Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hewlett Packard HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Hewlett Packard HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

The HP Pavilion g7 gives you everything you need to keep in touch, get it done and have some fun, all in a distinctive design. Update your Windows 8 PC to Windows 8.1 for free through the Windows Store
Average Customer Rating:
4.248 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(161 Reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
50
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation89%144 out of 161reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 184 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
50
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Nice big screen and keyboard!

11/09/2013
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a replacement of a Gateway 17 inch screen laptop purchased back in antiquity (2004) which worked well for its time, but was heavy, and XP is about to die. This HP machine caught my eye mostly due to price. Wow. Then I checked the specs and was suitably impressed with its capabilities for the money.
Windows 8 OS is a kick in the pants, however. While it has nothing to do with this machine specifically, the HP laptop comes with that OS, and that OS is reminiscent of what Vista was. Oh well. The 8.1 upgrade from Microsoft eases a little of the angst, but when one wants to switch programs or power down the machine, it takes a bit to figure that out.
Nice computer. Looks nice, shiny, and the keyboard is full. I did have to call HP support to swap out the optical drive, as it would not open when the silver button on the side was depressed. But after some on-line tech support chat with individuals on the other side of the Earth, a working drive arrived on my door-step, and all is well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Good product, few complaints

01/15/2014
By ,
Prairieville, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the weight and style of the laptop. The screen graphics are great. I only have 3 complaints. I do not like the rough mouse pad on the laptop. If you work a lot on it, it makes your finger tips very sensitive/irritated. The cd/dvd burner works fine but I feel like this could be a problem in the future. It just feels like that piece is cheap - it's somewhat noisy and doesn't open and close smoothly. The only other complaint I have is the Windows version. While this laptop isn't really at fault for this new program/version of Windows - it would be nice if I could shut off the sensitive mouse pad so that IF my fingers get too close to the edge it doesn't bring everything onto the screen. If you've worked in the new Windows on a laptop - you will know what I'm talking about. Overall however, I feel this is a good and affordable product with a nice size screen with good options. I actually bought a second one just like it for my son for college.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Good Value but Not For Novices

11/30/2013
By ,
SW Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This laptop is powerful with a fast quad processor, plenty of memory, 2x USB 3.0 ports and a decent hard drive. The wide screen is vibrant.
When I unpacked mine, I thought someone forgot to include the DVD containing the operating system and drivers. I was disappointed to learn it's not part of the product. I had planned to use Windows 7 initially and maybe upgrade to something newer in the future.
IMHO this is NOT a good laptop for Windows 8; it lacks a touch screen and starts up with a bewildering interface ill-suited to its little touch pad. I know that Microsoft released Windows 8.1 to quell some of the objections to Windows 8. I connected the laptop to my router with a cable and began looking for the Windows Update program. I finally located it and started installing the Windows 8 updates and then the 8.1 upgrade. IT TOOK 10 HOURS!
So, I recommend you weigh this laptop against one with a touch screen or revert to an earlier Windows version.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FLORIDA
OS WINDOWS 8 DVD
Posted 04/06/2014
They have not included that operating system dvd for many years, maybe since 05 or so. They figure you can make your own. Actually the pc will keep reminding you do so forever. You can also buy it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

very fast and smooth

10/19/2013
By ,
texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i got this to replace my old hp pavilion, and i was kinda scared about getting a refurbished laptop, but this one has been ok so far, but 2 things i dont like, 1 the numbers lock key dont light up to let you know when its on or off. 2nd after it had install updates, the sounds went out, after calling hp support, i had to totally reformat and install windows 8. i wasent very happy at that point. another small thing is it loves to update, the forst 5-6 hours it installed a ton of windows updates and had to be restarted alot.
as for power, iv tried to get it to lag and it never does, iv had 10 windows open, and running some online games with no lag. i installed a 120gb SSD drive and its really snappy now, start up time is less then 30 seconds. over all im happy now that the bugs are worked out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Amazing Laptop and it can do some GAMING!

10/14/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ok I've read a lot of the reviews on hear and before I bought this laptop I really wanted to know what it could do on gaming so that's what I will cover mainly since most of the reviews cover every thing else pretty well.
Ok I am sure you want to know what kind of games this thing will run and when I got it I downloaded a ton of them off of steam and a few of origin. It does not disappoint. First up Crysis a game that 5 to 6 years ago people if they were lucky could run at medium this laptop can run at max settings easy.Now lets say some thing like Resident Evil 6 , Dead Space 3, or Planet Side 2... Also all at Max settings :) . now I put this thing to the ultimate test with the latest game being Battlefield 4 since the beta is up on origin. my first thought was two things are going to happen when I try to run this. 1 its going to crash or 2 its frame rate is going to be so bad its unplayable. well to my surprise it ran and ran pretty smooth around 30FPS...BUT I did notice my laptop starting to get pretty hot after about 30 minutes of running BF4 which I had no problems with that on any other games.
So running some thing as intense as BF4, well this laptop can do it though I am not sure I would recommend it. I also have other games I haven't gotten around to trying yet like Skyrim and Fallout 3 but if this thing can run BF4 I don't think any other game is going to be a issue.
so verdict on being used on as gaming laptop? this is the best one you are going to find for the price and I am very happy with my purchase. just don't plan on in the future of playing any higher demanding games then what is out right now. if its available at the time I right this review , then this laptop should have be able to run it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Houston, Texas
Thanks:INFORMED GAMING CAPACITY & HELPFUL INSIGHT!
Posted 11/07/2013
Thank you so much for your review. I had been searching for a decent gaming laptop for my kiddo's Christmas present with out breaking the bank. Your review is what made me feel confident about making this acquisition! My kiddo's don't do heavy gaming. But, their favorite games need decent power to load without hiccups and to allow flow for their games. Your review rocks! Thanks again and Merry Christmas from Houston, Texas!!
+2points
Customer Avatar
Texas
Minecraft?
Posted 11/02/2013
How do you think this would handle Minecraft? I am wanting to get a laptop for my son to play Minecraft, he plays the online version. I don't know anything about games so I don't know how to compare Minecraft to those other games you've listed because I've never even heard of them. Any advice you can offer is appreciated! Thanks :)
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

A serious machine at a toy price. Has all the tech

04/10/2013
By ,
Sarasota FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only tech this has at halfway is the display. It is high contrast, but what I consider half retina, which is enough to allow serious editing of HD video and big megapixel raw photos. Can do the work of a media center, and uses all the power of PC software and adds the new apps that work with windows 8. (watch them mushroom). Be sure to download Start Menu 8 from www.download.com so that you can toggle from the app version to the classic PC version.
I was able to copy my old files, install my old software without exception, using 64 bit versions when available. I have a Picture/Video/Audio USB 3.0 hard drive and a Data/Backuo USB 3.0 attached all the time, and they are Fast!!! Keep a copy of the free Spyware Terminator to clean the gemlins away on your web browser, and things will stay fast forever. (also on download,com)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Could have been sold as new.

11/13/2013
By ,
Herndon, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'd never have known. Screen big enough to view two pages side by side. At home it's hooked up to an Acer V213H running at 1920x1080. Using system memory for graphics doesn't slow things down at all. (works fine for videos, raw photos) I use both Acer and laptop screens simultaneously in "extended" mode. Great, well thought out set of device connections. Great price. In the 1980's it cost $8,000 for a 21" color CRT, my Mac IIfx was introduced at 9-10 thousand dollars. It's amazing that you can get all these features for this price. I upgraded to Windows 8.1 for free. It runs fine. (With only a minor bug during installation. You have to go back and reset secure boot.) Would suggest purchase of either rubber/plastic bladders (better) or bubble wrap for carrying case. I used the protection lose. Maybe you can get a tailer to sew and cover the bladders with cloth. As a carrying case lining. None of the new carrying cases I've seen came with good drop protection. I couldn't find a carrying case with drop protection equal to an old IBM case I've been using since 1999.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great computer for great price

04/04/2013
By ,
siren, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this for on-line college classes. I did a lot of reseach before we decided on this paticular one. We did not want to spend 800-1000 on something we would likely replace in 2 years. Every one in my household has a laptop - for school, gaming, facebook, etc. We got this computer in a package deal, so also thumbdrive, wireless printer and very nice padded travel case. Some reservations on being refurbished, but with additional warranty through walmart, we went ahead and bought. Windows 8 takes some getting used to, but there is a desktop feature that operates more like the traditional Windows. The screen is huge, has a great pic. This also has surrond sound which is great. Netflix loads in about 3 seconds and the pic and sound are great! The processer is the best bang for this price point, quad-core is really fast - up to 2.8 GHZ - webpages are almost instant load . This also has a bit more built in GB than a lot of others (6), which is great for college - and music of course! If you are looking for a reasonably priced computer, I highly recommend this one. I am going to buy another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Little ease, lot of hassle.

11/02/2013
By ,
New Brunswick, CAN (near Houlton, ME)
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After having previously bought an HP refurbished laptop that served me well for years at a fraction of the price, I was thrilled to find this great deal on Walmart.com. Unfortunately it didn't match the same level of quality.
Finger mouse area and scroll were hard to maneuver. Certain keys would misfire typing the wrong characters or carrying out wrong commands.
This carries a powerful processor, but applications as simple as Solitaire had a slow load-up. To be fair though, apart from Mozilla Firefox (which ran smoothly), I only played with a few select Windows apps.
On a few occasions the laptop had paused during start-up leading me to have to force shutdown and reboot.
Of, course I will state what most others have mentioned and warn about this computer being loaded with Windows 8. The lack of ease in the operating system only added to my frustrations.
Even with a lesser graphics card and the 17" monitor at 1600 x 900 native res, the display was poorer quality than I had anticipated. Moving the monitor just a fraction of an inch would lead greens to turn purple.
Returned the product with zero hassle. Great customer service from Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great laptop at a great price

10/11/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The computer itself is great. It is fast, quite and looks like new. Win8 - I'm sure will be good once I get familiar with it. In the meantime, I downloaded a start button program that makes win8 look like win7 and with a click of a button turns back into win8. Making the computer usable from the first day and giving me time to get familiar with win8. www.download.com.
This is the Third hp refurb I purchased in the last 2 year and I am extremely happy with all models (Desktops and laptops). Way to go hp. You do better than any other refurb computer on the market.
Walmart has a great customer service. I purchased another brand of laptop refurb from Walmart online. I had to return it (bad display). I returned it to my local Walmart and given credit to my visa within minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Pleasantly surprised

10/13/2013
By ,
Olathe, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading many of the reviews (both good and bad), I felt that the price was well worth the risk to buy "refurbished". I am very happy after a week into ownership of this great machine. Speedy with a bright screen and terrific sound. I recently owned a 15.6 inch HP with an AMD quad and the sound on it was pathetic (beats audio). I would thoroughly recommend this laptop without reservation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Awesome Buy

09/30/2013
By ,
Buena Park, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked for this same computer elsewhere and it was more expensive every place I looked. This was the best deal for a great computer, refurbished or not, it offers all updated features and I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

HP Refurbished Sparking Black 17.3 Pavillion g7-22

04/09/2013
By ,
Romulus, Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I first opened the package, I was pleasantly surprised to see that it was in excellent condition. I powered it up and it loaded very quickly. The only glitch when I first started the process of logging in I made numerous user accounts not realizing I was doing so until I went to log on. I did finally delete the other user accounts. I have never worked with Windows 8 and am still in the process of figuring out all the little nuisances. So far, I have been very happy with the laptops capabilities and how easy it is to maneuver around Windows 8. I am still trying to figure out how to go from the Windows 8 app window to my desktop with one click. I am still researching this part of Windows 8. I loaded my Microsoft Word products and am happy at how smooth the process went. The programs are running very quickly and with no problems. The internet loads quickly, something that my older HP laptop was not able to do. I would sit for five minutes waiting for the pages to load. I did find out from my internet service provider that the slowness might have been because of the modem I was using so I upgraded that and with this laptop, it loads very fast.
Overall, I would say I made a good decision buying this laptop. The AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M accelerated processor and the 500GB hard drive are great value for the money. I would recommend this laptop and like someone said in his or her previous review do not let "REFURBISH" scare you. I did buy the two-year protection plan just in case. This is not my first purchase buying "REFURBISHED" products from WALMART.com. Previously purchased an Acer Iconia Tablet for me and a family member and another one was bought for my brother-in-law. So far no problems with those products. These refurbished products are just like new. Therefore, if you are on a budget do your research save some money and buy these just like new products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Had to return it 3 hours later

11/04/2013
By ,
coward, sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Whoever "refurbished" or "fixed" this computer did it incorrectly. I was unable to make any changes to personalize my computer without a system administrator password. My computer geek friend who builds super computers told me that it was not restored to factory settings. Just fixed whatever was broken and claimed to be done and that the only way I would be able to use it would to be to go through this long process and end up paying even more money. Do NOT get a refurbished computer and if you do make sure you pay attention to everything on it and that you KNOW what you are getting yourself into because otherwise you'll end up paying less money for a "better" computer that doesn't even allow you in the system!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Best deal hands down.

02/26/2013
By ,
Middletown, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plays all new demanding games Dead Space 3 on Ultra., Quad core, 6GB Ram. Blu-Ray, Fast Fast Fast! Refurbished like new. Not a scratch. Sweet sound, setup a friend on the wallet. Buy it I use it for school and games and surfing the web. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Best Budget Deal, Great Performance.

03/16/2013
By ,
Madison, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hi There Walmart Shoppers. We have found your bargain computer. This is our 5th refurbished item in general. It looked brand new when we got it. It will still have 90 day warranty, we paid the extra money for the no spill/cracked screen warranty. So we are good to go. We use the computer to: email, Microsoft office (excel and documents), store photos, iTunes, etc. We upgraded from an old dinosoar that only had 99GB of storage, with an upgrade now to 500!, more than what we need. For the basic person who just goes on the web and does basic things, this this is perfect. The number pad is perfect for doing budgeting etc. The thing came like brand new, it takes like 15 seconds to turn on and your on the web. Screen is like amazing compared to my old computer. If you are a family who's frugal like us, and in need of a new computer, we highly recommend!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Decent Media Laptop for under $400

11/04/2013
By ,
Troy OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not in the mood for a full length review today, so here is the short version:
Good: Display (17.3inch, good color and clarity)
Performance (quad core is snappy and responsive, video card is decent)
CD/DVD Tray (auto eject capable, large tray)
Webcam/Mic (decent quality)
Windows 8/8.1 (Comes with windows 8 preinstalled, with free upgrade to 8.1. Windows 8 is very efficient compared to 7 and earlier.)
BAD: Display :contrast is bad at any extreme viewing angles.
Performance :description states 2.5ghz processer. It is actually 1.4 in energy star mode, 1.9 in performance, and 2.5 when overclocked. Description also mentions software for the overclocking, but at this time, it is not easily found and I have not yet discovered it. Though I am familiar with how it works.
CD/DVD Tray : large side piece of tray also doubles as part of the body of the laptop. Not a big deal, but being used to slimline trays, it was a bit of an adjustment to make.
Body :overall is of good quality and is light, but I feel that their is too much springyness to the overal laptop. It makes it feel cheap. The screen also does not lock to the body of the laptop so the screen is held in the folded position by tension. This is also a personal preference. I also believe that there is too much space between the keyboard and the edge of the unit. I dislike the mini desk created by larger laptops.
Charger: The unit came with a straight style plug instead of an angled bracket. Personal preference for me is the angled type, but not a big deal.
Battery: Battery life is 4 hours on engerystar mode, internet browsing at most. Play any 3d game and it is under 2 hours. Put the system in performance mode, and it is lower still but any games you might play will run much better. Battery is also part of the body of the laptop so it is not completely hidden. I personally also dislike this method of storing a battery, but not a deal breaker.
Touchpad: I love and hate touchpads. They are great to have when no mouse or suitable surface is available, but they are always either too sensitive, too slow, or have extra features that sound cool but end up getting in the way. It is also not clear how to disable touchpad even though it is available to do so.
Speakers: As with most every mobile device, the speakers are tiny sounding and just do the job.
No HDMI input: Not a dealbreaker, but with out a tuner prevents use of the screen for any secondary use.
No blueray: Not a major issue, but would have been nice to have.
Windows 8/8.1: I have been using windows xp forever. It was hard for me to accept winsows vista, then 7, and so soon after the previous two, I feel betrayed and have to learn an even more dramatically different version of windows. That being said, if you have never used a computer before, 8 is not so bad, but for a more experienced user, it is a pain to relearn more inefficient methods to even pull up a simple program.
Refurbished Manual: The manual for this is mostly not very helpful in making my first refurb purchase a very comfortable one. This was made even worse by the lack of knowledge by the walmart sales people. So knowing that a factory refurb is a great buy already, I felt better buying it, but both the site and sales dont do a very good job of getting you to buy one.
In conclusion: The laptop is definitely worth the price. With a few tweeks here and there, a backup made, 8.1 installed, it is a wonderful computer. It does act more as a desktop replacement system than a carry around laptop, and keeping that in mind for my uses, works very well. Hp bloatware is minimal, and they seem to have a slew of support tools installed to help you which is nice. Though, all the redundancy is a bit intrusive with the user and demanding.
I would recommend this computer to anyone who wants to spend $400 or less and wants a good deal for a laptop in terms of performance and capability. It is highly capable and can play most newer pc games when in performance mode. (Have not tried to overclock with the "included" tools yet, as i have not found them.)
As a side note, the laptop has a AMD radeon 7000 series video card tied to an A8 cpu, which is actually better performer(similar to a radeon 6600 desktop card) than the A7/A6 with the radeon 8000 series cards (similar to a radeon 6400 at best).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

GREAT!!!!

10/31/2013
By ,
Pass Christian, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the computer only 2 weeks but it has been worth the money. I have never purchased a refurbished item, but I have read reviews of people who only purchase refurbished and are very well please with them. I will see, but so far I am very please with the performance of this computer and the price was outstanding.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Refurbished by HP.

03/11/2013
By ,
37846
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great laptop. Powerful, runs cool, battery lasts, and has a nice screen. Too bad I didn't need another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HP Refurbished Sparkling Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2269wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System
03/07/2013
By ,
Southern California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The computer itself is great and for the price it's outstanding. My only complaint is Windows 8. The computer is awesome. Ordering online and picking up at the store with free shipping was a no-brainer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 127 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next