Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Frigidaire Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

Frigidaire Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

The Frigidaire Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD is capable of continuous operation when the unit is located near a suitable drain. The Frigidaire Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD features top-center mechanical controls, an easily accessible collection container with level indicator and a washable filter that reduces bacteria, room odors and other airbourne particles
Average Customer Rating:
4.503 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(1050 Reviews) 941
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
742
4 stars
207
3 stars
32
2 stars
25
1 star
44
Customer Recommendation93%969 out of 1,047reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
76 Questions | 420 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
742
4 stars
207
3 stars
32
2 stars
25
1 star
44
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

Great Dehumidifier for large basement

09/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very quiet and efficient! Does a great job..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

Words as advertised

08/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This dehumidifier works good, my only concern is the plastic drawer that you pull out when it is full is kinda flimsy. I had a GE that seemed more sturdy, but it was only a 50-pint and would pull enough humidity from my house. All in all I'm pleased with the Frigidaire.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

Great dehumidifier for dummies!

08/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in the North East where summers are hot and humid, and dreaded the way my cellar gets during that season; funky, damp, the pipes drip, & everything feels clammy. I knew there were things called "dehumidifiers", but I'd only seen one ages ago. It was a bulky, rusty metal contraption, and no way something I'd want.
So, why did I finally buy a dehumidifier? Well, I'd had an antique dresser stored in the cellar under thick blankets for the past 8 years, recently wanted to use it & found that the veneer had warped from all those summers in the damp cellar. Bummer!
I chose this Frigidaire.
Want to know how complicated it is?
This is the set up: Plug it in & press "on". (I use the continuous setting.) It turns off when it's full, which is often! Emptying it is easy as pie. I'd rather not hook it up to a hose, so just use as-is.
It works GREAT, & my cellar is DRY, & doesn't smell funky!
Wish I'd bought one years ago, and that dresser would be AOK.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

Works well; easy exchange

08/30/2014
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second unit of this model. I needed two for my basement. With the second one, it was defective with a high pitch whirring/whistling sound that the first one did not have. I exchanged it with walmart.com, but the second model had the same problem leading me to think there was a defect in manufacturing the units that were available for purchase through Walmart. I recently returned the second one. I bought the dehumidifier from a different online retailer and there is no annoying loud whistling noise. The new unit works well, has a quiet fan and is very easy to empty water out of the bucket. The best one out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

works well and easy to use.

08/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommended by consumer reports and thats why i bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

Great Dehumidifier

08/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dehumidifier works great and was a great value. Had trouble with dehumidifiers in the past being so noisy; this one is very quiet and works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

great dehumider

08/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works like its suppose to!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

So quiet!

08/26/2014
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this dehumidifier. It is so quiet and it works great. Right now I empty the bucket, but eventually I will use the attachment feature to run a hose from the dehumidifier to my sump pump. Again, it is the best one I have owned and I have had two before this one. Also, great shipping from Walmart and I didn't even ask for quick shipping. Received it the day after I ordered it. Must have been good timing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

Frigidair Dehumidifer

08/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would not work out of the box the frist time
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

Very disappointed in Frigidaire Customer Service

08/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Frigidaire Customer Service does not respond when there is a problem.
My unit is 10 months old and the coils are icing up.
I called for assistance 21 days ago and am told that some one will be in touch within 24 to 48 hours and no one calls.
I have also sent an Email without any response.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

Loud high-pitched annoying noise

08/26/2014
By ,
Massachusetts
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This humidifier does a good job of removing moisture, is easy to work with, and the fan is quiet. However, as soon as the compressor turns on, there is a high pitched, very loud noise. The unit is in the basement, but the noise can be heard upstairs, even with the door closed. The sound is continuous whenever the compressor is running. We returned our first one, hoping it was fluke. We must now return our second identical unit, as it does the same thing. Disappointed with Consumer Reports, which gave it high marks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

Great product

08/26/2014
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My basement is not as humid as it used to be. Product is quiet and efficient
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

Works Great for a Great Price

08/25/2014
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this unit because our old Whirlpool unit died. Upon reciept we plugged it in and ran it continuously for 3 days. It removed the damp smelly feel to our 1300ft^2 basement and we were amazed at how quickly the resovior filled up and needed to be emptied. We now use the humidstat to target the desired relative humity and the unit cycles on/off. Great functionality for a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

It works. It does what is supposed to do.

08/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a replacement for one of these I bought in 2010. I use it to reduce the humidity in the basement in the hope of keeping the mold down. The dehumidifier I had before 2010 (I don't remember the brand) consistently froze the condensation, especially in the winter because of the low temperature in the basement.
I bought the Frigidaire because the rated temperature range was low enough that I expected the condensation would not freeze up on the coils. For the first two or three years, it did not freeze up, but later I found that in spite of the rating, the condensation sometimes froze. I then put the dehumidifier on a timer and turned of the electricity from midnight to 6AM. That solved that problem.
However, a month or so ago, I found the dehumidifier turned off. I couldn't figure out why, and I couldn't get it to turn on. I tried a different outlet, and the circuit breaker popped, so I gave up on that unit.
I called Frigidaire to see about getting it repaired. The person I talked to seemed very nice, asked me several questions, talked to his boss a couple of times, and finally told me that there was nothing they could/would do in spite of the fact that the compressor is guaranteed for five years. His boss had said it wasn't the compressor that had gone bad. I am inclined to disagree with him because the fact that the circuit breaker popped probably meant that the compressor locked up and wouldn't let the dehumidifier start. I may challenge his boss, but I don't know whether it is worth the time and effort. From what others have written in other reviews, perhaps I was fortunate to get four years out of the unit.
Anyway, I asked about repairs, but I was told that Frigidaire not only does not repair failed dehumidifiers, they do not sell parts! So, I have put the old unit aside until I decide whether to disassemble it to see what is inside or just pitch it.
Since I was reasonably satisfied with my previous unit, I bought another Frigidaire 70 pint dehumidifier, and as I wrote above, it works. This time, I thought it best to buy an extended warranty (I almost never do that, and I am seldom wrong in not buying it.) Unfortunately, Wal-Mart offers only a three year extended warranty (some other retailers offer four year warranties), so the warranty may be worthless. On the other hand, other reviewers have said that they did not get three years use out of the dehumidifier -- they seem to have a fairly high failure rate -- so it was probably wise to buy the extended warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

Working great in my wet basement

08/25/2014
By ,
Newark,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The house hadn't been maintained with a dehumidifier, so the dirt / concrete floor was dark colored (moist soil color). After a couple days, there were tan areas on the floor in the room this dehumidifier was in, so it is definitely improving the moisture situation.
At how often I am emptying the bucket it looks to be close to 70 pints per 24 hours when on low with a reading of 85-90% humidity in the room. It'll take a while to catch up, and I may need a second one, but I'm very happy with this units performance.
I bought a 50 pint version of this from Frigidaire about 10 years ago and it's still working fine at my moms house, I hope & expect to get the same long lasting performance from this model.
Ordering online, since it wasn't available in the store wasn't too bad, it was delivered to my house - so I don't really have any complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

Excellent product.

08/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this product. Very quiet and performs as outlined in the product description.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

70 pint Frigidaire Dehumidifier

08/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 70 pint Frigidaire Dehumidifier works really well at lowering the humidify in my basement. In just three days the humid odor was gone. Great dehumidifier!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

Great dehumidifier and exceeded expectations

08/24/2014
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This dehumidifier was bought for a crawlspace that I had encapsulated with plastic. I thought maybe the encapsulation alone would be enough but it wasn't. With the dehumidifier I also bought a wireless hygrometer to read the humidity of the crawlspace from inside the house. I was pleased to find out that what ever I set the dehumidifier on, the hygrometer recorded the same humidity level. I expected it to be +/- 5%, but it is right on it. I have been running this now continuously for about a month, I am keeping it set on 50%, I started it out on 55%, it adjust the to the new setting really fast, within a few hours it seemed. I read all the reviews prior to purchase and some said it was loud, it is not. I had previously operated fans in the crawlspace and they were as loud or louder than this unit. I cannot hear it at all from inside the house. I have it draining to a automated pump that pumps the water to a sink in the garage, I am using a bucket in the sink to measure how much water, it is producing about 3-4 gallons of water a day in August, I hoping I will not have to run it in the winter but we will see. I bought the 3 year service plan with it from Walmart just in case it didn't last the three years, and that was reasonable. So the dehumidifier and 3 year warranty were very affordable and I am completely happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

I've had this dehumidifier less than two weeks

08/23/2014
By ,
Florence, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
...but so far, it has worked perfectly, has removed moisture from my basement, and it's QUIET. Whenever the compressor comes on, there's an additional QUIET hum. I'm using a hose for the water to drain into my shower. It's good-looking, but I did buy the three-year warranty, just in case!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Frigidaire 70-Pint Dehumidifier, FAD704DWD

works wonderful

08/23/2014
By ,
SHERBURN MINNESOTA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my son loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 942 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  48 Next