Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProScan Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

ProScan Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

The Proscan PLT8088 WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC lets you connect to your world on the go. The Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) Operating System lets you complete any task and navigate your tablet with ease.
Average Customer Rating:
3.631 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation74%48 out of 65reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Nextbook

08/18/2013
By ,
Atlantic Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the Proscan 8" but when it arrived at the store it has a scratch, the CSR wanted to refund my money and have me go back on line and order another, but the Store Manager suggested that I look at what they had in the store right then. I did and found one I liked, it was a small $20 up charge but it has more memory, and runs faster with better software. Very Happy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 2 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory
07/25/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great, would like better sound. Must wear ear phones to hear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 3 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Defective Sub-par Goods

07/19/2013
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Both I and the woman at the store thought it was odd that the package was not sealed. Being that the tablet did not function as it should have, I will assume that it was something that was returned in the past, then resold to me. The one I was sent must have been the last, because the item is now marked "sold out".
The customer service during the pick-up and the return was wonderful.
There's no pats on the back for the company selling defective sub-par goods or causing me additional travel to and from the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 4 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Did everything

07/18/2013
By ,
Collins, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little tablet at a great price. Smooth browsing of the web. A Hugh amount of free games. plays Netflix like a champ. No buffering of video on Netflix. A small amount of buffering on videos on the web.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 5 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Quick and easy buy...great value

07/18/2013
By ,
Collinsville, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordering online was easy and just picked up at my local Walmart store...couldn't be any easier than that..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 6 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Good introductory Tablet...

07/17/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had been toying with the idea of getting a Tablet for sometime, but didnot wantto spend a bunch of money on something I was not sure if I would use. Decided to buy two of thes when they wereon sale- one forme and one for my techie dad. Dad uses his a lot, and I am still trying to tell all of the features of mine.
Only draw back so far is that I cannot get access to the Google play store to get more popular apps. The tablet has its own app store that is more limited than the Play store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 7 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory
07/16/2013
By ,
newnan ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know much about tablets so I am learning, but I would definitely buy it again if I had to.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Great cameran for a beginner

07/16/2013
By ,
wawatosa,wiscosin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would purchase another unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 9 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Tablet was crazy

07/16/2013
By ,
Miami, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The resolution is extremely bad, even with the cheap price is not worth it. The touch screen feature was crazy. I would not be clicking anything and all of the sudden it would start popping screens or closing windows. When I did click something it would not work; I had to touch it hard and many times for it to work. BAD Tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Review 10 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory
07/16/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought 2 tablets. For the price they were excellent for my grandchildren. The chargers that came with the tablets are horrible, you actually have to play around with the chargers for a good 15-20 minutes before you can see the symbol to let you know its charging.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 11 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory
07/13/2013
By ,
WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my granddaughter loved it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Perfect for the price

07/10/2013
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An excellent tablet for the price. First the bad: 1. the WiFi is not very good - you need to be really close to the router to get a good signal. 2. The screen is not too responsive, but it is good enough. 3. They have preinstalled some completely useless app store and (what's worse) made some effort to prevent the casual user from installing Google play. I have not put any effort yet to root this tablet, so I don't know how difficult this would be, but I managed to install 1 mobile market with no effort whatsoever. So I still get most of the apps that I would get from Google Play, and if some app is not available from 1 mobile, then it is fairly easy to download and install the APK file.
Now the good: first and foremost - I love the 4x3 ratio of the 800x600 display! And the 8" size makes real difference compared to the smaller 7" screens, while the device is still light enough and portable enough. Battery life is good and the CPU speed is reasonable. Keep in mind that I don't play games, so I can't say how it performs on those. But for Web browsing and books it is fine. Also a big plus (compared to Kindle Fire HD) is the availability not only of micro SD slot that takes up to 32Gb card, but also of hosting on the USB port, which comes with a little adapter from micro to standard female and lets you plug any USB flash drive. I am sure you can plug other devices, like a keyboard or a mouse, but I have not tried yet.
Generally it is a good tablet. Aside from the stupid and useless app store that they bundled it with, there are no other annoy-wares. A good clean installation of Android 4.1.
Perfect for any geeky type who needs an inexpensive but very useful toy. Much better than the expensive models which come loaded with annoy-wares and don't have the SD slots, attempting to scam the users to use the cloud.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory
07/10/2013
By ,
Ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Extremely slow, takes forever to download games, and does not have google play. Thought it would be good for my 7 year old but it's basically good as a calendar. Spend a little extra and get a better one, I returned this one.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 14 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

It was just as advertised, and well built.

07/10/2013
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After about 3 days with it, using it, learning about it, I must say it is very well built and did all it said it would. The size it fine. But for me, a 60 yr old guy with arthritic hands, navigating and using the touch pad and touch keyboard proved to be an experience I chose not to continue. Here is how I can best explain, on my regular PC with a regular keyboard I could do an action in say 5-10 seconds, with the touch system it would take me 3-4 minutes, and with me often hitting the wrong key and starting over. In a nut shell, I did not like the touch system, if it had a keyboard I would have done fine. I took it back and am going to buy a Net Book or a 14 inch laptop with built in keyboard. If you are young and have nimble fingers, you'll like it, if you are like me, I'd say spend more and get something small with a keyboard.Thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 15 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

skype is great but youtube videos are jerky.

07/09/2013
By ,
eldred NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i like this system
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Not compatible with Google Play store.

07/08/2013
By ,
Sacramento, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I should have read the comments from previous buyers. Returned the product after finding out its not compatible with Google Play. Bought for my 11 year old who couldn't download his games, virtually making the tablet useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 17 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Great tablet for a beginner . . .

07/08/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great tablet for a beginner or for a child under 13. Wi-fi doesn't connect as well - 15 ft away from the wi-fi box. I have several tablets - Acer 500, Polaroid, NextBook 7 and several android devices. This was great for the price, but wi-fi connection was a huge issue and trying to use the app market installed on the device was torture. The 1Mobile app market works fantastic with this tablet's operating system. The charge doesn't really hold, but as I said, it's great for a beginner - this tablet is for my 4 1/2 year old (yes, she has a tablet - it is cheaper than the kid models out there) and I purchased one for my 11 year old nephew.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory
07/08/2013
By ,
houston, tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tablet had trouble connecting and staying connected on Wi-Fi while other devices in the house were fine on Wi-Fi. I had no problem returning the product at the local store.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Great Tablet at Great Price

07/07/2013
By ,
South Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elsewhere, tablets at this price range don't work very well. The touchscreens aren't sensitive enough to the hand or the audio and video don't play well. But this tablet worked as well as the high end tablets. I would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 20 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory
07/04/2013
By ,
louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great little device to have
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next