Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Brother Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Brother Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

This Brother Compact Monochrome Laser Printer, HL-2275DW, is a printer that offers automatic duplex capability for printing two-sided documents with ease. The Brother HL Laser Printer is quick and efficient, quickly printing at up to 27 pages per minute. The built-in wired and wireless networking allows you to share the Brother Monochrome Laser Printer with multiple people in your home or office. The Brother Compact Monochrome Laser Printer, HL-2275DW, features a stylish and space-saving design that complements just about any environment. In addition, the Brother HL Laser Printer features convenient paper handling via an adjustable 250-sheet capacity tray. The Brother Monochrome Laser Printer offers great print resolution and is Energy Star certified. The Brother Compact Monochrome Laser Printer, HL-2275DW, comes with an included power supply and power cord, requiring only the purchase of a single USB cable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.546 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
23
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation95%92 out of 97reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 154 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
23
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Very pleased!

03/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say I am very pleased with this product for my needs. That said there are a few things you might want to know before you buy:
1) It is not as noisy as a ink jet but it is probably the most noisy laser printer I have ever heard. This is not something that bothers me however.
2) It only prints black. I knew this going in but some people might not realize this is not a color printer.
3) Compared to other laser printers it is slow. It's still a lot faster than my ink jet was, and much cheaper to use in the long run.
Overall this suits my needs perfectly. I have a small home business but I print a LOT of pages and this is really nice. I can load 1/2 a full ream of paper into the printer and it fits beautifully. The refill toner will print 2600 pages for under 50.00 and that's a lot better than having to replace two ink cartridges for almost the same cost that will print 400 pages. The quality is sharp and crystal clear. I am a happy camper!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Printers Dream!

12/02/2013
By ,
Murf, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just going to come right out and say it. This is the best printer you can have and I am talking about 1. Ease of use. 2. Value for the $$buck$$. 3. Replacement toner costs. Right out of the box, just put in the CD-Rom, follow the onscreen steps, it tells you to plug in the printer, it registers and before ya know it. You see "Your hardware is ready for use". On thin I am always weary is replacement toner/ink costs when buying a printer. When I find one that looks good to me, I immediately go to the toner/ink section and get an analysis if replacement cost. I am usually not surprised of the overpriced costs because that printer I was looking at may have cheap in price. It is the long term cost that the manufacturers are getting you. After checking this printer, also the functions such as the duplex option and the toner replacement costs. You will find this is one of the best deals out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

DO NOT HAVE IT SHIPPED!!!

09/21/2014
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The cardboard box is not made for individual shipping. UPS demolished it during shipping! Have it shipped to your Walmart store. That was it will ship on Walmarts truck. Most stores around me showed it in stock on the managers handheld computer. Don't trust this inventory. Call the store and have them physically check for the item. The 2270 is different than the 2275 where the 2270 has a "starter" toner cartridge and the 2275 had a full toner cartridge. The printer itself gets great reviews. My one star is because Brother made such a cheap package and waster 5 hours of my tine rectifying their shortcomings!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Paper is curled!

02/22/2014
By ,
Logansport, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I learned the hard way about this tray fed printer. This printer is really only for non-important prints. The paper is tray fed, heated is generated as your document is being printed (paper will come out warm), while the paper literally moves at a 360 degree angle inside the printer. The end result is a printed paper that is curled. I bought this printer as an upgrade from my old Lexmark. When it printer the sheets came out as flat as they were when they went in. With this Brother HL-2275DW printer the sheets do not come out flat and the both the top and bottom of the sheet are raised about 1 1/2" which is a very noticeable curl. Brother does have a "reduce paper curl" in the options (so it must be an issue). It helps a little but the paper is still very noticeably curled!
If you're thinking about this printer for legal papers or for things like resumes choose a different printer unless you literally want to iron your documents after they are printed. The print quality is great but the paper curling is unacceptable.
I'm printing on Georgia-Pacific Premium 24 weight paper so it's not like I'm using generic junk paper.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Great printer for the home

10/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was worried at first after reading reviews on how people were having such a time getting the wireless to work. I had it up and running in wireless mode within 15 minutes just follow the instructions and to make it easier use a USB cable to set it up, this however does not come in the box. I used the one from my old printer. Then it only took a few minutes to get the auto duplex mode which I might add is an awesome feature to print both sides of the paper at once. Super fast printing for this machine and really is not the loud starting up like some reviews said. I would recommend this printer for home use and for the cost and Brother support.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

a better buy then best buy

01/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked this printer because of how fast it prints and that it can do duplex printing. I had a little trouble getting the wireless to work. The instructions said to press a button and it would automatically set up within two minutes. It took several tries before I decided to just let it sit. It ended up taking about 7 minutes for the wireless setup to complete. During that time, nothing was obviously happening, so I was thinking it just wasn't working.
The printer works well and it is fast. BTW the difference between this model 75 and the model 70 is that the 75 comes with a full toner and the 70 comes with a starter size. Given the cost of a new cartridge, the 75 is a better value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Good Quality / Good Price

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laser printer for $100!
Prints at less than 1 cent per page!
Most deals either get you with the price of the printer or the price of the toner. This meets both concerns very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Tired of expensive ink jet replacement cartridges

10/09/2014
By ,
Edinboro, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After another year of spending $80+ dollars for ink jet cartridges on my old all in one printer that I rarely printed color and not all that much black documents, I bought this printer for slightly more than the cost of the ink cartridges. The print quality for the black and white is much better plus it is faster and does duplex too. The replacement toner is reasonable and as a light user it should last me a long time without worrying about clogged inkjets. I still can scan an copy on my old one, but will do all my printing on this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Good Machine, Poor Research

10/18/2014
By ,
Dickinson, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I failed to research the machine thoroughly and didn't realize until I purchased it the it WOULD NOT feed 67 lb card stock. The print quality of the machine was very good on regular 20 24 lb paper.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

So far very happy with this purchase

09/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read that others said it wasn't Wi-fi capable, but mine installed itself easily when I followed the straight forward instructions. I did need to use my USB cable for a few minutes while it did the setup. I don't see any problem with the paper curling, and I love the way it prints on both sides of the paper at the same time. That means I don't need to run it through twice and risk getting the order all messed up when printing books.
I've had some Brother lasers years back and they always gave me great economical service until I finally wore them out. This is my first laser in over 10 years, and I like it a lot. Toner cartridges are also very cheap compared to other brands.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Excellent Student Printer well worth it's cost

10/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little hesitant at first given the cost for just a black and white printer. But given that I only print black and white pages "approx. 200 pages a week" and have little to no need for a scanner or copier I opted to give the lil brother a try. I am a fairly tech savvy individual who's original degree choice was computer science. I am running both mac and windows based systems on the same network with this printer. The pages are quick, crisp, and no noise whatsoever aside from the initial prep when you turn your printer on. I haven't had the printer long enough to attest to any ink usage ratings of how long the toner lasts but I did want to squelch some concerns people may have as I did originally about wifi set up. Contrary to what I read in many reviews about difficult wifi set up and having to call customer support to finish the set up, I can safely say that I experienced none of this. After unboxing I had the printer connected and printing from both of my computer and iPhone in about 15-20 minutes. It does not have a GUI interface that most have become accustomed too this age with technology but it seems a lot more secure and definite than my original hp printer. Just follow the booklet directions step by step and I promise you should have no issues. I used the usb cable option for the set up, and it ran seamlessly with no hiccups aside from me typing my network password incorrectly at first. Best of luck to you all, and if you are in the market for an economic, quick and effective solution for your printing needs "office/home or student based" then look no further! Also upon further inspection, the toner and drum replacements for this printer are even cheaper than my cartridges for my old hp photo smart...talk about a double win?! :P
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Good Basic Monochrome Laser Printer

10/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Brother HL-2275DW is replacing a Brother 1440. It is a good basic monochrome printer for the home office. Easy to set up and use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Very good windows printer

10/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would definetly recommend this printer. The major reason I purchased this is due to ink cost. This printer is not expensive and saves me a lot of on toner. The only issue I had was printing some documents from my android phone. Other than that, it was great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Brother Laser Printer HL-2275DW

04/18/2013
By ,
Eugene, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never owned a Brother printer before - only Canon & HP. I chose this printer over other laser printers for a few reasons.
First was size ( 14.5w x 14.2deep x 7" tall ).
Second, it had good reviews (4.6 Walmart, 4.2 Amazon). These reviews were for the HL-2270 model which is the same printer without the full toner cartridge- that's the only difference. The HL-2270 has what they call a starter cartridge (est.700 pages) vs the HL-2275 which has the full cartridge TN420 (est. 1200 pages).
The other deciding factor was the price of a new toner cartridge. Runs about $32 and less per page cost if you purchase the large capacity cartridge TN450 (est. 2600 pages) & $45. Remember these printed page estimates are manufacturer's estimates using half filled pages; so depending on how much you fill up a page is what determines how many pages you'll get out of a cartridge.
I've only owned this printer for 10 days & normally don't like reviews this soon after the puchase but Walmart wanted a review so I will give an honest appraisal. I set it up to be wireless for my laptop and my wife's desktop. I just followed the directions and I didn't need access to the router. It worked the first time for both computers. I was surprised. The next day my laptop wasn't connecting wireless. Not sure why, but I then re-entered the CD software and it started working again. Both computers have been working wirelessly with the printer ever since. It prints fast and good quality prints. I like it a lot as long as it keeps working. It's very easy to connect wireless as long as you follow their directions. For longevity, I will see in a couple of years but for now I would definitely recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Very good printer

03/10/2014
By ,
Rocky Point, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the printer to take the place of another one from Brother. This one had more features that I was interested in using which the other didn't have. I print out my church's bulletin every week which is in landscape setting. It takes two sheets of paper to print each one. I have my format to make four pages total like a book. This printer is great as it's a laser jet instead of inkjet which uses ink instead of toner. The speed of the printer is quick. It would take 25 min. to print out 25 copies on inkjet printer using the duplex feature. It took 7 min. on this printer for the same amount of copies using the duplex feature. It is a black color only which I don't mind at all. I'm still having a little problem getting it hooked up wireless but that will be done soon. Instructions are a little crazy to understand. Brother is the only brand I would advise my friends to get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Excellant printer.

05/21/2014
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After hours and days of research, I decided on purchasing the HL-2275 from Walmart rather than any other source for the following reasons;
1) Brother has been building laser printers for a long time and there online assistance is top-notch, not that I needed it. Considering I had never setup a Wireless network before, instructions were clear and complete. and everything worked perfectly the first time with two wireless computers. I'm not the fastest creek in the county, so I read stuff 2 or 3 times.
2) The HL-2275 is the same as last years HL-2270, except the 75 has a FULL toner cartridge (1200 pages) rather than a "starter"cartridge (700 pages) in the 70. Walmart's price delivered, not including the free 500 sheets of paper and 8G flash drive, whipped competitors.
3) Came before the expected delivery date in a factory sealed box. Employee allowed me to open the box and inspect it before I accepted it. Whole process, order to pickup was a 10.
3) Printer appears will built, easy to load, easy to operate, runs quieter than my inkjet, and is really fast, even in duplex printing. Being Wireless,, I can put her anywhere.
4) I have all ready printed some two page up both sides small booklets,, boy is that cool.
CONS: Doesn't come with a kitchen sink, running water, or a Butler.
HAPPY CAMPER
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Brother HL-2275DW

10/02/2014
By ,
Denham Springs, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A real pain to set up with my Macbook Air, but Brother was GREAT in walking me through the set up. Call them initially and make your life easier. Once set up the printer is fast and print quality is good. Can't say anything but good things about the Brother tech team. Price was good, and Site to Store shipping didn't take too long.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

I've Fallen in Love!!

09/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought this printer today. Printed the test page, and a word document and I just really love it! I was actually quite surprised with the size, it was smaller than I'd imagined so that's a bonus. Prints really fast. Setup was fairly easy. I normally hate setting up printers but this one was not bad really. I used the wireless setup function (there's 3 different types of setups you can choose from). It was a tiny little confusing but just go slow. And if you make a mistake, you can always reset the settings (explained in the manual) and start again ( I did!).
A few things to take note though:
1) You WILL NEED a USB cable no matter if you're going to use the wireless function or not. You need it to set up the printer to computer. USB cable is not included with this purchase.
2) You also WILL NEED a computer/laptop that has a CD drive to set it up. My laptop doesn't have a CD drive and I was freaking out thinking I had to go buy an external drive, but then I realized that I had a computer in the house which had a CD drive.
3) Just as a side note, if you're using the wireless function (like me), you can set it up on another computer/laptop and used it on another computer/laptop. Obviously that is the definition of wireless, but just in case you were wondering.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Great duplex printer !!

09/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a very good duplex printer to have one and absolutely worth spending money on. Printing is very easy and print quality is simply awesome. But to set up wireless we need a printer USB cable which is not included in a package. Nevertheless, it absolutely a very great printer that is wireless and can print both side with an awesome result.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Print Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Brother HL-2275DW Compact Monochrome Laser Printer

Very Pleased with This Printer

11/14/2013
By ,
H.B.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with this printer so far. Nov 2, 2013 I purchased a Brother Mono Compact Laser Printer. I received this printer on or around the 8th or 9th, not sure of the date, however, it was faster than I anticipated for "free" shipping. The printer works fabulously, easy set up EXCEPT for setting up wireless operation. Unfortunately, the assistance from customer services was a bit too technical, as I did not understand the terms the c.s. person was using. This printer comes without a USB cable, at least mine did not have one and if you are going to run this printer wireless ...no problem, otherwise you will need to purchase a USB cable. Hopefully it continues to work as it should as I use it more. Again...very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Print Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next