Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canon Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer

Canon Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer

The Canon Scanner/Copier/Printer, MG5422 advanced media handling allows you to print on CDs and DVDs as well as load plain and photo paper at the same time so you are always ready to print.
Average Customer Rating:
3.406 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation69%22 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 28 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer

Real good printer for the price

08/18/2013
By ,
Mid Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This printer hands down beats the Epson printer that I just replaced. $60 cheaper and does much more, such as printing on both sides of the paper and printing on discs. The setup was a breeze, even for me (not a geek like my kids). The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is it takes way too long to start printing, and a bit noisy before it starts printing. The print quality is very good compared to my Epson 1500 series. An excellent value for $89 plus a free ream of print paper and a free flash drive to boot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer

Good Price for a Great All-in-One Machine.

07/25/2013
By ,
UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for something to replace my old HP printer. This was right in my budget and had all the bells and whistles I wanted. Pros: Sleek Design, Quiet mode, Fast Printing, Great Scans, Great Price. Cons: Takes almost a full minute or two to get started printing. (I will disable automatic shutdown so it will always stay on.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer

printer

07/07/2013
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice printer. Bought as a replacement for another brand which didn't last long. Always heard canon was a good brand. Very easy to set up. Nice looking. Easy to use. May take a little longer to print, but not that long and great for me as I don't need high speed. Print quality is nice. Love how the tray pops out for the copied print to come out on. Great communication with puter-ie., great toolbar. Yes I recommend this for anyone. We shall see how long the ink and printer last.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer

Beyone excellent!

03/23/2014
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great unit for the bucks! Print quality awesome! Try it you'll love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer

Good quality prints, slow start up

08/27/2013
By ,
North Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Takes quite a while to warm up but the quality of the prints are very good. Easy set up user friendly!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer

Great printer for the price.

05/24/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, I love this printer. It makes wonderful color copies quickly. I use a scanner a lot in my home based business & this scanner was difficult to learn to use as far as cropping & editing the scans. Not nearly as user friendly on the startup as my old Lexmark. My biggest complaint- no one carries the ink for this printer. Wal-Mart only sells it online. If they are going to sell a printer at a store, why not carry the ink for it there as well? Had I known this, I would have purchased another printer. But as far as getting the job done, Canon delivers on this printer for home use. Thumbs up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer

It is a great scanner/printer and easy to use.

02/25/2014
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It also has a lot of different photo layouts. Have not used the disc labeling yet, but am looking forward to trying it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer

Slow and disappointing

09/05/2013
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to replace a $25 HP printer that finally gave out after several years use. Size-wise it takes about twice the desk space as my old HP.
Because this printer offers wireless printing they are too cheap to include the $2 USB cord to use it wired. Also I power my printer from a power strip so that it doesn't suck power when not in use but this printer will not automatically power on when power is restored, you must physically press the power button on top of the printer.
Earlier tonight I printed a single black text page from Microsoft Word and it took at least 3 minutes to print the one page, 2 and a half of that was "preparing to print" which sounds like more head cleaning etc. And when you power it off it takes at least 30seconds to clean the heads and park them. I suspect I'm loosing more ink every time it cleans the heads than I have actually printed on paper. All of this time is significantly greater than my old cheap HP.
Also, instead of a paper tray just the width of the largest paper it holds, the entire side of the printer must open up which is that much more desk space you must leave clear.
I suggest you avoid this printer. I wish I had.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/21/2013
It's actually pretty common these days for printer companies not to include the cable! I have had 3 Kodak, 2 Dell and 2 HP printers and only 1 had the cable!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer
10/01/2013
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this printer! I just wish that it worked a little bit faster.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer

canon pixma mg5422

02/13/2014
By ,
TEXAS
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This printer scans well. prints well. I am giving it 3 stars because it is noisy, alot more than my old canon printer. I also felt it was misleading in the fact that a canon app had to be downloaded to my iphone in order to airprint. I had no problems connecting to my wifi.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer

Great Printer at a Great Price

01/23/2014
By ,
Kerrville, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Canon MG5422 has been all I expected and more. At half the price, it beat out the comparable Epson printer that I had previously tried to use. It is a great value and apparently is a good quality unit. Time will tell, but I have used this in auto-duplexing mode and printed nearly 100 pages of output.
The only Cons might be the noise, but I can live with that. The Pros far out weigh any possible bad features. The menu system and control panel can be a bit confusing until you understand how it operates, and that is the reason I gave it only a 'Good' for ease of use. Overall I think it is a great printer and value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer

Slow to print

12/02/2013
By ,
Dripping Springs, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love my printer. The colors are terrific. It is slow, esp. if you are use to a fast printer. One thing that I wished would have come with it is a users guide. It will do a lot of things according to my friend, but I don't know how to work it. All I know how to do at this time is click on print. That is why I gave it a lower rating on ease of use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer

MG5420 model

01/18/2014
By ,
Tampa, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Canon MG5420 model from Walmart store and it was easy to set up and I found it quite worthwhile. Only cost less than $75 from the store which was a bonus as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer

SLOW

01/17/2014
By ,
East Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Slow is an understatement. Have to constantly turn off and back on to establish wireless connection. Printing is good, slightly better than the replaced Canon MG5220 which I really liked.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer
08/30/2013
By ,
SEATTLE, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great. A few instructions were not clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer

A disappointment compared to HP

09/13/2013
By ,
Garland, Tx.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After having four HP printers, I thought trying out Canon Pixma would be a good move. My new printer is "louder", "Slower", "Heavier", and "more difficult to set up". I hope I will get use to it and
learn how to use it more effectively.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer

Shipped missing part and defective paper tray

11/01/2013
By ,
Levittown PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had other people than I try to load paper and commented the tray is defective - also paper that was supposed to be included was not there and another part also was missing. I thought Cannon printers had a good rep
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Print Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer

Okay

08/30/2013
By ,
Frankfort, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's an ok printer. It doesn't have the print quality for a photo that I thought it would have. It is also really slow to print, I generally go and find something else to do while waiting. The print copy is clear and I do like that. It also doesn't come with the usb cord that Walmart says is with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer

quality and value

09/29/2013
By ,
Rochester, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nothing is ever perfect, but this unit is great! I agree with other reviewers, it's a bit slow warming up. Other than that it is easy to set up, great prints, separate ink tanks for economical operation and Walmart offers it a very attractive price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Canon Pixma MG5422 All-in-One Inkjet Scanner/Copier/Printer
05/06/2013
By ,
AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a photo printer and this delivers! My only gripe is how cheap it feels. Overall all, prints beautifully!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next