settings changes on the fly are a breeze. Would highly recommend this camera for anyone to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

Awful...

10/01/2013
By ,
15650
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have been wanting a point & shoot for months, just bought this a few hours ago and I'm taking it back after I write this...
It is the SLOWEST camera I have ever held. I'd rather take pictures with my Nokia Lumia 5mp camera on my cell phone.
IF the camera realizes you are pushing the focus/capture button, it will take an easy 5 seconds. Then, once you've pressed 4-5 times for it to focus (green box indicates it is focused on the LCD screen) you can capture, which will take roughly 7 seconds to complete back to the capturing mode so you can take another picture.
I bought it for more convenience and better quality pictures of my two children, but by the time you get this thing out and focused you've already missed the picture you wanted. Very poor.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

Do not buy

05/22/2013
By ,
MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this camera because it seemed to have all the features I was looking for at a good price. However, it was a huge disappointment. There was a huge delay in the time it takes for the picture to snap after clicking the button and then it took at least 5 seconds for the picture to appear on the screen. The image quality was great in bright sunlight, but anything less than perfect sunlight, and the pictures were grainy and poor quality. I have returned this one and will try to buy a better one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wisconsin, USA
Check your memory card for speed.
Posted 05/04/2014
Check your memory card (SD) Card for the class. your card might be to slow for your needs. The higher the class on the card the faster it processes the photo into the camera save. Class 4 is NOT as fast as Class 10...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

Great lil camera!!

03/31/2014
By ,
Town of Tonawanda, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE LOVE LOVE this camera! The picture quality is amazing!! I had an older 12 megapixel Nikon Coolpix and this replaces it. It was a super great deal! The price is under $100. I love that it is so small and light! Great camera for a woman to carry around or for home use. LOVE it!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

The camera was defective.

08/22/2013
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The camera was defective out of the box. Did not even take one picture.
Not necessarily Wal-Mart's fault, and they did take it back and refunded my money.
Good for Wal-Mart. Bad for Nikon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom
07/06/2013
By ,
Milton, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this camera to take on vacation. Seems easy to operate, functions are easy to figure out. Nice camera for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

Good value,quality

06/29/2013
By ,
Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hope it came in with all the needed accessories - usb cable,case,16 GB memory card,etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

camera is easy to use .

07/06/2013
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the pictures I printed came out great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

don't buy it

12/11/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife does a lot of photography and has a large slr and we just wanted a good, compact, point and shoot camera for family outings. The camera arrived the day we went to see Santa so we thought we would try it out. We spent a solid hour trying to get the camera to take a good picture, tried every setting, and the best we got was a shot of the back of my wife's head as she took the kids off Santa's lap. Nine out of ten shots came out blurry, the camera takes a long time to focus and a long time to cycle between shots. We took it back and just decided to keep using her cell phone which takes a much clearer picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nikon Red COOLPIX L28 Digital Camera with 20.1 Megapixels and 5x Optical Zoom

Very Easy to Use

08/30/2013
By ,
Houston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like Nikon digital cameras. The last one I have still a good camera except the camera battery is getting hard to find & when found, its cost is $40. I've only had it 2 years!! Forget that. Wish I had known that it was given to me. I'd have exchanged it . But this Nikon uses AA batteries. Everybody has those in their house. I made sure of the battery type this time. The other camera was given to me as a gift & was very technical. This one is so much simpler to use & being already accustomed to Nikon's, had no trouble getting used to it. The zoom on this is much much better & is better 'pixel-ed'. Hopefully I will have this one for a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1 2 3 Next