Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Gateway Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Gateway Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

The Gateway NE Series Laptop exists to fulfill one goal: To be just what you need. This any day, everywhere laptop is simple to use, letting you focus on your tasks at hand. It delivers the time-tested technologies you desire even as it offers the kind of efficiencies you love. Update your Windows 8 PC to Windows 8.1 for free through the Windows Store
Average Customer Rating:
4.135 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(290 Reviews) 240
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
149
4 stars
90
3 stars
18
2 stars
7
1 star
26
Customer Recommendation87%253 out of 290reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
66 Questions | 230 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
149
4 stars
90
3 stars
18
2 stars
7
1 star
26
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

great for playing facebook and zynga games

02/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this laptop for 2 weeks now. I love everything about it. The only 2 draw backs are the sound could be better. But as long as you are using head phones or ear buds it is great. So if you connect to your tv buy some cheap speakers for it. The second thing is windows 8...takes awhile to get used to, but within 15 minutes I was fine with it and now like it. I did upgrade to 8.1 and it is good. If you are buying this pc keep in mind you should buy a 32 gig flash drive to copy your start up files for recovery if ever needed. It tells you 16 gig but it was 16.1 and would not fit on any 16 gig flash drives. So I went with a 32 gig. The keyboard is awesome. I think it is excellent for the price. I added more memory which is very easy to do. With the 4 that came with it runs great. I would suggest not using Norton..I use Advance System Care it does everything for you. Hope this helps you to decide to buy it. Also if you play facebook and or Zynga games you love this computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

quality entry level computer

03/08/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Gateway NE56R41u is an excellent entry level computer, that should keep the average user satisfied without breaking the bank. The computer was labeled as having an Intel Pentium B960 cpu but after going into system information, I discovered that the laptop actually had an Intel Pentium 2020m cpu. This cpu runs at 2.4 ghz as opposed to the B960's 2.2 ghz. It also has a slightly better performance/rating than the B980 cpu which clocks at the same 2.4 ghz. The Gateway laptop would have been a decent entry level laptop with the B960 cpu, but with the Pentium 2020m cpu it is an even better performing product. This laptop was a gift to a friend, and she not only likes the appearance and features of it, but she also was impressed with it's speed and performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

To be honest, a huge step up from my last laptop.

09/22/2013
By ,
Madisonville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this 5 starts because compared to my last laptop, this is like the normal customer buying something with a Core processor. It is fast and responsive, meets my needs, and even a little more. This has double the memory my last laptop and double the hard drive. I am only a light gamer, and I go to an online school so this is something I need. It runs all programs I have installed on it just fine. I like Intel Pentium because it is just a step below the Core processors and a huge step above the processor of my last laptop which had Celeron. I love Windows 8 compared to Vista and Windows 7. However, there are a few things that I don't like about it. I don't like the size of the touchpad. Also the webcam, even though it is 720p, the resolution isn't that great, it appears to me to be about 2 or 3 megapixels. But it is still good for Skype and things like that.
Overall I love this laptop and I recommend it for someone who isn't a heavy gamer and does just general web-surfing, school, and someone who likes to browse YouTube like I do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+105points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

For the money you can't beat this computer!

06/12/2013
By ,
Warrensburg, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews on the Gateway NE56R41u before buying. The biggest complaint that I saw in those reviews was that it has windows 8. That is probably my biggest issue with trying to figure how to navigate through it. Taking it to my computer tech guy tomorrow to add a start button so the OS is more functional for use by myself. The reviews also said the volume can be an issue. This also bears out, as it doesn't have the volume range I would hope for. I own a set of external speakers that I can use if it doesn't prove to be loud enough on occasion. In a room without a lot of background noise, you can hear a movie at a satisfactory level. Throw in some distracting noise, you might want to hook up some external speakers. Designed for under-50-ears i imagine. Absolutely no other complaints. Still worth every penny. I would recommend, and will look at gateway first the next time around after not being excessively overjoyed with my last 3 laptops that were Toshibas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Excellent laptop for the money!

09/24/2013
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had purchased the HP Winter Blue 15 6 2000 2b19wm Laptop from Walmart and returned it for this Gateway NE56R41u because this laptop felt better to type on and had a full keyboard (with the number keys). It also just feels like a more responsive and better laptop than the HP (note that the Gateway cost about $30 more than the HP). After learning how to use Windows 8, I like it, but at first, I found it somewhat frustrating. This laptop was for my daughter starting college, but if I was going to purchase a laptop for myself, I would definitely purchase it with Windows 8. I like the idea of apps with Windows 8 (as I have an android phone), and feel this is the future of laptops (apps like they have on smart phones). For folks not liking Windows 8, I would recommend they take a tutorial of it (there are many on the internet) and they may have the same experience I had and really enjoy Windows 8.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great laptop for the price

12/26/2013
By ,
Defiance, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a sportswriter, my laptop is always with me. And I need something dependable. After owing this Gateway laptop model for three months now, I've been really happy with my purchase.
I bought this Gateway laptop to replace a barely two-years old HP Pavillion g6, which was on its third hard drive and second LCD screen.
This Gateway laptop has an Intel B960 processor, while the HP had a Intel Core i3. Thought maybe I was getting a lesser processor, but according to the specs, both are about the same. If anything, the Gateway with the B960 is slightly faster and the performance is at least as good. Plus the Gateway was nearly $150.00 cheaper.
Yes, I realize some people who have written previous reviews have complained about Windows 8. Sure, its vastly different from Windows 7, but after awhile you get use to it and enjoy the new features.
There are lots of pros for the Gateway. I like the fact that it boots up quickly, the battery life is good, and it does what I need to do in a timely fashion. As for any con, the speakers are weak, though I am usually using headphones or USB plug-in speakers.
Once again, very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Good for everyday using. Okay for VFX / GFX!

01/16/2014
By ,
Cleveland, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this laptop for christmas as a gift. So far it's been exceptionally great. I do use Adobe After Effects (yes, it runs but not the greatest.#, Adobe Photoshop #runs smoothly# and Cinema 4D #runs smoothly#. I believe that this IS the best laptop for under $350.00. I can run almost all the programs i want and it's quite snappy. The operating system #windows 8# is frowned upon but i enjoy it. It does add a bit more speed to the read/write times and everything overall. Also, the Pentium Processor is a bit old but its 2.2GHz so i can't really complain. Hopefully i can get enough money to upgrade to an 8gb RAM kit but its kind of expensive for this device #certain RAM, Non-ECC) and i believe it will be a long-lasting laptop. I would recommend it for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

I am currently typing this...with angry eyebrows.

04/02/2014
By ,
Coos Bay, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let me just start by saying that I bought this computer about five months ago based on the reviews of other people...and you all have failed me! I am a VERY average computer user. I literally use my computer to check Facebook, Pinterest, iTunes, and some occasional browsing. But for the most part, I use my smart phone. I do no gaming, hardly any downloading, etc. And this laptop has never left the computer desk. So about 90 days after I got this computer I had to buy a fan to put under it, because it gets EXTRAORDINARILY hot. So hot, it melted my chapstick inside the tub it was sitting in next to the computer. The wireless adapter in the computer has also taken a dump on me, wont stay connected to any wifi, and I have had to purchase one that you plug into the side of the computer (which was like $50). It also, has recently developed a "Transformer-Intelligence" personality and whenever it is scooted on the desk or if i set a book or the phone on top of it, will make this god awful clanking and sputtering noise that sounds like it is about to come to life and strangle me with its charger! Which by the way, always has to be plugged in to this computer because the battery life lasts maybe ten minutes when its not plugged in.
So we have established I dont do any gaming or downloading on this thing, let me also tell you, I have four pictures uploaded to this computer and one saved word document that is less than a page long. Apparently, that is too much for this computer to handle, because I am constantly being notified that my memory is full.
My advice to you? Dont do it. Do not do it man! It seems great, has good reviews, a good price, its a nice size..seems good. ITS A TRAP! IT IS ALL A LIE! You would be better off taking three one hundred dollar bills out of your wallet and setting fire to them right now.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great performer for business computing at low cost

03/18/2013
By ,
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the NE56R41u for my small business. It is the second Gateway I own, as I already had a model NV5221u that I purchased two years ago to try out the brand. Since the components (memory, processor, motherboard, etc.) are the same as the ones used on more expensive brands, I was confident that Gateway would be just as reliable, and I have been proven correct by both laptops.
We run Excel apps that use the database on my server to produce reports. This laptop is quick to compute and has a 1Gb ethernet port that allows a fast connection to my server. Connecting it wirelessly is easy, and, although the connection is obviously not as fast, it is good enough for whatever you need to do.
I've watched some internet videos on it and am very satisfied with the streaming picture quality as well. I can't say too much about gaming because I use the computer mostly for work, but I can say that it is the perfect fit for my needs.
The saying goes "you get what you pay for". In this case, you get what you would pay at least 30% more with other brands. I love both my Gateways and I highly recommend the NE56R41u.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Can't go wrong with the price and options

12/08/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this laptop in the Hot Holiday Bundle, and paid a bit extra than the other models. The laptop itself has a slick black case and is lightweight. The keypad is soft-feeling, and not as reactive as other laptops, however it does its job well. The laptop doesn't contain cap lock or number lock lights, so discerning between capitals is tough. The number pad is a pleasure, not many models come with a full number pad, but this makes the mouse pad off center. The mouse pad was very reactive, I turned down the sensitivity in the desktop options. The LCD is bright and crisp- expected since it is a HD LED. All of the function keys also serve as easy access keys to volume, display and wifi. The computer is attentive. I reacts quickly and is fluid. Windows 8 is easy to understand once you look up a quick guide or tutorial if you online. I switch between apps and my desktop easily. The loading speed is a great feature of windows 8. Overall, I'm happy with my purchase and the options that came in the bundle. My husband is a system admin and well versed with computers and agreed with my selection. He has used a few times and is also happy with its performance. I've had my laptop for 4 days so far, and given it heavy use, and already have received tons of compliments on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Makes Windows 8 run GOOD!

04/15/2013
By ,
Port Orchard, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having already tried several other Windows 8 laptops, this one had the most power at 2.20 Gighz Pentium Processor and 4 gigs of memory....this seems to be the key to getting Windows 8 to perform and it does it VERY well, especially on the internet where my 3 meg service feels like a 30....it is quick.
This laptop does have a full sized keyboard with Num pad, has good sound quality (once you find the HD sound adjustments) and runs quiet as a mouse.
Online is where it really shines with excellent performance and superb video quality.
Overall this has the feel of a High End Laptop and not so much the under powered laptops at the same price level.
The only two odd things I found missing was a Caps Lock light and no NumLk light, but that is not a real issue when all things are considered.
Windows 8 can be intimidating, but when you have enough power it makes things much more bearable and IF you do get yourself into trouble, the Recovery features do work very well.
The final note: Customer service is in INDIA and is TERRIBLE but the key is to demand to speak to level 3 support....much better and no accents!
All in all, this is a keeper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Not Too Bad For The Money

03/10/2013
By ,
Detroit, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a decent laptop with a slightly grainy mousepad but it does work. It does have a few issues with the mouse pad freezing up right after a program is installed, & then it works again about 30 seconds later. It froze up during a game too. The scrolling from side to side is also not quite as smooth as a Toshiba. Minuses a star. Other than the freezing issues, the computer's other functions work well, along with the large hard drive. Just so everyone knows, the picture shown is misleading. The computer is not completely black. It is actually all silver below the keyboard, the mouspad is silver also, like a 2 color computer. That minuses a 2nd star. I'm still debating if I should return this due to the freezing mouse. I plan on running more programs to see if it will keep happening. I will update the review depending on those results. I believe you do get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
michigan
Great laptop
Posted 04/13/2013
I bought this for my aunt and she loves it, it is fast and does everything she needs it to do. Very good price! You can play all your games on here and do everything the more expensive ones do. Love it.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Racine, WI
Return it
Posted 03/30/2013
Your touchpad should not freeze up like that! When something that significant is wrong right off the bat you should return the item for a new one or get your $$ back. Hope you did!
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Good value for basic computer functions

05/05/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was considering a cheaper HP model from Walmart but decided to upgrade to this one because it has an Intel B960 processor, a larger hard drive (500 GB), decent memory (4 GB of DDR3), and a faster clock speed (2.2 GHz). Web surfing with WiFi is a breeze, YouTube videos are smooth and crisp. The DVD drive is nice for movies, etc. and the webcam/microphone works very well with Skype.
Recommend that you run Windows update as soon as you take it out of the box and also update the internet security software.
The only complaint that I have is that Windows 8 does not include Microsoft Word Starter, or something similar, so you have to either purchase Microsoft Office ($140) or use a free word program such as Wordpad or Libreoffice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great laptop for the money-fast too

11/02/2013
By ,
Carson City, Nv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To use it as a windows7 setup just press the flag button.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
Great laptop!
Posted 01/12/2014
I purchased this as a Christmas gift for myself (2013) and just love it! The keyboard feels smooth and easy to maneuver, and the numeric pad is a wonderful feature since I need it for my at home jobs. The screen is bright and clear. Very quick boot-up! I updated to Windows 8.1 which was easy to do and was free with purchase of the laptop. Great battery life. Charges to full capacity in one hour. Lightweight. Only complaint I have is the sound....I don't like the speaker at all. The volume is low and tin can sounding. I either have to use my headphones (which is surprisingly loud, and so I have to turn the volume WAY down), or, hook-up to my professional speakers with base....which sounds fantastic with this computer! Over all, this was the best buy I coulda made for the money!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Value, Look, Operation & Feel!

10/05/2013
By ,
Byram, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Because I tend to think and believe you get what you pay for, I was a little leery about getting this laptop, but my older one died and being cash strapped, I couldn't drop $600 or more on a "nice" one like before. Because I use my devices frequently, but carefully, I saw this on display in WM and decided to test it out before getting it. I am on my 2nd day with this laptop, no freezing, no blanking out, my wi-fi stays connected, smooth videos, not to mention the GHz, 2.2 for $300!!! 4 Gigs of RAM, Wi-Fi capable and many more. I love computers, so finding my way around the Windows 8 OS is a joy learning all what it can do.
You do NOT need a jump drive to create your restore discs upon unpacking and turning on your computer. I created my discs using DVD RWs. Uncheck the option to use a jump drive and you'll get options for the DVD. The laptop is lighter than my older one, which took some getting used to, but it doesn't feel cheap. IMO, I can do without the number pad on the right, but it hasn't been an issue or a deal breaker for me. The keyboard feels nice and smooth, I actually like the tiny pebbled feel of the cursor pad. I've attached some nice speakers I already had, my own keyboard and my monitor. I am using the dual monitor option for multitasking.
All in all, for the value, you get a LOT of computer. As with anything made, you'll have some who have issues and some who don't. I'm glad I took the plunge, paid less, and so far, things are looking good. I'll probably come back later to update this post if anything comes up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

excellent value

03/15/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is not an intensive-gaming laptop, but for productivity, moderate multimedia, and browsing, its works very well. At $328, it was the best price-to-performance ratio I had yet seen, especially when $40 insurance for two years that includes 1 year of free anti-virus is considered. Thanks Walmart! Windows 8 took a few hours to get used to, but it is an improvement over Windows 7. Reading the little card of tips that Gateway included helped greatly. I couldn't live without the Start menu, so I downloaded ClassicShell that returned it. The Start "screen" full of live tiles and icons is beautiful and informative. To enhance speed and overall performance, I did disable non-essential special effects, such as animations, shadows, fading, sliding, while keeping the static visuals. One can do this by going to Control Panel, Security and System, System, Advanced System Settings, and Performance settings; check or uncheck the special effects that you want. Anyway, other bonuses include a full keyboard (10-key to the right) and laterally-located vents (to keep your lap cooler). One irk for me is that there is no light indicator when Caps Lock or Num Lock are depressed. Buy this if you want a budget laptop goes an extra mile further.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+182points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Erie County
Games...
Posted 09/03/2013
i'd like to know (specifically) why some people deem this laptop to be less than great for games, please. What happened? Does did it do to cause that reaction in those commenting? i'm a very curious potential buyer...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

don't buy it...

10/02/2013
By ,
western slope, Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My son saved his $ and bought this laptop for his senior year after our very old MacBook died. He planned to take it to college with him. Bought it in late August, at day 29 the screen went blank, or gray and grainy. Troubleshooting over the phone resolved nothing. I asked if I could just get my $ back (I wanted to buy a more expensive unit) and they said there is a 'no return' policy! They did ship it free. Left us without a computer for 2 weeks or so. Shipped back, working fine after they reseated the video cable. Not even a week later, the screen went blank again! I removed and replaced the battery and it kicked on all the way but left me without a mouse. Since you have to read the manual on the computer I couldn't troubleshoot myself. Called #to India# again for help. Very frustrating call, with hard to understand accent and time delay talk. Got the mouse pad and therefore unit working again........but for how long this time? Really want $ back to buy more trustworthy unit, and policy is bad for that. This is an ACER product disguised as a GATEWAY product that I thought I could trust. Knew the speakers were going to be awful and they are... in this day and age that's just cheap. Won't buy either brand again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Research before you buy

12/26/2013
By ,
Bismarck
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this item as a Christmas gift, and immediately fired it up. Two days later I noticed connectivity issues and the desktop screen would 'magically' return the Windows 8 tile screen #which was frustrating when reading e-mails#. I began troubleshooting the network adaptor #after I noticed all my other Wi-Fi devices worked just fine with our router# in addition to installing Microsoft Office. This laptop does not come with any Microsoft Office software. There was no further actions I could take with the troubleshooting because it could not detect any issues- but I had the proof of multiple router resets and lost Wi-Fi connections. I tried working through Google Chrome instead of Internet Explorer, but the same connectivity issues remained. I put my old Dell next to this brand new Gateway and received webpage displays and less of a headache. Please research others laptops online before purchasing this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Seems to be a very good laptop!

07/03/2013
By ,
Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned this laptop for 4 days now. At first I wasn't so sure about it. It was really slow at first. I was considering returning it back to the store. I was having trouble with it freezing up and being very slow. My old desktop was faster than the laptop. But once I figured out how to work the Windows 8 and check for updates and install everything. It seems to be running smooth. It is very fast, and really nice overall. I was also having some issues with the wifi connections but I think once I have installed everything it is working as it should. I would recommend this laptop to anyone. I really like the color, the dark gray on the outside with the black and grey on the inside. Really nice. I had purchased a hp 4 days before I got this one. I didn't like that it didn't have the full keyboard on it. And decided to return it and purchase this gateway. I payed around 50 dollars more for this one tax included but I think I have made the right decision. It seems to be working correctly now. I will update again. But I would recommend this laptop !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gateway Black 15.6" NE Series NE56R41u Laptop PC with Intel B960 Pentium Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Laptop freezes every 2 minutes

10/01/2013
By ,
Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This laptop is constantly freezing up. All that I use it for is Microsoft Word documents. I usually only have one document open at a time and it freezes up every couple of minutes. I had a Gateway computer in the past and was happy with it, but this one is no good. Also the keyboard is cheap on this one. I am regularly going back when typing because a letter did not get entered in. The keyboard is not the same quality as would be expected in a better laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 241 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next