Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

Shark Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

This never loses suction upright vacuum features three vacs in one: a powerful upright, a Lift-Away pod for portable cleaning and a convenient canister vacuum. The extra-large capacity dust cup and Anti-Allergen Complete Seal + HEPA trap over 99.99 percent of dust and allergens inside the vacuum. Enhanced swivel steering provides the ultimate control to get in and around obstacles and furniture, and ultra-quiet technology allows for operation anywhere, anytime. The premium Rotator power nozzle comes with headlights and a brushroll shutoff, providing superior performance on both carpets and bare floors. It includes a premium pet power brush, crevice tool, canister caddy, straight suction nozzle and a wide pet upholstery tool for versatile cleaning throughout the home. An extra-long 30-foot power cord provides maximum range for cleaning large spaces quickly and easily.
Average Customer Rating:
4.645 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(234 Reviews) 215
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
187
4 stars
32
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation94%219 out of 234reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
96 Questions | 149 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
187
4 stars
32
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

You just think your carpet is clean!

11/16/2013
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From NV501. If you will tolerate me while I digress to make a point, you will understand what I have to say. For years, I have prided myself on having a clean house and thought it was. It is not that I am a clean freak but we’ve worked very hard to have what we have and I wanted to keep the carpet and tile at its best. Then, my husband began coughing to the point he had to have a heart stress test. Everything was negative but the coughing continued. There is no cigarette smoke in our house. So, every other day, to alleviate his incessant coughing, I would dust and vacuum with my upright, well known brand (begins with a K) containing a bag that took two mules and a horse to attach it tightly. Even after I vacuumed, I would have to dust the furniture again and wonder how on earth the dust returned so quickly. Sometimes the bag would stay on the vacuum and other times; all the dust would go inside the bag container. To get rid of the accumulated dust, I would haul the heavy thing outside and blow everything from its nooks and crannies. After several repairs to a wheel that flew down the hallway and cutting my fingers on the bag area, I banned the vacuum cleaner to my garage. That is when I bought my Shark Rotator Lift Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, model NV501. It arrived earlier than its intended arrival time from a Wal-Mart Distributor.
A week before it arrived, I had moved all the furniture in my house, cleaned all the curtains and drapery and vacuumed with my old vacuum cleaner. The house looked clean. Anxious to try the Shark to see if it lived up to its hype, I went to the bedroom and began vacuuming … this is one room! When I saw the miniscule particles of dust (so tiny it looked like someone poured a whole container of baby powder on my carpet) and sloughed off body skin (we all do that) I was mortified. What else was in my carpet? Dust mites … probably so but not for long! The next day, once again I moved the furniture and did a deep clean on the floors and upholstery. I was aghast. The amount of dirt and dust collected by the Shark NV501 made me sick to my stomach. I couldn’t believe all these years my carpeted bedrooms and living room floors contained this much filthy dirt. Believe this or not but I continue to get atomic sized particles from my carpet. However, each time I’ve vacuumed since I purchased the Shark, the amount is getting smaller and smaller. I am winning the battle and there is no more coughing.
If you are wondering about the Shark NV501, I can attest it does what it is supposed to do. The head swivels, doesn’t lose suction, is easy to maneuver, lightweight, will vacuum deep pile carpet and vinyl, hardwood or tile with a push of a button and the attachments are easy to change. The only thing that I might not like is how you push a tiny area with your foot to engage the handle downward but it is a moot subject. Very little dust is on my furniture and the house smells clean. Am I pushing this Shark NV501 … yes, I am and I am not affiliated with any one in the company, have stock in the company or asked to do this review. I am just a very pleased, “color me a happy camper doing the Snoopy Dance” consumer with this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+531points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oklahoma
Update
Posted 06/10/2014
Are you still happy with the vacuum? My step-daughter is trying to sell me a Kirby but I'm just not sure about it. Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

Shark Professional Vacuum

05/04/2013
By ,
Southern Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the BEST vacuum I have ever had. Light and easy to move around. After I had cleaned the carpet with the old vacuum, thinking it was clean, this one filled the tank with dirt and dog hair! I am so impressed. I tell everyone!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+176points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

A cleaning machine!!

06/05/2014
By ,
Payson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK. I rarely review products, however, in the case of the Shark Rotator vacuum, I gladly make the exception.
Gentleman, have you ever bought yourself the "end all, be all" tool that does exactly what you wished for, saved you time and gave you that sense of satisfaction for a job well done?
Ladies (and gents) to not hesitate to purchase this valuable tool. With two shedding Labs. one Jack Russell, and four cats the fur abounds and the dirt gets tracked in. Also, there is a substantial amount of dust from living in a semirural area. When I got going with the Shark, there was no stopping me. Wood floors, throw rugs, carpeting, drapes, window sills, upholstery and under those nasty leather sofa cushions. Not to mention, bookcases, under the beds and into places I would have never thought of cleaning until Shark mania took over.
Yes, I like a clean home but as has been said in honesty by another reviewer, you only "think" your home is clean. Definitely, I am pleased with my end all, be all Shark vac!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

Best decision I've made

02/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this vacuum. After months of research and watching the info commercial a handful of times I decided to buy it. I originally wanted a dyson, but decided to give the shark a try. I couldn't be happier. My in laws have a dyson ball and wished they would have spent half the money on this Shark. The suction is so powerful, unlike any other vacuum I've had. All the attachments make cleaning my stairs, couch, and blinds easy. It does my tile floors, carpet, and rug so easy I don't have to pull my broom out 6 times a day now (I have a very messy 4 year old). It's easy to push around, easy to move, and it's like 3 vacuums in one. The only downfall is the un-retractable cord. All my cheap vacuums had one, but I guess that's a small price to pay for a great vacuum. This one makes me excited to clean again! My carpets are only a year old and already have high traffic areas matted down, this vacuum makes my carpets look like they were just installed. I cannot say enough good things about it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+115points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

Works as advertised and excellent performance!

02/01/2014
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After significant research and analysis I decided to get this Shark Rotator NV501 over Dyson. Looks like I made the right choice based on usage so far. Assembly was simple and clear based on very good documentation. Ample amount of accessories came with the package. The suction power is wonderful and the dust bin is large enough to hold dirt from 3-4 rooms. The dumping of dirt is quick and easy. The canister option is nice as it is easy to do the steps with the lighter base. The duster accessory is great for dusting upholstery and desks. Overall a great vacuum. Since it comes with 5-yr warranty I hope it lasts that long. Will update this review after few months of usage. ONE BIG WARNING IS to check with Shark which stores you can buy it from to honor the warranty. If you buy from Amazon the warranty is only valid for 90 days as per Shark. As per Shark - "Our products are sold at these popular retail outlets: Best Buy, Bed Bath & Beyond, Costco, Canadian Tire, Home Depot, K Mart, Khols, Macy's, Sam's Club, Sears, Target, Walmart, and Zellers."
-sp
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

Great Vacuum for a Anyone!

12/14/2013
By ,
Lancaster, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the suction of the Shark Rotating Lift Away Professional Upright Vacuum and how easy it is to maneuver. It does a great job cleaning. I vacuumed after my husband used his Kirby and it still filled the dirt cup of the Shark twice. I am still learning more about using this vacuum, but I can tell in the little time I have used it, that it is a lot better than using my husband's Kirby vacuum that is so heavy and has so many directions to follow. It's easy to read and follow the instructions showing step by step what to do. The price is reasonable; a lot more reasonable than the Kirby (which is all metal) and the Dyson (which is all plastic), and highly over priced. The only thing I did find a hassle was the cord getting in the way since it is so long, but the long cord does make it easier to manipulate and cover larger areas without plugging and unplugging so much. I would recommend this vacuum to a friend; definitely.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

Love this Vacuum!

01/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a Dyson that was starting to fall apart after 5 yrs. so I started looking for a new vacuum, but I didn't want to spend the money on another Dyson.
After searching the web and reading reviews I decided on the Shark Rotator. The day before it showed up at the house I ran the vacuum I have around the house because I had some friends coming over. The next day the cleaning ladies came and clean the whole house. ( my once a month splurge). After they left I put my new Shark vacuum together and ran it over my area rug in the family room. It almost filled the tank with lint, dog hair, and dirt. So I ended up vacuuming the whole house again.
I was shocked and impressed!
The only thing for me that is a little disappointing is there isn't a place on the vacuum to hold all the small attachments and I wish there was a wand attachment for when I use it like a canister vacuum, because when I try to vacuum under my king size bed the sweeper head lifts up and doesn't make contact with the floor.
Other than that I love this machine!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

Awesome!!!

06/03/2013
By ,
South Beach, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best vacuum I have ever used. It's not very heavy and it has great suction, it does not tip over when you use the attachments. I love how it's an up-right, a canister, and how it lifts away for doing a stair case. I also love how you can push a button to stop the brush from turning so you can use it on hardwood & tile floors. It's also more quiet than most vacs. I love the 5 year warranty and if you have any problems with your vac, shark will send you a prepaid shipping label so they can fix your problem with the vacuum. Now that says a lot about a company to stand behind their product and to also cover shipping and handling both ways. Don't hesitate to buy it, you will not be sorry. I am ordering a second one because I live in a two story home and I prefer having one vacuum upstairs and one for down stairs so this should tell you how much I love this vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+110points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

Do not hesitate, excellent vacuum!

02/05/2014
By ,
Salem, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is worth every penny. I was skeptical at first to even consider a vacuum from an infomercial. After a marathon afternoon of researching and comparing countless mediocre vacuums, I ran into this. The 'Shark' brand of vacuums continued to appear in top ratings next to all the big names, including Dyson. If you still can't believe it, google it and read what so many other consumers have to say. Then go out and buy one! I am shocked at what was removed from my carpets. Still can't believe I have been stomping around in this, and subsequently breathing in all those little particles. This vacuum exceeded my expectations and we'll be breathing much easier.
Also, the attachments work flawlessly and the way it separates itself is hassle free and effortless. Same with emptying the large bag less container into the trash.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

Amazing and surprising!!

04/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My last vacuum was a Shark...and it was terrible. So I am looking forward to the arrival of this one due to all the great reviews. WOW!!! and WOW!!! That sums it up. The hose isn't rough at all, one of the easiest to manuver and work with. Losts of options and good useful attachments and the best part is it's Easy!! I really can't get over it. I had a Kirby and it was a nightmare! This is ten times stronger doesn't lose suction on either type floors. Doesn't lose suction with any attachments either. My only blurb is it is a bit heavy. But I'll take that any day. I hope this helps and honestly,nothing is a five star and everything has a quirk so judge for what you really want. I was skeptical and against the reviews I bought it. I have no regrets and am super happy with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

Nice vacuum but

08/24/2014
By ,
Arizona
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is my second Shark. I gave my Daughter my Shark Lift Way Pro, NV355. as her vacuum broke. I see several improvements on this NV501, like head lights, caddy, many more attachments. The dust bin is also a little easier to take off and put on. But, the Shark Rotator Lift Away is much heaver to push and carry when using it as a Lift Away. You almost need the caddy. I was surprised at how much harder it was to push using it normally. Also the dust bin is ridiculously small compared to my older Lift Away Pro. That bin must be at least 4 times larger. So while you get more than what I got in my first Shark, . Both are real powerful and will sure get the job done, but I think the NV355 is easier to use. Both have a ridiculously short and stiff hose. Shark needs to come out with one where it will bend easier and where you can add an extension on it for higher up things.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

Search no longer...

06/10/2013
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this vacuum after weeks of thinking about it and seeing the info mercial. I am so glad I did. This sounds strange but I actually look forward to vacuuming now. My 5 yr old excitedly asked me if we were going to vacuum the other day. The vacuum is surprisingly quiet and seriously amazing. I no longer have to switch vacuums to pick up the pet hair. Everything is right at my fingertips. It is really as easy as the commercial makes it look. The first time I used it about 2 weeks ago, I had vacuumed probably 4 days prior. We have 2 cats and I vacuum weekly. But this vacuum picked up so much dirt and hair I had to stop to dump it before finishing. The volume of dirt was amazing and scary! To think all that was on the floor and being blown out into the air by my old vacuum! I was so surprised I used a measuring cup to see just how much it was. I got about 7-8 cups (using my glass measuring cup) out of the cannister. I was so impressed I took a picture. Emptying this va
cuum is so easy my 5-yr old does it. She actually wants to help and vacuum herself. This is an amazing vacuum and definitely all Shark says it is. I am thrilled with my new vacuum and cant wait to toss the other 3 I have been using!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

Shark vs. Dyson

10/19/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As an 8 year user of a Dyson, I am thoroughly impressed with the Shark. The price is a BONUS! I have 4 large dogs, and the attachments removed the pet hair from microfiber furniture with no issues. The bare floor cleaning is as impressive as the carpet cleaning. All the different attachments makes any cleaning job a breeze. I have noticed a reduction in dust with the Shark vs. Dyson. I totally recommend using the caddy when cleaning with the wand for stability.
To put the unit together out of the box was 4 simple clicks. Then plug in and go! The onboard lights are a (I typically clean later in the evening, so I dont need bright lights to see what I am doing).
Overall, this was a great purchase, and I am throughly impressed. I dont see myself purchasing a Dyson in the future. I purchased the 3 year warranty. If I dont need it, i wont be upset about it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

2nd Shark

04/19/2013
By ,
los lunas,NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the first Shark that hit the market way back when and it was a good machine. The only problem was we have 5 house cats and live in the south west where winds are a major problem with flying dust which gets in the house no matter what you do. This one after just one run over the living room carpet was amazing, so much so I had to make a second run. When I had seen the results after the second pass I told my wife I was going for a third just to get down to the last of it. all I can say is WOW this SHARK is awesome and great if you have pets that shed. Haven't tried all the attachments as of yet but when the celling fans need cleaning i'm sure this will do the job in place of paper towels and endust. Just to add, the wife hates to use the vacuum so your's truly gets the job along with dusting the higher places in the home.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

Better than a Dyson!!

05/27/2013
By ,
Blue River, Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used my daughter's Dyson. I prefer the Shark Rotator. I don't think the Dyson cleans any better than the Shark, but I could buy 2 Sharks for the price of 1 Dyson (& still hae money left over).
I live in the country & have quite a bit of sand in my yard & driveway. The Shark picks it up very easily & if you have tried to vacuum up sand off a hardwood floor, you know it is no easy task.
I have only had the Shark a few weeks, but I love it.
BUY IT-DO NOT BUY ONE OF THE CHEAP VACUUMS-THEY WILL NOT LAST & YOU WILL STILL HAVE TO REPLACE IT VERY SOON. & THEY DO NOT CLEAN VERY GOOD.
This has been one of my best purchases. Should have bought it sooner.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

Everything Advertised and More

01/04/2014
By ,
Shelbyville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been using bag less vacuum cleaners for years and we have had several, but when we saw the versatility of the Shark Rotator and compared the price to other types with similar features, we decided to give it a try. We have not been disappointed. It is everything that they advertise and more. The power and self propelled feature was a surprise though.
We have now owned this unit for about 5 months and the only negative thing I can say is the support fitting where the hose goes into the handle broke, but here is where we were really impressed. I called the Shark customer support and with no questions asked except for the purchase date, they said they will ship a replacement part; but not just the part that broke. They are sending and entire handle and hose assembly.
We look forward to many satisfactory years of service from this unit.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

Should have gotten a Dyson

03/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My Dyson had pooped out on me or rather needed a new hose. Rather than replace it I decided a year or so ago to get this thing. I read the reviews and thought I'd try a Shark. I shouldn't have wasted my money on it. It looses suction while using it. It almost sounds like some sort of flap isn't closing and it looses suction. I have taken it apart as much as I can and cannot seem to find the problem.
I should have known better the first day I brought it home and it wouldn't even suck up cat litter on my tile or wood floor. You must pass over the litter many times and sometimes it will suck it up and other times I end up using the wand.
Dyson, I love you! I am planning on a new one in the near future. I will NEVER have anything else. I owned several brands and nothing measures up to it!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

POORLY MADE

10/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shark Vacs Are Poorly Made... I Purchased This Item From Walmart And Its Already Broke. The Hoses Got Brittle And Now It Has No Suction Power. Called Shark For The Warranty Which States 5 Years On Walmarts Website And on Their Website As Well, But This Is What I Got For An Explanation Of Warranty In My Email From Shark Directly....
(The 5 Year VIP Limited Warranty applies to eligible* purchases made directly from Euro-Pro Operating LLC. Warranty coverage applies to the original owner and to the original product only and is not transferable. Euro-Pro Operating LLC warrants that the unit shall be free from defects in material and workmanship from the date of purchase when the appliance system is used for residential consumer purposes and maintained according to the requirements outlined in the Instruction manuals.)
Yes Its States Warranty Is Only 5 Years If Purchased Directly From Manufacturer.....
Customer Service Told Me 90 Warranty If Purchased From Walmart. I Asked What Am I To Do My Vac Is Only 5 Months Old... She Told Me I Should Have Bought Directly From Them And Recommended I Buy Another.... Really??? Poor Customer Service And They Only Stand Behind Their Product If You Bought From Them Directly. I Recommend NO-ONE Buys Another Shark Product From Walmart or Any Retailer For That Matter!!!!!
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

Shark NV501 IS FANTASTIC

11/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We unpacked this vacuum and assembled it in minutes - pretty simple. We then vacuumed an area rug in our home with our expensive (and we thought very effective and efficient) MIELE vacuum cleaner. After that thorough vacuuming we then vacuumed the same rug with the Shark NV501 and to our amazement there was at least 1 - ½ inches of fibers, dust, dog hair and other debris in the Shark collection chamber - WOW - that was just incredible. We then took the NV501 or our cottage where our son, his wife and their cat stay on a frequent basis - another unbelievable amount of dust, cat hair, and other 'stuff' was vacuumed up - ANOTHER WOW ! ! !
This is quite the machine. We are buying a second unit for our summer home in Maine where the house is filled by grandchildren and Labrador dogs continuously - can't wait to see the job it does there also.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shark Rotator Professional Lift-Away

Outstanding product

06/26/2013
By ,
Live Oak, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't wait to get this item after I saw it advertised on TV.
Purchasing it from Walmart and free delivery to my house made it a lot less expensive than from the TV commercial.
I have a Kirby that I paid $1,000 for about 4 years ago. After I vacuumed with the Kirby, I followed up with the Shark. I couldn't believe the amount of debris/dust that was in the canister. The enclosed system with the HEPA filter makes our sleeping at night without incident. No more clogged noses, coughing, etc.
I would not hesitate to purchase this product. You won't be sorry.....you'll be overjoyed with its performance. It's also very easy to put together, everything fits perfect in the places allocated for the items, empties easy....and on and on and on!!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 216 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next