Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Brother Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

This Brother Compact Monochrome Laser Printer, HL-2275DW, is a printer that offers automatic duplex capability for printing two-sided documents with ease. The Brother HL Laser Printer is quick and efficient, quickly printing at up to 27 pages per minute. The built-in wired and wireless networking allows you to share the Brother Monochrome Laser Printer with multiple people in your home or office. The Brother Compact Monochrome Laser Printer, HL-2275DW, features a stylish and space-saving design that complements just about any environment. In addition, the Brother HL Laser Printer features convenient paper handling via an adjustable 250-sheet capacity tray. The Brother Monochrome Laser Printer offers great print resolution and is Energy Star certified. The Brother Compact Monochrome Laser Printer, HL-2275DW, comes with an included power supply and power cord, requiring only the purchase of a single USB cable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.53 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
22
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%78 out of 83reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 129 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
22
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Very pleased!

03/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say I am very pleased with this product for my needs. That said there are a few things you might want to know before you buy:
1) It is not as noisy as a ink jet but it is probably the most noisy laser printer I have ever heard. This is not something that bothers me however.
2) It only prints black. I knew this going in but some people might not realize this is not a color printer.
3) Compared to other laser printers it is slow. It's still a lot faster than my ink jet was, and much cheaper to use in the long run.
Overall this suits my needs perfectly. I have a small home business but I print a LOT of pages and this is really nice. I can load 1/2 a full ream of paper into the printer and it fits beautifully. The refill toner will print 2600 pages for under 50.00 and that's a lot better than having to replace two ink cartridges for almost the same cost that will print 400 pages. The quality is sharp and crystal clear. I am a happy camper!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Printers Dream!

12/02/2013
By ,
Murf, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just going to come right out and say it. This is the best printer you can have and I am talking about 1. Ease of use. 2. Value for the $$buck$$. 3. Replacement toner costs. Right out of the box, just put in the CD-Rom, follow the onscreen steps, it tells you to plug in the printer, it registers and before ya know it. You see "Your hardware is ready for use". On thin I am always weary is replacement toner/ink costs when buying a printer. When I find one that looks good to me, I immediately go to the toner/ink section and get an analysis if replacement cost. I am usually not surprised of the overpriced costs because that printer I was looking at may have cheap in price. It is the long term cost that the manufacturers are getting you. After checking this printer, also the functions such as the duplex option and the toner replacement costs. You will find this is one of the best deals out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Paper is curled!

02/22/2014
By ,
Logansport, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I learned the hard way about this tray fed printer. This printer is really only for non-important prints. The paper is tray fed, heated is generated as your document is being printed (paper will come out warm), while the paper literally moves at a 360 degree angle inside the printer. The end result is a printed paper that is curled. I bought this printer as an upgrade from my old Lexmark. When it printer the sheets came out as flat as they were when they went in. With this Brother HL-2275DW printer the sheets do not come out flat and the both the top and bottom of the sheet are raised about 1 1/2" which is a very noticeable curl. Brother does have a "reduce paper curl" in the options (so it must be an issue). It helps a little but the paper is still very noticeably curled!
If you're thinking about this printer for legal papers or for things like resumes choose a different printer unless you literally want to iron your documents after they are printed. The print quality is great but the paper curling is unacceptable.
I'm printing on Georgia-Pacific Premium 24 weight paper so it's not like I'm using generic junk paper.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

a better buy then best buy

01/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this printer because of how fast it prints and that it can do duplex printing. I had a little trouble getting the wireless to work. The instructions said to press a button and it would automatically set up within two minutes. It took several tries before I decided to just let it sit. It ended up taking about 7 minutes for the wireless setup to complete. During that time, nothing was obviously happening, so I was thinking it just wasn't working.
The printer works well and it is fast. BTW the difference between this model 75 and the model 70 is that the 75 comes with a full toner and the 70 comes with a starter size. Given the cost of a new cartridge, the 75 is a better value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Excellant printer.

05/21/2014
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After hours and days of research, I decided on purchasing the HL-2275 from Walmart rather than any other source for the following reasons;
1) Brother has been building laser printers for a long time and there online assistance is top-notch, not that I needed it. Considering I had never setup a Wireless network before, instructions were clear and complete. and everything worked perfectly the first time with two wireless computers. I'm not the fastest creek in the county, so I read stuff 2 or 3 times.
2) The HL-2275 is the same as last years HL-2270, except the 75 has a FULL toner cartridge (1200 pages) rather than a "starter"cartridge (700 pages) in the 70. Walmart's price delivered, not including the free 500 sheets of paper and 8G flash drive, whipped competitors.
3) Came before the expected delivery date in a factory sealed box. Employee allowed me to open the box and inspect it before I accepted it. Whole process, order to pickup was a 10.
3) Printer appears will built, easy to load, easy to operate, runs quieter than my inkjet, and is really fast, even in duplex printing. Being Wireless,, I can put her anywhere.
4) I have all ready printed some two page up both sides small booklets,, boy is that cool.
CONS: Doesn't come with a kitchen sink, running water, or a Butler.
HAPPY CAMPER
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Very good printer

03/10/2014
By ,
Rocky Point, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the printer to take the place of another one from Brother. This one had more features that I was interested in using which the other didn't have. I print out my church's bulletin every week which is in landscape setting. It takes two sheets of paper to print each one. I have my format to make four pages total like a book. This printer is great as it's a laser jet instead of inkjet which uses ink instead of toner. The speed of the printer is quick. It would take 25 min. to print out 25 copies on inkjet printer using the duplex feature. It took 7 min. on this printer for the same amount of copies using the duplex feature. It is a black color only which I don't mind at all. I'm still having a little problem getting it hooked up wireless but that will be done soon. Instructions are a little crazy to understand. Brother is the only brand I would advise my friends to get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Meets expectations of a monochrome laser

08/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The good:
Setup is easy with a USB cord.
Print quality is decent.
Prints on both sides.
The not-so-good:
It doesn't come with a USB cord, so if you can't connect it to your PC wirelessly be ready to shell out a bit more. But that's not the point, the point is you have to make an extra trip to the store or wait an extra day to get it going. They should mention it boldly on the package that it doesn't come with a cord and may not be compatible to all modems/routers.
Also the paper doesn't come out as crisp as it goes in! But that's typical of most laser printers, so no complains there.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Fabulous!

08/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing printer. Fast, easy to use, prints back and front. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Brother Laser Printer HL-2275DW

04/18/2013
By ,
Eugene, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never owned a Brother printer before - only Canon & HP. I chose this printer over other laser printers for a few reasons.
First was size ( 14.5w x 14.2deep x 7" tall ).
Second, it had good reviews (4.6 Walmart, 4.2 Amazon). These reviews were for the HL-2270 model which is the same printer without the full toner cartridge- that's the only difference. The HL-2270 has what they call a starter cartridge (est.700 pages) vs the HL-2275 which has the full cartridge TN420 (est. 1200 pages).
The other deciding factor was the price of a new toner cartridge. Runs about $32 and less per page cost if you purchase the large capacity cartridge TN450 (est. 2600 pages) & $45. Remember these printed page estimates are manufacturer's estimates using half filled pages; so depending on how much you fill up a page is what determines how many pages you'll get out of a cartridge.
I've only owned this printer for 10 days & normally don't like reviews this soon after the puchase but Walmart wanted a review so I will give an honest appraisal. I set it up to be wireless for my laptop and my wife's desktop. I just followed the directions and I didn't need access to the router. It worked the first time for both computers. I was surprised. The next day my laptop wasn't connecting wireless. Not sure why, but I then re-entered the CD software and it started working again. Both computers have been working wirelessly with the printer ever since. It prints fast and good quality prints. I like it a lot as long as it keeps working. It's very easy to connect wireless as long as you follow their directions. For longevity, I will see in a couple of years but for now I would definitely recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Great Value for most home office use.

07/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value for most home office use who does not need color copies. I had used their previous generation mono printer, and had 6 years of good experience with it until it finally died. I particularly like the duplex printing, and wireless capability. Setup, however, needs much help from customer support. The driver and the installation software accompany the machine does not support OS 10.9.x or Maverick, and the download site was of little help with no updated installation package. I have to call Customer Support. They have a call back system so you do not have to wait with the phone glue to your ear; and they called back in about 15 minutes. The tech support was very good; in 30 minuets or so, I was up and running. I have yet the opportunity to try out the free 3rd party app that enable printing from Tablets and smart phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Easy set up and use

08/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit set up very easily, double side printing is fantastic, and it quick and quiet.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Great product, good price

08/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd HL-22xx product, all 3 working wirelessly, on 3 floors of home (modem in middle). But for value, be sure to get the 2275 and not the 2270 (which some in-store associates will substitute as a "cross-referenced" product).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

So far so good; quality printer

08/03/2014
By ,
Cleveland, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is early to fully review this printer but, so far it has done what is expected. I love the 1/2 ream paper tray and it is fast. Print quality is great and I like the back to back feature. I will have to wait to see if I get the 1500 copies promised and how hard it is to put in a new cartridge or tray or whatever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Feature-packed, reliable, and the software works!

04/12/2014
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third Brother printer. I have never been disappointed and this one is no exception. With each printer I have been blown away by the Brother printer and networking software. The software simply works. It does what it is supposed to do. It is easy to install. It is well documented and understandable. The print quality is outstanding. These traits ought to be just programming 101. But in other products out there, the other manufacturers just don't get it. I want to solve my print needs, not spend lots of time installing and debugging and configuring. And this printer delivers. To top it off, the printer is highly competitive from a price standpoint. I am very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Very Pleased with This Printer

11/14/2013
By ,
H.B.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with this printer so far. Nov 2, 2013 I purchased a Brother Mono Compact Laser Printer. I received this printer on or around the 8th or 9th, not sure of the date, however, it was faster than I anticipated for "free" shipping. The printer works fabulously, easy set up EXCEPT for setting up wireless operation. Unfortunately, the assistance from customer services was a bit too technical, as I did not understand the terms the c.s. person was using. This printer comes without a USB cable, at least mine did not have one and if you are going to run this printer wireless ...no problem, otherwise you will need to purchase a USB cable. Hopefully it continues to work as it should as I use it more. Again...very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

A very well made, easy to use product

08/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off, I meant what I said above; Brother is a reputable name in the business, and the particular printer I bought, a Model HL-2275DW Monochrome Laser, was and is very user-friendly. I hasten to add that I elected to use a wired setup, making it considerably easier for me to get things rolling. I did a fair amount of comparison between name brands and models once I'd decided to go to a laser-type printer, and one thing they all seem to have in common is a propensity for giving the end-user a headache when trying to integrate into the network wirelessly. Anyway, I chose the Brother and have had no reason to regret my purchase; it was a good combination of price and quality. The main reason I stopped using inkjet printers was simply because I just didn't do that much printing anymore; comparatively long periods of disuse led to my getting less and less total output from the increasingly expensive ink cartridges, which were literally drying out, including the printhead itself. A laser, on the other hand, using its dry toner, sits ready to go no matter how long between uses; they're known primarily for being a cost-effective tool for an office generating large amounts of printed stuff, but the reverse is also true--the toner cartridge in my particular model is rated for 1,200 pages, and the drum for 12,000, and I'll get the full amount from both no matter how long it takes to do it. I paid a hundred dollars for this printer so I call it a good value all around. I don't print photos at home anymore; there are many good online services that do a fine job at a good price. Bearing in mind that monochrome limits your expression somewhat--to paraphrase Henry Ford: "You can have any color you like as long as it's black & white"--if you're looking for a good, utilitarian printer that will crank out clear, legible copy either by the hour in large quantities or a few at a time over long periods with no worries about an expensive ink cartridge drying up, I highly recommend this printer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Mind Blown

07/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a business owner and operator for over 10 years, I've gone through all brands and types of laser printers. I decided to buy this one from Walmart "Site to Store" at 9PM and got it immediately from the local Wally few minutes later! Talk about incredible. This was my first Brother product and the amount of quality and features they pour into the actual machine as well as the support software and website has simply floored me. I will never go with other brands ever again in my life.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Amazing printer, super fast, excellent quality!!

11/05/2013
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have no idea why I waited so long to buy a laser printer! I fumbled around with an HP inkjet through college, but now I am in need of a fast printing, and good quality text. I am a CRAZY COUPONER and let me tell you - this prints the clearest, best quality barcodes and text I've ever seen! Prints so quickly, and it's super quiet. Please be aware that the printer comes with a toner that's only about 25% full (I'd assume around 200-250 pages) so just buy one with the printer. I picked up the TN-450 which will print about 2600 pages for only $50. I know it seems way more expensive than an inkjet, but if you add up the savings it is well worth it in the long run. So happy with my printer, and I am glad to have it! Thanks Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Great Printer

09/29/2013
By ,
KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this printer strictly for printing coupons. I was spending way too much money on ink and decided to give this one a try. I have had it for 6 months now and print almost daily (60-100 pages a month) and I have not had to replace the factory toner yet. I have recommended this printer to several people and I will continue to recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Could not be more satisfied

07/13/2014
By ,
Gibsonville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine works so much faster than the Kodak I had. Also, it is so much quieter. I am quite satisfied with the value and ease of use. I would recommend this machine to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 63 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next