Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Mongoose 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

The Mongoose Beast is an agile, resilient bike that can be ridden easily on a wide variety of terrain thanks to oversized tires for stability and traction. Cruiser geometry adds a comfortable but athletic riding position. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.278 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(248 Reviews) 231
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
83
3 stars
14
2 stars
8
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation92%228 out of 248reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 331 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
132
4 stars
83
3 stars
14
2 stars
8
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Fat & Fun

09/25/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA U.S.A.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike rocks for the money!! So much fun and many upgrade possibilities to make it even better.
Check out my handlebar mods at: http://undergroundvelo.proboards.com/post/42443/thread
Check out this Beast upgrade video of what owners are creating: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BcgId96hmjs
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
DETROIT
"BEASTMOBILE "FAT TIRE BIKE MOTORIZED ON EBAY"
Posted 05/09/2014
I have the worlds first Motorized Fat Tire call it the "BeastMobile" Took a long time to figure out how to mount a 2cycle motor meant to mount on a 2.25 inch wide x 26' beach cruiser! Well Behold this is a hummer on 2 wheels! Have one with 56tooth sprocket for climbing hills and low to mid range. Have another motorized 44tooth sprocket for mid to high end. Top speed 30 to 35mph! Gets about 90 mpg! Put Harley Davidson saddle bags on my "BeastMobile" Makes look real cool! Sell them on Craigslist in Metro Detroit and on ebay! The Dolomite will soon be motorized by MotorCityMotorBikes! It can be done! Will post soon!
0points
Customer Avatar
Can it be modified to a motorized bicycle?
Posted 11/25/2013
Hi. I intend to modify this bicycle to make it a motorized bicycle. I'm interested if it got a round bar at the top. I can't really tell from the picture. Can anybody tell me please?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Different experience at a bargain price.

10/13/2013
By ,
Upstate New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My new Red Beast Cruiser is all that I expected. It's maneuverable and quick for it's 49 pounds. Don't inflate the tires to more than about 20 psi. Mine popped off the wheel at about 28 psi. These tires are obviously not high end and the lip of the wheel is small, but some compromises are necessary to keep the overall weight and expense down. I've only got about 20 miles on my bike right now but it is a fun ride and I'm looking forward to implementing some simple improvements that will make it even more of a pleasure. And by the way, as many people have said before, expect comments wherever you go. Within the first hour of riding a lakeside trail in the Catskills, four people either stopped me or cruised by with a curious comment about those big wheels.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

hey, look at that bike!

05/15/2014
By ,
Royersford, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
you'll be hearing a lot of that when you own the beast. i got 2 comments before it was even fully assembled. The fat tires, single speed, and foot brakes are the features i needed. - simple and functional. i have conquered a variety of terrain effortlessly. The bike has performed flawlessly. Shipping was fast. Assembly was easy. Riding is FUN.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Fun bike

06/19/2014
By ,
Ritzville, WA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We live out in the country, on gravel roads, this bike makes it so nice to ride on. We have even managed to do some cross countrying and it worked great. We will be buying another one soon, great bike!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

A very fun bike for a Great price!!!

06/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a blast on this bike so far!! I have had a few high dollar bikes in my day, and I was just looking for something fun to ride with nothing special on it. I just use it to cruise around with my 4 year old. He loves monster trucks and thinks daddy's bike it the coolest thing ever. It is super fun to ride, has HUGE possibilities for upgrades. I have switched the seat out for a more padded seat. Great bike all around for the price, no thrills, just a bunch of fun!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Great affordable fat bike!

01/12/2014
By ,
Anchorage, AK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first impressions is that the tires on this bike are much huge than what i thought it would be. Assembling the bike was pretty easy and fast. Riding this bike is very fun and provides much better traction in snow, sand and mud than a regular bike, but its pretty heavy and gives you a heck of a workout, but overall the mongoose beast is a great bike!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Funnest bike you can buy!

03/01/2014
By ,
Duncan, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With a few minor modifications this bike is a super fun one to ride. The rear gear is an 18 tooth and I had trouble pedaling it especially up hill. I bought a 22 tooth gear off of ebay and had a bike shop put it on along with a new chain and grease everything up. I just turned 30 but feel like I am 12 again when I ride this thing. I'm sure my neighbors think I'm a weirdo because I am always on it. Apparently there is a new fat bike coming out called the Mongoose Dolomite that has gears which will be a huge plus. It would be awesome if the frame was aluminum as well. Get one people!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Great bike!

08/16/2014
By ,
Antioch, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this bike mainly to ride with my kids around the neighborhood and the park. Great bike for flat ground riding. I changed out the rear cog for a 22 tooth, the stock 18 tooth took a lot of energy to get rolling. Rides smooth and quiet, and great for bigger riders, I'm 6'2" and 270lbs, another reason why I got it to drop some weight. This bike will turn heads and get people asking what it is due to the massive wheels, always positive comments. Glad I purchased this bike, I really enjoy it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

wife got me the "beast" for Christmas

01/09/2014
By ,
Lebanon Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a senior and was concerned about just one speed, both wife and i were surprised how easy and nice this big bike is to peddle and ride.
I am looking forward on next trip to coast to take the fat tire beast our on the beaches along damp wet sand sections.
The wife got me a huge special order springed seat like the old days look, and i really like this bike, i have bad knees and wanted a no impact way to work my legs.
Where we live it is the only one around and is fun because it gets the double takes from people.
You want a well made fat tire bike at a fantastic price, order yours from Wal Mart
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Excellent All Terrain Bike, Ride Very Good.

12/05/2013
By ,
Eastern North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Son Love This All Terrain Bike. Make Sure You Have The Tools To Put This Bike Together, Allen Wrench Metric, Socket Wrench or Box & Open end Wrench Metric.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

$200 worth of cool

04/18/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't ride this bike for further than a block without a thumbs up and smiles. Don't expect to climb Mount Everest, just take it easy and enjoy the fun of a 4.5 inch tire. Ape hangers add to the fun!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
michigan
very cool with ape style handlebars
Posted 04/20/2013
just ordered one want to put ape handlebars on. what diameter is the tube size of handlebars? thanks any help would be appreciated!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Gets more attention then it probably deserves.

06/09/2013
By ,
Bay City MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike and the concept met my expectations, in as much as it is a single speed cruiser. Its the manufacture quality that came up short. The frame had dents under the paint that led me to think that they probably took a beating before painting. The all terrain part came up a little short in soft sand even with the tires at 7psi. The wheels and tires,are awesome. It's probably more bmx considering the stem takes a 7/8 center handlebar. The seat is a royal pain. But, if you like talking to people this thing is a real conversation starter. It's very easy to pedal, unless your in sand. You would think just the opposite once you see the tires. All things considered the bike is fun and that's the bottom line.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

26" Mongoose Beast

03/06/2014
By ,
SanDiego
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The price is right for this fat tire bike. Easy set-up.
I made some modifications to the bike.
Swapped out handlebars for beach cruiser handlebars and added a more friendly seat.
I also changed out the back cog from 18 to 22 makes it easier to pedal
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Great Outdoor Bike

02/12/2014
By ,
Sunny Isles Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for what I wanted it. As a Fitness Trainer I use it on trails, grass and mostly sand. The ATV of bikes. I know that there are more expensive and specialized bikes with the same concept out there, but this is a solid, easy to maintain bike and the price is right.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Really nice bike

06/23/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always wanted a fat tire bike and this was a good start for me. I'm very tall so I put ape hanger handlebars on and a springer seat. I have rode this bike a lot and the only other thing that I will change is the rear cog.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

nice entry level fat bike

12/21/2013
By ,
Valpo, IN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Color green iz sweet.. a different bike for those who like change. Plannning on purchasing another in the future. Good buy for the money. Its been to cold to ride it yet but cant wait.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Wow what a ride

07/01/2013
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Saw this bike in a local dealer as they were assembling it for a client and thought how cool. Went home and ordered one right away. It arrived in 2 days. Was easy to assemble and had just a few scratches. In no time I was out riding. This bike is fun to ride. Took it on level trails and in soft dirt. It rode surprising well. Its not for hilly terrain but that's why I have a mountain bike. Ive since gave it a custom paint job and get stopped everywhere I go. You couldn't build one of these for the price. What a great deal. It is a great cruiser.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Beast Bike

12/10/2013
By ,
Norwalk, Iowa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product with an awesome price!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

so much bang for the buck..very pleased all around

05/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the walmart site has more bikes than the store could ever hold. the item was sooooo easy to purchase and the shipping took only a few days. All their bikes are really good deals. I own several and bought all of them at the store except this monster bike. I did find a small problem with the rear hub. It was over tightened at the factory. Making the brake rub inside the hub. It was easy to fix. If I had absolutely no mechanical skills I could have taken it to a small bike shop and got it fixed . But it was a very small problem .Taking it back to Walmart was never a thought .The seat is darn nice ,but I like the cloud 9 you can buy anywhere. Another option would be a gel seat cover .I enjoy the upright seating position and that puts pressure on my tail bone. I lost fifty pounds in a short time without even trying on a cruiser ,only slightly modifying my diet . All the time enjoying the trees and birds along the way. This bike is perfect for the rails to trails !!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Lots of fun, for not a lot of money!

04/17/2013
By ,
St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice packaging and fast home delivery. Good shape on arrival. Putting together was easy, but there was very little grease on the hub bearings, crank bearings, and headset bearings, and all were over-tightened. Easily fixed during assembly. Ready to ride!
Wow, these tires are monstrous! The bike is fairly heavy, but with the tires at 30 psi, and the nice solid center strip on the tires, the bike rides great on pavement! Well balanced and sure-footed! My neighborhood is hilly, so it is a workout, but what a blast to ride! Problem is, everyone wants to stop you and take a look. Rides in grass great! Now for a little trail ride...
Rolling smooth on dirt trail at 30 psi tires, but ran over a few small sticks and one took a stab through the back tire and tube. Game over. Brought it home for a patch job. Yes, tire is heavy but the rubber is thin. Hopefully this was just a fluke. I'm looking forward to riding it tomorrow.
Overall, great fun for the money, but I hope the tires can handle a little more challenging terrain and obstacles. Makes you feel like a kid again!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 232 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next