Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

This backpacking tent provides easy access to an electrical extension cord with the built-in E-port. The tent repels water, but is not waterproof. Weather resistance can be improved by using an optional seam sealer to coat all exposed seams.
Average Customer Rating:
4.078 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(115 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
34
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation84%97 out of 115reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 94 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
34
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

Good Quality Tent!

06/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is a two pole set up ( the poles are kinda on the thin side, but do the job) and two smaller poles to hold the rain fly out, just side the poles thru two sleeves and then a clip on each corner then slide the tip into a plastic holder a basic set up. A small piece of tarp to put out as a welcome mat a plus. The tent has 3 smaller windows and a vent at the top but the door is bigger and all can be zipped shut! The tent fly is only big enough to cover the smaller windows and only part of the door which is good if you open only the top if it is raining. I have a taller queen size mattress (about 10" tall).
I had to let the air out of the mattress (would not go thru the door all aired up) and inflate it after it was inside the tent (not much floor room after it is in but it is only an 8 X 10 tent) no real big problem if you can do this at your camp site. if you can not that's a lot of lung power you will have to supply to reinflate it. Over all the tent is of good quality did not have the chance to test for rain yet. I would buy this tent again for the size, quality and price.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

Great Tent!!! Super good price!

06/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I was thinking of getting a more expensive tent but after reading the good reviews on this one I went for it. Such a great purchase!! It was literally a monsoon our first time using it and the tent withstood all the rain and none of us got wet. No drips! We fit a blow up queen mattress and pack n play in it with room for more. Great tent!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

Awesome tent

06/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy and quick to put up, worked well for boys and i. Could fit a queen and twin mattress. Thanks!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

Photo mis-leading

06/16/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The photo showed that it had clips only for the poles, not pockets that they had to slid through requiring a second person to help set up. The photo with out the rainfly had the top blocked so you couldn't see that it has pockets instead of clips. I bought it for the clips as one person can set that type of tent up by themselves. that was a pain in the fanny to set up. Going to REI for a good tent next time.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

Great Tent

06/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jakee had a survival challenge last week, and we had a bad storm. The temt held up well. It's very spacious. Loves it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

Good value for money

06/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have now used this tent on two trips - total 6 nights and it rained for three of them! The tent did not leak. One night was windy and the tent was fine. It is a bit bigger than I expected. My previous Ozark tent was 9x8. This one is 10x8 as it would appear they don't make the 9x8 anymore. It is quite a bit bigger and taller so I don't think I could put it up by myself. Easy to put up with two people. Taller comes in handy packing up in pouring rain!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

Great tent! Highly recommended

06/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked perfect for me! Used it for a camping festival for 3 days and held up to its name. Very sturdy construction.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

Great buy

06/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy setup, great price, plenty of room for 5. That's it!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

not strong at all

05/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The tent was easy to setup but the polls were too flimsy one side kept inverting inward into the tent. Thank goodness it wasn't too windy or the entire tent would carve in. It was reasonably priced but not lacked quality. I'll definitely invest in a sturdier tent next time. I purchased 6 and 3 are practically unusable.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

Worst Material Used

05/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tent and opened it up at home and inspected it. Everything was there. We even made sure all poles worked correct. Fast foward a few days and we are at the campsite and upon opening up the bag of tent poles, we noticed that the cord that sounds runs through the poles, broke in several different spots. We were so screwed because of it. I would recommend a Colman tent which is what we bought to replace this one after driving 2 hours back to the nearest store that had tents. THAT one is fantastic. NOT this one.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

awesome product

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ozark makes awesome and affordable camping products
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

easy assembly, held up in 30mph winds!

05/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this tent for about 3 years now, i have used it probably 10 times. No holes or rips thus tar. The last time i used it was at the outer banks, where there came a fairly large storm with lots of rain and 30mph winds. I wasnt confident that it would hold up earlier that day when i realized storm would hit, but surptrisingly it did, probably the small size of it helped keep it from collapsing. The door flap opens at an angle, falling into the tent, and the awning is short so the wind was able to blow the rain inside when opened. But i fixed that easily: used binder clips to the poles and clamped an extra tarp over the doorway, spread out the free end of the tarp over the large cooler, which was to the side of the door. Yeah, we had to lift the tarp to crawl into the tent, but we also were able to get into the cooler for beer without getting lots of water inside. (Tent is not large enough to justify getting a large heavy cooler inside). I didnt expect it to stay co pletely dry in the tent from the heavy downpour, so yes, there was a little bit of moisture on the ground. But, i mean, you are outdoors, not in a house, but a tent.
Setting up was easy, however, the poles easily get stuck /caught in the sleeves when threading it through, so there is no easy sliding through. It just takes patience... doesn't mean i will hold some stars. Once you get the poles threaded, its a breeze to set up. Its small enough that i can set it up by myself, and i am a 5'3" woman.
Easily sleeps three, two is better if you want your supplies, clothes, personal items, etc. Inside the tent instead of the vehicle or sitting out. It will sleep 5, but that is without other items inside.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

Warm, But Snaggy Zipper for 'Big Folks'

04/23/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Got this through walmart.com at Christmas time with a gift card.
Tried it out just last night for the first time outdoors in 38 degree temperatures while trying to glimpse the Lyrids meteor shower from midnight till 2 a.m.
Set it up on a cheap plastic folding lounge chair on my front walkway in 43°F weather for an hour and a half, without a camping roll underneath it, and the lounge chair was slotted, so air got in underneath every 2 inches or so.
That said, I can tell a lot about this bag already, but mainly on three topics--its warmth, its comfort, and its zipper.
First, it does seem warm, and I do believe that with a proper ground roll you should be able to use it in relatively low temperatures as advertised, especially with a windbreak or a tent.
secondly, it seems comfortable as well. the insulation sewn into the bag is light, airy, and fluffy enough to make a modicum of comfort a real possibility in many camping scenarios--again, using an adequately thick ground roll undeunderneath.
I'm certain your back would freeze without that ground roll.
Thirdly and last, I hate the zipper a lot.
I am 5'8" and weigh 235 lbs; last night I wore a modestly thick jacket over a t-shirt with some shorts, and immediately found it almost impossible to zip the bag up from inside or out.
Seriously, I spent my first 45 minutes out in the bag wiggling, writhing, twisting and turning trying to get the thing to zip up just past my right shoulder, with no luck. The zipper got caught in the bag way too many times (30-40), that I ended up giving up and letting the thing unzip past the very minor bulk of my jacket down to about the middle of my right rib cage.
I am not that fat as to expect trouble from any sleeping bag to this degree.
As a result, I recommend this bag (to any larger sized people) who also possess the Houdini-like skill to be able to evacuate their lungs and shrink the mass of their torso to about half its regular size, or (for me, this changes the bag to about a 50°F bag) who'll be using it without a jacket.
Like I said, I don't think I'm that fat, but the only way I was getting zipped up in this bag last night with that jacket on would have been if I had a friend helping me zip it up from the outside.
The silly zipper is the worst part of the bag, and for big people might ruin its overall value. Slender or slight people, even tall ones, may well have more luck and enjoy this bag a lot more than plus sized folks.
Recommends this product? Yes
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

Bend & Break

11/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
One tent pole broke on two separate tents. We purchased the first one in January 2014. One of the poles was bending inward towards the tent and before the night was over, it snapped. We just packaged up the tent and exchanged it for a new, identical one. Well, we used the new one twice before it was packed up for the summer. On the third use, the pole snapped again. I am very confused, as I've been an avid "once a month" camper for at least 15 years and I've never had this happen to any tent that I've owned. I'm at a loss for the reasoning behind all this. I refuse to purchase another ozark trail tent because of this. Their quality has gone way downhill over the years...imo.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

Easy, Inexpensive Tent

10/28/2014
By ,
Joplin, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I feel like I can finally write a decent review on this tent. My husband and I bought this tent about 4 months ago. We have camped in the tent twice now. Once in the middle of July (Buffalo Creek, Tiff City, MO) and most recently last week, the third week of October (Cassville, MO). This tent is supremely easy to set up and quick. I would suggest buying more durable tent stakes and you can buy those at WalMart. We can get the tent completely set up, including staked to the ground, in less than 15 minutes. I would suggest staking the tent to maximize the floor space and the usage of your tent. This tent does get hot in the summer time if you don't unzip your windows and screen door. However, the tent went through almost a full day of off and rain last week and the inside of the tent remained dry. I don't want to write paragraphs and paragraphs, so I will do a pro's and con's list instead.
I will let you all know that on our most recent camping trip, which was 4 days and 3 nights, this is what we had in our tent with space to spare: queen size air mattress, a large suitcase, a hiking backpack, two regular size duffel bags, and a container with extra flashlights, bug spray and other essentials (this was the size of two shoe boxes together). There was still open floor space to walk in and out of the tent with all of our belongings in it.
Pro's:
1. Easy to set up.
2. Easy to break down. We suggest leaving the front door halfway unzipped when folding and rolling to put back into the bag.
3. Slept easily 2 nights in a row when temps dropped down to 45 degrees outside. Stayed warm inside all night.
4. Can fit a queen size air mattress and twin size air mattress.
5. Has an outlet hole to pull in an electrical cord.
6. Stayed dry inside the tent when it rained.
6. Has an "attic" shelf that you can install. Great for flashlights, wallets, and keys.
7. Two vents at the top of the tent if you choose to not have the rain fly on.
8. Great ventilation with open windows and screen door sans the rain fly.
9. Good ventilation with open windows and screen door with the rain fly.
Cons:
1. Would like for the windows and screen door to be larger
2. When windows are unzipped, the flaps just hang down.
3. To be comfortable, no more than 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children inside the tent.
4. Can only fit a queen size air mattress and twin size air mattress. Wouldn't be able to fit in your belongings.
5. Zippers on door might get caught if you are in a rush.
6. Only has one hanging storage bag for belongings. Would have liked to have a second.
7. Can't fully stand up in the tent, but at the same time, it's a dome tent, so we get that.
8. One small spider and 3 large ants were able to get into the tent despite the location of the door zippers. (My con more than anyone else's con!)
I believe those are the most immediate things that I can think of. I will let you know that since we knew there was a chance for rain one day, the weekend prior, we did scotchguard the seams of the entire tent and rain fly just to be on the safe side.
I hope this review helps!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

fast set up, sterdy, and fast take down.

10/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tent for me and my 6 year old to take on his first cub scout camp out. I set it up in the front yard the day that I got it to see if it was going to be hard, and to make sure that all the part were there, and vipers worked exe.. the tent was so easy to set up and take down it only took me 20 min. to set up check it out and take it back down. and yes it had all the parts and nothing was missing or broke. and it fit right back into its case with out any fight. when we went to my sons camp out I had him set up the tent for us and he had it up and all our stuff in it in about 30 min. but he is 6 years old and it was the first tent that he had ever set up, so that should let you know how easy this is to set up. It was a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

4 weekend tent

09/22/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First trip with a half hour of light rain, everything went good. Third weekend trip we had one hour or longer thunderstorm and heavy rain. Everything got wet !!! Sealed all of the seams with E6000 glue and went one more time. Set up was bad on trip 4, the tent poles sagged on the left side. When the rain fly was staked down the tent was almost falling down. If not for the fact that I had extra tent poles in the truck, the trip would have been ruined.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

Basic tent

09/22/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tent lacks hold downs to prevent tent from pulling in around the sides. reduces overall floor space and just plain pain in the but. Stay dry and easy to set up though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

Easy to setup and worth the money

08/19/2014
By ,
Fremont. CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is good for 4 people, easy to set up, hardly takes 10 mins. I will definitely suggest this to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ozark Trail 10' x 8' Tent, Sleeps 5

Flimsy materials

08/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My family used this tent a total of 3 times before a pole broke. The first time was a pleasant camping experience mainly because it was a short camping trip and the weather was perfect. The second camping trip was a bit stormy and water leaked into the tent creating puddles. By the third camping trip, a pole broke. We tried to return the product, but they would not refund the money. Bottomline: flimsy materials that will not last more than a few short camping trips.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 102 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next