Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProScan Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

ProScan Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

The Proscan PLT8088 WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC lets you connect to your world on the go. The Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) Operating System lets you complete any task and navigate your tablet with ease.
Average Customer Rating:
3.631 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation74%48 out of 65reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory
04/21/2013
By ,
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the money it is a good value. It is not a Google Play enabled device but you can download apps easily from SlideMe which is installed on the tablet. The other drawback is that although it has a built in microphone the 3.5mm audio jack does not provide for the connection of an external microphone. So, this does not allow for using the Square Register app with a credit card swipe reader that utilizes that jack's microphone connection. Without that connection the Square Register app is not usable and you cannot have the convenience of using a headphone while making telephone calls. Only having a forward facing camera is fine if you are only going to use the tablet for video chat but it makes it extremely cumbersome for taking photos of anything else. If your photographic interest is taking photos of something other than your own face then I recommend looking for a tablet with a rear mounted camera. If you are not familiar with Android type devices you may find that the accompanying manual and website support insufficient in aiding on using the features of this tablet.
Features I do like are the display size and clarity of the screen and the ability to add additional flash memory storage. The touch response of the screen is good and the battery appears to allow for extended periods of operation without the need to charge it.
The tablet has other features which I have not tried as of yet such as the ability to use the HDMI output, using the tablet as a hotspot and the capability of using it in a VPN network. It also has USB capability with an inclusded adapter to provide micro to standard USB connectivity.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+105points
Review 2 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Excellent Tablet PC

04/16/2013
By ,
Peoria, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I strongly recommend this tablet PC to anyone who is interested in this new technology and don't wanna pay tons just for the brand name. Since I got it, I am using 24/7, no problems, I upload stuff from SlideMe, as good, if not better than Google apps. and for the price, it's just a must. I probably will order one more this year for a backup :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+96points
Review 3 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

First Impressions

05/04/2013
By ,
Dallas, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a preliminary review as I have had this tablet only for a few hours. Unfortunately, Walmart may not let me add/subtract from this review in 2-3 weeks in future. But I will try and do the justice to this tablet it deserves.
(1) Walmart has gotten so much better in terms of shipping site to store. I ordered this item on 5-1-2013 and picked it up on 5-3-2013. Great. In the past, WM was very slow.
(2)This tablet has performed just as it was advertised flawlessly. It is very fast for an inexpensive tablet and the touch response is very good.
(3) The tablet is "much bigger" than a 7" tablet but much smaller than a 10.1" tablet. Many people like this size. However do not expect to hold it in one hand for too long as it is a little heavier and bigger than a 7" one, so it can become uncomfortable quickly.
(4) I am looking for a case for it. The regular 7" or 10.1 " won't do. Other accessories are pretty standard, like micro SDHC, 3.5mm sterio earbuds, stylus, etc. It has a USB port for connecting to your laptop or other media or storage. It comes with the cable. Great.
(5) It has HDMI port, though I haven't tried it yet. Great feature.
(6) No Google play store, but Slideme is adequate. Besides there is nothing any app-wise, at this time I want that is not already available to me otherwise.
For a $70 tablet 8"in size this may be a great buy.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+59points
Review 4 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory
05/21/2013
By ,
South Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two tablet so my son & husband can Skype while my husband is out of town working. It is great because now it feels like he is there with us!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 5 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

screen size was great (8")

04/30/2013
By ,
Sevierville, Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I opted to get an 8" screen, it proved to be just the right size..love it and the wonderful service I received when picking it up.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 6 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory
05/30/2013
By ,
Toledo, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love my new PC tablet. Lots of apps to download. Great price! I don't really care for the front facing camera. Other than that it's awesome!!! I would recommend this to anyone who is on a budget or wants a smaller version of an Ipad. Great product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 7 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Hardware is very good, a little slow with virus ap

05/09/2013
By ,
Galt, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall good product, meets spec, design and features meet price platform. Installed apps are slim, the Slideme app is not as good as Google Play Store but easy to use. Nice large, bright screen with good touch screen response. WiFi connected quick and easy, other features are HDMI to connect to a TV or Monitor, USB interface, so far good battery life.
Cons are:
1. the camera feature will not scan bar codes, only faces user, low res pics and video.
2. Cannot use Netflix to stream video
3. cannot use Audible for audio books
4. a little heavy for hand holding, need to get stand or use pillow to prop it
5. No Bluetooth interface
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 8 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

great tablet for the price!!!!

05/23/2013
By ,
Del Rio texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I boht this for my little girl as a gift , it has no compleins is working find for download music, videos and playing games .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Review 9 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Power & Wifi issues

05/15/2013
By ,
AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right off the bat, it didn't seem to hold it's charge very well. After the third day, it wouldn't power on. If you plug it in to power for a little bit, then power it on, it will. It showed battery was at 5% after over 8 hours charge.
Also, it would not show or connect to an Open wireless system at a hotel we were staying at while my cellphone and other tablet would be able to. It did connect to our wireless router at home just fine.
It doens't use Google Play to download apps so that was confusing at first.
Ordered a replacement - we'll see what happens.
For now, assuming these defects are isolated to this unit, it is as good a tablet as any other.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 10 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Compatability issues.

04/29/2013
By ,
Indio, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This tablet seemed to work well but I needed to uses Google Play to get the apps needed for my Norton mobile security program. Sadly, I discovered that this device is not approved by Google for Google Play. This was a shock since it uses the Google Android OS.
If not for this issue, I think I would have really liked this tablet. Since I could not use my security software, I returned it and bought a Samsung, Tab 2.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Review 11 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Horrible

05/21/2013
By ,
Fort Lauderdale, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Soooo disappointed !!!. This was my 9 years old daughter's first tablet and she was so upset when I had to return it back to the store. Thank God I bought the extended warranty on it !!! I could not get the tablet to download any educational apps. Even the app store wouldn't work. I took it to a computer guy and he couldn't get it to download anything either. Also, with the WiFi, even with great connecction, the computer moved slowly. Now we have to wait 8 days for another tablet but not a Proscan.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 12 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

It was just as advertised, and well built.

07/10/2013
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After about 3 days with it, using it, learning about it, I must say it is very well built and did all it said it would. The size it fine. But for me, a 60 yr old guy with arthritic hands, navigating and using the touch pad and touch keyboard proved to be an experience I chose not to continue. Here is how I can best explain, on my regular PC with a regular keyboard I could do an action in say 5-10 seconds, with the touch system it would take me 3-4 minutes, and with me often hitting the wrong key and starting over. In a nut shell, I did not like the touch system, if it had a keyboard I would have done fine. I took it back and am going to buy a Net Book or a 14 inch laptop with built in keyboard. If you are young and have nimble fingers, you'll like it, if you are like me, I'd say spend more and get something small with a keyboard.Thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 13 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Good size only.

05/27/2013
By ,
Detroit,MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wouldn't ever purchase this item again I returned this item back to the store, because I couldn't get this tablet to work properly an I wasn't able to get hardly any app, it was the worst electronic I ever bought they need to take it off their page.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Review 14 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Great Tablet at Great Price

07/07/2013
By ,
South Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elsewhere, tablets at this price range don't work very well. The touchscreens aren't sensitive enough to the hand or the audio and video don't play well. But this tablet worked as well as the high end tablets. I would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 15 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

good price

06/15/2013
By ,
atlanta
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There was not much volume,but after I loaded my music on the tablet I found the equalizer it was turned off turned it on the sound works fine. The colors on screen were kind of faded out after using and recharging about 5 times the colors look great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 16 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Dead on Arrival

05/10/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product charged. However, the touch screen was inoperable. So sad. I bought these for my children and one child had to do without. Returned to Walmart Store. Would have returned the other one but I already programmed it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 17 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Did everything

07/18/2013
By ,
Collins, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little tablet at a great price. Smooth browsing of the web. A Hugh amount of free games. plays Netflix like a champ. No buffering of video on Netflix. A small amount of buffering on videos on the web.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 18 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

TABLET FOR BOOKS

06/04/2013
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a simple tablet to download digital books from the library. This suits me. I don't do email or much internet with it. It is pretty much for reading books. Works great with OverDrive media from the library. Otherwise, a bit of a challenge to learn programs that will accept other forms of digital print. I love public domain, free books, so still learning what to download.
I really enjoy newspapers on my phone and was hoping to have the same on the tablet, but it's a bit too slow loading. I'm satisfied with the books.
There are other fun apps to play with, but seems a little pointless with a system that seems limited. I understood ahead of time what limitations might be, so I am very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 19 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

stopped working after two days.

05/14/2013
By ,
md
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i purchased this item for my 6 year old son for his birthday, got it home and it seem perfect for him. i thought i had a good buy but after two day it stopped working. my son was so upset. the screen just went black for no apparent reason and it wouldnt charge.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

not worth the trouble

05/26/2013
By ,
Trenton, Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have always had good luck with Walmart's site to store deliveries, but this product was terrible. I returned it the next day. The clarity of the screen was actually blurry. If it had been free, I would not have kept it. Do yourself a favor and buy a much better and probably more expensive tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+2points
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next