Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mongoose 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Mongoose 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

The Mongoose Beast is an agile, resilient bike that can be ridden easily on a wide variety of terrain thanks to oversized tires for stability and traction. Cruiser geometry adds a comfortable but athletic riding position. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
4.332 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(193 Reviews) 176
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
101
4 stars
71
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation94%182 out of 193reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 289 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
101
4 stars
71
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Fat & Fun

09/25/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA U.S.A.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike rocks for the money!! So much fun and many upgrade possibilities to make it even better.
Check out my handlebar mods at: http://undergroundvelo.proboards.com/post/42443/thread
Check out this Beast upgrade video of what owners are creating: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BcgId96hmjs
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Can it be modified to a motorized bicycle?
Posted 11/25/2013
Hi. I intend to modify this bicycle to make it a motorized bicycle. I'm interested if it got a round bar at the top. I can't really tell from the picture. Can anybody tell me please?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Different experience at a bargain price.

10/13/2013
By ,
Upstate New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My new Red Beast Cruiser is all that I expected. It's maneuverable and quick for it's 49 pounds. Don't inflate the tires to more than about 20 psi. Mine popped off the wheel at about 28 psi. These tires are obviously not high end and the lip of the wheel is small, but some compromises are necessary to keep the overall weight and expense down. I've only got about 20 miles on my bike right now but it is a fun ride and I'm looking forward to implementing some simple improvements that will make it even more of a pleasure. And by the way, as many people have said before, expect comments wherever you go. Within the first hour of riding a lakeside trail in the Catskills, four people either stopped me or cruised by with a curious comment about those big wheels.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Great affordable fat bike!

01/12/2014
By ,
Anchorage, AK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first impressions is that the tires on this bike are much huge than what i thought it would be. Assembling the bike was pretty easy and fast. Riding this bike is very fun and provides much better traction in snow, sand and mud than a regular bike, but its pretty heavy and gives you a heck of a workout, but overall the mongoose beast is a great bike!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

wife got me the "beast" for Christmas

01/09/2014
By ,
Lebanon Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a senior and was concerned about just one speed, both wife and i were surprised how easy and nice this big bike is to peddle and ride.
I am looking forward on next trip to coast to take the fat tire beast our on the beaches along damp wet sand sections.
The wife got me a huge special order springed seat like the old days look, and i really like this bike, i have bad knees and wanted a no impact way to work my legs.
Where we live it is the only one around and is fun because it gets the double takes from people.
You want a well made fat tire bike at a fantastic price, order yours from Wal Mart
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Funnest bike you can buy!

03/01/2014
By ,
Duncan, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With a few minor modifications this bike is a super fun one to ride. The rear gear is an 18 tooth and I had trouble pedaling it especially up hill. I bought a 22 tooth gear off of ebay and had a bike shop put it on along with a new chain and grease everything up. I just turned 30 but feel like I am 12 again when I ride this thing. I'm sure my neighbors think I'm a weirdo because I am always on it. Apparently there is a new fat bike coming out called the Mongoose Dolomite that has gears which will be a huge plus. It would be awesome if the frame was aluminum as well. Get one people!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Excellent All Terrain Bike, Ride Very Good.

12/05/2013
By ,
Eastern North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Son Love This All Terrain Bike. Make Sure You Have The Tools To Put This Bike Together, Allen Wrench Metric, Socket Wrench or Box & Open end Wrench Metric.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Gets more attention then it probably deserves.

06/09/2013
By ,
Bay City MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike and the concept met my expectations, in as much as it is a single speed cruiser. Its the manufacture quality that came up short. The frame had dents under the paint that led me to think that they probably took a beating before painting. The all terrain part came up a little short in soft sand even with the tires at 7psi. The wheels and tires,are awesome. It's probably more bmx considering the stem takes a 7/8 center handlebar. The seat is a royal pain. But, if you like talking to people this thing is a real conversation starter. It's very easy to pedal, unless your in sand. You would think just the opposite once you see the tires. All things considered the bike is fun and that's the bottom line.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

nice entry level fat bike

12/21/2013
By ,
Valpo, IN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Color green iz sweet.. a different bike for those who like change. Plannning on purchasing another in the future. Good buy for the money. Its been to cold to ride it yet but cant wait.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

$200 worth of cool

04/18/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't ride this bike for further than a block without a thumbs up and smiles. Don't expect to climb Mount Everest, just take it easy and enjoy the fun of a 4.5 inch tire. Ape hangers add to the fun!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
michigan
very cool with ape style handlebars
Posted 04/20/2013
just ordered one want to put ape handlebars on. what diameter is the tube size of handlebars? thanks any help would be appreciated!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

26" Mongoose Beast

03/06/2014
By ,
SanDiego
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The price is right for this fat tire bike. Easy set-up.
I made some modifications to the bike.
Swapped out handlebars for beach cruiser handlebars and added a more friendly seat.
I also changed out the back cog from 18 to 22 makes it easier to pedal
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Really nice bike

06/23/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I always wanted a fat tire bike and this was a good start for me. I'm very tall so I put ape hanger handlebars on and a springer seat. I have rode this bike a lot and the only other thing that I will change is the rear cog.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Great Outdoor Bike

02/12/2014
By ,
Sunny Isles Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for what I wanted it. As a Fitness Trainer I use it on trails, grass and mostly sand. The ATV of bikes. I know that there are more expensive and specialized bikes with the same concept out there, but this is a solid, easy to maintain bike and the price is right.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Wow what a ride

07/01/2013
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Saw this bike in a local dealer as they were assembling it for a client and thought how cool. Went home and ordered one right away. It arrived in 2 days. Was easy to assemble and had just a few scratches. In no time I was out riding. This bike is fun to ride. Took it on level trails and in soft dirt. It rode surprising well. Its not for hilly terrain but that's why I have a mountain bike. Ive since gave it a custom paint job and get stopped everywhere I go. You couldn't build one of these for the price. What a great deal. It is a great cruiser.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Beast Bike

12/10/2013
By ,
Norwalk, Iowa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product with an awesome price!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Lots of fun, for not a lot of money!

04/17/2013
By ,
St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice packaging and fast home delivery. Good shape on arrival. Putting together was easy, but there was very little grease on the hub bearings, crank bearings, and headset bearings, and all were over-tightened. Easily fixed during assembly. Ready to ride!
Wow, these tires are monstrous! The bike is fairly heavy, but with the tires at 30 psi, and the nice solid center strip on the tires, the bike rides great on pavement! Well balanced and sure-footed! My neighborhood is hilly, so it is a workout, but what a blast to ride! Problem is, everyone wants to stop you and take a look. Rides in grass great! Now for a little trail ride...
Rolling smooth on dirt trail at 30 psi tires, but ran over a few small sticks and one took a stab through the back tire and tube. Game over. Brought it home for a patch job. Yes, tire is heavy but the rubber is thin. Hopefully this was just a fluke. I'm looking forward to riding it tomorrow.
Overall, great fun for the money, but I hope the tires can handle a little more challenging terrain and obstacles. Makes you feel like a kid again!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Fun, unique but not enough bike for enthusiasts

02/27/2014
By ,
Anoka, mn
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Obviously for the price point this bike is a hoot! The 26x4 tires are great over rough terrain and provide some floatation. Sadly with its steel frame and large tires the bike weighs in at just shy of 50lbs! This makes riding difficult at times since you have such a large mass to propel out of sand or snow.
Another downside is the choice of gearing "out of the box" which they just used commonly available gears for. With such a large weight of wheel you really need to change the gearing to be at all efficient with this bike. Something in the 25 tooth range for the rear makes the bike come to life, so it would have been nice if the factory had done that.
Also of note was the condition of the bearings when removed from the box: over tightened and under lubricated. For somebody who does not have the necessary skills and tools to disassemble a bike this means more cost to have a local shop do the work as these are not rideable without some tweaking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Fat bike for 200!! Best Burning Man bike ever

05/19/2013
By ,
San Francisco
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got it in blue. Arrived in 4 days. Took a few hours to put on lighter tubes (2.5-3" mtn bike), re greased and adjusted the hubs and crank. The original tubes weighed probably 2lbs each. saves tons of roatational mass by swapping em out. Added wider bars for my old cruiser and cup holder for my beer.
Riding this thing around town is super smooth and everyone smiles and points as I pass by. You will get lots of attention on this bad boy!
Can't wait to take this out to the Playa this year. No more fearing torn up dust sand traps. This will float over anything. My old cruiser had fairly big tires but would still get bogged down on bumpy busy streets and patches mid playa. Not this thing!
Overall, I would compare it to riding a giant bmx bike that is easy and nimble to wheelie and jump too. The big tires feel almost like suspension but also don't stop rolling on bumps. So much fun to ride!
Buy this
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NY
How do you adjust???
Posted 07/02/2013
How do you adjust the hubs and crank?? Im looking to ride in the sand on the beach. I found your review very helpful. Any suggestions for sand adjustments??
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

2013 Best Selling Fat Bike: Mongoose BEAST

08/15/2013
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own different kinds of bike from a full carbon road bike to an electra cruiser, but I purchased this one as a FUN bike in beach and snow. Great when I stroll slowly with my kids around the neighborhood and the park. Heavy bike, but solid durable frame. Truly it gets a lot of attention!
I put some of my old lightweight parts (seat, handlebar, stem, pedals, etc.) Spend a little over $100 on (23T Rear cog, tubes & tires) and some elbow grease to save on Local Bike Shop labor (punch hole to the rims) to lighten the weight and ride. Now, I have a less than $400 all terrain fat bike. I tried it on a beach sand and it floats! Will try it on snow soon...
Don't let the Walgoose made in China haters keep you from buying one (the truth is they also wear aparrels that is made in China). Jealous when they spend $2,500+ on a fat bike when you can buy a capable less than $200 FAT BEAST!
PS I bought mine RED @ $168.57 on 08/12/2013 FREE SHIPPING via online.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Great bike if your mechanically inclined

03/09/2014
By ,
Joliet, Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike is well worth the money if you are mechanically inclined. You really need to take it all apart to grease and adjust. The headset was too tight and needed the bearings greased. The same with the bottom bracket. Since I was doing this I also re-greased the wheel bearings. This is a heavy bike at 48 lbs, mine came geared at 32t x 18t making it somewhat of workout to ride. I changed the rear gear to 22t and it's much better but still heavy. With the costs of other Fat Bikes out there, this is a still a very good value. The 26x4 tires an rims are worth the money alone. If you are not mechanically inclined you could still take it to your local bike shop for them to perform the work as I specified above. I fear if you just put it together as shipped, you will not enjoy it as much, and will be prone to some type of mechanical failure in the near future. It should be a great sand, snow and trail bike.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 26" Mongoose Beast Men's Fat Tire Mountain, Multiple Colors

Cruiser?Mountain Bike?neither right out of the box

11/12/2013
By ,
Chicago
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Researched this for weeks before buying the bike but I've decided to return it. A $200 fat bike was certainly worth a try. I have to say I wished this would have been lighter. If it were I would have kept it. This bike needs someone with the time, skills, and money to make it rideable by replacing the cheaper parts (cranks, bars, seat, etc) and adding some badly needed parts (brakes, geared hub or derailleur etc). If you do modify this bike it will make you smile. I took it on the single track straight out of the box and it was fun at first but at the end of my run I had to walk it up the last hill panting and sweating. I'll have to wait for a geared version of this bike with front and rear disc breaks, then I'll have to keep it. (Walmart are you listening?) There are some cool sites like "www.ratrodbikes.com" or "mtrb.com" if your still on the fence. These people love their beasts and I love their mods!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 177 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next