Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

Ozark Trail Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

This lightweight backpacking tent is easy to set up with either one or two people. It has four windows for excellent cross ventilation and includes a separate welcome mat to help keep the inside clean. Extra stakes and guy ropes are provided to increase stability in windy conditions and the large rain fly provides protection from the weather.
Average Customer Rating:
4.183 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(158 Reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
79
4 stars
50
3 stars
14
2 stars
9
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation87%138 out of 158reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 182 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
79
4 stars
50
3 stars
14
2 stars
9
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

Perfect for the Price!

08/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used it first time on a warmer night in the woods. was great to have the four screened windows. I also liked the little 'entry mat' included.
Nice tent not too heavy on my pack.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent
04/11/2013
By ,
Badin, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted to leave an appropriate review for people who are looking for a decent sized backpacking tent at WalMart. Obviously this is not a high end tent, but for the price it does the job and then some.
1. Very easy to set up...I do it by myself and it takes me around 5 minutes from start to finish. The poles are thinner than some of the larger tents, but as long as you show care when assembling them they should last a long time.
2. The tent itself is very lightweight. I use it for backpacking, so I repack my tent into a stuff sack rather than in the case it came with...it can and does pack smaller than its original packaging (which is small enough already).
3. The tent is very roomy. I doubt it would fit 4 people comfortably, but if you had to cram them in there it would work. I am 6'3" so I needed something larger than a 7'x7' footprint, and this tent works great. I lay lengthwise, I can store my pack and accessories in the tent with room to spare, and there is even enough room to sit up comfortablely to change clothes.
4. I always seal my tents, so I am not sure how water resistant this one is on its on, but the first night I used it we had a very hard rain from 3am until about 7am, and there was no water in the tent. I would recommend using a ground cloth because the tub floor seems a little thin, but as long as you are paying attention to the area you are pitching, you will be fine.
5. Overall this tent has been a major success. My son and I enjoy camping and this tent is the perfect size for us.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+283points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

Spend the extra and get a sturdy tent!

08/18/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased this small tent for my husband and I to take on a quick trip north. We had a 4 person Coleman tent that lasted us years, but was literally washed away during a flash flood earlier this year. We also have a large 10 person Coleman tent but just didn't want to set it up for two nights so we wanted something smaller. I wanted a Coleman, but the only ones they had in our Walmart were larger..which we already have. So I decided to take a chance. Set up was no problem with the two of us. BUT, I noticed one of the main poles kept wanting to flop towards the back of the tent. We thought maybe we set it up improperly, so we read the directions again. Nope, everything was where it needed to be. Oh well, we thought, nothing we can do now. Well, in the middle of the night, we got wind...and rain, and the pole just collapsed backwards into the tent. Not happy...it was one VERY uncomfortable night. Will be returning. Guess we'll look else where for a Coleman or wait until next season.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

Decent for the price

04/10/2014
By ,
Greenville, SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this tent last year. We've only used it a few times. It's held up ok, though the material feels fairly thin compared to my Coleman. No rips or anything but I'd definitely be careful while putting it up/taking it down. Overall, the tent is good for the price. Its a cheap tent, it's not going to be perfect.
Positives: Cheap, easy set up, rainfly covers most of the windows, lightweight
Negatives: It did leak while it was raining, but it was a very heavy downpour, I hadn't treated it at all nor seam sealed it, and it was primarily at the lower part of the tent, rather than the windows which I've had issues with before. As with most tents, it wouldn't actually fit 4 adults unless you were completely smooshed together. It fits 1 adult and 2-3 kids ok though. Also, the mud mat is somewhat useless, being so small and being separate from the tent, it got annoying.
I'd buy this tent again, but I'm going to be sealing it well and seeing if it leaks again. I'll update. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

It is what it says it is!!!! Great Value!!

06/19/2014
By ,
meriden ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easier setup than the instructions would make it appear. Less than ten minutes. I did it by myslf with no problem. The rain fly options are handy and easy. The e port is a nice touch along with the overhead cargo net. Having windows on all four sides and the light colored top reduce interior heat during the daytime. As far as capacity goes calling it a four person tent is a bit optimistic if you are looking for comfort if the occupants are going to be adults. Younger children could fit four. I use a king size intex inflatable mattress and it fits fine. Two single mattresses would fit easily and allow room between for miscellaneous. For occassional use this is a great deal although I have used this brand tent quite often over the years. I camp weekends from June to October and these tents hold up well with minimal care. The key is to be sure the tent inside and out is dry before packing away and you will add years to its life. Best of all??? The tent easily folds and compacts and actually fits in the sturdy carry/storage bag!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

Great Value!

06/07/2013
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tent a weekend before taking my family on a camping trip and didn't unpack until we arrived at the campsite.
It took me a good 30 minutes to set the tent up the first time(by myself and without reading the instructions). It will probably take me 15-20 minutes the next time around.
I have to say I'm surprised how well designed this little tent is. It wouldn't hold 4 adults, but it will accommodate 4 kids, which is what I had in it over an extended weekend. I'd say 2 adults is more likely...unless they are on the smaller side in which case maybe 3.
Everything is easy and well thought out. I have no idea if it would withstand a good downpour, but if it doesn't I plan on water proofing the rain fly and that should take care of it for sure.
4 Windows for ventilation, a port for a power cord, internal mesh pocket and shelf and even a small entry door/flap overhang....
It's pretty awesome for $35. I threw a queen size air mattress in it to top it off...with room to spare.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Elmira, NY
Thank you for your detailed review
Posted 06/06/2014
I am in search of a tent that will accommodate a queen size air mattress. You are the first person that I have found that has noted the use of one in their review. This information is very helpful in my decision to purchase.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

Inexpensive Light Tent

08/17/2013
By ,
St. Louis, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this tent because I needed a small tent to take to scout camp. I like that the tent is very inexpensive and is very light.
Here are the aspects of the tent that I believe are the most positive:
1. Very inexpensive
2. Well constructed
3. Very light
4. Easily setup
5. Adequate ventilation with windows open
6. Tent fits easily back in it's bag
Here are the negative aspects I observed:
1. Tent won't breathe with the windows closed (inside was soaked when we woke up)
2. Fit 1 adult and 2 kids adequately ( 4 adults would be real tight)
3. Supplied tent stakes are useless
4. The washtub floor is nice, but very thin (used a ground cloth to remedy this)
Overall, I would recommend this tent to a friend if they needed a small tent for 1 or 2 people and their gear. I replaced the cheap stakes with some 10 inch stakes I already had from a previous tent. I don't know what to do regarding the condensation inside the tent. The night wasn't particularly humid. It's a great bargain for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

I'd recommend it for light and long term use

04/22/2014
By ,
Live Oak, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second of this size from the same manufacturer, and the innovations are much better, such as the rain flap at the bottom. I live in this tent, and have been through cold, high winds and pea sized hail. Obviously, it wasn't made to keep anyone warm at night; that's what coats and sleeping bags are for. The windows zip closed (I'd highly recommend keeping them open about 8-9 inches each for ventilation and to prevent condensation) easily. This second tent does have issues with allowing moisture to seep through the bottom of the flooring, there are products to stop this from occuring. I would recommend after a couple of months to apply one or two coats of water repellant, so it can continue to be waterproof in a rain. The first tent was replaced because the nylon zipper gave out; this tent seems to have a better zipper, but I have a replacement ready that I can sew in by hand. All in all, this is a great tent for first timers to experienced campers. I put it up myself in less than 20 minutes, and I go at a slow pace.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

Great Tent for Occasional Use

05/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We needed a tent for camping in Yellowstone over a weekend and were looking for something inexpensive. The Ozark 4 person tent proved to be exactly what was needed.
The tent will be somewhat cramped for 4 sleeping people, we had 3 in ours and was really comfortable in terms of space. Up to 5 can sit up in it. Do get sleeping bags (30 degree ones for Yellowstone) and sleeping pads for a comfortable night.
We had thunderstorms and snowy conditions on our second night of use, and the tent held up really well. Another group of campers had to dump their 15 year old tent after that night as water had seeped through - ours remained amazingly dry (apart from condensation on the inner walls of the tent).
Note that 8 stakes are provided for the tent corners, but not for the guy lines on the rain fly. Getting 4 additional stakes would be recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

Not a coleman.

09/16/2014
By ,
Elkhart, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had really high hopes for this one...but...ehhh. I needed something short notice on the cheap that is small and wasn't completely obliterated by a rain fly and the design is almost there for me. I was excited because it had zippered windows. It amazes me that they don't make tents like this anymore. I love light and I love windows! And if all I have to do is zip them up when it rains - even better. The rain fly does cover the windows. ugh. the windows don't unzip all the way down leaving a bitty slit of a window. ugh. when they are unzipped there is nothing to attach the flap to the wall, so it is just flopping there and obnoxious. ugh. While I was setting it up it was like the poles were too long and on top of that flimsy so the whole thing bows funny. ugh. The tent material itself is thin and will probably tear easy, may leak, same for the floor. iow not a coleman. I knew this going into it tho because I've owned an Ozark before. but still ugh. It could be so great but it falls short. For $40 I guess I'll take it, but I am this close to returning it and ordering the coleman instant for $100 and hoping it comes in time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

Good little tent!

05/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am not a camper! I purchased this tent as my daughter and I decided to go camping one weekend on a whim. Did not want to spend much in case we ended up hating it. We LOVED it!! This tent was fairly simple to assemble. I did it by myself and had only opened the box when we arrived at the campsite. We used it without sealing it and it worked fine. We will be using it much more in the months to come. I will say that if you really plan on putting 4 people in there, it will likely be tight. My daughter and I put two twin air mattresses in there and had a little space for our stuff between us. I prefer my space and would like to purchase a cabin style tent for the future but until then, this little tent is great!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

Too short for my liking

10/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good little tent but it was too short for my liking. Hadn't camped for many years and found I would prefer a tent that I could stand in for easy of getting in and out and mobility within tent. Not the tents fault but my liking and experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

Nice for the price

10/03/2013
By ,
Dallas, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't been camping in years. Bought this for a 5 night trip with the hubby. Easy to set up cept the poles kept giving, but only when we set up the awning pole for the rain fly. We took it out and it stayed up fine. The hubby sealed with 2 coats as you should with any tent and we staked to the ground. Had some serious winds but it held up fine. Only trouble was getting in and out, and when you have to go in the middle of the night and the bathrooms are .10 or further, time is of the essence. Used a hanging lantern in the middle without problem and the little E-port was very handy. We had 2 twin mattresses and had a good 2 ft or so of space down the middle for our stuff. We also put a tarp underneath to keep it from getting damaged. I would say in all it was a great tent and fit back nicely in the bag and into a small space in our car. Only thing is...I want something taller now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

Poor Quality and Bad Company

09/24/2014
By ,
Greensboro, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this tent because I thought it was a good value. The second time we used it the fiberglass tent pole snapped in two. I called the company and was told they had no more tent poles and would not have any more. Way to stand behind your product Ozark. Wont buy anymore of their products.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

The Cheap Little Tent That Could

07/14/2013
By ,
Alexandria, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't believe I only paid $30 for this tent. I just got back from a two day camping trip with a bunch of people who are avid outdoors enthusiasts with some expensive name brand stuff from REI, and this tent outperformed theirs. I am not a regular camper, in fact, this is my first tent. I didn't want to spend a lot when I barely go once a year. I set this up almost all alone in the dark; it's very easy to figure out and almost puts itself up. Then there was a torrential downpour that lasted all of one night - one of the people who camps regularly said it was the strongest rain he's ever experienced camping. They all covered their expensive tents with tarps, put extra tarps under neathe, spent time rigging up systems to anchor the tarps to the ground, and still had some leaks. I used no ground tarp, no cover tarp, only the rain fly it came with, and the only leak I noticed was in one of the corner seams and it was so small I was able to take care of it by stuffing a baby wipe in the corner. All my friends were astonished by my inexpensive little Ozark Trail tent, which performed solidly, caused me absolutely no problems, and even better, fit right back inside of its duffel bag afterwards without a fight. I think I will just get some of that stuff to treat the seams and the entrance next time I go, but I don't even think it would be necessary if we weren't camping in typhoon conditions. I love this tent! This baby is staying with me for a long time!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

Nice tent for the price

09/24/2014
By ,
West Salem, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a tent under forty dollars, this is very nice. Nothing fancy, but gets the job done. Was easy to set up, it probably took twenty minutes. I'm sure it's not as durable as more expensive tents, but for my needs, it's perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

Quite impressed by first use

09/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've grown up in the outdoors all my life, and I am taken aback by how well this tent worked for me. I got it as a burner tent for the times when I need a low-value, high-fun tent that just does the trick (Burning Man, weekend trips, etc.). I was taken aback by the quality for such a low cost. The only thing that consistently annoyed me was when zipping the front door, the water-protective flaps around the zipper were almost always caught in (low-quality) zipper. That just took a few days of practice to avoid more than less, and even on high-quality tents, this can sometimes be an issue.
I did not get to use it in the rain yet, so I can say nothing on that front.
I also liked how customizable air-flow was with the zippered, screened windows. I could keep much of the tent sealed up from dust when I needed to, or let air-flow through during a hot day. The tent was also the perfect size for my queen-sized blow up mattress, leaving a little room on the entry-side for a runner-rug and room at the foot for baggage.
All in all, a great tent for slinging in the back of your car if you need to go to an outside party or something. Not ideal for backpacking or if you need to rely on it for weeks on end. I got the two-year warranty protection and feel great about my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

Nice for this price

09/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice tent for this price but not enouth waterproof, we used two air mattress and we had just enouth place for sleep, without a car outside you can't keep your stuff with you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

Cheaper in store

04/10/2013
By ,
C-TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Planning a camping trip for summer, checked out Walmart and found this, I was looking for something that was bigger then a 2 person tent for a price that was close.
I must say it is easy to set up and take down I also like that the inside dome area has a hook to attach a light and it has an attic gear holder along with the standard wall mount wallet pocket. The only thing I think should be different is the roof vents should also be able to zipper closed but that's not a deal buster. I have not stayed in it yet but for the time I have spent in it you will want to pick up a 9x7 tent pad unless your on lots of grass because the floor seems thin. And remember to take your shoes off!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ozark Trail 4-Person Dome Tent

Not a functional design for 4 person tent

09/14/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This tent needs to position a door at the top and bottom, not one door in the middle of the tent. In order to fit 4 people in the tent you literally have to CRAWL over each other to get in and out. Not very conducive to going to the bathroom in the night without waking everyone else up.
I have to return this tent, it is not functional.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 127 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next