Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Genesis 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Genesis 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

The 700c Genesis RoadTech Mens Road Bike is built around a lightweight aluminum road bike frame. You can stop quickly with the alloy calipers and brake levers, and the high-profile alloy Vitesse racing rims look as good as they perform. Shimano shifters allow you to shift without taking your hands off the handlebars, providing safety and confidence. A Shimano derailleur completes the drive train for quick and smooth gear changes, and the gearing offers a number of different speeds. The racing seat is comfortable for fast racing or slow riding. The 700c Genesis RoadTech Mens Road Bike is finished in a beautiful red and black paint. The maximum weight capacity for this bike is 250 pounds. Assembly is required. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your 700c Road Bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.221 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation87%67 out of 77reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
49 Questions | 94 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Great bike for the money!!!

08/05/2013
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to give this bike a 5 star rating, as for the price it is more than you can expect, even though it has a few weak points. The aluminum frame is well built and the tig welds look solid and clean. The overall appearance is very nice and people believe you paid way more than you actually did. The shimano gear set shifts smooth, although I would have preferred a different location for the shift levers as I sometime accidentally hit them with my knee while coming out of the saddle, especially when climbing a steep hill, causing the bike to shift gears when not intended. The set screws on the upper brake levers would work their way loose during riding, but a drop of blue loctite solved that issue. The threads on those screws seem a bit sloppy.
This bike is a great value and a perfect platform to upgrade into a fantastic road machine by upgrading the lesser quality items like brakes and tires and still spend half what a bike shop would charge for a similar set up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Fantastic bike for the price

09/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only use it to ride to work and back but it's faster than my car with stop lights. Love the dual brake set up, it allows you to ride upright and have easy access to brake handles. The brakes themselves are okay, the back is ready out of the box but the front takes tuning and likes to ride on the wheel if it's too close. Assembly was very fast.
Comfortably pedaling, the bike will ride around 23mph on flat ground. For about $50 dollars, you can get a new rim which allows you to change the smallest gear from 15 teeth to 7, increasing top speed. I did this because about 18 of the gears are completely useless unless you're planning to ride up the vertical face of a mountain. You could push it faster than you can ride on the easiest gear ratio.
The bike itself weighs around 25-30lbs (I can lift with one finger) and Great for riders 5'8" and up. I'm 6'1"
Also, a side note. All of the logos and graphics are stickers and can be removed, allowing you to customize with your own graphics or leave it plain.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Excellent Beginner Bike

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been in this sport for a very long time. I saw the Genesis Road bike on the website at first; However, I could not believe it is such a good deal for the quality. So I went to an actual Walmart Store and I found it there. When I saw it I was definitely surprised. It looks even better than the photo they have on the website. The bike is built extremely well for the price. I was deciding whether to buy this one or the GMC Denalli which is $15 cheaper. I saw bought of the bikes and the Genesis is way better quality and about 3 pounds lighter. I made a full review video on youtube if you search for
" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike vs GMC Denali 700c Men's Road Bike Review"
you will be able to find it and see it if you are in doubt.
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Nice bike for the beginner...Great value

08/04/2014
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this particular road bike online through Walmart after reading the reviews ans watching a couple YouTube videos on this model. When the bike arrived I took it to a bike shop for assembly and tune-up.
So far I am pleased with the bike. I am so out of shape and 61 years of age, so this is a great way to get back in shape a start living a healthy life style.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

great bike for the price

10/07/2014
By ,
Modesto, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First i have to say this bike is great for the price cant beat it came 3 days earlier than expected by FedEx. I had to build it out of the box took me about an hour i took my time making a video and taking pics. Everything was expected like the seats and the pedals felt a little on cheapy side like everyone said so i replaced it. Logged in couple miles. Im 5,7 with an in seam of 30 although i was able to ride it it just felt a tad to big for me compared to my other road bikes this bike though wont disappoint you if you meet the size requirements (5,8 and up). Other than that im gonna go look for a smaller size frame probably have to visit my LBS and pay a little more for a bike that fits me right just wish this bike had a smaller size frame i would've kept it. But it is a good bike and i would recommend it to anyone who is looking into cycling on a budget you will not be disappointed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Good Touring Bike

08/18/2014
By ,
Brownwood, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this bike a month ago in a Walmart store, assembled & tuned. Have put nearly 200 miles on it so far and have had no problems. I like the looks of the bike (red-black) and its extra brake handles. Would consider changing the seat for more comfort after the first hour of biking.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Expected Better

07/19/2014
By ,
Seattle, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Honesty, I was disappointed with this product after reading all these reviews. When I received the package, there was a noticeable dent on the bikes lower frame. The brakes were shoddy, needing 15 feet to stop, and the handlebar tape is ugly. Also, the rear wheel's tube came way too long ( like an extra four inches of tube, and already punctured.) The stickers on the bike were placed on without care, as you can see bubbles on the stickers. The bike seat is uncomfortable and no matter how much I tighten the seat post, the bike seat still gets loose.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Great choice love this bike can't wait to enjoy it

06/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son actually picked the bike for me and I love it smooth sailing and very comfortable.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Great bike but needs some tuning

03/14/2014
By ,
Springfield, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just recently got this bike and it runs great after getting it tuned at a bike shop. I did however get it assembled for "free" at Walmart before I went to the bike shop for the tuning. It sounded like a great deal not having to pay for the assembly, but whoever put the bike together at Walmart does not know how to properly adjust the derailleurs on the bike. I should have payed attention to all of the other comments about getting it fine tuned at a bike shop after purchase. This may not be the case at every Walmart with the assembly but at the one I purchased it at they don't know what they are doing. I really do recommend this bike for its look and how it rides tho. Just be smart and get it properly adjusted and tuned by a professional at a bike shop after you have purchased the bike. It only cost me 18 dollars to get that done! Hope this review helps some others who are looking to buy this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Absolutely perfect entry-level road bike

06/02/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike around a month ago and have put 149 miles on it so far. I will primarily be using it for commuting to class in the fall/exercise.
So far I am very satisfied with everything about the bike. I chose to assemble and tune the bike myself, and when it is all tuned up it runs extremely well. The bike came in a large box, mostly assembled, and the remaining assembly took around 25 mins, and then another 15 for tuning.
I really like the additional interrupter brake levers located on the crossbar, it makes it much easier to maneuver the bike when traveling slowly. It shifts almost silently, and the gearing allows me to cruise at over 20 mph with the tires pumped up to 75 psi.
The only drawback I have noticed on this bike so far are that the lever-style shifters are not the most conveniently located on the stem, but this bike is UNDER $200 so I realize there is give and take.
I have added an under-saddle bag, bike computer, and pedal toe clips; which all installed without any issues.
I really like this purchase so far, and would absolutely recommend it for anyone over 5'9"
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

nice bike

11/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great beginner bike. For how much a solid road bike actually costs this is a nice one for someone who's never ridden one/wants to start getting into biking. I was tired of my bulky moutain bike and wanted to give road bikes a chance and this was a great purchase.
The instructions are slipped into the box the seat comes in so don't have a mild heart attack like I did when I thought there wasn't any instructions only to find them a half hour later of struggling with connecting the handle bars to the bike frame.
The only reason I have it a four star is because of the brakes. The front ones were a little off and they probably could be a little tighter and it took some time of messing with them before I was able to get the aligned properly. And after some investigating it seems a few others who've bought the bike (from other sites as well) have had some brake alignment issues.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Great inner-city bicycle.

05/16/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Despite having tender tires (easy to go flat) this is a remarkable product. Lightweight, and…FAST!!! For the past six years I've been lugging myself around on heavy, durable mountain bikes, and they got me where I was going. However, I was always frustrated when others would pass me up with THEIR road bikes. BUT NOW… I am flying by all of them because of my years of mountain biking the city! Currently only using my mountain bike for rainy days as my beater bicycle, but on nice days… ZOOM! Even automobiles can't keep up with me in the city. And transit systems? Forget it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Good for the money

11/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've road about 100 miles so far on this bike. I didn't like the tires so I spent about 50 dollars upgrading them to thinner higher quality tires. I also upgraded the pedals spent another 30 on them. I am not a fan of the seat so I sent out another 20 bucks for that. With the upgrades the bike is pretty awesome. The stock tires are cheap and they are to wide and heavy. The seat is uncomfortable but is a cheap fix. I love this bike however, with all that being said. It is a great value for the money. I had to spend some time tweaking the brakes and the gears. I also don't like the shifter placement as when I am driving hard and standing on the pedals sometimes my knees will come up and hit the shifters changing gears and breaking my rhythm. I'm 6ft 160 lbs and the bike fits me just right.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Great bike for a beginner

06/11/2013
By ,
Allenstown Nh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the bike about a month ago. I've only gotten to ride it 5 days out of the month. And in that 5 days I've put over 200 miles on it. I rode it to work yesterday for the first time and I live 10 miles from my work. It took my 55 minutes to get to work and 40 minutes going home, rain at my back door helped me with a fast run home.(didn't want to get wet) The only problem I have with it
is the seat. On the long runs it seems very uncomfortable. Which I do plan on buying the padded shorts.
Bike shifts very nicely. Bike is nice and light and fast.
Other than the seat is a very comfortable ride. I love the choices on where I can place my hands.
Looking to invest in some Aerobars to place on it to make it even more comfortable ride.
For the price that I paid for it is very well worth it.
Very well built as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

CANADIAN BIKE REVIEW!

06/16/2014
By ,
TORONTO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yes! I am a Canadian. I liked this bike cuz of the good reviews, the colors, style and specially the extra set of handlebar brakes and price was great too. It was not available in Canadian Walmart so I had to fly one in from Michigan to Toronto. For the price of $200, its just a fantastic bike. If you want to upgrade, move up to a Carbon Fiber bike, otherwise this is just good. I am not a professional rider or do not ride for thousands of miles, so this is just a wonderful bike for me.
Now about the bike: I will try to explain all the things that I was looking for in all the reviews I read, to make my decision and I must say it was difficult to decide specially because of the size and because I couldn't try it cuz I am in Canada.. My other choice was GMC Denalli 20" or 22.5". I went with Genesis cuz I didn't like the mountain bike type gear shifter on GMC and also very mixed good/bad reviews and also problems people had with GMC bikes on different forums and YouTube. Also the GMC did not have handlebar extra set of brakes. Also the gear parts on Genesis are little better in quality and you can tell by the price difference. Anyhow...
- I am almost 5'8" with Inseam of 32" with almost 32" of arm stretch for your handlebar reach.. This bike fit wonderful with the seat adjusted all the way down. No back or Knee discomfort at all. My back does not stretch - I mean its not a back breaking stretch- its a comfortable stretch, when I hold the drop bar brake grips, its even more comfortable now that I raised the handlebar few millimetres up.
If you have 30" or less inseam or you are below 5'7", I would go with a smaller frame. Check Online how to measure you BIKE inseam-google it.
- Please also go through as much as you can "How to assemble road bike" videos on YouTube cuz the paper work that comes with the bike is not very comprehensive if you are not a technical minded person. The owners manual has settings for all the genesis bikes so it was kind'a difficult to understand what is applicable to which bike, but I had enough "how to assemble bike" videos under my belt so I didn't pay much attention to the manual....but again it wasn't a rocket science. Took me around 20-30 mins to get this done.
- Brake and Gear adjustment: If you can not afford to take this bike to a Local bike shop than again...refer back to YouTube videos to learn how to adjust brakes and derailleur. I was lucky that the rear derailleur was pretty much tuned out of the box and the front took little work. Brakes are kind'a cheap or more Polite Canadian term - very basic caliper brakes and needed adjustment---do not get frustrated and remember that you only spent $200 on this bike. This feeling will keep you motivated to tuned this bike to your liking.
- My front tire is not really true but I am learning it on YouTube and ordered the tool from ebay for couple of dollars, so that I can do it myself too. Its very easy to do.
- Most of the reviews stated that the bike Seat is very hard and not comfortable, so I ordered in advance, the Schwin Memory foam seat - but I started riding the bike with the original seat that came with it and I must say it is not bad at all. May be if you ride for hours, it may be uncomfortable but I did not feel my man-hood or my bottom going numb at all....and I am not fat bottom guy either....so don't buy new seat till you try you style of riding.
-The extra set of brakes on the handle bar are very convenient specially if you want to give your back a little rest by riding up but still need brakes for stopping.
Overall it is great bike, everybody liked it. Goes really fast, and if you get thinner tires, you can go even faster...but why? I think its $200 well spent. Remember to wear Helmet-its the law, at least for us Canadians. Remember that Balls and Brain are very important for a man- so make sure you protect them! Good seat and Good helmet. Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Sweetest Road Bike Ever

07/10/2013
By ,
Roswell, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own and have owned many, many bicycles over lots of years. Bought this bike because of its price and because it had dual brake levers. In other words you can actuate the brakes from two positions: Upright, gripping the straight top of the handlebar; or, in the traditional road bike crouch using the curved part of the bar. I own two other more expensive road bikes - one has a carbon-fiber frame and forks and is many times more expensive than this bike. Let me tell you, though, for every day riding this bike is the sweetest I have ever owned. Yes the tires are slightly larger for a 700C bike but it is no problem - softer ride and very hard to notice any increased pedal effort. It is stable and comfy at all speeds. And this thing shifts gears so well - effortless and precise - love it. The gear set is perfect for anyone short of a hard core competitor. Three chain rings make it easier to select a comfortable gear. I would agree with the experienced reviewer that the brakes are a little weak, but they do the job well enough. The only change I would recommend is a better seat.
I just rode this bike across town and back and it was pure joy - effortless and fast. Snick up and down through the gears - swoosh and zoom! A fantastic value and more fun to ride than any bike I ever had. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Loved it!!!

12/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast shipping!!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Great Bike

07/29/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very hesitant buying a bike from walmart after reading a lot of reviews on multiple sites about how bad they were. I read a couple of the good reviews on this one and decided that I was going to chance it. The bike is great. I am just over 6' and about 200lbs and I fit on it just fine. The seat isn't the most comfortable, but that is an easy fix. As most others stated the brakes are pretty cheap. I tinkered with them quite a bit and got them to work better, but lets just hope a car doesn't cut me off. The negative reviews on this bike are incorrect as all the needed pieces are there. It took me awhile to put this bike together just because I over analyzed everything and tried to do more work than needed, that they had already done. Over all it is a very smooth riding bike and I hope to put many miles on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Value higher than expected

05/13/2013
By ,
Des Moines, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this bike 3 weeks ago and have since put 114 miles on it. First off let me address the issues pigeonpigeon brought up in his bad review. There are NO nuts and/or washers for the front axle of this bike as it’s a quick release front wheel. He said the front fork was backwards, this is for packaging, the fork is turned inward to take up less space in the box, simple fix, turn it outward before installing the handlebars like the instructions point out. As for the front axle being too short, rotate the quick release arm counter clockwise (simply loosen it) and it goes right on. All of this was covered in the instructions.
Moving on. I was looking for a decent entry level road bike, after years of mountain biking I had a clear understanding of what to look for in a quality bike. Not knowing if I wanted to go all out with road cycling I set aside a small budget and I knew doing this put me into a lower level of quality and I was okay with that as I know my way around bikes to work with what I got. Yet what I got with this bike was more than I expected. Very well built, rides very smooth, and the comfort was much more than I expected.
For those of you that are new to the idea of getting a road bike be sure to budget for a good set of cycling shorts with the padding built in, as road bike saddles (seat) are built for a totally different purpose than any other bike seat. There is a great pair on amazon for $30 and it makes road biking MUCH more rewarding and enjoyable. Yet I will say this saddle is very well built, and more comfortable than some of my friends’ $100 saddles. Also I don’t mean to sound like your mom here, but a comfortable helmet should be a must as well. Had a few close calls with drivers finding it more important to respond to a text than to look out for people on bikes. Cheap insurance for a worst case scenario.
I am 5’ 9” with a 30" inseam and this bike fits me perfect with the saddle set 2" above bottoming out, yet anyone under a 28" inseam may struggle with this bike as it might be a bit big for them. A friend of mine is 6’ 3” and after some seat adjusting he was very comfortable on it as well. The bike is very light and that makes for enjoyable long rides. The handle bars are also very comfortable and I was quite impressed with them.
This bike could use a setup at a local bike shop to really dial it in. Out of the box it performs well but a little rough around the edges, something your local bike shop can smooth out for you for about $30
Now to the cons. The breaks, they are super cheap, but heck they stop the bike so I can’t complain too much. And after some fine tuning they work well, not great, but well. Keep in mind you could always change them out with better ones. Also, the tires, they have quite a bit more tread on them for a road bike tire. They work, but less tread will make you faster and less resistance to work with on long rides. Yet like I said I have 114 miles on mine and have not found it too much of a downfall to change out, and if you are going for fitness then the small resistance will work in your favor. Shifting on this bike is quiet and smooth once the derailer is all dialed in.
All in all this is a fantastic value for the money, looking forward to hundreds of more miles on this bike. For $200 I’m honestly blown away with what I got.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+107points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
merced ca
Bike Seat Height
Posted 05/18/2013
If You Have a Road Bike Than You Want The Seat To Be High Enough To Where Your Legs Are Almost Fully Extended So You Dont Waste Much Energy By Moving Your Leg Up And Down So Far./Thanks For Reading If You Have Any Questions Leave a Comment, And Vote This As Usefull Please
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for 22.5" Genesis 700c Men's RoadTech Road Bike, Black/Red

Smooth ride

11/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my son who lives in FL and rides 3+ miles to and from work everyday. He loves it. He said it's a nice smooth ride and makes his commute much more pleasurable than the cheaper bike he had bought himself.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next