Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProScan Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

ProScan Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

The Proscan PLT8088 WiFi 8" Touchscreen Tablet PC lets you connect to your world on the go. The Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean) Operating System lets you complete any task and navigate your tablet with ease.
Average Customer Rating:
3.631 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation74%48 out of 65reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

TABLET FOR BOOKS

06/04/2013
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a simple tablet to download digital books from the library. This suits me. I don't do email or much internet with it. It is pretty much for reading books. Works great with OverDrive media from the library. Otherwise, a bit of a challenge to learn programs that will accept other forms of digital print. I love public domain, free books, so still learning what to download.
I really enjoy newspapers on my phone and was hoping to have the same on the tablet, but it's a bit too slow loading. I'm satisfied with the books.
There are other fun apps to play with, but seems a little pointless with a system that seems limited. I understood ahead of time what limitations might be, so I am very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 22 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory
05/08/2013
By ,
auburn ala
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this table . It came out the box ready to go. The ordering on line was the best thing I have ever done'because I have never done it before. The only thing I didn't like about ordering on line was the Price went down by 20.00 after I had ordered with in two days. Other than that the table is the best! I would do it again.
Sharon of auburn ala.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 23 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory
07/13/2013
By ,
WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my granddaughter loved it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 24 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

First Impressions

05/04/2013
By ,
Dallas, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a preliminary review as I have had this tablet only for a few hours. Unfortunately, Walmart may not let me add/subtract from this review in 2-3 weeks in future. But I will try and do the justice to this tablet it deserves.
(1) Walmart has gotten so much better in terms of shipping site to store. I ordered this item on 5-1-2013 and picked it up on 5-3-2013. Great. In the past, WM was very slow.
(2)This tablet has performed just as it was advertised flawlessly. It is very fast for an inexpensive tablet and the touch response is very good.
(3) The tablet is "much bigger" than a 7" tablet but much smaller than a 10.1" tablet. Many people like this size. However do not expect to hold it in one hand for too long as it is a little heavier and bigger than a 7" one, so it can become uncomfortable quickly.
(4) I am looking for a case for it. The regular 7" or 10.1 " won't do. Other accessories are pretty standard, like micro SDHC, 3.5mm sterio earbuds, stylus, etc. It has a USB port for connecting to your laptop or other media or storage. It comes with the cable. Great.
(5) It has HDMI port, though I haven't tried it yet. Great feature.
(6) No Google play store, but Slideme is adequate. Besides there is nothing any app-wise, at this time I want that is not already available to me otherwise.
For a $70 tablet 8"in size this may be a great buy.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+59points
Review 25 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Proscan tablet

06/30/2013
By ,
Redford, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product is what I expected. Arrived in a timely fashion and looks very professional. Works well and although I am new to tablets, I know I will be using it like a pro very soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 26 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

skype is great but youtube videos are jerky.

07/09/2013
By ,
eldred NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i like this system
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Hardware is very good, a little slow with virus ap

05/09/2013
By ,
Galt, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall good product, meets spec, design and features meet price platform. Installed apps are slim, the Slideme app is not as good as Google Play Store but easy to use. Nice large, bright screen with good touch screen response. WiFi connected quick and easy, other features are HDMI to connect to a TV or Monitor, USB interface, so far good battery life.
Cons are:
1. the camera feature will not scan bar codes, only faces user, low res pics and video.
2. Cannot use Netflix to stream video
3. cannot use Audible for audio books
4. a little heavy for hand holding, need to get stand or use pillow to prop it
5. No Bluetooth interface
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 28 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

good price

06/15/2013
By ,
atlanta
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There was not much volume,but after I loaded my music on the tablet I found the equalizer it was turned off turned it on the sound works fine. The colors on screen were kind of faded out after using and recharging about 5 times the colors look great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 29 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory
05/29/2013
By ,
Columbus
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this item for my grandson and I think it is a valuable product. I think e really enjoys it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 30 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

great for price

05/27/2013
By ,
Morgantown, wv
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is great for the price. WiFi range isn't that great. It is a dumbed down kindle...kind of reminds me of my smart phone. You can do pretty much the same things you would on a kindle, it just may take a little longer. Great for a knock off. Doesn't seem like it is 8 inches. Shipping was super fast!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 31 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Perfect for the price

07/10/2013
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An excellent tablet for the price. First the bad: 1. the WiFi is not very good - you need to be really close to the router to get a good signal. 2. The screen is not too responsive, but it is good enough. 3. They have preinstalled some completely useless app store and (what's worse) made some effort to prevent the casual user from installing Google play. I have not put any effort yet to root this tablet, so I don't know how difficult this would be, but I managed to install 1 mobile market with no effort whatsoever. So I still get most of the apps that I would get from Google Play, and if some app is not available from 1 mobile, then it is fairly easy to download and install the APK file.
Now the good: first and foremost - I love the 4x3 ratio of the 800x600 display! And the 8" size makes real difference compared to the smaller 7" screens, while the device is still light enough and portable enough. Battery life is good and the CPU speed is reasonable. Keep in mind that I don't play games, so I can't say how it performs on those. But for Web browsing and books it is fine. Also a big plus (compared to Kindle Fire HD) is the availability not only of micro SD slot that takes up to 32Gb card, but also of hosting on the USB port, which comes with a little adapter from micro to standard female and lets you plug any USB flash drive. I am sure you can plug other devices, like a keyboard or a mouse, but I have not tried yet.
Generally it is a good tablet. Aside from the stupid and useless app store that they bundled it with, there are no other annoy-wares. A good clean installation of Android 4.1.
Perfect for any geeky type who needs an inexpensive but very useful toy. Much better than the expensive models which come loaded with annoy-wares and don't have the SD slots, attempting to scam the users to use the cloud.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 32 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory
05/30/2013
By ,
Toledo, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love my new PC tablet. Lots of apps to download. Great price! I don't really care for the front facing camera. Other than that it's awesome!!! I would recommend this to anyone who is on a budget or wants a smaller version of an Ipad. Great product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 33 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory
07/04/2013
By ,
louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great little device to have
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 34 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

It was just as advertised, and well built.

07/10/2013
By ,
Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After about 3 days with it, using it, learning about it, I must say it is very well built and did all it said it would. The size it fine. But for me, a 60 yr old guy with arthritic hands, navigating and using the touch pad and touch keyboard proved to be an experience I chose not to continue. Here is how I can best explain, on my regular PC with a regular keyboard I could do an action in say 5-10 seconds, with the touch system it would take me 3-4 minutes, and with me often hitting the wrong key and starting over. In a nut shell, I did not like the touch system, if it had a keyboard I would have done fine. I took it back and am going to buy a Net Book or a 14 inch laptop with built in keyboard. If you are young and have nimble fingers, you'll like it, if you are like me, I'd say spend more and get something small with a keyboard.Thanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 35 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory
04/21/2013
By ,
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the money it is a good value. It is not a Google Play enabled device but you can download apps easily from SlideMe which is installed on the tablet. The other drawback is that although it has a built in microphone the 3.5mm audio jack does not provide for the connection of an external microphone. So, this does not allow for using the Square Register app with a credit card swipe reader that utilizes that jack's microphone connection. Without that connection the Square Register app is not usable and you cannot have the convenience of using a headphone while making telephone calls. Only having a forward facing camera is fine if you are only going to use the tablet for video chat but it makes it extremely cumbersome for taking photos of anything else. If your photographic interest is taking photos of something other than your own face then I recommend looking for a tablet with a rear mounted camera. If you are not familiar with Android type devices you may find that the accompanying manual and website support insufficient in aiding on using the features of this tablet.
Features I do like are the display size and clarity of the screen and the ability to add additional flash memory storage. The touch response of the screen is good and the battery appears to allow for extended periods of operation without the need to charge it.
The tablet has other features which I have not tried as of yet such as the ability to use the HDMI output, using the tablet as a hotspot and the capability of using it in a VPN network. It also has USB capability with an inclusded adapter to provide micro to standard USB connectivity.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+105points
Review 36 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

I think its great

05/20/2013
By ,
El Paso, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my youngest kid and It is great! my kid love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 37 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

great tablet for the price!!!!

05/23/2013
By ,
Del Rio texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I boht this for my little girl as a gift , it has no compleins is working find for download music, videos and playing games .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Review 38 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory
05/21/2013
By ,
South Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two tablet so my son & husband can Skype while my husband is out of town working. It is great because now it feels like he is there with us!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 39 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Did everything

07/18/2013
By ,
Collins, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little tablet at a great price. Smooth browsing of the web. A Hugh amount of free games. plays Netflix like a champ. No buffering of video on Netflix. A small amount of buffering on videos on the web.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 40 for Proscan 8" Tablet with 4GB Memory

Power & Wifi issues

05/15/2013
By ,
AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Right off the bat, it didn't seem to hold it's charge very well. After the third day, it wouldn't power on. If you plug it in to power for a little bit, then power it on, it will. It showed battery was at 5% after over 8 hours charge.
Also, it would not show or connect to an Open wireless system at a hotel we were staying at while my cellphone and other tablet would be able to. It did connect to our wireless router at home just fine.
It doens't use Google Play to download apps so that was confusing at first.
Ordered a replacement - we'll see what happens.
For now, assuming these defects are isolated to this unit, it is as good a tablet as any other.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
21-40 of 53 total reviews