Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Gateway Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Gateway Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)

The Gateway NV Series Laptop combines premium style and performance for the very best PC experience — everyday! Enjoy your favorite HD entertainment on the cinematic 17.3" display or take your visuals to the big screen HDTV through the HDMI port. One-click hotkeys make everyday computing simple so you can do things on the fly and connect to your social networks in a flash. With powerful performance, great connectivity and style, this PC will help you conquer daily tasks with ease and enjoy more of what you like while making a bold statement. Update your Windows 8 PC to Windows 8.1 for free through the Windows Store
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation91%40 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)

Overall A Wonderful Laptop

03/29/2013
By ,
San Miguel, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love My New Laptop!! I Bought It For College, I'm Taking Online Courses. I Love How Easy It Is To Access My Apps And Programs, I Just Pin Them To My Start Screen. There Are Some Great Function Keys On The Keyboard. I Love The Big Screen. The Laptop Looks Beautiful, I Ordered It In Red, Which Actually Is More Of A Maroon Color. All Of My Friends And Family Are A Bit Jealous, And Now Want New Ones As Well. It Has Great Quality, Does Not Look Nor Feel Cheap At All. It Has A Great Battery Life As Well. It Is A Little Difficult To Switch Over To Windows 8, Being That I'm Not At All Computer Savvy. Haha
My Only Two Complaints Are; The Charger Is A Little Difficult To Plug In And The Speaker Volume Seems To Be Very Low, For Viewing Movies Or Listening To Music. To Solve That Issue, I Purchased A $5 Pair Of External Speakers, Which I Plug In When I'm Going To Watch A Movie.
Overall, I Will Definitely Recommend This Product To All My Own Family And Friends!! :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 2 for Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)

Great value laptop

02/28/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this computer for a few weeks. So far I love it! It's a huge step up from my last one. The 17" screen is terrific and has great color and sharpness. The processor is more than fast enough for anything I do, although I'm not a PC gamer so I can't comment on its gaming abilities.
I bought another 4g of RAM when I bought the computer to give it 8g. For a $25 upgrade, it made a noticeable difference in speed and was a breeze to install. All it takes to install is a phillips screwdriver and about 5 minutes of your time.
The battery life is quite good. For now I get about 6 hours of battery life, much of which is comprised of watching movies, online videos, itunes, some cyber-loafing, etc, etc.
Windows 8 takes some getting used to though. I can't say I'm a fan of all the incessant pop up "charms" bars (windows-speak for toolbars) that pop up whenever the mouse is near the corners or the edge of the screen. For the most part, I've disabled most of the annoying windows 8 features thanks to google and some smart techie people who've posted tutorials online!
The few things I don't really like are the native speakers, which are pretty weak and the touchpad button/bar thing. It's a little hard to locate and press the right spot when using it by feel, like when watching a movie in a dark room. Also it's positioned to the left of center, which is fine if you're a southpaw, but for me and the other 80% of righties, it means you're forever touching the right edge of the touchpad, which instantly puts the mouse pointer on the right edge of the screen and activates one of those ridiculous charms bars if you've yet to disable them!
So in summary, I'd gladly recommend this computer to most anyone. If your sole criterion is gaming, I'm sure there's better platforms out there, but for general computing and online entertainment, this computer is really sweet!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Review 3 for Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)

Excellent product. Well Built. Good Looking.

02/18/2013
By ,
Dallas Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really happy with the purchase of my Gateway Laptop. It's a good looking laptop and seems to do everything well. I replaced the one I had been using running Windows Vista and this is new one is amazing. A lot faster and just a better operating system all around.
The Gateway gives you a lot of bang for the buck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+81points
Review 4 for Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)

It's the best around for the money

03/07/2013
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a gateway desk top for 7 years and I wanted a laptops and this one was very good for the price the system runs very well no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Review 5 for Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)

Great value....great price!

03/12/2013
By ,
Maricopa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice laptop....looks awesome and works very well. I love the white color....but not only does it look great, it's also very fast. Windows 8 isn't too bad, just have to get used to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 6 for Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)

Perfect!

04/25/2013
By ,
EL, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely exactly what I was looking for. I wanted a faster than average computer for under $600 that would last me for at least a few years. Also, with being done with school and now at work full-time during the week, I wasn't sure how I would benefit from the new technology at home without any homework anymore. I am a fan of the Windows 8 operating system. I don't know why I have heard so many complaints about it. The 500 GB of space is more than enough for what I'll need, which I love. The item arrived at the store before the estimated date, so I was thrilled about that.
The screen is more than perfect for me, because I enjoy watching movies (either dvds or netflix) at night, and the display has colors more vivid than I've experienced.
This computer met and exceeded my expectations. I have no desire to get a Mac anytime soon when PC's are still being built this well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)
03/10/2013
By ,
Oak Ridge, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only had the computer 2 weeks but I love the big screen so able to see all things!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 8 for Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)

don't buy it

03/15/2013
By ,
ruther glen,va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the computer is really nice, but if you try to 'create recovery drive' you can not do it.
so for 500usd i got nice looking toy that i'll never be able to revive if i have to.
i've googled the issue and a lot of people have this problem not only with this model but with computers from 2008, 2009 as well.
i should've bought a toshiba.
i think that people who have posted positive reviews don't know how important this issue is.
i'm going to walmart tomorrow to return this junk, and get a toshiba
ps walmart website made me put one star;))
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 9 for Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)

New Gateway Computer

03/15/2013
By ,
Carrollton, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this new laptop. It's not as slim and sleek as others, but that really did not matter to our family. We love this and it was shipped quickly to our neighborhood store. The color on the screen is fantastic and the way it navigates is very easy especially with Windows 8 which we totally love!!! Watched a movie on it and the sound was somewhat too low but we still enjoyed it and the large 17" screen is fantastic!!! Thinking of buying a second one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 10 for Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)

She's in love with her laptop!!!

04/05/2013
By ,
Hephzibah, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this computer as a gift for a relative. She loves it!! This was the third laptop from Walmart.com we tried and finally got it right. The white color is beautiful. Other than getting familiar with Windows 8 ... She is delighted with all the features.
We love the customer service team!! They are the one of the reasons we stayed with Walmart in finding the perfect laptop for her needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)

New Computer

03/21/2013
By ,
Bloomfield, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought 2 of theses computers one for my daughter and one for myself. I love my computer my daughter likes hers as well. The only problem that i didn't like is that it didn't have any word programs (microsoft word, excel, powerpoint etc..) thank god i have my own copy! The mouse is a little sensitive but other than that it a smooth ride.. The 17.3 screen is GREAT for us other computer userS!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)
03/06/2013
By ,
Horseheads, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this computer is a great computer. Its fast, nice looking, all around exceptional.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 13 for Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)

Horrible Computer

05/24/2013
By ,
Ft. Mill, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the second Gateway laptop that I bought. I loved the look and so I took a chance and bought this laptop. After using it for two days (and not installing anything on it), it start having to re-start on me (kernel error) every couple of minutes. I was just checking e-mail when this happened. I called Gateway, got the computer back to its factory settings, and it keep happening. I took the computer back to Walmart.
A week later, after not liking any of the other laptops at Best Buy, etc.., as much, I decided to take my chances with another one. I had hoped that I had just received a defective machine. Either they sent me the same machine or all of the Gateway computers are this bad.
I returned it and ended up buying an HP. Obviously, I will never try a Gateway again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)

good machine

03/15/2013
By ,
kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This computer met my expectations. It operates quickly and efficiently. the monitor display is beautiful and the keyboard keys are sized well. My only disappointment relates to the sound. the volume sounds low even when turned all the way up. the sound quality is also inferior. even with the sound quality, I still love the computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)
03/15/2013
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great laptop...as advertised. Runs all programs without any problems and still have room for more memory. Not a big fan a Windows 8 but getting used to it. All round very good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)

Great computer. Everything and more that I though

03/11/2013
By ,
Florence, Al
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great computer. Everything and more that I thought it would be. I have had it about 3 weeks and am having a little trouble learning Windows 8 but I am getting used to the set up. It is a lot like a mac. Would recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EUROPE
BRIANHOLA
Posted 04/12/2013
IS IT STILL AS GOOD NOW
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)

so far so good

05/08/2013
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Haven't used too long. But I like this computer. It comes with an instant transfer program that was really slow and unfortunately, copied some files that I did not want and didn't copy some I did want. I would have skipped that feature. One drawback is the speakers are really bad. You can hardly hear anything. If I want to listen to music I will need to hook it up to the TV. So if music on your laptop is a major issue for you, you would not want this one.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)
02/24/2013
By ,
Southside, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the computer but I hate windows 8.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 19 for Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)
04/06/2013
By ,
Taylorville Ill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always like Gateway products. Windows 8 seems to be a good operating system, after you get use to it. The touch pad is pain on any key board, so I'll be using the mouse. I am very happy with this laptop and bought 4 Gateway systems over the years now, with No trouble at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 20 for Gateway 17.3" Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-3210M Processor and Windows 8 Operating System (Assorted Colors)
03/20/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value. Easy in initially setting up the Laptop. So far no issues. Windows 8 is new to me but is easy to use. This PC replaces my slow old antiquated DELL Laptop
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1 2 Next