Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

This backpacking tent provides easy access to an electrical extension cord with the built-in E-port. The tent repels water, but is not waterproof. Weather resistance can be improved by using an optional seam sealer to coat all exposed seams.
Average Customer Rating:
4.158 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation86%87 out of 101reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 83 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

Easy, Inexpensive Tent

10/28/2014
By ,
Joplin, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I feel like I can finally write a decent review on this tent. My husband and I bought this tent about 4 months ago. We have camped in the tent twice now. Once in the middle of July (Buffalo Creek, Tiff City, MO) and most recently last week, the third week of October (Cassville, MO). This tent is supremely easy to set up and quick. I would suggest buying more durable tent stakes and you can buy those at WalMart. We can get the tent completely set up, including staked to the ground, in less than 15 minutes. I would suggest staking the tent to maximize the floor space and the usage of your tent. This tent does get hot in the summer time if you don't unzip your windows and screen door. However, the tent went through almost a full day of off and rain last week and the inside of the tent remained dry. I don't want to write paragraphs and paragraphs, so I will do a pro's and con's list instead.
I will let you all know that on our most recent camping trip, which was 4 days and 3 nights, this is what we had in our tent with space to spare: queen size air mattress, a large suitcase, a hiking backpack, two regular size duffel bags, and a container with extra flashlights, bug spray and other essentials (this was the size of two shoe boxes together). There was still open floor space to walk in and out of the tent with all of our belongings in it.
Pro's:
1. Easy to set up.
2. Easy to break down. We suggest leaving the front door halfway unzipped when folding and rolling to put back into the bag.
3. Slept easily 2 nights in a row when temps dropped down to 45 degrees outside. Stayed warm inside all night.
4. Can fit a queen size air mattress and twin size air mattress.
5. Has an outlet hole to pull in an electrical cord.
6. Stayed dry inside the tent when it rained.
6. Has an "attic" shelf that you can install. Great for flashlights, wallets, and keys.
7. Two vents at the top of the tent if you choose to not have the rain fly on.
8. Great ventilation with open windows and screen door sans the rain fly.
9. Good ventilation with open windows and screen door with the rain fly.
Cons:
1. Would like for the windows and screen door to be larger
2. When windows are unzipped, the flaps just hang down.
3. To be comfortable, no more than 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children inside the tent.
4. Can only fit a queen size air mattress and twin size air mattress. Wouldn't be able to fit in your belongings.
5. Zippers on door might get caught if you are in a rush.
6. Only has one hanging storage bag for belongings. Would have liked to have a second.
7. Can't fully stand up in the tent, but at the same time, it's a dome tent, so we get that.
8. One small spider and 3 large ants were able to get into the tent despite the location of the door zippers. (My con more than anyone else's con!)
I believe those are the most immediate things that I can think of. I will let you know that since we knew there was a chance for rain one day, the weekend prior, we did scotchguard the seams of the entire tent and rain fly just to be on the safe side.
I hope this review helps!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

fast set up, sterdy, and fast take down.

10/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tent for me and my 6 year old to take on his first cub scout camp out. I set it up in the front yard the day that I got it to see if it was going to be hard, and to make sure that all the part were there, and vipers worked exe.. the tent was so easy to set up and take down it only took me 20 min. to set up check it out and take it back down. and yes it had all the parts and nothing was missing or broke. and it fit right back into its case with out any fight. when we went to my sons camp out I had him set up the tent for us and he had it up and all our stuff in it in about 30 min. but he is 6 years old and it was the first tent that he had ever set up, so that should let you know how easy this is to set up. It was a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

4 weekend tent

09/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First trip with a half hour of light rain, everything went good. Third weekend trip we had one hour or longer thunderstorm and heavy rain. Everything got wet !!! Sealed all of the seams with E6000 glue and went one more time. Set up was bad on trip 4, the tent poles sagged on the left side. When the rain fly was staked down the tent was almost falling down. If not for the fact that I had extra tent poles in the truck, the trip would have been ruined.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

Basic tent

09/22/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tent lacks hold downs to prevent tent from pulling in around the sides. reduces overall floor space and just plain pain in the but. Stay dry and easy to set up though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

Easy to setup and worth the money

08/19/2014
By ,
Fremont. CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is good for 4 people, easy to set up, hardly takes 10 mins. I will definitely suggest this to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

Flimsy materials

08/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My family used this tent a total of 3 times before a pole broke. The first time was a pleasant camping experience mainly because it was a short camping trip and the weather was perfect. The second camping trip was a bit stormy and water leaked into the tent creating puddles. By the third camping trip, a pole broke. We tried to return the product, but they would not refund the money. Bottomline: flimsy materials that will not last more than a few short camping trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

Easy Setup

08/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used our new tent for 5 days. Very easy to setup. I set it u with the help of 12 yr old in less than 10 minutes. Very affordable. Roomy enough for 2 adults and 2 kids. Sprayed all seams with Camp Dry before use. Leaked a little during a heavy rain storm but included rain fly kept it mostly dry. Can't really rate durability because this is our 1st time using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

Fits what you need, if you know what you need :)

08/08/2014
By ,
Rochester, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ok, so first of all fitting 5 people into this tent would be tough. You can, but that means you cannot put inflatable beds inside. With inflatables it's 3 people, tight.
My biggest complaint is the fact that the cords holding the rain fly in place are wrong color, meaning that you can't see them, even in the daylight. My tent was part of a 5 tent camp, and every person that walked past my tent tripped on the darn thing. Now mind you, that was day and night!!! Try sleeping when someone is tripping on your tent on their way to take a leak AND back!!!! :) Those things should be bright yellow/orange etc. I think that would have helped me sleep! :)
Other than that it's a solid tent. Eport is useful if you have electricity nearby and you want to feed an extension cord through, it's made so that no bugs crawl through the opening. It could have been a little taller, but I'm not lodging this as a complaint. Setup was easy. I could have done it myself in about 20 min, but my 7 year old wanted to help, so it took about 30! :)
Oh, and last, but not least, I ended up returning it. My next camping is going to include one more person that's going to have to sleep in a tent with us, so I simply need a bigger tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

Good

08/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The set up is probably easier for a more experienced camper & one that's a bit taller than my 5'2". Overall it was exactly what I needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

good tent

08/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good tent for little money
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

Good purchase

07/28/2014
By ,
Buffalo, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very nice 4-person tent (it definitely will not fit 5 people). Set up was pretty easy. The directions were missing from the box but if you have any experience with tents, it's not too hard to figure out. We had about 3 hours of soaking rain and wind and the tent held up beautifully, nothing inside got wet. There is only one thing I would like to change; I wish the fly didn't cover so much of the side windows. The design doesn't allow for much air flow. Other than that, it was a good purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

disappointed

07/27/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The tension elastic inside the tent pole broke the 4th time I put it up.... :-(
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

Great Value

07/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great value for the money. Small enough to pack but large enough for some room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

great tent. fast & easy. love it

07/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great tent. fast & easy. love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

Backpacking tent

07/14/2014
By ,
Cottle WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We like this tent, we had no problem setting it up, and we placed a full memory foam mattress in it and had room all around the mattress for our things. Great tent, ty
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

Plenty of room for three people and their stuff

07/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Best small tent that I have bought for under $50
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

Nice Tent

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although we haven't used this tent yet, we already no the brand name.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

perfect tent for my family

07/02/2014
By ,
Bethel, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great tent we had a great camp out when we bought it the first night!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

Super durable

06/15/2014
By ,
Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this on 6/12, took I it to the lake. Kids slept in it Friday night, then Saturday we had severe weather move in. It weathered indirect winds of 70 mph, or over and several decent sized branches that fell on it, as well as rain. After the storm my husband and I slept in the tent because the kids were too scared. It was dry inside and did not have any holes from any of the branches. The branch in the picture was on the side of the tent.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ozark Trail 5-Person Backpacking Tent

Great for camping!

06/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loving this tent so far. Took me and my husband about 15 minutes to get everything up. Fits a queen air bed with lots of space. We ordered a 5 person for extra room and it has plenty! Overall very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 88 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next