Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shark Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

Shark Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

This upright vacuum is three vacuums in one: a powerful upright, a Lift-Away pod for portable cleaning and a convenient canister vacuum. With the upright feature of this Shark Rotator Lift Away Vacuum, you never lose suction. The extra-large capacity dust cup and anti-allergen seal trap 99.99 percent of dust and allergens inside the vacuum. Pet owners will appreciate the premium pet-hair tools that come with this Shark Bagless Upright Vacuum. Enhanced swivel steering allows you to get in and around furniture and other obstacles, and the ultra-quiet technology keeps noise levels low. The premium rotator power nozzle comes with headlights and a brushroll shutoff, providing superior performance on both carpets and bare floors. The vacuum also comes with a flexible crevice tool, a canister caddy, a straight suction nozzle and a premium multi-angle tool.
Average Customer Rating:
4.717 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(191 Reviews) 172
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
154
4 stars
29
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation96%183 out of 191reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
69 Questions | 126 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
154
4 stars
29
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

You just think your carpet is clean!

11/16/2013
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From NV501. If you will tolerate me while I digress to make a point, you will understand what I have to say. For years, I have prided myself on having a clean house and thought it was. It is not that I am a clean freak but we’ve worked very hard to have what we have and I wanted to keep the carpet and tile at its best. Then, my husband began coughing to the point he had to have a heart stress test. Everything was negative but the coughing continued. There is no cigarette smoke in our house. So, every other day, to alleviate his incessant coughing, I would dust and vacuum with my upright, well known brand (begins with a K) containing a bag that took two mules and a horse to attach it tightly. Even after I vacuumed, I would have to dust the furniture again and wonder how on earth the dust returned so quickly. Sometimes the bag would stay on the vacuum and other times; all the dust would go inside the bag container. To get rid of the accumulated dust, I would haul the heavy thing outside and blow everything from its nooks and crannies. After several repairs to a wheel that flew down the hallway and cutting my fingers on the bag area, I banned the vacuum cleaner to my garage. That is when I bought my Shark Rotator Lift Away Bagless Upright Vacuum, model NV501. It arrived earlier than its intended arrival time from a Wal-Mart Distributor.
A week before it arrived, I had moved all the furniture in my house, cleaned all the curtains and drapery and vacuumed with my old vacuum cleaner. The house looked clean. Anxious to try the Shark to see if it lived up to its hype, I went to the bedroom and began vacuuming … this is one room! When I saw the miniscule particles of dust (so tiny it looked like someone poured a whole container of baby powder on my carpet) and sloughed off body skin (we all do that) I was mortified. What else was in my carpet? Dust mites … probably so but not for long! The next day, once again I moved the furniture and did a deep clean on the floors and upholstery. I was aghast. The amount of dirt and dust collected by the Shark NV501 made me sick to my stomach. I couldn’t believe all these years my carpeted bedrooms and living room floors contained this much filthy dirt. Believe this or not but I continue to get atomic sized particles from my carpet. However, each time I’ve vacuumed since I purchased the Shark, the amount is getting smaller and smaller. I am winning the battle and there is no more coughing.
If you are wondering about the Shark NV501, I can attest it does what it is supposed to do. The head swivels, doesn’t lose suction, is easy to maneuver, lightweight, will vacuum deep pile carpet and vinyl, hardwood or tile with a push of a button and the attachments are easy to change. The only thing that I might not like is how you push a tiny area with your foot to engage the handle downward but it is a moot subject. Very little dust is on my furniture and the house smells clean. Am I pushing this Shark NV501 … yes, I am and I am not affiliated with any one in the company, have stock in the company or asked to do this review. I am just a very pleased, “color me a happy camper doing the Snoopy Dance” consumer with this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+331points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oklahoma
Update
Posted 06/10/2014
Are you still happy with the vacuum? My step-daughter is trying to sell me a Kirby but I'm just not sure about it. Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

Shark Professional Vacuum

05/04/2013
By ,
Southern Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the BEST vacuum I have ever had. Light and easy to move around. After I had cleaned the carpet with the old vacuum, thinking it was clean, this one filled the tank with dirt and dog hair! I am so impressed. I tell everyone!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+114points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

A cleaning machine!!

06/05/2014
By ,
Payson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK. I rarely review products, however, in the case of the Shark Rotator vacuum, I gladly make the exception.
Gentleman, have you ever bought yourself the "end all, be all" tool that does exactly what you wished for, saved you time and gave you that sense of satisfaction for a job well done?
Ladies (and gents) to not hesitate to purchase this valuable tool. With two shedding Labs. one Jack Russell, and four cats the fur abounds and the dirt gets tracked in. Also, there is a substantial amount of dust from living in a semirural area. When I got going with the Shark, there was no stopping me. Wood floors, throw rugs, carpeting, drapes, window sills, upholstery and under those nasty leather sofa cushions. Not to mention, bookcases, under the beds and into places I would have never thought of cleaning until Shark mania took over.
Yes, I like a clean home but as has been said in honesty by another reviewer, you only "think" your home is clean. Definitely, I am pleased with my end all, be all Shark vac!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

Best decision I've made

02/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this vacuum. After months of research and watching the info commercial a handful of times I decided to buy it. I originally wanted a dyson, but decided to give the shark a try. I couldn't be happier. My in laws have a dyson ball and wished they would have spent half the money on this Shark. The suction is so powerful, unlike any other vacuum I've had. All the attachments make cleaning my stairs, couch, and blinds easy. It does my tile floors, carpet, and rug so easy I don't have to pull my broom out 6 times a day now (I have a very messy 4 year old). It's easy to push around, easy to move, and it's like 3 vacuums in one. The only downfall is the un-retractable cord. All my cheap vacuums had one, but I guess that's a small price to pay for a great vacuum. This one makes me excited to clean again! My carpets are only a year old and already have high traffic areas matted down, this vacuum makes my carpets look like they were just installed. I cannot say enough good things about it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

Nice vacuum but

08/24/2014
By ,
Arizona
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is my second Shark. I gave my Daughter my Shark Lift Way Pro, NV355. as her vacuum broke. I see several improvements on this NV501, like head lights, caddy, many more attachments. The dust bin is also a little easier to take off and put on. But, the Shark Rotator Lift Away is much heaver to push and carry when using it as a Lift Away. You almost need the caddy. I was surprised at how much harder it was to push using it normally. Also the dust bin is ridiculously small compared to my older Lift Away Pro. That bin must be at least 4 times larger. So while you get more than what I got in my first Shark, . Both are real powerful and will sure get the job done, but I think the NV355 is easier to use. Both have a ridiculously short and stiff hose. Shark needs to come out with one where it will bend easier and where you can add an extension on it for higher up things.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

Works as advertised and excellent performance!

02/01/2014
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After significant research and analysis I decided to get this Shark Rotator NV501 over Dyson. Looks like I made the right choice based on usage so far. Assembly was simple and clear based on very good documentation. Ample amount of accessories came with the package. The suction power is wonderful and the dust bin is large enough to hold dirt from 3-4 rooms. The dumping of dirt is quick and easy. The canister option is nice as it is easy to do the steps with the lighter base. The duster accessory is great for dusting upholstery and desks. Overall a great vacuum. Since it comes with 5-yr warranty I hope it lasts that long. Will update this review after few months of usage. ONE BIG WARNING IS to check with Shark which stores you can buy it from to honor the warranty. If you buy from Amazon the warranty is only valid for 90 days as per Shark. As per Shark - "Our products are sold at these popular retail outlets: Best Buy, Bed Bath & Beyond, Costco, Canadian Tire, Home Depot, K Mart, Khols, Macy's, Sam's Club, Sears, Target, Walmart, and Zellers."
-sp
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

Great Vacuum for a Anyone!

12/14/2013
By ,
Lancaster, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the suction of the Shark Rotating Lift Away Professional Upright Vacuum and how easy it is to maneuver. It does a great job cleaning. I vacuumed after my husband used his Kirby and it still filled the dirt cup of the Shark twice. I am still learning more about using this vacuum, but I can tell in the little time I have used it, that it is a lot better than using my husband's Kirby vacuum that is so heavy and has so many directions to follow. It's easy to read and follow the instructions showing step by step what to do. The price is reasonable; a lot more reasonable than the Kirby (which is all metal) and the Dyson (which is all plastic), and highly over priced. The only thing I did find a hassle was the cord getting in the way since it is so long, but the long cord does make it easier to manipulate and cover larger areas without plugging and unplugging so much. I would recommend this vacuum to a friend; definitely.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

Excellent Bagless Upright Sweeper

09/08/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being a subscriber of Consumer Reports and needing a new sweeper, I reviewed and compared the "best" for the money! Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501 was rated the highest. My previous sweeper was a canister, and everyone in the house knew by the noise that I was sweeping, but not so with the bagless one - just a slight humming. I considered myself a clean housekeeper, until I swept two rooms - one tile and one hardwood with area rug. The canister was filled with 2" of dust balls and hair. The ease of dumping was just a quick release with one click.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

Awesome!!!

06/03/2013
By ,
South Beach, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best vacuum I have ever used. It's not very heavy and it has great suction, it does not tip over when you use the attachments. I love how it's an up-right, a canister, and how it lifts away for doing a stair case. I also love how you can push a button to stop the brush from turning so you can use it on hardwood & tile floors. It's also more quiet than most vacs. I love the 5 year warranty and if you have any problems with your vac, shark will send you a prepaid shipping label so they can fix your problem with the vacuum. Now that says a lot about a company to stand behind their product and to also cover shipping and handling both ways. Don't hesitate to buy it, you will not be sorry. I am ordering a second one because I live in a two story home and I prefer having one vacuum upstairs and one for down stairs so this should tell you how much I love this vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

Do not hesitate, excellent vacuum!

02/05/2014
By ,
Salem, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is worth every penny. I was skeptical at first to even consider a vacuum from an infomercial. After a marathon afternoon of researching and comparing countless mediocre vacuums, I ran into this. The 'Shark' brand of vacuums continued to appear in top ratings next to all the big names, including Dyson. If you still can't believe it, google it and read what so many other consumers have to say. Then go out and buy one! I am shocked at what was removed from my carpets. Still can't believe I have been stomping around in this, and subsequently breathing in all those little particles. This vacuum exceeded my expectations and we'll be breathing much easier.
Also, the attachments work flawlessly and the way it separates itself is hassle free and effortless. Same with emptying the large bag less container into the trash.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

whats all the fuss about?

06/29/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I could see giving this vac accolades if you has never owned another vac to compare it to. It is the heaviest, most awkward piece of machinery I ever used. I cant vacuum the entire living room w/o getting winded. Other uprights hold themselves "up", this one doesn't, you have to literally hold It up yourself as the "swivel" head, more-or-less, goes where IT want to go, so its a heavy fight the entire time. Do NOT buy it for the elderly or those with COPD. The corrugated hose is miniscule, and if you CAN reach something with it, its so tight that the base springs back & forth as you move along with it, or falls over. Instead of making a roller caddy to carry the short hose, how about, SIMPLY, make a longer hose w/o a caddy? Are you engineers Listening? Does this suck? Heck yes, magnificent suction. I bought it mainly for the HEPA, "sealed" filter that I hope is working...I cant tell. If I had to do it over, I would have bought something else.
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

Search no longer...

06/10/2013
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this vacuum after weeks of thinking about it and seeing the info mercial. I am so glad I did. This sounds strange but I actually look forward to vacuuming now. My 5 yr old excitedly asked me if we were going to vacuum the other day. The vacuum is surprisingly quiet and seriously amazing. I no longer have to switch vacuums to pick up the pet hair. Everything is right at my fingertips. It is really as easy as the commercial makes it look. The first time I used it about 2 weeks ago, I had vacuumed probably 4 days prior. We have 2 cats and I vacuum weekly. But this vacuum picked up so much dirt and hair I had to stop to dump it before finishing. The volume of dirt was amazing and scary! To think all that was on the floor and being blown out into the air by my old vacuum! I was so surprised I used a measuring cup to see just how much it was. I got about 7-8 cups (using my glass measuring cup) out of the cannister. I was so impressed I took a picture. Emptying this va
cuum is so easy my 5-yr old does it. She actually wants to help and vacuum herself. This is an amazing vacuum and definitely all Shark says it is. I am thrilled with my new vacuum and cant wait to toss the other 3 I have been using!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

Shark vs. Dyson

10/19/2013
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As an 8 year user of a Dyson, I am thoroughly impressed with the Shark. The price is a BONUS! I have 4 large dogs, and the attachments removed the pet hair from microfiber furniture with no issues. The bare floor cleaning is as impressive as the carpet cleaning. All the different attachments makes any cleaning job a breeze. I have noticed a reduction in dust with the Shark vs. Dyson. I totally recommend using the caddy when cleaning with the wand for stability.
To put the unit together out of the box was 4 simple clicks. Then plug in and go! The onboard lights are a (I typically clean later in the evening, so I dont need bright lights to see what I am doing).
Overall, this was a great purchase, and I am throughly impressed. I dont see myself purchasing a Dyson in the future. I purchased the 3 year warranty. If I dont need it, i wont be upset about it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

Better than a Dyson!!

05/27/2013
By ,
Blue River, Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used my daughter's Dyson. I prefer the Shark Rotator. I don't think the Dyson cleans any better than the Shark, but I could buy 2 Sharks for the price of 1 Dyson (& still hae money left over).
I live in the country & have quite a bit of sand in my yard & driveway. The Shark picks it up very easily & if you have tried to vacuum up sand off a hardwood floor, you know it is no easy task.
I have only had the Shark a few weeks, but I love it.
BUY IT-DO NOT BUY ONE OF THE CHEAP VACUUMS-THEY WILL NOT LAST & YOU WILL STILL HAVE TO REPLACE IT VERY SOON. & THEY DO NOT CLEAN VERY GOOD.
This has been one of my best purchases. Should have bought it sooner.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

Everything Advertised and More

01/04/2014
By ,
Shelbyville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been using bag less vacuum cleaners for years and we have had several, but when we saw the versatility of the Shark Rotator and compared the price to other types with similar features, we decided to give it a try. We have not been disappointed. It is everything that they advertise and more. The power and self propelled feature was a surprise though.
We have now owned this unit for about 5 months and the only negative thing I can say is the support fitting where the hose goes into the handle broke, but here is where we were really impressed. I called the Shark customer support and with no questions asked except for the purchase date, they said they will ship a replacement part; but not just the part that broke. They are sending and entire handle and hose assembly.
We look forward to many satisfactory years of service from this unit.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

2nd Shark

04/19/2013
By ,
los lunas,NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the first Shark that hit the market way back when and it was a good machine. The only problem was we have 5 house cats and live in the south west where winds are a major problem with flying dust which gets in the house no matter what you do. This one after just one run over the living room carpet was amazing, so much so I had to make a second run. When I had seen the results after the second pass I told my wife I was going for a third just to get down to the last of it. all I can say is WOW this SHARK is awesome and great if you have pets that shed. Haven't tried all the attachments as of yet but when the celling fans need cleaning i'm sure this will do the job in place of paper towels and endust. Just to add, the wife hates to use the vacuum so your's truly gets the job along with dusting the higher places in the home.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

Absolutely love this vacuum!

02/25/2014
By ,
Friendship, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old machine was on it's last leg and I had been planning on getting a new vacuum when the old one finally "died"! Ordered on Feb 17 and it arrived on the 20th. Great Service Walmart! Open the box and was amazed at all the pieces. However, they went together quickly and easily. No trying to figure where this goes or how. Started vacuuming the living room rug and was "shocked" as to how much dirt was still left in the carpet. Works great on carpets, bare floors, and area rugs. Each piece connects and disconnects easily. Really pulls the dirt into the cannister. Lots of power and suction. Would recommend this machine to anyone. One con, I guess - when you empty the cannistert a little dirt gets on the outside and needs to be wiped off. Other than that a truly great machine for the price!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

Sharktastic

09/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best vaccine I have ever owned. I have 3 kids under 8 and it quickly and easily cleans up their messes. Work excellent on carpet and hard surfaces. My mom bought in too!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

Nicest vacuum I've ever owned.

09/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has a whole lot of pieces, but we used just about every single one when we cleaned our place from top to bottom today. We have a Corgi and you can't believe all the flying fur. This vacuum handled it all. There were 2 of us working together, which made handling all the pieces much easier.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shark Rotator Lift Away Professional Bagless Upright Vacuum, NV501

Finally, a great vacuum!

08/15/2014
By ,
Fort Collins, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had become somewhat of vacuum snob insisting on nothing but the best of the best. The problem was, I ran through three vacuums in nine years. This go around, I choose to give the Shark Pro a chance. I have been thrilled with its performance. My favorite features include the its ability to easily and smoothly transition between varying surface levels as well the lower profile it has for getting under and around furniture. The vacuum has yet to be tested over time but thus far, it is the best vacuum I have ever owned.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 173 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next