Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Singer Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

Singer Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

All the speed, efficiency, and creative possibilities of an overlock machine are yours with the Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine. With easy access to the lower loopers, this Singer serger machine offers quick and easy capability to make rolled or narrow hems. The feed mechanism can be varied depending upon the fabric. For creative and professional stitching, it features rolled hem, ¾ thread overlock, and an adjustable cutting length. A slant needle bar allows you to view your working area with ease. This Serger overlock sewing machine provides an attractive finish with its table linens, scarves, and three-thread rolled hems. The stitching length can be adjusted between 1mm to 4mm. The stitching width can be adjusted according to your choice between 3mm to 6.7mm by turning the thumb nut.
Average Customer Rating:
3.464 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
10
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation59%33 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 36 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
10
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

Poor quality

05/23/2012
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've been sewing for years and had a Singer serger back in the mid 80's when Singer's quality was still good. It finally bit the dust so I thought since I had such good luck with my old Singer that I would buy another one. Big mistake! I am very knowledgeable with working with sergers and coverstitch machines and I could never get this thing to serge. I got rid of it and bought a Juki and I have no problems whatsoever. Stay away from a Singer serger! Spend a little more money and get a good one especially if you sew alot like I do.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

The BEST Value and a GREAT Product!!

11/12/2007
By ,
Villa Rica, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I bought a serger I went on a review hunt as you should do with any big purchase. But most reviews only tell you if the person that purchased the product had a problem with it. This is not such a review!
I received it in record time, great packaging, and a clean design. It took me about 15 minutes to learn how to thread it with the manual, which by the way is so easy to read and understand. Step by step instructions through the whole line of features the machine has at your fingertips, setting suggestions for fabrics and so much more. And for the price the features are great, especially the rolled hem!
Now for the machine its self. This is my first experience with a serger. I was expecting something heavier which it was a good thing that it was not. I am not sure what justifies as a business grade serger, but I have a small business which is why I bought this and it has been wonderful to me. I needed something portable if it had to be and durable which it has been. And the price! I have researched dozens of sergers and nothing compares to this. Another store had the same one for $300, but I chose to save a few bucks and have it delivered. And its my advice that you should to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+122points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

Please consider the Brother 1034D!!!!

12/16/2007
By ,
Nashville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this serger from a store inside Joann's. When I got it home, it would not serge properly. I tried every tension setting possible, with no luck. After about 30 minutes of this, the LED light went out. These lights are clearly not meant to go out, as they are not changeable without taking them into a repair place!!! After deciding that it MUST be defective, I returned it to Joann's for an exchange. . .
The second one serged PERFECTLY, right out of the box! That is, until about 30 minutes into serging when the LED light went out on that machine as well!!! I was fed up! So I looked for reviews online and saw horrible things written on Amazon, Walmart, etc. These machines are NOT reliable! So, I returned the second machine for a refund and I plan on buying the Brother 1034D. I've found nothing but good things said about it and it's only $30-40 more expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

Don't waste your money!

10/24/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was excited to find a serger at such a reasonable price and since it was Singer brand I thought it would be decent quality. I knew at this price I wasn't getting a top model serger, but I thought it would be a good beginning one. Wrong! The tension on this machine was inconsistent from the day I brought it home. I tried working with it for a couple of weeks, thinking that maybe it was just my lack of serger knowledge. Finally I took it back and exchanged it for a new one. After dealing with that one for a couple of weeks, I had a co-worker (who used to be a seamstress) look at it. She couldn't figure it out either. I decided to give up on this machine all together. Unfortunately I couldn't find the receipt at that point. So now I'm stuck with it.
Personally I wouldn't waste my time going the "big box" route again for something like this. I found a local sewing machine dealer and got a great tuned-up/refurbished model at a great price(about $200). They also gave me a 1-year warranty. It works like a charm. I use it all the time and haven't had any problems since I bought it 5 months ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

Worth every penny!

09/29/2007
By ,
South Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never used a overlock/serger before and have been very surprised at how easy it was to begin sewing with and to learn. OK I cheated a long time ago and bought a couple of books hoping one day I'd own a serger! So far, have sewn many clothes for myself, made long shorts out of old jeans etc, tied up raggedy edged towels etc, made halloween, Christmas and decorating items etc. PLEASE remember that this is a home overlocker NOT a commercial model so it may well jam on thick pieces such as several folds of heavier material. You will quickly learn about this. It is NOT a machine problem. Recommend you download and print the threading instructions from Singer's site which I thought are better than in the instruction book.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

SINGER AIN'T WHAT SHE USED TO BE!

08/21/2012
By ,
Elizabethton, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this model of serger because I've always trusted SINGER. My current sewing machine is a Singer and has held up over the years. The 1st Singer I used was a "Feather Weight", it had been passed down from my Grandmother, Mother, Me and on to my 40 year old daughter. If I had the "Feather Weight" back I would not have needed this serger. I just wanted a small, light, portable machine to use while confined to a wheel chair for a few months.
I'm returning my Singer Model 14SH654 TODAY. Threading this machine was fairly easy, what isn't easy is setting the tension. I exhausted all resources on tension setting today with no success. I used the manual that was provided, watched the silent DVD, asked for help from a neighbor, followed customer support process, and finally called a local sewing machine repair service who agreed to adjust the tension for me at their hourly rate. READ READ READ any and all reviews, especially social media sites. I'm going to a local sewing machine retailer and test my next purchase AFTER I read the reviews.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

Fantastic for the Money

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant serger for the price, sergers aren't the easiest machines to use, but this machine seems to be well balanced out of the box. However, take your time to read the directions and balance the thread tensions. Not every machine will perform brilliantly out of the box, and sergers tend to be un-tamed if not managed well. Do your research and take your time to know the machine and it will produce a wonderfully clean and overlocked edge. 100% worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

Very Dissapointed

07/12/2007
By ,
Arlington
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although this is a budget model, I expected a basic but reliable Singer product. This is not the case.
The machine is lightweight and "tinny" it jams easily when going over seams. Jams frequently when starting off. The machine's tension is constantly shifting making it impossible to complete a project without rethreading or adjusting the tensions. I have changed needles, oiled, bought the best thread and used every tension scenario but as soon as I correct one tension another goes out of sync. I even brought the Singer "Sewing with Serger" manual to try to fine tune the unit with no success. Please don't waste your money, wait and save up for a better quality serger.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

It's worth every single cent !!

03/13/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this singer serger and i am pleased!! The machine does a great job, is easy to handle and the price is right!
To the people who have problems with it: This is a household machine and you can't expect it to be like an industrial. And for God's sake DO NOT pull the fabric while sewing, let it slide through that way you don't break any needles! The machine comes already threaded, so if you need to change colours, just cut off the spools, put on the colour of your choice and knot the thread, then you just pull the thread through and voila!! When you have 4 layers of fabric slow down a little that way it won't jam. Enjoy !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

Simply Awsome!

03/22/2011
By ,
Marysville, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot of the reviews on here and I bought the machine anyway! It is just a dream! It is so worth the money! I had no problem what so ever threading the machine did it with out reading the directions, everything is color coded. Oh and I am basically a beginner! So two thumbs up!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

Junk

01/23/2008
By ,
Amherst, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine is poorly engineered and next to impossible to thread. The instructions are awful to follow, interspersed with too many other languages. I bought it for my mother as she is downsizing and needed to get rid of her factory serger. She loved the portability of it, but it broke the right needle thread so many times, we finally left it unthreaded. Its now a three thread. I own a Singer 14U64A serger, which I've had for 23 years. I also own 16 other various sewing machines from treadles to a factory hemmer. I'm sorry to say, this machine is a huge disappointment.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

Wonderful

07/05/2007
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my serger not only does it work great it's small and easy to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

Get What You Pay For

01/19/2011
By ,
Cabot, Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This serger is the worse I have ever owned It sewed 2 pieces of material before it started messing up. I owned another brand for years and gave it away when I received this one for Christmas.
There is no tech support available. Singer is only opened from 8-4 and there arre not any local techs to repair this machine in Arkansas.
I would not suggest you purchase this serger. Singer did not step up and provide the type of product I am use to. Very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

Suitable for the Home Sewer

03/23/2012
By ,
Dominica, West Indies
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used a small serger for some years but it does not trim and is very slow. Wished that I had purchased this one a while ago. It is quite suitable for the home sewer and is fairly easy to use - simply follow the coded threading diagram and you will have no problems; it is not too slow and can accommodate fairly heavy materials. The Serger is not too heavy so if you do not have a permanent spot for it then it can be placed in storage after use. Also, you do not necessarily have to buy the more expensive cone thread as the small spools can fit just as well. You should just be careful that the threads do not get tangled in the poles when moving them for storage etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

Run away from this one

12/29/2013
By ,
Virginia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had mixed feelings about buying another Singer product since I returned two Singer sewing machines last year. The price was in my budget for a home serger so I wanted to give it a fair chance. It's going back tomorrow! I am not an expert seamstress but I'm not a novice either, I gave this machine a fair chance, running many different fabric scraps and changing tension/ stitch width etc. to every possible setting and feel like the machine was difficult to thread, the manual was almost useless, and the support information from Singer online was not much help. I will do some more research before I buy another one, and will surely stay away from Singer.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
I AGREE
Posted 07/13/2014
this serger is THE WORST EVER!!!!!!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

A nightmare of a machine

03/16/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had nothing but problems with this serger. It shreds, tangles, jams, skips stitches, and just will not do what it promises. I had it serviced (cost me $120 to fix the darn thing) and within a month it is back to shredding and tangling.
Please don't buy this machine. You will be sorry if you do.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

Great product

08/24/2007
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this serger a few months ago and have been using it nonstop. I have not had any problems with it. It is a great product, very easy to use. My sugestion is study very carefully how to thread this machine. Once its threaded right, it stitches great. I would recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

Really difficult to do even basics with

12/26/2013
By ,
Odessa, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because I loved my little singer sewing machine and quickly found out it was a mistake. Although I am not having issues with tension, as I am finding a lot of people do, it jams with every other seem I do. And worse than that when doing rolled hems it leaves a horrible gap at every seam. I have taken it in to be serviced and it did no good. The service man told me it couldnt handle the bulk....which was just some cotton woven and a seam. It just isn't a good machine and I will have to upgrade it a lot sooner than I wanted to
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654

Amazing Serger

08/01/2011
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical when I bought this but is more than exceeded my expectations! The machine worked great right out of the box and has been great through all my sewing projects!! Highly recommended!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Singer Finishing Touch Sewing Machine, 14SH654
11/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use. Easy to thread, very good DVD included. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next