Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

If you are looking for a large spacious cabin tent without the hassle then this is the tent for you! The Ozark Trail Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent sets up in just minutes. The secret is the main room of the tent is pre-assembled at the factory so all you have to do is unfold and extend the pre-attached frame. Then add the poles to each end of the tent and you are done. This tent can easily be setup in less than three minutes with just two people. Best of all, this three-room tent has plenty of room for up to three queen airbeds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(121 Reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
66
4 stars
37
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation90%109 out of 121reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 128 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
66
4 stars
37
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

Great tent

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tent, lots of space! I'm 5'9 and my husband is 6 feet, we were able to walk through out the tent without hunching over. 3 queen air mattresses fit very comfortably! It's a keeper!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

Really great tent - if it is not too windy

07/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We just spent a week in the tent (5 people). After setting it up we were all so happy with the zippers working well and the look/size/utility. The weather was pretty severe a couple of the days and about a cup of water did get in where the wind was hitting the tent over an hour of rain. Some seam spray should fix this. Overall we did better than others in the campground who were more soaked even in expensive tents. In high winds (20-30 mph with 40 mph peak gust) the tent wants to fold over since the "instant-up" hinges fold both ways for quick take-down. Instant up, instant down :) I staked the rain-fly with aftermarket stakes and it helped, but I am not sure if we will keep the tent since we camp in a high wind region every year. For other folks who have more climate camping, this is a really nice tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent
This review is fromOzark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent.

Great tent, good price and yes easy to set up.

08/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Summary says it all - great tent and at a good price. The set up is the fastest and worked great. The bag it comes in is a little thin. All in all good tent for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

Big tent big value

07/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First time using this weekend in Northern California coast at Prarie Creek campground. Set is quick but you may want to buy a tarp the same size as base of tent is thin. Held up fine on light rain with rain fly. Holds more than 3 queen size air beds. Door is least liked feature as it is made up of three zippers and two need to be open to get in and out. Still not sure if we will keep it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

Unit is a disappointment

07/01/2014
By ,
Savannah,ga.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The flooring was noticeably less durable than my previous Ozark Trail. Not as roomy as my previous 13X20 Ozark and the unit was difficult to repack and extremely heavy for an older man. It does go up quickly, but repacking is difficult.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

Great Tent Great Price

06/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Daughter had a sleep over with 10 children, 9 and below. Tent had PLENTY of room. Easy to set up as well. I found it easy to assemble this way:
1) Pop up the center and then pull the legs up that are attached (DONT LENGTHEN THE POLES AND LOCK THEM YET)
2) stake one short side of the tent first, pull taunt the opposite side and proceed with the length of the tent. don't over pull the tent so it gets too tight.
3) hook up the horizontal (string) poles to through the fabric loops then hook up the detached poles to each side
4) now you have all the poles used and need to attach the rain guard, again dont lock out center attached poles
-- this is the hardest part (not as easy, but can be accomplished)
5) layout the rain guard on the grass next to the tent and line it up, so you can pull it over. you SHOULD see the Velcro to attach the poles to the guard, they should not be on the bottom, but facing the sky
6) attach the guard hooks closet long side of the tent (rings by door) and attach two Velcro loops to the poles proceed to pull over the opposite end of the guard over the top of the tent and attach the Velcro then the hooks. AS YOU PULL OVER THE 'OZARK' LOGO WILL BE ABOVE THE DOOR. if not you have it upside down. dont do all the Velcro until its hooked in on both sides, strings will be after the Velcro.
7) go back to the first side and attach the rest of the Velcro and then use new stakes to tie down then string hooks in the ground. repeat for the backside. dont tighten the guard strings yet.
8) NOW YOU CAN LOCK THE CENTER POLES! Then tighten the guard strings up
Hope it helps someone, it was confusing at first, but once i did it one time, it was easy after that. good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

cheap, lightweight, easy set up...practice 1st

06/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent was huge, amazing and airy. I was worried about the bulkiness making it too complicated. I would recommend one practice set up at home first. Also, use at least one or two tarps underneath as the floor is thin material and will tear if the ground has rough spots. It was worth the price. We could have hung out inside on a rainy day comfortably. When taking down, wrap it around like an umbrella and lean on it to let the air escape. Fitting it back in the case is challenging but makes you save space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

lots of room to stand in, feels like multiple room

06/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this tent because my bf is tall and being able to stand up in the tent is great. Changing our sons diaper is much easier now that we have room to stand. It rained our second night and the tent held up just fine and gave us plenty of room so we didnt feel trapped. Theres so much room inside its awesome. The only down fall is that we got a hole in it somehow near the enterance. Very easy assembly for two people. It needs some kind of tie to fold the window flaps up though. Theres nothing to tie them up and fassen them to the tent like the zippable doors to the three rooms have.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

Okay for the cost

06/26/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the price, this is an okay tent. We bought it because we need a larger tent. The 40 year old tent I had is still way better quality (better zippers, bottom of tent much thicker plastic, etc.) and still has nothing wrong with it. After buying this tent we noticed that the zipper on one of the windows didn't work so we returned and purchased another one. The stakes are a joke based on their design. You will probably want to purchase new stakes that have more of a hook on them. The ones with this tent slide off easily. Also after putting the rainfly up this tent takes some time to put up. Other than the center of the tent, I would not call this an instant tent. Also, the case that you are supposed to store the tent and accessories is WAY too small. You will need a lot of patience getting everything back in it. We ordered a much bigger bag one. (double the size). Like I said, for the money this is just an average quality tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

Love this tent!!

06/25/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tent because I wanted a lot of room for our family of 4 (2 teenagers) and our 95 lb. dog. We were able to put a queen and 2 full size air mattresses in it with plenty of room to spare. My son had a friend along and we still had plenty of room for all of our luggage as well as his. My husband has been a camper his whole life and he said it's one of the easiest tents to put up and take down. We had some rain one night and there were no problems with leaking. Just to mention we did use extra stakes because the ones that came with are kind of cheap.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Free sample received:No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

This tent is huge!

06/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only been out in this tent one night, so I have limited experience with it. One thing I do know is this thing is huge! It is much bigger than expected. I had it shipped. It is fairly heavy while carrying it up the stairs in the box, but the carrying bag has provided straps and isn't so bad to move around. Rolled up it is pretty big too, and wasn't sure it would fit into the trunk of a Honda Civic. It does, but just barely, and takes up a lot of cargo room.
It is pretty easy to put up and just slightly more difficult to put away. Construction is what I expected, no problems. We will see how it holds up.
Did I say this thing is huge?? I am very happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent
This review is fromOzark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent.

exactly as advertised

08/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tent is great and exactly what I wanted. I found it difficult for the first time of setting up, even after watching video and reading directions it still took about 20 mins to get it set up. The hardest 2 things were figuring out which poles to use and where they went, the 2nd and most aggrevating was the rainfly, it took two adults 15 mins to get it put on. NOW that I know how to set it up and what goes where it should only take 2-3 mins to set up even by myself. I dont like the little tent stakes that are supplied with your purchase so I bought 6 of the short big yellow tent stakes and 4 long ones from the sporting dept @ walmart cause they hold better in sandy and grassy areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent
This review is fromOzark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent.

The best tent by price

08/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this ten, is very comfortable
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

NIce Tent

06/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is great! Now mind you we haven't been camping with it but we put it up in the yard and wow! It went up in about twenty minutes since we had to figure where everything went and it was much larger than I expected. I expected it to be 10'x20'wide/long but it is so tall. My 6'3'' husband can stand upright in it. The weather was windy the day we put the tent up and we left the tent up overnight. It held up just fine. Oh and my kids love playing in it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent
This review is fromOzark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent.

Instant Tent BEWARE of that name

08/05/2014
By ,
Elk Grove
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read previous reviews stating ease of setup . Not the case .. Perhaps things would have been better if the campgrounds had perfectly tilled soil ( i've never been to a aite like that). Yes , the tent instantly pops up ; middle part anyway but the sides were kind of a pain .
I will say that its quite spacious considering I purchased it for four people . Plently of room for baggage , two-three full sized mattresses .
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent
This review is fromOzark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent.

best tent I ever had

08/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best tent I have ever purchased it is every thing I expected it to be and quick and easy to put up if you are looking for a good three room instant tent this is it very happy with my tent
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent
This review is fromOzark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent.

Aweful tent

08/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Positive we got a returned tent by the way it was Packed and dirty. It took 45 minutes to set up and directions were very unclear. Waste of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent
This review is fromOzark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent.

Great family tent!

08/02/2014
By ,
southern california
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We loved this tent. We camp in Southern California so extreme weather is not an issue. Although when we got to our campsite it was raining. We had a quick break in the rain and decided to test out HOW quickly we could get the tent up. As we were laying it out on the ground we felt a few drops. We popped the center poles (without extending the legs fully) and attached the rain fly. As soon as we got the rain fly on the rain started to pick up. We got the tent up (before staking) in about 5mins. The rain was pouring hard by then and we staked it down. We waited for the storm to pass before entering the tent figuring this was a good test for leaks. Surprisingly there was not a drop inside. We did not scotchgard or seam seal the tent at all. We were so happy!
I did not take any pictures but we had 6 people in the tent (2 adults and 4 children). In one side section we had a double mattress and a large playpen along with a popup hamper and a little extra space along the side (we used the extra space to store the kids' pj's between uses). In the other side room we had a queen mattress that my husband and I slept in. We also had 2 large bins that we packed our clothing in. In the main center section we had a twin mattress pushed up against the back wall. We also had a two large bins that we had other items we needed throughout the trip as well as a toddler potty (so our little ones wouldn't have to hike to the bathrooms at night). There was a ton of space in the middle. We could have set up a couple folding chairs easily. We kept the room dividers open but it was nice to have the ability to close them when we needed to change. There was a lot of room in the main center area that we used to let the baby crawl around when he got restless. We also had an area by the front door to take off shoes as we came in the tent. We laid out a small tarp outside the front door so we could take off any excess dirt before stepping in.
When we first set up we were mocked at the size of the "apartment complex" we brought with us but by the end of the camping trip everyone in our group was stopping by to admire our tent and asked where they could get one.
The ONLY drawback was the fact that the outer door did not zip at the bottom as other reviewers said. We came prepared and bought adhesive velcro to add to that bottom seam of the outer door. That helped keep it closed. Also, for a large family tent I would LOVE to have a screen room at the entrance to transition into the tent with kids/shoes. Maybe I am just being picky. That's the only reason I did not give it 5 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent
This review is fromOzark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent.

Love this tent.

08/01/2014
By ,
Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I bought this tent because we are going camping together a couple times a year. We needed something easy and quick, Well this meets those needs as advertised. The price can't be beat either. The only issue we have is we'll deferentially need tarps inside because the floor is very thin and outside under the tent to keep it from getting duty and wet. Nothing worst then putting a away a duty tent. We will be using it also for our family camping. I hope your just as happy with it too. Also watch the videos before setting it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent
This review is fromOzark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent.

Great tent

08/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I truly love this tent with it's ease of setup. The only thing I had any issue with is the repacking for storing. The tent is easily taken down, but to get it to the point of replacing it in it's storage back is not as easy. Really love the three rooms (privacy). Thank you!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 116 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next