Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

If you are looking for a large spacious cabin tent without the hassle then this is the tent for you! The Ozark Trail Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent sets up in just minutes. The secret is the main room of the tent is pre-assembled at the factory so all you have to do is unfold and extend the pre-attached frame. Then add the poles to each end of the tent and you are done. This tent can easily be setup in less than three minutes with just two people. Best of all, this three-room tent has plenty of room for up to three queen airbeds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.264 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(110 Reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation91%100 out of 110reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 109 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
32
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

Great tent

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tent, lots of space! I'm 5'9 and my husband is 6 feet, we were able to walk through out the tent without hunching over. 3 queen air mattresses fit very comfortably! It's a keeper!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

Really great tent - if it is not too windy

07/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We just spent a week in the tent (5 people). After setting it up we were all so happy with the zippers working well and the look/size/utility. The weather was pretty severe a couple of the days and about a cup of water did get in where the wind was hitting the tent over an hour of rain. Some seam spray should fix this. Overall we did better than others in the campground who were more soaked even in expensive tents. In high winds (20-30 mph with 40 mph peak gust) the tent wants to fold over since the "instant-up" hinges fold both ways for quick take-down. Instant up, instant down :) I staked the rain-fly with aftermarket stakes and it helped, but I am not sure if we will keep the tent since we camp in a high wind region every year. For other folks who have more climate camping, this is a really nice tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

Big tent big value

07/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First time using this weekend in Northern California coast at Prarie Creek campground. Set is quick but you may want to buy a tarp the same size as base of tent is thin. Held up fine on light rain with rain fly. Holds more than 3 queen size air beds. Door is least liked feature as it is made up of three zippers and two need to be open to get in and out. Still not sure if we will keep it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

Unit is a disappointment

07/01/2014
By ,
Savannah,ga.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The flooring was noticeably less durable than my previous Ozark Trail. Not as roomy as my previous 13X20 Ozark and the unit was difficult to repack and extremely heavy for an older man. It does go up quickly, but repacking is difficult.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

Great Tent Great Price

06/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Daughter had a sleep over with 10 children, 9 and below. Tent had PLENTY of room. Easy to set up as well. I found it easy to assemble this way:
1) Pop up the center and then pull the legs up that are attached (DONT LENGTHEN THE POLES AND LOCK THEM YET)
2) stake one short side of the tent first, pull taunt the opposite side and proceed with the length of the tent. don't over pull the tent so it gets too tight.
3) hook up the horizontal (string) poles to through the fabric loops then hook up the detached poles to each side
4) now you have all the poles used and need to attach the rain guard, again dont lock out center attached poles
-- this is the hardest part (not as easy, but can be accomplished)
5) layout the rain guard on the grass next to the tent and line it up, so you can pull it over. you SHOULD see the Velcro to attach the poles to the guard, they should not be on the bottom, but facing the sky
6) attach the guard hooks closet long side of the tent (rings by door) and attach two Velcro loops to the poles proceed to pull over the opposite end of the guard over the top of the tent and attach the Velcro then the hooks. AS YOU PULL OVER THE 'OZARK' LOGO WILL BE ABOVE THE DOOR. if not you have it upside down. dont do all the Velcro until its hooked in on both sides, strings will be after the Velcro.
7) go back to the first side and attach the rest of the Velcro and then use new stakes to tie down then string hooks in the ground. repeat for the backside. dont tighten the guard strings yet.
8) NOW YOU CAN LOCK THE CENTER POLES! Then tighten the guard strings up
Hope it helps someone, it was confusing at first, but once i did it one time, it was easy after that. good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

cheap, lightweight, easy set up...practice 1st

06/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent was huge, amazing and airy. I was worried about the bulkiness making it too complicated. I would recommend one practice set up at home first. Also, use at least one or two tarps underneath as the floor is thin material and will tear if the ground has rough spots. It was worth the price. We could have hung out inside on a rainy day comfortably. When taking down, wrap it around like an umbrella and lean on it to let the air escape. Fitting it back in the case is challenging but makes you save space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

lots of room to stand in, feels like multiple room

06/26/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this tent because my bf is tall and being able to stand up in the tent is great. Changing our sons diaper is much easier now that we have room to stand. It rained our second night and the tent held up just fine and gave us plenty of room so we didnt feel trapped. Theres so much room inside its awesome. The only down fall is that we got a hole in it somehow near the enterance. Very easy assembly for two people. It needs some kind of tie to fold the window flaps up though. Theres nothing to tie them up and fassen them to the tent like the zippable doors to the three rooms have.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

Okay for the cost

06/26/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the price, this is an okay tent. We bought it because we need a larger tent. The 40 year old tent I had is still way better quality (better zippers, bottom of tent much thicker plastic, etc.) and still has nothing wrong with it. After buying this tent we noticed that the zipper on one of the windows didn't work so we returned and purchased another one. The stakes are a joke based on their design. You will probably want to purchase new stakes that have more of a hook on them. The ones with this tent slide off easily. Also after putting the rainfly up this tent takes some time to put up. Other than the center of the tent, I would not call this an instant tent. Also, the case that you are supposed to store the tent and accessories is WAY too small. You will need a lot of patience getting everything back in it. We ordered a much bigger bag one. (double the size). Like I said, for the money this is just an average quality tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

Love this tent!!

06/25/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tent because I wanted a lot of room for our family of 4 (2 teenagers) and our 95 lb. dog. We were able to put a queen and 2 full size air mattresses in it with plenty of room to spare. My son had a friend along and we still had plenty of room for all of our luggage as well as his. My husband has been a camper his whole life and he said it's one of the easiest tents to put up and take down. We had some rain one night and there were no problems with leaking. Just to mention we did use extra stakes because the ones that came with are kind of cheap.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

This tent is huge!

06/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only been out in this tent one night, so I have limited experience with it. One thing I do know is this thing is huge! It is much bigger than expected. I had it shipped. It is fairly heavy while carrying it up the stairs in the box, but the carrying bag has provided straps and isn't so bad to move around. Rolled up it is pretty big too, and wasn't sure it would fit into the trunk of a Honda Civic. It does, but just barely, and takes up a lot of cargo room.
It is pretty easy to put up and just slightly more difficult to put away. Construction is what I expected, no problems. We will see how it holds up.
Did I say this thing is huge?? I am very happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

NIce Tent

06/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is great! Now mind you we haven't been camping with it but we put it up in the yard and wow! It went up in about twenty minutes since we had to figure where everything went and it was much larger than I expected. I expected it to be 10'x20'wide/long but it is so tall. My 6'3'' husband can stand upright in it. The weather was windy the day we put the tent up and we left the tent up overnight. It held up just fine. Oh and my kids love playing in it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

Nice tent for fun family camping

06/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tent sets up easily and quickly. The first night using this tent we experienced torrential downpours and wind all night long. We had applied a seam-sealer to the seams of the fly and sprayed it with silicone seal. We did not have enough time to treat the actual tent. The tent/fly performed very well. There was little moisture in the tent after enduring all of that rain. I'm glad that we had treated the fly, but the tent is fairly waterproof out of the box. Roomy... six adults slept very comfortably in this tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent

Easy to set up but there is a flaw.

06/09/2014
By ,
San Jose, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Right out of the bag this thing is very easy to set up. It goes up in minutes and can be done with one person if necessary.
The tent includes a folding frame which is incorporated into the overall tent design. When taking the tent down, just leave the basic frame attached and fold it flat, then roll it up with the tent. There is, however, a flaw with the product.
On the folding frame, around the base of each pole is a plastic end cap with a plastic hook on the end. These hooks are supposed to lock into some tabs on the bottom of the tent where they then get staked down into the ground. Extreme caution must be used when removing these hooks out of the tabs when taking down the tent. The very first time I did so, the hook broke off. Now, one leg of the main dome cannot be secured to the base of the tent.
Since I generally don't camp in extreme weather, this hasn't been a problem... but none the less, I will have to figure out a way to fix it, because it does affect the structural stability somewhat, plus, what happens when the other hooks break off... and they will in time.
Fortunately I am a mechanical designer and will be having some aluminum ones machined for replacements.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kansas City
Posted 07/16/2014
Dear ParametricPrimarch,
Please give Customer Service a call for replacement parts for your tent. 888-774-5840. We would be happy to answer any questions.
Thank you,
Customer Service
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent
This review is fromOzark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent.

nice tent

07/23/2014
By ,
Detroit, mi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy set up. Roomy
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent
This review is fromOzark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent.

It's very big but kinda hard to set it up for me

07/23/2014
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The tent was very roomy and all but the thing was it was kinda hard for us to set it up we took 20 minutes to set this thing up because we kept getting confused over the instructions so we saw the video and it helped us a little and also it was hard to put back in the bag they gave us but we actually made our tent fit in the bag so yeh and other than that the tent is fine and everything
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent
This review is fromOzark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent.

Great Family Tent.

07/21/2014
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this tent for a family vacation and we had a great time. This tent held 2 queen mattress's and room enough in the middle for our 2 chairs with ottoman's. Loved that the screen doors are full length. This tent was a great buy and we are so looking forward to using it again real soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent
This review is fromOzark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent.

Very easy setup

07/21/2014
By ,
Slater, mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It set up very easy. The dividers were great to share the tent. Only thing I would add is a mud flap of some sort.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent
This review is fromOzark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent.

great value for size of tent.

07/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Once you figure out how to set it up, its easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent
This review is fromOzark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent.

Roomy tent!

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tent for families! Fit 4 twin blowups, a pack n play , 5 duffle bags with our clothes and still had room to walk around, change, and let the baby crawl around. Set up was easy. We didn't have rain so I can't comment on the waterproofness. Overall very happy with this tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent
This review is fromOzark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cabin Tent.

Ozark Trail 12-Person 3-Room XL Hybrid Instant Cab

07/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very easy to setup. Holds well when have gusty wind. Great tent
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 105 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next