Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for HP HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

HP HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

The HP Pavilion g7 gives you everything you need to keep in touch, get it done and have some fun, all in a distinctive design. Update your Windows 8 PC to Windows 8.1 for free through the Windows Store
Average Customer Rating:
4.192 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(146 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
35
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation86%126 out of 146reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
87
4 stars
35
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System
03/22/2013
By ,
Providence, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this computer about 3 weeks ago and I am so pleased with it. It has a huge screen and the color is in detail. I love the feel of the key board. Process is fast and has a lot of data room. I was shocked at the price and I knew that I should get it compare to other computers that was more and less data. Knock on wood there was no defects when I opened it like it came from the factory. I did purchase the extended warranty up to 2 years and only cost me 49.99. That was a deal I could not pass. SO it covers it no matter what happens. I am blessed to have this computer and it was the best decision in getting it. My son plays games on it and shows really good pic and motion. SO it is good for games as well watching movies. I was really impressed with the windows 8. I was afraid to get that part since I hear people saying they do not like it. I do! Also cool about it has touch screen like iPad. Thought that was pretty cool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 2 for HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Love the laptop, HATE Windows 8!

03/20/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This arrived in no time and in great condition, it looks absolutely new! It's a great computer (except for the fact that it runs windows 8, but finding a windows 7 computer is becoming very difficult.) This laptop is lightweight, the screen is large and clear with good resolution, nice keyboard, and the sound is much better than my 3 yr old Dell laptop. The DVD drive looks and feels kinda cheap but it works just fine. I used to be a hardcore Intel fan but I'm really happy with this AMD processor. I had apprehensions about purchasing a used/refurbished machine but you'd never guess it wasn't new. It's an excellent product for the price and highly recommend it, just be sure you're up for the challenge of learning windows 8!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 3 for HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great when you.....

05/02/2013
By ,
Kingston, NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
spend the $5 for the Start8 add-in program that makes Win8 have a Start Button/Menu and boots you right to the desktop. Start8 makes Win8 look and act like Win7.
On to the laptop- This refurb'd unit came looking brand new. No marks, dents, anything. The installed 6Gb of memory is odd as one SODIMM is a Kingston 4Gb the other is a Hynix 2Gb. I swapped in another Kingston 4Gb I had around and it seems to run faster so maybe the memory was a bit mismatched?
Sound is very good for a laptop, audio sounds fuller compared to the tinny speakers in my old Toshiba laptop.
Having built a bunch of desktop systems recently with AMD's Trinity A series APUs, I can tell you they run everything well and the integrated Radeon HD graphics are far superior to Intel's integrated 4000 series.
Going to swap out the 640Gb hard drive for a 360Gb SSD, should make this little unit a lot faster.
I uninstalled Norton (installed Microsoft Defender, formally Security Essentials, works better and is free) and a lot of the other bloatware.
For the price this is a nice little laptop and once I get the SSD installed it will be a much better performing machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
THANKS for info!
Posted 06/28/2013
I'm bleary eyed reading so many helpful comments on the various models I'm interested in.
I consider myself reasonably literate but I have run into trouble uninstalling things that I didn't think I needed but then had operating problems. Any chance you could list some of the "bloatware" you uninstalled? Much appreciated!
btw: I am not a gamer but I watch tv/movies on my laptop so I try to maintain as much speed as possible with my limited computer skills.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Best Deal Out There!

03/08/2013
By ,
Stockton,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this computer for a few days now. It's the best deal out there. It is built like a tank. It is not flimsy as I have read about other laptops. The keyboard is super stable. It is super fast. It has a huge screen and a great picture!
You have found the best deal with this one!
Chris from Cali.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+111points
Review 5 for HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Awesome for a notebook

03/17/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are not familiar with Windows 8 though, you might want to ensure that this system is right for you. I bought this as a gift for my husband and we are both on a learning curve to understand the new windows 8. This laptop has the speed, storage and ease of use that I was looking for. It would be nicer if it had the light up keyboard, but this is fine. We are not disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 6 for HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

affordable everyday and light gaming use

04/06/2013
By ,
Winfield, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok, no one seems to like windows 8, but that's not a hardware issue. I bought this as a cheap, gaming(I know this is an oxymoron) laptop for my 13 year old. He insisted upon the larger 17'' screen. So far he loves it. We were hesitant about the AMD8 processor, but it plays Minecraft better than our I-7 processor laptop. I am guessing because of the Radeon graphics card. The battery life isn't the greatest, probably about 2 hours on Minecraft. This is expected with the larger screen. It looks like new, despite being refurbished. If you want to spend another hundred dollars, you could probably get a slimmer 15" HP Envy, but this is a decent value for a 17".
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 7 for HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great laptop for a great price!

04/10/2013
By ,
Upstate NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a GREAT laptop, especially for the price! Windows 8 took a little time to get used to, but this HP is much faster than my older Dell. I wasn't hesitant about buying a refurbished HP computer. I've been using it every day (about 5 hours a day) for about 1 week now with no problems at all. My guess is that many of the returns (thus refurbished) were because of the windows 8 - it takes some patience and time to play around with it! Final word: I would highly recommend this refurbished HP laptop!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 8 for HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great Laptop, Nice Features

09/03/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently took a long trip and needed a laptop that could run some full sized programs. This HP G7 fit the bill perfectly and did all that I needed it to do. It has a quad core processor and a fantastic display. The keyboard has a nice feel to it and overall it is built very solid. I was not crazy about Windows 8 and use the Win 7 looking desktop most of the time. But some of the apps are fun to play around with.
All the big features on this laptop work great. USB 3.0, Card Reader, Multi DvD Drive, Quad-Core Processor, Full size Keyboard, High Res Display etc. It has handled everything I have thrown at it without any problems.
Cons: Battery life might be a bit on the short side. Around 2.5-3 hours tops I think. But with a 17.3" display like this I expected it to be less. Not a deal breaker to me.
For a full function computer in a laptop package this HP G7 has been fantastic for me. I am very happy with my purchase and think you will be too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Amazing Laptop For The Price!

04/29/2013
By ,
Warwick, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop is awesome! Its pretty fast with tasks and games and anything that suits your needs. Its got it! Two things though: 1. How do I get to the max turbo speed on the processor? and 2. Its not actually black if you look closer its a really dark brown color. with sparkles. But to be serious color doesn't matter. its a great fast laptop if you want a nice fast laptop with a nice processor this is the one for you! Its built really sturdy as well and Windows 8 is really great if you know how to use it that is! Overall 10/10!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Flop of a laptop

04/17/2013
By ,
Santee Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got the laptop home and set up ok. After using for a few days, it started freezing when it overheated. It overheated by just turning it on. I checked with HP and this is an issue they are aware of. I'm truly grateful this happened before the 15 day period of return was up. The return went smoothly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 11 for HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great deal. Good performer

06/26/2013
By ,
Western NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Generally, very please with this laptop. Felt like the screen could be a bit more sturdy. Being a 17.3" display, there is a fair amount of weight on the hinges. I hope they hold up and the top seems like cheap plastic. We have another HP laptop in the house which seems much sturdier.
I purchased the extended warranty as a precaution.
Don't take this negative aspect as a show-stopper. I am pointing out my only dislike of the product. Otherwise, great value and deal. Would recommend to others
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System
04/08/2013
By ,
Hershey PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far I am very pleased with the laptop for the price and speed of the computer, I would highly recommend this laptop, Windows 8 is a little challenging but that has nothing to do with the laptop
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

great deal

03/31/2013
By ,
Denver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I burned up the internet looking for a replacement laptop for my wife. Most units worth bringing home ran about $600 to $700, more than I could afford. I found the REFURBISHED HP G7 for $400 and we couldn't be happer! The machine was in perfect condition, and the performance was much better than we hoped. We also received it a day earlier than expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 14 for HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

The computer looked promising but............

05/19/2013
By ,
Pensacola, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The computer looked promising but I could not deal with Windows 8. Yes, I know the old refrain, "patience, patience, patience." But at my age (68) I have better things to do with my time than working puzzles. Besides, I have four computers that have worked fine on Windows 7 for years. And what is so special about Windows 8 except that it is supposed to transition the technology of iPhones into computers? Well, I just got an iPhone6 and it has way more stuff than I will probably ever use; however, it is at least sort of fun. Perhaps the time has arrived for the technology of Windows8 (whatever it might be)--but could they have not at least put a doorbell on the front door? It might have helped. But the decision is made. I am now awaiting delivery of a different, new computer with a Windows7 operating system. Now, where did I leave my iPhone.....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Review 15 for HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great computer! Worth $400

05/14/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Windows 8 is awesome, it is a little different because the start button was replaced with the start screen. It has the desktop button that makes it look just like windows 7 and the start screen looks like it is geared more to a touch UI than a mouse, but it is still very intuitive. This laptop is the best overall for price, power and looks. It has gaming capability with its quad core AMD proccesor with AMD RADEON graphics, which gives you up to 3gb of video graphics. Overall great for a college college computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
+3points
Review 16 for HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Best deal in town!

04/24/2013
By ,
Littleton, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best deal in town! Windows 8 is easier than you think if you only give it a chance...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Excellent computer

08/03/2013
By ,
Hillside,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Computer with a 17.3 screen and therefore, is a large and wide but despite the size of the screen is very thשin and lightweight and not overheating when my knees. Keyboard very comfortable to the touch. Computer design has its beautiful and elegant. Computer operating system is Windows 8 and therefore rises very quickly. Computer graphics is excellent and definitely answers all my requirements and expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great computer!

04/08/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm still struggling to learn Windows 8, but I'm getting there. The computer is awesome, the touchpad is wonderfully sensitive, and so far everything is more than I expected. The clarity of the images on screen is really good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 19 for HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

Great value for the money, run's well.

03/30/2013
By ,
Modesto CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great value for the money, run's well, a bit of a learning curve if you have never used windows 8, don't care for the window's 8 Skype set up, feel it could have Microsoft office 2010 as a option as a starter, rather than the expensive Microsoft 360, which is $9.95 a month, or $99.99 a year. Have to say the windows 8 has too many steps to set up to get your new computer up and running.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 20 for HP Refurbished Black 17.3" Pavilion g7-2233cl Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor and Windows 8 Operating System

The picture is exceptional!

07/25/2013
By ,
Upstate NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me a little while to get used to the sliding screens and windows 8, I definitely recommend a separate mouse. The touchpad drove me nuts because I kept hitting the screens back and forth. But this is one heck of deal for the money. This computer does everything! Now that I am used to it, I love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 104 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next