Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for NETGEAR Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router

NETGEAR Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router

The Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router provides simple and secure wireless networking, with speeds up to five times faster than the older 802.11b wireless router protocol. This Netgear 4-port router lets you share your Internet connection with every PC in your home. Netgear's exclusive SmartWizard automatically detects ISP settings and walks you through each step of the installation, so you can be up and running in minutes. You'll surf the Internet, play online games, and download multimedia files in a flash. Netgear also provides robust wireless security from external hackers. With its award-winning design, this broadband wireless router will work almost anywhere in your home.
Average Customer Rating:
4.342 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(485 Reviews) 367
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
331
4 stars
87
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
44
Customer Recommendation88%427 out of 485reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
296 Questions | 552 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
331
4 stars
87
3 stars
13
2 stars
10
1 star
44
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router

Wireless Router

09/24/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great reception for a great price and fast connection. My girlfriend lives in my apartment building upstairs and in the back of the property and she can log on her computer wirelessly using my router with no problem. I actually bought it so I could use my laptop in my bedroom and access the Internet with not interruption, while my husband stays out in living room watching whatever on TV and uses his desktop computer at the same time with no interference. I'm very happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router

Nice unit

12/28/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've installed a few of these over the past couple of years, and have had great luck in all cases. The only potential stumbling block with this item is XBOX Live. I had to download and install an older firmware version in order to stop some issues with joining rooms, and audio dropouts. (Both with the original and 360 models.) The correct firmware version is listed on the XBOX website. The download was easy, and no problems since. Great piece from Netgear!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router

that was easy!

01/29/2013
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From box to complete set up in under 5 minutes for someone that does not have a clue about computer set up.
I bought this thinking I would have to wait for a geek friend to get it running. The instructions were so brief that I decided to try it myself. VERY EASY.
The price was ridiculously low, which incited this purchase. I ordered onlline and picked up at the store. When I got home I found Walmart made a price adjustment on the router, reducing the cost another dollar or so. What other store would do this proactively?
It works fine on IPOD, and I have ROKU TV set up, and that works like a gem too, all from this $16.XX router.
I'm sure the more expensive models do more, but this one does everything I need, and I cannot think of anything else I need it to do! I no-brainer for those sitting on the fence.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router

works good

12/18/2007
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
got this product at a second hand store with all contents. installed and hooked everything up. did have a problem with it disconnecting from network after a few minutes on wireless, but went in and changed the factory default transmit channel from 11 to 6 and have not had a problem since. would recomend this product highly. easy to install and get to work. follow all instructions from cd, and when configuring wireless,, change transmit channel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router

A nice looking piece of JUNK!

12/20/2007
By ,
Queen Creek, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cheap but you get what you pay for...
- Intermittent Wireless Connectivity
- I had to restart this router about 5 times per day
TIP: Spend an extra $20 and get the Linksys WRT54G Wireless G Router, you get a better quality and reliable router. TRUST ME!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router

The Best Bar None

09/05/2010
By ,
Newport, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this router for 4 months and have never had a problem yet nor do I expect one. My desk top did not have a network card so bought a Cisco Linksys USB adapter and works great. You do not need to stay with same brand. Wal Mart did not have a Net gear adapter so had no choice. They work seamlessly together. I get a full signal on both desk top and lap top, as they are both wireless. My Ethernet card on desk top burned out and had to use lap top to set up, no problem. I called NET Gear and they said was not a problem. There trouble shooters are great and eager to assist and with great knowledge of there product. Don't spend more for another brand you will be wasting your money. The company I work for is using net gear 100% no issues at all, had issues with Belkin. BUY IT AND BE TROUBLE FREE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router

DEFINITELY BETTER THAN LINKSYS!

01/04/2009
By ,
Houston,Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally bought the Linksys Router, and I could not successful install the program or router. I called the technical support, and after holding for an hour to get thru to someone I hung up. No equipment is worth sitting on the line for that long. So after browsing some other routers online, the feedback for Netgear was so great that I decided I would try them, and plus one of the previous readers stated that it worked well with VOIP, which in this case, I have Comcast internet which is ran thru my cable. I installed the netgear CD, followed the instructions, and I was up and running in 10 mins. It was very easy and I will recommend this to everyone. I wasnt familiar with the name, so that was why I was reluctant to buy it initially when I bought the Linksys Router which is 10-15 dollars more!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router

Excellent purchase.

07/19/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This router was recommended by my ISP. It took me less than 5 min to get my desktop up and going and another couple to add the Wii and other computers. Pretty much just plug and go. After trying for two days to configure another brand router, to no avail, this almost seemed to easy. Thanks Netgear for making this product so user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router

Great Product

10/16/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had 2 other routers and this is the only one that I did not have to call Tec support to install.
Installation was very eazzy with the instalation CD.
the reason I bought this one is my last one did not work with my VOIP but this one works great.. I am a netgear fan now..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router
12/07/2012
By ,
Marietta, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple set up! Works great! Connected to my home PC and got Netflix through my Wii from the wireless router signal to broadcast on my TV. The whole process, including signing up for Netflix took about 20 minutes. Great product. Great value.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router

PERFECT!!!!! Just what the Dr. ordered!!!

07/03/2010
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT router. It sustains the signal, and combines it with superior security! I can even get wifi outside my house near my mailbox!!!! I definitely recommend this router. The router stays on as it is needed for me to maintain a cell signal in my house(TMobile).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router

The price was right

03/06/2009
By ,
Addison, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This wireless router was a great price, but there were no instructions on how to really hook it up. I had to contact computer tech support and that was no fun. I also had to contact my ISP to correct any diagnostic issues. Since after all that, it works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router

Does the Job!

01/17/2008
By ,
Cleveland OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical because of the great price, but thought I'd go ahead and try it.
It works super and so easy to set up!
I had a Linkyx that never did work right that I paid twice as much for.
This was so easy, I was ready in minutes!
Highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router
11/29/2012
By ,
las vegas, nv.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just picked this up, very easy to install got a secured wireless now, internet is so much faster now. highly recommend this unit to anyone looking for a wireless router at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router

followed instructions and i was wireless. no fuss

02/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ordered online, not at my local store, but they checked around, found one, and had it shipped
and it came a day sooner than they said.
it is nothing but all pros , no cons with the product or the service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router
09/15/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this for my laptop and my ps3 that I use for online gaming, I have not had any problems and would suggest this product for anyone who needs a router for a small apartment or small house, works great!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router
03/06/2011
By ,
Augusta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in a tri-level house. The desktop is set up on the very bottom level of the house and I have superb connection with my notebook on the top floor. Very easy set-up and the price was excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router

excellent

12/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very surprised how easy this was to set up. The directions are crystal clear plus the set up cd menu was cake. It simply could not have been easier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router

AWSOME!!!!!

02/24/2011
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a fairly large home. The signal on this thing is so strong, I can even work outside! Did I sayAWSOME? I really meant awsome Fabulous and EASY to install!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G 54Mbps Broadband Router

So glad I bought this!

06/22/2010
By ,
MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought this today and thusfar, it works great! I probably should wait at least a week before writing a review to ensure reliability of the product, but oh well...
The only issue I had was that it didn't come with the USB cable you need to connect the router to the computer. The instructions just show an illustration of the cable with no explanation of what it is and it says "not included." Annoying. But I went to Best Buy and found Geek Squad's "cat 6" USB cable for $3.99, used that, followed the set up wizard, and I was online in five minutes!
Now I can use my netbook in the basement rather than upstairs on my parents' old PC!
Also, the product says that it's not recommended for streaming videos/music, but I've had no trouble on YouTube tonight, to my surprise!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 368 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  19 Next