Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Genesis 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Genesis 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

The Genesis RoadTech 21-Speed Road Bike is built around a lightweight aluminum road bike frame. You'll stop on a dime with the alloy calipers and brake levers, and the high-profile alloy Vitesse racing rims look as good as they perform. Shimano shifters allow you to shift with out taking your hands off the handlebars, providing safety and confidence. A Shimano derailleur completes the drive train for quick and smooth gear changes. The bike is finished in a beautiful red and black paint. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(99 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
31
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation85%84 out of 99reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
71 Questions | 139 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
31
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Great bike for the money!!!

08/05/2013
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to give this bike a 5 star rating, as for the price it is more than you can expect, even though it has a few weak points. The aluminum frame is well built and the tig welds look solid and clean. The overall appearance is very nice and people believe you paid way more than you actually did. The shimano gear set shifts smooth, although I would have preferred a different location for the shift levers as I sometime accidentally hit them with my knee while coming out of the saddle, especially when climbing a steep hill, causing the bike to shift gears when not intended. The set screws on the upper brake levers would work their way loose during riding, but a drop of blue loctite solved that issue. The threads on those screws seem a bit sloppy.
This bike is a great value and a perfect platform to upgrade into a fantastic road machine by upgrading the lesser quality items like brakes and tires and still spend half what a bike shop would charge for a similar set up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Fantastic bike for the price

09/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only use it to ride to work and back but it's faster than my car with stop lights. Love the dual brake set up, it allows you to ride upright and have easy access to brake handles. The brakes themselves are okay, the back is ready out of the box but the front takes tuning and likes to ride on the wheel if it's too close. Assembly was very fast.
Comfortably pedaling, the bike will ride around 23mph on flat ground. For about $50 dollars, you can get a new rim which allows you to change the smallest gear from 15 teeth to 7, increasing top speed. I did this because about 18 of the gears are completely useless unless you're planning to ride up the vertical face of a mountain. You could push it faster than you can ride on the easiest gear ratio.
The bike itself weighs around 25-30lbs (I can lift with one finger) and Great for riders 5'8" and up. I'm 6'1"
Also, a side note. All of the logos and graphics are stickers and can be removed, allowing you to customize with your own graphics or leave it plain.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Excellent Beginner Bike

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been in this sport for a very long time. I saw the Genesis Road bike on the website at first; However, I could not believe it is such a good deal for the quality. So I went to an actual Walmart Store and I found it there. When I saw it I was definitely surprised. It looks even better than the photo they have on the website. The bike is built extremely well for the price. I was deciding whether to buy this one or the GMC Denalli which is $15 cheaper. I saw bought of the bikes and the Genesis is way better quality and about 3 pounds lighter. I made a full review video on youtube if you search for
" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike vs GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike Review"
you will be able to find it and see it if you are in doubt.
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Nice bike for the beginner...Great value

08/04/2014
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this particular road bike online through Walmart after reading the reviews ans watching a couple YouTube videos on this model. When the bike arrived I took it to a bike shop for assembly and tune-up.
So far I am pleased with the bike. I am so out of shape and 61 years of age, so this is a great way to get back in shape a start living a healthy life style.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Good Touring Bike

08/18/2014
By ,
Brownwood, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this bike a month ago in a Walmart store, assembled & tuned. Have put nearly 200 miles on it so far and have had no problems. I like the looks of the bike (red-black) and its extra brake handles. Would consider changing the seat for more comfort after the first hour of biking.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

great bike for the price

10/07/2014
By ,
Modesto, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First i have to say this bike is great for the price cant beat it came 3 days earlier than expected by FedEx. I had to build it out of the box took me about an hour i took my time making a video and taking pics. Everything was expected like the seats and the pedals felt a little on cheapy side like everyone said so i replaced it. Logged in couple miles. Im 5,7 with an in seam of 30 although i was able to ride it it just felt a tad to big for me compared to my other road bikes this bike though wont disappoint you if you meet the size requirements (5,8 and up). Other than that im gonna go look for a smaller size frame probably have to visit my LBS and pay a little more for a bike that fits me right just wish this bike had a smaller size frame i would've kept it. But it is a good bike and i would recommend it to anyone who is looking into cycling on a budget you will not be disappointed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Expected Better

07/19/2014
By ,
Seattle, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Honesty, I was disappointed with this product after reading all these reviews. When I received the package, there was a noticeable dent on the bikes lower frame. The brakes were shoddy, needing 15 feet to stop, and the handlebar tape is ugly. Also, the rear wheel's tube came way too long ( like an extra four inches of tube, and already punctured.) The stickers on the bike were placed on without care, as you can see bubbles on the stickers. The bike seat is uncomfortable and no matter how much I tighten the seat post, the bike seat still gets loose.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Great choice love this bike can't wait to enjoy it

06/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son actually picked the bike for me and I love it smooth sailing and very comfortable.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

great value bike

05/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
got mine last april. assembly was pretty simple. and just like any new bike, you need to do a few tweaks and adjustments specially on the gears. rides very light and fast, and no issues so far. done about 25 miles already. i've seen some expensive bikes on the trail, but this ride gives you the same excitement and satisfaction as any other would.
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Great bike but needs some tuning

03/14/2014
By ,
Springfield, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just recently got this bike and it runs great after getting it tuned at a bike shop. I did however get it assembled for "free" at Walmart before I went to the bike shop for the tuning. It sounded like a great deal not having to pay for the assembly, but whoever put the bike together at Walmart does not know how to properly adjust the derailleurs on the bike. I should have payed attention to all of the other comments about getting it fine tuned at a bike shop after purchase. This may not be the case at every Walmart with the assembly but at the one I purchased it at they don't know what they are doing. I really do recommend this bike for its look and how it rides tho. Just be smart and get it properly adjusted and tuned by a professional at a bike shop after you have purchased the bike. It only cost me 18 dollars to get that done! Hope this review helps some others who are looking to buy this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Absolutely perfect entry-level road bike

06/02/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike around a month ago and have put 149 miles on it so far. I will primarily be using it for commuting to class in the fall/exercise.
So far I am very satisfied with everything about the bike. I chose to assemble and tune the bike myself, and when it is all tuned up it runs extremely well. The bike came in a large box, mostly assembled, and the remaining assembly took around 25 mins, and then another 15 for tuning.
I really like the additional interrupter brake levers located on the crossbar, it makes it much easier to maneuver the bike when traveling slowly. It shifts almost silently, and the gearing allows me to cruise at over 20 mph with the tires pumped up to 75 psi.
The only drawback I have noticed on this bike so far are that the lever-style shifters are not the most conveniently located on the stem, but this bike is UNDER $200 so I realize there is give and take.
I have added an under-saddle bag, bike computer, and pedal toe clips; which all installed without any issues.
I really like this purchase so far, and would absolutely recommend it for anyone over 5'9"
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Defective Design

07/06/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bike is beautiful but it is flawed in design. The pedals would hit the front tire whenever you turn the handle bars left or right and the pedal bar is on an horizontal position. I almost fell a few times and I had to be careful when I turned to now have the pedal in a horizontal position. It has to be a flaw in the design. When I assembled it, the front tire brakes were placed in the wrong side. I couldn't turn the handle bars to the right to make turns. I just hope Walmart takes the bike back and give me a new one or give me my money back.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Great bike for a beginner

06/11/2013
By ,
Allenstown Nh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the bike about a month ago. I've only gotten to ride it 5 days out of the month. And in that 5 days I've put over 200 miles on it. I rode it to work yesterday for the first time and I live 10 miles from my work. It took my 55 minutes to get to work and 40 minutes going home, rain at my back door helped me with a fast run home.(didn't want to get wet) The only problem I have with it
is the seat. On the long runs it seems very uncomfortable. Which I do plan on buying the padded shorts.
Bike shifts very nicely. Bike is nice and light and fast.
Other than the seat is a very comfortable ride. I love the choices on where I can place my hands.
Looking to invest in some Aerobars to place on it to make it even more comfortable ride.
For the price that I paid for it is very well worth it.
Very well built as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Great bike - some minor annoyances

06/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First and foremost, this bike is awesome! It's light, well made, and screams down the highway. Now, the annoyances, side pull brakes - I do not like these as they seldom stay adjusted. Also, the brake handles themselves are separated (front from side) and are connected via cable. While they work, they are going to be a headache and a half to replace or repair (should a cable go bad or otherwise become unusable). I can't understand who would think this was a good design. Other than that, I thoroughly enjoy this bike. I waited for about a month to rate it (so I could give a fair opinion) and have put over 250 miles on it. Sheer joy!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Great Bike

06/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was really surprised how good of a bike this was for the price. I'm 5'11" and it's almost perfect size for me with the seat all the way down, other than that 100+ miles on it and no problems.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Saved hundreds

06/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Assembling and adjusting the bike was easy. I used to assemble these bikes during Christmas years ago. Now it's much more easier. If not your trade, take it to a bike shop. I've been riding it to work (6 miles round trip) with no problems. For my light duty use, it's good for me and so far I am a happy camper. The only slight modification I had to do was to buff the seat shaft to make it a little rough. It tends to slide down after riding it. The pedals have to go. Don't like the metal probing grips. I get lots of comments of how good looking this bike is. I also purchased a 3 yr protection for $18. Can't go wrong with that. If they can't fix...it will be replaced.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

WOW! Nice Bike

06/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So overall there is a lot to say but I will keep it short. The bike is great, very fast and lightweight. I think it weighs about 20 lbs. It is very light! Riding is smooth and I love the double brake feature. I'm 5'7 and the bike fits me great! I read reviews of people saying don't get the bike if your under 5'9 but it really doesn't matter. Lower or elevate the seat! My seat height is perfect and now so is my life. Awesome bike!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Great Bike

07/29/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very hesitant buying a bike from walmart after reading a lot of reviews on multiple sites about how bad they were. I read a couple of the good reviews on this one and decided that I was going to chance it. The bike is great. I am just over 6' and about 200lbs and I fit on it just fine. The seat isn't the most comfortable, but that is an easy fix. As most others stated the brakes are pretty cheap. I tinkered with them quite a bit and got them to work better, but lets just hope a car doesn't cut me off. The negative reviews on this bike are incorrect as all the needed pieces are there. It took me awhile to put this bike together just because I over analyzed everything and tried to do more work than needed, that they had already done. Over all it is a very smooth riding bike and I hope to put many miles on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Amazing bike for the price!

08/19/2013
By ,
Sunrise, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first review for the bike. I previously purchased a Genesis G-700 bike (lower end) bike from Walmart, but then the pedal broke and since I became passionate about bikes I decided to upgrade to this bike.
Wow, what a difference. Look, feel and quality of this bike is a league ahead of 22.5-Genesis-GS-700-Men-s-Flat-Bar-Road-Bike. The quality is so much higher on all the components especially the Shimano derailleur and Shimano Revo shifts. Out of the box with no adjustments the shifting was spot on. Brakes needed a lot of adjustment I still haven't tuned it right.
Ride Quality is superb. The riding positions is great. Because of the design of the handle bars you essentially have 3 different holding positions on the handle bars with two sets of breaks. This allows you to change your hand positions and offers more relaxed grip.
Bottom line love this bike. Got me compliments the moment I loaded it on my car. People think it s a 2000$ bike if only they knew how close they actually are to that number ;) Cant wait to take it out for a long ride!
Recommend it 100%. Also get it professionally tuned if possible will bring out a whole new level of performance out of it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White
4 out of 5(95)
 
 
 
 
 
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

my review

05/17/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
uncomfortable seat,Gear levers are in difficult to access location.. The rest of bike is grrratte!
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next