Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4

Bissell Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4

Revive matted and dingy-looking carpets with the Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4. Life can find its way deep into carpet fibers, leaving dirt that regular vacuums simply can't get. This powerful deep cleaner gives professional-style results and keeps your carpets looking newer, longer. It features Heatwave technology that helps maintain consistent water temperature while you're cleaning. Dual powerbrushes with ten cleaning rows pull deep dirt out of your carpets, and the 1.25-gallon tank allows fewer trips to the sink. The EdgeSweep brushes permit cleaning against your baseboards and the Surround Suction makes sure that the surfaces in your home dry quickly. The Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4 also features a 3-inch tough stain tool for small areas, stairs and upholstery. This machine comes with a three-year warranty.
Average Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(187 Reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation84%38 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 43 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4

Great machine

01/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this for a few weeks, but wow. 3 kids and a puppy still potty training made the carpet look terrible. Cleaned it one time and it looks new again. I bought this model for a few reasons... The number of brushes which work very well, the 3 year warranty and also because the soap goes into the clean water tank instead of having it's own reservior. My first carpet cleaner had a separate reservior and I had constant problems. The one thing I do recommend is using half of the soap it says to use, and I also went back over the carpet with just water after cleaning. Using the recommended amount of soap was extremely soapy and I felt better getting the soap back out of the carpet with water rather than leaving it. Going back over it with clean water also pulled even more dirt out of the carpet. I'm very pleased with this product, as long as it holds up I don't think I would've done any better with a different one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Meeka86
Posted 01/20/2014
I don't know if this will help but with previous steam cleaners I never put the soap in the machine because if you add too much it can get clogged and that is extra work. So I bought a cheap spray bottle put my soap and water in there sprayed the carpets let it soak up for a while and then use the carpet cleaner with just water to scrub and suck it up. I have 2 kids and 2 dogs. It sounds like more work but it really isn't so much. :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4

Unbeleivable cleaning

10/29/2013
By ,
Dracut,Ma 01826
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had my own carpet cleaning business for years. A truck mount hot water extraction system. I had to give it up do to back problems. I purchased this cleaner at Walmart on rollback. I picked it up and assembled it in 5 minutes ( a child with a Phillips head screwdriver could do the same). Cleaned my first room in a half hour ,then went on to some traffic areas, and could not stop so I did a large recliner. I'm on a break now and will do a stair way next. Hand tool is great also. It's so easy even with a bad back I could handle it. I have never written a review before but I feel I am helping someone who needs some advice.. Buy this machine!!! I am just shy of 70 yrs old and can honestly say that I am not even remotely tired from using this machine. Good luck out there!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4

Huge FLAW: Clean/dirty water in the same container

09/13/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had it for about two months and I have grown to truly hate this machine. The cleaning water in a flexible bladder inside the dirty water makes an otherwise great cleaning machine more trouble than it's worth. Unless you want to brush off your high school calculus skills your going to end up with extra cleaner when you are done. this means.....
1. You can never get all the dirty water out without spilling some of the cleaning water.
2. You can never fill the cleaning bag without getting water into the dirty water container
3. Since you can never really get the dirty water container clean without a huge process. You either have to put up with a machine cleans the floors but makes your house stink or spend about two minutes cleaning the vacuum for every one you spent cleaning the floor.
For a point of reference I have two small children and two dogs one of which is being house broken. So I use it about once every 3 days if not more.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4

Bissell Deep Clean Premier Carpet Cleaner

10/22/2014
By ,
Stephenville, Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's a little early to so a rating on this product. I have used it once to clean the carpet in our Den. General cleaning was okay, not outstanding. I found it to be very heavy and exhausting to use. Yes, I'm a Senior Citizen! It did leave the carpet pretty dry, so I liked that feature. I've been using an Oreck which was much less complicated to operate and clean up. But it had to be replaced and I decided to purchase a machine where I could find cleaning products easily.
I also found the clean-up to be difficult and I don't want to have to use a screwdriver to get parts of it clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4

Works

03/16/2014
By ,
Troy, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 5 year old son decided a Sunday night at 10:00pm was the best time to get sick all over his bedroom carpet. First thing I did was rake care of him then handed him off to my wife to go to Walmart and get a cleaner. This was the best they had in store so I bought it. Had a Hoover years ago and was not too impressed so I was skeptical but needed something at the same time. Turns out it works great. I am very impressed and by far outperforms the Hoover I used to own. Regardless, for cleaning up things like spills and kids getting sick........the $168 price tag is nothing compared to ruined expensive carpet remaking of vomit. Would buy again and would whole heatedly suggest to family and friends. 4 stars only because it only came with the one attachment rather than a few.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4

works and cleans GREAT!

09/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works much better than I thought a home owned carpet cleaner would.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4

Impressed my Wife!

03/14/2013
By ,
Fredericksburg Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The unit was easy to assemble and was just as easy to set up for use. My wife was doubtful it would remove a bad stain and the constant walk through area of a family of 5(3 boys) who are in and out. The Bissell Premier did such a good job my wife was impressed! I did not spot clean with a brush or other cleaner just went for it with the Premier. It did a great job with out any extra work. I did one spot with a brush and warm water and then went over it the premier and it was gone. Some tough spots may need a little elbow grease before using the Premier. Overall a good product I am going to try different cleaners to see which are best as I use the cleaner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
california
Best puchase I have ever made.
Posted 11/29/2013
This carpet cleaner was sooo easy I thought I had to be doing something wrong. I have two Golden Retrievers and they shed a lot and it picks up the hair and gets the carpet clean very easily. I love that its not too heavy but it feels sturdy. So far it is one of my best purchases.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4

Perfect

02/18/2014
By ,
Captiol Heights, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I purchased the Bissell Deep Clean Premier on Saturday 2/15/2014 because we have 2 children under the age of 7 and we needed to do some serious cleaning to the carpets! So as recommended we got the Pretreat spray and went over the marks and stains on the carpet because inside of the box they give you a pretty good sized bottle of pretreat and deep cleaning formula we also mixed in a tablespoon of Oxy Clean powder. We did the living room area first which is a high traffic area for us and it was amazing we didnt have to go back and forth over the same spot we could tell the difference immediately. The carpet dried very fast there was no funny wet smell in the house or anything like that it far exceeeded my expectations and we got it on sale so i was a little skeptical but im glad we made the investment!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4

good out of the box

09/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just got my rug cleaner and tried it on our very dirty traffic areas. It worked really well and was surprised how much dirt there was in the water. I really like how effective the suction is in sucking up the water. It flows by a window in the top of the machine so you can tell when it is sucking up water and when it's over dry carpet. It seemed to be a little hard on the knap of the carpet but not a major problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4
03/21/2013
By ,
Whatcom County, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Please, instruct people that cleaning solution should be put into a pump sprayer (spray area to be cleaned) let it sit for 5 - 10 min. (keeping the area damp), not saturated. Use Clear Water in the solution tank to extract up any cleaning solution. This will give the cleaning solution time to loosen dirt and not leave alot of residual cleaning solution. Rinse two or three times. If too much solution remains in the carpet, it is sticky and dirt will stick to it! Thank you!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Stockton, Missouri
Bottom line is that it doesn't work as made.
Posted 04/07/2013
Bottom line is that it doesn't work as made.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4

WATER ONLY STAYS WARM

08/19/2013
By ,
Orange County, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Heat technology is not as good as my old Bissell ProHeat which actually steamed the carpets I felt the carpet and it was just warm. They don't make that old Bissell ProHeat model anymore; probably because users complained about it constantly needing repair which it did. That should have been my magical clue not to purchase Bissell anymore.
The water in the furniture attachment doesn't come out hot...at all. Isn't the water coming from the bladder which I just filled with hot tap water???
The unit sucks the water back up about as good as my other one. It's not going to make the carpet completely dry from sucking. Just make sure you pass the cleaner back and forth - without touching the spray handle- a few times. If you can't see the water coming into the unit, something's wrong.
Either way, I shouldn't complain too much. The water was dirty when I emptied the bladder. It didn't clean all the spots however like my old one did.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4

Just bought it 3/29/2014 - not too impressed

03/30/2014
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just bought the Bissell Deep Clean Premier 80R4 and I am sad to say I am not as impressed as I had hoped I would be. It has gotten some of the stains out of the carpet, but not all. It also does not dry the carpets as well as I thought it would. If you have at least 5 hours to wait for your carpets to dry, then I would recommend this product. I am also a little concerned that the soap is not getting rinsed out of the carpet, but I read another review saying to use less soap then what they say, and to go over it again with just clean water, so I will try that before I return it. I am planning on shampooing my living room which has the most stains, and if I remember, I will take before and after pictures and post them on another review.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4
07/06/2013
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to assemble,cleans EXCELLENTLY!!...I've rented and owned steam cleaners and this has been the best one yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4

This little is excellent!

04/10/2013
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cleaner is pretty incredible. I've used it on my carpets because my cats are messy little guys. It picked up the stains and dried pretty quickly. I'd highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4

Way to basic

03/12/2013
By ,
Dothan, Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this when I saw it had a larger water tank. First of all it has no options but on and off. My old bissell had low and heavy traffic plus a rinse feature. This one you put the formula right in the clean water so you have left over cleaner on the carpet. Secondly the cleanser foams way to much. I used less then it states and it still foams up so much in the dirty tank that I had less then 1/4 of a tank filled but it thought it was full from the foam and cut off the suction. So a larger tank is useless! Will be returning for a better one. It's worth about half of the cost so I don't recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MI
A little help
Posted 03/18/2013
Thanks for the feedback Lisa. Our new DeepClean Premier (80R4) is designed to be easier to use for your convenience. Make sure you are using only BISSELL full-sized deep cleaner formula in your machine, as they shouldn't foam up excessively. Additionally, you can just fill the tank with clean warm tap water for a water rinse when you are done cleaning.
Let us know if you continue to have any issues with your machine at http://www.bissell.com/email-us/
We hope this helps.
-Joe
BISSELL Consumer Care team
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4

Several reasons NOT to buy this Carpet Cleaner

04/07/2013
By ,
Stockton, Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1. While this product IS very incredibly easy to assemble, the carpet cleaner is very cheaply made with the place to hold the hand tool being the most concerning. The holder is very thin and the hand tool, despite being fitted, still falls out during floor cleaning use. Within thirty minutes of use the hand cleaner tool fell to the floor three different times, once hitting my sandal clad foot.
2. While the company touts a water tank that is 25% bigger, they do not talk about how this makes the unit bulky and awkward. Filling the newer improved water tank halfway does not fix the problem. This unit is heavy to push and pull across the carpets. The unit is not very easy to move around because of the overall empty weight. There is no way I will be lugging this beast up any stairs.
3. The shape of the handle is too uncomfortable and at an unusual angle. My hand cramped and was sore. I had to stop cleaning every thirty minutes to rest. The handle is not rounded like most of their previous models.
4. There are less options on this model, compared to their other models in the past. You can only clean with the heat on (with their other models you could flip a switch.) The heat doesn't seem to get very hot at all. Plus, you can not toggle between the floor cleaning and hand cleaning option. The position of the handle determines whether the hand tools comes on or not. It kept sucking at my shirt whenever I bent over to shut the unit off.
5. You add cleaning solution directly in the water holding tank. I hate this because it now means I cannot do water only rinses without emptying and rinsing the water tank very thoroughly. This also means the customer will use more cleaner because you will have to toss out any unused solution to avoid damaging the seals and unit. Before the water tank was emptied and cleaned with each use and the small separate container could be saved for other uses. Other models would even let you switch between heavy and light soils to help preserve the cleaning fluid or tackle tough spots easily.
6. The on/off button is a push button instead of a switch. I had to repeatedly hit the button before the unit shut off. The placement of the button, midway down the unit, is also awkward. I had to keep twisting and bending over to use the on/off switch. It annoyed me-and I am short (5'2") so I can imagine that an even taller person would be much bothered by it.
7. The price is way too much for the options that it offers. (In the $190 range.) If one was looking at characteristics alone they could easily look to other brands still save $75 to $100 by purchase a small, mobile unit. Yes, they are basic models but honestly that is what you get with this unit in a full size model which makes it bulky.
I am definitely, 100%, returning this product back to the store. I am a mother of older school aged children and typically use carpet cleaners to scrub away muddy shoe prints, the occasional spilled glass of milk, or just a light cleaning for peace of mind. I have owned a variety of carpet shampooers for the past 13-14 years and this frankly is one of the most disappointing ones ever. I feel like I can say that because I have owned about five different models and typically clean my carpets every three to four weeks. I was told that this product is going to replace the Bissell Proheat x2 and can tell you without a doubt this is a very poor substitute. Even if this product was priced at $100 less, I still would be upset.
Bottom line is do NOT buy this model, even if you feel like you have no other option. Do. NOT. do it. You will definitely come to regret it even if you try to talk yourself into liking it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Great Falls, MT
The points are agreeable but it still cleans great
Posted 10/16/2013
I ended up buying this model despite the warnings mainly because the model I wanted then wasn't in stock at the store and this one dropped in price. As for the handle situation, I had troubles getting this to stick right at first, but what you needed to do was wrap up the hose all of the way, it may seem like it wont go another wrap around the hose holder but it will, and looks picture perfect and very snug.
Also, the extra large water container is nice especially when doing a whole apartment floor.
Overall, it does the job it was intended for very well and I am happy with my purchase on what I expected it to do... Clean. Thus I'd say to rate it at 4 stars for overall awesomeness, but those missing star is due to minimal attachments, and having to manually mix the solution.
(A good point about manually mixing is knowing that you are always going to get the same cleaning consistency without the dispenser malfunctioning and a far better selection of just how much solution you want to use).
0points
Customer Avatar
MIDWEST
Posted 07/05/2013
Thank you for all the information you shared! This would be my first purchase of a carpet cleaner, so I'm just reading reviews and trying to understand the best option for the $. Is there another brand/model you would recommend? or would you (as you hinted at?) recommend just the little hand portable unit? Thanks!
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4

Excellent carpet cleaning

03/03/2014
By ,
Windsor, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thismachine surpassed all expectations for cleaning my carpets. It is a little heavier than the one I used before but the double brushes are worth it, It cleaned and fluffed up my carpet like new. I was simply amazed and tickled to death because I thought I would have to replace carpet soon. it is worth every penny and does the job. I love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4

Powerful

08/12/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great cleaner. Removed stains that had sat for a couple weeks. The only issue I have is it is a little too powerful and will sometimes snag the carpet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4
05/31/2013
By ,
Howell, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While I have only used it one time so far, I love how it really gets down deep into the carpet (even picking up the dog and cat hair the vacumn missed!) Dries quickly and has a larger tank than the others I've used.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bissell Deep Clean Premier, 80R4

Don't like.

06/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have the Bissell Deep Clean Premier shampooer it does not look like the one in the picture they have now. I do not like it. Puts out more water then it sucks up. So what did I get the old version.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1 2 3 Next