Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4

This lightweight backpacking tent is easy to set up with either one or two people. It has four windows for excellent cross ventilation and includes a separate welcome mat to help keep the inside clean. Extra stakes and guy ropes are provided to increase stability in windy conditions and the large rain fly provides protection from the weather.
Average Customer Rating:
4.299 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation91%97 out of 107reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 131 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
59
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4
04/11/2013
By ,
Badin, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted to leave an appropriate review for people who are looking for a decent sized backpacking tent at WalMart. Obviously this is not a high end tent, but for the price it does the job and then some.
1. Very easy to set up...I do it by myself and it takes me around 5 minutes from start to finish. The poles are thinner than some of the larger tents, but as long as you show care when assembling them they should last a long time.
2. The tent itself is very lightweight. I use it for backpacking, so I repack my tent into a stuff sack rather than in the case it came with...it can and does pack smaller than its original packaging (which is small enough already).
3. The tent is very roomy. I doubt it would fit 4 people comfortably, but if you had to cram them in there it would work. I am 6'3" so I needed something larger than a 7'x7' footprint, and this tent works great. I lay lengthwise, I can store my pack and accessories in the tent with room to spare, and there is even enough room to sit up comfortablely to change clothes.
4. I always seal my tents, so I am not sure how water resistant this one is on its on, but the first night I used it we had a very hard rain from 3am until about 7am, and there was no water in the tent. I would recommend using a ground cloth because the tub floor seems a little thin, but as long as you are paying attention to the area you are pitching, you will be fine.
5. Overall this tent has been a major success. My son and I enjoy camping and this tent is the perfect size for us.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+191points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4

Decent for the price

04/10/2014
By ,
Greenville, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this tent last year. We've only used it a few times. It's held up ok, though the material feels fairly thin compared to my Coleman. No rips or anything but I'd definitely be careful while putting it up/taking it down. Overall, the tent is good for the price. Its a cheap tent, it's not going to be perfect.
Positives: Cheap, easy set up, rainfly covers most of the windows, lightweight
Negatives: It did leak while it was raining, but it was a very heavy downpour, I hadn't treated it at all nor seam sealed it, and it was primarily at the lower part of the tent, rather than the windows which I've had issues with before. As with most tents, it wouldn't actually fit 4 adults unless you were completely smooshed together. It fits 1 adult and 2-3 kids ok though. Also, the mud mat is somewhat useless, being so small and being separate from the tent, it got annoying.
I'd buy this tent again, but I'm going to be sealing it well and seeing if it leaks again. I'll update. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4

Great Value!

06/07/2013
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tent a weekend before taking my family on a camping trip and didn't unpack until we arrived at the campsite.
It took me a good 30 minutes to set the tent up the first time(by myself and without reading the instructions). It will probably take me 15-20 minutes the next time around.
I have to say I'm surprised how well designed this little tent is. It wouldn't hold 4 adults, but it will accommodate 4 kids, which is what I had in it over an extended weekend. I'd say 2 adults is more likely...unless they are on the smaller side in which case maybe 3.
Everything is easy and well thought out. I have no idea if it would withstand a good downpour, but if it doesn't I plan on water proofing the rain fly and that should take care of it for sure.
4 Windows for ventilation, a port for a power cord, internal mesh pocket and shelf and even a small entry door/flap overhang....
It's pretty awesome for $35. I threw a queen size air mattress in it to top it off...with room to spare.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4

I'd recommend it for light and long term use

04/22/2014
By ,
Live Oak, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second of this size from the same manufacturer, and the innovations are much better, such as the rain flap at the bottom. I live in this tent, and have been through cold, high winds and pea sized hail. Obviously, it wasn't made to keep anyone warm at night; that's what coats and sleeping bags are for. The windows zip closed (I'd highly recommend keeping them open about 8-9 inches each for ventilation and to prevent condensation) easily. This second tent does have issues with allowing moisture to seep through the bottom of the flooring, there are products to stop this from occuring. I would recommend after a couple of months to apply one or two coats of water repellant, so it can continue to be waterproof in a rain. The first tent was replaced because the nylon zipper gave out; this tent seems to have a better zipper, but I have a replacement ready that I can sew in by hand. All in all, this is a great tent for first timers to experienced campers. I put it up myself in less than 20 minutes, and I go at a slow pace.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4

Inexpensive Light Tent

08/17/2013
By ,
St. Louis, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this tent because I needed a small tent to take to scout camp. I like that the tent is very inexpensive and is very light.
Here are the aspects of the tent that I believe are the most positive:
1. Very inexpensive
2. Well constructed
3. Very light
4. Easily setup
5. Adequate ventilation with windows open
6. Tent fits easily back in it's bag
Here are the negative aspects I observed:
1. Tent won't breathe with the windows closed (inside was soaked when we woke up)
2. Fit 1 adult and 2 kids adequately ( 4 adults would be real tight)
3. Supplied tent stakes are useless
4. The washtub floor is nice, but very thin (used a ground cloth to remedy this)
Overall, I would recommend this tent to a friend if they needed a small tent for 1 or 2 people and their gear. I replaced the cheap stakes with some 10 inch stakes I already had from a previous tent. I don't know what to do regarding the condensation inside the tent. The night wasn't particularly humid. It's a great bargain for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4

Nice for the price

10/03/2013
By ,
Dallas, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't been camping in years. Bought this for a 5 night trip with the hubby. Easy to set up cept the poles kept giving, but only when we set up the awning pole for the rain fly. We took it out and it stayed up fine. The hubby sealed with 2 coats as you should with any tent and we staked to the ground. Had some serious winds but it held up fine. Only trouble was getting in and out, and when you have to go in the middle of the night and the bathrooms are .10 or further, time is of the essence. Used a hanging lantern in the middle without problem and the little E-port was very handy. We had 2 twin mattresses and had a good 2 ft or so of space down the middle for our stuff. We also put a tarp underneath to keep it from getting damaged. I would say in all it was a great tent and fit back nicely in the bag and into a small space in our car. Only thing is...I want something taller now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4

The Cheap Little Tent That Could

07/14/2013
By ,
Alexandria, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't believe I only paid $30 for this tent. I just got back from a two day camping trip with a bunch of people who are avid outdoors enthusiasts with some expensive name brand stuff from REI, and this tent outperformed theirs. I am not a regular camper, in fact, this is my first tent. I didn't want to spend a lot when I barely go once a year. I set this up almost all alone in the dark; it's very easy to figure out and almost puts itself up. Then there was a torrential downpour that lasted all of one night - one of the people who camps regularly said it was the strongest rain he's ever experienced camping. They all covered their expensive tents with tarps, put extra tarps under neathe, spent time rigging up systems to anchor the tarps to the ground, and still had some leaks. I used no ground tarp, no cover tarp, only the rain fly it came with, and the only leak I noticed was in one of the corner seams and it was so small I was able to take care of it by stuffing a baby wipe in the corner. All my friends were astonished by my inexpensive little Ozark Trail tent, which performed solidly, caused me absolutely no problems, and even better, fit right back inside of its duffel bag afterwards without a fight. I think I will just get some of that stuff to treat the seams and the entrance next time I go, but I don't even think it would be necessary if we weren't camping in typhoon conditions. I love this tent! This baby is staying with me for a long time!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4

good tent for the value

04/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i only camped on desert grounds with this so my tent hasn't put up with rough winds and rain, but it did its job. it's worth the $40 i paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4

Cheaper in store

04/10/2013
By ,
C-TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Planning a camping trip for summer, checked out Walmart and found this, I was looking for something that was bigger then a 2 person tent for a price that was close.
I must say it is easy to set up and take down I also like that the inside dome area has a hook to attach a light and it has an attic gear holder along with the standard wall mount wallet pocket. The only thing I think should be different is the roof vents should also be able to zipper closed but that's not a deal buster. I have not stayed in it yet but for the time I have spent in it you will want to pick up a 9x7 tent pad unless your on lots of grass because the floor seems thin. And remember to take your shoes off!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4

All I expected.

05/01/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The tent was very easy to set up in about 10 minute's time by one person. We fit two twin air mattresses with ease in the tent. The tent was great for fair weather weekend camping with my son.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4

Great for the price. Plenty of room

04/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It sure has plenty of room for two people plus space for all your equipment when you are our camping.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4

Very helpful product

04/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy shopping
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4
04/10/2013
By ,
North Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for the price and easy to set up. Like most tents, "sleeps 4" is an exaggeration. It was comfortable for two.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
metro boston
its not an "exaggeration"
Posted 06/19/2013
its an ASSUMPTION that each person requires 15-17 square feet of space to sleep.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4

Great small tent

06/06/2013
By ,
Damascus, ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok got it for a weekend camp, set up was easy and quick and i even put a king size air bed in it. Now the great value part, it stormed the weekend i set it up. We left camp and came back 2 days when the storms stopped. The tent was as dry on the inside as when i set it up. So the price is right and great tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4

Cheap Tent Leaks Like Crazy In Rain

07/03/2013
By ,
Dracut, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tent to replace a similar Coleman 4-person dome tent that I lost when I moved. This was cheaper than the Coleman models, and I guess you get what you pay for. The tent itself was fine in good weather. It was what I expected, with ample room and decent ventilation. Then it started raining. The rain fly was properly secured and it did nothing. The roof leaked a lot, and once the walls of the tent got soaked, which took about 10 minutes, the whole tent was leaking and dripping water very rapidly all over the inside of the tent. I was soaked, my gear was soaked, and my extra clothes and sleeping bag were soaked. Not a good experience, and not a good tent. Fine for kids playing in the back yard, but no good for real camping.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4

You get what you pay for, the zipper gets caught.

09/09/2013
By ,
Fort Mohave, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Was fairly simple to set-up in the dark by one person using a lantern. The rain-fly is different so pay attention to the directions on the bottom of the case.The tent was roomy enough for one man. It has 4 windows, which seems hard to find in any tent.The entrance zipper kept getting stuck, so allow an extra 5 seconds or so each time you operate it to pull the zipper cover out of the zipper mechanism. The rain fly pole presses against the other poles at about a right angle which causes them to bend and gives a really weird appearance. Sold as a "back pack" tent, I do not think I would trust it for my only shelter in cold rainy weather.It just isn't constructed as well as tents costing 40% more. Over a 4 day camp out during August in the AZ mountains it kept the pests out.I didn't get to test for rain or wind. I might decide to keep it just because of the 4 windows.You would have a hard time finding a better value for $40.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4

Good tent for the price but

03/18/2014
By ,
Muskegon, Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good tent for the price but if it's windy you need the rain fly to keep the sides from folding in and make sure to coat it with a Waterproofing Spray
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4
05/07/2013
By ,
Brunswick, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this tent for a backpacking trip with my two sons. the oldest is 6' 175 at 15. We fit into the tent tight but comfortable.We only go hiking 1time a year so cheap and dry was the order of the day. When I opened up tent it was missing a cord and hook for the rain fly the service number answered the phone in less than 1 minute and sent me the whole rainfly as a replacement. I never dreamed such an inexpensive tent would have such good service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4

durable and great

07/18/2013
By ,
brooklyn, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this for a 13 day camping trip by the river. I had hot and rainy weather and the tent was great.
1-price is great
2- light and easy to carry, even in the case
3- easy to put up
4- comfortable for 2 in a air mattress, can hold 3 people as well
5- does not build up alot of moisture, and we were by the riverside
6- is dry and holds up against heavy rain
over all, great buy
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ozark Trail 9' x 7' Tent, Sleeps 4

ok for the price

05/07/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Went together very easily the first time, by myself. Roomy tent with the 'shelf' hanger for the top. Rain fly covered tent easily and well. The little stick out part over the door will be nice. Little worried about the durability of the poles. Many dogs camp with us, and I have had a pole break when a playing dog tripped over it once (not this tent, but it is something I think about). Over all for the price and weekend tent camping will be just fine. Wouldn't backpack with it. On a positive note it did fit back into the back first try!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next